(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

hi guys.. very bz today
welcome all new comers!

hi cakey, ya.. the prune is good.. i make sure i take at least 5 a day. i think ginger tea is heaty right? that is why u constipate

Hi, welcome here Vivien. Is this ur first pregnancy?

wrt fish oil, think some gynaes will give as prenatal vits for 2nd tri onwards, if not the first. So maybe can chk with gynae before buying?

hoshi5 ... sure whats your email address? send you the link ...

haven't decide which hosptial yet cos still got 7 more months mar ... how I wish tom can give birth hahahaha ... cos can't stand all the bloatedness n the nursea feeling ... today on MC AGAIN ... cos cannot tahan when i woke up this morning ... but since its the norm ... guess have to bear with it liao ...

miso>> so lucky .. you still can take these yummy food ... when I take food that are slightly oily ... wan puke ... diff ppl ... diff reaction ... envy

Thanks miso... Yes this is my first pregnancy. Now about 2 months. Feeling very bloated and craving for salty stuff. Do you gals drink milk during your pregnancy? Cos I am lactose intolerant so not sure if it's ok to skip milk.

hi viven,
milk's for calcium so u can take calcium supplement instead. or try soy milk?

hi cafe, i hope the talk went well and u're cheerier today *-*

Hi seabreeze, me also cannot tahan oily food nowadays.. so i had food and specifically ask them not to add in oil or the fried shallots.

Hi vivien, you can tell ur gynae about ur lactose intolerant state and he may prescribe calcium tablets for u instead. Or drink milk which are low in lactose. Now I am drinking Nutrisoy Reduced Sugar milk. hehe.. gg to buy Anmum soon.

one question to ask: we take folic acid n other supplements every morning... if we throw up later in the morning, shld we retake the supplements?

Hi seabreeze,
my email add is [email protected]
Henry Cheng recommended me to go to Mt A coz he said more convenient and A&E dept is better than gleneagles.
When is ur next appt?... mine is on 11Feb, CNY 3rd day. Can't wait to see him coz will be 3 months liao...
Initially no nauseous feeling.. now start to feel more MS.... jia lat...

Hi Christina,
Thanx! I am now taking calcium supplements but thought its necessary to take milk as well. Am trying soy milk but now not really enjoying the taste...

Hi Miso,
I actually told my gynae and she gave me calcium tabs which I am taking now. My mum kept insisting that i have to drink Anmum but I found out from the website that its low in lactose which means it still contains lactose so not sure whether to try. Very xian...

hi Vivien,
i think its not necessary to take milk if you cannot, my gynae says our baby absortion of calcium can be from the food we take also. I cannot drink milk nor milk powder, i tried to take some soya bean milk if possible.

chemistry, let's hope so. will wait & c wat happens. tks 4 d consolation.

a veri big welcome 2 all newcomers.

am on mc 2day as i dun feel 2 gd. got veri bad stomach cramps last nite, so cannot sleep. got me pretty worried 4 a while. luckily now it's better. sigh... seems like tis pregnancy is not easy 4 me. really hope tat my 2nd tri wld arrive soon.

Hi vivien, maybe can ask ur gynae for a sample pack of Anmum or Enfamama to try? Some clinics give out samples. No harm asking. But since u oredi got the calcium pills, I think should be sufficient and like what reenie says..we had our calcium from the foods we take too.

Vone, take care ya. Do have lotsa rest if you feel tired.

hi vivien, i bought annum. if u stay near punggol i can scoop some for you to try...
I'm also given a sample can (quite big actually) of enfamum by my gynae... will try that after i finish annum...

miso, yah, i think better not risk overdose... but if we need daily dosage of folic acid dunno whether we have enough for that day...

this thread is moving very fast...
Anyone of you know ur bb gender already??? I am excited to know mine....hopefully my next appointment I will be able to see....by then I will be in my 17 weeks liao..

hi angel..please update my chart..Am into 12th week today!

have been so long since i logged on, so much has happened.

Have a good evening all

ting2
wah, Dr Chen give sample TIN of enfamama?! I only got sample BOXES... 3 servings only. Gave away 1 box to my preggie fren.

