(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Gals, u all so good, can claim some amt of $$ from co...
Wat reason did u all put for the claim?... I put Medical Checkup, but kenna rejected....

lib, wow... ur bb has grown so much (to 9.59cm)at week 15. weight gain 5kg only har?... I dunno wat's my weight now.... coz last visit never take weight measurement... still cannot adjust the fact tat our stomach will be getting bigger and bigger!!...

hoshi5

yeah lor.. i cannot get used to it that I am unable to wear my old clothes anymore. Was just commenting to my hubby yesterday that I am not used to looking FAT!

I think so far till now i have yet to put on any weight (now currently week 13). But my body shape is definitely changing into PEAR-shaped!!

my nipples and aerola also itching like mad :eek:(

I have good news. The nurse called and said that after bloodtest, my risk of carrying a down baby is 1 in 9600. Now I am so relieved!

hi ixwong, bcos they benchmark against polyclinic costs n they dun review once in a while? i dunno, but i think this $10 thing has been in place since 1979... hoshi, i haven't submitted claim yet.. policy only said can claim against prenatal package, and $10 will be reimbursed for each visit under that package... dunno if can claim for single visits? much check out soon before FY ends..haha...

i also haven't put on weight, though tummy beginning to show... so long as bb growing normally, dun really care much abt weight gain... problem is that they go hand-in-hand...

will prob be dropping by katong mall this week... can someone post the unit and contact number of the maternity shop again? btw, katong mall is the one that's diagonally opposite Hagan Daaz right? Near the Church of Singapore?

angel, u r so cute!... haha.. i cannot imagine myself having a huge stomach walking ard...!! my colleagues told me, better get used to it coz it's part n parcel of preggie!!...
yah, body shape is really pear now... haha.. from side-view, it's worse har....
Which test did u do? any more test u doing?

hi hoshi

I don't know if I am doing anymore test. Seeing my gynae on 8 Mar. This visit will be my hubby last visit together with me before he flies off to Beijing for work for 3 months! *sob* *sob*

Angel,
Great news!

As for your hubby going away, do be strong. My hubby has also been out of town since Nov 04, and will only be back for good (hopefully) in Mar 05. Be prepared to feel lonely and sometimes frustrated, but at least we got bb to keep us accompanied. Remember to think positive thoughts at all times. Are you going to visit him while he's there?

Hi Cookies, u will still feel abit like cramp feeling at times during this stage as baby is still developing. And also you will start to feel it kicking, not very frequently for my case bb gets active mostly at night after dinner, hehe.. "eat full full can bully mummy".

Angel, really happy for you to hear this news!!!
^_^

3 cheers for angel & ixwong, for your independency now!!! Don't worry time passes very quickly and soon daddy's will be back with u. still remembering when i first knew i was pregnant my hb was away for one month, and tat period somemore is the crtical days where i have all the discomfort & mood swings...

Welcome wishes, congrats. feel free to drop by and ask if u have any doubts, we will be more than happy to share with you our experiences.

Now I know why you ladies say this thread is so happening, I was still busying reading up the old archives that my post has also soon to become one too. I am now still at 11 Feb, cannot blame lah, guys are not good at these forum except maybe for car forums I guess. Along the way, I have read of some sad stories and some unbelieveable ones on bosses. To Lib & angel, look on the bright side, I believe there is always a reason for that, every bad thing is a blessing in disguise, maybe someone is telling you need more rest (Angel) or someone else is telling you need all the rest you can get (Lib), in the end everthing will be fine.

My wife is having quite bad nausea, whole day she feels like puking and will puke almost every alternate day. I saw some are very lucky to have such good appetite, my poor wife no appetite not even the special dish I cook that she used to enjoy. Now everywhere got to standby plasticbag, brushing teeth also feel like vomitting. Anyone know roughly which week will this get better?

The gynae we are seeing is from Raffles hospital, notice that RH not very popular, anyone can give some comments on that, seems like majority goes to either KKH, MA or TMC. We have been seeing the gynae since week 7 and she ask to take folic & neurogain, like to hear from all the ta jie expert if I need to buy other stuffs for my wife.

Also read about you ladies putting some cream to prevent stretch marks, which week onwards is this needed?

