(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

hi cat_tail,
My mil had been trying since 6months ago only recently she's willing to go potty.
Mil will bring her to potty every 20mins (have to hoax her... quite tedious when she's engross playing). Mainly she realise that it's so comfy w/o diaper... and grandma will scold/angry and dirty if urine come out dirtying the house.
Dunno why previously she rather 'endure' for 2-3 hours then sitting at potty.

cakey
my boy also, when i ask him whether he wants to wear trng pants or diaper, he will say trng pants. More comfy for them i guess. But for so long liao, he will still pee without warning us beforehand. So my folks gotto keep watching the clock, every 30min or so invite him to the toilet. Sometimes he refuses to go, then 5min later pee all over the floor. aiyo. Dunno how some kids manage to be toilet trained in a week.

hi Cat tail,
Kong hwa- my youngest bro's school....hehehe...good luck!

heard nafa kindy at telok kurau is very good. u can check it out.

cakey,
Maybe why I failed so badly in potty training is I am lazy. :p
Edna sometimes can poo in the potty but most of the time we fight to get her butts in. *sigh

Aidanee,
Ya... I really need that gd luck to get into Kong Hwa ...muwahaha..
Nafa is too exp liao plus the waiting list is already putting me off. Anyway my area is spoilt with so many choices of CC/Kindy.

cat tail
that's y my bro wants to move back to the east. hahaha....i miss staying in the east.who knows, i may end up getting a place in the east instead of bishan...but does not make sense when it comes to logistics. even punggol is nearer to bishan.....thinking hard.

has enrolled Cayden into Shaws, starting jan08. his current cc will end on 30 nov. dec will be at home rotting away,driving me crazy...hahaha....

potty training
my son would rather hold back his urine for 2hours instead of peeing in the toilet. once he did that,he said,peepee come out from penis!well done! so funny.

it was my maid's birthday yesterday. we celebrated wiht a cake. Cayden sang the song....she was so emotional that she cried. it was her 1st birthday cake since born 25yrs ago.....so poor thing. and i made her call home to say hallo to her grandma(90yo)...she never saw her parents before.

cakey,
Keyon's wear his mini briefs thoughout the day, even during his afternoon nap. Only let him wear diapers at night & when we go out. But when we go out, with his diapers, he still wan us to bring him to toilet.

haiz, has been a bad week. Last weekend, Keyon down w sore eye, then spread to me & my mum. Only 'survival' is my hubby, so he take care of Kecia full-time, isolate them in another room.
Has to pospone my returning to work... luckily, my boss very understanding.

applejuz
does keyon pee standing up? o'wise gotto bring the toilet seat everywhere... how does he reach the height of the toilet bowl at home - using ladder?

hi cat_tail,
toilet training is very tedious most of the time (that's why I surrender and leave it to mil who won't go crazy like me when seeing urine on her furniture hehe..) She usually tried for one or two days and rest for 1mth if not successful.
My gal now refuse to put on diaper even during nap and in the night... kept waking up and ask to go toilet last night! Hence just now go and grap some pull-up pants to prepare for her comming home during weekend hehe..
I also wonder how to manage bringing her to toilet when outside.. the cubicle usually small and not as clean... any tips to share?

Your hubby a member of HK clan? heard must be an active member then higher chance.

applejuz,
So keyon is now with underwear + pant most of the time? wow.. the sore eye sound serious.. must be quite uncomfortable or even painful.. pray for speedy recovery for yr family.

aidanee,
wow that must be the happiest BD your maid ever had
Good that you all are getting alone well.

wendy,
I saw somewhere that it's best not to rely on training pant when toilet-training cos he'll not feel the great difference.

wendy,
Yes. Keyon stand to pee on our toilet flooring, then we just rinse away with water. Hmm, actually i dunno how he pee outside, cos usu my hb bring him to the gents.

cakey,
Thanks. Ya quite serious.. & i heard from the doc there's increasing cases of sore eye.
Main symptoms are redness + discharge. Keyon's case + fever. Very contagious, not by 'seeing'. By contact with his tears.

wah, so many toilet training stories! zephan also started toilet training in school this week. we used to get him to sit on the toilet bowl every morning when he wakes up, and every night before he sleeps. but stopped when he fell sick recently. guess will have to mop after him a lot.. i hope he gets the idea soon.. i think he knows, but he just bo chap. y bother when u can pee anywhere u want? :p

prob w zephan is that he's not bothered by wet or soiled diapers. with no complaints abt discomfort there's less incentive for him to go toilet..

