(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

reenie
my doctor took a round chart and turn the thing around and said I should be 11k5d instead of 12w1d. I don't know how he calculate.

Antenatal blood test is compulsory, I think. It test for other things (I don't know what) and not a down screening.

hi tulip
i am doing the test for peace of mind and if the baby is healthy, there is no need to do such test. Can save $ but the irony is one won't know if the baby is healthy if we don't do such tests.

Hi miso
I am currently 11w6d so can consider 12 weeks liao. I am not sure if that's the OSCAR test which I will be taking later as I am doing it in Raffles Hospital. My gynae won't be doing it as he is not certified to do the NT scan. A professor from KK hospital will be doing it for me.

erowen - ok lah so long its chocolate n i dont mind n can accept the taste. i drink yakult everyday leh, so far so gd. and i drink it cold (if not cold, i think taste not very nice leh) how abt u? Tomoro i ask gynae n let u know whether can drink everyday boh

tingting, the upgrade of 4 to 2 beded room in TMC is because my gynae is under Thomson Women's clinic so sort of their subsidary.

maltibibi,
ya we in the same class slot. i think shld also be under Mrs Wong BB right?

miso,tulip,
do you drink cold water during your 1st pregnancy and now? my colleague and MIL keep telling me to avoid cold drink else bb will have wind and very diff to take care next time.. is it so?

btw. the blood test at the gynae during the 16wk is not the triple test huh? tripple test is a kind of blood test also? i think i read somewhere but now my memory fading leh...

hi girls

have you thought of doing amniocentesis instead of triple test + NT scan. The results for amnio is more accurate since it's diagnostic test.

Cost-wise, amnio cost $100+ more than OSCAR test but it carries a 5% chance of miscarriage.

If results for triple + NT is positive, doctor will recommend amnio so sometimes I feel that I may as well skip all the other tests and do amnio to save cost but I am afraid of the long needle poking into my bellybutton.

Just a thought

Erowen,
me too get some comments that my tummy is showing alittle, but its alright...i don't mind people saying i gain weight, but the face part, its like hard to explain, some people just don't get it during their pregnancy. Worst thing, i told my colleague i am still vomitting and feeling lousy at wk12, they say its shouldn't be this case....sigh. Am i really the weird one? It seems like i am feeling weaker than ever.
The OSCAR test should be done within 11 weeks to 14 weeks.
Yakult should be okay to drink it daily, its a healthy drink, i also like it cold
And the different flavours and sweetness just make me feel better.

Miso, thanks for the address
is it open in evening hours? Maybe can pop by after working hours. Are they open on weekends too?

Angel, i think i only saw my gynae using the round chart to determine the EDD, he never say anything about the weeks. Therefore i am curious how u find out.

Anyone still doing housework now? like cleaning and washing? i am wondering if detergent or washing liquid use is too strong of a smell for baby.

Hi angle, maybe i think i am healthy that is why i din think of taking.. ha.. hopefully this preg too.. i am more concern abt the detailed scan at 5mth.

hi cakey, i still take cold drinks cos the weather is hot. but i dun take it straight fr fridge, i let it 'warm' a bit before drinking. i think more impt is not to take cold drink after delivery. have yet to send you the book.. sorry ah.. v bz.. i will weigh it tonight and let u know how much postage

tulip
What can you see during the detailed scan? What does it show? I read that some gynae recommend only 1 detailed scan whereas others recommend 2 detailed scans during pregnancy.

Hi cakey, I drink lotsa cold drinks this pregnancy. Just feel like it so drink lor.. but I dun drink much cold water for my first pregnancy.. cos 1st time ma, what ppl say I just follow.. but bb still diff to take care leh.. hahaha! Yes, I think triple test is done arnd week 16.

Hi angel, the amnio test carries a miscarriage risk.. u sure u wanna take the risk? If the tests results all shown ok..then no need to do the unecessary amnio.

