(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

skippy: reduced still v small ...

Lib: either my boy dun liked it or me used it too late!

Skippy
tried not to keep the bm frozen for too long. Some mummies complained that frozen bm got metallic taste after thawing, and bb may reject.

My boy is a superbaby last night. first time go without milk for more than 10 hrs. He woke up once abt 4.30am, cried v loudly but refused milk. Think tummy no good....

Triniti
read that u getting the ergo carrier, or have u gotten it? I'm considering cos my boy is now 7kg+ and dislike the usual bb carrier....wondering if it's worth the investment.

Haha Seabreeze & skippy,
Where got so easy strike one! If ganna, I treat u all!

reenie,
So funny when u describe Denise like 4 season. My gal also din poo everyday maybe becos she's on total FM.

cmy,
I intends to start when she's 4 mths old but later drop down that idea cos it may trigger allergic easily. Best is when they are 6 mths old.

applejuz,
So far I haven't try to put Edna overnight at somewhere else. This Sat then try.. hope my in-laws can handle. :p

hi cat_tail,

starting on solid at 4mth can trigger allergic? Any idea why?

Seabreeze, lib
the massage place is private housing right? got enuff parking slot if most of us driving? Or shld do 'car pool'? hehe..

ting ting,
hee, my boy too cannot sit/lie still doing nothing, mus have someone to play/talk to him, else he'll make sqeeky noise.. ha ha.

ixwong,
Wow.. u got a super good night sleep last night.
re: carrier,
I'm also thinking of getting a carrier, besides ergo, is Bjorn good too?

cat_tail,
sala lah... my overnight means hubby, me & baby stays at my mum's plc. so still me taking care of bb...:p dun wan to stress my mum hee hee...

cakey,seabreeze,lib,
ya hor, got parking lot or not? my hubby drives, can park by roadside right?

cat tail ...

dun say too early ar ... me got married in nov 04 ... preg dec 04 ler ... discover in jan 05 ... not planned one ... abit careless heehee ... so ... you never know lor ... but still yicheng is a joy to have lar ....

cmy ...

think it depends on the development of the bb ... like whether the bb is still hungry even after drinking his milk ... looks at you eating and wants to try your food etc ... but still milk should remain as the main 'dish' in his diet ...

cakey ...

yap ... private housing ... me dunno abt the parking stuff ... maybe lib can advise?

tennyson...

i shave my son because his hair was so long, covering his ear and he was also dropping lots of hair... can't stand it... so go and cut botak...

very sorry gals...

I will have to cancel this sunday's gathering at bishan cos of some personal matters. See u all on the 17th Dec at Carla's place okie?

Can u pls spread the word around for me? Cos i wont have access to the computer til next week. Am going on leave.

Sorry again. Thanks!

Hi ixwong
I think anton is a little small to be in an ergo. I think your ds will fit better since he is bigger.If you want, you can pop down my place to try the ergo

eileenp
Yup, it was very painful!!! But no choice.. gotta ren the pain cos once the ducts are cleared, will feel better. I felt super relieved when everything was cleared. I think if we just leave the blocked ducts alone, will get infection. Maybe u can ask yr hb help u massage and rub and squeeze the milk out?

re:Avent isis
Anyone wants to buy a new Avent isis pump with VIA cups and lids at 35 SGD? WIll give 2 Avent messaging gel and glow in the dark Avent smoothers. Used only once and realised that my electric pump is more efficient. If no replies will sell it in Market place

Hi Applejuz,
How did your mum manage to train keyon?share share leh
that's very fast leh! potty train at 3mths plus..my nephew 2 years old still dunno how to use potty!

Re:- Flipping/turning
How does your baby learn to flip/turn? is it from lying on the back flip to the front first, or lying on the front then flip to the back? will baby naturally know how to flip or we have to demonstrate first? if have to demo, what is the correct way of flipping? my baby girl can only flip halfway, her hand underneath always get stuck, then she get very frus then cry..

Re:- age
me also reaching 30 soon. Are triniti and i among the older first time mums here? :p

Hi cakey,
Not too sure what's the reason. U may like to read this article which I find this is very useful information to wean a baby.
http://www.kkh.com.sg/PatientHealthLibrary/ChildrensHealth/FoodnNutrition/Weaning.htm

Applejuz,
I see! Haha.. misunderstood your meaning. So how's yoru shopping? Bought any stuff?

Seabreeze,
U really strike the "4D"!! So lucky!!! Haha.. true lor, Yicheng brings so much joy for you. No regrets.

