(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

miso, i'm also not sure. coz the nurse only told me tat the triple tests cost $300+. If everything is ok, I will take up their package from 5th month onwards, which will have the detailed scan lor... Total paid abt $350 which include the prenavitamins, calcium, consultantion, scan, and triple test...

hehe.. my friend told me her gal last time was an angel... now she's becoming a devil like her brother.... haha.....

I've gained total abt 4kg since knowing i'm preggie... how abt u gals?...

miso and hoshi, oh dear i've not gain a single ounce since i'm pregnant. I'm into my 14 weeks, any preggies like me? I spoke to my gynae 2 weeks ago he said it was okay, but i wld really like to put on some weight, just to feel assured. How much weight have most of you gained during the 1st two weeks of 2nd trimester?

Hi Hoshi & Miso..... i also put on a total of 4 kg since my preggie.... i believe this is a nice weight for the 1st tri... towards the end of the pregancey, you will tend to put on faster... if you put on too much in the 1st tri, you might have problem losing it later...

Hi christina, dun worry since ur gynae said so. As you progress, u will naturally put on wt.. anyway, the ideal is between 9 ~ 12 kg. So it's ok la.. just trust what the gynae says and enjoy ur pregnancy.

hi worshipper, I think so too! if we put on 1 kg a mth from now.. the most wil be 9 kg. hahaa... wishful thinking.. provided we control our intake!

Hi Christina, you want to make sizhuan duck soup or salty veg duck soup? anyway they are the same. many of the times, you can make your own.. you may want to follow the following method.. and make your own soup. Yar can consider i'm lucky tat both Mum & MIL can cook, actually i like to make my own, but now lazy lar..

1) Ask for skinned-duck as they will be less oily, maybe instead can buy juz duck wings/ drum sticks if u only have you & yr hb drinking.

2) wash the sizhuan/salted vegetable at least twice, to wash away excess salt..

3) boil some water, then put your duck & preserved vegetable in.

5) let it boil, then turn to low flame and simmer it for 30 to 45mins

6) the soup is ready to be served.

** Pls don't add extra salt hor..

Hi Hoshi, tink you have to ask yr gynae why they charge you tat much, my last visit for triple test is only S$186 for test, scan, consultation & folic acid.. though diff gynae charge differently but u have to ask hor... considering my gynae is really charging very low...

and also, i've put on abt 5kg now since preggie, now already in week 19..

dun worry christina, it oso has to depend if u belong to the skinny side, some pple dun really put on alot of weight throughout the preg, trust your gynae... and also trust yrself.

Lib, you're my favourite person in this forum now!! What a wonderful surprise when i logged on 5 mins ago. Thanks for the duck soup recipe, its my favourite dish. Never knew how to make it till i saw your instructions. Girl, you sound like a super good cook! I'm impressed *-*

I'm trying to cook at home these days, just very simple dishes, also trying to eat more. Esp lunch. Hope to put on weight very soon. * fingers crossed*

hi Lib, know of any supermarket that sells only duck drumsticks? those i went to sell only whole birds, which is too much for me. Christina, if u want to add to the sour tasts, can put in some tomatoes as well.. if dowan too much salty vege, can add in some sour plums that we put while steaming fish...

i also like to cook, but now my cooking options are so limited bcos my cooker hood is spoilt, and any non-soup cooking methods will make the kitchen oily... i'm also wasting a lot of food.. every time i buy from supermarket the portion is enough for 2 meals, but my PILs like to make last min dinner arrangements, so 50% of the food usually wasted... also when i work a bit later then no energy to cook liao...

i think i've put on 2 kg... started from 2nd tri n am now in week 19. gynae says not really a concern if there's no weight increase at this point, but if u're already underweight to start with, better put on a bit gradually...

hi hoshi,
i can see the baby during the ultrasound more clearly now, maybe it has grow bigger. As for the gender, its good to know earlier so we can prepare the right clothings.

talking about weight gain, i am now 16weeks and i have put on extra 3kg since pregnancy. I think its acceptable? because the gynae didn't ask me to control food intake :p

But wouldn't it be nice.....if we don't put on so much weight. I wonder if the weight will decrease after birth.

Christina,
don't worry about your weight gain, i am sure your gynae will monitor and feedback to you. Isn't it nice to maintain the previous weight? hahahaaa...then no need to worry about getting fat. I notice my bum are getting bigger!!

Hi guys

i think i only put on 2 kg so far.. but i remember the major wt gain is in 3rd trimester that we just sudden swell overnight..

btw, just to let you all know, i can feel my bb kicking yesterday night. put my hand on the tummy, can feel his feet kicking onto the top of tummy.

hoshi ... wow the test so exp ar ... we the same gynae ... me still vomiting until today .... 14 weeks liao .... sianzzzzz ....

dr cheng ask me to tong ... cos he gave me all the med that is avail but still the same ....

Hi tulip! so sweet right?? I hv yet to feel any movements or kicking leh.. my doc say should feel it by now.. and my gynae say it's ok cos from scan, can see bb's heartbeat.. so everything's fine!

maybe really too much fats liao.. haiz!