I got 3 other preggie frens due Aug/Sept..

stretch mark cream... up to u whether to apply or not. 1 thinking is that it's hereditary, so if your mum/sis has it, no matter what u apply, will also get. For me, I follow my sis advise & have been applying 1-2 months ago, even though i was losing weight then. Coz my skin very dry & itchy & rashes due to hormones. My gynae see me so poor thing, she dispensed a $28 tube to be. I like it very much - Topicream from France. Dunno if available commercially. Before that i was using Cocoa Butter Stick from Body Shop, recommended by my sis who used it for her 1st pregnancy & swore by it.

as for what to eat & what not to eat... sigh, just eat lah... eat, drink & be merry, o'wise baby will be born drooling... heh heh.. i still like this old wives tale.

Pls go read this website about whether to eat tuna... http://www.fitpregnancy.com/pregnancy/62
Conflicting information about the safety of fish, especially regarding mercury, can leave pregnant women reeling. Here are the answers you've been waiting for.

and this site for more food info
http://www.fitpregnancy.com/pregnancy/53
Before you were pregnant, you probably didn't think twice about enjoying a tuna-fish sandwich, a salad sprinkled with blue cheese or a glass of red wine. After all, tuna is brimming with protein, blue cheese contains bone-building calcium, and red wine in moderation can benefit your heart. But now that you're expecting, these foods could pose a health risk to you and your growing baby, which is why it's important to know exactly which foods and beverages you should avoid. These important food facts will help you make safe choices.

aiyo, dun let the old wives tales dictate our diet lah, it's not so mysterious, just check the internet!! btw, nowhere on these ang moh websites do i see that pineapple is bad for preggies.
And carrots do not retard baby's brain development!! Vitamin A in beta carotene form is OK...
http://www.californianatural.net/html/References/vitapreg.htm
Avoid more than 10,000 IU Vitamin A during pregnancy; beta-Carotene cannot cause overdose!

vivien, here's smthg just for u...
Q: I hate milk, but I know I need calcium. What are some other sources to get the 1,000 milligrams I need daily?
A: "Try calcium-fortified orange juice or soy milk fortified with calcium and vitamin D," says Johanna Dwyer, D.Sc., R.D., a professor at the Friedman School of Nutrition Science and Policy at Tufts University in Boston. Other good sources of calcium include bok choy, white beans, canned salmon with bones, hard cheeses, yogurt and fortified oatmeal, such as Quaker Instant Oatmeal Nutrition for Women.

who was the puking one, is it seabreeze?
Q: I'm excited about being pregnant, but I've got morning sickness all day, every day and greasy foods make me feel worse. Is there anything I can eat to alleviate the nausea?
A: "Morning sickness is a universal problem without a universal answer," says Miriam Erick, M.S., R.D., senior perinatal dietitian at Brigham and Women's Hospital in Boston and author of Managing Morning Sickness (Bull Publishing, 2004). "One food does not fit all." What alleviates one woman's nausea may not help you. That said, ginger and citrus fruits help many women, as do dry, salty foods, such as crackers and pretzels. Starchy foods, such as rice and potatoes, may also help; you can boost their nutrient content by folding in vegetables and chicken.

ladies, i think it's time that we move out of the dark ages & enlighten ourselves on facts regarding pregnancy, diet, exercise etc...

I hv been for my check up today wif another gynae. The scan still cant detect my bb
. Anyway i hv decided to "wash" either end of this week or early next week. Hv done total 3 scanning already but juz can see the gestation sac that identified as 9 wks.

Dont worry, I m fine & not really upset as i always believe if this bb not meant for my family, then be it. I was surprised, my hb is the one very very upset abt it. I keep consoling him tat we can try again 3 mths later

Angel, pls remove my name for your list, tks!!

The rest of you, enjoy & hv a safe pregnancy

cafe, do take care of urself. build up ur health first is more important ok?...

wah wendyg, u did a lot of research leh.... thx for the info.

Hi love, since u will be the '1st' mum to deliver in our thread... can u try to see the chart that i previously put up on the bb's gender and see how accurate it is?.... hehe.. then we all will more or less can 'predict' our bb's gender... hehe.. In case u can't find the chart, i'm attaching it again..

mime_msword.gif

CHOICEOF.doc (45.1 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Hi reenie, i am trying to take soy milk now. Don't really like it but guess i have to try somehow...

