(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Thanks, gals.

Thanks to this forum, we all get a chance to share all our woes and happiness.

Cakey,
I will be taking the blood test on my next visit 4 weeks later - 7 Mar 05.

erowen, u haven't told ur boss abt it yet?..
Once I told my boss, my colleagues started asking me liao... they say can see 'coz normally i no tummy one... but i see no dif leh.. juz like after food, tummy comes out...

ya, quite excited to see gynae.. oops, it's bb on chu san... will update u all!..

hoshi, no...i haven't told anyone in office yet. But i know they are guessing.
Most probably will break the news after CNY.

enjoy yr visit ya! =)

Just got to know about this thread and after reading it for days finally can post my message liao 8)
I am in the 7 to 8 weeks, due on 23rd Sep according to my gynea. Is an estimation as my ovaluation is later than the normal cycle. So happy there is this website that we can share the joyce with are the MTB.
I am with my Hubby in US so can't really feel the hoilday mood and is having MS every mintues so also no mood.
I envy you all can have a taste of good food in Singapore really miss them all, can't wait to be back. Sometime thinking about it will make me cry 8(
Hope that the MS will reduce and gone sooner...

hi erowen,
your coll v blunt hor.. actually sometimes i find it's quite rude to ask someone if she's preggie if you think she's put on weight. what if she's really not?.. and if one is really pregnant, i believe it should be up to her to announce when she's comfortable.

One coll also asked me yesterday if i'm pregnant.. coz i have no appetite for lunch. i just change topic..

pekoQ, welcome to the family. first of all, congrats on being a mommy soon. re MS, you're not alone.. i'm also having quite bad MS, yah.. i hope it'll go away soon..

both u and hubby r working there? which part of the states are u in? how about going chinatown for some chinese food? know they're no substitute for char kuay tiao, laksa, satay, rojak and all, but better than nothing... hey are you able to get yu sheng over there? maybe can "lao" with your hubby to bring some festive mood into the house..
will you be coming back to singapore for delivery?

Hi Bellybutton
Thanks for your words 8) Hope that it will goes away after we reach the next trimester...

My hubby is posted to Oregon - Corvallis( A small town) begining of this year, so I left my job and join him, but didn't know that I am pregnant until reaching here. We will be back latest by mid Apr so I will be deliver in Singapore, but the first test will be done here. So I am actually looking for a gynea in singapore, I hope the monthly checkup is near to my house, punggol, still searching, anyone can help?

Chinatown is at Portland and it take 2 hours Drive to reach. There are more chinese restuarant but really limited choices most are Hongkong and China style. Cannot compare with Singapore, we are living in heaven, spoil of choices on food...

Singapore is 16 hrs ahead, so we are celebrating our CNY eve to nite, I am KS so bought with me a steamboat for the celebration. Better than nothing, but the prawn here got no head and I don't really like to cook after pregnant.

No Yu Sheng here, my gynea ask me to reduce intake of fish to max twice a week, might due to mercury is a more serious problem here. And the fresh salmon that I always like is stated with "color added" from the counter.

hi PekoQ,

good that you are coming back home to deliver.. think it's better this way, especially during the confinement period when you need plenty of support from family members.

not sure about gynae in punggol.. it's a part of singapore where i will be totally lost..

yup yup, no matter how nice the chinese food in foreign countries are, they can never be compared to those back home... even the chinese food in china is not as nice, i think our taste buds are too accustomed to the Singapore flavor..

i din know mercury level in fish is so serious over there. in singapore, although the farmed ones which we always eat have higher mercury level, it's not as high to the level of being poisonous or harmful to foetus.. plus fish is such a good source of nutrients with all the omega 6 and all..

i'm shocked that salmon has color added!!!.. why? i'm sure people would still prefer a paler-looking salmon with no added color!.. strange..

