(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

miso, my gynae told me tat if i feel gd after taking chicken essence, by all means take it.

vone - i think mine is similar to yours leh, at first MIL told the son that she can look after the bb but in front of me she say that no engery to look after grandchildren. i'm oso very hurt so in the end i make up my mind liao, i going to bring bb to office with me everyday. I dont want them to touch my bb liao. Worse ah, when i got married n FIL went to buy breakfast for us (we didnt ask him to buy n he juz bought it)he put coins into the food. I was very hurt n upset and had a huge quarrel with hubby cos hubby side them lor. btw, do all hubby side their family members?

Aiyo! paiseh to vent my anger here. let go back to our bb topic.

Oso i hear that its not advisable to drink herbal soup during the 1st 3 mths cos our bb cant be over bu3. After 3rd mth/ stable then can drink.

Hi miso

ya my parent knew that i'm pregnant n they very happy cos it's their 1st grandchild. I think drink chicken essence no problem. My mum bought some for me to drink.

confused, how come u can bring ur bb 2 ofc?? wat kind of job r u doing?? 4 me, since no1 is going 2 look after my bb, hb & i plan 2 get a maid. tat's is d best & 'cheapest' solution. btw, out of curiousity, y did ur fil put coins in2 d food. seems no logic 2 me leh. luckily 4 me, my hb side wif me coz he noes his parents' 'patterns'.

no worries abt venting ur anger lah, we r all here 2 share.

ok..thanks gals..i shall consume chicken essence with ease.. haha..

aiyo..confused, by all means vent ur anger here..we are all here to listen k. but ur pil...how come so bad ah???? and how to bring bb to office??

Hi hoshi/miso, the first trimester testing is done when you are btw 11 to 14 weeks. It's actually to test for any symptoms of downs syndrome. I think they will measure the fluid collection behind the foetus neck or something. This site kind of explain it http://www.thomsonmedical.com/11-14wk.htm
I think the gynae say this is very safe.

Thanks erowen, i will check out perfect mum.

miso, u can drink chicken essence by all means. For the 1st 3 months, bb doesn't absorb anything tat we eat coz it's still a 'ball of cells'.. hehe.. only from 3rd months onwards when it has developed the placenta, then watever we eat will be absorbed by the bb.

confused, i'm carrying the 1st grandchild for both side of my family. also, PIL have been harping and hinting for us to get a bb soon coz they feel v envious when they saw their peers carrying grandkids already...

Thanks. My boss very understanding. i thought of asking my mother to look after the baby for me if hubby unhappy then i bring to office lor. Aiyo! my hubby always side them (my PIL really know how to act n hubby very soft hearted so alway give in) He told me that he's a cheese burger. If he side me, MIL will be mad like hell (even though they are in the wrong, they wont admit, they always want to win) I dont dont know y they treat me this way leh (maybe jealous lor)O! ya i have a SIL staying with us n she always talk bad abt people/me. *sigh* sometime think of it quite regret marrying into this kind of family. I only married last oct and so many problem liao. Yalor! cant understand y he put coins in the the food. Becos of the these i didnt eat the whole day, and now i got serious gastric liao. And if i dont eat on time, my gastric will come back.

hoshi5- really ah, now whatever food we eat, bb wont absorb all? i ate a lot of spicy, oily n junk food these few weeks n so guilty.

confused, asking ur mum 2 look after could b another alternative. if ur hb is unhappy, then ask him 2 source 4 alternative arrangements.
tell ur hb tat u dun not wan him 2 side wif any1, jus listen 2 d facts & let him decide who's rite or wrong. it's fairer tis way. it cld b tat they still tink tat ur hb is a small kid & u r another party 2 share his affections wif them. tat's y they act in tat way. some pils cld b like tat. mine sometimes do tat aso. as 4 ur sil, jus ignore her. ppl like her can nvr b happi, so y make urself unhappi coz of her. aiyo, u better take care okie. jus eat when it's time. if thr's no 'edible' food, then go & tapao urself okie.

i noe wat i say above cld b stuff which u had hear a million times oledi. in addition, it cld b diffcult 4 u 2 do. but i hv come 2 tis conclusion partly due 2 my own experience, it's ourselves who make ourselves unhappi. if we bochup, a lot of ppl can't hurt us.

yup confused, tat's what my gynae told me... he say now take tonics also no use for the bb, rather they will be absorbed by us. If want to build up ur health, now is the time. After the 3 months, it will be building up ur bb.

ya, actually some PIL still treat their son like a kid. v hard to change one. ya lor, can ask ur mom whether can help u out.... our own parents still the best right?...

hi ladies, i find that after taking some ice water (plain) after a while, the funny taste in mouth & throat is not so strong. maybe you can try if feeling nausea... Also when i feel bloated i'll go toilet to massage my stomach (using my palm). after that can burp out more air and will feel better for a while at least.. .

haha...earlier seeing the posts on Rotiboy...I went to buy during lunch..and just had it..yum yum!

