(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

hi chemistry...

thats what the gal told me.. gynae will do scan but if you want to keep a copy must pay..

Gynae.. Dr Adrian Tan, yours?

chemistry,

at TPS gynae will do scan at each consultation. Officially, the printout of scan will be charged. However, some gynae do give a printout free... (not official lah)

Hi eugeneelie n chemistry

i'm also with KK. my gynae is Dr Benjamin Tham.. me 6 wks pregnant..

actually wanted to go TPS too.. but the charges very expensive leh compared to the charges under the General Clinics + my gynae oni sees patients on tuesday mornings in TPS and i dun wan to take leave/time off to see him..

i went to see him last week (first vist) got urine test, scan + consultation done within 2 hrs under the General Clinic B (my gynae's at CLinic B)..

heard from one of the nurses that TPS can get everything done (consultation + scanning + collection of medicine, etc) within 1/2 hr.. (impressive huh...)

u gers noe abt the KK women's clinic at Ang Mo kio? my nxt appointment is at AMK (I chose to see him there coz its near my house + he sees patients at AMK on Monday evenings and Sats).. wonder if the waiting time is loong or nt?

ting ting

TPS = The Private Suite

can i join in the thread?
i just discovered i'm pregnant yesterday and my doctor said that most probably due aug 05. I'm abt 5 weeks along...
I'm rather lost as this is rather unexpected.
Would appreciate any advise?

- how should i go abt looking for gynae? any recommendation?
- i feel a bit funny in my tummy, is it normal?
- i always sleep on my back, is it ok?

Thanks a lot !

Hi poohy, nicole and erowen, welcome here.

Wow..din know there are so many of us due in august next year! hahaha...

Hi erowen, I presume this is your first pregnancy? It is btr if you can get urself a gynae so gynae will give you a scan and urine test and also give u folic acid for the early stages of pregnany. You can check whether your relatives have any recommendations for gynae cos it is btr to get one thru 'word of mouth'. If not, then u can check with the ladies here, whom most of us have oredi seen one.

What kinda funny feeling u mean?

Sleeping on ur back is ok..as ur tummy gets bigger, you will have to sleep on your side.

hi nicole,

cost is dependent on budget i guess.. if u want to have the same gynae throughout u'll have to take the premium package is it? i find KKH's charges quite reasonable, but can't understand why they charge for hardcopy of scans...

hi erowen,

welcome! i hope your pregnancy is a pleasant surprise?
For me, i look for gynae according to reputation, convenience and cost. There are some threads discussing various gynaes.. you may want to browse through them...

i sometimes feel a bit of cramping in my tummy/womb area.. think this is normal cos preparing space for bb... but if it's painful gotta take note..

sleeping on back is fine, but maybe it'll get uncomfortable in later stages...

Hi eugeneelie,

My gyane is SF Loh.

Hi Nicole,

Heard the waiting time at AMK is also quite long. My gynae is available most of the time at Clinic D. I have not check when is my gynae available at the TPS yet. Maybe check during the next visit loh. When do u have to go back for consultation again?

Hi All...

Nicole
The charges at TPS is S$ 6 more than the charges under the General Clinics, isnt it?

erowen
does it feel like your menses going to come? if yes, i checked with my gynae & GP, they said it normal.

hi miso
how do you find yr gynae? And i know nuts abt the charges, may i know how does gynae usually charge? Do we sign up a package with him during the first visit?

Tks eugeneelie, that's how i feel.

Erowen, my gynae is a male. Some may prefer a lady gynae..it's really up to u. This gynae is my mil's side preferred gynae..all the ladies went to see him so it's only natural i went to him as well. He is ok, he has done a very good stitching for me for the first pregnancy. I went au natural birth, no epidural...just gas and pethidine. Overall, his charges quite reasonable, for first time visit, maybe be abt 100+...but subsequently, it will be like 50 - 60+. Like the last visit i went to see him to confirm this pregnancy, for a scan, consultation and med (folic acid and vit. B6), he charges me $50. Cheap hor? Note tt he did not charge me a first time fee.

I jus went to a GP & confirmed I'm 7 wks pregnant & EDD is ard 7 Aug. This is my 1st baby...