Pai seh ask so many question. first time so very blur. Will be asking wife to join in after she is feeling better from MS. I also hope she can join in so that she can share the feeling with you ladies on pregnancy too. haha then I can take a break - heard 2nd tri suppose to be the honeymoon for prenancy cos energy will be better and special glow on the face, read from the book "What to expect when you're expecting" dun know how true. Hope is true coz wife now not feeling good.

Angel - got a question to ask you regarding the test you went through, gynae also told me abt the test and will be doing it next visit. Maybe ask you tomorrow as today already ask alot of question.

Miso - Me 33 and wife 28, you are right about luncheon meat and hotdogs, can eat but must cooked to steaming hot, ask gynae why book say cannot eat deli, she say is not cannot but must be hot cos there may be germs in cold deli. Pregnant women are more prone to infections. But I think try not to eat too much canned meat coz they contain nitrates. But in the end, I think everything can eat lah except like what you ladies say in moderation.

ilmare - When is your bd, my wife due date is 16 Sep. Gynae says maybe +-, I told her I dun mind if the bb deliver on 18 sep - my wife bd. Wife say cannot as I save on the celebration, then I think also cannot lah, will have to serve the queen and princess on the same day also jia lat.

haha dooby, you're quite funny on the bd thing... cannot predict these things... it'll be double blessing to have the same birthday as your child...

ur wife shld still be in 1st tri rite? usually the symptoms will stay until about week 12, end of 1st tri. no need to buy supplements yourself as they'll be prescribed by gynae, and no need to "bu" since she has no appetite..

stretch creams can be used at anytime.. but personally i used it nearing end 1st tri, when i feel stomach beginning to bulge.

Guess RH is not a common hospital for delivery, maybe still v new..

hi wishes, welcome!

i think i'll do the triple test this sat.. gonna burn a big hole in pocket then.. cos have to pay for prenatal package plus the blood test... :p

hi dooby,
Congrats to you for going to promote to daddy soon

Ya 2nd trimester will feel better (feel more like normal pple) in terms of energy and ms.
I also vomit everytime when brushing teeth even now in 2nd trimester. But i find that if I straighten my body (not bending my gastric) while brushing, the vomiting urge will be reduced. so maybe she can try that. At night i brush quickly w/o toothpaste. Then in the morning i brush after breakfast. So some breakfast will be wasted lar, but it does feel better vomitting out w some food (rather then nothing comes out).
Do encourage her to come in cos. when i'm engross in the forum I tend to forget my ms hehe..

hoshi, me too haven't got to accept the fact that i'll be balloon soon.. once i felt my pants so tight and panic for a moment, then suddenly i remembered oh i'm pregnant hehe.. also dun feel sexy anymore but lucky hubby keep ensuring that i'm still looking good to him now hehe..

Hi ixwong & lib
I will try my bestest to cope without my hubby around. Luckily, he's away during my 2nd tri so not as bad. Yours is away for 1st tri and I really admire you for being so strong. I would be really upset if my hubby is not around during my 1st tri as it is very tortuous due to MS.

Hi dooby
which gynae are you seeing in RH? I am seeing Dr Koh from RH as well.
You may ask whatever questions you would like to ask me now. Actually, I have given quite a detailed account and explanation of the test in my previous posting a few days ago.

hi dooby

this is what i wrote re the combined test for down syndrome screening (nt scan + 1st tri blood test)

hi girls

Here's an update from NT scan yesterday.

The scan was done by a KK hospital doctor whose from the Maternal Fetal Medicine department, Dr Kwek. Apparently, specialised scans like this requires the expertise of specially trained doctor who purchase special softwares for calculation of risk.

However, the measurement taken by my doc on 15 Feb is the same as the measurement taken by the Dr Kwek so my doctor told me yesterday that he knew how to measure but lack the software for calculation of risks.

My scan took a long time as the baby not in a cooperative position and keeps turning and tossing. I had to cough hard for a couple of times, move my body left and right, sit up and still couldn't get the baby to be in the sleep position. Doctor said I have a very naughty baby hehehe. In the end, doctor managed to measure the neckfold from various position but still lack the nose bone measurement.

