(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

hi ilmare

I am also taking pralimet, folic and calcium (with Vitamin D). However, i have also started taking neurogain, for baby's brain development.

I got it for RM35 for 30 tablets from pharmacy in JB. most of us have started taking it.

Am also taking Vit C coz I am fighting the flu bug now, been having it for 2 weeks now!

have a good weekend all

reenie, tks 4 ur concern.

ilmare, i m not taking any vits/supplements now except 4 folic acid. my gynae said tat he wld prescribe some 4 me once my ms is better. if not i sure puke them out, he said veri wasted. hehe...

hv a gd wkend.

Hi ilmare

i'm taking folic acid, Duphaston n prenavit. they are prescribe by gynae. i dare not eat any additional vit leh.

u too have a great weekend

hi vone

wat is ms?

u have a nice weekend too

hi confused and ilmare,
just came back from gynae... still cannot see heartbeat leh
.. but got improvement.. can see the sac which is now 1.46cm.. last time cannot see a thing!
gynae postponed my edd to 5Oct. she said i'm only about 5 weeks now. asked me to go back 2 weeks time so she can see the heartbeat..

hi bellybutton

Dont be sad ok. maybe still early cos yours only abt 5 weeks right? mine oso the same only see sac (abt 6weeks when i went to see gynae). maybe later (7-9 weeks) then be able to see. Right now, u can relax n enjoy your CNY.

confused
MS is morning sickness.

welcome ilmare & sneaky from the TTC thread...

gosh, haven't logged in for sometime, so i can only express my sympathy for cafe & bbmom now... i was so sad when i read your postings.

And also for Lib & Angel abt your jobs.. your employers so mean huh. Hope u're finding good use of the free time u have.

Sweet pink prenatal vit is Obimin. I was given some by 1st gynae, but my current one told me to stop taking. Dunno why. Until now i'm only on folic & calcium tabs as prescribed by 2nd gynae. Based on last menses calculation, i'll be starting 16th wk on 7th Feb. I hv doubts, coz compared with some of u in forum, i seem to be quite fast, but i count week by week & my maths quite good one mah...

hubby & i still quite frisky, all thru these past months.. some weeks when i felt really gassy & pukey, he'll wait a few days, but i think at least once or twice a week got activity. Now it's back to alternate days... hee hee.. frisky like rabbits. Will only need to abstain if at risk of miscarriage or pre-mature birth or spotting etc. O'wise life goes on man!!!

Regarding tuna, just surf web & find out lor... info is out there.
"Limit tuna steaks to once a month. Farm-raised trout and catfish, Pacific salmon, and fish sticks are safe, and canned tuna is intermediate."

No need to be paranoid... excerpt from book: Fearless Pregnancy: Wisdom & Reassurance from a Doctor, a Midwife & a Mom.
"Name a common pregnancy health threat, and chances are good that it's been much overblown. Concern for health is a good thing, but paranoia is a waste of energy. Neither a preggie nor her baby is likely 2b harmed if she pumps petrol, colours her hair or eats sushi. The odds are overwhelming & your baby will be just fine. Choose to talk to people (& doctors) who boost your confidence, not sabotage it."

Vivien
Read that you're seeing Dr Kek.. my frens & SIL are seeing her, in fact a friend's entire cell group are her patients! I went to her for my pre-conception chk.. wow i love her technology & she's very nice & patient & motherly, but too bad she's in CBD area... ERP & parking expensive...

How come some of u dun like water ah, i drink & drink non-stop, and as a result hv to go toilet often. But it's ok lah. Hv to provide fresh swimming pool water for bb... did u know that bb will pass urine in amniotic fluid, & will also drink from that same fluid? The "pool" replenishes itself every 3-4 hrs... so maybe dat's why i keep wanting to guzzle water. I've always enjoyed water, even more so now. Since preggy, i prefer HOT water & beverages. Of course the occassional Coke.. yeah!