Had Muthu's Curry for lunch..so ex...$6!

cakey, i find tat taking lukewarm water helps 4 me. anyway, tks 4 d tips.

miso, wah... so nice. really envy ur appetite at times.
i had sour & hot jap noodles 4 lunch jus now, but cannot finished. oni managed 2 eat all d veggies & d chicken.

got a question to ask.
if antenal package only offers 2 detailed scan at 20th week and 32th week (for growth), do you guys normally request for additional scans eg to test for other abnormality? what are the detailed scans available and what are they for? also, read somewhere about triple test and oscar test. what are they?

Good evening gals!

Thanks for all the advices!! will try bit by bit!

I had a nauses and greedy stomach today.. so shag... i found that i no longer like water leh... yucks..

I took ceral drinks, bicuits and tou hau today.. works quite well leh..

wah miso, muthu curry!!... yum yum... but i find it quite ex leh... tat time only 5 of us eat, order one curry fish, some veggies and it's >$100 liao..

Now me like cheesy stuff... yummy... stomach growling liao.... !

miso - hee! u really enjoy your lunch yeah! me too have 2 roti prata n chicken rice for lunch.

bye gals
i'm going back liao. chat again tomoro.

Just wish I could post here during the day. I only get time at night and then you all are fast asleep! Are any of you available on weekends? would love to chat more with you.

vone
Thx for the info abt the mozzies.

erowen
I also heard about mayo, it's the raw egg in it. Also we cannot take feta cheese, camembert cheese or all those soft cheeses as it has certain fungus in them which is not good for the bb. Cheese like cheddar and gouda are fine tho.

When I told my PIL I was pregnant the first thing my FIL said that I must not drink cold drinks or take anything cooling. In western countries like mine, we have no such thing and our kids are absolutely fine. What's this all about and what are the reasons for it?

Anybody got stretchmark cream yet? I heard the Clarins body oil is good. Anybody know of people who have used it? Were the results good? Stretch marks are partly hereditory and both my sis and mom have bad stretch marks. I dun want to look like they do.

I remember when I was in SG, everyone was getting prepared for CNY. Would have been so nice for me and hb to be there now as we are both roosters and this coming lunar year is the rooster. Figure that, soon 3 roosters in the house.

Take care everone.

Just wish I could post here during the day. I only get time at night and then you all are fast asleep! Are any of you available on weekends? would love to chat more with you.

vone
Thx for the info abt the mozzies.

erowen
I also heard about mayo, it's the raw egg in it. Also we cannot take feta cheese, camembert cheese or all those soft cheeses as it has certain fungus in them which is not good for the bb. Cheese like cheddar and gouda are fine tho.

When I told my PIL I was pregnant the first thing my FIL said that I must not drink cold drinks or take anything cooling. In western countries like mine, we have no such thing and our kids are absolutely fine. What's this all about and what are the reasons for it?

Anybody got stretchmark cream yet? I heard the Clarins body oil is good. Anybody know of people who have used it? Were the results good? Stretch marks are partly hereditory and both my sis and mom have bad stretch marks. I dun want to look like they do.

I remember when I was in SG, everyone was getting prepared for CNY. Would have been so nice for me and hb to be there now as we are both roosters and this coming lunar year is the rooster. Figure that, soon 3 roosters in the house.

Take care everyone.

good morning ladies. It's thursday, Tomo will be friday. Yippee!

newmusa, you login so late, haven't sleep yet at 2am?

confusedgal and ixwong, i also wear saddles in office. keke, cos a lot of my colleagues does that.

Confusedgal, ya give and take lor...esp now you are preggie, talk to yr bb when you feel frustrated. For me, my MIL doesn't know yet, cos my hubby knows his mum a bit like broadcaster, so don't too many people to know first, during CNY (i will reach 12 weeks by then), he will break the news to his parents, i let my hubby decide. For my side, once i know the news, i quickly let my mum know. keke

right now most important is to stay happy, we are here for you.

btw how often do you gals drink chicken essence? twice a week or daily?

yesterday i went Spring @ suntec and bought 3 tops and one jean, very comfy, then went it's next door Desiree and bought another 2 top. Wah, i cannot spend anymore liao. Vey X, but at least CNY got some clothes to wear. Btw the staff at Spring really very nice and their tops are pretty hip. Can go and take a look. The tops cost about $49 - $59, while the 3/4 jeans i bought is $65.