I think our weight gain for 2nd trimester abt 4 kg starting shld be ok, coz my gynae also never say anything abt my weight....

not sure wat other tests they are doing. i only know that when i called to ask the nurse how much is the triple test, she told me it's abt $300.

seabreeze, try some sour plums see whether it works or not lor... think slowly u will feel better lah..

wah tulip, how many weeks are u already?... think can feel the baby kicks in abt 20 weeks?.. me only 16+ weeks...

wah lib, ur recipe sounds so simple. only ingredients is duck and salted vege?.... then just boil them can already?...

Hi Miso

ya.. same old feeling again.. until he do somersault then sweet become painful! ha

actually i find difficult to so call control diet.. i mean hungry then eat carbo right? then gain weight.. my gynae said dun take carbo, take small meals.. but then eat many small meals.. then isnt it the same?

seabreeze,
make yourself comfortable, try to suck something. For me, mint sweets works, so i depend alot on my mentos, if you like to try, can buy the "Cool Chews lime mint" from mentos, its green in color and small handy box. I know the nausea feeling is terrible, i try to take it easy, drink some warm water and make myself comfortable, avoid too oily or fry stuff.

My hubby bought some sour plum (in a jar form) and steam fish for me, together with tomato, you can try this dish if you have no apetite or feel nausea, the sour plum makes the fish taste fabulous.

hi tulip,
i think taking smaller meals in between are more for those who has not much apetite or have nausea feeling. For me, i seldom take small meals. I still stick to my 3 main meals per day, its quite enough. Unless i am super hungry or feel like snacking, i will take afternoon teabreak, which will likely be cakes/cookies/pastries.

hoshi,
are u with TMC? because i did the OSCAR test which comes up to be around 300plus, that does not include the blood test for HIV.

for the 5th month detail scan, its another payment. I am considering the maternity package now, the clinic passed me a list and pricing.

hi miso,
is that true??? i was told by the clinic nurse that i got to pay another sum for the scan! i better call and check out. Thanks miso.

hi miso,
just called to verified, i pay a total of $312 for the OSCAR test, but does not incl. the 5th month detail scan

Hi reenie,

I see. I think my gynae told me with GST, add up arnd $400+ liao.. so u only paid $312.. maybe din include the detailed scan.

Hi miso n christina

i'm ok liao. Now back to work. Heng ah! tis morning went for checkup n gynae say i'm back to normal n can start ttc in 2 mths times

How abt u gals? How many weeks liao har?

confused, you sound a lot chirpier and i'm very happy for you! I'm into my 15th week. Most of us are into the 2nd trimester.

Pretty soon, you'll be a preggie and we'll be aunties passing you all the advices. I heard its good to take folic acid during TTC. Jia you!

reenie ... dun dare to take sour plum ler ... cos my gastric quite bad ... anyway my gynae oso ask me to avoid sour stuff ...

tried those mint sweet before ... but once stop feel very terrible ler ... so me stop taking liao ...

hoshi ... think its the triple test isit? me going to do the test at my next visit oso ... me oso hope will go off soon ... cos everyone was telling me that 2nd tri is the start of the honeymoon =)

Hi confused.. tt's good to hear! We all will support you and do let us know ur good news k?! Me 18th week today liao. Time flies hor.

Hi worshipper, usually wk 16 onwards can roughly see gender liao.. but detailed scan will definitely more or less cfm the gender.

Hi seabreeze.. just hang on.. they are right.. usually by the 2nd trimester, the ms will go off.

hi miso... thanks... my baby refused to let me see for my last visit to the gynae.. hahha... the little legs were covering it. i will be going for my detailed scan next visit.... so i tot that the detailed scan might be more accurate....

Hi christina, don't say so, the wonder of this thread is that we exchange wat we know.. u juz lucky tat yr fave food is one of the dishes i know how to make..

hi dooby, AL Lim is the kind when he didn't say anything means your baby is totally fine.. His charges is also very reasonable, i only paid abt S$55 for my 1st consultation, and subsequent abt S$35.. Seeing him also is a test to your patience.. conclusion, an experience gynae! hehe

Hi tingting, if would recommend if u really want to buy food, buy from those wetmarket. I make an effort to go market once a week, their meat is fresher and u able to buy in smaller portion.. but if i'm too lazy, i will buy from supermarket and divide the portion store separately lor..

Hi confused, glad to see u here.. must take good care, awaiting for your good news!!! I'm now in week 19 liao..

Hi seabreeze, you may want to take sweet sweet with little mint.. for me at certain stage i dun like to take mint, so switch to lakerol, fruit mint.. still not too bad.. or once a while pop those fruit sweet?

Hi worship, same as me, my last visit, my bb doesn't wnat to show us with its hand covering tat area.. sigh.. i'mm looking forward for this fri.. hehe

hi hoshi, sometimes cooking isn't really tat complicating.. once u get the hang of it, cooking to u is just another daily routine.. I love to cook, but now i'm oso getting lazy, cos only me & my hb eats so sometimes if i really want to cook more dishes will ask my family to come and eat lor..

