(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

erowen,
thanks! i missed the most impt ones- feeding and babycare!! hahaha... called TMC, they are putting me in Aug- my 34/35th week for hte makeup) maybe they know i most prob wont make it in case i go into labour early! asked for an earlier date, they told me they have no more slots!

aiyo, i also dun know how to ask you cos i dun know what has been taught in the class. how ah?

Hi Erowen!!
Thanks for compiling the list!!! I am so excited to see many of you can make it, the more the merrier!!!

Hi coffeedrinker,
glad u can join us!!!!! Welcome!

Hi miso,
miss u! lucky you come into the forum, else must search for you to come for tea-party!

Hi Snoopy,
thanks for the LANA cake! i guess everyone is drooling....look at the list....hehehehehehe...

this is getting reallly exciting!
Just to answer some question, since its tea time, we can have cakes, puffs, dim sum or dessert if u like. Drinks i can provide, let me know if you have special request

So far, the number of people joining Tea-Party 02 July:

1) Lib
2) Christina
3) Yvonne-tt
4) Coffee-drinker
5) Erowen
6) Aidanee
7) Miso
8) Snoopy
9) Reenie & Hubby

Wow, my hubby odd one out...hahahaha...feel free to bring hubbies along, cos' they can talk to my hubby, let them share fatherhood experience aside while we talk about motherhood! I have X-box at home too...heheehe

Those mummies who hasn't see this invitation, feel free to join anytime

Reenie, must thank u for invitating us over to yr house. =) Yes, it's quite exciting. =)) sure very fun one. I will try to bring camera this time round. =)))

aidanee, quite a lot was covered under these 2 topics, let me go back think think and see if i could put together ya. =)

snoopy, seems you got quite a few items from Motherhood fair. ya i saw from the other thread quite a lot of slimming centres and insurance.

Kkekek, once again tks for your offer to bring Lana cake, yes you are making me drool and blush, i will help myself to a 'slightly' bigger slice on that day. =PPP

miso, i hope yr ds will get pass his terrible two stage soon. Meanwhile you take gd care of yrself ya.

Lib, yup, it's on the 2nd July. Sat

Christina, my toothache slightly better but i still dare not really use my left side of my mounth to chew. Got to take small bites and go "chomp chomp chomp" on burger or apples liao. Have to use hand to tear into small pcs to put into my mouth. Hopefully it will get better next week.

hi erowen,
i just talked to my hubby! he's so supportive, offer to be the waiter of the day!! And he say he will get the camera ready too...hehehehe...

Hi all MTBs,

Guess I will put my name on the list when I am confirmed free frm the German measles virus! Else you will see zero name on the list right away. Hahaha ...

Dunno why, today had Muffins for breakfast, burger king for lunch, 2 coke, biscuits and still feel hungry. Wanna go for Korean buffet this evening but no one to join me

sorry for interupting again :p message for Lib:

hey, wat happened to ur msn? use icq lah. anyway we've already installed a pc to pc talk software, FOC. tried with MIL, very clear. so if u need to talk to me can give me a buzz. email me if u want any details loh. i also have very limited time to use pc nowadays. monkey stealing my personal time but not napping & keeps wanting my attention. take care yar!

hiya, me went to the motherhood fair today as well... bought 2 packs of nepia diapers. didn't see snappies on sale leh.... if anyone going can get a pack for me?

think it comes in a pack of 2 or 3s.. price should work out to be about $3 per piece before any discount... at least that's the price sold at websites. For those using snappies, do remember that they will only last for about 6 months, after which they may break due to the loss of elasticity... wanted to try n see if it's a good alternative to diaper pins.

have a good weekend!

gosh, i missed a lot of postings tis pm. was busy trying 2 settle some issues. my boss jus handed 1 more a/c 2 me 4 me 2 handle. sigh... hopefully it means tat thr a substantial increment 4 me.

can't get 2 sleep after i woke up at abt 1 am 2 pee. been tossing & turning in bed since thr. didn't wanna wake hb up so decided 2 wake up & surf net.

anissa, u dun worry okie. everything wld b fine 4 u. u take care.

