(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

SNG's mummy
I think it all boils down to the character of your son, eventually. Cos its all about choices. If your son choose to be with the bad crowd, irregardless which school he is in, then it will come to same conclusion. Good schools have higher stress level on academics as well as ECA. I know alot of boys from the top schools but their ego is bigger than the circumference of MARS. They think they are creme de la creme because they are in a good school. I think character building is much more important than just being intelligent. My hubby always tell me the smartest person might not be the most successful because there are alot of other ingredients in being a successful person- ie, commitment, have great initiative and high EQ. Most importantly, your son must be happy.
Isn't that what parents want the most for our children?

I've heard comments that those 'good and famous' school have teachings methods/programes that are creative and innovation. However this means that the students had to take private tuition in order to catch up with the normal ciriculum as the teacher wont' have time to teach so indepth for all topics yet conducting those 'creative programs' during lesson time.
Hehe.. not sure whether you mummies can understand what I'm trying to say.

hi ixwong,
Is HW still at JG or any other weekend class?
yr nanny got a pri kid right? At least he can play with the big sister
I've enrolled my gal to appletree daily playgroup starting Jan and its within walking dist fr MIL house.
Hope to find one that's longer than 1.5hr which is near MIL hse but din see any yet.
Btw. why do u say that eventually must give up the nanny? My MIL got bbsit kids till P6 and my mum bbsit my cousin till sec 2 leh...

hmm, i guess it boils down to the school's teaching methods, dedicated teachers, conducive learning environment. me came fr originally rather ordinary pri sch, but had dedicated teachers and i thoroughly enjoyed my time there. sec sch was a SAP, but not the top ones. but the teachers really loved their students and cared for their students and their results as a path to a good future (not for sch ranking). In the end, i ended up in a "good" JC, but hated my time there cos the sch only focused on the "gifted" classes, i.e. those who take S Papers and in elective programmes.

on the other hand, my sis went to a top sec sch n loved the culture there bcos they had a dedicated sch principal who believed in the school mission.

cakey,
wow....what a big bb! hahaha....

the education system here keeps changing...who knows by the time our kids enter p1, it does not matter where u are from....maybe they will scrap away pSLE????

if good bonding with parents + good school +good mix of friends = ideal!!!!!!

true, nowadays cant find dedicated teachers....that's y govt increase salary to keep them or attract new blood.

i hope i dun have to end up sending my son for "ECA" in order to keep up with the school cirriculum.

Wow, cakey. I never thot of using bbsitter for so long. Would eventually have No. 2 and when the young one arrives not sure if bbsitter can handle 2, or rather can daddy/mummy handle 2 without help over weekend :p....that's why I said eventually got to give up bbsitter cos likely need maid when second one comes? How u now cope on weekends huh?

hi ixwong,
Ya might need to send to CC if got #2.
If the age gap btw. #1 and #2 is abt 3 years then maybe still ok. Also it depends on whether there's anyone else besides yr nanny at home during daytime (eg. the pri kid hehe...)
As for weekend, hubby and me are tight up by 2 of them most of the time
Dun even have time to clean the house hence engaged a part-time cleaning lady. But at least we can rest on weekday nights after visiting kids cos only bring back on Fri.

am back from my beijing trip last fri =)

its the longest time that i have been away from YC but guess it was a good break for both my hubby and myself - def not my mum though cos she was taking care of YC for the whole 11 days heehee

so there is now a debate going on for branded school vs non-branded school. here is my take: Pri school is not as impt as secondary school. So as long as its not a Pri school with a really BAD reputation, I think its alright and most PRi school are q ok these days. But being a KS parents, we would still choose a branded school cos its safer.

I went to a branded school in Sec and trust me - the ppl there are super smart until GCE 'O' Levels get 9 points is considered 'lousy' to them. And sure enough, I was the 'foundation' and 'pillar' there cos am always the bottom few. My parents had to go and collect my report book every year cos results was too poor! I didnt enjoy my 4 years there though I graduated with a ok result to go to JC.

Had a choice of neighbouhood JC or branded JC but I stuck to the neighbourhood one and I really enjoyed my JC life! In fact all my good frens and made during that time (too competitive in my sec school to make fren). My results managed to get me into Uni and my 1st choice course.