Aidanee,
Think abt the food in the East lah...kekeke

re: Potty Traiing
Edna is driving me crazy everynite. She will pull me to the toilet & want me to sit her in the potty. Less than 2 mins, she ran out & then the next moment, she pulled me to the toilet again. We went in-out, in-out to the toilet for at least 3 times & finally she pooed in her diaper. *faint

Applejuz,
U take care. There is a surge of red eyes disease spreading around these 2 weeks. My hospital has been seeing a lot of walk in patients.

cakey,
Congrats!! U save a sum on diapers!!! I have noone to depend on the toilet training except myself.
Maybe I should dangle a $100 reward for my maid to train Edna.

Huh? Really?? U have frd in SHHK?? Our form is filled up but we haven't submitted yet.

tingting,
Maybe Zephan inherit some of his daddy's gene? Bo chupness?? *lol

aidanee,
tink it depends on which part of d east u stay. if u r staying near my plc, then gg 2 bishan is quite near aso.

applejuz,
take care & give keyon a kiss 4 me.

cat_tail,

yah, zephan does the in-out of toilet thing as well! it's so irritating.. abt the bochap-ness.. well, u got it right! his dad also has a high tolerance level for mess.. haiz...

hi cat_tail,
ya can save on diaper but realise letting her wear diaper is sooo...much more convenient that i really tempted to cont. let her wearing hehe...
Abt SHHK, my hubby heard it from his ex-classmate. You need to join so early?
I'd prefer to send dd to a christian missionary school but don't see any around our area...

cakey
yeah, same as weaning... giving bm or FM is so much more convenient than having to feed the toddler solids and clean up the mess...
same as walking/ running... dun hv to chase them around when they're still immobile...

maybe we shld just get a doll who won't grow up huh, then our lives will be such a breeze

haha.. wendy you're right it's a phase to go thru.. guess I shld be movtivated by the fact that my gal is growing up.. (when ask why she's not wearing diaper she'll tell us 'zhang3 da4 le4' hehe...)

Thanks for your concerns, mummies.
Keyon has recovered & back to CC.

And I'm back to work this week. Seems slowly getting back my life again. :p (At least from 9-6pm)

Now every evening bring home the 2 kids. Luckily Kecia is able to sleep by herself in the cot after her last milk feed. So I can concentrate coaxing Keyon to sleep.

Petit Bateau's got annual private sales...

Spring Summer 2007 collection for babies (0-24mths) | Kids (2-12 yrs old)

check it out @ ....

Saturday. November 3rd 2007 (10am-5pm)
Venue: Hotel Royal Plaza on Scotts | Paterson Room Level 2 | 25 Scotts Road, S 228220 | Tel : 67377966

Cash & Cheque Payment only....

Wendyg, congrats...

cakey, i see HK clan.. are u all already talking bout Primary schools? errr.. a little too early to stress huh?

BTW, sam got shortlisted for Maris stella for P2 next year. I'm keen to let him enter considering the fact that nick will automatically goes in when he reaches 7yo.. but but... that school is so far from my home now.. Am staying in Bedok.. Assuming that Sam takes school bus to school, i think he need to leave home @ 6am.. If i "hardworking" enough to drop him off in school every day, i need to wake up @ 5.45am and leave home by 6.15am cos that is a crazy jam zone! And if i put both brothers into that school, this crazy thing will go on for the next 10 LONG YEARS!!! sigh.. in dilemma..

hi SNG mum,
Wow don't think i'll let my kids study that far. Most of my friends married earlier and their kids comming to Pri soon hence learning those pri school stuff fr them

Btw how u coping with 3? Can't imagine chasing after 3kids when gg out leh...

Cakey, i hardly am the one running after them.. But, yesterday took all 3 out alone to meet daddy.. Carried #3 in a carrier, hold on to #2 hand and asked #1 to help me carry meimei's barang barang bag.. From my home to kembangang station, took cab.. Alighted, while walking to mrt station, #1 claim that bag is too heavy, so i took the bag, carry meimei and hold #2 hand.. Board MRT, lucky was offerred 2 seats, so #2 and me sat.. #1 stand.. by the time i reached Queenstown station, i was so tired until i want to lay flat on the ground!.. 1st try with 3 kids going out alone.. i think if hb wasn't there to fetch us, i wonder how will i be able to make my way home with the 3 fellows..

that's y i said u are my idol-supermon. i only managed to go bring both out to bishan library for 2hrs,then to j8 for lunch....with my helper,of course...and i am already calling it quits. hahaha....

maris stella is a gd school leh...i remembered when i was in p4, we moved from amk to geylang. i was studying in ai tong (amk then). no choice. we take public transport every morning. 5.45am set off to the bus stop to avoid am jam.reach sch at 7am for breakfast. luckily i had 2 other siblings to accompany me. i must say, we were much more independent than the kids these days....imagine my bro was only p2 and often being chased by dogs on the way to the busstop which is 20mins walk away..........

aidanee, haha... to think i somemore ya ya, my helper asked me if want her to come along and i told her no need.. but then again, i don't like to bring her along when i bring my kids out.. they end up sticking to her than to me and going out is the only time i have them to myself..