okie, i can join u gals 4 d tea party, but i hv no idea wat 2 bring since u gals r bringing such yummy stuff. let me crack my brain 1st. i'll b bringing hb along so tat he can accompany reenie's hb 2 b our waiters 4 d day.

so d updated list is as follows:

tea party attendees on 2 Jul:-
1) Lib - Agar Agar Jelly
2) Christina - Fruit Platter
3) Yvonne-tt
4) Coffee-drinker - soon kueh & peng kueh
5) Erowen - Awfully Chocolate Cake
6) Aidanee - Durian Cake
7) Miso
8) Snoopy - Lana Chocolate Cake
9) Reenie & Hubby
10) Vone & Hubby

It's more than a wk since I last logged in... wkdays i'm very tied down with work cos got to train new colleague & handle extra workload...
so stress & tired!

Wow, Reenie, ur hse is just newly renovated, can take a look liao!
I also want to join in the tea party..I'm staying in Fernvale(near Jalan Kayu) but since I'm working on 2 jul, will probably be late.
Hmm..let me think what I shd bring & check if my hubby's interested in comng along too...

Hi lib,

So co-incident, my hubby is also a regular in airforce & he will ORD in Dec...

hi all prettie mummy to be,
wah! so excitin!! cant wait for the tea party gatherin... btw, since snoopy, aidanee & erowen are preparin the cakes, do u gals still want muffin? hmmm....think abit too much...later we cant finish.... anw, let me know if u galz still want it... ;o)

tingting, the snappis are at the Bay Supplies stall. It's the one that's selling the Amby Baby Motion Bed and the other stall that is selling sarong carriers apart from MIM. Hope that helps.

Hmmm....didn't realize that they will only last for 6 months. Me only bought one pack. It comes in pack of 3. Hope that is enough to last baby. Was told my the sales person that it should last and that people commonly need new ones because they lose the ones they have.

Erowen, don't blush lah....we are all MTBs and understand this thing call craving.

Anissa, I am sure you will not have german measles and will be able to join us. btw, don't we get immunization against rebuella when we were young?

Vone's and Reenie's hubbies are so nice to be our waiters. btw Reenie, how do you get your hubby to like housework?? Must teach me your secret recipe.

Hi reenie, thanks for the invitation to ur hse. I will be working on that day and prob will be slightly late too. My hb cannot go cos he has to tend to the shop.

Hi erowen, will do. tks.. I sure hope it will pass soon! it's really getting into me at times! haha..

Hey Reenie & Vone, so nice of yr hb to be our waiter.. hehe..

Snoopy, how come u can purchase 4 pkts? i tot they limited 1pkt/customer? haiz.. anyway tat day i bought 2pkts..

Hi Everafter,realli so qiao.. we not oni near neighbour even hb oso in the same force.. hehe..

Lib, when I went that day, per person can buy 2 pkts. So me brought 2 and hb bought 2. When you went that day it was different?

hi MTB,

went to JL (SC) with my mum and bought some BB clothes. think gals can try there, JL is having promo for some clothes (3 for $8 or $9). think i have gotten enough clothes for BB, bought lots of 3-6mth range.

my boy also very active, always like to kick and punch when i want to sleep... me also counting down to EDD, but worry about the confinement, especially if ban from showering. i dun understand how zoe tay can tahan.

will be taking leave in july and august to wash BB stuff... have you gals started to wash BB stuff??

I read some postings about drinking coconut juice when entering our third trimester. What does coconut juice do? Also, what kind of coconut juice must it be? the green kind or thai coconut also can?

I've been trying to find good and comfy nursing bras that have at least a bit of padding. Any good recommendations? When would be a good time to buy? i wanted to buy at the motherhood fair, but i'm worried buy too early, after breast increase in size, cannot wear leh..

Good morning all pretty MTBs, I am off today to Pattaya for church camp for 4 days. Hope I can stand the hot hot temperature there, heard it is about 39-40. Don't think I'll have access to internet these few days. Will look out for some tit-bits or snacks to bring back for our July gathering.

hi, been some time since i log on here. hope all mummies getting fine.

btw, wanna check those who attended the antenatal at TMC, is it disruptive if u miss out lesson 1. I'll only start frm lesson 2 cos tmc starting the course earlier without informing. suppose to start tis sat, but they call today n say they started last sat. e lady still insist she has informed me earlier. so angry cos the fact is today is e 1st time they called me after i signed up about 1 mth ago.

