(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Hi Timie and Christina.. here's the Brownie recipe. As for cheesecake, kinda long.. will go find it and send to u later perhaps?

Ingredients:
1/2 cup oil or melted butter
1 cup sugar
1 tsp vanilla essence
2 eggs
1/2 cup flour
1/3 cup cocoa
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 chopped nuts, optional (I used almond nuts)

Method:
Combine everything and bake in a greased 9" pan in a 350F oven for 20-25 mins.

Very easy right?!!! This recipe is given by a friend! I tried once and been doing this ever since I got the choco-craving! haha.. timie, am sure u will be hooked to this one! Cos it's the type u like!

hi miso, thanks for the recipe!! Its gonna be my motivation for this weekend. Heheh. Will let u know once i succeed!!

Lib and Snoopy, guess what? i'm a stay at home mom too! We can meet up for afternoon tea one of these days..

hi girls
I went to DR Chew for detailed scanning as I had some problems with my gestational sac and needed a clearer picture + 2nd opinion. I'll explain more tomorrow when I have more time.

Here's a picture of my girl in 3D.

276776.jpg

Hi angel, took me a while to figure out how to see the 3D scan! Lib and I were discussing over yahoo! hahaha..

Hi nic, btr see doc.. dun self medicate.

hehe.. it took me a while too but easier for me with the doctor pointing out to me where is the mouth, where are the eyes etc.. bb is cheerful but I have a serious condition call amniotic band in the waterbag which may wrap around bb limbs (if come into contact) and thus cut off blood supply n losing her limbs.. :eek:(

yeah.. it can be quite serious if the band comes into contact with bb.

however doctor said that as my gal is quite big n strong (doc is angmo size), she might be able to kick it off or remove it. Also as she grows bigger (though the space in the waterbag will be more restricted), the band will become thinner as well.

He said he seen many cases with amniotic band but none of the babies he delivered were without limbs... however he did not also say that they will be perfectly normal.

thanx miso! it's the type i like? jialat liao..tis one can make how many? do i add in the ingredients in tt sequence?

Hi timie, yes u can add in that sequence if u want! i bake it in either a non-stick bake pan or oven dish leh..just 1 lar.

Hi angel, this is the first time I heard anything abt it! meanwhile, dun think too much k.. will pray for both u and bb's welbeing!

CAn anyone advise on cloth diaper? I am 1st time mum veri confuse on cloth diaper.
1. IF you use those cloth diaper which brand to buy ? Anyone use before chinese prefolds?

2. If i use cloth diaper , do i still need put diaper liner? and if i use a diaper cover do i have to pin on the cloth diaper?

3. anyone use before those diaper that is all -in -one no need to use cloth diaper and diaper cover. it works like disposable but this one i think call fuzzies is washable and reuseable.

4. How many cloth diaper to buy initally ? if possible the location?

I am currently in my 21 weeks + , expecting a gal but belly button not protuding, i saw some ppl is alreading protuding . Is it for gal this is the way?

Many thanks in advance,,,,,,ladies

me ald consulted my gynae bt e cream n medicine dun seem work well on me.

hi angel,
i believed ur bb will bring joy 2 ur family. she look so jovious.

hi nic, i've rashes oso. sometimes it's due to dryness, so try applying some lotion on it and use those shower bath tt's not too drying to the skin..it may not get rid of the rash, but at least helps to lessen the itch..the med cream prescribed by doc oso helps slightly, but must apply quite a few times bef seeing the effect.

miso, i guess it's one big pc like cake then cut into smaller cubes rite? okie, will get the ingredients & try out..

hi timie,
Ya i haf tried bt my skin seem veri dry n get cut easily by e files. My hubby said e rashes seem got worsen.

hi angel,

cool pic! ur daughter's so cute and smiley!!

so dr koh asked u to go for the detailed scan eventually? cos he found the band in the scan done at the usual visits?

dun worry ok? ur gal's so cheerful, she'll treat the band as an "obstacle course" and siam it far far!

Hi becky, i try to ans ur qns..

