(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

hi Eileen, welcome! Dun worry too much abt the weight gain... some of us have gained more than u!

reenie, i'm planning to buy some washable and disposables as well... not sure how often we have to change the pads (depending on ur flow i guess), so better to have some disposables on standby.

bottles.. we're advised to store BM in smaller quantities cos we cannot re-freeze them after thawing, so it's easier to manage smaller packages. i'm intending to first use bottle to store, and after flow is established, will use storage bags cos it's cheaper n more space saving..

hi ixwong,

just being curious and for knowledge purpose, could you enquire with your gynae, what does he means by "serious side-effects on baby borned from mums who uses epidural" ?? thanks..

Good morn all MTBs,
SO sleepy today & everyday..heehee.

Hi Eileen,
Welcome! Do you have any hosp in mind?

Here's the latest update:

<font size="-2">
<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mummies To be</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Deliver at</TD><TD>Gender </TD></TR><TR><TD>timie</TD><TD>1st Aug</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cmy</TD><TD>1st Aug</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>lib</TD><TD>7th Aug</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>chemistry</TD><TD>9th Aug</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>tingting</TD><TD>9th Aug</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>everafter</TD><TD>12th Aug</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>miso</TD><TD>16th Aug</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mummytobe</TD><TD>19th Aug</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>tulip</TD><TD>19th Aug</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ixwong</TD><TD>20th Aug</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>hoshi5</TD><TD>23rd Aug</TD><TD>GEH/MAH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cakey</TD><TD>23rd Aug</TD><TD>TMC/MAH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>erowen</TD><TD>26/27th Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>wishes</TD><TD>28th Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>vone</TD><TD>28th Aug</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>reenie</TD><TD>29th Aug</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cat_tail</TD><TD>30th Aug</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>angel</TD><TD>4th Sept</TD><TD>RH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Anissa</TD><TD>5th Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>aidanee</TD><TD>11th Sept</TD><TD>MEH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>christina</TD><TD>11th Sept</TD><TD>MEH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ilmare</TD><TD>11th Sept</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>yvonne</TD><TD>11th Sept</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cookies</TD><TD>12th Sept</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Samantha</TD><TD>12th Sept</TD><TD>GEH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>seabreeze</TD><TD>13th Sept</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>snoopy</TD><TD>17th Sept</TD><TD>GEH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Eileen</TD><TD>29th Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

No problem tingting,
thr are too many mommies here liao, sometimes i oso get confuse who say wat in the thread.. haha..

Welcome eileenp
kao_welcome.gif
do drop in here often to share yr experiences wif us.

Reenie, for my breast pad i have decided to use disposable during my confinement months, tats y i bought the tollyjoy ones. Will be getting the washable ones after tat prefered brand is pigeon. Not too sure how many breast pad to use, tink if u r getting washable maybe 4-6pairs?

And as for the milk bottles, if u r intending to breastfeed yr baby, dun nid to buy so many bottles to store, juz buy the disposable milk bag as it can save space in yr freezer as well. Really depends on how u wan to feed yr bb, for me i got 4 is becos of my hb, would really want him to participate in feeding our princess at least 1x/day.

Hi tingting,
Thanks for the reassurance. I'm actually naturally fat. Hahaha. Therefore, I expected the massive weight gain. Cause I read some had terrible MS and they only gain 1kg in their 19 weeks or so. WOW!

May I ask if there are any courses which allow us to just take 1 topic? Like how to manage labour pain and all that only? Cause I find that most classes available includes like 6-8 lessons.

Hi ixwong,
I am curious abt the epidural issue too. Apparently my gynae says no problem so far. If he refering to backache, then even w/o epi, u may already experience backache cos of bad posture etc.

Hi cat_tail,
Wow! Your compilation is impressive. I will be changing gynae from KKH to TMC soon. So most likely delivering in TMC. Heard alot of good feedback from friends about there as well. And read that quite a number of you going there as well. Therefore, I will follow the crowd. Hehehe.

Hi Lib,
I will try to share as often as I can. I find this forum quite different from others hor. Like no topics one hor. Everyone posted here leh.

Hi reenie,

1) I am getting a box of disposable Pigeon breast pads &amp; 2 sets of washable pads.

