(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

newmumsa... i guess here is sg, we r quite lucky.. even though we don't cook can still ta bao. but i think its so much healthier to eat at home. Food outside is very oily and i am really scared of those with lard! ok.. talk to you again... going for my dinner. Have a good lunch!

hi girls.. i'm back again. miso, wendy's rite. accounting is my profession. so a few staff under me, some v good, some give me headache...
.. but overall, nice and cosy workplace with not much stress, a good plc to carry my bb

my hubby bought a new blender to make smoothie for me.. haha.. i'm now the queen at home since i became pregnant. anyway, anyone knows how to make smoothie? we trial and error a few times, not good leh. used apple, but i think not a good choice, very "siap".. wanted to use banana but hubby forbid me to take that coz he read somewhere in the forum it's no good for bb in 1st tri...wondering if anyone can offer any tips on how to make smoothie like those sold outside..

ok, going to bathe now and then go and play mahjong. must enjoy and play as much as i can before bb come out.

hi bellybutton,

when my hubby heard i was pregnant, he bought me a foot spa and a body massager, so sweet. you can try some strawberries, mango, even carrots are very nice as a smoothie, just place in blender with some ice for a health drink or add some vanilla ice cream for a sweet treat. i also have a juice maker and a blender but so much hassle to clean up after so i hardly ever use it.

enjoy the mahjong. tata

hi wendy, i should be about 13 weeks liao.. so fast lidat.. very diff from what i calculated leh.. so strange. hehe..

hi belly, u can try putting 2 - 3 strawberries + ice + milk and blend it.. we can take banana.. just dun take those Del Monte types. Those ang ba jio or pang jio or gek leng jio can. hehe..hope u understand.

those drinking milk regularly, do u take fresh milk or anmum? i'm quite fat, so been taking those low-fat, hi cal type of fresh milk but not sure if that's good. any1 any advise?

also, ladies who are at 12weeks,can check what's yr baby measurement?? my fren is at 12 weeks n baby measure 7cm, her gynae say size ok,but she feels its too big.

Hi newmumsa, the del monte type of bananas.. or so we called the philippines banana are more cooling so we avoid eating them esp. during 1st trimester.

Hi cookies, my last chk at 11 wks 6 days.. bb measured at 5 cm.. woah! then ur fren's one big hor? I think another mummy here.. also slightly bigger than mine at abt 12 wks.. I haven started to take anmum yet.. will get one soon!

wah, good thing i came in today...else will have a hard time catching up on monday!

cookies, when i measured at 11 weeks + bb was only abt 5.3cm. guess bb grow at different rates...

Hi wendyg, belly button and miso,

All your food talk making me drooling man! I'm progessing into 2nd tri but still don't have any particular craving. Like 1st tri, still can't tahan all those deep fried stuff. But then, I start to like sweet stuff like ice cream, cookies, chocolates and sweets. Can u imagine, i can finish 1 tube of mentos in 1 day. So scare I got diabetics! Oh yah, I also like beef noodles a lot, those dry hainanese type! My colleague say it's good cos beef is very "bu"!

Talking about work and increment, I think I'm one of the most lucky one here. Boss appreciate what i did and didn't penalise me for my long MC during IVF treatment and the frequent MCs I took after pregnant. I'm one of them who got highest performance bonus this Jan. My workplace also very condusive and flexible in terms of working hours, time off etc. But most important, we get our work done well and did not abuse all these benefits. Come to think of it, it all dep on the boss! The other divisions in my company are not getting the same type of treatment though. That's why I also practise treating my immediate staff well. Make them feel as if they are your peers and not merely acting on your instuctions. They will ready appreciate what we have done. For eg, when I away on MC, they really cover my work well and thus no major disruption to the operations

Hi cookies,

My bb was 4cm at 10w6d. I thought it's a bit on the small side but gynae say it's gorwing at the right rate. So just trust gynae loh.

