(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

kathy ...

dun be too upset ... my hubby just changed job so he dun have any leave at all ... in fact he prob have to take no pay leave even just to spend 1 or 2 days with me me ... anyway he didn't seem too keen either ...

but since I will be doing confinement at my mum's place ... me dun wan to insist that he stay there with me either ....

thanks lib. will get some to standby first. think will oso go down to the fair/sales to try get everything by tis week cos the thot of squeezing with the crowd makes me tired already..

kathy, my hb oso duno how many days of leave he can take as he jus started on his new job & he's not entitled to many days each year. i understd how u feel cos oso hope he can be with me & bb for first wk at least. tho we're getting a CL, i'm quite concerned dat i may not get along with her (she prob will hv many dos & donts) cos afterall she's a stranger & i'm not used to stranger staying at my place.. it's a gd thing my hb's colleague & few of our frens shared their experiences & warned him to "keep an eye" on me cos after delivery we tend to get post-natal blues quite easily. so now he's quite concerned & will try to make some arrgmts (like get my parents/MIL to pop by). but i oso try to constantly tell myself to be more aware of my own feelings, not to bottle up grievances so as to prevent any kinda depression. so mebe u oso try to talk it out and share with yr hb, let him know how u feel. i dun tink u r unreasonable, sometimes we jus find it hard to control our emotions due to our hormones during this period. dun be too upset okie?

Hi Kathy, don't feel sad.. maybe yr hb cant take long leave, as his company disallow? agreed wif tingting, maybe he leave the shopping & planning to u as he believe tat woman are more diligent in terms of market research, price comparison & all..

Maybe you can try to have a good tok wif yr hb, to tell him how u feel..

kathy, dun b upset abt tat. try 2 talk 2 ur hb & work something out okie. sometimes man r 2 'blur' 2 realise tat we need them by our side after we had given birth.

thanks vone !

btw, if you need a MC (feel sick/too tired)to rest at home, do you go to your gynae or GP for the MC ?

I was thinking if go gynae, will incur the consulation fees right ? does that mean its a norm that pregnant ladies go to GP for it ???

ameliaa ...

can go to GP ... just tell them whats wrong can liao ... but i usually dun take the medication unless i am really sick ar ...

hello gals

i juz came back from my checkup. Currently 26+wks and bb is growing well and fine at 940grams. Baby head and thigh bone are bigger than average, body size is average... so I may end up with a big headed baby girl.. hehe. Doctor did teased me by saying that an average bb at birth-time weigh 3.2kg and as mine is above average, she may weigh as heavy as 3.5kg. Baby is at head-down position and although there is a possibility that she might turn to breech position, doctor said she will probably settle in this head down position until birth time. Amniotic band is not in contact with bb which is a great relief.

All unpleasant symptoms which I've been experiencing such as breathlessness, tummy contraction (braxton Hicks), more vagina discharge than usual, tiredness, more frequent urination are all normal.

So far, weight gain is 9kg and I should be looking at total weight gain of 16-20kg according to my gynae. He said not to worry as my weight gain are mostly water-retention as he can see the puffiness of my face and on my body, feet etc.. he said actual weight gain on mummy doesn't look like that. Don't know how he know how to tell the difference.

Urine all ok, no sugar detected. Blood pressure also ok.

Discussed with hubby and decided to stay in a single-bedded ward in Raffles Hospital for more privacy. The price difference is only $400 with single bedded at $1688 (normal delivery with epi) and doubled bedded at $1288. As Maternity is not Raffles Hospital's specialty, they have only 6 Delivery Suite, 10 single ward, 3 double ward and 1 4-bedded ward on the maternity floor.

allo Kathy
don't be so upset. Most men are like that. Me and my hubby actually made plans to take a month holiday in Europe in May this year but too bad we had to cancel our trip cos I got pregnant. Then I told him, "oh, now you can take a month leave (afterall, he had been saving his leave since last year for the holiday which didn't materialize) after my delivery to take care of me and the baby" and you know what, he refused!! He said, "you know, I have a lot of work to do you know... so I don't know how many days leave I can take after your delivery"

Wah... in my mind, I was thinking, 'can take leave for month-long holiday but cannot take leave to take care of me and bb' Till now, it is still hanging in the air on this issue and we don't plan to employ a confinement lady... so if he doesn't take leave, it will be me and bb only and my mommy will be helping me cook confinement food but will not participate actively in baby caring as she is recovering from a surgery.