I'm reading a book "what to expect when you are expecting".. very very good book, it's very detailed information on what you'll go through during each month of pregnancy, and all the dos and don'ts. very enjoyable and informative, highly recommended, think it's a best seller in the states.

ok, going to retire for the night, talk to you again

Hi PekoQ,

I have been to Oregon last 2 years ago & I could understand your craving for chinese food. The Chinatown is not very impressive & they only serve limited varieties. During my short stay, I cannot tahan the ang mo food & always looking for rice/noodle meal desperately..haha.. Actually you can get someone from Sg to send you some packets of "bak gu tea", "packed herbal soup" etc, so you won't have to travel all the way to downtown to get a decent chinese meal. Ya, I know cooking is quite a hassle but there's no choice in the states cos they dun have a hawker center. S'porean are really spoilt with food.

Anyway, Oregon is a good place to "an tai" with fresh air & nice weather. I could still remember the pine tree smell vividly.

Oh yah, Happy Chinese New Year to all the MTB. May we have a smooth preg & deliver healthy little "chicky".

Hi Bellybutton
I think fish is really a good source of protein that we need for baby compare to pork or chicken. Maybe here the fish are mostly big from ocean that's why doctor here don't really recommand to eat too much.

For the color added thingy, actually we feel that the salmon look like what we see in Singapore, so I am not sure whether are we eating it with color all along or this only happen in state. But I do try the deep fried one in restuarant it is still tasty 8)

Hi Cat tail,
My PIL are working in herbal shop, MIL prepared 40 pak of "8 true" for the preparation of my pregnancy few months ago, can you imagine if I take once a month it take me 3.5 years to finish them. So I distribute to others. I did prepare some Chicken herbal soup, 'bak ku teh' and even "8 true" for my trip but according to MIL I am not suppose to eat any herbal before I reach the 3rd trimester.

Oregon is indeed a nice place very peaceful, good weather during spring and summer, but winter is really cold, luckily it is going to be over and I am able to see flowers and the waterfall is really nice when the snow start to melt in the mountain.

Sweet dream all the MTB and be good and healthy little one 8)

how's your CNY? this is my first year giving ang baos, and was really confusing, cos hb got so many nephews n nieces! sadly, i have been sick since cny eve, so din really enjoy the festive mood n had to go home early last nite...

those of us due in aug shld be entering 2nd trimester already ya? now that i've crossed the mental barrier of 1st trimester, i've been more relaxed with my food intake. been taking more coke, tea, etc, but still limited to 1 cup a day...

are you gals going to find out the gender of the bb? i'm supposed to be able to know by next scan end feb, but am quite keen to keep it a suspense until delivery... thou hb wants to know it soon...

hi peko Q, I also stay in punggol! same as miso and wendy here... which block are you at? i'm currently seeing a gynae that's in punggol. she's quite patient n calm..the kind u know won't panic during delivery..haha... u can visit her when you're back. Also, the shopping mall Punggol Plaza has a medical center that provides gynaecology services, but i did not find out more.

Hi Tingting
Take care and rest more...
BTW Thanks for your info, I am at Blk197B behind Econ Minimart. Like to check have you decide where to deliver? I plan for MAH or TMC which I think is nearer to punggol.
I think for the gender it depend on individual, I prefer to know it earlier so that I can eye on items with the right color for my baby.

Like to check if I am taking Prenatal Tablets which consist multivitamin and mineral do I still need to take Folic Acid? Hb said I should not as is already inclusive but I afraid is not enough for the baby.

Today is really a bad day for me, can't really eat, try to drink a cup of milk and few pcs of biscuit for bf, and lunch porriage with soya sause. Hope that I can eat more at night...

Peko Q
if your multi-vit already consists of Folic, it shld be ok.. gynae prescribe to us 5mg Folic tablet.

anyone in office today? I cancelled my leave.. nothing to do at home ley..

welcome peko q.
i was told by my gynae tat folic acid wld b enough 4 me in my 1st tri, after tat, he wld prescribe something else 4 me. but i still hv 2 continue taking d folic acid as it wld b gd 4 bb. try 2 hv more small meals now as yr appetite is still not gd, dun force urself or u wld end up puking everything out. (like me)

tingting, hb & i wld like 2 noe d gender of bb. dun tink we can keep d suspense til delivery.

i like to work on slow days... =)) take the chance to clear my work rather than running around for meetings or get interrupted. Just like i enjoy working on Saturday afternoons when there's no one in office =) but not tmr, got family errand

oic. 4 me, even if i go back 2day, sure got nothing 2 do 1. me & my colleagues wld prob end up talking 2 each other.

