(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

hallo cakey, i had swollen ankle at 23rd week. mine was so painful i could hardly walk. asked my gynae liao, apparently swelling is normal but swelling associated with pain is not...i might have arthritis, alamak i'm only 27! body feels very broken these days...

so if there's any pain, must let gynae know

Wah, so many of our hubbies are overseas. Mine too but luckily this trip also for 2 weeks. He was away the entire of my first trimester the last round! But no choice, must work to save money for bb mah....he's quite sad to be away too, so I try not to give him any more pressure.

The pigeon steriliser at Kiddy Palace quite cheap at $69.60 after discount. Tempted to buy but still struggling between buying a steriliser or boiling the stuff in hot water. Don't have much table top space at home for too many equipment leh....anybody else not getting a steriliser?

i heard in the 3rd trimester, baby movement will be less active then 2nd, is it true as they have less space to move around?

I am in my 27-28 weeks

For baby stuff , is it cheaper to buy at Robinson or kiddy palace....i saw both having sale but Robinson was so crowded . if prices about same as kiddy palace, probably i buy from there. Car park problem at centrepoint...

hi lib and vone,
thank u so much for your concern too
i'm alright, will always stay strong for my baby!

i find that now in my 26weeks, baby is more active than before! i can feel the whole tummy trembling like earthquake everytime she moves around....i really enjoy that kind of feeling, sometimes when i sleep (not deep sleep), i can feel the movement too....

most of us should be approaching 3rd trimester, some are already in 3rd trimester, i guess the energy level will drop abit since our tummy are getting bigger each day! I notice my tummy grow alot this month and my body seems to put on weight. Not sure if its my diet problem, have been eating snacks like potato chips and durian too!! yummy....durian season seems to be back!

Happy weekends everyone !!!!

hi reenie, i would like to eat durians too... but scared later bb turn out too big. he's now at normal range, so wouldn't want to encourage the growth too much... it's not v good for those of us in 3rd trimester to walk too long, so avoid marathon shopping! i tend to get tired more easily too... n my calves will ache if i stand/walk for some time..

my boy also moving quite a lot.. sometimes can feel it when i'm talking to someone, n i'll get distracted..haha...

ixwong, would encourage buying a steriliser... ur stove would be taken up by the cooking of confinement food anyway... and u won't have to worry abt the dangers of fire...think we'll be busy with bbs esp after confinement period, n may tend to get distracted if bb cries while we're boiling the water...

cakey, tink d swelling is kinda of normal given our 'condition' now.
try 2 prop up ur feet in d ofc & whenever u r sitting. if u r still worried, then chk wif ur gynae when u c him again.

ixwong, me not getting a sterilizer 4 d time being. if need 2, tink i wld get them after i hv given birth.

reenie, ya me 2. but sometimes, i get quite fed up esp when he kicks while i m trying 2 sleep.
hmm... talking abt durians, i oni ate 2x since d season started. tink i'll eat them again later.

tingting, same here. i aso realised tat i can't stand, sit or walk 4 2 long. will start 2 feel veri tired.

Hi becky, not true.. u shld be feeling more movement during yr 3rd tri.. as the space inside is getting more crampy.

Reenie, as like u, my gal has been rumbling inside almost the whole day.. sometimes u will see her wriggle from left to rite then rite to left.. then sometimes u can see her elbow u.. hehe..

hi gals ...

just came back from shopping at J8 ... hubby happy cos he rather that I go walk walk with him then stay at home to rest ... man *shake head*

went for my check up yesterday .... dr say that my weight gain is fine *heng ar* and that the baby has prob doubled in size ... but he didn't tell me how much the baby weight cos he say not important ... most important is that I have enough water inside for him to move abt ....

think the steraliser at kiddy palace is already on offer ... offer items not entitled to the 20% off ... same as the avent pump ...

hoshi ...

checked with the nurse ... she say that best to cfm the hospital by 32nd week ...

hehe seabreeze... was about to say the same about the kiddy palace sale..
the $87 for pigeon steriliser is already discounted price n not entitled to the 20% discount. But the avent pump is still cheaper at $59 as compared to Robinson's 20% off $86. I bought that today at kiddy's, plus some diapers n a maternity t-shirt that has the 20% off.. really spent quite a lot!