In the end, I had to leave the room with my scan half completed to walk around the hospital. I look like a ku-ku walking round and round and round the clinic for about 15 minutes (especially when the clinic is not very big to begin with)

Then, after that went back into the room. Finally baby behaved and in the correct position. Doctor quickly took measurement of the nose and told me my results immediately as it's only a matter of inputting the figures onto a software in a laptop and the results will be out immediately.

neckfold: 1.7mm
nose bone: 2.1mm
DS risk solely based on age (30 years old): 1 in 533
After inputting measurements taken: 1 in 2029

Simply based on the NT scan, I belong to the low risk group. However the blood test will either increase or lower the risk further.

The nurses took my blood for 2 different kind of bloodtest yesterday. One antenatal bloodtest which test your blood group, HIV, Hep B etc etc

The 2nd bloodtest which in combination with the NT scan (called the Combined test, done between 11-14 weeks, baby smaller than 85mm) will give us a 90+% chances of detecting Down cases. A few percentage of down cases have very similar readings as normal babies thus unable to detect due to the overlap.

The down bloodtest test for:
--hCG (human chorionic gonadotrophin)
--PAPP-A (pregnancy associated plasma protein)

A woman who is carrying a baby with Down's syndrome will have abnormal levels of these two substances in her blood.

If you don't wish to screen for down in the First Trimester, you could also do the double or triple or Quadruple test in your 15-20 weeks

--The Double Test: measures two markers, hCG and AFP
--The Triple Test: measures three markers, hCG, AFP and uE3
--The Quadruple Test: measures four markers, hCG, AFP, uE3 and inhibin A.

Disadvantages of second trimester screening
--They aren't as good at detecting babies with Down's syndrome as first trimester tests. The double test detects about 59 per cent and the quadruple, about 75 per cent. Blood tests are more accurate in older women (because older women are more likely to have babies with Down's syndrome).
--By the time you get the results, you will be well into your pregnancy. If your risk is high, you have to decide whether to have an amniocentesis to confirm that your baby has Down's. If he does, you have to decide whether to have a termination. A termination may be more traumatic at this stage of pregnancy.

This is so far what I've found out re down screening.

Hope it helps.

Hi Dooby, you sure is a good hubby cum daddy. Please do ask her to drop in as & when, at least we can all share.

For yr wife's ms, unfortunately scientically there is no cure to it. don't worry once she reaches the week 12, she will feel better. **Some people actually have ms throughout the whole pregnancy!! remember somewhere giving a website on relief for ms.. u may try search engine to find morning sickness relief.. only can remember ginger is one of its relief.

dun worry on the supplement, your gynae will provide u with the neccessary supplements as time goes.. during the 1st tri, will only focus mainly on folic acid as it is beneficial for bb's development. like for me now in the 2nd tri, i'm currently taking (Obimin) as a folic acid, calcium + iron supplement.

Yes once she reaches the 2nd tri, she will feel more energise, less ms. more glow as more blood flowing within the body. appetite improvement, etc. that when she will starts to enjoy her pregnancy.

Hi Lib,

U felt bb movements already? That's great. Me don;t really feel any thing yet though I', approaching 16 weeks already. In fact felt something during CNY but then these 1 week+ got no feeling. Tomorrow seeing gynae and hopefully can see gender!

Hi tingting, ixwong,

I'm working in govt sector too. But I can claim up to 85% (capped at $350 per year) for my gynae visit cos I'm with KKH. But don't think I'll claim for my maternity package cos can deduct from CPF and also whatever left over from that $350, my orgn will credit to CPF at the end of the FY. Recently, my orgn also introduce a lot of incentives to encourage staff to have children. So believe this year sure got a lot of preggies in my orgn!

yes chemistry, in fact mine quite sensitive i started feeling it since week 14. well some people will oni starts feeling during wk 18.. is alrite, for your case like mine, sometimes yes sometimes no feeling.. tats y tat time i was wondering if i'm panaroid but no lor cos it has the same feeling every nite after dinner..

i'm so worried now, jus wake up n saw a stain on my panty. going to c gynae later. really hope its nothing serious.
any1 has such experience?

Hi dooby, maybe can advise ur wifey to stop taking Neurogain becos of her bad ms. It will trigger more becos of the taste. My gynae only prescribe and advise me to take only when my ms has subsided. And do not take any herbs for the 1st trimester. No cooling stuffs like grass jelly, coconut, pineapples, etc. And just a consolation.. gynae will see ms as a good sign cos it would mean bb is growing well. *cheers*

Hi Lib, you can feel movements oredi??? tt's so fast for a first timer! I cant feel bb movements yet though they say 2nd time mummy should feel earlier.