2) I am not getting any new bottles cos my Avent Isis breast pump &amp; Pigeon sterilizer comes with free bottles. Somemore got another free bottle from my antenal class. Save me a small sum..heehee

gd mornin all mummies to be..

was on mc for 2 daes..rest at home so seldom logon to chat with u gals...the threads movin fast! ;o)

reenie,
my frenz recommend to buy the disposable pad...as for the bottles, i think i will not buyin any since the avent breastpump &amp; steriliser come with few bottles...(will buy 3 NUK bottles for newborn) ...

cookie,
i hav just started my 1st lesson at tmc during my 26wks plus...so is not too late for u to attend too...but gotta book early...think their classes all r fully booked for tis n next mth...

seebreeze,
one of my fren from the oct forum also attendin the 430 session..think the 1st lesson still not so bad...just a little bit pack lor...my class abt 27ppl...hey, tiz satudae we can drop by to say hi to each other...let me know how u look like then i look out for u! hee... ;o)

eileenp,
welcome on board! ;o)

oh yeah, do u know gals have the hardenin/tightenin all the time? i mean how frequent? can tis cause premature labor?

hi elieen,
congratS! so another prince joining us
Have u decide on a gynae for TMC? Oh btw, we are planning for a tea-party at my place on 2nd July, around 2plus, would u like to come? if so, u can add yourself to the list above
Your hubby is most welcome!

hi tingting and lib,
thanks for your advice on the breast pad. As for the feeding bottles, guess i will just get around 4-6, since i am storing breastmilk and also would like to get hubby to help in feeding! haahahah...

hi cat_tail,
thanks for updating the list!

cat_tail,
actually i got the Avent Sterliser that comes with 2 small bottle, so if i get the breast pump another 2 i guess....makes it 4 oreldi!

yvonne,
are u alright? rest well
same here, the breast pump/ sterliser will comes with free 2 bottles.

eileen, think TMC may allow you to take selective lessons.. u can check it out.

yvonne, i also experience the tightening during the day... getting more frequent nowadays... believe this is the braxton hicks contractions... my gynae said it will not lead to premature labour, but some other gals said their gynae said it would, so i'm not too sure also.. but so long as it doesn't feel like contraction frequency, it should be ok.

i feel so greedy! just finished a pack of noodles (as tea break!) n now having oreo cookies... sigh... think the noodles "opened" up my appetite floodgate...

Reenie,
am ok...not enough rest plus fingers n legs swollen...movin house is really not easy...so many things to buy.. ;o| hv been out for shoppin for the weekend..

does it mean tat when there's tightenin, our baby is stretchin or just BHC?

tingting,
haha...same here...i just finished 2 slice of cheese bread for my tea break...;p im now 58kg liao! put on 9kg so far! think i better control my diet! i dun want to look plump n ugly!! ;p my hub said my hands now bcom more fleshy!! sob sob...

welcome eileenp!

yvonne, wat happened? u okie?
the last time i asked my gynae abt the hardening of tummie, she says shd not have it veri frequent like more than 4-5times an hour. but she did give me some med to standby (in case it's freq contractions, may be premature labor). if it's sporadic, it's ok. mine happens mostly evening/nite..but when i move a bit, it goes away and doesn't last long. if u r not so assured, do check with yr gynae..

Hi Seabreeze and Ameliaa,
I have the contact for the Ameda pump distributor. EuraMedic (tel: at 68447717) sells the new pump at $280. Free delivery with 1-day advance order. If you are calling them, can ask them whether buy in bulk got discount or not? If there is, we can consider pooling together to buy to save more $$$.

OK, will ask my gynae on the epi side-effect on my next visit. Apparently, the side-effects he is concerned with is for baby, not mummy. So I don't think it's the backache.

For bottles, I so far got 4 Avent ones. All 125 ml one which I was told bb will outgrown in 1-2 mth's time. Will buy the bigger ones once I confirm bb can accept Avent teats/bottles. Not getting milk bag yet, will meanwhile store in the bottles if necessary.