Ystrday i skipped lunch.. only drank water & nibbled on a muffin thru the afternoon. AND i forgot to da bian. Work & work non-stop. Then i had the most fantastic gastric attack in the evening. After dinner, halfway on journey to Redhill cell group, had to alight at Orchard station coz tummy pain & had to search for toilet. Felt faint in the crowd, but thank God queue was short & the cubicle wasn't stinko. Wah, then as i did my business, i heard someone puking in other cubicle.. lucky i'm past that stage liao, o'wise dunno how i can da-bian and puke at the same time... *hiakz*

So the moral of the story is, pls dun skip meals.. i realised my body has changed, last time the consequences not so serious, but now... aiyo feel v jialat. I still hv problems with the "6 snacks thru the day" instead of 3 square meals. Coz when i eat i want to eat full meal rather than half portion, but feel very bloated & uncomfortable if finish whole portion. And i very sian when it comes to meal time coz dun feel like eating. So i dun eat. Aiya so fan...
then always tell myself to eat more healthy protein, fruits etc, but i feel more like having strong spicy food like mee rebus, curry.. but these things dun settle well in tummy. And when i burp, the spices "burn" my throat...

belly button
altho i'm an office gal, i got no time to log in internet for leisure in the office. sheesh, i can't even make time for toilet and lunch, whaddya think.

hee wendyg..
i also feel v sian when it comes to mealtime.. most of the time got no appetite, i'm eating just for the sake of eating. eat too full feel nauseous... n all the 'healthy' food doesn't taste good..
today i had a strong craving for laksa, heck about the healthy food.. zoomed down to Alexandra market to eat the "zhen shan mei" claypot laksa! ordered the biggest bowl $5 still not enough.. have to swipe some from my hubby.. and guess what? i feel like eating the same for dinner.. damn jia lat..

bellybutton
wow that sounds just like a preggie wierd appetite. Haven't had laksa in the longest time, and now i'm wary of spicy food coz of reflux.. my fren say it can damage vocal cords coz of acidity, so advise me to reduce intake.

All the healthy food not appealing, u got that right.

Where u live? I dunno where's Alexandra mkt... i only know ABC coz it's near my cell leader's home.

wendyg,
i live in jurong west. went to gynae this morning mah, so alex market is on way home.
alex market is a big full centre with lots of good food! should be quite near redhill where your cg is. the laksa is v v good!! it used to be at depot road, then shifted to westcoast, then to alex market. i'm an ardent fan, will go anywhere as long as food is good.

know laksa is not v healthy, esp with coconut (high cholestrol=> i have that too!!
)).. thought spicy food is ok as long as it doesn't give you gastric? u know, when u have MS, spicy food is a gift from heaven leh... plus we say grace before we eat rite? hahaa.. lots and lots of grace we all need on our food in today's society.

i hope u're eating it without the "ham" shellfish?

no i still dunno where's the Alex mkt. nvrmind lah, i'm not a westie.. i'm in PUNGGOL!

spicy food is ok i guess, but i've been burping for months & when the "spicy air" comes up, there's a slight burning sensation, so i'd rather avoid it for comfort's sake. But i still gotto take chilli with my morning bee hoon, o'wise no taste ley.

Wa, u got hi-cholesterol ah. That means gotto stay clear of eggs lah. Or eat only egg-white. My cholesterol was borderline (nearing 200) when i was 22yrs old, coz i ate at least 1 egg everyday. Then subsequent year i was conscious to cut down to abt 2-3 a week. Then it went back to normal. I love eggs! I'm glad that it's a recommended source of protein for baby. So i'm eating maybe 5 eggs a week now. With runny yolk too. ha ha ha.

u live JW, attend City Harvest? I'm in FCBC.

Wendyg,
no lah. never eat "hum".. hhee. never liked it, so thank God don't have to abstain.
me got high cholestrol ever since got married 2 years ago (before that never checked, so dunno!).. at that time was 25, cholestrol was 220. the last time i checked again was recently, it was 240. must be the crabs (my fav!) and the lack of exercise! never mind lah, after give birth, will exercise to convert the bad cholestrol to good. that's the only way to reduce according to the doc.

i was from FC for many years, then migrated to New Crea 5 years ago...
... yah.. city harvest is a stone's throw from my house.. but i only visited them once, when they were still in the paya lebar area i think

ooh crabs. Dun take the roe, does it help? I love steamed crab, sweet meat.

My neighbours from NCC.. Florence & Jeff, & their sons Sean & Samuel. They also migrated from FC to NCC. Would u know them?