So I guess its very much dependent on how your kid strive in the environment, some strive on challenges and competition while some excel in environment that are not so stressful and they can move in a comfortable pace.

But I must say that I prefer school with a chinese background cos the values that they impart are more down-to-earth and not to individualistic - I was in the ang-mo pri but chinese sec & JC.

ixwong,

Agree with aidanee, send HW to 2-3hr playgroup and let your nanny take care for the rest of the day. Cos CC dun do much in the noon too.

Welcome back Seabreeze. So did YC miss daddy and mummy?
When me and hb went Beijing earlier in May, we put HW at babysitter for a full 6 days. Apparently, he could not sleep some of the nights, but luckily only gave us hugs and kisses when you are back. He was too young to complain...:p

Cakey
how your MIL cope huh? She's superwoman leh.

hey ladies

1) do your kids know how to put on their own socks?

2) how do they put on/ remove their footwear - sitting or standing?

1) yes
2) both sitting n standing. in fact she has a bad habit of takin off her shoes standin! v cool but so unladylike

ixwong,

yar my mum said that he woke up the first few nights crying for me but after that ok already. But when i call home from beijing he refuse to answer so after 3 times I stop calling home, dun wan to waste money hahahahaha

he was very happy to see us at the airport and kept kissing and hugging me none stop. Only slept at 1am cos he was so excited to see all the new stuff that we bought for him hahahahaha

wendyg ...

socks no cos hardly wear but some shoes he can wear on his own. he will attempt to remove while standing but if he realise that he need more effort to remove, he will sit down.

wendy,

socks no. too tight for him, but he tries to do the action. he can remove both his velcro covered toe shoes and snoopy sandals, but can only put on the sandals by himself. think it's bcos he still can't get the flappy part of the shoes out of the way.

wendy
socks no cos he refuses to wear socks. As for shoes, can take off while sitting and pick up after himself. Wearing, not yet cs never teach him or let him try...always in a hurry to get out of the house :p

Seabreeze
very heartwarming hoh....their unconditional love.

i'm thinking of starting a coach bp cos i can get 25% discount... this is just testing response only hor?

i understand that there's another mom organising the spree so i also don't wanna steal her business since she started it first so i'm just asking you gals. i'll purchase and ship the items to you gals directly for a nominal fee (like what the other mom is charging).

one 'advantage' of buying through me is the lower tax rate. her tax rate is 7%, mine's 5%.

so if u're interested, maybe you can email me at [email protected] or pm me...

oh if response turns out to be not bad, i'll make sure to pay chin leng the spree organising fee!

hi shiwei

if you org, i am very sure her customer will flock to you but there is also another mommy with 0% tax

let me know if this is on, i have some stuff to buy

aidanee,
cruise is very baby friendly (except u cannot bring bb into casino lor)... :p

Last time, brought Keyon to Superstar Virgo when he was 9mth. Baby crib provided, bottle food can get from the restaurants. But 4-5mth... just milk & cereals right?
I brot sterilising tablet to sterilise bottle & air-filled bath tub (Munkin Ducky) to bath baby.
(if u wan the tub i can lend u, no need waste $) :p

Oh, remember to bring stroller...u wouldn't wan to carry throughout...:p

applejuz,

thanks thanks....dun know where to go cos we tot of having a short trip after CNY...cant afford to take airplane...so tot cruise or bintan club med. but then hor,they are also not very cheap. think bangkok is cheap, but i dun think it's kid'sfriendly. We wanna save up for a japan trip next sep when the 2 turn 3 and 1.

ok,if my trip materialises, i borrow the tub from you,k? thanks in advance...

is keyon still on Gain? u want?

aidanee,
I'm also 'aiming' for a bigger trip next yr end, when they turn 3 & 1.... prob Australia. bb now too small, can't go anywhere.

