(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

hi maltibibi,
ya, folic acid can continue all the way, i think yr gynae will still prescribe to you.

As for my ms, it usually happens at night, and it's still going pretty strong, wah, got to wait til 16 week....must really endure!!

vone, maternity wear really very comfy! i feel my tummy can breathe more!

hoshi, i'm very short leh, only around 1.54cm...hmmm.so this weekend you gonna go swimming. =)

tulips, can i check with you if for normal birth, usually how long after do we engage the massage lady? are malay massage lady better than the chinese ones?

Hi cattail, yes. that is the shop number is #01-01. just beside the lift.

Hi Vone. PM u now.
i also like thyme clothes but last week i went, i think the clothes are very thick cos it is winter in canada now (thyme is from canada) and for my size, i have to wear XS which is very limited selection

Hi erowen

the malay lady i engage said usu within 2 week for best results. I did not engage chinese ones.. so cannot comment lah.

erowen, hehe... now cannot imagine wearing normal clothes oledi.

tulip, tks, rec'd liao.
ya, they hv pretty limited stocks in xs. omg, u r so small sized. i wear either m or l thr. mayb dif branches got dif stocks. whe i went 2 d suntec branch, they do hv some nice stuff, but hb & i find it a bit ex 2 b buying something 2 wear oni 4 d nxt 7 mths. sigh...

Hi vone

actually i not very small
(1.67m) but on the skinny side. now i wearing their black skirt i bought in my last preg.. colour a bit old liao.. but i think can dahan. cost me $70 bucks for just a simple skirt.. but last time, where got so many maternity shops like now.. u all lucky ah

bellybutton

Aiyo! ya even no appetite still got to eat a little.

btw, u gals have difficulty in breathing? i'm having this problem recently. very worried. Dont know y must breathe very hard leh.

hi girls

I visited my gynae yesterday and my baby is now 5.55cm. It should be at 11wk5d but the scan machine shows 12wk1d so doc said the baby might be stretching and could be smaller than indicated. But everything is normal and baby moving a lot, waving hands, doing somersault.

I am surprised that my doc can do a cross section of the backside to lookout for gender. There's something sticking out but it might be a boy or girl... so still don't know yet.

Doctor also did a measurement of the neckfold and it's 1.7mm (don't know if that's normal or not) plus look out for a nose. Can see the nose alright as my husband has a high nose so hopefully baby will inherit his nose instead of my button nose.

So today, I'll have to go back to the hospital again to do an antenatal bloodtest, bloodtest for down screening plus NT nuchal scan. Total cost $400+ *heartpain*

tulip, d skirts which i saw cost around $80-$90. hehe... guess we r spoilt 4 choice now.

confused, i dun hv any probs in breathing, mayb d rest can advise??

tulip, can pm me the malay lady contact and staceyheidi address also? thanks!

erowen, my friend asked me really want to swim? will the water pressure from swimming affect the bb?... made me quite hesitant leh... can go jacuzzi or not?.... hehe..
i dunno why, my height seems to drop leh... hehe..normally i'm 1.64m, but tat day at gynae, became 1.62m... hehe... i shrank liao... heheh

tks tulip...cos before pregnancy i have been visiting this massage lady for quite sometime and i know she does post natal masaage....i'm still considering, but her fees pretty X, $70 per session and she said has to do for 1 week continously for gd effects..

kekek, vone, ya lor..and i will miss all my normal clothes. so you planning to start shopping soon ya?

confusedgal, me also! But for me, is bcos i have sinus...and ever since pregnancy i stop using my nose spray though my gynae said it's ok to still use. But recently i experience more difficulty
Did you let yr gynae know abt yr breathing difficulties?

hoshi, i don't recommend jacuzzi. cos the waterjets can be too powerful and i am not sure abt the effects of the swirling water on our baby. But so far swimming is okie lor, i don't think we will be doing the very quick and fast one, i swam very very slowly (breast stroke) last week. but only for abt 20mins....
if you are not comfortable, don't force yrself...

angel,
why u need to do so many test? is this test considered as triple test? I tot they say abt 100+? why urs so expensive?... my gynae told me next month then do triple test... i will be 16 weeks then.

gals, ur bb all seems to be under 6cm at 12 weeks. mine is already 6.3cm, hmm.. is tat really big?...

angel, ur bb is so cute, waving hands & doing somersaults.
wah... d tests not cheap hor. do keep us updated okie.

hoshi, swimming shldn't b a prob, but got 2 b careful abt d jacuzzi. tink u shld drink more milk so tat ur calcium is enough.

hoshi5

I have no idea man. The blood test for down screening might be triple test. I am not too sure. I asked the nurse yesterday and she said it is not triple test but similar.

