(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

tingting,

Guess I will just stick to diapers. Cloth diapers need to be washed every day. Too troublesome

seebreeze, the motherhood fair is at expo? thot of gog but think hubby will say "very crowded! is not safe!" sigh... same as GSS...

tatz why i bought a little by little from now...now only left pampers n bottles tat i still hav not get it yet...

btw, anyone here use MSN?

tks 4 all ur concern. brought tears 2 my eyes when i read all ur postings. m feeling slightly better these days after resting at hm 4 abt 1 wk. m under strict instructions not 2 overwk or stressed myself. will try 2 do tat when i go back 2 wk nxt wk.

anissa, my apologies, i can't seem 2 find d list of d bb stuff which we wld need. wld email it 2 u once i located it. so sorry...

hi vone, remember to take care of yourself... it's not worth risking your bb over work. if it gets too stressful, do not hesitate to take leave to rest...

have a good weekend!

Hi hi, anyone has Lib's hp no.? I put her no. in my small book in the office.. haiya, forgot to write it down and bring home.. I am to pass her 2 dresses for some occasions 2mlr.. can anyone pls PM me her hp no.?

Lib, if u see this.. pls PM me k?

* PS. No hp now.. cos lost in taxi.. haiz..

Hi vone,

Dun worry abt the list. The most impt thing is u dun stress urself. If u still dun feel 'up to it' then take more leave frm work. Ur baby is after all the most impt.

Share with u something funny. Yesterday my dress gave way when I was getting up frm my seat at a coffee shop. The top kinda fell ... wahhhh ... so embarrassing! Hahaha ... serve me right for not getting maternity clothes though I am already 6 mth pregnant!!!

hi anissa,

tks 4 ur concern. i c how things go after i go ack 2 wk tml. dun really feel like going back. but no choice.

wah, u mean til now u still hv not bought any maternity clothes. i can't fit in2 my clothes when i was abt 4 1/2 mths. so no choice hv 2 buy maternity wear. tink u better get some, at least incidents like tat wldn't happen again.

Hi Vone,

Me had a lousy day today. Left my atm card in the machine this afternoon after I deposited the cash and just remember it now

I didn't see the need to buy maternity clothes until now cos I have only put on abt 3 kg in all and most of my clothes are loose dresses so can still wear. But after what happened yesterday I guess I better go get some.

Went to Mothercare last Friday and so tempted to buy those lovely clothes for my little boy but since the fair is coming up, I believe the bargain will be even better.

pls try not to discuss weight issues on monday morning... it's depressing....
esp when i'm already in 2-digit gains!

morning! really don't feel like waking up for work today... the weather's so cool n nice!

btw, anyone planning to buy a car soon? we need one to ferry little one to my mum's place for bb sitting, so thinking of getting one soon... any recommendations? budget quite tight, n looking for sedan bcos of larger boot space..

tingting ....

Korean cars are cheap but they drink alot of petrol (mine is a hyundai matrix) .... Jap car more exp ... but pertrol consumption lower ...

Feel that its a good time to buy Jap car ... cos prices are low ....

hi anissa,

u hv 2 b more careful oledi. gosh, left ur atm card in d machine. hv u informed ur bank??

tink u hv 2 buy maternity clothes oledi, even though u oni put on 3 kg. ur tummy shld b bigger oledi rite?? so i tink maternity wear wld b more comfortable.

4 me, i aso put on abt 4 kg, but my tummy is getting bigger, so no choice but 2 wear maternity wear.

as 4 ur boy's clothes, tink u wait til d fair. i aso tink tat u'll get better bargains.

hi seabreeze.. apparently Nissan Sunny's fuel consumption is abt the same as hyundai.. i feel that jap cars are overpriced... exploring toyota vios, nissan latio, hyundai accent, chevloet aveo. prices are also dropping... so thought it'll be a good time to buy... at least can use for the new year..

tingting,

it's okie abt d weight gain. if i remember correctly, u r pretty small sized, so it's not 2 bad. 4 me, i m pretty big sized, if i put on 2 much weight, then it's veri difficult 4 me 2 lose them after i hv given birth.

ya, i aso hv d same feelings as u tis morning, really feel like sleeping in. but cannot oledi. was on mc 4 d past wk, if i dun go 2 wk today, tink i wld out of a job soon.

tingting,

nissan sunny's fuel consumption is pretty heavy. but i m not 2 sure abt how it compares wif hyundai car. in addition, i didn't really like d new designs.

we r currently driving a mazda 3. find tat it's pretty gd. mayb u can consider.