Hi newmumsa,

Heard that colling stuff may cause miscarraige at early stage of pregnancy. Also, heard may cause asthma. My parents advise me to avoid barley, big bananas, coconut juice, glass jelly, tea etc.

Miso: thanks for your banana advice. must show my hubby about your posting, he thinks cannot touch banana at all.

Newmumsa: can we take carrot? thought it should be avoided since it's high in VitA? not so sure leh, all these are just hearsay. anyone got any comments about that? also, heard that orangy food like carrot, papaya contains high beta-carotine which may make you and bb's skin yellowish... anyone heard the same thing?

chemistry: you are a lucky one. not all company are that pro-family. i used to work for a company whose CFO is a korean, lagi worse. treats women like invisible, and you can imagine what happens when they are preggie. my coll was preggie but stayed through her peak, only went for her maternity leave when the peak was over, yet increment and bonus was the most meagre that she has gotten. plus the attitude that boss gave her, sucks. after this, i'm quite wary of old male bosses..

hey, have anyone brainstormed for names for your bb already?

hi cookies,

i asked my gynae about milk before. i dare not take powdered milk, so all these years i have been taking the daisy low-fat milk. asked my gynae whether i can continue doing so, she said yes. shouldn't force myself to drink powdered milk or full cream if i don't want to, otherwise may even end up purging everything out. she said low-fat milk is good enough for the calcium, and she also doesn't want her patients to put on more weight than they should if full-cream makes them gain weight..

good morning everyone,

its 7am year and i am still in my pj's. cant sleep too long, the birds wake me up!

chemistry and bellybutton
all these things about yellow fruit such as papaya, or carrots and bananas is something that is mostly followed in the east. we dun have such a thing here and as u know millions of angmoh and other race babies are just fine. i asked my hubby about it, he is chinese, he says yes he knows about this but no need to follow. so dunno ah. all my gynae said was eat heathy food, eat lots of fresh fruit and veg, stay away from very fattening stuff like deep fried foods and drink lots of water. so i do it and i am fine and bb too.

bellybutton - you read my mind, yesterday i was sitting here and asked myself, will it be silly to ask if people have thought of baby names yet. i was browsing website after website yesterday for inspiration and came across some nice ones. but it seems rather pointless unless you know the sex of the baby, but it's still fun.

I have heard about "the mask of pregnancy" which is pigmentation or darkening of areas of the skin on the face due to hormones. Have any of you experienced this yet or do u know when this actually starts? I am dreading this!

hi ladies..good afternoon!

hi newmumsa, yea..a coll of mine had pigmentation on her armpits during pregnancy days.. now no more liao.. she say took few mths to disappear. I guess individuals one la..

hm.. I will be asking a master to choose a name for my bb when born b4 registering his birth cert. Did the same for ds.

miso, are there still those posters of those people in the mrt and at bus stops? there was a pic of a little girl once, she was 5 and her name was mei ling, she was adorable and i so much want to name my little girl mei ling, that'sif i am having a girl, what does mei ling mean?

hi hi!
Newmumsa: you don't sound local, where are you from? "Mei" means pretty/beautiful. Not sure about "Ling" though.

I kinda liked the name "Rui En" - Rui means Agile, En means Grace. Dialect name will be Ree-Anne
.. well, that is, if I'm having a girl..

i stumbled upon this website that has lots of English names: http://www.babynamenetwork.com/

re dark spots, my boss developed one small patch (1cm in diameter) on the side of her face when she was carrying her 2nd bb 3 years ago, and it has never gone away since. thank God the patch is at the side of her face near her ear, not that noticable, plus it can be lightened with foundation. but i think the only way to get rid of it is via laser.

don't think there's anything we can do to prevent it coz it's hormonal change, plus it only happens to some people. & some stay, some go away... just have to pray hard!

hi bellybutton, no, i am not local. i am an angmoh from south africa but i lived in singapore for 3 years, so i can relate to all u r talking about. i even understand the slang, hehe. come to think of it, if it wasn't for the weather i would still be in sg, just loved it there.

