(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Have all you MTBs gained a lot of weight? I was wondering about that because I suffered from wind in my stomach (causing me to have no appetite) and diarrhea in my 1st trimester. I lost 4 kgs then. Now that I am in my 2nd trimester (4 1/2 mths), I have only put back 2 kgs.

Do you all have good appetite? I am in the category where I have to watch what I eat as eating too much causes me to feel bloated and I am unable to eat after that. So contrary to what everyone tells me about having a good appetite. I find that it is not so in my case. There are times where I feel like eating but can't eat because I feel very bloated from previous meal. Anyone has same experience?

hi vone,
what is d mtb room? hahaha...sorry i am abit lost =P Maybe you can consider converting the study room to baby room
as we are using notebook for work purpose, we decided to make use of dining or other areas to do our stuffs instead of having a study room. If you decided to get a new house, you looking for a 4 bedroom flat?

mummytobe,
i bought the Avent sterliser/steamer, during the baby fair at Taka. It comes with 2 small feeding bottles + 1 big bottle. I heard Avent is good, therefore go and get
we paid around $100 plus. Basically, you can steam all the baby stuffs with this.

Good morn ladies,
It's a bz days last week & now then got time to chat here.

Hi Snoopy,
Did u consult your Dr?

During my first trimester, I have a poor appetite but I am back to normal during my 2nd. U try to eat small quantity in 5-6 meals.

Hi tulip, is it a must? Cos for 1st preg..always will show sugar in urine so gotta do the GTT. But this one, urine test mostly showed normal, so gynae din say to do.

Hi reenie, from what I know, the Avent steriliser u got, is only for Avent bottles, pumps etc.. but not for all other bb stuffs. Unlike Pigeon steriliser, all other brands of bottles and pumps can be used. HTH.

Hi snoopy, if ur gynae din say anything abt ur wt, then u just rest assured and relax. For me, I had humongous appetite during 1st tri.. now, sometimes I do feel bloated and dun really eat a lot.

hi snoopy, til now, i hvn't gained any weight yet. but my bb is growing well according 2 my gynae. thus if ur bb is growing, then dun b so worried okie.
4 ur poor appetite, mayb u can try 2 eat smaller meals instead of 3 big 1s. if tat cannot help, then let ur gynae noe & c whether he can advise u.

reenie, mtb = masterbed rm. actually hb aso hv d same idea of converting d study rm 2 bb's rm. but d thot of shifting everything out gives us a headache coz hb got a lot of stuff inside. so even if we shift them out, hv 2 find a plc 2 store them. hehe... judging by our requirements, i tink we really need a 4bedrm unit. hopefully we can find 1 2 our liking.

Anyone went for the baby sales at Metro over the weekend? I did and booked the playpen and got a pair of avent teats for the milk bottles which my friend is passing over. Wanted to get some mittens but the one in metro not very cute and some of the nicer tollyjoy ones were not available. Saw a lightweight pram/stroller at $89, tot it quite a good deal, but my SIL will be passing me one, so no need to buy. All the milk bottles, pigeon, tollyjoy, avent and nuk are also going at 20% off too.

Hi Snoopy,

I also got very bad wind, poor appetite and MS during my 1st trimester. But I lost only about 2kg which I had already gain back at 16 weeks. On top of this, I think my net weight gain is about 4 kg now at 24 weeks. If baby is growing well, think weight gain is not an issue. Can check with your gynae at your next visit.

Hi tulip,

My gynae never ask me to take the glucose test leh. Was there sugar in your urine and that's why need to go for the test?

hi reenie/vone, we oso converted our study/guest rm to bb rm. not really decorating it, but just allocate tt rm for bb use, so all the bb barang barang goes there. the CL can sleep there during confinement. Was thinking shd leave bb with CL at nite in the rm or drag the cot over to our rm? dunno fang4 xin1 or not leh..

reenie, i tink u'll sure try to pack/unpack a bit here & there one lah for yr shifting. oso some cleaning cos newly reno hse got lotsa fine dust/cement particles. dun over-tire yrself

we oni started buying some bb things on friday after my gynae appt. first items bought for bb is the beansprout pillow..heee. we oso bought a wardrobe for putting bb clothes/stuff.. prob will wait for GSS to buy cot/steriliser etc. During last lesson, mrs wong also advised to buy breast pump after delivery cos depending on the flow - diff pumps may be suitable for diff flows. I guess can let my hb know in advance which one to get, so he can buy it if needed during my confinement..