<font color="aa00aa">Hi all,</font>

Which Pigeon sterilizer u all toking about? There are Universal steam sterilizer &amp; the other one (can't rem). I am not so sure what is the different between them. Care to enlighten me?

cat_tail ...

bought the rapid steam one from robinson ... think for pigeon there are 2 sizes .... the one we toking abt is the bigger one ... round shape ...

tingting ...

what brand of diapers did you buy?

Yap, what brand of diapers did u all buy &amp; how many pkts? I'm almost done with my shopping except for stroller &amp; diapers...

We are still hunting for a stroller with design that we like &amp; of light weight &amp; of course within ur budget...intend to spend not more than $250

oh, i bought the cloth diapers yesterday.. hoping to use them during day time at least for the first few months that i'm home... for disposables, i'm thinking of trying pet pet first, cos it's reasonably priced and seems to get good reviews in other threads. if it's not good, will fall back on pampers.

cat tail, the pigeon steriliser we're talking about is called the rapid steam steriliser. it can hold about 8 bottles, and takes about 6 min per run. The other steam steriliser by pigeon can only hold 2 bottles. They also have microwave sterilisers, but dun feel comfortable using microwave..

we're holding back the stroller for the time being, unless come across one we really like.

btw, i find that the library has got quite a few good books on parenting... borrowed a few n just started reading. if find that they are good to keep then will buy from the bookshops...

hi vone, i bought from Kiddy palace. Pureen brand, $21.90 for 12 pc pack. They now have a 20% discount till end of next week i think.. the other brand available there is Tollyjoy at about $18 for 10 pcs, but Tollyjoy has no further discount cos it's already an offer price. We're starting with 2 packs first.. if not enough then will consider buying another pack...

Anyone knows of any disposable diaper discounts going on now, for ntuc or something? me intending to buy a few packs soon of different brands to try try

er, sorry, didn't phrase sentence correctly..i meant, for baby to try when she is born, not i go and try hehe

good morning ladies
hope you gals had a good weekend.

Attended the last session of my antenatal class at TMC. Mrs Wong went thru some products with us, e.g. breast pump, handling steriliser and also breastfeeding tips. I think breast feeding really not easy.....btw gals, pls massage yr breast a few days or one week before delivery. It helps the milk flow, so after delivery can latch-on smoothly.
And for those getting second-hand steriliser, pls check if there's any tiny holes at the bottom of it as it indicates rust and cannot be used for baby's bottles.

christina, how are you this week? Better?
For the Motherhood fair, i think you will be going during weekday right? Cos i think weekend will be crowded.
Btw i bought the avent breastpump liao. Manuel one. Bought from Kiddy Palace at 59.90. usual price is 86.60. Haven't open yet. kekkee..

Lib, do you think it's necessary to buy newborn diapers now? I see a lot of sale on various brands.

reenie, hope yr monday morning started fine. How's things at the moment?

Btw gals, i went to visit my gynae last friday and my bb weights 1kg at 27th week then. This week is my 28th week. And my weigh is 67kg!!! I put on a total of 13 kg liao!! Jia lak! I think i the heaviest here. 'Heavy Weight Champion"... so sad. My gynae saw the scale and went 'wah, 67'. But then he didn't say anything liao.

