(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

hi tingting,

thanks for ur assurance. i feel better after hearing from you. my hubby thinks that its psychological, especially when he broke his nose a few years back and lost his sense of smell! So when there's haze he thinks i'm just asking for attention, when i'm honestly breathless.

hopefully we have clean air for everyone soon. i went to check out the air purifier last weekend and a good one costs about 500, almost fainted. to build up immune system i've been drinking lemon and honey in hot water for extra vitamin c...

what's ur opinion on bird's nest btw? has anyone started taking yet? i took it twice a week when i was coughing bad, now stopped already cuz it can become quite addictive...very expensive food oso. always feel like i'm drinking money heheh

hi cat_tail,

no, didnt take flu vaccination. good idea, i will check it out during my next visit with gynae. the funny thing is when i kept coughing, i felt that i'm tossing my baby like a tumble dry cycle. poor baby probably giddy all the time. i checked from some websites which mentioned that coughing won't affect the baby, but my stomach twitched everytime i cough.

my mom advised that when we cough or sneeze, bend ur back slightly to the front then wun be so painful on preggie stomach. so i better pass the advice to everyone here, it helps! *-*

my mum thinks sudden noises scare the bb... happened when i shouted at my dog to stop her from doing something undesirable... then she expanded the "category" to include sneezing... :p

the air purifier i was talking abt is less than $100... it's those where the water swirls in the container, and u can put essences inside for fragrance.. usually placed on table top..

no bird's nest... too expensive n no one knows how to prepare...

i usually wear giordano regular t-shirts at home.. those 3 for $20 kind... they have wide range of sizes... i wear the smallest XXS that is just slightly off my shoulder length but is long enough to cover tummy... wear it jc-style with sleeves folded up a bit to minimise the "droopy-shoulder" look..

can buy purifier at $28 or lesser.. saw at marine parade before.. some of theme even is buy the essence and get the purifier free

Hi christina,
It's good to get vacinnated. There will be a lot of complication on the bb if we get flu. I think probably u squeeze too hard on your bladder when u cough, so it may hurt your tummy. Hope u can get well soon. Anyway, thanks for your tips.

Hmm.. the purifier you all mentioned is not really a purifier. I would rather call it a air freshner, although the sales ppl say it is. Seriously if you are thinking of getting one, got to invest a sum lor.

hi cattail

u mean like the philip electric deioniser/purifier? that one really expensive.. and i wonder.. does it work if we open the window or it is more suitable for enclosed environm. so far, me only nose block at night.. but i find most days i am deaf in one ear. my hubby reminded me i had the same sympton for the first one.

Hi Tulip,

I've just emailed to you regarding the CD thingy... let me know if you do not receive it... thanks alot!

Hosanna

hey tulip, i have the exact same symptoms! the ear block thing is like hearing your own voice within the ear when u speak right? i'm so irritated by it! can even hear my own breathing...

for air purifiers, it works better in enclosed env, cos there's always particles in the air.. if u have open windows the air outside will just come in constantly... u'll be like cleaning the air for others...haha...

cat tail, the "air freshner" u mentioned actually has the effect of cleaning the air, but some cheap imitating brands are really just freshners.

anyone has toothache during their pregnancy?
i m hvg this bad toothache and seen a dentist but cant do anythg bcos still in 1st trimester.
e pain comes on & off n i dare not take painkiller?
any gd suggestion on this...sigh sigh

babes,

i was surfing the National Envt Agency's website and found a list of approved air cleaners of you are interested. Tingting, i think i includes the swishy water air cleaner too, agreed with u that there a lot of copycats in the market...
http://www.nea.gov.sg/psi/ <portable>

pinkcitron, i spoke to my gynae about dental works and he had mentioned that most dental works are perfectly fine. You've to let ur dentist know dat u're a preggie and he'll know what not to use. Other than bleaching, its okay. Hmmm if u're in pain, try taking panadol, paracetamol is one of the safest drug for preggies. Dun take the "Extra" or "Flu" version, cuz they have added drugs. Take the original one. Hope u get well soon!

Hi tulip,
Like what tingting mentioned, the air purifier works better in enclosed environment. I think in the market there are a few brands like the one u mention or Sharp etc.

Hi tingting,
I have those water purifier but it doesn't help in purifying the air at all. I can't recall what brand but it was the pioneer one that was just launched. I paid more than $100 for that. Of cos, the essential oil also play the part.

However, there's another kind I bought really effective. Something call "Lambe..." which use a wig &amp; burn the essential oil. I always got noise block so it does help to clear but.. the essential oil is very exp!