Re shopping for things. My hubby never bother abt such things. If he don't bother and juz follow me to pick up the stuff I wanna buy, it's ok. BUT, the problem arise when I've done all the research and wanted to buy eg, a particular brand of car seat at $xxx, he will then start to object buying the car seat I've been eyeing and giving me all sort of nonsense reasons why we should look at other brands!!! Worse stil, he said we don't need to buy a car seat because we can carry baby in the arms when travelling in the car. Wahahahaaha... I can really vomit blood.

It's the same for our wedding which I planned and execute everything. Got into the same argument over issues he was never involved in and want to have a say after I've done all the necessary research. When I ask him for his view during my research, he will say, 'up to you lah'.

After 3 months of being away in Beijing, he initially didn't want to accompany me to the gynae apptment today saying he's too busy with work, blah blah blah. But I don't care lah and sortof emotionally blackmail him to go.

He even wanted to travel for business close to my delivery date which I told him that he can't. As I understand him very well, I cannot use hard approach so gotta use soft approach saying, I don't want him to regret that he missed the birth of his first child.

My hubby just came back from Beijing last Friday and next week, he is going back to Beijing for a couple of days then to Bangkok again for 1 to 2 weeks... then in July, he is going back to Beijing for 1 to 2 weeks. He is never around nowadays.

He never talks to the bb or touch my belly on his own accord or show any excitement when I told him that bb is kicking me very hard. When I complain of breathlessness, he say I deserve it cos I ate too much. When I complain of tiredness, he say women from the olden days are even more uncomfortable and tired as they work harder and never complain. When I complain I'm hot, he said, there were no aircon in the olden days. His empathy for me is literally ZERO.

Despite all these, I know my hubby care for our bb and me and he does it in his own little ways.

So Kathy, don't feel so bad. Your hubby is not the only one who doesn't seem to care outwardly but I am pretty sure he cares and love you and bb very much. Asian guys are not v expressive about their emotions and feelings.

allo kathy

after bashing up my hubby so badly in the post above, I forgot to mention that my hubby show concern for me by looking everything for fuji apples when I want to eat apples and also waking up in the middle of the night to massage my legs when I get leg cramp... so focus on the goodness of your hubby and you'll naturally feel better liaoz

I think I must be the only one who hasn't bought anything yet. I am very fortunate to have my ex-boss (now good friend) giving me all her bb stuff such as bb cot, play pot, rocker, bb monitor, steriliser, walker, high chair, bath chair, pram, bb carrier , breast pump if it is still working. One galfriend of mine is giving me her avent steriliser, another galfriend is giving me her old bb clothes, all the stuff she stopped using for her 2nd bb (now 1 year old), another pram. So I'm left with only the cheaper stuff such as bb shampoo, bottles, diapers etc to purchase.

One group of friends are sharing in the Tiny Love Play and Kick gym mat, another group of friends sharing car seat. Relatives and rest of our friends, I will ask for either voucher or angbao for full month.. hehe

Hi all mummies-to-be,

Finally find time to drop in
Been a busy day!

After reading some of the threads here, I guess I will just have to buy some cloth diapers for day use. Was actually hoping to rely solely on disposable diapers. I know it will probably cost more but water bill these days also not cheap

As for my skin tag, Christina, my gynae said they will most likely disappear after 3 months of delivery. He advises me not to do anything abt it for the time being but today when I took a close look into the mirror, I think I can find 2 or 3 growing on my face! YUCKS!!! I must be the ugliest looking mummy here *sob* *sob*

So seabreeze also have dark rings on your neck? Hmm ... dunno whether or not it's true but pple been telling me that if a mother looks pretty during pregnancy, she most likely is pregnant with gal. Those who are pregnant with boys will look yucky ... Hahaha ...

Vone, everything is alright at work. Just that many of my colleagues are on MC so I have to cover their work. I am also looking after the running of the whole office ops and in-charge of recruitment, training etc. thus I am very busy. At first was thinking of going for maternity leave in Aug but looks like I will have to stay until the day my water bag burst!

Still trying to decide on a hospital for delivery. Actually thought I have to fork out $2k to $3k cash. Was quite surprised to hear that majority of the bill will be covered by medisave

My hubby used to travel a lot in his job but now that he is his own boss, his hrs are very flexible. He always insists on accompanying me to places and it sometimes gets to my nerves! I find it more enjoyable to go shopping with galfriends, he just doesn't understand. He actually has to go for his reservist around my delivery date and he wanna postpone it but I keep telling him to go ahead with it. Guess hubbies are all diff. and no matter what they do, we will always have something to say. *LOL*

Well, ok, signing off here. Take care all mummies!