Hi guys

sorry.. 2 days never come in forum.. largi bz.

for me, i take essence of chicken at least twice a week and a bottle birdnest once a week..i feel my energy very low.

ask u all.. can we dye our hair.. feel like cutting my shoulder length to some hip short hair and dye it...

Nowadays, I take ginseng chicken about once a fortnight cos my mum says later after 4th month cannot eat ginseng liao as body will be heaty.

Tulip,
I think there is no sufficient evidence to say dyeing our hair would affect bb, but most people I spoke to told me to wait till 2nd trimester when bb is less susceptible to external factors. That's why I'm still waiting. After CNY, I would be in 2nd trimester liao!

Morning!!
I drink chicken essence abt 2-3 times per week. ya, energy really low, but after drinking, much better, though a while only... hehe...

tulip, i also tot of dying my hair, esp CNY coming. But read from some other threads tat it's not advisable. we also cannot paint our fingernails/toenails coz of the smell.... unless we go mani/pedi lor...

morning ladies..*yawning*

so tired..ytd went to chinatown..so crowded..I tried the famous porridge there.. yum yum!

gals, i also feel like rebonding my hair leh...but i think will wait till after cny lor.. just past 1st tri and now must be pretty ex due to cny coming..

hi newmumsa,

most of us chat during weekdays.. these few weekends may be a bit busy cos of CNY period. But some of us also log on from home during the weekend.

about cooling stuff, well, i believe it's all about moderation. the idea is that such foods can cause contractions to the womb. like when u take cold drinks during ur period, u feel the cramps more intensely right? that's my own intepretation lah.. but chinese always have the yin-yang balance thing.. during initial stage we are more yin, so need more yang to restore the balance..

Hello newmumsa

i'm working on sat till 5pm. If u free then we can chat lor
oh yeah! my sis friend recommend me stretch mark cream called Plamer Coco butter ... (can get it at guardian pharmacy) i havent try the clarine stretch mark cream leh, only tried their mask, scrub n cleanser b4 n find it gd. I think the stretch mark cream should be gd as well

Hi erowen

okie, yesterday nite i siang3 tong1 liao. i going to bochup everything then perhaps my life will be much better. yalor, time flies, today thursday liao. i drink chicken essence only once a week cos i dont like it.

morning ladies, ya, me aso waiting 4 fri...
can't wait 4 d wkend so tat i can sleep.

newmumsa, u r welcome.
i m available during d wkends, will try 2 log in & talk 2 u.

erowen, i m drinking chicken essence & bird nest once a week now.

tulip, heard tat we can't dye our hair when we r preggy coz of d chemicals. 4 me, 2 b safe, i dun intend 2 dye, oni cut my hair 4 cny.

ixwong, d ginseng chicken which u r drinking is d soup type rite?? hb was tinking of making it 4 me, but i m not sure whether i can drink now or not.

hoshi5, ya, i aso hear tat d fumes fr d nail polish is no gd 4 us. even if we do mani/pedi, must make sure tat d plc is well ventilated 2.

confused, glad u managed to think through. be a happy mom-to-be ya?! wat r u working as? why sat still need to work until so late?....
will try to get the clarin stretchmark cream soon. very scary to see the stomach expanding so fast.
Now when I look down, still can see my feet... hehe.. next time stomach will be too big, cannot see my feet liao.... haha...

erowen, is spring@ suntec, the one at the highest floor one?... there's lots of maternity clothes one is it?... I'm looking for a pair of jeans coz friday is our company 'dress-down' lor... can't fit into my jeans liao.... any idea where else can i get a pair of decent-looking jeans?...

Hi hoshi5

i got my hipster jeans from staceyheidi at katong mall.. i think abt $69ish.. they also have other types of hipster. the shop is located beside basic beauty

i think we can start boiling the red dates soup.. can add longan or jiujizhi (red seeds) to boil.. then drink throughout the day... supplement our iron.
i got a book on pregnancy food.. written by this lady writer.. if any of you want, can zap the book and mail to you all (but must pay me paper and stamp lah). PM me

Not sure if any of you have heard of this website - http://www.bellysima.com
I find their clothes quite nice. You can make purchases online and they deliver to you with a charge or you can visit their showroom. They don't open everyday but i called them just now and they are open this Sat, 2pm to 5pm only! I am thinking of popping by... Need to get some tops! They are located in 40 Jalan Pemimpin, #04-10C Tat Ann Building.

hi girls

I have a few bad news... :eek:(

1st bad news: My maternal grandmother passed away on Tuesday and I couldn't attend her wake/funeral. As CNY is approaching, they held a short wake (3 days) for her even though she is in her 90s. Today is her cremation but I couldn't attend. At the same time, my husband can't attend the cremation as he is busy at work. But I feel that he should be my representative and attend the cremation on my behalf afterall my grandmother now is his grandmother.