1. IF you use those cloth diaper which brand to buy ? Anyone use before chinese prefolds? I BOT THE CLOTH DIAPERS FROM A SHOP IN NEW BRIDGE ROAD. NOT PARTICULAR ABT BRANDS.

2. If i use cloth diaper , do i still need put diaper liner? and if i use a diaper cover do i have to pin on the cloth diaper? YES, U CAN PUT A NAPPY LINER ON IT SO TT WHENEVER BB PEES, BB'S BUTTOCK WILL STAY DRY. IF BB POOS, THE CLOTH DIAPERS WONT STAINED TOO MUCH. IF U USE A DIAPER CLOTH, NO NEED TO USE PIN. IT'S USUALLY BUTTONS OR VELCRO.

3. anyone use before those diaper that is all -in -one no need to use cloth diaper and diaper cover. it works like disposable but this one i think call fuzzies is washable and reuseable.
I BOT TWO TO TRY BEFORE, BUT FOUND IT EXPENSIVE. COS U HV TO BUY QUITE A LOT.

4. How many cloth diaper to buy initally ? if possible the location? I BOT ANOTHER 2 PACKS RECENTLY COS I HAD SOME INTACT ONES LEFT WHEN I HAD DS. BUT AS A FIRST TIMER, I WOULD ENCOURAGE U TO GET AT LEAST 3 PACKS (1 DOZEN OF CLOTH DIAPERS EACH).

hi tulip
thanks! yep.. it is a 3D scan

hi musicgal
thanks thanks! Dr Koh did not ask me to go for the detailed scan. He said we'll monitor. Me being the paranoid me wants a 2nd opinion as well as being able to see the band from a better machine that's why I decided to spend $300 to see Dr chew for a detailed scan.

Dr Koh saw the band only yesterday in my 20th going 21st weeks.

hi nicnic
thanks too!! doctor also said my gal is a very happy bb and it is quite unlikely to capture bb smile on scan as they dun smile or dun smile very often in the womb

hi miso
thanks too! I prayed v hard yesterday and today and as I was walking into the clinic, I prayed and felt confident that bb is going to be alright. Thanks to God's mercy that bb is ok so far.

hi miso
dun u think the 3D images looks eerie? When I first saw it, I thought it looks eerie.. then I asked the doc why the bb look so crumpled. Doc said it is cos bb still v skinny, no fats yet.. hehe

hi angel, yea.. initially i tot so too when I first saw ds's scans.. hhaaa.. now i think i am used to it lar.. actually bb only ballooned in size when they are out of our body, and ie. when and why gynaes will give a smack on bb's bottom to make them cry. The crying will make them breathe in air. hahaha.. cute hor..

Lib & Christina, let's arrange to meet. We can go out to meet or you are welcomed to come to my house for tea/lunch etc. I can bake/cook something.

I love cheesecake too....but have not been eating it as I feel bloated easily. I love the chicago cheesecake at coffee bean and NYDC. I have a brownie recipe too that uses melted dark chocolate, let me know if anyone wants the recipe.

Angel, it took me a while to figure out the scan too.....but some of the helpful comments of the rest helped. Good that your bb is so cheerful. Hope mine will be too. Will pray for you that your bb is not affected by the band and will continue to grow strong and healthy.

Hb and I were very concerned abt our bb too after my blood test as gyne said bb may be down. Gyne was trying to help us pinpoint if I was in 15+ week or 16+ week when I did the blood test. 15+ week, bb is fine, 16+ week, bb have chance of being down. As we were able to ascertain bb's conception date, gyne said test should have been done in 15+ week. Next week I am going for my detail scan and gyne says will be able to ascertain how many weeks bb is at after detail scan and from there, confirm if my blood test was done 15+ or 16+ weeks. So we have also been praying for bb to be fine too.