Reenie, it's open weekdays till 7 pm. Weekend.. think on sats, they do open.. but i not sure what time.

tulip, i recently only realised i din go for the detailed scan for my first pregnancy. hahaha..

reenie, no worries lah. i m aso around 12 weeks & i still feel lousy during certain days. d most impt thing is tat u get enough rest.

i m still doing a bit of hsewk now such as washing dishes but i dun find tat d smell of my detergent is veri strong leh.

Hi miso, i did detailed scan for my 1st one and that was abt all. i think i will do so for the 2nd one since so far from normal scan, dr said so far so good.

Angel, detailed scan very cute one.. can see the heart beating (can really see the 4 chambers in the heart), the 2 little kidneys etc.. like xray like that. they will take some time as they take measurements here and there.. and that is the time shld they be unable to ID the sex of the bb, they can confirm by then.

vone, i also don't find detergent smell very strong, housework still do a bit lor...magic clean. but no more heavy housework and climbing chairs.

confusedgal, tks! Let me know what yr gynae said ya, cos i do have craving for yakult, esp the purple flavour. kekeke!
Enjoy yr visit to yr gynae tomo ya. =)

angel, for the amnio test, was it recommeneded by your gynae?

reenie, u also a yakult lover? =), actually it's prefectly normal to have some outbreaks during pregnancy bcos of hormone changes...me still feeling very nausea also, so you are not alone and i'm in my 13th week... I'm in the same boat with you, and at night my tummy will get bigger, more bloated...sigh....we have to endure!

At times when I eat too full, will still vomit leh. No more of those ms feelings.. but more of queasiness when I ate the wrong food. haha..

Tulip, tt's detailed scan? Then I think I hv.. cos the other time, the nurse told me I did not do tt cos must do in a hospital. So strange.

Yea.. me still doing some hsework like sweeping floors, washing etc.

Hi Cakey,

Yeah, under Mdm Wong. How much did they quote u for the class? I was quoted $160. Dunno whether issit inc of GST leh.

Hi Erowen,

Yeah, will continue to take the folic acid.
I always feel my tummy veri bloated and bigger during the nite oso.

angel, since the amnio test carries some risks, better not to take unless the triple test shows positive. my friend's triple test shows positive and they refused to do the amnio test, but baby still turned out to be ok.

reenie, dun worry lah... some changes r expected during pregnancy, after tat will be ok lah... my hubby always say, pregnant ladies are most beautiful..
but he keep complaining i fat... haha..

maltibibi, i wonder it's bcos of wind or what, and i keep on forgetting to ask my gynae abt it.

hoshi, yr hubby very funny leh. =)

gals, can i know is anyone eating the Scott's Emulsion (Yu Gan You)? I was recommended to take one tablespoon daily....any comments?

tulip
Thanks for the info. it is indeed very interesting to see all internal organs of the baby. Is it done on a different machine and not the usual ultrasound machine? Is it also done by our own gynae or does it require the expertise of a more certified gynae?

miso, i am not prepared to do amnio since it carries a small risk of miscarriage. I'm just thinking cost-wise it may make more sense to do amnio instead of NT + triple and if NT + triple positive, will need to do amnio, incurring additional $400+. It's just a thought. :eek:)

erowen, i used to take the cod liver oil (Scotts), but since preg find smell too strong. even juz now when i took the fish oil capsule, almost wanna puke.

tulip, is the detailed scan normally included in gynae package? or do we pay separately? is it done at the gynae or hospital?

erowen
I think taking Scott's emulsion is the same as taking fish oil capsule bought from GNC or similar pharmacy. They provide omega 3 or omega 6. Can't really remember.