Thanks for all the comforting words and encouragement everyone...*Hugz* I'm glad that I've voiced out my thots here coz it has been going on in my mind for a while and I cant talk to my sis and mum coz I dun want them to think that there are problems between me and my hubby. In fact, I also dun knw what is wrong with me nowadays, getting more emotional. On one hand I feel scared and worried abt the arrival of my bb. I never had any experience and dun knw if I can do a good job. On the other hand, I knw that my hubby's job is demanding and I dun really want to bother him with little things. Its really stressing me out. I think you guys are right, I better have a good talk with him when he comes back from his overseas trip before my thots run even wilder.
Thinking back, he was a responsible hubby. When we are preparing for our wedding, he did most of the work. And he did help to massage my legs when I complained of cramps...Its just his 'relax' attitude. I wish he can fuss more abt me and bb...

hi gals...

wow, if never log in, stil dun know got motherhood fair... but wouldn't be going, dun like crowded places.

will be dragging my mom to JL on thurs, tot of buying whatever is lacking/necessary there.

i bought stroller at JL (SC), brand les blese for $129. we were looking for something light and this stroller is 3.9kg, plus i tot maybe can save some money for a buggy in future.

BTW, is it necessary to buy the milk storage bags?? i tot just get extra bottles. i also not intending to breastfeed after ML, how many bottles to bring to hospital for delivery?

lib, i also get that cold sweat feeling, usually when i stand too long, especially during church service, just got to sit down and concentrate on my breathing.

angel, you are so lucky... i wish also got so many hand-me downs, can save me the headache of buying the items and save lots of money.

just want to ask: do you think it is rude to specific to relatives and frens on what to give for 1 month? i wanted to do that, at least to my close frens but HB think it is rude...

kathy, dun be upset... my HB also like yours, his leave very precious, his company allows him to cash 1/3 of his AL. i already excused him for all further gynae visit. see him rush from work for gynae appt also quite tough on him.

Hi Kathy, Seabreeze,

My hubby also will only be taking 2-3 days off only..cause his company in midst of reorg and reshuffling, so the only kind of leave he can take now is no-pay leave. Dunno see how, maybe ask him to take one week leave haha..

what i'm worried about is post-natal depression. Then somemore staying with in-laws. Normally, i can still tahan their nonsense (which doesn't happen often la) but i'm worried after baby is born, they will have their own old fashioned opinions, and i'm afraid i will be too tired, and grumpy and upset to tahan.

Btw, have you ladies started buying/stocking up on wet wipes yet? Now everywhere sale, i'm thinking of buying some to stock up, but i'm worried it might dry up leh heh... how many packs do we need to buy also? wet wipes will be used up quite fast right? to wipe baby's butt, baby's body, baby's mouth etc when feeding?

which brand is good? Pigeon has the box thing which you can refill which i think is good, but i feel that Pigeon wipes not as soft as avent or J&J but these don't have box leh...

hi mummytobe, wet wipes won't dry up if u dun open the packaging... usually need quite a lot cos got to clean up bb every time u change the diaper. try not to use it for her mouth.. use damp towel instead.

hi ilmare, i won't "specify" what gifts my frens get... unless they ask what i want. You can set up a gift registry (like gift registry for weddings) instead, and they can pick and choose.

hi mummytobe, yah, i've got the same concern as you as my confinement is done by MIL and I'm staying into her place... quite crowded too.. so afraid of post natal blues too.. hubby also not taking much leaves as he'll be in a new dept by that time

ameliaa, i go 2 my gynae. since i paid 4 d package, i feel tat i shld make full use of it.
in addition, if i were 2 go 2 my gp, i got 2 incur additional medical bills which prob wld exceed wat i can claim fr my co.

angel, great 2 hear tat all's well wif u & bb. u r so lucky, got so many hand me downs. can save a bundle.

anissa, u take care & dun overwork.
ur gynae hvn't asked u 2 book a hospital meh?? mine oledi booked 4 me abt 1 mth back. thot tat i was pretty late oledi.

kathy, being emotional is part & parcel of our pregnancy, so dun b 2 worried abt it. d most impt thing is tat u must talk it out so tat u dun cooped things up okie. remember tat we r always here 4 u.