YEs.. Maris Stella is a good school that's y i've been thinking and thinking and thinking.. It's too good an offer to miss, yet, 10 years of waking up @ 5.45am.. Not to mention, by the time the boys get home from school, they will be so tired and i doubt they can study liao.. Maybe i should move back to toa payoh.. haha.. siao liao.. How come only ur bro kanna chased by dogs? i can imagine how terrified he is..

maris stella good sch ah. from nearly 20 years ago, i remembered the guys fr Maris Stella are like ah bengs. same as SJI, St Gabs guys. coz dat time i was fr all girls' sch and i know some guys fr these schs & all of them seem like ah beng to me. hahahaha.
maybe only Cat High the guys more gentle. But i wun send my boys to Cat High anyway.
Maybe ACS, but too far fr my home. Unless i win a large condo unit in Bt Timah... but nowadays lucky draw dun offer property as prize liao.. at most only Subaru car or Sgp Flyer tickets or A380 tickets?!

now i dunno lor.. but that time thru my Pri sch & sec sch days i only hang out with girls, so when i first get to meet guys, they all seem ah beng to me. maybe i shy la. kekekekeke.

hmm, i also dun have good impression of maris stella... std really not like 20 years ago liao..

SNG's mummy, try look for a co-ed sch, so that ur gal will also be "guaranteed" a place.. then only need to headache once!

Been MIA for the longest time. Bo bian. Work super busy. Off duty today so can log in to update.

Congrats to all 2nd time mummies!

All of you already talking abt primary school? So fast! I'm still having headache over whether to send haowen to CC, or if I should continue with my super babysitter and just send him to playgroup. Any views?

ixwong
i'll choose to continue with your superbabysitter & send him to playgroup. so that his health is not compromised..

all my closest guy friends form jc day are maris stella old boys. good brought up,smart too. too bad none of them is interested in me..hahaha..else i hve a choice of ai tong n maris stella to choose. hahahahaha......

my bro always walked v v fast...sometimes he ran to the busstop n board the earlier bus w/o us. thats how garang he is.

ixwong,
go playgroup/cc 2-3 times a week and stick to your nanny on other days....cheaper on pockets?

Wendyg, oh.. now then i know they also got primary school.

Tingting, sam is now in a co-ed school.. but they are the normal neighbourhood schools loh.. he tops the level in mid year that left me wondering if he's really that smart or the standard is just so so that's y he came home with those results. Others near my area are the red swastika, temasek.. but then, no vancancy for transfer. He's going to P2 next year.

Aidanee, u hor.. plan so far.. 2 schools to choose from. keke.. Maris Stella and schoold like ACS always gives me the impression of rich boys going to school in the father or mother's car.. i remember those days where my sis was in dunman high and my dad drove her to school in a Proton, while others come in merz and BMWs, she told my dad to let her alight at the bus stop outside the school.. Wonder if my boy will also tell me the same thing if i send him to school..

aidanee
sort of. but not the main TPY one.
convent girls also quite lian hor. hahaha
but too bad i never managed to join the lian groups.. coz i v quiet & study hard type. and shy also la. kekekeke

nicky's mom
so would u rather he be #1 in neighbourhood sch or average in famous sch? Of course if can be top in a famous sch is even better la kekeke.
u're also considering travelling time right? With crazy ERP & still traffic jams etc. Maybe consider home schooling la, like the 12/14 yr old siblings who took their O Levels, now studying in Britain.

wendyg, it's not cheap to do home schooling loh.. my aunty is doing that for the 5yo son.. and the teacher is charging them close to 2k a month.. but, he's already @ p3 standard for his books.. 5yo @ P3.. i cannot afford that kind of $$ leh..