Reenie,
Thanks for the invitation. I'll be there, and will think of something to bring.

Morning ladies, I have been trying out some pre-natal massages, first to relieve my backache, second to trial for post-natal. *excuses*
Last weekend, managed to try out a recommendation on this Mdm Rohaya from another forum. Found her to be quite good! Instead of just going thru a usual massage routine, she customised her massage to tackle the problem areas (in my case, my back! *ouch*). In fact, the session went on for almost 1 hr 20 mins and she still charged me only for 1 hr.

I am now seriously thinking to engage her for my post-natal massage, although must say she is not cheap at $490 for 7-day session (1 hr per day). Anyone else has tried/heard of her and have any comments?

Aidanee,
sorry, no chance to try out Nur's services yet.

Hi Snoopy, yar tats wat the lady told me, cos when i say i want 2 pkts she told me is 1/pax.. i asked her u nid me to ask my hb to come over, she says is ok lar. "sigh" Enjoy yr trip to pattaya, is good tat u can travel while u still can now.. next time cant imagine going out wif bb + pram + diaper bag, hehe..

Hi Ilmare, long time no see.. Btw u mean the 3 for S$8 is it white colour shirt/t-shirt wif shorts/pants? U can start washing the clothes already. try to do it when u free, try not to wait till last min..

Hey all mtbs, today is monday, start of the week.. wish u gals a happy working day

Cookies,
no worry, the 1st lession is on nutrition, quite boring for us since we already in 3rd trimester, missed also never mind. Most important is the last 3 lessons on labour, childcare and breastfeeding. If you want, you can request to see the video. I remember seeing some of my classmates did that when they missed classes.

thanks ixwong,
u've finished all the classes? u start when u r in which week of yr pregnancy?? me will be 26+ weeks by tis sat. some of my frens said its abit late.

hi cookies, no worries, i'm already in week 29/30, n only starting this week... hehe.. 1st lesson is quite useless for me already cos it's more on earlier pregnancy stage. anyway, i'm more interested in the later lessons like labour, breastfeeding n infantcare.

lib, when i went to the fair on friday the quota was 2 pkts/pax. actually only wanted to buy 1 pack, but the stock of other sizes were clearing fast... while we were checking out the diaper quality the guy just struck S size off the list. So panic a bit n bought 2 packs..haha...

Good day everyone!

ixwong,wow...shiok shiok hor!!??? Glad you had a good massage.....dun feel sorry lah, just sharing info only, you can engage anyone.
btw, how many weeks are you now? btw, what is the market rate for postnatal massage?

Hi Cookies,

I also missed my first tmc lesson coz my hubby was having his exams at tat time. I told them beforehand when I made the payment. So they let me makeup on 11 June which is this sat. Hopefully, they did not change the 1st lesson date without informing me.

I was in wk 24/25 when I joined the lesson. So I dun think you are late.

I would to join in the tea session. But I dunno wat to bring leh :p

tea party attendees on 2 Jul:-
1) Lib - Agar Agar Jelly
2) Christina - Fruit Platter
3) Yvonne-tt
4) Coffee-drinker - soon kueh & peng kueh
5) Erowen - Awfully Chocolate Cake
6) Aidanee - Durian Cake
7) Miso
8) Snoopy - Lana Chocolate Cake
9) Reenie & Hubby
10) Vone & Hubby
11) Maltbibi

morning everyone!
it's back to work after hectic shoppin last wk.. managed to get most of our things liao. it's terribly tiring, so it's best to start gettin all the bb stuff early cos now me in 32 wk, feel tired easily. went down to the fair on sat to sign up for the cordblood storage & managed to get 4 pkts of nepia..kekeek. the quota was 2pkt per pax. lotsa stock when i went at noon.

went for gynae appt last fri, so glad to know dat bb is doing well, gynae spent quite some time scanning him; saw he's got some hair on his head, fat folds ard neck area, so it's confirm he's puttin on wt as he now weighs abt 1.8kg! he's oso been 'obedient' remaining head-down position since 3wks back, and gynae informed dat his head is below my placenta (last time placenta was low)which means i can hv natural birth if he remains 'kuai kuai'.. iron, protein & sugar levels are all okie.. told her i feel quite breathless nowadays, so she tested my iron (in case anaemic). iron level was still within range so need not take extra iron..phew. all was ok, except for the usual 3rd tri preg symptoms la..