For those intending to try miso's recipe and wondering about the oven temperature, 350F = ~175C. Hope this helps those whose ovens are in degree celsius

hi snoopy & angel, dun be too worried abt bb ok..juz keep bb in prayers & talk to bb more..things will turn out well.
snoopy, will be great if u can post the brownie recipe, then i can integrate yrs to miso's & make it real fudgy
thanx!

hey gals,

just outta curiosity, how much weight have u gained? i've put on 4, max 5 kg so far and i'm in my 23rd week... is that v little?

the weight gain up to abt 20 wks when i last saw the doc was abt 4 kg too but he said it's ok cos baby's doing ok... my mil keeps nagging me though... *sigh*

hi angel... ur 2nd pic really showed ur gal's smiling face! was trying to figure out the first one... :p the pics i got at detailed scan was clear, but think bcos not 3-D, so cannot see the facial expressions... i'm sure ur gal will turn out fine..

hi musicgal
I've put on max 4kg and I am currently 21 wks. I guess it doesn't matter how much weight we gain as long as bb is growing well.

hi tingting
1st picture - bb hand tucked behind her head
2nd picture - bb hand rubbing eyes or covering eyes
Thanks for your encouragement. I was very worried and sad yesterday after I found out info on amniotic band syndrome on the net. Can't sleep yesterday and today called Dr Chew clinic first thing in the morning. Luckily they are able to fix appt for me today... if not, i'll have another sleepless night today.

hi snoopy
dun worry. yr bb will turn out well. The % of having a down bb is quite low. Even if the ratio is 1 in 2, there is still a 50% chance that bb is normal. Although I can completely understand your worries as I was very worried BEFORE my bb NT scan and bloodtest. This is how paranoid and pessimistic I am. I worry about worst-case scenario and dun consider best-case scenario as a possible outcome as well.

Have you considered doing a amniocentesis if you are still worried? Is it too late to do that now?

hi musicgal
actually if u dun have problems like me, it is really not v necessary to do a detailed scan if yr doc scans like my doctor.

Dr Koh been taking bb measurement for me since wk17 for me and been plotting chart to measure bb growth. At 17wks, my gal is average size but at 21wks, my gal is above average size. He checked the heart whether got 4 chamber, kidney, lungs, spine, thigh bone, check whether got ears, nose, 2 eyes, 2 hands, 2 feet and all necessary organs and physical attributes.

So, if you scan is normal, dun really need to do a 3D scan. What I have seen today during the scan is not very different from what Dr Koh been doing for me.

hi Timie
I am not too worried now as Dr Chew is a lot more reassuring than my own gynae. My own gynae always kena questioned by me until he dunno what to say.. hehe

I'll leave it to God's grace for a healthy bb and my husband is very confident that bb will turn out perfectly normal and happy. :eek:)

hi miso
it is so cute that bb inflate after sucking air in.. u mean the bit of air they suck in can make such a big difference? Like a balloon!!

hi girls
i am leaving for Beijing this Sat to visit my hubby and won't have internet access. Really missed him, haven't seen him for 6 weeks already!!!!

Will be back for more chatting on 11 May.

hey angel,

aww... poor thing, didn't realise u had to go thru the entire experience w/o ur hubby by ur side... but i'm sure he was with u and ur girl-girl in spirit! anyway i guess we're never really alone for He is always with us right?

thanks for sharing your experience... we decided not to do the 3d scan after all... but i'm impressed by ur questioning skills - i never seem to have anything to ask the doc!

u take care ok? and be careful on ur china trip!

hi musicgal
I will take extra care especially when I have sciatica. It is quite painful for me to talk now and move about as the pain starts from the butt and stretches all the way to my calf. Luckily it affected only 1 leg. :eek:)

Hehe.. i very kiasu. Paid good $ to gynae must make full use of him la. Must squeeze all the knowledge and experience he has so that I can learn. My apptment with Dr Koh is always abt 45 mins long. I ask why bb like this, why bb like that. If something happen, what kind of effect it will have on my bb etc etc.. If I can sit down with him for 2 whole hours, he'll have to answer my questions for 2 whole hour.

Say eg re my placenta. At 16wks, my placenta is low so I ask:
why is it low?
why doesn't it move up?
When will it move up?
How high will it move up?
Where is the normal placenta located?
where is the my placenta now on the ultrasound screen?
What are the chances it will move up?
What will happen if it doesn't move up?
what kind of effect it will have on my bb if it doesn't move up?
Will I need surgery or abstain from sex if it doesn't move up?