Peko Q, my Dr also gave me multivitamin since i'm now going into 2nd trimester. According to him all needed vit like folic acid, iron are inside so no need to take extra folic acid. The multivitamin he gave is pink color tablets. what time is it for you now? maybe you can try eat some red beans like those heiz beans which got more taste? Somehow I began to like those

tingting, me also 1st time giving angbao hehe... lucky not that many to give yet.. also to our surprise, our parents still give us angbao! today office so quiet.. feel like resting also
you also going to 2nd tri?

wendyg, dun tink so. been feeling naseaous these few days, so thot of staying at hm & rest.

cakey, my mum still give us ng paos every yr, tis yr got 1 more, she said tat it's 4 d bb inside me. hb was laughing, saying tat bb is so lucky, hvn't come out yet, oledi got ang pao.

wendyg, tat's wat i always tell hb whenever he complains abt d amt of ang paos we had 2 give out. hehe...

Hi guys

feeling tired and having headache today.. actually overslept.. but had to go office cos got meeting.. now office very quiet.. make me very sleepy.

tulip, u poor thing. then u better take care. if u feel sleepy, then come here & talk 2 us lah. then u wldn't feel so sleepy.

Actually i wld rather stay at home and accompany my little 1. she is so fun to be with now.. she just learnt to walk about 15steps.. such an accomplishment. i called home about twice already.. my hubby at home taking care of her.

vone, thanks! hope to finish off some stuff in the afternoon and enjoy the weekend.

anybody know what exactly is the bb bonus govt give? i heard abt the mention of bb bonus in the news yesterday when they reported about first rooster bb

Here is 16hours slower and is about 7+pm. My tablets is brown in color and got strong iron smell don't really like it, but no choice is good for baby. So I can go without the folic acid liao...

Hi Cakey I will take your advise to try some red beans, do you add anything or just eat it plain?

Just got a call from my ex colleague, there might be a new job for me but waiting for his boss approval as I am pregnant so can only confirm on next monday. Really hope to go back really miss Singapore.

tulip, ya i agree wif u. guess tat u wld rather b at hm now rather than wking rite??
i saw my fren's kid on chu yi, he's aso starting 2 walk. can c d look of contentment on their faces. thus i can understand how u feel.

i m not 2 sure abt d details, mayb u can go 2 tis website, www.babybonus.gov.sg 2 find out more.

Hi Vone
No he will need to be here until his job is done, but I told him is for our baby future, is good to have two income compare to one.

Actually I am quite confident to get the job before I know that I am pregnant but now is difficult to say... And I think I will really miss my hb if I am going back alone, just thinking of the 24hours flight make me worry.

peko, i agree wif u. 2 incomes is always better. if not 4 my bb, tink i wld quit my job oledi. i really admire ur courage 2 come back alone. dun tink tat i can do tat. but i m sure tat ur family wld take care of u if u come back, so dun worry 2 much okie.

Morning all.. Happy Lunar New Year!

How's the new year for everyone?? Me.. tiring year.. what with being preggie and taking care of my ds.. haiz.. but very enjoyable overall.

hi wendy, what hap to u hb?? too much heaty stuffs ah?? must take more liang tea. MIL always has tt for us..hehe..

What about the news of bb rooster and bb bonus?? I din get it on the news ytd..any one can feed me info??

No choice but to travel alone, but already told my hb to upgrade me to bz class when fly back so that I got more room to rest. And he'll try to finish his job ASAP so that he can be home sooner.

