(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

hi ixwong, my gynae also said the same thing about my visits.. will only see her every 3 weeks after week 32/33.. we can take it as a good sign that all is fine with us n no need for constant monitoring..

I dun think epi will cause serious side effects, else it wouldn't be so commonly used for so long? I'm hoping to go without though, cos wanted it to be as "natural" as possible. I also dowan to feel more uncomfortable after the delivery. The "worst" should be over after bb comes out..hehe...

My gynae only gave factual advice.. she said that epi does not hinder the urge to push, but rather conserves mother's energy so that she is not exhausted by the contractions by the time she has to push.

Morning all mummies!!!

Wow, i am so happy to see the response for Tea Party!!!
Sorry for replying late, i am on leave yesterday for checkup. Baby is now 28th week and doing well, she is now around 1.2 or 1.3kg. This morning just recieved the baby cot! finally bought it at Kiddy Palace, 4in1 cot at $299, can convert to toddler sleep bed.

Okay! Let's do a headcount for tea party. Hope i didn't miss out anyone.

tea party attendees on 2 Jul:-
1) Lib - Agar Agar Jelly
2) Christina - Fruit Platter
3) Yvonne-tt
4) Coffee-drinker - soon kueh & peng kueh
5) Erowen - Awfully Chocolate Cake
6) Aidanee - Durian Cake
7) Miso
8) Snoopy - Lana Chocolate Cake
9) Reenie & Hubby
10) Vone & Hubby
11) Maltbibi
12) Everafter_03 - will be late
13)Ixwong

Timie,
Please come if you can make it ok??? look forward to seeing u!!!

Miso and Everafter_03,
Its okay to come abit late, most likely we wil start off around 2plus and continue till evening! Will save food for you...hehehehe...

Snoopy,
how to make hubby enjoy housework huh? very easy! just praise him, all men likes to be praise and very much like children...i just say "look, u do a better job than me! how did u do that??"

Everafter_03,
U staying very near to my new house! well, the renovation is not major, just some essential work to be done....but it has been delayed
Hopefully it will be finishing by end June! I still have not got time and energy to shop for all the furniture, no dining table yet :p Maybe got to use mahjong table to display our food...hahaahaha...hope u all don't mind.

Vone,
its great that your hubby can come along! welcome welcome! the more the merrier!

Anissa,
don't worry, everything going to be fine ok? hug...i hope u can join us

hello gals

Wow! Long time didnt chat with u gals liao hor? Wow! time flies, in 2-3mths time, u gals can see your bb gal gal or boy boy liao. So happy for u gals

Hi ixwong, ya.. long time no chat liao. Recently think I am heaty too, got ulcers and this morn, find my throat a bit pain on one side.. dunno if it's ulcer too. haiz.. occasionally drink the coconut juice is still ok i guess. Cos the weather so hot!

I did not opt for epidural for my first one, so hoping i can go thru it w/o epidural this time round too. I think it's all in our minds.. so keep saying "I dun wan epi, I dun wan epi" to urself repeatedly! hahaha... actually, for first timer, u dunno how the contractions and labour pains are like, so it's still quite alright, but for 2nd time mum like me, i know how the pain is like, so i hv to really hv the determination not to opt for it! makes sense here? haha..

Me still seeing my gynae in 3 weeks interval... and although my placenta has moved up, he still put 3 weeks apptmt. haha.. my over-protective gynae.

Miso and Tingting

I think I will try starting out without epi to see how is it like as well as test my pain tolerance. If really cannot tahan, will just opt for epi 'cos worried that I would get 'put off' from labour pains and subsequently don't want any more bb. Have many frens who are mummies advising me to take epi, so I'm mentally prepared to do so.

ixwong, glad to hear everything's well! i saw my gynae@ 29wk, then 32wk. the next appt is 2wks' time. fr 36wk onwards shd be weekly. i tink datz accordin to the package.. so it depends how ur gynae package works..

many frens shared dat they can't imagine going thro w/o epi, so they told me better to opt for it. but personally i hope to go w/o epi..

hi confused!
how u doing? are u resting at home or working now? do come in often to chat with us

i guess most mummies should be in 3rd trimester. Yup, looking forward to August timeframe
Has been quite tiring recently, not getting enough sleep =P

Hi Confused, how r u? Glad to see u here again..

Hey Ix, i have told my hb tat i will forgo the epidural even if is really unbearable. Heard too many of the side-effects plus wif the backache that i have been suffering, epidural mite cause additional backproblems in future.