Hi wendyg

Thanks for the info. i agree with u, cant skip meals cos will get gastric later on. Me too leh, drink a lot of water (dont know why i dont like soft drink liao) i ate a lot of spicy food n after that i drink honey (afraid too heaty)

bellybutton - ya! if no appetite still must eat cos bb need food leh. Maybe u can have something light.

I really envy some gals n u leh, no appetite cos cant really eat. I'm getting worried cos i'm opposite with u gals, i cant stop eating. My hb n family member got to control my eating (ask me not to eat too much, very scary ah)i'm sure will become a hippo soon
dont know how to stop. Althought sometimes i've no appetite but i still eat alot cos afraid i'll get gastric again.

Quite a no. of christians here I guess...hehe..

For cholesterol, maybe we just eat the egg whites will do.. cos it contains the cheapest protein in the world! haha..

hi bellybutton, me been eating all the unhealthy food leh... I remember I used to have wholemeal bread with ham and eggs for breakfast..together with kopi or milo, when I am preggie with ds. But not this one, i only eat this occassionally and been eating laksa, lontong, curry, snacks etc...haiz.. and also cold drinks!! I haven even started my anmum!

hi ilmare, u haven visited ur gynae? how come no prescribe pre-natal vitamins for u? Please do check with ur gynae on whatever vitamins u are taking w/o prescription ok?!

Heard from my coll ytd about her friend's case..she took panadol during preggie days and her bb is born sub-normal! aiyo..I heard liao so scary. And also my boss say dun take any herbal stuffs right now.. btr to abstain from it till mid 2nd tri at least.. but bird's nest and chicken essence are ok.

wendyg: ha! you're a fellow crab lover! my fav is at sin huat coffee shop at geylang, their crab beehoon is no1!! that day i also just tried the crab beehoon soup at melben (AngMoKio). the whole dish is like the fish beehoon soup, the milky kind, except it's crab instead of fish. the soup is damn good!! think they must have "aw" for a long time with small crabs coz it's soooo sweet and tasty! but i think cholestrol sure v high!
me dunno your neighbours.. the church is sooo huge.. plus i attend the hokkein service with my dad, so hardly know pple.

confused: i only have appetite for sinful food
).. chiam rite?. how many kg have you put on? I also put on 1 kg in the last 2 weeks.. dunno why leh.. never eat much still will put on. at least you get the enjoy the food when u put on weight! My SIL said her colleague put on 27 kg in her entire pregnancy! scary, but now she's as slim as before, so just a little hard work after that to shed off the pounds!

hi miso, tried the 24hr Kopitiam yet?

Preggies crave for certain food, but i crave for a song! Trying to find a nice download for Do You Know What It Means To Miss New Orleans... o'wise 2nite dinnertime must go Compasspoint to buy CD liao....

Do you know what is means to miss new orleans
I miss it, each night and day
The longer i stay away
Miss the moist covered vines
The tall sugar pines
Where mocking birds use to sing
And i like to see the lazy mississippi
Are hurrying to spring
The mardy grass memories
Of creool tunes that fill the air
I dream of orleanders in june
And soon i'm wishing that i was there
Do you know what is means to miss new orleans
And there is something more
I miss the one i care for
More than i miss new orleans

miso, the panadol case so scary!! thought panadol is suitable for preggie? anyway, when u visit GP for minor ailments, just make sure you tell them u're pregnant. they should know what not to give u.
guess what, i'm munching some new year cookies as I'm typing now!!.. aiyoh.. confused, you're not alone!

have you guys all told your bosses already? what was their reaction? me haven't, intend to hide till 12weeks or if possible 16 weeks coz that is when my increment will be announced. dunno if they'd discount me if they learnt that i'm pregnant leh.

bellybutton
yeah tried Geylang Sin Huat b4, table at the roadside right? I never liked the idea, all the monoxide & soot, less so now that pregnant. I'm not a crab fanatic lah, just enjoy the occasional treat. Expensive ley...
There's another fantastic crab kopitiam along Still Rd. Lousy service, but good food.

my gynae put on 20kg for her own pregnancy, but now she's so skinny u'd never guess. My fren say it's coz gynaes lead hi-stressed lives, irregular hours & meals, so surely lose weight. After give birth we all go & become gynae, sure lose weight ok.