I will shift to my mum house when I return, just that my PIL were not very please if I left their son alone in state. Anyway there isn't a win win situation just hope that my decision is the right one.

hi PekoQ,
i ate the beans plain and I took about 1/4 can. hope you get good news abt the job soon.. Just remember the separation with hb is only temporary and think about the good future ahead instead

miso
Ystrday when i was taking 3hr afternn nap, he play Warcraft computer game & developed headache. This morning sommore threw up.. i think he's pregnant lor..

1st rooster baby is a boy, born at Mt A. His parents also rooster ley, so ngam. He rcv'd more than $30k worth of baby gifts, among which nearly $9k education $$ from Risis & tons of Drypers.

miso
I went to Punggol Plaza for dinner last nite.. 8pm Nonya food just sold out, Vegetarian & Indian remained. But Vegetarian increased price by $0.50, so we had Indian.. drinks didn't increase price! I was pleasantly surprised.

And took the coach for the 1st time - no queue, just nice as we were leaving it came, so no need to wait. Wa shiok!

the bb bonus looks good for my 2nd one...
at least the $ govnmt get, i can use for the first one too.

so tired.. i think can fall asleep typing.. hope 530 quickly come

Hi wendy

coffee is no no for me.. i have reactions to it. the other day, i read abt the roti boy and bought one to eat.. forgetting abt the effect of coffee.. the whole afternoon my stomach was upside down! terrible.. but good suggestion, i think i will get a teh tarik later.

wah, that's quite serious.. then u better just stick to tea and coke =)
dun worri, surf a bit more and 530pm will be here b4 u know it.

drink more water lah
1. it's good for health
2. making frequent trips to toilet keeps u awake & wastes more time...

hi wendy, the coach goes to ur flat ah? I nvr got the chance to try the sit..but it sure looks comfy inside! haha.. this morn, the koufu is so packed!! Guess a lot of ppl here din work. finally my ds is asleep.. wahahaha.. i am so so tired!

aiyo..i dun seem to drink a lot of water leh.. dunno y.. feel like gg out to eat later.. any suggestions??

me eating berry yogurt now.. very sour! but v. shiok!

miso
u just take a round-trip ride, Punggol sight-seeing. Free anyway..
the coach stops 3 blocks away from our flat.

i din even know the LRT started operations.. until 1 rare chance i took MRT home & wondered how come there's signage indicating LRT... i thought when start running, there'll be big hoo-ha launch & we'll get flyers in our letterboxes promoting public transport...

Hi wendy

now i dun crave coke so much.. maybe not time yet!
recently, i find my skin around tummy gettin itchy liao.. really regret last week robinson 15%disct din go get the mustela stretch cream.. cos so expensive.. $55 before disct.. but now i regret.. wonder how much is the clarins one the gals were talking abt

tulip: i dunno abt the clarins one.. see whether there's discount at Sasa?
i'm using smthg available at my gynae's. Topicrem from france, her price is $28.
Alternatively, Cocoa Butter from Body Shop is at $20. Recommended by my sis - her 1st pregnancy had little/ no stretch marks.

Some people say whether or not u get stretch marks is due to genes, some people also say these creams & certain application methods work. I just apply smthg that soothes the skin - moisturising effect.

hi wendy

that is what my gynae said too.. but i think to myself.. this time probably my last bb.. (although hubby not happy), i thot well.. get something that i will enjoy appying lah.. i also notice i dun care anymore.. i just eat what i like (not like 1st preg), scared of putting weight, everything control.. i got a feeling, i will be eating till i swell man...

since ur sister dun get stretchmark.. maybe u also wont get hor.. lucky u!

tulip
eat in moderation lor..
my hubby's concerned that i'm not eating enuf. he thinks i look the same as 1 month ago, even tho my clothes are tight - i even hv to use bra extensions liao.. my appt next thurs, can't wait to weigh myself... my cheap weighing machine at home really indicates no weight gain.

to be frank, i haven't been eating nutritious food... somehow fish & vegetables lost their appeal since the start of pregnancy. The only thing i'm doing right is to drink copious amts of water. Sometimes when it's time for meals, i dun feel like eating, only want to drink water. i also heard that drinking more water improves skin elasticity & hence reduces stretch marks.