So envious tat all of u can know yr bb's weight. As my gynae told me it is very difficult to gauge the weight now, cos he oso doesnt want to give me wrong figures.. HAiz.. so long as everytime he says yr bb is healthy, growing well. And maternal body is doing fine.. then i will oso be "an xin"

Tingting so nice tat u can still be so mobile now. I can't really walk for long hours liao.. every 2 hrs realli got to sit down & rest for a while.. then cont walking again.. hows yr purchase so far?

hi lib, cos stamina not as good as pre-preggie... but at least still have the interest to shop n buy stuff.. i only bought v little:

steriliser
breast pump
diapers (disposable & cloth)

not getting bottles cos already have 4 from the steriliser n pump packages, n friends gave some nappy liners that can last for at least 1 month. Hope to get the following during this weekend:

clothes n mitten/bootie sets
cot
bathing tub
towels n hankies
storage box tier (for bb stuff)

think there's still a long list that i've drawn up, but can only think of these off-hand. btw, heard that we can get a lot of stuff at kids' mall... is that true? are they expensive?

yalor.. tingting.. during 2nd tri can shop for the whole day oso no problem.. rememberd i shop for the pram the other time & walk all the way from isetan scotts - taka - robinsons - finally to OG.. Now can't liao.. the most 2 malls oni..

Maybe i draw up a list of wat ihave bought for my nb, it can oso serve as a guideline for the rest of mommies.. hehe

Yes some of the items selling in kids mall are pretty ex compare to dept stores.. still got to depends wat u will be buying

yvonne ....

my class was the 4.30pm session .... quite interesting hor the lesson ... but must admit that the room was abit small ...

we saw vivian lai and another ex-actress he yong fang attending the 2.30pm class ....

reenie ...

thanks for the invite but think would be very rush for me to go for the gathering and then rush down to TMC for my anenatal class .... guess have to give it a miss ar ....

Lib ...

I oso dunno my baby weight ... my dr just estimated that it was double from my detailed scan weight ....so think at 24 weeks was abt 700g at most ....

Seabreeze,
its okay, then we shall organise one more after our babies pop! Hopefully we will take some good picts and can share with you
Wow, you saw Vivian Lai? is she around our timing too? Saw her on the magazine cover of Motherhood.

Hi all MTBs,

How's life going?

I have done a lot of shopping for the past 2 weeks, and what I can conclude is that the price is almost the same for places like Robinson, JL, Kiddy Palace, Taka, OG etc. All of them claim to have a 20% discount, but it's all the same price so you can get the bb's stuff from anywhere.

After so much walking, my battery really drained off liao... think I better buy all by this mth.

reenie ...

thanks ... told my hubby abt the gathering and he say what if one of the baby decides to pop at the gathering ... then we will be able to learn first hand what to expect =)

think should be around the same timing as us lar ... cos TMC states that must be at least 20 weeks then can attend the class mar .... anyway she still looks very good .... aiya why cant I look like that heehee ....

hi cat_tail,

wow, u've been to a lot of places! i'm so tempted to take a day off to shop at orchard, but hb cannot take leave n i want to conserve my leave for extending my maternity period...

saw on kids' mall website that it has real cheap mitten & bootie sets... only $1.90 per set! but it's the no-brand type...

has anyone explored neighbourhood shops or chinatown area? do u think they will be cheaper than the malls with sale?

tingting,

I bought some of the bb clothing from neighbourhood market. It's cheaper than the shoppng malls. I bought mitten & booties set @$1.50, NB tops (buttons + side ribbons) @$2 each, bottoms (with & without booties) @ 3 for $5, Hankies @$0.50. Their clothe diapers and diaper covers also cheaper generally. But you may want to note that not all clothing are 100% cotton....for me, I dun mind lah since many bb also grow up wearing such clothes.

hi ladies, went 4 my checkup last sat. bb is okie, he's abt 1kg oledi at 27 wks. but doc hv asked me 2 eat more meals as he wants me 2 put on more weight.
i told hb tat i wld prob try not 2 put on so much, jus in case i can't lose d excess weight after i had given birth. after my appt, went shopping. gosh, i barely walked 4 1 hr b4 i started feeling veri tired & breathless. in d end, had 2 go hm & rest w/o buying anything. sigh...

tingting, hb was suggesting d same thing as u. he mentioned tat $28 2 buy a bb bathtub is so ex. he said tat we can prob get a cheaper 1 in chinatown or d neighbourhood shops. let me recee 1st then i update u.

hehe... vone, i work near chinatown area, but the shops there close quite early, so i have to get off work on time in order to shop around there... if u also going to shop there we can meet up after work to go together!

ixwong, yah, i thot so too... but i'm a bit particular abt the bb clothes cos bb skin more sensitive mah... but agree the the prices u indicated are much cheaper, esp when i'm not looking for disney cartoon design type....

tingting, really?? me & hb often go 2 d chang cheng kopitiam thr 2 eat d porridge after wk. if i going thr again, i can meet up wif u. i'll pm u my contact.