Hi angel
for mine, i was sent to another place in TMC to do the detailed scan. another lady did it but i dun think she is a gynae.
Hi timie, not included in package for mine.. have to pay.. i cant remember how much but i am quite sure it is 3digits

erowen - okie. will let u know. i love the green flavour. Hee!
Nope, i didnt take any additional supplement. i only take those medicine given by the gynae.

u gals feel tired all the time? i'll feel sleepy after lunch n juz now had a nap.

thanx,tulip for the info

confused,it's v normal to feel v tired in 1st tri. i feel less tired after 1st tri, but sometimes it still hits me esp after lunch. taking iron pills or iron-rich food does help to combat tiredness a bit.u may wanna try that.

timie and angel, hmmm, so the fish oil capsule is pretty common for pregnant lady to take?
timie, you taking the capsule now?

confusedgal, tks for checking it out ya.
ya i do sleepy on and off. I don't know whether it's bcos i eat a lot.....
btw you at home now? so shiok, can take a nap...

erowen,one of my fren passed me hers coz she couldnt finish them during her preg recently.she oso saw my gynae previously so shd be safe to eat.my gynae didnt gave me any.but i asked a few other frens, none eating leh..i tink those who got ms,gynae may not give..i took in late morning, now still feel like puking. if u can tahan scotts cod liver oil, shd be ok to take, or can take the orange flavored one (dunno will cause phlegm or not)..

timie - oic. i thought i ate too heavy lunch n that cause me to be so sleepy.

erowen - hee! i'm working. Really cant tahan leh so ask my colleague to watch out for me while i take a nap. Ya very shiok after that. hee!

anyone knows if it's safe to take those sugar-free sweets (with aspartame)? i bought one box without realising it's sugar-free..

Hi Malt, it is good for you to con't your folic acid as it provides the necessary vitamins for the bb's growth. You may consider obtaining from your GP during your coming visit. For me, I'm currently taking not onli the folic acid but the calcium tablet too. Cos I don't really drink milk, and drinking HL milk alone doesn't provide much too.

For me, i tink i have moved on to the 2nd tri, most of the symptons have gone off. I don't feel ms anymore, i sleep better throughout the nights perhaps past few nites have been sleeping late.. Hehe i oni get to bed earliest by 2am each day.. Feeling more engergised each day, tink really bb doesn't like to work.

As for the stretchmark cream, as mentioned, it is call Fadeout, able to purchase from unity pharmacy. since u staying in hougang area, the possible places are hougang point, mall & kovan mall. not oily or smelly..

saw from the earlier posting, someone mentioned on milk, it is still advisable to drink milk for mums. eg, enfamama. As it contains more minerals, inclusive folic acid as well.

Ladies out there, from my experience, try not to give yourself too much pressure, do wat you want to do, eat wat you want to eat. Sometimes too restraining may cause yourself unhappy.

Some update on my visit to gynae today. BB's crouching so can't see the gender yet.. Abit disappointed though
Hubby purposely skipped his lesson to see BB. Yet BB like veri inactive leh. Hmm...BB mayb sleeping.

Gynae scheduled me for a detailed scan in 6 weeks time. He said by den sud be able to see the gender.

Hi Lib,

Ya, will continue to take folic. Thanks for recommending Fadeout. Will go Unity Pharmacy to buy.

Hi Lib, long time no hear from u.. how's life?? I like the last sentence u said.. well said indeed! We should sit back and enjoy our pregnancy. Just like when I am in labour, kept telling myself, my grandma, mother and all everyone went thru it w/o epidural and so I did it! hahaha.. very sian and tiring to keep looking out for things to eat or not to eat leh.. just remember those taboo ones like raw fish and/or cooling stuffs will do. YEA!

A webbie which sells all kinds of lotions and creams for During Pregnancy, Labour, After Birth and for the Family. Do chk it out.
http://www.littledreamers.com.sg/catalog.html I din know there's even a solution to MS! till i saw this webbie.. it's called "morning glory" anti-nausea mist. Cute hor??

gals, tks for sharing abt cod fish liver oil....i will try one tablespoon per day. =) At this point in time, i still can take the smell. =P

confusedgal! wah, u really tok gong leh, where did you hide to take a nap...i'm so amazed. =)

timie, i also don't know abt the aspartame aspect, maybe the rest can advise?

hi hi lib! so you now tai tai at home? So gd that yr symptoms have gone....
Btw are the calcium tablet strong? Cos i heard if consume too many, there will be "Gu Ci"...yr gynae prescribed to you?

matibibi, i forgot how many weeks along you are now? supposedly can see the gender?
btw when you did you scan yesterday, your baby was curling up or lying down?