asked gynae about triple test and oscar test today, but still v confused after her explanation.
both r for down syndrome rite? do people just do one test? or both tests together? what's the diff btw the two? wondering if anyone here knows anything about this..

panadol is baby safe, but as with all medication, only take as last resort lor. Coz baby will take in whatever we take in right?

belly button
my sis said to announce pregnancy after achieving milestone in the job. For your case, to play safe, wait until after increment then announce lor. Wah, then u better be shopping for good clothes to hide baby... & pray that u dun expand too fast.

wendyg: yah, sinHuat is the run-down coffeeshop that sells at restaurant prices. somehow think their crab beehoon got opium.. super addictive, i just cannot resist. i know about the still road one.. the fat lady called ah hoon that assigns table is quite rude, to eat there, must go there before 5:45, otherwise queue starts forming at 6. their crab is cheaper than geylang, but not as big (my hubby is a sucker for oversized crabs).. i saw andrea d cruz and pierre png there once, think they didn't join the queue, and was ticked off by Ah hoon. bet she didn't watch channel5 so cannot recognise them!! hhaaa

miso - ya! my mum oso say that. try not to take herbal stuff now. Wait till 2 tri.

wendyg - i ate those sinful food lor (eg : fastfood, laksa, hokkien mee and ...)very heavy n fattening food
i oso dont know y leh. a aliitle food in my stomach seems not enough n got to eat more then happy.

Maybe i used to eat alot b4 going home cos there's nothing to eat at home n i afraid i'll have gastric pain again n now become worse (got bb worse ah) eat n eat

wendyg:
i'm in dilema.. coz my peak is annual budget in Sep-Nov. in other words, i'll be missing the peak this year since my edd is early Oct. i thought if i announce after increment in 16th week (end April), it's very late and my boss may be pissed coz it's very short notice before the budget...

bellybutton
wah, u even know the rude lady's name.. u're really champion of crabbies... *salute*

confused
keep some snacks at home lor. I bought more small portions of Maggi Mee-In-My Mug for night snack. Hot soup feels very comforting.

Ha! found my download... shiok.

belly button
no colleagues to cover your duties? 5 months short time to find replacement? (May-Sept)
Anyway whole Sept u'll still be around to help out right?
Boss pissed, but increment in your pocket liaoz.. u scared he'll make life difficult for u har?

aiyo, pray for favour & direction lah.

wendyg:
i guess the one person that can cover me is my boss herself. I oversee n coordinate the whole budget process in the region, i got staff to help me but still need a more senior person to review the numbers.
my hubby told me if they discount me due to pregnancy, then at least i know how much i'm appreciated and get ready to look for new job once bb is out.
u're rite, best solution is to pray!

your hubby is right

if your boss is lady, would she be more sympathetic, do u think? Is she a mother herself?

wendyg:
actually my boss is a nice lady, she's a mother of 2 herself. but it's her boss, the CFO, who decides our increment. the CFO is an old man, n i think he's not v understanding.
my lady boss told me she knows i'm underpaid for the work i'm doing and promised to fight for higher increment for me this April, i think will still get increment but just a matter of how much more now that the old man knows i won't leave in the next few months mah.

wah..u all really active le!! I just went to bathe my son..came bk..so long liao! hahah!!! keep it up gals!

wendy, i havent le.. been eating the lontong at FJ..I find it sooo nice.. and the prata!! how about u? anything nice there?

bellybutton, my boss knew it the moment i tested positive.. sms him. He himself is a father of 4. So he is more understanding. Sometimes I whole day surf net leh.. do no work.. haha..

i also scared late at night no food to eat.. so always will buy sth easier to cook to standby.

miso, where is FJ? prata sounds good! so good, surf net whole day at work is so shiok! actually, sometimes i also quite free but paiseh to surf whole day coz my workspace v open. my staff sits just behind me and i delegate work to her. later she knows i'm so free while she's been kept busy with work!

ok girls, think i'm logging off now. hubby back from work, asked me to accompany him watch some HK serial that he rented. c u next week and have a good weekend!

belly, FJ coffeeshop...near our plc at Punggol. I think got quite a no. of outlets..but I dunno where ah.. wah..u delegate work to staff ah? what u working as?