Tingting, thanks! So nice of you, but too bad i stay in Bishan... maybe i will try asking my gynae for a sample when i next visit her.

Wendy, thanks for the info! Guess i better read up more..

Hi cafe,

So sorry to hear that. Please take care.

Hi wendyg,

Thanks for the info. I was also reading another website www.babycenter.com If u sign up, they will also mail u weekly newsletter to update u the progress of bb in your womb. Quite a lot of FAQ there for pregnancy too.

hi Cafe,
Ya, good to kan4 kai1 if it really doesn't work. Maybe this time it's not healthy enuff for it grow full term. Wish you all the best in your next try

good morning ladies, juz didn't log on for one day, the thread is already moving that fast.

Cafe, sad to hear that from you, BUT we are proud of you!! cos you are very brave!!!

Welcome to all newcomers!!!

Ytd was on mc again, remember was telling you gals b4 that i'm suffering from severe backache!!! this few days the pain is back !! ytd was lying down for the whole day!!! sigh

Hi Cafe

Pl take care.

for the rest, do u get a slight pain in the butt? i had problems walking. i had the same sympton for my 1st bb

miso, tks 4 ur concern.

love, i dun noe d sex of my bb yet as i m oni in my 10 wks. so excited 4 u, do let us noe wat's d sex okie.

wendyg, u aso got dry &amp; itchy skin ah?? i thot tat i m d oni 1 who got tis prob. tink i wld buy d cocoa butter stick &amp; c how it goes. btw, tks 4 all d info.

cafe, i m so sorry 2 hear of tat. u take good care of yourself okie.

hi tulip, me too...got pain in the upper butt.

Hi wendy and vone, i also got v. dry skin leh...always put on a lot of moisturiser.

Ytd I bot some maternity clothings from Perfect Mum at The Arcade. Very satisfied with it. So surprised that one of the top tt I am wearing is XS size..haha..

Cafe,
please take care, u are really a brave lady! And i'm sure you will be bless with another baby soon.

How's the morning going for you all? I think i am getting more and more restless these days! I have to drag myself out of bed, take breakfast then rest for awhile, took a cab to work. Must be the waking up during night time that prevent me from getting rest or could it be pregnancy?

tks for your concern. i hv juz cfm my "washing" schedule wif the gynae on this sat. I will nurse my health first &amp; hence will b taking a break on TTC for at least 3 months &amp; will try again after that. I m fine as i tot maybe i had my mum's gene, she also miscarriage her first pregnany (my eldest brother) &amp; subsequently 2 years later she conceive my sister, brother &amp; followed by me

anyway b4 my "washing" carried out this sat, my gynae will scan 1 last time for me prior to the washing. both me &amp; hb already talked to the bb tat sat will b the last chance, if he/she does show up, then we will keep the bb else, we will go ahead wif the "washing".

hi reenie, i aso hv d same prob as u, cannot sleep well at nite, so always dun feel like going 2 wk.
tink it cld b due 2 ur waking up at nite.

hi cafe, although it seems final, but will still pray for a miracle on sat.. wld you want to seek 2nd opinion before that?

hi reenie, vone, i'm also beginning to wake up at night.. n feeling super tired n lazy to get up the next morning...

hi vone and tingting,
i keep waking up to visit toliet, even though water intake is little, near dawn, like 4 to 6plus, could be 3 times! precious hours to sleep. Sometimes i wish i don't have to come in to work at all. And doubt anyone in office could understand when they see you looking pale and tired.

Even my make-up and dress sense is gone
i wonder it will get better after 1st trimester.

hi reenie, vone, tingting,
glad to know that this is actually quite common afterall. i am also waking up around 4 plus to 6, having to empty my bowels so i try not to drink so much water b4 i sleep but doesn't seem to help!

hi Vivien,
yes, totally agree. It doesn't help at all! And i simply pull myself out of bed to go toliet. I think this will continue throughout, cos' the baby weight will further press onto our bladder.

reenie, my makup is now kept to d bare min as i cldn't b bothered oledi.
as 4 dress sense, it's ltd 2 d few outfits which i can fit in2 rite now.

I also pull myself out in the middle of the night to go toilet... I can't even remember the time coz so groggy... after tat need to lie in the bed for quite some time before can sleep again...