Anyone getting the breast shells? Some people said it's a life saver during the initial weeks, but some said not necessary....

cat_tail,
thanks for the compilation! ur effort is much appreciate!

reenie,
my hubbie will be joinin us...but he need to comfirm at later stage...gotta check whether he's on duty or not... ;o) if he is gog, hee..then ur hubbie got companion liao! both b our waiters! ;p

yvonne,
oh mine, what happen to your fingers and legs? me too, really tired out these days from packing and seeing to the renovation work. But really no choice. ITs all worthwhile when our home is done up and we can move in with baby! right? Don't walk too long, i didn't finish all my shopping for house, like dining table, i really got no energy to shop for one. Just get the essential items first, if your contractor/interior designer can help out, its good.

timie,
thanks for concern...;o) no worry, am ok. just too tired... notice nowadaes i cant walk too long...every 30mins gotta look for a seat to rest! ahahha.... clumsy mummy! ;o|

Thanks ladies for your compliments.

By looking at your wts, I am scared! I am gaining a lot, it's 10kg for my 28th wks!! Gosh...izzit too much! But I dun see the fats around my limbs. So worried tat my bb is too big to deliver. Btw, I am underweight before I am preg.

Hi ixwong,
Thanks for asking. Would appreciate wat kind of effects cos I may opt for epidural if cannot tahan.

ladies ...

for those who are thinking of storing your milk using those milk storage bag ... dun have to buy the pigeon one ler ... can buy the avent bottle liner ... they can serve the same purpose and its MUCH MUCH MUCH cheaper ... Pigeon one selling at 15 @ $15.05 while the avent one is selling at 100 @ $16+ ... can just use rubber band to tie up the avent liner when you fill it up with milk ...

ixwong ...

me think me not buying so fast yet .... will only buy the electric pump aft cfm can bf ... scali no milk how?? heehee ... although everyone tells me is a ss &amp; dd thingy lar ... scared I no discipline ar ... anyway bought the avent manual pump for standby first .... anyway thanks for the contact ...

cat_tail, no worries, ur "growth rate" is the same as mine..haha!

agree that the avent storage bags are cheaper...finally avent has something cheaper than other brands! haha.. will buy when i have steady flow for spares... i wanted to buy a tin of formula as backup, but hb says that will tempt me to give up bf too easily... :p

anyone experiencing sore nipples now? i noticed one of mine being a bit tender n sore... dunno how it came about...

tingting ...

recommend that you buy now cos alot of places got 20% sale and that avent is no longer producing it ... they are producing the disposable cups to replace the bags ....

Thanks tingting,
At least some assurance here..heehee...

I also scare no breast milk so I just bot the Avent manual breast pump first as standby. It's cheaper in this way. Later if got a lot of supply then can invest or rent a good pump.

Hi Reenie,
Thanks for the invitation. I might be able to make it. Where are you staying by the way?

Hi Tingting,
I will call and ask if they offer selective classes. I heard Mrs Wong is pretty good.

I have not bought anything yet. Am I too last minute?

Hi Seabreeze and cat_tail,

me also same as you. bought the avent manual pump as standby. Only if needed, will then buy the ameda. Ha ha...we all think alike.

hi eileen, welcome. dun worry, i hvn't bought anything yet. i m still collating wat i can get fr frens &amp; colleagues.

Wow...thread is very active today. it's mid-week again! so fast weekend coming again!

yvonne, rest well,okie? when is your next visit to your gynae? drink lotsa water /fluid...this will help to calm down the tummy.

Wow, the thread is moving so fast that I can't follow...hehe....
Can I just check what classes are you all talking about? Pardon me, I am a bit confused...
Oh, by the way, did any of you ask your gynae what should be a healthy weight gain for the 2nd trimester? I think I gain too much the last round. 3kg/mth.
Eileen,
I think I am the same as you... I just bought 4 pcs of clothing, a nose cleaner, steriliser... that's all... keep thinking I should buy more things, but can't pinpoint exactly what is required. My mum keep telling me dun be so kan cheong... can wait until bb deliver liao if find dun have then go buy over at the market place. I feel stressed over the suggestion. guess i am the kind who will freak out if find that last minute don't have necessary items...haha...

Oh, any of you ladies have been experiencing cramps? Eversince start of this week, i have been experiencing leg cramps (which i know is normal) and my hand feels numb during the night (don't know whether that is normal?). Any advice over this? Thanks.

Hi Samantha, it would be good if u can get all the basic necessities ready first before your child is born. My mum also have been telling me tat dun be so kancheong, everything buy later, blar blar blar. But looking at my case now, i'm glad that i didn't heed her advice initially. Now that I'm almost well-prepared with all the neccessities.. Still have plenty time to think of what has been missed out, etc. Maybe if u say diapers &amp; milk powder, u can get it anyway u want.