Hi miso/chemistry

my grandmother had diabetes.. but my mom dun have leh.. my previous one the record also very good, dun have.. my mother asked the gynae, gynea said oh.. every pregnancy is different.. was thinking of saving the $

hi snoopy, dun worry about weight gain. i heard your weight will escalate at the 3rd trimester. i'm so flat i dun even look pregnant sometimes, unless there's wind and my tummy bloats. other than that, nothing about my size says that i'm 5 months pregnant... my weight gain is about 4 kg so far...

hi snoopy,according to my gynae the wind/ indigestion will bug us for the whole preg. during my 1st tri, oso lost abt 2-3kg, but managed to gain back in my 4th mth, and another 2kg now. tho my appetite improved as compared to 1st tri, sometimes oso bloated, dun feel like eating, but for bb's sake, eat a bit lor..like wat vone said, as long as bb growing, it's okie. eat smaller meals & avoid food tt will cause lotsa gas..

for me, my house is now upside down with my dd's toys, highchair, her kids table/chair, mattress, cot, while walker and playpen (were kept aside)the kitchen are full of her milk, sterilizer, heinz. so it will be even more messy with 2. i can dahan but my hubby cannot and he always complain

vone, we're in the same boat. no space at all. my bb will have to sleep with me in the master bedroom. everyday i'm cracking my head on where to put my confinement lady and converting my entertainment/ study room into nursery. =(

the thoughts of having all the wires running all over my living room makes me sick. for some strange reason i've a lots of wires running around. dvd, pc, tv, cable, modemn .....

vone, in order to make space for the cot & wardobe, my hb moved the bookshelves out last wk. realised it was so dusty, good thing moved it out, otherwise bb may get allergic to the dust. for yr case, mebe can put bb cot in yr mtb 1st since u can oso put bb stuff in yr walk-in wardrobe. tink study rm can be quite dusty for bb unless u give it a thorough cleanup, esp if got lotsa things..

christina, when i was 5mths oso not obvious, but suddenly over past few wks (6mth), tummy grow veri fast, i so scare got stretchmarks so quickly put alot of cream
gynae last est bb wt on friday was 900gm! so scary..

hi, anyone knows how to choose a pram/stroller? Lightweight means abt how many kg? I saw the lucky baby one at about 5.5kg or 6.6kg seems quite heavy to me. Heard that pram cannot be too light however?

timie, oh no.... i thought wun put on much weight anyway so i gave up on my stretchmark cream. i've only applied it less than 5 times so far, only when i feel bloated. ok, now i will stick to strict regime. wowww 900gm is quite heavy already!!

ya, christina, some says tt the cream is useless, but since i bought oredi, juz put to make myself feel better lor
if it still appears, then bopian.. nowadays, the skin stretchy feeling ard my tummy/waist feel v tight, esp evenings.. i heard the expansion is going to be even faster in last tri..

hi miso,
is that true? the salesgirl told me can steam a no. of items with it =P lucky you tell me, else i wouldn't know! thanks!

vone,
can understand your situation. Maybe you need a 4bedroom unit, like those executive mansion? they comes with 1 study room

timie,
it depends on yourself, many of my friends left babies with the CL at nite so that they can rest well. I would love to have my girl sleep with me and feed her once she wakes up

timie, i think i will follow ur advise. better to be safe than sorry... the worse thing is i dun exercise, not even before i was pregnant, so probably prone to stretch marks. heheh

reenie, tink will observe the CL for few days.. but i tink will still need to wake up @ nite to feed her if i'm BF, unless express the BM in advance.

christina, me tink tt way too. bef preg i oredi hv some stretchmarks on my thigh, recently saw a few lines on my butt..arghh..earlier din apply tt area, now regret

Hi reenie, tt's what I gotta know from friends who use diff types of sterilizers la.. hehe, so I am gg to get the Pigeon ones as well.