My baby's head is below my breast area and gynae said will BB most probably turn down at 32weeks. I'm seeing him again at 30th week. Now my gynae seeing my every 3 weeks.

really went on shopping craze with my hubby yesterday and finally bought the stroller! Went to orchard - Taka, tangs, suntec, IMM... haha..
Musicgal, the Capella petit optima air stroller we saw, cheapest at $179. But we bought the newer and latest version for Capella sparkle optima (something like tat), and ter's only one colour - Pastel Yellow and it's only $199. (Orchard is selling at $249) Comes with all functions including 2-way facing pram, 3-inclining positions, easy one-hand fold, more stable, light-weight. Only downside is tat, it's a big bulky coz the pram is slightly bigger than norm (but we figured tat bb will be comfy and less crampy)...

ixwong, I will also not be getting the sterilizer. My MIL says tat she will do the boiling, coz sterilizer will take up space and use lots of electricity... haha.. anyway, my colleague also advised me not to buy coz the bottles will only need to be sterilized till bb is abt 7-8 months old and their immunity is stronger. After tat, no use for steriliser already.

Gals, me now considering to buy a breast pump. Is electric better or manual?... which brand is better? Saw Tangs selling the Medula electric pump (or avent?) at $108...

Erowen, dun worry. I heard from my gynae that only 25% of preggie can achieve the ideal weight gain of 8-12 kg. The remaining 75% all exceeded....

I'm still seeing my gynae at 4-week interval leh. Maybe he will change it after my appt on next Monday, I will be 29 wks 2 days then.

For those interested to get clothe diapers, if you (or frens) are going to malaysia, it's much cheaper to buy there. I bought a pack of Tollyjoy on my last trip to Melaka and cost me only $10.

I'm considering to buy at least 1 pack of NB and I pack of S disposable diapers for standby. But have not decided between Pampers, Mama Poko or Nepia....

As for strollers, I got a "lucky baby" stroller from baby kingdom, costs $169 only. Hubby like it very much cos it's easy to maneuver and light-weighted. Only con is the handle is not two-directional, but we can still see bb thru the mesh.

Hi Hoshi5,

I have already standby an Avent manual pump (bought from yahoo auction at $25). Will see how when bb is born, if really need an electric pump, I'm intending to get the Ameda Lactaline dual electric pump. A new one will cost $280 (from Euramedic) but I'm also on lookout for 2nd-hand one....

Ha ha. My mum also says the same thing re the steriliser. I suppose I will play by ear...

ixwong, agree with u... m'sia is really very cheap to buy bb products... tat's why me and hb only bought bulky items here in s'pore. we are intending to go m'sia shop again... haha..
Esp their cloth diapers, rompers, mittens... etc.. It's almost 2 for the price of 1..
BTW: Lucky Baby is the same as Capella brand (dunno why ter's 2 names)
Is the Ameda Lactaline dual electric pump good? Why need dual?.. cannot one by one?.. Also, is it very noisy?... I scared if bring to office, everybody can hear when I'm expressing... hehe..

Not sure whom to follow... some say must walk more during last trimester so tat deliver easier, some say cannot walk so much else easy to get water retention...

good morning all pretty mummies...

erowen, wow, ur bb now alrdy 1kg at 27wk. how do we know the bb weight even if didnt go for checkup? i was abt 56kg n my bb at 650g durin 24wk. now im into 26wk, my weight still maintain at 56kg... doc advise me not to put on too much weight..so i m monitoring my diet since last visit...

hoshi, think is the avent pump at 108 come with the cooler bag...i bought tat plus the avent sterilizer...

tngting, tks 4 d info. will chk it out soon.

mummytobe, tink ntuc got offer 4 d disposable diapers. but i can't remember d brand &amp; price. u can chk out last thu's ST 4 more info.

hoshi, u play by d ear. if u get water retention after walking, then try 2 cut down. dif mtb got dif reactions.

me went for a shopping craze yesterday ...

bought the china brand diapers at the end .... one dozen for $13.90 ... some goldfish brand heehee ... the shopowner told me its an old time brand ....

went kiddy palace and bought all the small small stuff and 4 sets of clothes for my ds ... heehee oso a pack of the NB pampers premium to standby ...

hi ladies, glad that u had a good weekend! wahhh the last time my husband has that much patience shopping with me was during courtship...he rathers i go alone these days...

