(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

hi seabreeze,
me too, look abit aunty and sick/pale..
sometimes i lose my self-confidence when i look at those well-dressed up girls in my office or on the road. After baby born, i definitely go for a "make-over"...haahhaahahaa...get my hair done up, do manicure, go facial!
most likely i will get the Avent manual pump, since i can use my Avent sterliser. Don't give up if the initial pumping is not working or too little, that's an advice from my friend
We have to be patient and get support if we cannot do it well. Let's cheer for each other.

angel,
u are right, that's my concern if i am handing my baby to my MIL. And i don't wish to see our relationship sour because of this. My hubby will be stress.

Yes, my mother will help to take care of my baby after i return to work. She will be staying with me, also my father, so 2 of them can take turn to look after my baby
This is the arrangement for now, as i am shifting into my new house and i asked them to stayed with me.

reenie ...

when i see preg with good appet and dressed up to the nines ... i am so envy of them ... for me going to work and knocking off is an achievement everyday ...

me is quite the gang ho type ... now that preg like mouse like that ... always sick ...

angel, ur mil looks really young...think can pass for late 30s? But u better take her photo off the web soon... in case someone does some digital imaging to the photo..hehe...

at least my dog doesn't shed much hair, n she's generally quite well behaved... we hope to cope with the bb's arrival and need not hire a maid/part-time cleaner... as it is, making the decision to buy a car is burning a big hole in our pocket...

my MIL is quite modern, n doesn't want to be tied down by a kid as well... she's young-looking for her age n likes to go places. Even now when there's only 2 pple staying at her house she still hires part-time help to do housework... not bcos she's lazy, but she prob felt that her time is worth more enjoying herself than doing housework..haha.... my own mother is the typical everything DIY kind... think both me n my hb inherited our respective family traits, and it's hard to reconcile them sometimes...

Seabreeze,
understand how u feel, i feel so weak too after pregnant, i even told my hubby i am pretty useless as compare to those preggies, who can walk so fast, steady and seems so healthy!

i think i never look so bad in front of my hubby, he sees me vomitting in public, look sickly and don't really doll up :p

Hi angel, I am in the midst of getting a filipino maid. I spoke with the agent and find tt she's good lor.. if you want, I can recommend the agent to you.

reenie ...

even myself couldn't believe that I would be feeling so sick for my preg .... always tot that I would be the steady type hahahahaha ....

tingting, so yr hubby's family is like my hubby's family and our families are quite alike.

I can understand your MIL mentality of hiring a part-time maid. It's complete opposite from my MIL when she leave everything to my FIL and him alone to do all the work. That's really unfair I feel.

My MIL is already 60yo. all our friends think that she looks like my husband's sister!!!! Aiyo, she's so proud of herself when she heard that and the shopping craze will start because gotta mainain standard mah!!!

I can't edit that post now as it has past the 20 minute window liao. had emailed chin Leng for his help to remove the picture.

angel ...

she is in her 60s??? I always tot early 50s ... but that is cos i know that you are around my age ... but if i see her on the road .. i prob think in 40s only ....

Thanks miso for the contact. Employing a good maid is like buying lottery, very dependent on luck. I want to start looking for a maid after my hubby return from China which is end of this month. yay!!!

Or maybe get a good transfer maid. Brand new Indo or Filipino maids whom have never worked in developed country before can be a bit hard to train with our modern applicances. With transfer maid, we'll have a different set of worry as they are too-smart. I think we will get a christian filipino as preferred by my PIL.

Have you confirmed a maid yet?

seabreeze
yap yap yap! She is 60yo liaoz!!!! My hubby already 34 this year leh... at her age, she has more shoes, clothes, bags, skincare, makeup than me. Unbelievable. That's why wanna look young must invest!!! wahahah

seabreeze and reenie

hope you girls feel better soon. *sayang* *sayang* I am quite fortunate to feel healthy like pre-pregnancy (except for the bump) and glow in my pregnancy then feel sickly. I even climbed the great wall and walked 5 hours in Summer palace.

