(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Hi nyny, this is for u.

Vegetarian Diet in Pregnancy

by Elisa Ross, MD
reviewed and revised by Marjorie Greenfield, M.D.
Pregnancy is a time when discussions about healthful eating abound. Many mothers-to-be wonder whether they are making the best nutrition choices for themselves and their developing babies. The good news is that most babies can make do with what they're given and grow well in many kinds of nutritional environments.

The fact is, babies are nutrition magnets: They extract and absorb the things they need, even if it means taking it from their mother, who also needs it. To illustrate this, you have only to look at how well most babies develop in the first months of pregnancy, when nausea can keep many mothers-to-be from keeping down all the food you'd think they and the baby need to be healthy.

That said, it's still wise to take in enough nutrition for both of you. Counting calories and grams of protein can be tedious and overwhelming, but for those who like guidelines, there are numerous books (with recipes!) on the subject. The general rule is 2,400 calories a day, including 60 grams of protein.

Benefits of dairy products
Milk and dairy products are great sources of calcium, and so it's not unusual for dairy-free eaters to have inadequate calcium in their diets. If you're pregnant, you need 1,500 milligrams of calcium a day so that you don't lose bone mass as you provide calcium to your growing baby.

Meatless eating
Vegetarians who eat milk products and eggs should have very little trouble getting all the necessary nutrients. One possible exception is iron, which is needed to build blood in both mother and baby. Iron is found in meat to a much greater degree than in other foods; however, some good non-meat sources include spinach, beans, peas, nuts, and molasses. Cooking in iron pots is a painless way to add iron to vegetables. But it's almost impossible to get all the needed iron from vegetable sources. Because of this, most vegetarian mothers-to-be need to take an iron supplement.

The vegan or milk-free diet and pregnancy
Vegetarians who do not eat eggs or milk products (vegans) need to be specifically mindful to get enough protein, usually from tofu or beans. In American society, non-meat, nondairy sources of protein are not found on every street corner or in every cafeteria. Without good planning, the vegan diet can become based largely on carbohydrates without prior planning.

The seasoned vegan is probably aware that traditional Asian cuisines offer a lot of good protein choices, and she's likely to know where she can buy them. Newer vegetarians can glean ideas, and some high-protein vegan food, from their local organic food markets.

Vegans also need to make sure to get enough of vitamins B2 and B12. The protein-building amino acid methionine also may be deficient in an all-vegetable diet. These three things are particularly important for the developing baby, so if you're a vegan, it's a good idea to take vitamins and supplements to insure that your baby gets adequate amounts of them, during both pregnancy and breastfeeding.

Vegetarians who do not consume milk products may find it difficult to keep up with the calcium requirements of pregnancy, which call for 1,500 milligrams a day. Calcium-enriched soy beverages can be helpful, and broccoli is a good source, too, but most people don't have a big enough appetite for either to get all the calcium they need. (For example, to hit the 1,500 mg mark, you'd have to eat five tightly packed cups of broccoli--a tall order for many of us!) In such cases, a supplement is needed.

Are vitamin and mineral supplements natural?
Although a pill looks like the ultimate in processed food, the ingredients in vitamins and supplements typically come from natural sources. If a vitamin is marked kosher, it usually won't contain animal products, often indicated with a "U" in the middle of a circle. If a "D" is near the kosher symbol, the product has dairy products in it.

Keep in mind that the name of some supplements--especially multivitamins--can be vague or misleading, so always read the labels to be sure that the product you're considering contains the necessary levels of recommended nutrients. For example, you may think a product labeled as a "prenatal multivitamin" insures that you'll get adequate amounts of all the vitamins and minerals needed in pregnancy, but you may still require additional iron and calcium supplements.

Should I become a vegetarian during pregnancy?
Many women use the time of pregnancy to reevaluate their lifestyle and make it more healthful. Certainly, there are excellent health arguments for eating vegetarian. Yet no studies have shown that the health of unborn babies is affected one way or the other by the presence or absence of meat in the diet.

Should you decide to eliminate meat from your diet, careful planning is needed until finding nutritious, well-balanced meat substitutes becomes second nature. Being a vegetarian should not be an excuse for eating a restricted diet that lacks in crucial nutrients.

The bottom line
You can have a healthy baby under a variety of circumstances. There's no compelling reason to start eating meat during pregnancy and, conversely, no pregnancy-related reason to become a vegetarian. A decision like this should be made in the context of your personal beliefs and priorities, not just now but for the years to come. Focus on a nutritious diet and you can't go wrong. Bon appetit!