Today me at home.. ds is sick with high fever ytd.. so today stay at home and look after him.

Angel, do take care of urself ya. Even if hubby not ard, still got ur little one to keep u accompany..

cakey, haha... ya lor... balloon leh... so scary. Really scared after giving birth, will remain like balloon.... haha...

Lib, u so fast... wat's the feeling of the kicks like?... so far, i only felt water movements... dunno is it coz too much water-bag....

ting2, do update us on ur triple test. I will only be doing the test 2 weeks later... do tell me how much it costs okie?

Hi Lib, it's amazing to feel the kicks isn't it, i missed tt feeling! sometimes ur tummy will be lopsided.. hahaha.. so cute. Ds is fine now.. just finished feeding him bee hoon soup.. very tiring..

i also dun feel any bb movements... though abdomen is feeling tighter nowadays... hope to feel the bb kicks soon!

miso, do children get sick often? i've got colleagues who take child mc so often...

chemistry, so good that you're working in KKH! convenient to see gynae..hehe...

tingting,

No lah, I don't work with KKH. But I remember if u are under MSO scheme, u should be able to claim 85% of the bill for outpatient visits at a govt restructured hospital.

ting ting.. diff stages lor, but bbs from birth till even when they enter childcare will tend to fall sick easily.

ting ting and wendy, just to let u know.. the patch of trees near the sea seems to hv caught fire and now a think fumes of smoke is blowing to our side now.. dun seems to blow to ur side but i sure hope ur windows are closed tightly, a lot of black thingy blown in leh.. aiyo.. and the smell.. oh gosh!

Ladies! I just received an sms from Perfect Mum at The Arcade! They are having a big sale of up to 80%! With the VIP Card, u can still enjoy an additional of 5%! This week only!!

angel, ds is miso's son lor.. she juz mentioned that ds is sick today so asking hows ds.

miso: glad to hear tat ds is fine now, weather is really bad and very polluted, try to let him stay indoor as much as possible. And also drink lots of water, u oso got to take care.

for me rite, i feel the little tapping, then is like playing with u when it taps u sayang the tummy it will stop then after sometime it will tap u agin. as for water flowing can also feel it esp when sleeping sideways..

my aunt says she can feel the bb's movement when my cousin was 3 mths old.. and during her pregnancy she has strong craving for durians + spicy food. so if she doesn't eat rite, my cousin will kick & punch her tummy.. hehe.. naughty rite??? but well now tat my cousin very obedient leh.

chemistry, yah, just read my company's policy... hmm, well, just take it as an invt for bb lah... won't be able to fully utilise the $350.. din read that my company will transfer the remaining amt of $350 to medisave account though...is that std practice?

miso, yah, since last sat punggol has been smoky.. last weekend the grass patch opposite Serangoon Sec Sch was burnt... my hse din get the ash stuff.. maybe bcos it's inward facing...

miso, are u the one who posted the katong mall maternity shop outlet? can post the details again?

lib, ur bb v cute..hehe... maybe i've been too stoned n tired at night to detect any movement...

din log in for one day? so many postings until i lost. i think the weather is lousy!!! i have headache when i get up and stuffy nose too.. today just feel like a zombie.

but share with u all something cute. last sat, i taught my daugher how to kiss kiss.. now when i say kiss kiss, she will stick out her head to my face.. SO CUTE!

she is the only one i look forward to see at the end of the day!

someone ask abt the katong mall shop?

it is called staceyheidi, #01-01 (beside basic beauty). call 64404847 to confirm open then go down.. think family business.

they sms said got new stock last friday, so can take a look ah

angel .. ds = dear son.. dd = dear daughter. Hope it clears ur confusion. hehe..

tulip, my ds will pout his mouth to kiss us! hahaa.. yea, they are the sunshine of our lives! but sometimes, really terror too...

Thks for telling me! i always thot ds is shortform for your boy!

i was telling my hubby.. u see when we get home, she looks like she is just waitg for us and we are her world.. it is probably so when we were young too.. but now when our parents return from somewhere, we do not exhibit such love and warmth..

my hubby gave me that 'huh what u talking' look.

when i see my daughter grow, i imagine that was how my mother see me grow..

hi miso, Perfect mum closes at what time huh? They got other outlets which got sales also? by the time i reach Arcade maybe close liao...

tulip, i understand wat u saying....sometimes i will also think bk how my mama must hv took care of me when i am sick etc....prob cos we r parents now...tt's y..