Well, looking at the long term, maybe the eletronic purifier is more worthwhile.

i shop 4 my maternity pants at OG, which i think its good deal. a capri pants for about $30+ and i bought a drawstring pants at $29.90. saw some nice tops at $20+ but didn't buy cos still can fit into my tees.

u may wan to check it out there.

hi cat tail, my gynae mentioned a name "Goodaire"... yah, tulip's right, we shldn't use essential oils that are diffused by heat... on the other hand, the purifier is ok even with fragrance added into the water.

hi cookies, are there maternity t-shirts? was thinking of popping by today..hehe...

hi ladies, anyone going to attend wedding dinner recently? I just attended one and the shark fin soup so nice that I took 1.5 bowl. Then today recall the shark fin got mercury which is harmful and pregnant woman shld not consume shark fin! Was abit worry but guess too late lor... so just a reminder here for those attending dinner...

Hi Cakey, read abt yr concern on shark fin soup.. since preg i have attended twice, and both i drank the most soup, 1st was when i was 5 weeks preg, i had 3 bowls and recently 17 weeks, i had 2 bowls.. Like i always says, sometimes juz take wat u feel like taking, too much concern will bother you..

hi worship, sorry ddin't really get u, i'm facing 406C, so u r facing 407A towards the carpark?? or 406C?? hehe anyway, since we stay so near each other, we can take care of 1 another liao.. hehe..

tingting, if thats the case, those commercial ones like from lao hang jia is good enough....

hi lib,

r u taking those from lao hang jia? the concentrated ones cost about 100+, 2 teaspoon a day cuz u have to finish the bottle by 2 weeks. jus wanna know if everyday is too much?

Hi Christina, my bird nest is those traditional ones, only taking once every 2 weeks. each time i'm taking 1pc. I remembered tat time when i asked Lao Hang Jia, they say it can keep more than 2 weeks? but it is really convenient for those of u who are working and doesn't know how to make on yr own.

hi lib,
i think if the bottle is opened then better to consume within 2 weeks. Otherwise expiry date is quite long. i'm very tempted to try making my own bird's nest...did u use crock pot/ slow cooker? dunno how to double boil leh...

hi tingting n ixwong,

i went to the 1 where the 'guan yin' temple is. its located where the baby section is, it section says maternity clothes or something like that.

there's quite a variety, u may wan to check it out yourself, cos i cant quite remember.

btw, better still if u hv e OG cards, 10% discount.

Hi christina,

The Lao Hang Jia one can keep for 1 mth after opening. But I find it not very "shiok" to take 2 teaspoon every day. Recently, I got this ready made ones (150ml bottle) from Hock Hua. It at $18 a bottle, and they got promotion like pay 5 for 6 bottles. This one is quite nice and not watery. Very worthwhile. They got another type bigger bottle but more exp and watery. Still find the smaller bottle one more worth it.

hi cattail - apparently essential oil has negative effect on unborn foetus.. even if you have small children in room, you should not use too concentrated. i read somewhere.. certain type of essential oil may even trigger contraction... so be careful

morning..

hi cookies, i went to OG at chinatown yesterday, but couldn't find nice clothes there... think u went to the one near Bugis is it?

Hi tingting &amp; tulip,
I c... how about those "joss stick" type one? Been using a lot of of these too nowadays.

Hi cakey,
Thanks, I am aware about the high mercury content on shark's fin but it's really hard to resist..heehee. Btw, already taken it on Sun. I think not a problem if we dun consume too often.

Hi cat tail

i think try avoid all means.. even now i dun put any essence into my water purifier..

i love sharks fin.. i thot of buying the commercial canned ones.. (yes i know got a lot of MSG) but got craving lah.. these days i crave KFC.. die liao

hi cat tail, yah, try not to inhale too much of such stuff...

so does craving only starts in 2nd tri? heard so much abt cravings n pregnancy, but so far i've not had such symptoms leh...

dunno whether it's the weather... woke up today with a headache...so tempted not to come to work... :p

btw, i bought the palmer cocoa butter recommended by a few of you.. it is really quite good.. skin is moisturised without sticky feeling.

Hi Christina, I'm using slow cooker to do it.. U may refer to the follow steps:

1) To soak yr bird nest (depends how many pcs u want, for me i normally take 1 pc each time) in water for 2 hrs, till it soften. Remove any residue if thr is.

2) I used Dang Seng to add the taste, not too many abt 3-4pcs will do + soften bird nest into slow cooker..

3) Add abt 11/3 rice bowl of boiling water to slow cooker

4) Turn to high till boils and switch to low.

5) U may boil for 4-6hrs, then add rock sugar to taste.

Don't take refrigerate bird nest it will not work that well for us.

Hi Tingting, cravings depends on individual.. some people crave for food during 3rd tri, so not to worry.. and isn't a good thing tat u don't have much cravings?? hehe..

My cravings were very bad during my 1st-tri, and got better during my 2nd-tri.. recently find some of the 1st-tri symptons are coming back, sigh.. getting tired each day.