I read that ameda (spelling?) is better than medela PIS. I am afraid to buy one now and then discover that I don't have steady milk flow than waste $$

angel ...

yap ... really must invest ... will start after I give birth ar ... wanted to go swimming but my cond is like roller coaster ... today feeling good then next day can be like sh*t one ... so till now have not swam yet ....

my aunt managed to get a ex-midwife as her maid ... very good and very exp ... so think very dependent on luck one ...

angel ...

read abt ameda oso ... its cheaper than the medela PIS ... in fact it is slightly more exp than the medela dual electric only ...

everyone keep telling me that its a matter of determination for bf ... my fren started with only 1 teaspoon of milk ... and now she has a frigde full of frozen milk for her baby gal ...

yap you look very good in the photo ... envy

reenie, my fren iz gog to give the breastpumps to me too...i also dunno shld i take it...is medela mini electric... thot my most of my frenz recommended me Avent...now im in dilemma...

Angel,
thanks for your warm concern
i guess everyone react different during pregnancy, you are so lucky and of course, some girls too in this forum. But nevertheless, i am still very blessed to be able to experience motherhood

Yvonne,
i have made up my mind to get the Avent manual pump after talking to my hubby last nite. But my friend will be passing me the medela electric pump too. I gueess if its only one time user and u can trust that person health, u can still use it. And if you are thinking of pumping at work, maybe you can place one at the workplace...heeheheh...without having to bring it back and fro next time!

good morning all pretty MTB... ;o)

reenie, hey...such a good idea yah! anw, the one my fren passing to me is brand new...so is quite okay... think i will just get it from my fren..

wah still so chio ah!!!
Your FIL must be very proud to bring her out & show off. Can imagine if she dress up in cheongsam - very elegant hor!

ystrday chk up.. my baby is 1.4kg - 1.6kg!!
Gynae said he normal size/ weight, but i got a shock. Prev month only 700g..
Scan showed chubby cheeks
I'm towards end of 29wks liaozzz... EDD still 9Aug.

hey wendy, a bit puzzled by your weeks calculation.. our EDD is the same, but i only counted mine to be 27 weeks? u count backwards??

gosh, your bb is growing real fast! mine was also about 700g at last check up... next one due 26 may.

Hi ero, thx.. **touch wood* so far since the day i complained.. i have been experiencing nice nite sleep at nite.. Everynite, b4 going to bed has been telling bb to be guai.. mummy want to sleep liao.. if want to play, play tomolo.. hehe.. so far so good.

* went for my gynae check & hospital tour @ TMC ytd. everything is normal for both bb & myself.. Gynae is oso very happi wif my weight gain, sugar level + protein level.. Put on oni 1.5kg for the whole of last month.. hehe..

past few days have been experiencing constipation.. even if bowel cleared, it is still hard stools.. even have slight anus bleeding..

Hey angel, yr mil realli very fortunate leh... reali enjoying her tai-tai life.. but u r so good to have a fil like this.. willing to bathe yr dog.. so far, i still bathe my dog occassionally.. juz use a stool lor.. my mum will bathe her and i brush her teeth & clean my dog's ear loh..

ting2
that's why i was quizzing the Doc abt my EDD, she still insisted it was 9 Aug. I calc based on last menses date - easier for me lah. But she calc based on my scan in 1st trimester.

Based on last menses date, with EDD 9 Aug, i'll be delivering only after 41 wks!! So a bit wrong lah.

erowen,
you frequent the store at upper serangoon? heard very good supplies. I usually just buy from Carrefour for convenience. but hor, i have to abstain from durians cos ate till fell sick.....still nursing my cough now. think durians are sweet, so eat a small portion once a week is fine, but not daily......too heaty and fattening man!!!!

my friends swear by the Avent manual pump as well. My sis will be passing hers to me, used only 2 times. It is cheaper and better manipulation. But i find too tiring after a month, i will invest in the medela electric ones....but i think the Avent one should be good for a start to establish the milkflow as the suction is very similar to the bb's suckling, i heard.