Yes, distance and travelling time is my main concern.. but good primary school will end up in a good secondard school? and then in a JC and uni? Ah beng primary school, goes to ah beng secondard school and good ones ends up in poly while not so good ones drop out after sec 4? if it ends up as the 2nd case, then i rather suffer for the next 10yrs to ensure they have a good future..

not only u suffer.. the kids also 'suffer' coz they hv to wake earlier, more tired fr travelling etc.

example of my sis
-good pri, sec sch, good JC, chose triple sci course
- got distracted during JC1. Barely made it to JC2. Failed A Levels, couldn't get into the lousiest course in NUS.
- Spent another 3yr in Ngee Ann Poly in a totally unrelated Mass Comm course, topped the course.
- Spent another year in Brisbane to get degree.
- Worked hard, enjoyed her high profile jobs, relocated to Canada, got married, buy large house etc.
- Her 2 boys are recently diagnosed as autistic. 3YO, 2YO.

Good future? All the ups & downs in her life cause much anguish to my folks. At the end of the day, one can only do so much... still hv to pray and trust God. Her life still not over yet, but she's so far away without any extended family support. It's hard for everyone.

wendy,
you got very valid point.

as long as the school impart good values and have average stds, should be ok? some of my friends from RI & RGS also smoked and did funny things... well, but they are very successful now.

unlike me....sob sob...

i feel that parents still gotto be the ones guiding the kids.. to mix with the correct friends, right values eg honesty blah blah. Close relationship & good communication between parents & children so that kids will listen & obey even if they dun understand... study hard, dun smoke, dun do drugs, listen to teacher, come home immed after sch blah blah.

i used to think that only top schs hv the best teachers. But not for my case. To me, my BEST teachers were the ones who created an interest in the subject. So even tho i went to an average JC, I enjoyed maths v much coz of my teacher. We were all puzzled at how come i only scored a B for my A Level maths, but the love & appreciation of the subject was sparked since then. That's only 1 example.. hv plenty more to quote fr my pri & sec sch days.

hi ixwong,
same as wendyg, wld prefer to stick to nanny and join playgroup.
But for my case, considering CC cos got another little didi to take care of... dun want them to fight whole day... (ya.. now the little one 7+mth already started to fight with jiejie for toys, bike etc..)

wendyg, agree that teachers also pay a very important part.. but i thought good schools have better teachers?

for me, i came from neighbourhood Pri sch, end up in neighbourhood secondard school, did a private diploma.. had lots of crab friends while in school, married @ 19yo..

My sis, went to a good primary school, enter good secondard school, went to a good JC, ended up with a government scholarship to finish her education overseas.. and i remembered 1 incident in her JC time where both she and another boy got the same grades and both were fighting for that 1 vancancy to go Sydney for 3mths, my sis got it as she came from a good secondard school while that boy came from a normal neighbourhood secondard school..

Sigh.. life issn't fair i guess..

wendyg,
u r wrong. cat high guys r far fr gentle, at least d 1s whom i now.
bt i tink tt it's a good school coz they emphasize on both study & eca. if it's possible, i dun sending my boy thr.

ixwong,
i 2nd wendyg's idea. it's a pity 2 give up ur super babysitter.

nicky's mom
my sec 1 was in regular sch, Eng & form teacher was #1 tops - changed my value system. Also loved my Maths teacher..
my upper sec was in a supposedly 'good sch', but i din like my Eng Lit, Maths, Physics teachers.. can't remember Chinese & Geography teachers.. only one who created an impact was my Bio teacher.

i've got 2 aunties who are teachers - both teach in neighbourhood Pri schs. They're not too bad, i think? Love kids, love their job.

wendyg, good that your aunties love their jobs.. These days, i seems to be speaking to many teachers who are thinking of either resigning when their bond ends or otherwise already resigned. others, because of family commitment, have to go on teaching but the hate their jobs because of the long hours.. quite negative right..

1 of my aunt recently retired.. she's been teaching her whole life.

the other one has been teaching upper pri for abt 20yrs

they are the 'old school' teachers - those who find their calling and stick to it. Not like our generation who keep changing jobs after every few years haha.

here's smthg else to consider.
My immed boss just came to chat with me.
He scored worse than me during O levels, enrolled in a lousy course in NUS, nearly couldn't graduate on time etc. But thru his hard work, quick thinking, street-wise character, good social skills etc, he was climbing corporate ladder all the time, and end up become my boss, even tho i was a hardworking student who got into a good Uni course etc.

.... ?

Thanks, mummies, for all your views and inputs. I also feel v saiyang to give up my super babysitter but always worried abt haowen not having exposure with other kids and learning opportunities in a school settings. In any case, eventually sure must give up my nanny so thinking when is a good time.

Re pri school
Distance to me is v important, so will be opting for a school in yishun. Both hb and mine old school closed down liao, so no option but to get in queue loh.