yvonne, thanx for yr advice..i tried to 'fast' by eatin beehoon soup for lunch..no sugar in my urine

reenie, hope to come for the tea oso leh, but got to attend a wedding dat pm + dinner dat nite..haiz..will see if i can 'escape' fr it & come for the tea, so many yummie food, how can miss??!

hey, just realised that other than the fruit platter, it's basically a "sinful" tea-party with "unhealthy" carbo and fats....hahahahhaha..... reenie, guess we would need alot of fruit tea for easy digestion and Christina, please make sure your fruit platter is not made of up only D24 durians. hee hee hee! Just kidding!

just had chicken rice...not very satisfying!

for those who missed the first lesson at TMC last sat ... think its okie lar ... was teaching some simple exercises and massage technique + nutrition .... mrs wong showed a video on breastfeeding ... but the video is more of some ppl sharing their exp .... nothing concrete oso ....

think it will be easy to catch up ....

took half-day leave this morning .... cos last night couldn't zzzz at all .... baby keep kicking and I was very alert .... hope that it doesn't happen again tonight ar ....

can icheck with you, are any of you facing problems wearing your wearing band? i think my fingers are getting puffy, rings getting tight, difficult to take off...

yvonne, nope, just the usual sugar/protein urine test. gynae din asked me to go for glucose test leh.. need to? last time when detect sugar in urine, she oni pricked and took one drop of blood to test my blood sugar..me gained 8kg so far. gynae told me to try not exceed 10-12kg..tryin veri hard. wat abt yrself?

Hi Aidanee,
I'm just over 29th week, into 30th week liao. For post-natal massage, the rate seems to be wide-ranging, from $50 for 2-hr session (low side) to $90 for 1-hr session. Really depends on the fame and popularity of the masseur.

Timie,
8kg at 32 weeks is very good. I'm also trying to control my wt but was already at 6kg at 26 wks. Tonight going to see my gynae again, think will at least hit 8 kg cos been pigging out....

Samantha,
welcome back!

hi maltbibi,

think u better check with tmc again. they did not even inform me of the change, n when i wanted the replacement within this week instead of after all lessons, they say all 1st lesson these series are over. in case u make a wasted trip down tis sat.

anyone gog to give birth at either Mt Alv or Mt E as my gynae only deliver at this 2 hosp. Wanna find out if u gals hv any comments on them. Thot i shd attend e birth lesson fr respective hosp when i can decide on e hosp. already 25th wk into preg.

pinkcitron ...

Will be giving birth in Mt A cos its near my house and convi for my parents and in-law ... my choice is bet Mt A and Gleneagles ...

Why not you do a hospital tour then decide which hospital you wan to stay in?

does anyone know whether infant jabs are much more expensive at private clinics as compared to polyclinics? if price difference is not much, wld rather bring bb to pte clinic next time where there will be fewer patients, thereby shorter waiting time n bb also not subject to long exposure to germs etc. also, pte clinics fewer sick people ard..

Hi TingTing,

I;m not sure what you mean by private clinic, but according to my sister-in-law, the difference between an infant jab by a paedetrician at TMC and a jab by a polyclinic doctor could be as much as $60 (depending on what kind of jab). However, of course you are paying for the service lah. The doctors at TMC will treat your baby like a prince or princess, give her sweets, ooh and ahh, fawn over your child etc, whereas in a polyclinic, i guess its strictly business, no special service etc.

hi mummytobe, "pte" meaning non govt subsidised clinics that're privately operated... gosh, din know the prices can differ so much! maybe i should check out the clinic below my house... thanks!

actually, is it important to see a paedetrician when bbs get sick? or will a GP be sufficient?

these few days i can feel the bb kicking quite violently.. at least can feel some pain, esp when he kicks me at the side... like appendix pain...thot they're not supposed to move so much now that they are bigger n has less space?