** Simplicity is a virtue! hehe

Hi Lib, thanks for yr info...do u know whether he offer the free upgrade from 4 bedders to 2 bedders like some of the gynne from TMC?

Lib, sorry one more question, roughly how long is the waiting time each visit. paisei ask so much questions...thanks again!

4 upgrading of bed rite is oso subject to the room availability.. sometimes is juz by chance we ask for 4bedded but no more room so we got the 2bedded instead..

It depends lor, even so call make appt still got to wait like 3-4hrs.. sometimes he need to go for operations, etc.. so hard to say..

wat i usually do is, i will go thr earlier then the appt time, drop my card.. then tell the asst to call me when is abt my turn lor.. then take this chance to run errand or go shopping.. is so near to either orchard or bugis..

dun be paisei, is rite to ask & share.. any other ?? feel free to ask..

Just went for my checkup yesterday and the bb is about 7cm liao (13 weeks)..:eek:)

Btw, anyone sign up any package with your gynae? I would like to know how the charges are like cos mine charged me $2200 for all visits and delivery but it doesn't include hospital fees, u/s, lab tests etc... Mine is Dr Lim Teck Chye from Tow Yung..

Also, i have looked through the hospitalisation charges between TMC, MA and Gleneagles... it seems that TMC is the most ex and Gleneagles is the cheapest now... anyone care to share about your experiences..?

Went to bellysima warehouse yesterday too... i feel that there isn't much variety and the price is not that cheap too... any the service so so cos the lady did not bother about me when i was looking around and it takes a looonnnggg time for payment... :eek:(

Hello gals

Aiyo! sorry for the late reply cos didnt see the posting. Thanks gals. i'll jia you. My machine will start production only in 2 mths time (doctor say i'll can only get pregnant after 2 mths)

Wow! i'm so haapy for you gals. ya! time really flies (2nd tri liao) ya! next time u gals are my shi jie liao(senior - not auntie lah).
Btw, who's the first giving birth ah? i very gan cheong for u gals leh

Hi christina

Cos i siang3 tong1 liao (cry until no tears liao). So no point crying/upset all the time. Life still have to carry on. So in the mean time, i thought of preparing more raw material- increase the sperm count (hee! ask hubby to eat more bu3 tis 2 mths) n c it works or not.
any recommendation food to help increase sperm count?

oops, i always thought dang seng is pao seng. alamak i'm a very bad cook

thanks for the tips!

confused, you'll have a stronger pregnancy term because u've a better head-start than most of us. Preconception prep is quite important, i never knew anything about preconception measures until i read them in books. all the best and we're looking forward to ur good news soon!

confused, i'm reading a book on pregnancy now and this chapter about preconception prep for dad reads:

'get adequate amounts of most impt nutrients (esp vit c, vit e, zinc, calcium and vit d, all of which appear to affect fertility or health of sperm...'

then it mentions about no smoking no drinking and no rough sports.

christina - thanks but i really hope so leh. oic, i'll take note liao, thanks for the info. btw, can my hubby oso take supplement(eg : Dome, youmeishu or those tablets)? Actually yesterday i wanted to ask my gynae but i too gan cheong n forgotten abt it

hi hosanna, think your package is similar to mine... for mine, prenatal visits n scans costs $1k, and normal delivery is another $1k. Does your package cover all types of delivery, e.g. with epidural, c-section, etc? If so, then quite reasonable.... am considering MAH and TMC...

Hi Lib, i dun like going wet market cos always feel that i will slip on the wet floor.. though i know some markets are now rather dry... most meats from supermarkets have been defrosted so cannot re-freeze again... maybe get parents to help buy during their weekly marketing..hehe... but only the chicken bones can safely freeze for long time right?

Hi confused, dun bu3 too much hor.. hehe later nose bleed.. we will always be with u!

Christina, tats i tot so too, but dang seng is longer than paoseng.. haha

This week, this thread seems to be abit slow hor..

Hi ting, not really though the supermarket meat have thawed b4, but wat to do, normally mtkg is not for tat day consumption. so long as u cook it within 1 week then no problem liao..

like me, sometimes knowing my mum or mil going mktg and need to buy certain things, will longbang them lor... so long as is for their children/grandchilren, sure ok.. hehe

dear gals...good afternoon to you all!

didn't login this week cos i have been on MC, at home...so sian....my flu and fever has gone away, but my cough is still around. Very irritating and i am so scared it will affect my baby...

i went to see my gynae on tuesday evening and my gynae assured me that the coughing will not affect the baby, but still i kinda worried lor...
sigh, today i still cough....i really hope my phlegm will go away soon!!!

Do you gals think i should consider chinese medicine instead?

btw my gynae said that i should be having a gal!!! =))

confusedgal! so glad to see you here..you are a strong lady and luck will be with you. Take care and looking fwd to hear your good news soon. =)))
"hugz"

lib for the birdnest, my mum will usually add yangsheng...is that okie?