NT scan: $100+
blood test for screening: $100+
antenatal blood test: $100+
total: $400+ lor

This was what was quoted to me.

hi vone, i dunno, maybe the promo is only at the taka outlet? i din dare to buy cos dunno how big i will develop.. and even for xs size, i feel there's too much excess cloth ard the waist area when i pull the waistband..

hi angel, my bb's neckfold thickness was 0.7mm at 11 plus weeks. guess if gynae did not say anything then it shld be ok... my gynae mentioned a range to me but can't remember liao.. anyway, this is a v rough guage... since u're doing the blood test better wait for the results...

hi girls,
good morning

Yesterday went for my 2nd checkup, saw my baby grow from 1.5cm to 5cm plus now!
Can see the head, spine and buttock very clearly! but baby not moving, in a sitting position i guess, like crouching. We can hear the heartbeat fast! Gynae took the measurement from head to buttock...heheheeheh...the scan show i am 12wks. BUT, i told the doctor i am feeling worst than ever! I vomitted yesterday on a car ride too...so miserable.

He started to give me multi-vitamin, which has folic in it. And i consulted him on the hair remover cream i applied..hahahaha..so guilty of it and he says "just don't do it too often, its ok"
feel much better after that.

I couldn't fit into any of my bottoms so went to Spring maternity to take a look, didn't manage to get any bottom too, all is too big for me. Headache. I am neither ready for maternity wear nor my casual wear anymore. Stuck in between.

Btw, anyone take the OSCAR test? my gynae is asking me to consider and give him a ring soon if i want it.

tingting, d most impt thing is u must feel comfortable when wearing them. if u feel tat got 2 much cloth, then 4get it. wat fits me might not b suitable 4 u.

angel, wow, yr gynae seems very thorough leh, comparatively, my gynae didn't said anything abt the neckfold leh.....and my appt will only be next month march 2nd week..
and nose too! wow, so you can see your baby pretty clearly?

erowen - i oso having sinus but i didnt use any spray. Got to ask gynae tomoro nite when i see him. i thought something happen to bb, so worried abt tomoro check up (day n night keep thinking until i dream of my bb yesterday nite)

Angel - so happy for u.

vone - yalor, some maternity can be very expensive. i havent shop for any clothing yet.

hoshi5 - i think dont go jucuzzi lah cos water pressure quite strong leh. i used to go sauna often but now got to stop oso.

Hi angel,

Your bb neckfold's measurement sounds quite normal to me. A normal NT measurement should be around 2.0mm to 2.8mm for pregnancy to be in between 11 wks to 13 wks 6 days. Even though it's just slightly above the 2.8mm, most of the bb turns out ok.

I have attached a very useful link for reference:

http://www.babycentre.co.uk/refcap/544491.html

Just take note that this scan is just a screening, if the Dr sees there's a problem, they will do more diagnostic test. Hope it help you.

Hi tulip,
Thanks for the shop address. I am eager to go down & take a look this wkend..heehee..cannot tahan anymore

hi angel,
its so nice to see your baby wave and move alot right? i am so paranoid, i started to ask my hubby how come my baby is not moving....i am looking forward to see baby move actually. But at least the heartbeat can be heard. And i must say, your gynae is so detailed. I was never told of the neck fold. Or could it be the neck thickness that is going to perform in the OSCAR test he recommended.

My scan shows 12wks 4 days (+- 7days), i guess my baby should be around 11wks only, also measuring around 5cm plus.

Hi Tulip,

I'm looking for some pants. Do u think staceyheidi will carry those stretchy type of material? Can give me their contacts so that I can call and check with them?

confused, ya i agree wif u. i can't believe some of d prices tat they r charging 4 a few pieces of cloths.

Hi Maltbibi

i remembered seeing stretch hipster pants.. are u looking for that? their number is 64404847 (sounds like i am agent.. maybe shld get commission!) shops like that usu open after 12

tulip, hehe.. okie, won't do the jacuzzi, but it's so tempting and comfy!... hehe... think swimming shld be ok for me lor.. coz i can't swim so many laps also...

thks confused.... dun dare to do sauna, coz feel so warm these few days...

reenie, my gynae also not so detailed. he only scan, hear the heatbeat, prescribe folic acid, tat's all. Gave my hubby the impression that we are wasting $$ to see gynae so early. shld start seeing only from 4th month onwards...

My gynae only asked us to take the triple test next month onwards.

angel, why not u ask whether can just do triple test can or not? think only one blood test. Cheaper also...

erowen

Yes we can see the baby quite clearly. Can see the facial profile quite clear liao. My doctor spent I think at least 15-20 mins scanning the baby and another 10-15 minutes talking to me. Maybe I am his loyal patient (since 8 years ago) that's why got special privilege.. hehe

Hi Reenie
Like you, I am feeling more terrible than ever. I thought MS should taper off from 12 weeks?? I told my doc yesterday and he said it's normal and should start to go away from 15 weeks.