U may want to consider lifting you leg up while sleeping, elevated legs does help abit in preventing cramp.

aidanee,
thanks. hav been drinkin almost 3ltr of water...the effect still the same...;o|

samantha,
i hav leg cramps esp when i switch on my aircon at nite..try to put on a pair of socks b4 u go to bed...

Hi ixwong,
Ya lor, can save money then save a bit first.

Hi eileenp,
You can still shop around as long as it's not at your 3rd trimester. Believe me, the stamina drop a lot when you hit tat.

Hi Samantha,
Try not to straighten your legs while you are asleep. Bend your knees slightly with a pillow in between you legs may help.

eileen, ur EDD is end Sept, while mine is early Aug, so dun worry... still have time for you to stock up...

my mum is the opposite... keep asking whether i bought bb stuff/got 2nd hand stuff from frens, whether i went to prenatal classes... hehe...

seabreeze, yah, i also heard they are stopping the bags... but there are other brands available, e.g. Gerbers, which uses the ziplock sealing, so no need to use clips/rubber bands. Quite affordable too...

samantha, it's quite hard not to stretch when u are woken up... n when i do that i'll get cramps... :p

we're talking abt pre-natal classes... those that teach you about childbirth, breathing techniques, exercises n childcare... most preggies do attend but there are some who're more confident of handling newborns themselves n dun see the need to attend.

usual weight gain is average 2kg/month from 2nd tri onwards. but sometimes u may gain more in 1 month n less the next. so long as doc is ok with ur weight then it's fine.

I will try to see tonight if lifting legs help. Do you ladies know if hand becomes numb is also normal? I always wake up feeling the leg cramp and the hands becoming numb and painful... but after moving it for a while, it becomes ok.

Hi Tingting,

Where is the prenatal course held? I am thinking of attending, but i think Gleneagles didn't offer any (or maybe i am too blur...hehe... didn't find out more).

Maybe I will start shopping since GSS is here. Any suggestion as to where to go to get bb things?

samantha ...

i bought all the small small stuff liao ... so on and off go shopping then just add on lor ...

me will only be buying stroller and carseat after the baby is born ... dun think will need them at least for the first 2 months ... anyway I bought the MIM sling already ... so can use that for a start first ....

a few of us are attending the class at TMC ... its slightly more exp (esp if you are not giving birth there) ... but the class is more interactive and interesting ...

hi samantha,
u can get bb stuff from kiddy palace, JL or even robinson. since everywhere is offering 20%!

hi elieen,
i'm staying at sengkang, wondering if u like to come
my flat is actually a LRT stop away from sengkang mrt station.

Hi all, I called TMC and they said that since it's my first baby, I should take all the 5 lessons. Hmm.. Still considering. They quoted my $147 for every Friday classes.
Been trying to get the 'First Born Incentive' (FBI) to see if they have a package for that. But couldn't get through the line. Anyone has any idea what is the FBI all about?

Am I glad that I'm not too late at buying stuffs. Don't know what to get first. Hahaha. I went for the MotherHood fair and came out empty handed. Hehehe.

Anyone of you drinking milk like Anmum or Frisomum now? Or we can just make do with HL Marigold milk?

Sorry hor. I have a lot of questions. Hehehe...

eileen,
u don't really have to drink anmum, u can subsitute with any milk u like. In fact, i couldn't take milk, so i take soya milk instead or other food to supplement.

guess most of us are buying bb stuff now, u are not late at all

eileenp, FBI gives u some discounts on the antenatal class, some gynae/paed fees (not all), tmc hospital package, scans/tests done at TMC, storage of cord blood, some maternity/bb item outlets, etc (can't rem wat r the rest). I applied for it and so far used it for the antenatal class, detail scan, cord blood storage &amp; shd be hosp package.. quite worth it lah. if u hv certain credit card, may hv discount on the subscription fee i tink..
i only took the nesvita during 2nd tri (1 tin), finished liao, but nvr buy any more. heard some say such milk powder quite fattening (duno how true). now i jus take calcium supp (fr gynae) and drink fresh milk occasionally. shd be sufficient..