feeling more tired nowadays too, although activity level is about the same... btw, what are the tonics that we should take in 3rd trimester? realised that i haven't been bu-ing my body, n people ard me are equally ignorant of such stuff, feel a bit short-changed leh.. want to pamper myself a bit before the real hard work starts..hehe.. with the hot weather, am looking forward to the day i can take coconuts!

hi tingting, i oso feel more tired nowadays, and bb kick/move quite violently at times. s'ppose to hv less space but i can still feel his stretchy movements quite a lot + hiccups. he oso likes to stretch up towards my upper abdomen, pokin my ribcage which is veri uncomfy when i sit down.
din take much tonics except birdnest. my mom keep wanting me to take some cordyceps, she says good for bb's lungs (respiratory) & improve energy/stamina so dat won't feel so tired.. probably will take a bit.. dun dare to bu too much in case bb become too big.
i do take coconuts, but not freq, once in a while when the weather is too hot.
how big is ur bb now?

Morning ladies, long time no log in and chat liao.

Hi Tingting, the infant jabs in polyclinic is so so much cheaper than a PD's clinic. Some are even free. For my ds, all jabs are in a PD's clinic, wah.. costs us a bomb!!! I think cos usually first born, we will treat them as our darling precious etc.. hahah.. tt's y first born always get the good stuffs. For my no. 2, have oredi decided to bring to Sengkang polyclinics for the jabs. Save $$$. And actually, according to a friend hor, the jabs in polyclinics should be more 'fresh' cos it's used up faster, so new supply will be in. hm.. get what i mean?

As we are reaching / in 3rd tri, our body tends to be heaty so not taking in any cordyceps. MIL will make bird's nest for me but I have told her not to make too many times cos CL advised before tt bird's nest taken too much will cause bb to have jaundice.

Coconuts, pls take only when u reach wk 36. Can be taken once or twice weekly w/o the flesh.

hi timie, last check 2 weeks ago showed bb to be at 1.4kg... think that was at week 28. i was amazed that he crossed the 1kg mark, but apparently this is still within normal weight range...

miso, guess can't avoid the travelling then.. was hoping that can be lazy n just pop to neighbourhood clinic downstairs...haha... i think the "freshness" theory makes sense

no one in my house knows how to make bird's nest leh... can just buy the bottled kind?

tingting, yup, it's quite amazing. now oredi feel tummy quite big, it must be quite clumsy when bb goes beyond 2kg+..
me oso takin the bottled type one, so far oni took the homemade birdnest 2x..quite troublesome to make la, but of course shd be better..

miso, jus the cordyceps itself will oso be heaty? i dun put paoshen, jus meat+cordyceps oni.. for birdnest, once a wk izit too much?

tingting, bottle kind is ok too. just try not to consume too much and get the premium ones. my gal at week 28 only weighs 1 kg leh.. hehe.. maybe gals are lighter?

Hi Miso,
long time never hear from you. Thanks for the advice. Didn't realise cannot take coconut flesh and drink only at wk 36. Ate one last week...oops!

Timie,
Ya, last night went to see my gynae. All is well. Bb is 29 wks 2 days, weighs between 1.2-1.3 kg which is very average. As for mummy, I already put on 8kg so far, weighing now a hefty 67.4kg!!

BTW, my gynae have not increased the frequency of my visit, still once a month. He mentioned that I only need to see more frequent after the next visit at 33 weeks. Is this same for other MTBs?

He also told me that he has seen pretty serious side-effects on baby borned from mums who uses epidural. Told me 99% of his patient give birth without epi. Not sure how to process this as I all along was thinking of opting for epi. Any comments from anyone? For info, my gynae is Dr Lawrence Ang at Sun Plaza.

hi miso, thot boys are supposed to be lighter at birth? dunno also... could be genetic... both me n hb are quite tall, and got quite chubby when we were bbs.... only that i lost it by 1 year old but he somehow got it back the last few years..haha...

timie, i'm glad that i'm still pretty mobile... still have a lot to buy for bb's arrival! hope to accomplish more this weekend...

btw, any good places to recommend for bb cots? i'm looking for those that are not convertible to toddles beds, can be folded rather than dismantled next time when not in use. not sure whether will be able to find in neighbourhood shops?

heard that it's not advisable to use cot bumpers cos can hamper ventilation. i think my parents also never used them. is it necessary?