Oh my goodness, it's really suffering now. I have MS the whole day and can't eat at all. All I could stomach is chicken mayo sandwiches. A couple of times I tried eating friend hokkien noodles but puke it out immediately.

My test today might be the OSCAR test.

vone & tingting
I started wearing maternity clothes too liao as can't fit into current pants/skirts. As I am rather small in built, all the bottoms I bought have a lot of additional cloth. I was thinking I will grow bigger and if I buy them just fitting now, I might not be able to wear for the entire pregnancy so to save $ I compromise on the additional cloth now lor

Hi cat_tail
Thanks for the info. Very reassuring.

Both my husband and myself discussed and agreed that if I am carrying a down baby, we will abort it as we won't be able to take care of the child for life and once we are gone, who will take care of him/her.

hoshi, don't worry abt the size, as long yr gynae said it's okie...

confusedgal, have you taken any medicine before for your sinus? You can let your gynae know and he will prescribe something for you i think.
vone and confusedgal, ya lor, i also don't know why maternity wear so expensive! But no choice leh, still have to buy....

reenie, wow must be very exciting for you right! wow, yr baby is now 5cm plus! i think mine is small leh, only 5.77cm...but my gynae said it's okie lor.
Same as yr gynae, mine also didn't do a neckfold leh.....hmmm
besides spring, did you visit any other maternity shop?

for oscar test, i am not sure yet...but for my next visit, i will doing the triple test.er...that's not the oscar test right?

erowen,
i think is 5.16 or 5.61...cannnot remember the exact cm. hahahaah...i am so forgetful
But mine on the scan shows 12wks 4days, how about you right now? 5.77cm sounds long.
Besides Spring, i also visited one more at Suntec...cannot remember, should be Thyme?? but nothing suits me also, the material are quite thicked and sizes are big. I am looking for something light and comforting, so now i am wearing one skirt i bougght yesterday at Heeren, its a size S, button wrap skirt, its so comforting!!! i just match a spaggetti strap top with it. And i also bought 1 drawstring 3/4 pants and drawstring skirt...its free size. I find those material light and cool.

Are you taking the triple test from Thomson? Cos' my gynae in Thomson, therefore i am taking the OSCAR test in the hospital. Its kind of screening test, taking baby neck thickness and mother blood? will cost around 300plus i heard.

hi angel,
i am feeling so terrible as welll!!! and my gynae told me after 12wk would be better...hahaahah...i don't think so. I guess different pregnancy varies. My evening sickness has change to ALL-DAY sickness. Even my breakfast today is just plain toast with strawberry jam.

ARe you doing the test from Thomson medical centre? if yes, most likely is OSCAR test. Its done between week 11 to week 14 i think. I am considering it and should give the doctor a ring by end of this week if i decided to do it.

hi Hoshi,
I guess our gynae is just doing the normal routine, as for those detailed scanning, like neck fold, it will be more accurate to done by those test. Most importantly, i feel good to have a gynae to answer some queries, give medication and also give me a scan of how baby is doing, we are paying for these services
First time mother is more kan cheong i guess...hahaahaha..

hi reenie
strange that the scan date shows a later date compared to our actual gestation period. My doc did explain that maybe the scan stretches, that's why the baby appear longer. Mine too. I am 11wk5d but my scan shows 12w1d

hoshi
My doctor said if I do both test together, it will detect 90% of cases accurately compared to just doing the bloodtest which is only about 70% to 80% of cases. He stressed that it is the number of cases detected and not the percentage of down baby. I am also not v sure what he means. Does anyone know?

hi erowen
no worries if your doc didn't do a neckfold test. It was only a very rough guide. Even after my doc did it, he didn't tell me if it's normal or not. He said to do the NT nuchal scan which they will get the figures and input onto a machine for calculation

reenie
Mine same too! When I was 4-6 weeks, no symptoms and I was happy that I was so lucky, then slowly it became night sickness once in a while, then progress to night sickness everyday but for the past 2 weeks, it's ALL day sickness. Couldn't eat anything else except sandwiches. I think both our symptoms are the same.

How I envy those without MS at all.

did u all drink any milk? wat brand of milk to take? me currently take HL milk, but dunno advisable to take or not... any1 can advise? thanks..

reenie, i'm moving towards 13th tomo.