i usually go thr on wkends 2 shop 4 maternity wear coz it's so cheap. was tinking of shopping 4 bb's stuff thr aso. but hv 2 find 1 day when it's not so hot. i can't tahan d weather these days. somemore my migrane is acting up. jus went 2 c my gynae yesterday re my migrane. he gave me 1 wk's mc 2 rst at hm. but i hv 2 go back 2 wk tml coz i got some deadlines 2 meet.

vone,
do take care of yourself ok? migrane can be really nasty, i get that when weather is real hot and i avoid going under hot sun.

cat_tail,
its true that most stuffs are going 20% off, i guess quite standard.

do u visit the loo more often now? Esp. at nite? i woke up several times to go pee, maybe b'cos my bb head is down already, though still not engage. Gynae did mentioned most likely she is going to stay at this position till birth.

hi vone,

have pm you..
i seldom eat at chinatown cos the hawker centre is nearly closed by the time i get off from work...

mime_pdf.gif

For Baby.pdf (22.1 k)</td></tr></table></center> mommies these are things that i have bought, hope it may serve as a guideline for some of u who are still in the midst..

Hi Reenie, yes nowadays i oso find tat i visit the loo more often.. seem to be very urgent, but release oni a little..

Hi Seabreeze, yar i based on my friend's recommendation and bought ameda. i havent get to try it, but quite like the design comparing to medela

hi lib,
yes! me too...especially nite time. Day time, full blast! Like every sip of water i take, will come out easily....

thanks for the mummy and baby shopping list
wow...looks like you got alot of items ready. I better start compiling one too!

i've also got one, but it's at home... can use Lib's one to supplement mine..
remember that Lib is a 2nd time mummy so 1st timers need to add on as well...

my bladder control is still quite good... can last thru a 5hr night without getting up.... but sometimes can feel bb kicking/punching in the bladder direction, then will feel the urge! think my bb is not in delivery position yet... at night i take my cue from my dog.. she'll wake me up to bring her to toilet, then i'll just go also since i'm already up! haha...

hi Lib n reenie

So sorry for the late reply cos i juz woke up. i'm fine. Now resting at home cos i got spotting n gynae wants me to stay at home n rest.

reenie - i heard 3rd tri is a bit tiring. Try to rest more yeah!

tingting,
you so cute! i cannot control my bladder that well, especially my bb likes to kick/punch that direction! hahahaha...i think my bb girl is very naughty..

confused,
then u have to rest more too...hug. Try to take naps in afternoon, eat proper meals, don't do any heavy housework.
I am trying to rest well at nite, but the loo visit keeps me awake. i didn't sleep enuff, daytime really feel tired and restless.

can i ask a question regarding bb bouncer? my MIL intend to get one for my bb girl, but i am worried that bb spine is still soft, can they lie there and rock themselves to sleep??

Hi Confused,

Do take care....i am sure you are in good hands of Dr Chew. Those discharge is prob the old blood from the blood clot....stay happy okie!

Got a question. My sis is going to give me a travel basinette and i m thinking of putting my boy to sleep at night in the basinette. Is there a problem with sleeping in basinette instead of bb crib?

hi seabreeze

i also consider tt Mt E is inside CBD, quite inconven at times. I m yet to visit both e hosp.
u seem to be doing ur classes at TMC instaed, issit better? cos Mt A also has such classes

my MIL said tt too much birdnest will cause bb to hv phlegm when born. didnt really take alot too bcos too expensive lah.

my gynae is pretty pro epi. but my mum is kinda against it bcos of story on e side effects. my friend also hv bad experience w a green anesth whereby she was injected 2X yet epi still take no effect. my GP has actually advise to go w epi &amp; has given me some names for e anesth. Not sure if we can choose tho...yet to chk

reenie, i hv been trying 2 live like a polar bear oledi. but still get migrane attacks. hope tat d weather turns cooler soon. if u keep waking up at nite 2 pee, then try 2 cut down on ur liquid intake after 6pm. however, i still get up, usually once a nite. so tiring. sometimes after peeing, i can't get back 2 sleep oledi.

tingting, i replied ur pm oledi. tks.

lib, tks 4 d list. u've been a great help.

confused, how u feeling these days. must take care okie.

Hi Reenie,

Thanks for your concern. I guess I'm free from German measles
So far no rashes. Will put my name on the list.

1) Lib - Agar Agar Jelly
2) Christina - Fruit Platter
3) Yvonne-tt
4) Coffee-drinker - soon kueh &amp; peng kueh
5) Erowen - Awfully Chocolate Cake
6) Aidanee - Durian Cake
7) Miso
8) Snoopy - Lana Chocolate Cake
9) Reenie &amp; Hubby
10) Vone &amp; Hubby
11) Maltbibi
12) Everafter_03 - will be late
13) Ixwong
14) Anissa

Can't confirm what I wanna bring yet. Will think of something and let you know closer to date

Anissa

hi vone, received your email. will contact you soon!

oh yah, been experiencing leg cramps at the calf area more often nowadays... but not that bad to disturb my sleep...