Hi Maltbibi, U know where is The Florida? Diagonally opp. there is a church..the coffeeshop is just opp. the church..hahah...i know it's a bit confusing..I will try to get the address and let u know k.

Hi hoshi, mine is also a male gynae..yea..also heard male gynae more gentle cos they dunno the kinda pain we experience. haha..

Hi wendyg, is good for you to eat more now, but don't overeat hor.. My colleague also says that nowdays i keep looking for something to munch, and complaining that i'm hungry.. I always munch & munch, but pls don't imagine i'm like a piggy, hehe.

Hi Vone, tell your hb this is the best time to have tummy!! and when your tummy gets bigger, hmm he should be jealous of you, cos you can feel your bb movements, but he can't!! ^_^

Miso, Maltbibi

Blk 356 Hougang Ave 7. Whole row of shops.
But main road is Upper Serangoon Rd.

My parents place blk 351.. I grew up in that neighbourhood. I go Blk 356 for haircut too.
That corner coffeeshop never took off for nearly 20 years, some years is hardware shop, some years stationery shop. Until this vegetarian shop came.. nowadays quite crowded there

thanks miso.
will let my gynae know tomorrow.

Thanks Miso and Wendy for the coffeeshop info. Will go and try one of these days.

Hi Libtuarius, I'm staying in Hougang..quite near to Jalan Kayu..

My nausea always hit me in late afternn n lasted till nite. I can't eat much for dinner..Stomach always like bloated and got a funny taste lingering in my mouth. I can't stand the toothpaste.. Makes me wan to puke...Hiaz...

Hi gals, issit advisable for us to use listerine to rinse our mouth?

hi maltbibi, we can go kayu for prata liao..

u r sick of toothpaste, whereas i'm sick of Johnson&johnson baby milk bath smell. Regret to buy the whole bottle and now got to bear with the smell. somemore i used to be a smoker, but now i hate cigarette smell!! it makes me feel like puking.. Not only that even my used-2b favourite perfume has now become my hatred ones.. Sigh

Hi lib, it's normal to have adversions to ur fav stuffs once u found out you are preggie. And hopefully, it's only for the 1st tri...and hey..stay near u then can make friend make friend ah..so sad..

Hi maltbibi, change the brand of toothpaste..not sure about using listerine..

libtuarius, i aso hv d same prob. i aso cannot tahan d smell of my shower gel now. wat i do is tat i asked hb 2 use it & i buy a new btl.

no lar, miso dun be mistaken.. we are all friend friend cos we are all auggie moms2b!.. just looking for someone whom staying near my area only... no sad no sad..

Hi vone, the thing is dunno which one i can tahan, is not just smelling from the bottle. need to use it then know. Nvr mind lor, see how it goes, i still have 3 more weeks to pass to the 2nd tri.. if really can't then will have to change.. hehe

lib, hehe... true, then c how it goes then.

ladies, can i chk wif u, i understand tat we can't eat pineapples now, then how abt pineapple tarts & pineapple rice??

lib, really?? thks a lot man!! i was curbing my cravings 4 them now. so chiam u noe. they r my favs, yet cannot eat.
now i can put my mind at ease.

I had a small small pc of pineapple ytd..wah, so shiok man! hahaha...

pineapple tarts and rice are fine la..just try not to take those unripe ones..which are more 'sharp'.

Lib
oh issit?!
i was staying away from all pineapple products.
Din know can eat cooked ones.. hee. Tell my hubby see what he say.

Actually i disagree with this pineapple thing, but dowan to kena scolding, so just din eat..

had my first cup of coffee in over a month. Waaaahhh, now i'm awake..

oh, so, the mouth wash is ok?!!! yippee, i can start using.
oh, then i can have pineapple tarts without worry during CNY liao. kekeke...

hmmm.... i wonder if the bb will stay with me.

Wow, you really love pineapple so much!! but pls don't overeat..

if you watch ah-jie you xi last tues, pan lingling also did mentiond that she does eat pineapple during her pregnancy.. but just got to limit your self.

huh wendyg, you didn't stop drinking coffee?? hehe.. for me i can't totally stop, so i only limit myself to drink one cup a day, and not from kopitiam cos they sell stronger kopis.. then at night before sleep then drink some fresh milk.. I noe many friends have been telling me to buy Mummy's milk powder.. but.. i don't drink powder milk?? so substitute with fresh milk.

don't worry nyny, we will be blessed with the Baby god.

Lib
previously i only take 1 cup a day anyway....
I wasn't drinking for more than a month. Today is my first cup coz feel sleepy

Hi Lib,

Yup, we can go prata-eating together

Hi Miso,

My hubby has been asking me to change the toothpaste to baby one..Not sure whether I'm allegic to the paste or the brand.