Hi timie, I think really depends on urself. For me, I wld prefer bb to slp with me during nite so tt it would be easier if i am bfg her. But if after delivery and I find tt I needed more rest to bring back my health, think for tt 28 days, I shall let bb sleep with the CL. I can express it out so tt CL can warm it for bb during those night feedings. =)

Hi tulip, if there's sugar in ur urine, will be to a certain extent b4 gynae suggest doing a GTT right? Maybe can ask gynae to do a blood glucose check instead? Then u dun hv to be forced to drink a whole cup of glucose.. yucks!

tulip, mine is d opposite. i can't tahan messiness wherelse hb can't b bothered.

chris, worst come 2 worst, u buy a mattress 4 d cl 2 sleep in ur entertainment rm lor.
tat's wat i intend 2 do 4 d maid. hehe... as 4 d wires, u can get d cable & bind them together. at least it wldn't look so messy.

timie, ya, me aso intending 2 put d cot in our rm 1st. wait til he's older, then we c how it goes. mayb we can convert d study rm into his rm or we may shift hse.

reenie, hehe... ya lor. but c how things goes 1st.

hey!
i believe all of u would have started taking tonics right? how often do u take them?? i'm 18 weeks preg. detailed scan on 28th april. so exciting but worried tho, scared scan something wrong....

ladies, i will be putting my bb to in mtb sleeping wif me. as it will oso convenience me when bfg. and wait till bb gets bigger, then will move her to the other room. My mahjong room will then become my computer cum mahjong.. and current computer room will be baby's room.

Reenie, yes i agree wif miso on the steriliser, avent can oni accommodate their own bottles.. So far pigeon rapid steam has a better comment & is slightly cheaper then avent oso.

wow. how i envy all of you, seems like everyone is enjoying a small family. as for me... very ke lian... my BIL and MIL each take one room!!!! no extra rooms for baby room!!! and my masterbed room is too small to squeeze in a baby cot!!!! very headache nOw!!!. cant wait for them to shfit out!! BOOHOOHOO

Hi miso

everytime i go for checkup, the nurse gives me a strip of paper for the urine. always pass leh.
drinking the sugar water is okay.. i just afraid i cannot dahan the hunger from 8 to the next day! haha

Hi Everafter, Lib, Reenie, Miso,

Is the pigeon one good? I'm deciding between pigeon and avent. My sister-in-law is using Avent, and she said quite good, so i was thinking maybe should just buy Avent cause already tried and tested by her hehe but Pigeon seems to be able to multi-task more leh..

Hi Snoopy,
I'm the opposite of you i think. I eat like a pig...one day eat six times. I've gained about 6.5-7kg already, and me only in the 21/22 weeks! but the funny thing is, i don't look 5 months plus pregnant even though i put on weight. But doctor say baby healthy normal size, so that's all that matters

Hi Tulip,
When are we supposed to take the sucrose test? Gynae didn't say anything leh..unless i already took it without knowing hehe every visit must pee into the cup right? But i know about the 4th month that time, i peed into a different type of cup. More like a bottle..maybe its for the sucrose test? i didn't ask leh, they ask me to do what then i do kekeke

HI Christina, Timie,
I also heard from my gynae stretch mark cream no use..she say use baby lotion can already. I rub everyday, very scared got stretch mark cause skin getting tighter every day. And my stomach suddenly pooching out a lot these past few days. eeps!
But what i'm scared of is vericose veins..past few days i thought i saw some dark veins, freak me out. I went to buy the mustela instant relief lotion for legs and I kept rubbing lotion and asking hubby to massage for me..

Hi Angieooi,
I never really take more tonic leh..just eat more beef and fish lor. But i don't like to eat fish normally, now pregnant, i see fish even more scared. But what to do...have to force myself to eat..yucks..