coming back to the topic on steriliser, did anyone see any good deals for avent during your shopping trips?

christina ...

think the prices of the steraliser are quite standard ... cos for the pigeon its selling st $87 everywhere ler ....

seabreeze, i c....probably price controlled by the agent. i saw the goldfish diapers at my neighbourhood estate yesterday. very retro and i'll probably be getting that oso. my mum probably used that when she was nursing me...kekeke

christina ...

really ... there are 2 sizes ... 28" by 28" and 30" by 30" ... 30" by 30" is the same size as the pigeon, tollyjoy etc .... me bought 1 pack of each size cos dunno which one is more suitable .... cos everyone keep telling me NB very small heehee ....

hi christina
now avent got 20% discount at kiddy palace, i bought my pump there.....the avent steriliser now cost 119 or 129 there, but ntuc and metro still selling at 186.60 i think. But some mommies told me pigeon steriliser can put in all brands of milk bottles? But avent one can't.
But most probably i will get avent since i bought the breast pump.

ixwong, ya i think yr gynae will see you more often when we near 30th week onwards.

yvonne, i was looking thru some bb books and most said 900g for 28th weeks bb....but my gynae said nowadays bb are usually big cos of the nutrients we take. Hey you bought the avent cooler bag? initially i also thot of that, but later i thot just get the pump first. now i thinking it will be good to have the cooler bag also, it looks very compact...i abit fickle minded when comes to bb items. kekek

Hi all mummies, hope you all had a good morning. Wow...seems like all of you had a good weekend doing all the bb shopping. I cant do much shopping now as hubby not ard and there's no one to help me carry. But getting a bit 'kan chiong' these days coz getting closer to our EDD. Also these days, body seems to get very tired easily, cant really walk much. My parents keep telling me to go walking as they said its gd for delivery, but I barely walk for 10mins and I was soooo tired. Wonder is it due to lack of exercising eversince my pregnancy?

Hi erowen, where weight gain is concerned, you are not alone. I actually put on 18.3kg since pregnancy and I'm only into my 28th weeks, hitting 63.8kg on scale last week when I went to see my gynae. Thot going to get warning from gynae, but guess what he said? He actually said I can still afford to put on another 5 - 6kg! I almost fainted. My bb weigh more than 1.2kg. Cannot tahan liao....she is sooooo heavy!

nowadays with the sale season avent steriliser usually should sell at about $119.. saw it both at kiddy palace n robinsons. if u have robinson's card can get the further 5%. Think prices are controlled by the distributor..

didn't know there are sizes for cloth diapers! think my parents used the same size cloth diapers for me throughout leh... :p think unless we've premature bbs (touchwood) the same cloth should be able to last them till they are toilet trained. Din know that so many of us are planning to use cloth diapers..yeah, will have support in future...hehe!

i'm actually not planning to breastfeed in public, n not after i return to work, so probably not going to need cooler bags. Intending to express whatever i can during my leave period for future use... for those who bought avent pumps, what storage mediums are you using? I currently have 4 small sized bottles (2 avent + 2 pigeon), but thinking of getting storage bags.. they are cheaper than the disposable containers that avent sells.

hi hoshi,

wah! capella introduces new models really fast! the petit optima is supposed to be fairly new! hehehe... haven't seen the model u bought but it sure sounds good... now a bit regret getting the stroller so early! oh well...

musicgal, i bought the capella one from kids mall. They only come in yellow colour. Actually me and hb saw this mom pushing this very sweet yellow stroller, and we love it very much. So, after looking ard for quite some time, we decided to buy this stroller lor. Think maybe the new model strollers may come out again... hehe...

vone, everybody advise me to walk more... my hb, PIL, friends... so far, walking is quite ok for me. No water retention yet. But have back pains lor... dunno whether is it due to the walking. But after walking so much, found it easier to sleep coz tired mah... and not much dreams...

will monitor and stop walking so much if ter are signs of water retention...