Yap, Keyon still on Gain, abt to ask u still available or not, I can buy both tins & collect at Jurong.

cakey
v long meh.. drive to JB v near ma. kekekeke. For longer trips, portable DVD player, PSP, biscuits, or toddler just looks out the window and count how many motorcycles, whether any passenger, any box, what colour, how many double decker buses etc.

applejuz
bb small easier to bring around right? Ask snoopy. haha.

applejuz,
Gain snapped up by temple liao... paisey....

how's the kids?

wendyg,
my hb dun like mega city type of place...too stressful. japan is fine cos it's clean n pple are polite. may try australia if japan is out, but i dun like the driving part...very tiring...

my hb dun like to drive too....unless he change car....bmw,maybe he wont stay home! hahaha..

wendy,
oh ya... snoopy super-mummy. Me cannot lah, bring to shopping oso must RE-consider, not to mention travelling. hee hee...

aidanee,
no worries..
me dilly dally..
The Kids... Arhh.. lovely pairs.
Keyon started to know more words & can form sentence liao. He sang the full nursery rythms.. though not very clear...
Kecia beginning to sleep thru the night..10pm-5am.
Now 3mths, she very 'ba ba' oredi. <chubby> :p

Applejuz
dun think too much... JUST DO IT.
. Practice makes perfect

aidanee
Port Dickson not very mega city ma. Resorts, beach etc. Laid back. What abt Cameron Highlands? I haven't been there before.
Change car to BMW for what, your petrol free huh. Our Toyota $300 a month liao ley. I think we stop at 2, then no need to change car. kekekeke. Mentioned to gynae abt tying tubes, she say still young, dun tie yet. If really want to tie, it's only a day-op.

cakey
Isaac will also be sufficiently occupied once we play his fav audio CD of kids songs. He doesn't get tired of it even if it plays on repeat. For now la. Gotto start sourcing for new CD liao...

wendyg, wah piangs.. i blur leh.. somemore replied u in the june07 thread.. haha.. 5am is not wake up loh.. it's haven;t sleep.

Aidanee, ya ya.. malaysia's best for young kids.. Pack the whole house into the car and go.. when come back, just take everything back and put into the house. haha..

Cakey, Nick is usually very happy with just looking out of the window and doze off in a while.. Grace also.. When we drive to Genting, the whole car sleeping except the driver.. haha..

Wendyg, tying tubes.. is it reversible? i'm not planning #4 lah.. but then again, i am still waiting for the day my hb become a millionaire then the 2 of us can just have #4 and play with that little one to pass time.. keke. Eerr, how come petrol is only 300 a month huh? mine is close to 3 to 3.5times that amount leh.. and i also toyota only leh.. not BMW wor..

me also thinking of bringing YC to cruise but always hold back cos cruise v exp ler ... for that price can fly to BKK and shop like siao hahahaha

going to genting this coming sunday with the extended family ... my mum's side ... over 20 of us but my hubby not going cos no leave heehee wish me luck hiak hiak

aidanee

last night i practise the 'song' that the school taught yest with YC and to my surprise he could follow me to sing the 'c-c-c b-b-b a-a-a-aaaaaaa' hahahaha and even try to teach me the fingering (but like real lar cos he got the fingering wrong - when i try to correct him, he just trun around and dun wan to continue liao!) hope that he will enjoy the lesson come next year

poor me....gor gor needs to be on neubaliser for his cough...n di di kena from him...though dr told me it is most prob due to reflux,causing irritation to the throat n nose. now he is coughing, wiht so much phelgm. me panda again....and finally, hb is coming home today after disappearing for 9 days.

port dickson? sounds gd hor...but if need to drive for more than 2 hrs, it's no go...cos hb got back problem leh...cant drive for long...

The last time we drove to malacca, he was cursing n swearing throughout. i just dozed off.

SNG
tying tube- can go iVF if want bb next time. stupid right? so is N going to MS next yr?

Seabreeze,
wow..yc got potential. I think he is a musician in the making. hahah...

aidanee

poor thing ... when you got 2 kids ... the most terrible is that one fall sick and the other one ganna =(

port dickson is q far ... go cameron highland lor ... my fren say that q nice to bring children there

SNG ...

think there are other measures which you can take lar if you have plans to have #4 in a few years time =)

aidanee, no.. not Nick.. keke.. nick still in CC.. Sam is in P2 next year.. but after considering travel time etc.. we will let him remain in his current school.. Also, he got 3rd this year and he mentioned he will work harder to get 1st next year.. so if i change school for him, no sure if he will get affected not..

sea, like? i don;t like IUD cos it's got a string hanging downwards.. My hb didn't like the idea of the patch..