Apart from drinking chicken essense every alternate day, and taking birds nest & abalone soup every week, never really take those kind of chinese tonic. What kind of tonics do people usually take? double boiled chicken soup? or chinese herbs?

hi angieooi, it wld depend on whether i feel like taking them or not. hehe... normally it's abt once every 2 wks coz hb always forced me 2 drink d soups. dun worry so much abt d scan, jus treat it as any normal scans lor.

my MIL say take one every week. i scared too much for my body to tahan leh. it's black chicken with ginseng. scared too PU and then bb too big, hard to puch out!!!! sigh... plus the ginseng damn ex loh. $80 for half a cup!!! heart ache sia!

i havent bought any bb stuff yet!!! dunno where to start!

miso, did ur fam say when they shifting out?? mine will be shifting out earliest next year!!! sigh. very headache. MIL say put bb cot in her room. but her room very messy! i dun like. SIGH SIGH SIGH!!! i also dun like her to help me look after. dunno y. maybe i think she too old-fashion. i prefer to look after bb myself.

Hi mummytobe,
Ur weight gain almost same as mine!... me now also 22/22 weeks, and i also dun nook very pregnant! My doctor says need to watch my fat content, haha... and also need to watch my glucose level.
Will do another sucrose test, I think, when we are 7 months, ie 28 weeks to confirm whether there is gestational diabetics...

Every trimester should take different types of tonics. My PIL's friends own a chinese medical shop. They say that 1st trimester, no need so much coz it's more to 'bu' the mother. 2nd trimester should drink 'pao sheng' and black chicken soup... towards 6-8 months should drink ginseng....

hi mummytobe,
i think i will stick to Avent product then =P since i am using their steamer. I got pretty good feedback on their stuffs, so its ok

angieooi, i jus had chicken wif ginseng soup yesterday. yucks, hb 4got 2 remove d skin b4 boiling, so d soup was 2 oily 4 me 2 take it. oni had 1 bowl & hb had 2 finish d rest.

if u dun feel comfortable hving ur bb sleep in ur mil's rm, then u got no choice but 2 try & squeeze in d bb cot. if cannot, mayb u can consider a mattress 4 d time being til they shift out??

hoshi, ic, then i better take note oledi. sekali i drink 2 much 2 pu.

hi angieooi,
so far i hv taken birdnest since my 1st trimester, can take once a week. Then moving to 2nd trimester, take pao sheng and ginseng. My mum brew it with chicken. But i heard near 8-9mths, we don't need to eat too much tonic. 2nd trimester is the best time
Try to go to good chinese medical hall to buy the tonic.

hi tulip,
is the sucrose test a must for all mothers?
i have done blood test before, drawing blood for 3 test tube, which test for HIV and etc...that was in week14.

hi angieooi,
if your masterbed room is too small to fit a cot, then try to let the baby sleep on matteress first
its ok, i have friends who do without a cot. Perhaps you re-arrange your room first, see if got space to put the baby cot by the side.

Hi mummytobe, wah~u take so many types of tonic! got abalone soup somemore! wah...! I only had cordycep soup made by mil.. and the chicken essence. When reach 3rd tri, will take bird's nest.

Hi tulip, are you seeing the same gynae as the 1st one? If the urine test strip showed ok, then y need to do GTT? Or becos you told him ur grandma got diabetes, tt's y?

Hi angie, yea cos my 2 rms were occupied by 3rd BIL and 1st SIL & her hb. Very cheem right? haha.. they should be shifting out by mid May when 3rd BIL's flat is renovated. Mine v. long story... I hv bot kid's cupboard + chest drawers and put all bb stuffs inside the rm liao. just waiting for him/them to shift out.