2nd bad news: My company told me on Tuesday that they are going to convert me to part-time (reduce my working hours and salary to half) as the company is not making money and having difficulty surviving. It is true as our part-time marketing consultant left the company on Tuesday liao. I work for a very small company in Australia which has a 2-man Singapore office. Right now, I am trying to negotiate new terms and conditions with them which may or may not include maternity leave.

With the baby coming, my salary being reduced to half will definitely put us in a difficult situation. For the past 2 days, I've had a very bad thought, if there's no baby, then I can attend my grandmother funeral and look for a full-time job. Now I can't do that and it seems like the baby is a burden to me.

Hi tulip,
I'm interested in your pregnancy food. can trouble you to zap and mail me? let me know the cost.. thanks. I try to PM you but it says you don't accept PM leh...

hi angel,
oh it's sad to hear this.. at this moment we may not able to feel the joy of having a bb yet but from what i heard from other parents they never regret having the kid. Also your grandma won't blame for this... I guess we can only be strong and face the challanges ahead.. Pray for you that your new terms on your job would turn out ok..

Hi cakey

paiseh.. my email is [email protected]

the book is by a lady writer called Ng Siong Mui.
i esp like her beef stew.. yum.. maybe make this sunday. in her book, she explain which trimester shld take what as the bb develop certain organs at which trimester.

morning girls,
hope everyone is doing great today!

just a question here, can we take bird nest during our first trimester? or "pao sheng", a kind of ginseng.

Someone was talking about Mayo or salad dressing right? i think its perfectly alright, as long as u are not eating a whole jar :p

tulip,
i think dye hair, depending on yourself, i am worried about the smell of the chemical, therefore i went for treatment only and hair cut. I guess should avoid strong smelling chemical during the initial stage as the child brain is developing.

erowen,
yes, its thursday! and i cannot wait til the clock strike 6pm tommorow! so dragging.......
Is the clothes at Spring cheaper than Perfect Mom? Or comparable? i have not been to both, would like to visit them, my bottom really cannot fit anymore.....i am wearing skirts or dress to work now.

hi angel, so sorrie to hear the sad news.. i understd coz when my grandma passed away, tho i attended her funeral, i didn't get to see her for the last time.. but deep in my heart, i know she lives forever in my heart, and will always be my dearest granny..so tho you feel v bad abt it, juz rem tt she will always be in yr heart, okie? she'll oso be comforted to know tt u care for her so much, and dun wan u to be sad..
hope tt u'll be strong & brave the obstacles ahead of u. tho there'll be adjustments to make for yr job, but thankfully, they still keep u as a part-timer (at least got some income). take tis time to rest well for yr pregnancy..

Aiyo! so many posting liao ah. Juz now very busy. Paiseh!

hoshi5 - i'm doing sales, accounting n kopi lady. ya, i used to it liao (working on sat) how abt u?

erowen - thanks for the recommendation. ya! maybe one day got to go shopping liao. most of my clothes cant wear liao

Dear angel, i'm so sorry to hear that. Pls take care. My condolences to you abt yr grandma.
Don't dwell on it too much ya....I'm sure she will not want you to worry and be sad.

confusedgal, glad you siang tong le. You can always share with us, to relief the burden, you will definitely feel better.
Ya, rennie and confusedgal, i quite like Spring maternity, esp the 3/4 jean i bought, very comfy, i can't fit into my normal jeans now, very tight around my waist and uncomfortable when i sit down.

Variety wise i find their shop has more designs and more colourful. Rennie, i also wearing skirts to work now, my pant-waist line cannot fit.

vone, you boil the bird nest or consume those in bottle one?
I don't know why, i have strong craving for birdnes and abalone recently!!

Hi angel

Really sad n sorry to hear that. I agree with cakey. Try not to think too much yeah cos having a bb is really wonderful. Maybe at this moment, see what the company can offer if not u can start looking for a new job. Dont stress yourself yeah.

hi erowen,
i think i got to really go down and get some bottoms. My wardrobe are reallly boring now...

Talking about bird nest, my MIL was telling me it should be boiled type? I had no such craving for bird nest or abalone, but for coke! i had not taken a sip of coke since i am pregnant! Yesterday went down to get 2 cans of coke, intend to take one soon...maybe during reunion dinner

hi erowen, can i ask if the 3/4 jeans is the type with the 'stretchable' front or the low waist/hip type? juz wondering if we can still wear them after that coz quite ex lah..?