Gals, any of u going to motherhood fair?...

hoshi, my hb aso advised me 2 walk more. but i kinda of 1 ear in 1 ear out.
coz whenever i walked 4 2 long, i get breathless &amp; tired. so i try not 2.

tink i wld b going 2 d motherhood fair. but not 2 sure when.

i'm also planning to go to the motherhood fair! maybe going on thursday or friday...

can i ask whether any of you are still wearing underwired bras? i know we're supposed to wear non-wired ones to prevent blocked milk ducts, but when should we start changing? my current bras still fit me using an extension, so i didn't think about it till i read a breastfeeding book. is it too late if i wear only during the last month, which is when we're advised to buy nursing bras? we can wear that at last month right? then no need to buy maternity bras at this point.

hi erowen,
i'm ok, except a little tired cos' i didn't sleep well last nite :p I think i am becoming China national treasure! Panda. This week is my 27th week, dare not look at the scale anymore...hahaahahaha...wait till the check on next monday.

hi vone,
me too have the same problem as u, i will get super breathless, backache and worst, my ears blocked!!! I think i must try to do all the necessary shopping soon.

Wow, looks like most mummmies here are doing the shopping!!!

can i ask a question, for disposable diapers, usually for newborn, is it those 3kg-6kg pack?? What is the most recommended brand?

IF we are doing breastfeeding, what are the essential items to get? do we really need nursing bra, pad...etc?

reenie,
Most likely i will try to do BF... but very scared coz read many postings tat there are many many probs, and even strawberry milk!!... So, wat I intend to do is to try to latch my bb on for abt 1 week (not sure enough or not) and once the milk flow and supply establish, will then use the pump to express the milk out. I dun want to keep latching my bb on otherwise next time bb might reject milk bottles, and will hv more probs esp when I go back to work after ML.... some more if i express out the milk, anybody can help to feed the bb so tat we will hv more time to rest...
So now, I'm looking for a good pump!...

ting2, I'm still wearing my normal bras with extension, though I have bought 2 more bigger size bras without underwired... Also not sure what size to buy if we were to get a nursing bra now. Read from magazine tat our size changes thru;out our pregnancy, and after give birth, dunno if size will shrink or expand??...

Hi Ero, is ok to start stocking up the NB diapers, but u may want to consider buying 2-3 pkts 1st.. considering the rate of growth of yr bb, cos we will only know it when bb is out.

Hoshi, my gynae actually advise me not to walk too much.. Like those kind of shopping for 3-4hrs consecutively. As it will cause water retention. Walk is good for birth but not too much. Yes yr backache is caused by too much of walking.

Hi Christina, Everythin fine wif u? \

I oso bought the capella 1-way pram, find it more cosy and big.. imagine us sleeping in it. And is oso more stable. I bought the blue colour during my 2nd month..

Mommies at week 29-30 can i ask u, whether u gals have short of breath symptons? I nowadays sometimes will find myself short of breathe then will lead to cold sweat and abit giddy..

hi hoshi,
actually me plan to do latch on for my baby, maybe nite feeding then use bottle, so it will be both pump and manual...hopefully i got enough milk, else might have to partial depend on milk powder too

Lib,
i had that even i have not reach 29-30 weeks, my gynae told me its due to my poor blood circulation, sometimes it might be due to standing too long, sit too long or walk under the sun, especially when air is very humid and hot. Try to avoid crowded area and go to well ventilated area.

If u feel giddy, quickly squat/sit down and put your head in between the kneee.