Hi guys

feeling lousy today.. i think not enough rest.

no epidural? i cannot imagine.. the first few contraction i already like going to die. so i am pro-epidural.

Hi maltibibi,
think it's also too early to tell the gender. I think next appt shld be able to see liao since u will be doing a detailed scan.

miso, u r so brave leh... I wonder will I be able to do it without epidural... now hard to say.. read from somewhere tat before giving birth, most ladies will say "No" to everything, during labour, everything they also want.... hehe.. epidural, gas... hehe... Not sure whether I will be as brave as u!!

Lib, how r u getting on?...

tulip and hoshi, mine was induced.. inserted pessary to dilate cervix and was given gas to breathe in.. but i tell u, the gas only makes me groggy and blur.. din really help with the contraction! haha.. and my gynae turn me to lie sideways and b4 i knew it.. I got the urge to push liao! and bb was out in no time.. my coll also gone thru labour w/o epidural. Actually, the giving birth part is ok..it's the contractions tt's terrible.

Long time never post. Hope all of u have a great CNY last week. I'm now 15 weeks but then still feeling gassy esp in the evening. Also, did any of u feel that your tummy tight and crampy. Dunno why, have been feeling that since this week. Hopefully, it's the bb growing and stretching my uterus. So far, anyone feel bb movements already?

Hi maltbibi,

Did u went for the maternal serum testing at kkh yest? Can share what they do in this test? My appt is next week and can't wait to see bb!

hello n gd morning gals

tulip - me too leh feel lousy today cos yesterday didnt sleep well (feeling very uncomfortable the whole nite)

erowen - tok gong sia! Cant tahan mah!

miso - ya! u so brave leh. Actually the thought of giving birth very scary. (heard from my friend)

hi ladies...

i am just wondering when is the right time to buy maternality clothes? now i can't fit into most of my pants. HB thinks it is still too early to buy... i am about 9 wks now.

err... i bit confused about all the scans and tests that you gals mentioned. personally i not for amnio, cos scare of M/C.

what can i expect the gynae to do on my next appt? i should be 11wks by then.

sorry i lots of questions...

chemistry, same as you, i also feel crampy at times and at times i feel that i can't stand very straight also....
you are now in 15th week...so you still have MS?

ilmare, the maternity pants are pretty comfy and there's a V in straight...i'm wearing a maternity jean today....very relaxing! kekeke

Hi Erowen,

I'm now at 15 wk. Some can see the gender on 16 wks onwards if I'm not wrong. BB's curling up during the scan.

Hi Chemistry,

Ya, I went for the serum test ytd. It's just like a normal bloodtest. Haf u switched over to TPS olreadi? Will u been taking the package fm KKH in your coming visit? Do update us on your progress.

My gynae will be leaving in early March. Most likely I'll be following him. So dun think will b able to see u at TPS.

Hi Miso,

U so brave! Can go without epidural.

morning! busy fighting fires the whole morning.. finally get a moment to catch my breath...

chemistry, we can feel tight at the abdomen bcos of the stretching going on inside. u can apply some moisturiser on ur tummy...

i heard that epidural, gas n other methods to ease pain actually delays the delivery process, cos u dun feel the natural urge to push.. if u go along ur body's rythmn it's more natural and easier. maybe we're all scared of pain, but at least we'll be sober when we carry bb for the first time... we can do some exercises to aid delivery, like walking, slow swimming, etc.. not that i'm doing them now...haha..

i'm attending a few weddings this month n march.. dunno what to wear now... too big for normal clothes n too small for maternity clothes n too stingy to buy new ones..haha...

hi ilmare, me gg to call my CL to book her soon. Basically she will come over to ur place and stay for the 28 days. She will mainly look after u and ur nb, cook confinement food for u for all meals and feed bb, clean and bathe her etc. It's btr to let ur nb sleeps with ur CL during night time so she can help to feed her as and when needed and u can rest with no disturbance. If u do not have a maid at home, she will help to do some simple housework like sweep the floor, wipe the furnitures, wash ur laundry etc. Some good CL will even cook for ur hb/family for dinner. Fees ranges $1,600 to $2,200 from what I know. And best to get one by word of mouth.

hi girls

Here's an update from NT scan yesterday.