Hi miso,

For the coconuts, must they be the green kind, or thai brown kind also can?

Hi ixwong,
me also leh, last visit was 28 weeks. Next visit is 32/33 weeks..strange hor, i tot they would increase the frequency of visits by now..

btw mummies, i heard from some friends that when the water bag burst, the liquid is not colourless one (which i keep thinking it is)..they say its brownish/a bit bloody kind of liquid leh.. is this true? then what is water bag burst and we are outside, or worse, wearing white pants or skirt?? must we start wearing maternity pads towards the last few weeks of pregnancy just in case? heh

Good question there, mummytobe. I will be interested to find out too cos I have changed my mind abt going for my maternity leave 1 mth before delivery. Will probably work till the day my water bag burst

Actually why is it that we can only drink coconut juice after 36 weeks? I have them quite regularly. My gynae always tell me to eat/drink anything I like.

My gynae visit was once every fortnight for the first 3 mths then changed to once every 3 weeks. Now I am abt 27 weeks I suppose. Doesn't really matter to me cos my baby is in down position and every time I go for my scan, I can't even make out the head or the body. Even after the gynae points it out to me, I still can't see! I guess as the baby gets bigger, he just 'blow' up the screen and it's so difficult to see! The notti rascal always kick me when it's near meal time. I have to go pee on an average of 5 times a night. Find it hard to wake up the following morning

pinkcitron ...

where is your gynae based at? think this is also one factor that you need to consider ...

reenie ...

me too been going to the toilet every hr or so ... at night too ... although I just take 1 sip of water will still need to go toilet ...

mummytobe ...

read from the other thread is that they just bring pads around .... so when the waterbag burst ... just use the pad ... actually think when it burst ... we will be too panic and excited to feel pai seh heehee ...

Hi tingting,

I haven't bot any bb clothing cos quite lucky to get some hand down clothings. U can check with your relatives or frds to donate.
I will probably get new booties &amp; mittens although I have some cos it's more hygenic.

Where do you all normally shop at Chinatown? I am working near there too so can pop by to buy. There are plenty of towels &amp; handkerchiefs, so can get from there.

aidanee n vone - thanks. i'm much better liao. can go back to work on thur/fri. yeah! Dr chew give me jab every time i go for check up n last friday manage to see fetus n heartbeat liao

Hi Seabreeze, i bought a 2nd hand set. Previous owner didnt use it for more than 10times as this is the extra set. Got it at S$150. U may oso get from Moms in mind.

Tingting, hehe i'm oso 1st time mummy leh.. I got my list from my friend juz add on with some other items only.

Hi Confused, glad to hear that u re fine.. Was away for the whole of the afternoon, till i saw yr reply oni now. Do rest well hor..

Hey vone, dun mention juz hope tat it can serve as a guideline for u

hehe.. lib, sorry, confused liao... it was miso and someone else who're 2nd time mummy is it?

cat_tail, i'm not so lucky.. most of my friends are expecting ard the same time as me, n the only cousin who has 2 kids still needs the stuff for her younger son...

usually i'll browse through the market shops n those below a block of flats next to it when i have the time.. there's one towel/pajama shop opposite the Hindu temple, but i've only bought bathroom mats from there previously... haven't looked around for bb towel yet...

Morning mummies!!!
Rainy day, sleepy mode =P Had a kaya and butter toast breakfast...heheeheh...yummy...with a cup of hot teh si.

hi Anissa!
Glad u can join us!!
Welcome.

hi Seabreeze,
can understand the urge to go loo..sometimes its "fake", because my bb girl pressing on my bladder.

hi vone,
u so funnie, living like polar bear? hahaahahah...do u have aircon at home? i have to switch on everyday if i am at home...nowadays my temp. seems to be higher. I cannot control fluid intake...and today, i woke up at 5am, cannot sleep again....now in office, so tired

yap nice weather to zzzzz ... so tempted to take leave and stay at home to zzzzz ....

lib ...

no prob ... will check with my fren for the contact ... she got the ameda too and she recommend that over medela dual electric ...

i have some questions here to ask

1. Do we buy disposable breast pad OR washable breast pad? OR Both??

2. How many feeding bottles we need for newborn? Should i get 125ml/4oz? Seems like most breastmilk are pump into this size bottle.

thanks!!

Hi everyone, I'm new here. Soooo glad I found this forum. I'm in my 24 weeks now. Expecting baby in 29/09/05. And I already put on 8kg. OMG.