I nearly faint because of this several times!

hi Lib, i dun have your symptoms... do you have low blood pressure or sugar problems? recently i'm just feeling hot hot hot.... and my ears are blocked almost everyday! i have had this problem since young, but only very rarely. it's becoming almost like a daily affair since my pregnancy started, and it's very irritating indeed... i sound like a person with speech problems, and tend to speak too loud... sigh...

reenie, don't worry abt the panda eyes, me too!! Last night slept at 11pm but woke up at 3pm and slowly carry my 'ball' toss here and there. Very uncomfortable.
I bought the nursing pad cos i heard my breast may leak now and then after breastfeeding.

lib sometimes i find myself having to stop and breathe in hard and deep, so you are not alone in feeling that way. I wonder if it's also bcos i eat too full. =(
I think i will start to source for baby diapers liao. Seems like i still have a lot of things yet to settle.
Btw lib, you booked the hospital liao or yr gynae booked for you? I received a letter from TMC abt my hospital stay.
I wonder when will we get the admission letter from our gynae

Hi Reenie &amp; Ting... so far my blood pressure ok leh.. and no sugar problems oso.. my ears oso got blocked esp after yawning.. so sickening too..

reenie, thr was once i was in a cab, wif my hb, SIL &amp; MIL.. we 3 gals sitting behind.. all of sudden i feel tat the cab is very smelly, and like lack of oxygen kind.. then after tat i broke into cold sweat.. lucky we were oredi reaching taka.. so the moment the taxi stopped, i quickly rush in to taka, then feel better..

Hi Lib,
I dun have your symptoms except when I climb up 2 flights of stairs to get to my mum's place. But I'm suffering from some nasal congestion so perpatually sounds like having flu....nose blocked when I laid down to sleep....

For MTB going to Motherhood fair, you may want to print out the $5 discount coupon for MIM booths. Details about the Coupon:
http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/MIM-MH2005.html

For bras, I just bought 2 new ones with underwire cos the sales person said the non-wired ones cannot give adequate support, leading to sagged breasts.

Can I ask if all MTB experience a big increase in bra size? I went from 36B/C to 40C and outgrown 2 bra extensions, so no choice got to buy new ones. Very scared will grow somemore in the next 2 months...headache where to buy bras cos those big-size ones usually super ah soh....

Hi Ero, haha.. as now my hb is on leave.. so he kinda of worry cos i kip telling him that i'm lack of oxygen.. so he kinda of banned me from going out alone liao.. haiz.. U going to motherhood fair ant? cos they may have diapers promo leh.. so far drypers doesnt have good comment on the diapers.. will cause leakage one loh..

Yes i booked the hospital liao.. 4-bedded.. yes the hospital has sent me the admission letter..

ting ting ...

i got the avent bottle liner to act as the storage bag to freeze the milk ... its abt $16 for 100pc .. pigeon's one is at $15 for 15 pc - which is specially designed to store milk ...

my fren told me the avent one is sufficient ... frozen milk can store up to 3mths ...

reenie ...

me bought the avent bottle liner, tollyjoy disposable breast pad, avent manual pump (will invest in the electric one when CFM successful in BF), got 6 milk bottles (2 NUK, 2 Avent - FOC with breast pump and 2 Pigeon - FOC with steraliser) ... likely to use the NUK one to feed cos thats the recommended brand by my fren ... fren passing me some glass milk bottle to use for storage of milk too ...

think thats all ... oh ya ... bought some cheap PJ from mkt ... those with zip in front one ...

hoshi ...

you are right ... my fren were saying nursing bra buy nearer due date or aft giving birth cos the size of breast keep changing one and think size is affected by how much milk oso ...

but the one from kiddy palace not recommended cos it will always 'spring'up ... wonder where to get good nursing bra ....

wah ixwong.. yours grow quite fast! hehe.. mine is gradual n minimal, so i'm still quite ok...

am looking for PJs like a shirt dress with buttons in front... anyone can advise where to get them? i just couldn't find them anywhere! am short of making do with wrap slip ons...

seabreeze, u bought the avent manual pump tat comes with 2 FOC bottles? Are they good? How much did u buy them?
Was thinking of getting electric but the recommended ameda lactaline so ex, abt $270....

Saw good nursing bras from Perfect Mom.. think they selling 4 for ~$80..

lib, u r fast! TMC already sent u the admission letter?... I'm still deciding on which hospital to take up...