Hi Angel,
my gf also stays at Bishan Loft Blk 31. Very nice view!!! Very good fengshui. She is also preg now, due in Oct. So if you see a pretty lady with a tiny bump in the lift, that's her!

Anyone here been to shanghai? my inlaws are going and ask me to go along...but hubby will be on biz trip then. Is it a nice place for preggies?

wendy,

i c.. i also sometimes lose count of the weeks... i monitor thru the babycenter, which allows you to enter your EDD and they send u updates of normal foetal developments each week.. at last count i was at 27. anyway, it shouldnt matter so long as your gynae is clear abt what she's doing... most kids don't arrive on EDD anyway

Tingting,

My EDD is on 5th Sept. Thought maternity leave is 1 mth before EDD plus 2 mth after? That's why I go on maternity leave on 5th Aug till 5th Nov. Hope that answers your question

Hi Yvonne,

Yeah, that EDD dates for a few of us here is quite close. Perhaps we shld come up with a list of our EDD dates and hospital chosen. Maybe we can be roommates in the hospital! Hahaha ...

Speaking of breast pump. shldn't we only get that after the delivery of the baby? I mean, it's not necc that the mummy has milk to produce, right?? My breasts r super small. Doubt there will be much milk there ... Hahaha ...

anissa, maternity leave need not be claimed 1 month before EDD... for me, i'll be taking the entire 3 months after delivery... maybe it's the way your company wants to spread the maternity leave period, but there's no such rule to say you have to take the 1st month before EDD.

you'll be surprised at how much ur breasts will grow in the last month! that's when we're supposed to buy the nursing bras..though we dun need the pump right after delivery, it's difficult to instruct other people to buy when u are in confinement period... at least for me, think my hb will have a headache identifing the correct model to get! am already thinking of doing diaper n bb supplies research n list out the specific brand n measurement he should look out for when buying them. else sure come back with different items..haha...

Tingting,

Pardon me. Does that mean you intend to work till the day you delivery?? What if your water bag breaks when you are at work?!

Btw, all mummies-to-be out there, may I just check how soon shld I book with the hospital to ensure a place on my delivery?? Or will my gynae remind me on that?

Anissa
gynae will advise u on booking the ward etc.

I also know how to calc EDD based on last menses (ie 1 Aug), but my gynae insists that's the wrong date & shld be 9 Aug. So how? I almost fought with her & my hubby abt the date. So i've been announcing "Early Aug" to whoever asks. But a bit hard to plan my leave lor..

Many of my friends start their maternity leave only after they give birth... so far haven't heard of anyone's waters breaking in the offc. Anyway waters breaking isn't the only sign of on set of labour... most of the time it's contractions. & contractions can start 8-10hr before they become more intense, so can still play mahjong, take a bath etc. Relax lah, read up more & attend classes... then won't be too blur abt it.

ting2
yeah, i'm gonna be very specific to give my hubby/ dad a list of things to buy. I don't think i wanna buy first coz maybe gift hampers already contain some stuff. Best if everyone gives me VOUCHERS!!!

hi tingting,
Thanks for the Mt.A phone no. Actually i'm looking for hosp tour instead. Anyway i called that no and they directed me to the correct one and got my enquiry done
For the class, I'm attending TMC same as Maltbibi. The class were interesting. But i find the lessons quite long and class crowded making me very tire so diff to enjoy lor.. So I think it's better to attend in the 2nd trimester instead of waiting till the 3rd which by then even more tiring.. Hopefully the coming one I'm feeling better then more enjoyable..

Recently i'm feeling short of breath (like whole day going to feel 'car sick'). Can't even yawn or do deep breath, seems like my lung had shrink significantly! Maybe physically I'm too small size lor.. Some of the girls mentioning feeling weak.. is it the same exp?

I've been having this bubbly sensation (small jumps, not has strong as a baby kick) in my tummy a few times a day for a few weeks, do you ladies have this feeling as well? i just found out that it could be the baby hiccupping..hee hee so cute!

hi ladies ...