Then I'll proceed to ask about amniotic fluid. As long as something is not normal, I'll ask questions about it. Even if it is normal, I'll ask if there is a possibility of it becoming abnormal. wahahahah

That's why my gynae kenna question until dunno what to say.. if he say too much, I'll ask even more based on what he juz said.. then my consultation will really take 2 hours liaoz~

hi angel, i really admire u 4 going thru tat alone. 4 me, i dun tink tat i wld hv d courage 2 do so. so glad tat u can c ur hb on sat oledi. u b careful during d journey okie.

hi vone
I am sure you will have the strength n courage to face anything if hubby is not around as you'll learn to draw strength from yourself becuase there is nobody else liao!!! also have to learn to be strong for bb as next time bb will depend on us. :eek:)

Thanks! I will take care during the journey. My mommy keep asking me not to go since 2 months ago cos she scared I cannot manage in Beijing.. hehe

hi girls

I found this on babycenter.com Hope my case is the same as the girl who posted the question. I also discovered the band when I am 20wks and same as her, my baby is not caught and is separate from the membranes. I even save this in word format so that I can read it when I am feeling less confident. Really must thank God for his reassurances!!!

<font color="ff0000">Question: During my 20 week scan, the sonographer found an amniotic band. Will this affect my baby?</font>

Expert: Chrissie Hammonds, RGN RM MSc Medical Ultrasound (Obstetrics) [See Biography]

<font color="0000ff">Chrissie Hammonds: If no other problems were found during your scan, this is most likely to be an amniotic sheet, rather than a band. Structures within the amniotic fluid are frequently seen during routine scanning, and are commonly referred to as amniotic bands, sheets, folds, or threads, but there are important differences between them.

Amniotic sheets or folds are common and cause no harm to you or your baby. They are found in about one in every 200 pregnancies and are thought to be due to the membranes folding over and attaching to scar tissue in the womb, which may form after operations such as a D&amp;C (dilatation and curettage) or a previous infection. Amniotic sheets are seen on scan as thick walls or pillars within the amniotic fluid. The sheet is separate from the baby and will not affect its growth or development in any way, though rarely it may divide up a large area of the uterus, so restricting the baby's movements. This may cause your baby to lie in a breech position or it may be a cause of early labour.

Fortunately true amniotic bands or threads are extremely rare as they are potentially more serious. In early pregnancy the two layers of membrane (the inner amnion and the outer chorion) are separate and should fuse together by the sixteenth week of pregnancy. If the amnion tears before it fuses with the chorion it can form strands that wrap around the baby and may cause serious abnormalities by disrupting the blood supply. This is known as amniotic band syndrome. On scan, very thin strands can be seen floating in the amniotic fluid and may be attached to parts of the baby. The early rupture of the amnion is usually a chance happening but it may also be a complication of foetal surgery or amniocentesis.

If there was no evidence of any abnormality, other than the amniotic sheet, at the time of your scan then the finding is almost certainly of no significance. Other reassuring factors are normal foetal movements and the membranes not being attached to the baby. As the baby grows, the sheet is usually compressed against the wall of your womb, and will no longer be seen.</font>

Hi angel, wah!!!! U really bombard those qns at your gynae?? Really pei fu u! hahaha.. U be careful on the way to China okie! Soon u will get to hug ur hubby! U r really one brave lady to hv to go thru all those w/o hb by your side. Take care ya!

hi miso
yep yep.. i really ask a lot of questions n each time before I visit him, I will prepare a list of questions to ask him.. hehe.. be my doctor not easy

Hi angel, let's pray it's not amniotic band.. but amniotic sheet instead! Dun think too much, if u feel anything wrong, just call ur gynae and go down for a chk ok.. ur mood will affect ur unborn. Do stay positive and cheerful! I know it's hard sometimes, but do try k! *hugs*

Hi snoopy, u bake too?? We can exchange pointers next time!