hi bellybutton,

rui-en can be for boy or girl, if u use the word "rui" as in "xiang2 rui4" rather than "agile". i also like the name alot! pity can't use it cos "rui" happens to be for my FIL's generation.. i like the last word of the name to be of the 1st intonation, e.g. feng1, en1, etc.

hi tingting,
just found out that 'rui' is the family name for my FIL's sisters, so cannot use. sigh... so many rules.. you're rite, rui-en is a unisex name.. think En will be a popular name for our bb's generation..

Hi morning ladies...

Hi bellybutton..Rui En is niceee!! I like it too..

As for english name, I like a name of this small little gal we met on our honeymoon 5 years ago...will chk with the master if it is suitable for our bb..hehe and of cos provided i am carrying a gal..her name is Syviona. cool not?

This morning, craving for the bee hoon.. but no more liao... so sad.

i almost called my daughter Rui En last time cos my mil want to use the word En. but we chose something else.. Kei En.

Hi Miso - Syviona sounds cool.. does those name master check christain names? i thot they only do chinese names cos can count number of strokes.

btw, here's wishing everybody happy lunar new year in advance cos i will be bz and wont be logging in until like next week.. happy makaning and happy lou yu sheng!

hi miso, syviona is very unique. wat does it mean? wah, you mean the master can also tell if english names are suitable?? modernized

think my ms is getting worse. feel so nauseous this morning, nothing to puke out as stomach empty. came to office, coll gave me a slice of walnut cake, had to force myself to eat otherwise cannot take follic..

Hi tulip, yes he does! He is a numerologist. So, he can choose chinese and english names for us. I had my name changed too... cos my name not v. auspicious..according to mil. haiz.. long story.

miso, when did you change your name? does it mean all your friends have to call you by your new name? just wondering if they'll have a hard time getting used to it

Yippee, tomo is Chu Xi, eve of CNY, can't wait for the long holidays.

cookies, i bought a can of Annum but so far only drink a few times and i usually mix with milo.

hey Rui En sounds very nice! the actress who has this name also quite pretty. =)

so you gals will be on half day tomo? I will be working til 12.30pm. But my office no celebration...

hi erowen,
my company close tomorrow, force everyone to take half day. friday, i'm taking leave.. so this week is the best! only 1-day week!

you all taking leave on fri too?

hehe... u wouldn't want ur bb to be of an older generation than u rite? :p

haven't thought of names yet, but i would like my children to have the same middle or last chinese name, so must choose a word that is ok for both guy n girl. have got a book on christian names when i chose my baptism name... will flip it one day..

my hubby likes the name daphne, but know what? "ne" sounds like "breast" in hokkein..later my grandmother makes fun of the name
.. haha

wow, bellybutton....which line are you in?

yup, me on leave on friday! yippe, can sleep and sleep.

btw, i don't know for you gals...but for me, this year i not much mood for CNY, i dun even have the chance to go down to Chinatown cos scared too crowded.

For tomo eve, will be a busy night, reunion dinner at my ILs house at 6plus, then will go down to my mum house at 8pm for another round. It's our yearly practice.
Hopefully my nausea will be better tomo evening...if not don't know how to stomach the food.

this is my shortest week ever! half day tomorrow, n i'm on leave till next wed..haha... clearing leave mah.... but have to clear work b4 cny...

it's difficult to avoid being teased about ur names...cos there're so many languages and dialects that we won't be able to anticipate.. even a simple name "Mary" can also be teased as "bloody mary"... u can't run away from it...