BTW, PD is nearer compared to Cameron.. And dec, best not go cameron.. wet roads makes the mountain quite dangerous.

SNG ...

really ar hahahaha cos i always tot that cameron is near genting heehee anyway i dun really drive to msia myself cos my hubby not keen. he rather pay and take coach hiak

if you dun like IUD and patch then i think the next best is those pills lor or just depend on the most trusted 'C' lar hiak hiak

aidanee
u and him take turns la. aiyozzzz

re: tying tubes
> it's reversible, but not advisable coz tubes would've been damaged liao.
IVF is WORSE.. more suffering for mummy. Hormone injections everyday, lotsa side effects.

what's wrong with patch?
i'm not keen on IUD also, coz technically to me, the egg already fertilised, only cannot implant. So that's an abortion. I decided on that when i was in my teens.
my colleague went for those thing which was injected into her forearm, every 3 yrs need to top up. that's freaky to me too. I think i try to steer clear of messing with hormones for now, coz still need to bf. 1st time with isaac, tried pill while bfg him, i think the bm tasted funny & he rejected. Husband made me discard pills immed - wasted the $$.

nicky's mom
your husband doing outdoor sales issit. Or u deposit your kids across the island etc. Our car is Toyota Corolla 1.6 i think? 5YO liao. SDT car plate.

wendyg,
i think SNG drives a fortuner....hahaha...that'y the petrol is so high...hahaha..

Vone,
are u there???? if you are ordering anything from drugs or LV,let me know. i want to get desitin creamy and CB shower bath etc...i have no luck to join sprees...either lost parcels, spree cancelled or wat...so vone you are my trusted agent.

i want Desitin Creamy & First Teeth also...

aidanee
actually there's a mommy @ Blk 126D selling Desitin $9.50 & First Teeth $8.50. Ready stock. But i thought since i not in a hurry i wait for ongoing spree. But so far the organisers dun offer Pg collection ley.

wendyg, no leh.. he drives to Depot and home @ bedok only.. half island.. keke..

Aidanee, u see me too up leh.. that one super ex loh.. i can only afford a small little mpv and was told FC is the lowest of all MPVs liao..

OH.. spree.. if got LV spree, i want..

Any light-weight stroller to recommend? Tot of getting the maclaren volo but not sure is it worth to spend the money and space to house 2 strollers...
The luckybb one is getting small for my big gal and dunno why she prefer to be in stroller rather then walking when out.

cakey, i also use the red colour lucky baby one for nick from time to time.. i think i bought at carrefour for 28 bucks that time.. lugged along to Japan that time and i was hoping it will break when i'm there so i no need to lug it home, but didn't happen.. so now, it's still back with me.. compact enuff.. only thing i don't like it is because we cannot recline the stroller when nick wants to sleep..

hmm, topic changes so fast from having babies to contraception! i haven't gone on to stage 2 yet leh.. :p But personally i'm quite anti artifical contraception, except using condoms. fr past experience that's enough to prevent "accidents". Recently been more stressed cos of changing portfolios at work. God-willing, I dont mind a larger family.

i think best trip is to go to a beach resort with a set of parents (either ILs or ur own). kids get their fill of fun at the beach, easy for parents to look after them while u n hb can get some quiet time alone.. laid back and relaxing..

I'm also on the lookout for First Teeth toothpaste, pref without the fingerbrush. Keep me in the loop for any lobang!

I may have 1 desitin tube for sale. Zephan hardly ever uses it now. Will check n get back. Anyone keen on an opened tube but still have abt 90% left? (can give free for this one)

ting ting ...

wan to exchange? i got a new first teeth toothpaste which i opened to take out the fingerbrush. but i cant rem the price cos i bought it q some time back

i still using the desitin cream cos too lazy to toilet train him

can meet at MND again

seabreeze, ok! i'll contact u after i go search for the tube tonight. i find the fingerbrush too big to brush the molars leh.. i let zephan use the kiddy toothbrush and i'll clean with cloth at other times.

though it's great that i'm saving a bit on diapers, it's not really convenient when outside, cos toilets are dirty (zephan's using the sitting method cos he's not tall enough to pee over the toilet bowl). we try not to let him wear diapers while outside cos it'll slow down the training process. v "exciting" when rushing for toilets! haha..