I love pineapple tarts..Yummy, I can starting eating liao..

maybe is my mum's influence, cos she doesn't allow me to crave for certain food, eat more on certain food. Just keep forcing me to eat whatever she cooks..

i used to drink at least 2 kopis a day and is from kopitiam. So i asked my gynae can drink kopi or not, he says can but don't drink too much.. so i cut down to one and from breadtalk cos not so strong..

can u imagine, we are aug preggies meet up for drinks or meal??? haha.. all big tummy mummies... hehe

Hi nyny, now u feel ok right? and anyway, I think by cny time, we can almost eat anything liao! cos 2nd tri liao! yippee!!

Wah, the thread is so active today.

Thinking of either TMC or Mt A. Any comments on either one? Prefer one that is pro-BF.

hi ixwong, generally, I like TMC's atmosphere and the nurses are v. helpful in getting the bb latch on to my breasts. I not sure about Mt. A. But I hv visited friends who delivered there and upon comparison, I still prefer TMC. hehe..just my humble opinion.

sigh... me is so envious. i still got 2 control my diet during cny coz i m still in d 1st tri, sigh...

hi miso
ya, i am ok. slight worry about tomorrow's scan.
the nausea feeling is still there. and feel more like puking today....

don't worry vone, u can still eat some of the goodies, just limit yourself don't overeat.

i now also have started eating bakua..

Lib
wa shiok.. i get heaty easily so hubby disallow me bak kua for now..
but can eat ice-cream occasionally.. =)

hi ixwong,

so when's ur edd?? mine is on 30 aug leh. which i tink is d latest among u gals.

lib,

tks. i'll try. anyway, i can't eat much these days 2. d max i can eat w/o puking is 1/4 plate of chicken rice wif all d chicken. funny tat i can tahan chicken but cannot tahan pork. d thot of it makes me wanna puke.

after seeing all this msg, think i quite lucky cos my hubby doesn't really know what's can eat or wat can't eat, so he never stopped me from eating anything. but i just have to monitor on my own cos certain food will make me nausea. So far, i didn't MS, pray hard don't start.. just feel nausea always.. wana to puke but nvr.

CHICKEN RICE??!! my favourite!! yummy... hey have u tried Five star chicken rice? quite nice.. and they use kampong chicken so not so oily...

last nite, i had durian!! yum yum..

lib
5-star from S'goon Gdn ah?

wa lieu, u eat bak kua & liu lian.. super heaty foods, i can't take. =P

lib, same here. hb aso dun really restrict my diet, but i get nauseous veri easily. last wk nearly puked my guts out, so no choice hv 2 try 2 control.

ya, chicken rice is my absolute fav. luckily i can still eat it. cannot imagine going w/o it. can die man!! oh, my plc is quite near d five star chicken rice, so i used 2 eat it quite frequently. but then i discovered a nicer & cheaper stall, so hv stopped going thr oledi.

oh, such a concidence, i aso had durians last nite. but i can eat oni 3 seeds. after tat, 2 full oledi. such a pity.

hehe...ladies, eat all u can. gynae will always say it's good tt u can eat.. sometimes, I feel queasy and will vomit out the food i consumed. haiz..stress, then a while ltr will feel hungry and eat again. I put on wt leh..can't imagine what gynae will say this sat.

May I know the ages of u ladies?

hi lib
MS also refers to feeling nausea and giddiness and wanting to puke. it doesn't restrict to puking things out.

Hi lib,
Chicken rice also my favourite... hehe..

I never tried the fivestar one... but tried the Boon Tong Kee.... very nice also!!...
hehe.. like u, so far, no MS, anything also can eat.. my hubby also dunno wat can eat, wat cannot eat, so he let me eat everything i like... hehe.. Now feel like we are the Queen!... hehe..

I think I may deliver either at Gleneagles or Mt A. Coz the gynae I'm taking delivers at both places. Cost, i think abt the same... how abt u all?

yes wendy, 5-star has a few branches.. one of them at s'goon..

hehe.. thats y after eating this i now got a pimple on my face, super painful.. i do balance off with cooling stuff like fruits & veggies.

Initially i do not dare to share with you gals that i'm not suffering from MS, cos i scare this kind of thing quite "bandan" once say sure got it..think now quite stablised so juz share with u.

many people also say that my growth is quite fast, like some people they don't like pregnant till they are 4 months. but now my little small tummy is very visible..

hi hoshi, the price couldn't be the same for Gleneagles and Mt. A...unless u toking abt Mt. E instead. haha..these 2 are the most exp. private hospitals.

wah..u all so young..me 31 leh..will be 32 this sept.