Hi Tingting.. nissan sunny really drinks petrol like drinking water.. matrix on the other hand is their petrol container is like a funnel... so if u pump petrol at the 3/4tank mark.. u properly will nid to pump like S$40 in order to make it full tank..

Toyota vios is a good car comparing to Nissan.. but the thing is the car boot is quite small.. and now is cheap oso.. 1st of all, u have to determine what kind of car u want lor.. whether if is juz a 1.0 or 1.3 or 1.5 or so on..

my matrix full tank is abt $60 ... nissan sunny fuel consumption oso super high ... comparable to korean cars ....

but i like the roomy feeling of matrix ... quite shiok ....

vone ... feel like zzzz oso this morning ... its a sin not to zzz for such weather heehee

Gd morn all MTBs,
Nice weather today & I already dun feel like working..haha..

Gosh! Tok abt wt gain, I am gaining abt 7kg! I read an article that as long as overall you have gained 10-15kg, it shouldn't be a problem. Of cos, it's just a guideline.

Hi tingting,
Try to get Toyota if you are thinking abt better fuel consumption for long term. Altis is not bad too, the interior is spacious.

This is the list that everyone is asking for?

I got it from a fren ... recommendation comment not from me ar ....

1 Cloth diapers
2 Nappy liners
3 Disposable diapers (newborns - 2-3 weeks after birth)
4 Safety pins
5 Vest
6 Milk bottles - Preferred brand Avent
7 Teats (silicon) - Preferred brand Avent
8 Bottle warmer (not very necessary - can use bowl)
9 Hairbrush
10 Receiving blanket - flannel material
11 Mittens
12 Bootees/socks
13 Bath tub
14 Non-slip mat
15 Face towels
16 Bath towels
17 Shampoo
18 Shower cream (Personally, I combined 17&18 using Lactycld - a non soap wash)
19 Baby powder
20 Nappy rash cream
21 Baby lotion
22 Cotton wool
23 Powder container
24 Wet tissues - Preferred brand Pigeon
25 48"x28" Baby cot with mattress
26 Waterproof sheet & mattress protector
27 Baby cot bumpers (full bumper will be good)
28 Cot sheets
29 Avent Steam Steriliser
30 Plain knitted cardigan or loose jumpers
31 Stretch suits
32 Plastic pants
33 Nappy buckets
34 Blunt-edge scissors
37 Play-Pen (Graco : $199 with mattress)
38 Baby monitors (Tomy)
39 Mosquito net
40 Musical cot mobile (get those from Kids II - red, black, white)
41 Musical Lamp
42 Chest of drawers (mine from Ikea)
43 Storage shelves
44 Electric Thermo Flask
45 Small Thermo Flask
46 Milk powder container - Preferred brand Avent
47 Kodomo liquid detergent (baby wash)
48 Kodomo fabric softener (baby softener)
49 Milk bottle cleaning detergent - Preferred brand Pigeon
50 Milk bottle scrub brush - Preferred brand Avent
51 Cleaning scrub
52 Oil to rub baby's tummy - Lu Yi You
53 Infacol (for colic treatment) - from Pharmacy

1 Disposable Breast Pads ($8 for 36 from Pigeon); Washable from Avent - 3 pairs for $18
2 Breast pumps (Avent - manual:$80+; Medela electric:$200+)
3 Breast Shields
4 Nursing Bras
5 Disposable panties
6 Nursing cream for sole nipples
7 Large Chinese cabbage for breast engorgement treatment
8 Disposable maternity pads (your flow will be at least 3 weeks continuous)
9 Post partum soak - see from www.momsinmind.com.sg for more info & online orders
10 Nursing clothes
11 Baby sling
12 Baby stroller
13 Car seat - convertible (Preferred brand from Mothercare & Combi)
14 Diaper bag - normal large tote bag will do
15 Ice packs (those from Japanese restaurant when serving sashimi) - for storing of breast milk when out (pump while at work, etc)

seabreeze, tks 4 d list. it's veri comprehensive. gosh, looking at it, seems like got a lot of stuff 2 buy. d best thing is, i hvn't start shopping yet.