Thyme is located on the second floor right? besides Precious Moments? I have yet to visit that shop....

hey yr button wrap skirt sounds very comfy!

for the oscar test, i don't know leh, my gynae delivers at TMC...have you committed to take the test? yr gynae will be doing the test?

angel,very cheem leh, what yr gynae said...so will you be taking the test?
hmmm, i will ask my gynae abt the neckfold next visit i guess. tks angel.

loving, sometimes i drink HL too. I have bought a can of Annum, but drank twice only, keke, and mixed with milo. At this point, i'm still very nausea, so will not drink annum.

angel,
totally can understand how u feel...HUGs, don't worry, i am sure we will get better. Guess my pregnancy as compare to my friends is worst, besides nauseas, my face look terrible
and i had people commenting on that! i feel so sad.

Just curious, how u derive the 11wk5d from 12wk1d? i think yours is accurate.

erowen - i didnt take any medication at all for my sinus. maybe got to ask gynae tomoro liao.Dont know tomoro can hear bb heartbeat boh (abt 9 weeks liao) so gan cheong

hoshi5 - ya! need not worry too much. your bb is ok cos doctor didnt say anything bad mah. So your bb is fine

loving - i only drink chocolate milk once a week.

gals - oh ya! i was told that Kiddy Palace oso sell maternity wear.

erowen,
the button wrap skirt is hipster type, very comforting, but depending on your work, it look abit casual for office wear :p but i don't care.

your gynae deliver at Thomson, but is he performing the test himself? I have not call to confirm yet.

Hi reenie, try to get those V Front pants, really comfy and cos the V is stretchable so can be worn even after u delivered. A coll of mine tried it on.. (she's not preggie) and found it v. comfy too! hahaha.. I bot 3 such pants from Perfect Mum at The Arcade.

Hoshi, it's good to swim during pregnancy if u can. Try to do those gentle strokes lor.. no Buttlefly strokes hor.. hahaha.. I heard swimming actually aids labour.

Angel how many wks are you now? The test u mentioned, could it be Oscar Test?

I just called to chk on the price for triple test and an antenatal test.. costs $180.

I also got difficulty breathing.. esp. at night. Nose congestion.. i guess it occurs for some during pregnancy.

hi miso,
thank you so much, i have not visit Perfect Mum yet, but have the intention. I hope the clothings there suits me. Sorry, The Arcade is at Orchard near Tanglin Mall??

what's the difference between the OSCAR test and the triple test and an antenatal test? Sounds like the latter one is so much cheaper.

actually i never took any test for my first one. my dr is like i let u know got such test, u think whether necessary or not.. then i never take the test..

now i see u all all take test leh.. why huh? when i saw my gynae, she still like these are the test available, see if u want to take... then i ask her.. from the scan anything? she said look normal so far...

when are we supposed to take the compulsary aids test?

confused,
good u can drink chocolate milk.. me ever try b4, but vomit out imme.. the taste very terrible for me..

btw, can do any foot massage at this moment??

confusedgal, i think should be able to see the heartbeat liao, it's be twinkling like stars! =)
Ya, let your gynae know abt yr breathing problem, see if he can do anything.
btw what type of chocolate milk u drink? is it sweet?

reenie, talk abt people commenting, last week my boss's clerk just walked up to me and commented that i have put on weight around my butt and waist! I just said ya lor, i eat and eat !!
I haven't decided on the oscar test yet leh, so far my gynae never mentioned anything abt the oscar test...when must we do it? during which week?

loving, i tink can do foot massage, but u must tell d massager tat u r pregnant.

erowen, hehe... b4 my colleague noe i was pregnant, she aso commented tat i put on weight around my butt & waist. i jus smile at her.

vone, ya lor, what to do, anyway, she just walked past my cubicle and commented that i look very pregnant. i wonder if she is very free to come and kar jiao me. I just laff and continue typing. So far only her lor, those who are close to me, i think they know, they are just waiting for me to break the news.

loving - oh no. so u still drink milk? Maybe u try to drink a little at a time.

erowen - hee! i drink all kinds of chocolate milk (HL, Meiji, Magnolia)as long as chocolate can liao. Really ah! yo! i so excited now?
Also to share with u gals, i have serious constipation (remember i menetion b4)i drink Yakult everyday n now i go to toilet everyday (so happy) no more constipation liao

Reenie, The Arcade is at Raffles Place..next to Ocean Building.

I opted for triple test and the antenatal test only cos for my 1st pregnancy, only such tests available.

Oscar Tests include blood test for chromosonal (sp??) disorder ie. down syndrome, nuchal scan, and a detailed scan at 20 weeks. If u did not go for the Oscar Test, can do the triple test and the antenatal test at ur gynae's.

wow, confusedgal, u really gd at drinking milk leh! hey i also drink yakult!! I have always love drinking yakult. But now i drink on alternate days, is it okie to drink everyday? Btw u drink it cold or wait for it to be not so cold? =)

yes, it will be very exciting to see yr bb's heartbeat. enjoy ya! =)