Tks Vone, chemistry, Christina and Timie for reassuring me about the weight gain. It's good to know that I am not alone. Hb was quite worried about me not gaining weight and no showing of tummy. The best joke is that hb has a bigger tummy than me!! So I always tease him that he is the pregnant daddy.

angieooi, my detailed scan is on the same day as yours too. 10 more days to go.....am counting down the days. Have you found out if your bb is a prince or princess?? I am waiting for the detailed scan to reveal that too......so exciting!

tulip, I understand from my gyne that the urine test is not accurate for diabetes but the blood test is more accurate. I had a situation where after lunch I went for my checkup and urine test was positive for sugar level, but when I checked with gyne....gyne said it was bcos of the lunch I had (so happened that gyne and I went to same
restaurant for lunch...hehe). But when I did the blood test...it was fine.

As for space constraint.....I am also having a headache here. Hb and I stay in a 2 bedroom appartment. 1 room is mtb, and the other room currently books cum maid's room. In the midst of purchasing a bigger place, with the purchase to be completed in mid-May. But hb wants to do renovation and not sure if new place will be ready before I give birth.

my gynae oso nvr ask me to do the sucrose test, juz the usual urine strip for sugar/protein. extra charge for the sucrose test rite?

so far i'm oni taking birdnest (once a wk) and cordyceps once a mth, but doc oredi say my bb on the big side..opps..nvr really PU leh. she oni told me dun eat durians, but i so far oni eat 1 or 2 seeds leh..

mummytobe, I wished I could eat more. I have always enjoyed my food. But find now that a lot of times I feel like eating but unable to eat due to bloated stomach. Can only appreciate the food with my eyes!

Timie,
is it true that eating durian will have bigger baby? i love durian alot! I ate durians during my 1st and 2nd trimester too =P recently saw some really yummy durians........cannot resist. I guess one or 2 durian won't hurt, not eating whole basket..hehehehe

I dun find any basis for eating durians = bigger bbs. I ate a lot of durians for the 1st one, cos tt time, FIL was selling.. ds came out at 3.13 kg.

reenie, not sure leh. but tt's wat she say. but she oso said it's more genetics. cos my family all quite big build one. i guess unless you eat a lot of durians lah..i can't eat much cos after tt will burp & the smell is yucky..

mummytobe, sometimes i use the bb lotion on my tummy too, cos i like the smell
ya, quite scary to see the tummy so potruding suddenly when i see myself in the mirror..keep tellin my hb my tummy veri big leh, and he say how can i expect tummy to be small small when oredi 6mth? haiz..i find my feet getting a bit swollen at the end of the day cos i sit down in office whole day. does the mustela relief lotion help? now i oni use bb lotion to gently massage and lift my legs up at nite..

timie, talking abt durians. i got craving 4 durians, but d 1s which i saw at carrfour & giant r not so nice. sigh... now waiting 4 d season so tat i can feast on them.

hi timie,
i am opposite, i love the durian smell when i burp...haahhahaa....its better than the garlic smell!!!

hi vone,
i bought once from Giant, not that bad, must chose those very yellow, thicked flesh..hehehe...and must smell like durian. Some don't really have smell so strong, it won't taste good. Don't have to wait till season, walk around the neighbourhood stall, probably can see it.

hehe, recently I also got craving for durians.. but cant find any nice ones! Now are those mostly from Thailand ones, which I dun quite prefer. m'sia ones are btr! hehe..

my stupid congested blocked nose! this is really terrible!!

i thot durian always in season nowadays
when is "the season" huh? i oso find durians does not have the same "fragrance" as last time leh..

Hi Hoshi, Reenie, Vone,

Can eat ginseng/pao sheng? I asked my gynae when i was in first trimester, but she told me not to take, cause of its steriod-like properties..but maybe that was because in first trimester..now mid second trimester should be ok? let me go ask her..cause i love ginseng! everytime walk past medical hall i will take a deep breath cause i like the smell of ginseng and tang gui kekeke

Hi Tulip,
Which week is the test?

Hi Timie,
I've only been using the mustela lotion for 3 days heh, so don't know whether good or not yet. But it feels cooling upon application. But at the rate i'm using the lotion, think can finish within 1 or 2 weeks cause i apply all over my legs. Each tube is $33 or $35 cant remember...