cat tail ...

me thinking of using cloth diapers too ... but many of my fren gave up cos if you breast feed ... the baby pass alot of waste ... have to keep changing ... so they changed to disposables instead ....

seabreeze, ya i agree wif u. my fren encounter d same problem 2. so i tink i wld use disposables instead.

OMG ... that looks like a loooooooooooooong list of items to buy. Sure gonna burn a hole in my pocket.

Not too sure if my lack in weight gain has anything to do with my diet. I have fast food every day. If it's not Burger King than it's MacDonald. Too busy to go for lunch due to work so always get colleagues to 'ta-bao' for me.

Went to get my ATM card replacement this morning. The staff was very rude. I was there around 10.23 am, the door was opened so I stepped in. This woman came to ask what I want so I told her. She said the bank is only open at 10.30am. Just 2 more mins so I said I will wait. She asked me to wait outside then said there is a chance my card is retained by the machine, ask me to go home n wait a few days to see if the card is returned to me. I asked if there is anyway she can check the system cos I dun want to wait a few days then have to come down to the bank again, she told me no. Anyway, I stepped out, called the phone banking service and the lady online told me that atm cards will only be retained by the machine if 1)the machine is faculty or 2)the person keys in more than 3 times the wrong pin. For my case, I forgot to remove the card after depositing my cash, as such, the card will not be retained. In any case, she checked the computer system and my name was not there. She explained that if the machine retains my card, it will automatically send a report to all the terminals. Really dun understand why the woman at the bank told me she couldn't check. Anyway, I went back to the bank and by then it was already past 10.30am so I went up to her and made the same request. She told me the bank has just opened and she hasn't boot up her system, I will have to wait. What kinda staff is this? She waits until 10.30am exact to boot up her system?? Then she strip my new atm so hard that the white part behind came off and I still have to pay $5 for it. Arrrgh!

cat_tail,
i would be using both, guess daytime will be using those cloth diapers and nitetime is disposable type :p see how. My mother bought a dozen for me already. She will be getting another dozen, think 24 pieces is more than enuff!

Seabreeze,
my mother just bought it from normal neighbourhood shop
Of course, wash it before using it. I think we need to place a piece of linen so that the poo poo from baby will not dirty the cloth easily.

Actually I am thinking of getting disposable diapers cos can save me a lot of trouble on washing. Too tedious liao if I get the cloth ones. Newborn diapers are hard to get so I feel like stocking up first..heehee.. a bit Kiasu rite.

Aiyoo Anissa,
Dun eat too much fast food lah. Once or twice a week is ok but not everyday! All these are processed food leh, not very healthy one. Can ask your colleague to tabao economic rice instead?

I was 43kg initially and now I am 50kg! Probably I am very conscious abt my diet & lots of durians.

anissa, ur diet is not veri healthy leh. tink u shld try 2 eat more healthier okie. remember watever we eat now affects d bb hor.

if i were u, i wld write in 2 complain abt d staff's attitude. tat's veri rude of her u noe.

cat_tail,
quite true if you tinking of the washing part, but my mum feels that its "cooler" to use cloth type during daytime....she don't mind washing it :p
is it reallly hard to get newborn diaper??

hi anissa,
occasionally fast food is alright to eat, i take fastfood a few times a month, but not everyday...maybe u can try to pack sandwich from home for lunch? its healthier too
OR ask your colleague to pack rice/noodle instead of fastfood.

For me, if i have alot of work that day, i will take a heavy breakfast at home, then pack a sandwich to lunch, teabreak eat some biscuits with milo...OR i will ask my colleague to ta pao rice/sandwich for me.

reenie, I will also be using both cloth diapers and disposable ones at night. My MIL says tat 20 also not enough!!... we bought 30 coz daytime usage can be quite high. We bought the better quality ones from Johnsons&Johnsons coz MIL says those kind can dump into washing machine and won't be spoilt tat easily. Remember to buy the diaper linen so that the cloth diapers will be easier to wash...