Lib,

You're really good!!! Thanks for the tips, i really appreciate it! Very motivated to buy dry bird's nest now! *-* Agreed with Chemistry, not shiok to take by teaspoons from the concentrated bottle...heheh

tulip, i'm having the same cravings as you! KFC. Yumm. I'm into salty stuff these days. Potato chips, popcorn...durians oso. but my husband forbids me to eat these stuff when he's around, sian.

cakey, if it makes u feel better, i've read somewhere that most toxins in fish are stored in their fats. i.e. skin...so sharks fins probably have the lowest % in the fish body. I've eaten about 4 bowls so far, a lot of weddings to attend this year.

Hi Lib,

i'm facing Blk 407A... anyway.... we are very near to each other... hahaah..... btw, how come you boil the bird nest for 4-6 hrs because i only boil it for 1 hr.

Hi Christina &amp; Worship, these are taught by my MIL leh.. Haha..

* Please take bird nest b4 u go to sleep, it works better...

Worship, then i can see u liao.. hehe..

eh, exactly wht are the benefits of bird's nest?

lib, me also feeling more tired these days... could be partly due to the heat....

last night had a dream of me delivering... amazingly there was no "image" of delivery process.. just me going into hospital and when i "wake up" on the hospital bed i've already finished delivering... wouldn't it be wonderful if it's so painless in real life also?

hi ladies, i feeling better now, will be seeing my endocrinologist on 22/3 and see what he say lor.

the best thing is that i can stomach almost now with an unhealthy craving for meat, especially steak and duck meat.

long time never come in already..
Just went to see my gynae last sat... baby is very active... and dr has managed to see that the baby is a GAL! but to be confirmed on next visit when the FA Scan will be done .. also did the triple test, now awaiting the results... dr couldn't get the bb's full measurement coz bb too active, kept jumping and waving ard.... haha...

Me also down with flu since last week... dr prescribe antibiotics together with all the flu medicine....

Hope all mummies are doing well

i just went for check-up yesterday, baby is not moving alot during the scan but kicking the legs! Doctor measured the head, its 3.4cm and re-adjust my EDD to 29th August. Its becoming more and more accurate. I am looking forward to next month detail scan to see if its a boy or girl, hopefully.

hi worshipper,
i will be moving to Sengkang compassvale link, blk 268B, its a BTO site. My gynae is at TMC, i am with Dr Paul Tseng.

hi hoshi,
so good to be able to see the gender so soon! next month i will be doing the detail scan for 5th month, hope by then i can know the sex of the baby

Hi Reenie, can understand your feeling.. each time after this appt, we look forward for the next appt.. Bobian lar, whether can see the gender or not, got to depends on our bb's mood.. i was also hoping to see the gender last mth, but.. haiz.. anyway i'm looking forward for my next visit this friday....

Hi Hoshi, so have u tally with the gender prediction chart? is it accurate? got to take care, as now the air is quite polluted oso..

Lib, lucky you. My MIL is a very bad cook. She makes salted duck soup with just water, duck and lotsa SALT. 3 ingredients. Then there was another time she made red wine chicken and the entire pot looks like blood. So i cannot depend on her for bird's nest recipe. hahah, i rather take yours. Cannot let my mom know oso, because my dad will start spending money on bird's nest and i'll feel very bad.

tingting, bird's nest good for cough i think, that's why i started taking it, cuz i've been coughing since chinese new year. good for lungs. good for bb's complexion oso. ilmare, u making me salivate!

Hi ladies, ytd was so bz so din log in. Anyway, today went for triple test.. total costs $180 for the test, took blood and urine for testing. Also tried to see gender, was telling my gynae I hope it will be a gal and he says if today cant see anything, most likely a gal. Next visit should more or less cfm.

Am now 17 wks 5 days.. so fast.. BB is now 12 cm. Next visit, cannot measure liao.. cos will be longer than the screen..hahaha..

lib, for me, the chart is accurate lor... but not accurate for some others... so I also dunno overall how accurate it is....

reenie, ya, by the time 5th month can tell the gender accurately already....
I also dunno how to see the ultrasound, but my gynae says 3 lines means a gal... But I can't even see anything.... hahaa... anyway, boy or gal also good, since it's the 1st bb mah..
my friend tells me it's better to have a gal first, else if it's a boy and then a gal, the gal will turn out to be very naughty like the brother!... haha....

miso, ur scan is so cheap!... for me, the triple test costs $300+... dunno why such a big difference in price...

Hi tulip, yea!! but urs btr isn't it??? gal then boy... Hao zi! haha..

Hi hoshi, aiyo.. dun scare me, meaning my gal will be like her gor gor so notti!!! Oh gosh! haahaha..

I paid total of $280 today. $180 is for the triple test and urine test. Was also made to sign a consent form for hiv test. Also requested gynae to test my thyroid function at the same time so I no need to hv another blood test at the other doc...$40. Then consultation at $35, scan $10 for today, and $15 med. Today he gave me calcium pills and folic acid.

Hoshi, u did an oscar test is it?? which includes the detailed scan at 20th week?