Hi bellybutton, it's been few years since I changed my name.. but lucky.. my english name still can be used..he say lucky got this english name..else my life will be v. tough! haha... anyway, kinda believed him cos everything he says is so so true and accurate! Yea..initially old folks all still call me by my old name..but of cos, I give them time to adapt to it lor..

erowen I got the same yearly practice as u! haha.. I so look forward to the steamboat!

erowen: me in the accounts line

wah.. eating 2 rounds of reunion dinner on the same nite! have to pace yourselves during round1 and leave room for round2 then

me had reunion dinner with my family yesterday, had steamboat.. but don't have much of an appetite, after dinner went home and puke.. sigh...

Morning ladies!!!
Did u have a good weekends of rest? Wow...counting down to end of the day! although tommorow is half day work, but the festive mood kicks in already!

Made myself and hubby ham&cheese sandwich this morning, tasty!! Toasted the wholemeal bread, 2 pieces for each, melted the cheese on honey baked ham in oven...then added tomato to the sandwich! wow..yummy, hot sandwich. But i am hungry now, munching on biscuits :p

Something cute to share here:http://www.pconline.com.cn/pcedu/carton/hk/0501/flash/20jnxd.swf

Happy CNY

hi all morning,
Had my checkup on Sat and the BB is 4.86cm long
It's exciting to see the bb moving around waving arms and swiming. But the dr was pressing here and there kind of hard for quite some time, scare the bb feeling uncomfortable hehe... Then later Dr told us he's doing the neck thickness test. The result is ok so far.. So now my mood is better though still feeling abit MS..
Dr also explain about the comming test like blood test and oscar tests.. He's kind of fast and both me and hubby still feeling excited so in end we forgot what he's saying abt the test after walking out of the clinic hehe...

Angel, could you help to update me as:
- week 11
- EDD 23rd Aug.
Thanks alot.

Happy New year
http://www.pconline.com.cn/pcedu/carton/hk/0501/flash/20jnxd.swf

miso, you having steamboat for reunion? My ILs also! But my parents' side will be very traditional, we are khek, eating the Suan Pan Zi, Drunken Chicken, which is my fav but i cannot eat alot!!!

ah bellybutton, sorry to hear you puked last night..btw your steamboat got seafood? So tomo you will be at yr ILs place the whole night?

reenie, yr breakfast so yummy! I love cheese, now you got me hungry liao. kekek...So what are yr plans for tomo evening?

too many "En" flying around, most of my friends' babies either hv an "En" or "Grace".. my baby must be different.. but so far we only thought of English names... Chinese name would depend on my baby's grandpas, let them fight it out.

Boy: Isaac - God named the baby in hubby's dream.
Girl: Winnie - win souls for Christ, or
Clare - song from Beetles.

Girl's chinese name - i like those traditional sounding names with a "juan1", but see how lah.
I was toying with "Cui" (ie Jade), but after hearing that people use jade to ward off evil spirits, i dismissed that name...
"Rui" reminds me of "Shan Rui" - turtle soup.. my chinese not so good, i dunno any other type of "Rui"... heh.

I thought the issue with Del Monte bananas was that they were injected with growth hormones, so try to avoid. Din know they were cooling. But whatever lah, i'm not too concerned coz i haven't been eating!

erowen, miso,
same here!!... normally I will eat at home with in-laws, then will proceed to my mom's place to eat... hehe.... usually eat a bit here and ter... drink more soup..

cakey, u made me feel so excited too!!... my next appt will be tis Friday, and want to see the bb swimming and moving too... coz shld be in week 11 n 6 days liao.... hehe.. so fast, urs already 4.86cm!!... exciting hor!!..

gals, really hard to choose names hor. most likely my ILs will choose the chinese name, and my hb and I will choose the english name. But english name always kena made-fun one... hehe... charlotte becomes chocolate.... hahaah...

cakey!
yes our link are the same!!! so cute right?

erowen,
sorry i make u hungry..hehehee..wanted to share and provide some breaky idea. I am taking steamboat tommorow for reunion as well...most likely got seafood like prawnie. This is the 1st year my parents doing steamboat, normally we have alot of dishes. This year i requested for steamboat. I bet your drunken chicken smells good...can eat right?