Gals, remember to buy the "waist-band" to protect the baby's bellybutton, coz new-born very sensitive.....

Wah reenie,

Your mum is so nice! For me, noone help me to wash so no choice lor. Oh yah it's true, newborn diaper seems very hard to get. I was doing a lot of marketing around Seiyu, Isetan, Taka, NTUC, etc... and I could only see 1 or 2 selling with limited quantity. There are also not many brand selling newborn diapers so that makes it tougher to get.

hoshi,
i heard about the "waist-band" from a friend too, she gave me a few...
guess my mother will be using hand wash for the cloth diapers, since she says wash when dirty,avoid accumulating too much..hehehe...hopefully my girl girl won't poo poo alot.

Hi Seabreeze,

If my hubby is there he will sure file a complaint against her. *LOL* As for me, I am more 'easy-going' or shld I say lazy. Hahaha ...

But last Friday I was really angry! I was on this escalater and this woman behind me pushed me very hard and caused me to fall. Her train was at the station and she didn't want to miss it but there were many people in front of me and they were not moving! Pushing me sure wasn't gonna help. I raised my voice and told her off right there and then. She just walked away without apologising. There are just so many inconsiderate pple around.

hi cat_tail,
i heard the brand like "drypers" or "pet pet" has sizes for new born, maybe u want to check those out. I think kiddy palace or JL has the diapers.

anissa, jus write an email to d bank & tell them of ur experience. sure 2 get a satisfactory reply 1.

gosh, tat's really bad of d woman. so inconsiderate. tink it's time 4 u 2 get some maternity wear oledi. at least when other ppl c ur outfit, they wld b more careful.

hi anissa,
how could the lady push u like that?? lucky nothing bad happen, i cannot imagine! That's why i am extra careful these days, people always seems rushing.

thanks for the advice on cars! i think overall vios is value for money n within budget, but everyone seems to be driving it, so checking to see if there're alternatives..

i'm also intending to use cloth diapers during daytime n disposables at night... i heard that a bb can use up to 15 diapers during the day (depending on how frequently u want to change, at risk of diaper rash), so using disposables can be quite expensive.. also cloth is more gentle on the skin... when buying new cloth diapers, remember to pre-wash them a few times to get rid of the chlorine n soften the fabric. I'm intending to buy 30 for a start... usually newborns do not use as much, until they increase their milk n water intake. Nappy liners can help ease the washing for the poo poo ones... do you know that the more durable liners can be washed n re-used?

today had a scare.. didn't see the curb in my carpark, n twisted my ankle a bit.. hopefully no impact on bb...

Anissa,

If I am you, I won't let her get away easily with this! This is too much!! Wah liew, can't tolerate these kind of ppl. Definitely I will pull her one side, and scold till I am satisfy... so shameful of her..

Hi reenie,
Wat is "waist-band"?

I missed out the 2 places you mentioned.. *lol Probably I am targetting more on Nepia & Pampers. Thanks, I think I will look out for these 2 brands too.

tingting, tink of it tis way, if every1 is driving vios, then it shld a gd car rite??

gosh, u better b careful aso. must open ur eyes big big when u walk okie.

can i find out do we need to use nursing bra at home when breastfeeding?

Anyone bought from little dreamers their confinement products for bathing and shampoo....thinking of getting from there , wonder those chinese herbs buy from medicine shop will irritate skin or not...

Reenie,

I know having fast food every day is not very healthy but I just dislike rice and noodle. I can survive on fries and burger every day =) Baked potatoes is my personal fav! Maybe like what you have suggested, I can stick to sandwiches.

cat_tail,

Just one of the local banks lah. It's not nice to mention names

Vone,

How's ur day at work? Today for once I didn't have fast food. But had pineapple fried rice. Now the tummy feeling a little funny. Actually my gynae did warn me not to eat pineapple and I promised hubby I will not touch it but just can't resist and thought it won't hurt ... my baby is so poor thing cos the mummy is so notti