ilmare, i tink it's okie if we told our frens & colleagues tat we prefer ang paos. but 4 relatives, it wld depends. some might find it offensive. u play by d ear lor.

mummytobe, dun b 2 bothered abt wat ur in laws say. we can't please every1. jus do wat u feel is rite.
i hvn't bought any wet wipes yet. but i tink tat they can keep 4 a while unless u store them in plcs where thr's direct sunlight.

anyone going to the motherhood fair today? pls share your finds and what's cheap/good there
was thinking of going down tomorrow, but not sure if worth making the trip or not..me have sciatica, dont think can shop long also heh

Harlow everyone!
Long time never log in....cos busy at work and attending "social gatherings". went for Karaoke over the weekend...very entertaining for the bb cos he was kicking vigourously that night. Maybe it was too noisy for him.

I have not bought anything yet as i will be getting some hand me downs from my sister. Check with mommies who are getting Confinement ladies....does you CL take a room? I have a prob because my CL prefers to have a room (can sleep on the floor) but i do not have spare room since i am putting up at my inlaws. And would you be putting the bb with her at night? For night feeds, she can bring the bb over and allow you to breastfeed...is this right? or is it better that bb sleeps with the mother...then what is the role of a CL at night?

Angel, wow, your bb is quite big huh? how do you describe a head down position? head towards the cervix? pardon my ignorance....sorry! did you manage to see the face of the bb?

will be visiting my gynae tomorrow. Hopefully, bb is gaining enough (cos i only gain about 5/6 kg so far at week 25! trying very hard!!! ) REally looking forward to each checkup to see how our little rascal is doing. It gives me confidence and reassurance to fight against any insecurities!!

hi aidanee, tink ur bb is 'dancing' 2 d music.
do update us on how u & bb r doing after ur chkup tml.

have you mummies started buying baby clothes yet? i dunno what size to buy leh..overwhelmed by the choices.. 0-3months (up to 12lbs), 6-12 months..dunno baby what size yet, how to buy? also, baby grow quite fast right...

Hi vone, hope he is enjoying...hubby said must ta-jiao so thought singing is good...but then, we cant sing for nuts, am afraid bb will be tone deaf after hearing the "noise"! (choi choi, touch wood!!) how are you getting on? at what week liao? cant believe time passes so fast hor? at first, we were worried about first tri morning sickness...then, we were worried about our triple tests....now we are worried if bb is growing well...later, we will be wondering if bb is getting enough milk from us! It's going to be a total new experience to most of us, who are first time mummies!

have you guys named your bbs already? we cannot make up our minds yet.

mummytobe, we bought most of the clothes in size 0-6 months. My MIL says tat for newborns, may have to fold up their sleeves, pants, coz too big for them. Bought abt 5 -8 sets already.. no need buy so many coz bb will outgrow it very fast....

seabreeze, dun worry so much!... just hang in ter.. only 3 more months to go.... and we will be a pretty mummy!!....

aidanee, being 1st time mommies seems to give us so much insecurities coz we dunno wat to expect and wat lies ahead of us.... Think we will need to keep ourselves positive, and stay happy!

We will only name our bb after knowing the date/time of birth... PIL going to give the chinese name, and we will find a nice christian name for her...

wat abt u?

couting down everyday .... its like so near yet so far like that .... maybe I am the impatient sort thats why heehee ....

me bought 4 sets of clothes from kiddy palace ... all 0-6mths or S size ....

mummytobe, i hvn't bought bb's clothes yet. oh gosh... panicking now.
kao_scared.gif

aidanee, no lah, i m sure tat thr r gd singer thr, so bb can learn aso.
ya hor, time passes by so fast. i m now in wk 27. can't wait 2 c my bb soon. i hvn't named my bb yet, going 2 get some1 2 give him a gd name. so hv 2 wit til he's born.

allo aidanee

yep yep.. head down position is bb head towards cervix which is good position for natural delivery.

my bb is quite big since 4th month. Doctor measured the head and he said, 'yr bb head v big hor'.. I was like.. 'okie' and I thought to myself, there's nothing I can do leh.. hehe

I did see the bb's face and looks quite clear although it's a 2D machine. Now bb visually plumper, face filling up and looking nice and round. Unlike the last time, my bb looks so weird on Dr Chew's 3D machine.. looks a bit like alien.