Does anybody knows if the wife of a civil servant get any subsidised if deliver in KK? tks!

hi miso, your charges are pretty reasonable... pity gynae's a guy n too far away for me...

erowen,
mine is a female gynae, clinic in punggol.. she usually delivers at Thomson and Mt Alvernia, but can arrange at other private hospitals as well.. charges higher than miso's... average visit is about $80 (consultation + scan + med). but convenient for me lor, cos i stay in punggol mah... if go other places will have to travel abt 1 hr each time i consult...cab fare already cover cost difference liao...hehe...

hi everafter,

depends on the scheme your service your hubby is on. Check with his HR Dept.

miso,

i'm at the most ulu part of punggol.. blk 600+. near wendy...
hey, if all of us are going to deliver at TMC, we can go for the classes together...hehe...

Everafter...
if you hubby belongs to the MSO scheme, I think can claim only S$ 350 per annum.

Wish you all MTB... Merry Christmas & have lots of fun...

Eileen

i stayed at the north-east too, hougang. =)
Miso, tks for sharing the contact

hi ever-after, same as you, just discovered i'm preggie, still trying to get over the shock.

tingting, could you pls give me the contact of yr gynae? tks

erowen
since u're in Hougang, u can consider Dr Watt Wing Fong, she's based at a clinic in Hougang Mall. East Shore Specialist Clinic at 4th floor. Seems like she's quite popular, according to other threads in the forum. Short waiting time. Dunno her charges though. I think she delivers at East Shore, which is one of the least expensive private hosps.

ting2
yeah, sometimes i feel crampy too.. just like menses cramps.. but it goes away after abt 10 secs. I still feel mighty gassy, & sometimes the burp doesn't come up. Hubby is understanding & lets me sip gassy drink so that i can enjoy a BIG LONG BUUUURRRP.

miso
u live near the basketball court Blk 170+ or Blk 120+ opposite Punggol Plaza? In the evenings, if u notice a tall handsome guy shooting baskets in proper basketball gear, & a pretty lady sitting at the side of the courts burping away, that's me lah! =)

yey, Punggolians...

HI Miso
Ya lor i very ks, started anmum liao. My appetite also not bad can still eat. As for putting on weight, i always feel shy sharing my gain. I gained 24 kg and bb early by 4 weeks so can you imagine??? :p This time really hope can gain much lesser that previous one

Wendy, anmum has chocolate flavour.
As for the feet expanding my water retention was quite bad the other time and mine expanded 5-6 mths onwards.

Erowen, i also stay in Hougang

Welcome and congrats to all new preggies

wow...this thread very fast moving la...lost track after not logging on for 2 days..

thanks all for the info on milk...
had abit of brown discharge yesterday..good thing it stopped at nite..

this morning when had to pass motion, got blood..panic like mad..when to see gynae...he said its constipation...how can when i go toilet everyday!!
he gave me laxatives just to soften the stools...

anyways - Happy Xmas all

hi wendyg, does dr watt wing fong delivers at TMc or Mt Alvernia?

hi hi bbmom,glad to know you stay in hougang. May i know how many months along you are?

I will slowly choose the gynae as my close frens are most single or no kids yet. My mum also do not have much contact. As for relatives, i do not wish to tell them as not yet 3 mths....

will appreciate any recommendations.

meanwhile wishing all MTM a merry xmas.

hi erowen,

my gynae now is Dr Chen Chern Yi. You may drop your email here for me to give you full contact details. She's quite a nice and professional lady, but not the motherly kind cos think she's still quite young.

hi wendy, wah u so good accompany ur hubby play basketball arh...

Hi Wendy! U very cute leh! hahaha..I keep lauging away reading ur thread. hahaha... I stayed near blk 170 leh..sometimes, if you see a mummy bringing her 18 mth old son for a walk..tt could be me too! hahaha....as for water retention, mine wasnt too bad..only the last trimester when nearing due date. I think it depends on individuals too.

So tingting, did u meet up with wendy??

wow..noticed most of us either stay in punggol or hougang leh..can arrange for a meet up liao.

aiyo...today first time i puke leh!!! i had maggi mee early morn..cos got craving..then later on in the office, my coll bot kopi and 2 sardine puffs for me..ate liao a while later all puke out leh! think bb in me dun like sardine puffs..haha

Hope this is not an indication tt I will hv MS hor...haiz...

merry christmas to all!!!

miso,
take care. this morning, i cough for a while and got feeling of throwing out. these few days the feeling of nausea making me very miserable. luckily it's just on off and no vomitting.

gals,
i plan to deliver at TMC, too. ya, maybe we can all go together for the class. i heard that Mrs Wong class is the best!