Talking about cheeses, i bought the hi-calcium and low fat cheese from chesdale.

hoshi, seems we'll be busy tomo. keke, but i do enjoy running around for the dinner. Tomo my mum will be preparing mushroom soup, very standard, every year the same. keke

reenie, that was a very gd breakf idea! Yummy! You and yr hubby got time in the morning to prepare breaky? usually for me and my hubby, we wake up around 7.15am and got rush here and there, breaky usually buy from outside.

ya, i'll have to swallow saliva and watch the rest eat the drunken chicken...my mum said she will cut down the chinese wine contend but i can only eat one or 2 piece it think.

for cheese, what i have in my fridge now is kraft light cheese slices i think.

erowen,
i think abit of wine is ok, especially when its cook, the wine evaporated
I woke up around 7am today, first thing, go and cut the tomato, baked the ham & cheese in oven first. Then go to bathe, wake my hubby...then i go toast the bread and prepare, ready for breaky! I left for work around 8.30 today, took a cab in, after my pregnancy, i took alot of cab to avoid the morning the traffic, which is real bad. I need enough rest and sleep too. We set aside some $$ to spend on transportation now, as we don't drive.

I don't do this breakfast everyday, depending on what we want to eat, sometimes my hubby will go downstairs kopitiam to buy or we eat bread with spread. But i am in love with this hot sandwich for now...heeheheheheh...its just tasty and yummy. Even my hubby love it. Not alot of work, just need a little effort.

erowen, same here.... hehe.. I also enjoy running round, only hubby very tired, coz he will be the chauffeur... haha.... wah, mushroom soup, sounds nice...!

ya reenie, the breakfast u mentioned sounds so easy to make....! maybe can go buy cheese and ham!.. yum yum... normally i will wake up at 7.45am, then leave house at 8.20am, hubby fetch me go buy breakfast then off to work...

hehe.. so far for names, we only tot of one english gal name - Hazel.... hehe... tis name was brought up by both hubby and I when we were par-toh-ing... hehe....

erowen: yah.. CNY eve reunion dinner is always reserved for PIL ever since got married. otherwise, MIL will not be happy
most probably won't stay there for whole nite, will adjourn to mum's house for mahjong, while hubby will go out with his buddies for mid-night movie. that's our yearly practice

cakie: how much did you pay for the blood test and oscar test? did gynae make it compulsory or did you ask to do it?

wendy: wah.. your hubby very spiritual leh..

both my hubby kinda liked the name Ariel
.. does that remind you of the mermaid? hee..

hoshi,
yes the breaky is very easy to make, try it! healthy stuff. I took half cup of orange juice too. Your wake up time is so nice...hehehee..do u start work late as well? i normally reach my office 9plus. Unless there's a meeting.
Hazel is nice name, my cousin also has the same name. Will start to think think after i know the gender...hahaahha...

Anyone thought of asking You Long Zi to give the chinese name? or you prefer to chose something you and hubby like? just curious.

Will be on half day tomorrow and Friday on leave. Can't wait for today to end....

Like erowen, will be having 2 rounds of reunion dinners tomorrow. One at 4.30pm at MIL (ya, they eat super early) and the second one at 7.30pm with mum's family. Luckily, ms is better nowadays, so shd be able to pig out!

Going to see gynae later this evening. Can't wait to see bb again!!

hi confusedgal, today busy at work?

reenie, we also don't drive, at this point in time, i still taking bus, okie lah, still got seats, it's a direct bus to my office. But maybe from 5 months onwards i will take cab to office.

hoshi, wow...you guys par-tohing already thot of baby name..so sweet! Got vision. =)

right now i call my baby piyo piyo! Cos don't know what to call when i and hubby talk to the baby, so just jokingly say piyo piyo lor.

bellybutton, nevermind lor, as long as both sides are okie. so you will overnight at yr mum's place on the eve til chu yi?