Really it's a chore coming to work... luckily still can chat with u gals, otherwise really jia lat man!.... hehe..

morning everyone.

dear cafe
take good care of yrself..so sorry to hear that. You are such a strong lady!

welcome all the newbies!

vone and lib, u gals still on mc at home? take gd care ya. take a lot of rest. Yesterday i was very busy at work, walked here and there and ran a bit, was so tired when i went home. Today i took off from work to rest.

for me i slept thro the night.. i reach home abt 8pm yesterday already half dead. my daughter fell asleep in the car.. after i showered, both of us just lie dead on bed until abt 1130 when she cried for milk. then i passed to my MIL.. then at night i nightmare.. i dream my gal fell off the bed.. i even jumped out of bed.. stress...

these days, on the way on work, i sleep in the car...

jill...take gd care of yrself also. 'hugz'
keep the faith and we are here for you. As long as the bleeding has stopped, chances are positive.

These days I even put min lipstick. Cos partly i dislike the smell and taste now and partly I keep eating all day long (even in office) so quite diff to keep up with applying new layer of lipstick hehe... So i look even more pale now..

hoshi5, ya i totally agree wif u. sometimes, i m so tired tat i feel like sleeping in ofc. luckily can still talk 2 u gals 2 'wake' me up.

erowen, tks 4 ur concern.
i m back 2 wk oledi. been taking a lot of mc since i m pregnant. tink my co is not 2 happy wif me oledi. sigh...

Cafe, sorry to hear tat. But did yr 1st gynae say the same thing? I just feel it's too hasty to cfm like this. We will just pray to see otherwise during yr last scan. Take care!

Miso, i love the clothes in Perfect Mum but think a bit ex thou it is still consider cheap compares to the high ends one. I spent $250 there. Their pants cut is very nice. But don think i can ever fit into XS

Hi Vone, not only you, me 2.. i find myself has been slacken since pregnant. And this morning my Managing Director has asked me to tender my resignation by today.

However, my immediate superior is my boss so I am still awaiting for him to tell him directly. sigh.. anyone out there know about maternity rights?

vone,
me too, only wearing that few skirts or dresses...other clothes cannot really fit into my waist! i am only 8week and i can sense the difference. I was having upset stomach for 2 days, yet i dare not take MC to rest, work is alot...and like you said, i wonder how my boss will react, since he doesn't know my pregnancy yet.

Hoshi, i totally agree with you. if not cooming into forum occasionally to chat, i would be so miserable.

How's lunch? i had a asparagus cream soup with a chicken mayo sandwich, kind of healthy and tasty too, once awhile i like sandwich and soup for lunch.

Hi Lib
How could your MD say that to you? Oh my god....reallly, i don't know what to say, one hand our singapore govern. has been asking woman to give birth, on the other hand, company do not know some pregnancy could be super tough and comprehend our situation.

I think its not fair to erase our previous hard work just because of these few months of performaance, furthermore its beyond our control.

You should talk to your boss and if not, go to MOM for help.

cafe, sorry to hear bout wat happened, but still keep an open mind for this sat. if need to, u can visit the support grp-m/c thread, i believe u can get gd support n advise fr e ladies there. take care.

ladies, i visited my gynae yesterday, i'm at 7wks now, edd on 15 sep. visiting gynae next week again, hope everything progress well.
like most of u, i also hv disturbed sleep especially in the nite, but if i took afternoon nap, its better.

lib, i m so sorri 2 hear tat. hv u talked 2 ur boss abt tis yet?? try talking 2 him/her, mayb it can help??

reenie, some of my colleagues noe tat i m pregnant, tink some of them dun really mind if i take mc, but on d other hand, u nvr really noe. i try 2 cut down but sometimes, i feel so tired. sigh... now waiting 4 my 2nd tri, hopefully my health can improve.

Lib, ur MD so mean!!.. how could he say tat?!... if die die u have no choice, remember to ask the company to pay u back $x-months of pay to compensate u!... dun leave empty-handed.

reenie, hehe.. I can only fit into my skirts. Nowadays I always wear a jacket over my top. Can hide the stomach, and also, if skirt too tight, can unzip a little and no one can see... haha..

miso, where is perfect mom?... I'm looking for working pants. so far went to plaza sing to see... but so expensive... not worth it lor...