The scan was done by a KK hospital doctor whose from the Maternal Fetal Medicine department, Dr Kwek. Apparently, specialised scans like this requires the expertise of specially trained doctor who purchase special softwares for calculation of risk.

However, the measurement taken by my doc on 15 Feb is the same as the measurement taken by the Dr Kwek so my doctor told me yesterday that he knew how to measure but lack the software for calculation of risks.

My scan took a long time as the baby not in a cooperative position and keeps turning and tossing. I had to cough hard for a couple of times, move my body left and right, sit up and still couldn't get the baby to be in the sleep position. Doctor said I have a very naughty baby hehehe. In the end, doctor managed to measure the neckfold from various position but still lack the nose bone measurement.

In the end, I had to leave the room with my scan half completed to walk around the hospital. I look like a ku-ku walking round and round and round the clinic for about 15 minutes (especially when the clinic is not very big to begin with)

Then, after that went back into the room. Finally baby behaved and in the correct position. Doctor quickly took measurement of the nose and told me my results immediately as it's only a matter of inputting the figures onto a software in a laptop and the results will be out immediately.

neckfold: 1.7mm
nose bone: 2.1mm
DS risk solely based on age (30 years old): 1 in 533
After inputting measurements taken: 1 in 2029

Simply based on the NT scan, I belong to the low risk group. However the blood test will either increase or lower the risk further.

The nurses took my blood for 2 different kind of bloodtest yesterday. One antenatal bloodtest which test your blood group, HIV, Hep B etc etc

The 2nd bloodtest which in combination with the NT scan (called the Combined test, done between 11-14 weeks, baby smaller than 85mm) will give us a 90+% chances of detecting Down cases. A few percentage of down cases have very similar readings as normal babies thus unable to detect due to the overlap.

The down bloodtest test for:
--hCG (human chorionic gonadotrophin)
--PAPP-A (pregnancy associated plasma protein)

A woman who is carrying a baby with Down's syndrome will have abnormal levels of these two substances in her blood.

If you don't wish to screen for down in the First Trimester, you could also do the double or triple or Quadruple test in your 15-20 weeks

--The Double Test: measures two markers, hCG and AFP
--The Triple Test: measures three markers, hCG, AFP and uE3
--The Quadruple Test: measures four markers, hCG, AFP, uE3 and inhibin A.

Disadvantages of second trimester screening
--They aren't as good at detecting babies with Down's syndrome as first trimester tests. The double test detects about 59 per cent and the quadruple, about 75 per cent. Blood tests are more accurate in older women (because older women are more likely to have babies with Down's syndrome).
--By the time you get the results, you will be well into your pregnancy. If your risk is high, you have to decide whether to have an amniocentesis to confirm that your baby has Down's. If he does, you have to decide whether to have a termination. A termination may be more traumatic at this stage of pregnancy.

This is so far what I've found out re down screening.

Hope it helps.

gals - do u gals know beside urine test is there any blood test during 2nd visit? i very gan cheong n worried cos i afraid injection. (yesterday had a quarrel with hubby over MIL so thought if having injection i'll postpone my appt liao cos no mood

miso, wah.. you are so brave and your pain threshold is very high *envy* *envy*

I will try not to use epidural but my husband keep telling me that I surely cannot do it. If doc said it's going to be a short process then I'll try my bestest to endure but if it looks like it's going to be a long one, I'll take epi I guess.

angel, ur hb not v. supportive hor.. tell him w/o epi can save lotsa $$ hahaha.. and cos it's injected into our spine.. tt's y i dun wan.. and it's really the contractions which is terrible.. not the labour itself. but then well.. again, it depends on individual's threshold of pain.. u r right.

Hi Angel! Tks for the detailed write-up!

i think i am really blur leh, my doc just mentioned i will do a blood test for my next visit, would be that be the triple test? and for the NT scan, can it be done at the clinic or must go hospital?
Tks!!