On leave today ... was vomiting the whole day yest ... cannot tahan ... decided to just REST ....

think my baby dun like me to work ... everytime I start working my cond gets worse ... even though now I am into my 23rd week ...

hi aidanee, im going to shanghai next weekend. wanted to go japan but changed destination after hubby is posted there again for bz. its okay and preggie friendly i guess, was there few months back. very clean and safe. just steer clear from the small foodstalls, go to a reputable chinese restaurant. those look quite glam on the outside but is priced very reasonably for singaporeans. Nanjing Lu and the Bund are nice places for preggie walks. Xin Tian Di has some nice fancy restaurants too. Most importantly drink only from bottled water. have fun in Shanghai! Btw, if you are going to XiangYang Market for fake branded goods, dun go there on weekends, very crowded. i fell there once before!

mummytobe, i feel tat too..esp when i sit quietly or on the music loud..then bb will start kicking(not sure is kickin or punchin or hiccuppin) hee...just so cute..i now start to admire my tummy! haha...observe my tummy when i know bb started to kick! quite cute...

yvonne ...

I am actually on gastric med and anti-vomiting med everyday ... but cond always roller coaster ... thats why I feel quite sian at times during the preg ...

Always tell my baby to be good boy ... but think not his fault ... cos me always had very bad gastric to begin with ...

Anyway going to see my gastric dr tom ... see what she says lor ...

seebreeze, i see...heard my frenz say not so gd to take gastric or anyother med during tiz period. u must take gd care of urself. try to talk to ur body instead..i did tat to my body too when i had my all day sickness durin the 1st trimester...

i look so "ah soh" as compare to b4 pregnant. dun undertand why there r so many pretty preggie buy not me..i look terribly sick n tired even with lotz of slp... sigh.. pregnant is really a hardwork for me...indeed... but all i wish is my bb healthy n strong...GB..

yap ... know that not good to be on too much med ... do you know that my vomiting was so bad that I vomited blood ... i actually had to do a scope and they found some superficial ulcer at my food pipe - which was causing the bleeding ...

dr say no choice ... if i dun take med ... i will just keep vomiting ... was losing weight very fast for my first tri ...

same as you ... see pretty preg woman ... very envy ... me very vain pot one but now preg ... totally NO IMAGE ... now like auntie most of the time ...

seebreeze, haha...think we both quite similar..."vain pot"....

u must take good care n rest well...drink more water to prevent dehydrated..

always tell myself that the suffering is worth it as long as my baby comes out healthy ...

yap ... me drink lotsa water now ... think at least 2l everyday ...

thanks for concern!! you take good care too ...

tingting,

Actually I do intend to stock up some baby stuff as well cos I realise that diapers for newborns are very hard to come by. Many places I went are out of stock

Wendy,

Perhaps you are right, it's better to start maternity leave after the baby is born then you can spend more time with the baby but on the other hand, I am finding it more and more difficult to come to work. Can't imagine how I can manage in my 32 wks.

hehe.. i like the present we gave our ex-colleague some years back... a cash voucher! can bank in and spend as per normal money.. no restriction on where and when to spend it!

but must at least prepare the item list just in case... u also won't need to crack your brain then to think of which brands, etc.

anissa, from the start of contractions your labour can be as late as 12 hrs away.. or even more.. water bag breaking in office may be embarassing, esp if it comes out in a gush, but chances of it happening is quite slim. the entire water anyway, i think it's safer to be around people when this happens, rather than being alone at home. Office is also nearer to hospital..haha.. furthermore, we tend to get more anxious and have less movement at home. Doing something else will keep me sane n clock some "exercise time" (by moving around) that may help delivery.. i'm a total non-exercise person!

anissa, i also saw that few brands carry newborn range.. mostly pampers n petpet... at least we won't have to use them for long bcos bb will graduate to S size soon... but if u're using 100% diapers will have to buy a few packs... i'm intending to interchange with cloth diapers until cannot tahan... :p