for the antenatal classes, me attended &amp; sorta forget some technq liao..keke..good thing my hb says he still rem. impt to get hb to go for the classes, otherwise will karang-karbo during delivery on the breathing techqs!

yvonne, i get leg cramps sometimes at nite when i m sleeping. my gynae had prescribed calcium pills 4 me. mayb u can get ur gynae 2 do d same. after eating, i seldom get leg cramps oledi. u take care k.

eileen, tink u chk 2 c whether u can get any hand me downs. after tat, u can start collating abt wat u need 2 buy. i drinking hl milk now. can't stand d taste of anmum &amp; frisomum.

can i ask why you ladies might consider Ameda instead of Medela? also, do you know if Avent bottles can fit into Ameda?

i will consider to buy one after establishing the supply too....please remember to rope me in for the bulk purchase! hahahah...)

Hi eileen, i dun/can/hate to take fresh milk, so i have to force myself to drink Enfamama (wiht a teaspoon of milo!) ...tat's the least i can do...i also drink lotsa soymilk , and occasionally, i take HL choco flavour (quite nice, but sweet). besides, i am also on calcium suppl. not sure if milk powder fattening or not, but one thing i like is that it helps to clear my bowels more efficiently.

vone,
im currently takin calcium, folid acid &amp; fish oil...but guess the calcium doesnt really work on me... ;o(

aidanee,
avent bottle cannot fit into any other brand bottle.... my fren gave me the medela pump...n most of my colleagues also using medela electric pump..heard some comments good some not... too noisy for medela electric...

i have mainly Avent bottles. if i get the ameda pump next time, how ah?

i maybe getting Nuk Latex teat to standby when i need to introduce bottle to bb next time (but still want to direct feed). Friends recommend that Nuk Latex teats are good and soft, helps to minimise nipple confusion.

Hi samantha,
I think u should list down what to buy first then one fine day go to those recommended shopping areas. Like tat, u won't be so lost on wat to get.
I think the crucial one is to get either a cot or playpen first then small items can settle later.

Hi aidanee,
I also heard some of my frds say Nuk no good leh. They recommend Avent, pretty confused but I just stick to watever I have for now.

the thread is moving so fast that i cant keep track...

cat_tail: pls add me to the list as well, EDD = 180905 SEX = Gal HOSP = MAH/MEH

i'm gog 4 my detail scan tmw at 25weeks. quite worry every eve of my visit to gynae. juz pray tt bb gal is doing fine in there.

will fill u gals w more details aft my scan tmw. read abt some of the concerns abt tightening, water bag &amp; epidural issue etc. kinda worry too, will chk w gynae tmw

it's already 2/3 into e pregnancy but still pretty lazy to do preparation. i hvnt bought necessities, but bought lots of clothings bcos they r so cute, simply irrisistable...hahaha

hi samantha, would think most hospitals offer prenatal classes. I'm taking mine at Mt Alvernia, cos will be delivering there. Most of them attended TMC cos of the "famous" Mrs Wong..haha...

as for bb stuff, u can get most at major dept stores that are selling 20% discount during GSS. For clothes n towel stuff, some of us prefer to shop ard neighbourhood shops, which will be cheaper than dept stores. I'm also not intending to get stroller n car seat now bcos

(a) bb can still be carried in arms for 1st few months
(b) bb may not like to sit in stroller, so let him try it out himself first
(c) no car yet, so no need to buy car seat now..

I've tried Anmum, and am currently on Frisomum. These milk powder are supposed to be low fat, so fat content should be the same as HL milk, etc. Just that they have added calcium n folic acid... so i think shld be the same since we're taking supplements anyway. For Anmum, I add milo for taste (can't stand plain milk!). My Frisomum is vanilla flavour. Got a free tin from Motherhood fair, which can prob last me for the rest of the pregnancy..hehe... oh, the chocolate flavoured Anmum tastes quite nice.. tried it at the fair, but not easy to find in supermarkets...

my calcium supplements seem insufficient to ward off leg cramps... i've got to drink milk in addition...

i'll be using the manual pump only... since i'll be at home for the 1st 6 months, bb will bf-ed for that long (i hope!) which i find should be quite sufficient.. plus using manual pump the supply shld extend for another 2 months..

aidenee, u can express into the ameda bottle first, then transfer to the avent bottles if they don't fit. else, just use storage bags!