Just an update. Visited my gynae just now i am in 17weeks 4days. Managed to see bb gender is a boy. If compared from earlier chart, it wasn't accurate coz the chart show me is a girl. Anyway just hope that the bb is healthy.

Same with Lib, i can feel the bb movement around 13 weeks++. Especially at the night time.

Hi Miso,
My previous Oscar test doesn't include the detail scan. (No wonder is cheaper from yours) It's optional. So far gynae doesn't include this detail scan unless he found out there's abnormal from the bb.

was reading how Lib can feel the bb movement and yesterday night kept dreaming about how the bb is moving hehe...
Yesterday night try to feel water or bb movement but don't feel anything leh.. very hard to imagine it hehe...

Hi demigodess, finally see you around.. yes i am fine.. juz weather is hot and humid can't really endure!!! u?

hehe angel, seems like miso has replied on my behalf liao... actually i still learning all the short-forms in this forum.. especially from ttc.. wow their shorts are really alot

great cmy, at least u r the 1st that able to prove that the chart is somehow not accurate.. it is true tat gender to most of us will not be tat important so long as the bb grows up healthily, guaiguai can liao.. i think is bcos during the daytime it is bright in the womb tat causes our bb to sleep more during the day, cos like us now so hot & sunny can't open our us when outside.. so during the nite time the womb is dark liao, thr come the bb's activeness...

These few nites, i have not been sleeping well.. sigh.. it is so unbearable to sleep sideways!! i have been tossing around throughout the nite, but will get very sleepy at about 7pm+ while watching tv, and dare not sleep cos scare lata couldn't sleep furthr..

Hope today is oredi the mid of the week, 2 more days will be weekend soon, have a great working days ahead, ladies!!

Hi guys

amazing to feel baby move right? at the later stage, they kick so much that sometimes u can actually see the ankle or the elbow.. really! then after delivery, i actually missed my daugher in my tummy...

i havent feel any movement yet.. for my gal, i also felt the movement quite late until i panic.. but when it comes it comes...

oh ya.. yesterday i bought the new yoghurt drink from marigold.. think passionfruit and pear.. very nice! got calcium as well... i think nicer than drinking milk.. can try!

these 3 days my hubby out of town.. so xian. but he called back every night and bought some cute stuff for daugher and bb to be.. but of course he din forget to get stuff for me lah.. : )

talk to u all again tmr.. today at home, rushing some stuff. take care all of you!

Hi LIb,

Usual. At work rotting. At least through this thread can know how you are mah. Accident again u know, this time ppl bang. sigh sigh

i've juz been to my gynae 2 days back, like cmy, it's likely dat i'm having a boyboy which is diff fr the predictor chart too. tho we saw something in betw the legs, gynae is not 100% sure & will oni confirm when i go for the detailed scan next mth.i personally prefer gal, but like wat lib says as long as bb is healthy, i'm v happy
everything looks normal thro the scan.

cmy,how big is yr bb? mine is 10.9cm at 17+wk.can see all fingers v clearly oredi.

Hi Timie, my bb is about 12cm++ can't remember the behind figures. My gynae confirm with 100% is a boy coz the bb open the leg big big. Can see very clearly. :p

demi, haha yalor, somehow u get to know more at this forum then in front of u guys.. aiyoh y bang again?? btw do u have msn?? wana to chat online??

seems like our bb's length abit vary hor.. btw timie & cmy is yr bb crouching inside?? mine is very crouching tat my gynae says the measurement taken is not accurate

Hi miso, the gynae said his machine can scan 75%-80% accuracy. For TMC's machine is higher about 5%. So unless he suspect something abnormal from growing then he will refer me for more detail scan or we request.

hi cmy, yr bb v cooperative. wow 12cm+, then mine a bit small hor,bb must do some catching up
gynae din say too small..she say everything ok leh. mebe dun wan us to worry.. hopefully ok lor.

lib,ya, bb a bit crouching position & v active, keep turning here & there. but i still dun feel anything..

Hi fellow mummies to be

I'm in my 13/14th week and i have been feeling this tugging/pulling sensation at and around my belly button area and slightly lower. Is this normal?

Haven't been sleeping well, keep waking up at night to pee!