Hi Erowen
Which part of Hougang you staying? Me stay in the old estate Ave 5. I'm v early in my pregnancy. In fact not very sure how many weeks, should be about 6 bah.

Hmm.... seems like a lot of you staying in Pungol. Talk about Pungaol Plaza, I had a shock of the crowd when it first opened. Till now still dare not visit there again

Miso, yr bb is telling you that maggie mee is not healthy
. In fact me want some MS but haven really have. This pregnancy like not much symtoms like last one thus a bit paranoid. So really need some MS to boost my confidence.

MERRY CHRISTMAS TO ALL!!! HO HO HO

Merry Christmas to everyone!

bbmom
How come u still awake at 5am ah?
Aiyo, dowan MS better... pregnancy is to enjoy, not to suffer... =)
I used to live Hg Ave 7 before moved to Punggol in March when i got married.
Punggol Plaza Food Court is still very crowded on weekends & Public Holidays (like this morning we went there for b'fast).
Many times i also want to eat instant noodles, but hubby depleted the stock & refused to replenish... =P

nyny
Mrs Wong is that the lady who was on the Wong Li Lin show?

ting2
har nor, we make it a point to hang out together. Anyway i enjoy watching him on the court.. very stylo milo potato.. my sweaty hunk =)

erowen
eh, sorrie i dunno where Dr Watt delivers... my info of her is all gathered from the other threads i read. Why dun u pop by the clinic nxt week & make some enquiries. Or call them.. i guess their tel no is avail on internet.

bbmom & miso
did u manage to shed your 1st time pregnancy weight before u got pregnant with #2? I got frens who say they can't lose that extra 5kg

Gals, dun think of throwing up otherwise u'll really throw up.. hehe

Merry Xmas to all August05 MTM. =)
Ho Ho Ho...

bbmom, you woke up so early or you were up all night celebrating? I stayed around Hougang Ave 1. =)

Miso, dun worry abt MS, maybe it's just the sardines, cos the smell maybe too strong.

hi nyny, i also have plans to deliver at TMC, cos of favourable comments from my friends, another choice is Mt Al.

wendyg, it's okie, tks. i will go check it out. =)

hi tingting, my email address is [email protected]. Tks

btw, is it okie to eat durians at this point, i don't know why i have strong cravings for it. =(

hi wendyg
not too sure 'cos i didn't watch wong liling's show. just heard from my friend that Mrs Wong is good.

Hi erowen, it's fine to take durians now...me been eating!!! cos FIL selling it...haha, but now no more liao..the seasons over.. haiz.. damn nice the durians!

Hey, may I know what classes u all are referring to?

Dear all, fyi, I did not hv MS for my first pregnancy...so I hope this one will not hv too until tt day! haha, after tt, not much liao..I noticed if I ate too full, will feel pukey..so try not to lor.

bbmom, no MS is good!! dun worry!

MERRY CHRISTMAS!!
235236.gif

Wendy, Erowen
Not that i so late haven sleep, it's jux that i keep waking up in the middle of the nite ever since pregnant. Was like this during 1st one also.

Wendy, i gained a good 24 kg during my 1st pregnancy (hahaha.... scare you off right?
) I manged to shed them all after a long 8 mths. Really scary hor....

erowen, durians are ok. Me have a few times recently too.

Miso my 1st one also not much MS. Not that i like MS la, but thye say MS means bb growing well mah so i tot a bit also good la :p

Hi bbmom, lucky I am a 2nd time mummy..haha, else I would think no MS no good, then I'll be very worried man! cos I see some other threads..they say got MS means to say bb is growing well...but i dun hv any during my first preggie, If i am a first time mummy and no MS occurs, think I'll be worried.. ;p

so how's everyone's weekend?

Wow, the thread really goes very fast. Unfortunately, I usually only log in on weekdays (eat snake at work :p). Got a lot catching up to do....

Merry belated christmas to all Aug 05 MTB!!

Hi tingting

Classic package (private) = same gynae throughout.. tink its oni Classic package (subsidised) dat the gynae changes every visit.