Mine also an open concept..but we dun care la..

bellybutton
FJ Square is a air-con kopitiam in PUNGGOL. haha.

miso
the food in 24hr Kopitiam is just food lor.. nothing exciting, not very cheap. Or maybe it's coz i got not much appetite, i just eat for the sake of filling my stomach. The chwee kuey is the famous Tiong Bahru chwee kuey. But the chye poh quite oily.
Very windy there, and they like to use disposable stuff, so potential danger of empty plate fly & u kena the oily stuff, or maybe on your ds.. haha.

walau, u bathe yr son 1hr?! U hw many wks liao ah?

Hi wendyg

The nausea has seems to go off a little bit. Thank goodness for that! It was horrible, had it bad, all day and night but could not puke. From about week 9 I am feeling less nauseas and I can drink water now and it doesn't make me wanna puke. I still feel I wanna puke each time I brush my teeth but then after its ok.

wendy..oic..i am so forgetful leh... memory low! haha.. now preggie, lagi worst!!!

no la.. bathe him 1 hr i die man! plus need to put pampers, put oil, put diaper cream, wear shirt etc.. takes time ma..and must sing to him while doing it! can imagine not? then I make milk for him to drink lor, then watch tv a bit..lidat la..

wendy, lidat I rather eat at Koufu leh..food also quite nice. Esp. the tom yam ban mian!! But I cannot stand the ikan bilis now.. hormones! hm...am gg to buy Nasi Bryani later!!!

hi nuewmumsa, me at home! today off leh.. working on alt. sat.. now is 6.10 pm, singapore time. how about u?

ok..me gg downstairs for a walk now with ds..then go buy my nasi bryani! C U later!!

SA Mom: we're at home... it's Saturday evening.
For me, sweets helped to alleviate the nausea.. try it!

miso
your house near Koufu, so u go there lah. I hv to walk 10min to reach there ley.. Haven't been there for sometime since the Kopitiam opened last month.
Miso u how many weeks liao ah?

wendyg, i initially had no craving for sweets, totally off it in the beginning, was into salty and sour things, now my appetite for sweet things have come back. i had 2 choc bars yesterday, yummy! i suck sweets when i have this horrid taste in my mouth. helps

yeah, i esp enjoy Fox sweets.

sorry, i gtg, gotto take a bath b4 going out for dinner with some friends.. hope to chat wiv u soon, & hv a lovely SA weekend!!!

Hello everyone... i didn't log in for the past 2 days and now decided to log in... didn't know you guys so active on Sat too!!

Wendy, i agree with u. Dr Kek is really nice. Actually my previous gynae was supposed to b another dr from KK cos this doc helped me to do a laproscopy in Aug. But i saw Dr Kek when i did my first pap smear and decided to go back to her. When i did my 1st ultrasound, i was quite shocked, her TV screen on top of the bed was so big compared to when i went KK. Plus i had to go to sonographer to do ultrasound when i go KK. here everything is done in her room.

wow, i didn't know so many christians here. i am attending lighthouse (woodlands). anyone from there?

All these talk about food here is making me so hungry. im just thinking what shall i eat for dinner! i had laksa yesterday too (minus the hum) just couldn't resist when i pass by heng cafe in wisma!

Just now i went to bellysima in jalan pemimpin. you guys went there b4? they have quite a good collection. now 10% off everything. i bought 2 tops and 2 pants and 1 skirt. so happy! now got clothes for new year!

wendyg - you enjoy ur dinner, chat to u soon
vivien - there aren't many of us chatting now, most ppl out to dinner. here it is almost time for lunch, still anticipating what i will make. how abt u, makan oredi?

hello newmumsa, i am still waiting for my hubby to come back. Really headache, don't know what to eat or perhaps where to eat. i very lazy to cook lah... plus i don't cook dat well also so no choice got to eat out! You going to cook lunch? wow.. do u normally eat at home?

we don't have those little coffee shops where we can just buy back. here we have places like kfc, mcdonalds, steers for takeaways, very fatty stuff. we cook at home most of the time yes. i do miss the nice food i used to have in sg. especially roti prata and hong kong noodles. i would love to be able to have that now.