Is yr gynae Dr chew? If yes, you will have a nice 3D picture of yr bb today. If possible, link yr picture and show us?

hey hoshi,

which stroller did u get ah? my fren bio-ing strollers now and i told her that capella/lucky baby got new models... is it any of the new models shown in the link cakey provided or is it another new model? thanks!

musicgal

Raffles hospital has a 3D machine?? I didn't know.. my gynae also didn't tell me. Maybe I'll ask him when I next see him 3 weeks later.

who is your doctor in Raffles?

which brand of cloth diaper is recommended? Tollyjoy , pureen, etc....

Anyone has comment on combi prams?

which brand car seat is good?

hey angel,

my doc at raffles is dr tan yew ghee... apparently one of his specialties = 3d scan! he suggests doing it at my next visit, at abt 31 weeks... but he says must see baby's position via the usual ultrasound first... if can't see the face, then no point doing the 3d scan, waste $!

Hi ladies....good day : ) You all are really nice people. I feel much better today after thinking abt what you all said. I'm surprised that my hubby is not the only one taking a few days leave, but you all are so understanding towards yours. That makes me really guilty. I shd have been more open-hearted and listen to his explaination. Thanks everyone! : )

musicgal
yr gynae is the most senior doc in the gynaecologist department in raffles.

I was in the hospital yesterday but saw only 3 gynae, Dr Thong, Dr Vincent and my gynae Dr Koh. Didn't see the rest of the doctor. My appointment is always on a tuesday cos my doctor is only in the hospital on Tuesdays and Wednesdays afternoon. The rest of the time he's in the Tampines Woman's centre which is v v packed... so scary.

i think it's not so worth it to pay $ for 3D scan just to see bb's face leh.. afterall, can see his/her face once they are born.. hehe btw, how much is it? If not too ex, then ok la

just saw the thread on stillbirth, rather sad after reading...esp the one she lost her child at 36.5 wks...

Lets all pray for those who had these experience ...

God bless all...

yvonne

the normal black/white machine is a 2D machine.. now our bb are bigger, you can see their features quite clearly liao.. although not as clear as a 3D picture which looks like a photograph.

Just found out yesterday that one of my colleagues is down with German measles. Very worried now cos I can't find any records that says I am immunised. Thought everyone is immunised against that. Apparently I thought wrongly
Now too late to get the jab. Just hope I am not infected with the virus cos the only alternative is abortion
Didn't know it's even more deadly than Chicken pox.

I juz came back from the Motherhood Fair. To be honest, was a bit disappointed at what they have to offer and its small scale. Not much to see, not to mention any great discounts or offers. There are some booths promoting milk powder and bb supplements, maternity wear, slimming packages, parents magazines and disposable diapers etc. Most of the things can be found at shopping centers. I think the greatest bargain there is Nepia Diapers. Newborn diapers is going for $13 a pack (60 pcs). If you fill in a form, they will give you 2 pcs of sample, but you will have to purchase at least a pack. But the booth is really packed with people. Heard from one mummy there that the mkt price per pkt is abt $18++. Other brand at the fair is Sealer. If I'm not wrong, newborn diapers are going for $5++ (20 pcs).
Other than that, Mustela also has a counter there. Their stretchmark creams are much cheaper than off shelves by abt $20 (going for $35 instead of usual $55). BB care products are also cheaper than mkt. Their staff are also very helpful.
I'm surprised by the crowd there, thot won't have any since its a weekday, so for you all going there on weekend, be prepared to squeeze your way through. In total, I only spend abt one hr there. If you ask me, not worth making a trip there if you stay really far...

Anissa

can u do a blood test to check if you've been infected? Don't worry ok, I am sure you are not if you don't have any symptoms.

hey mummytobe & angel,

i think the scan's abt $80-100... can't remember oraidy... it can be quite nice, depending on baby's stage of development at the time... i saw one at dr tan's office, he had the 3d scan pic placed beside the baby's actual photo... so cute and quite realistic... think if baby's still v 'young' then the effect ain't so good, will look a bit plastic... but that particular pic was very nice cos both pics were taken from the same angle in the same 'pose'...

hey anissa,

dun worry... why don't u give ur doc a call and see what he says? also, i *think* the triple blood test tells us whether we have immunity against g measles, mebbe u could check the blood test results?

Hi Kathy,

Yup nepia nb size costs $18.50 for 60 pieces at isetan.. will prob buy 1 pack of S size at the fair, if i can be bothered to go and squeeze with everybody heh