The KK Packages r actually quite confusing.. i tried enquiring over the phone, but ended up even blurer.. so i went down to KK personally to make enquiries.. much better, at least i got a clearer pic of the packages..

yep.. dun un why KK hv to charge for the hard copy of the scan!!

chemistry
wow long Q at AMK clinic ha?? my nxt appointment's on 8/1/05.. wil check it out.. Thanks.

byw, u can call TPS no. to find out abt yr gynae's consultation hours at TPS.

eugeneelie
yep consultation is $6 more.. but the antenatal package is abt $100 more + hospitalisation charges are oso more expensive..

i'll see when i can tahan the wait or nt.. if cannot tahan, mayb wil then tink of upgrading to TPS.

morning! guess this will be another short week for us..and for me esp cos company having some function so already no mood to work...haha!

i think i'm beginning to get a bit of nausea.. like nyny, i cough a little and have the vomiting feeling, though nothing comes out. appetite also getting poorer and eating less. nowadays prefer light food like porriage n bee hoon soup, but sometimes also crave for deep fried food, which doesnt help...

oh yah, and getting more burpy...hehe..

erowen, just saw ur email contact today. will try to email you today if possible

yah, we should try to meet up someday.. but looks like some of us are already getting MS...maybe got to stabilise a bit before we meet...otherwise we'll all be fighting for the restaurant's toilets..haha..

wonder how's decimalpt? hope all's well for her..

hi ting ting

yap yap. nowadays, i just wanna eat light food and oily food will make me feel sick. and prefer salty dishes than sweet stuff. and like deep fried food (as long as i don't see the oil and smell the oil), too. :p

did you gain weight? though i didn't increase my diet, i gain 1kg so far.

quite scare of burping, 'cos scare that i will vommit.

Me too, starting to get nausea from morning till afternoon everyday. But unlike you, tingting, I prefer to go for dry food (like biscuits, toast, rice)....can't quite stand soupy stuff cos they make me feel like puking. I'm trying to heed doctor's advice to go for small but frequent meals.....

I called up KK to check too, but the lady actually confuses me by telling me that TPS patients only can opt for A1. Later, the TPS hotline clarified that their patients can also opt for B1.

How many bedded rooms would you all be opting for? Would love single-bed, but afraid cost too high esp if bb needs additional attention.

Hi nicole,

U can try scheduling appointment early in the morning or afternoon. In a way, u will be the 1st few patients and won't have to wait for too long.

Hi nyny,

Me too, got the same taste bud as u now. I don't like all those food that I used to like too. So far i have lost weight about 1.5kg. Many of my colleagues commented that I have run down and so they did not suspect I am pregnant.

Hi Ixwong,

The last time I was warded to KK, I took the B1 ward and the bill came up to almost $1000 for 2 day stay. The service is quite good even for B1 and the area quite spacious too. Mostly likely, I will still opt for B1 when I deliver.

nyny, think i also gained about 1kg, cos i my clothes felt a bit tighter.. but guess it's becos i am less active these days, sleeping quite a bit, so the lesser food intake did not affect my weight. i'm also taking snacks in-between, eating when i feel hungry...

i may also opt for a 2-bedded room, though single room more privacy..

read decimalpt's posting also.. hope she'll recover soon..

hi ting ting
ya, if i don't eat when i am hungry, i will feel more giddy and nausea.
so, die die must eat loh. but i can't eat too much during dinner. 'cos my stomach bloated the most during night. even taking normal meal as previously, i will feel quite sick. so, usually, i just take abt 1/3 of my normal meal during dinner.

Miso, remember i also 2nd time mommy lei
But after i say i no MS, the 2nd day i fall sick and whole day feel bloated and burping

As for gainign weight i sure gain weight as eat like a pig

Hi all...thread is moving fast today..so all is bk at work?? Me on leave today, resting at home..haha but with a 'terror' at home, also not much rest la.

Hi bbmom, my nausea stopped liao..since tt day, me kinda terrified leh...cos it stopped suddenly, dunno if bb is still growing not..haiz..u know, I got few friends who bb in them cannot detect heartbeat in their 8th weeks..very sad.

hi miso,
if can't detect heartbeat and yet the mum still has pregnancy symptom? does it mean the bb is ok?