RE: age
A very sensitive topic... anyway.. I am a dragon.. Haiz...

triniti
*drooling* at your offer... but then hor, i've been spending lots on VIA cups liaozzz.. better control myself, o'wise i gotto keep expressing until 2 years later to recoup the expenses... *hiak*

re: parking..
ehh.. tink the road side got limited parking space.. however thr is a multi-storey carpark near her place.. juz above the NTUC

lib, ya, i agree wif u. tink i must really learn how 2 sling my boy oledi. lazy mummy...

reenie, tks 4 ur concern. his fever subside tis am oledi. thk god!!
as 4 her 'constipation', let denise drink lots of water k.

skippy, tt's veri smart of ernest. mine still dun noe how 2 turn yet. no worries lah. jus bring ernest hm 2 rest & monitor his temp after d jab.

applejuz, tt's a veri gd achievemt!! 3 cheers 2 keyon!!

wendyg
Haha I am not selling the VIA cups and lids I am selling the pump mainly so the VIA cups and lids are just freebies. Its ok, think about it. Do you like the avent isis pump? I find the valve popping quite irritating. When I used it the first time, it popped out and I got so frustrated so decided to sell away since my PIS advanced can convert to manual pump

re:age
I am a year end horse hehe...

i'm a mummy ...

same as you ... me oso a snake =)think we are the 'normal' age in this society lar ... in fact some of my frens are still single and avail whereas am already a mummy of 1 ... of cos if am younger the better lar heehee

cmy ...

goat ar ... then is a young mummy ler ...

cat tail ...

yar lor ... 4D oso not so accurate ... got a shock when i saw the result on the kit ... almost fainted ...

anyway ... today feeling q down cos my granny suddenly became v weak ... she was having a bad cough since 2 weeks ago ... then now she like very blur dunno whats going on like tt ... held her hand just now and ask her to wake up for dinner but she just open 1 eye ... look at me and went back to zzz ... she used to be so alert and sharp ... now ... sigh

we brought her to the dr and the dr said tt she is already so old liao (think 92 yr old) ... its part and parcel of life .... but seeing her like this really break my heart ... praying hard tt things will turn for the better ... didnt even have mood to go robinson sale aft i saw her lying on the bed so weak ...

tingting,
your boy can sit in the bumbo already? thats good! i hope Denise will like it! just got one for her as a christmas gift
Christina helped me to buy! so nice of her! Yes, i got the Fisher Price Aqua mobile, she quite like the fishes...very colourful and the music is super! During nite feeding, my hubby and myself will enjoy the lights reflecting on the ceiling + melody while Denise snooze off in her cot...haahhaha...

Cat_tail,
Denise is reallly a 4 seasons girl! So unpredictable. If one day, i find her "spring" for entire day, i might strike toto or 4D...(but i never buy!) She managed to poo yesterday evening! Yipppeee!

Vone,
Glad to know Darly ok ok! thanks for the tips

Re: Age
Me a horse, Hubby a cow....chinese saying "zuo niu, zuo ma" (work like a cow and horse) fits us perfectly!

Seabreeze,
Don't be upset, hug hug. Your granny is very fortunate to have you around and loves her so much!! I hope she gets better soon...
Sometimes we have no control over certain things in life, so should try to live each day to the fullest
Let our love ones knows we care about them.

ah.. seabreeze: erm.. dunno what to say to you... but i do hope tt she will get well soon..
look at the brighter side.. she could probably be jus a little bit too tired and she needs more rest? mm.. argrg.. think i better dun say anything else.. duo jiang duo cuo! she'll be fine!

seabreeze,
i understand how u feel....dont be too upset, otherwise will affect ur ss... *huggies*

reenie,
u still workin at hm?!?

wendy,
haha.... me n u the same. i invest alotz on avent cups n lids n pigeon milk bag.... n now i already thinkin of to stop...too tiring....

applejuz
I wish I had a good night sleep also, but no lah, he cried and fussed from 4.30am onwards even though he didn't want to drink. It's easier if he drinks cos he will then knock off for at least another 2 hrs...

Understand that bb bjorn is good only for up to 10kg. Not worth for me to buy cos my ds is 7kg + liao.

Trinit,
thanks for the offer. Will let u know if I want to try it out. Got to consult hubby on the purchase....

Re Age
Aiyo, all of you so young. Think I'm the oldest...coming 32 soon.

Skippy
u also thinking of stopping huh? Me too since my start of work, but felt saiyang leh cos still getting 500-600ml a day. Was just telling my hubby I will stop come Jan 06, by then ds 4mth+ liao.

when u all intend to introduce solids to your bb? I intend to start my boy on some rice cereal when he is 4 mths. Realise nowadays he always stare at us when we eat. The other day I put a strawberry next to his lips so that he can taste a bit of the juice). He grimaced at the sourness but then open his mouth for a 2nd try....

ladies ...

thanks ... just felt v down last night and wanted to vent it out ... aiya i felt real bad towards her cos the last time she spoke to me i replied in q a rude manner ... then eversince she had the cough ... my mum stopped bringing yicheng downstairs for her to see ... i still rem tt she always ask me where is the bb and i just tell her that he is sleeping ... how i wish she can carry him again and kiss him ...

my mum told me that she did brought him down on last fri and my grandma did get to see him ... she really dote on yicheng and always look 4ward for us to bring him down ... there was once that she even climbed upstairs to see him ... luckily i took a photo of her carrying him ... guess this is the only remembrance of her to my son ...

went to her room to see her this morning b4 i left for work ... she was sleeping like a baby ... i really hope that she can cross this hurdle ... promise myself tt i will not be rude to her again ...

sorry for the long posting ... didnt realise tt i will be so affected myself cos we all know that this day will come sooner or later ...

ixwong
my PD just re-inforced that 6months TBF is fine for my baby. If i were to give juice, it'll be to help him poo (if no poo for more than a week). And must dilute with water first.

re: chinese horoscope
i dunno which year is horse, goat?! Aiya just click on the username & can see our age mahhh =P

Alamak, I think I am one of the oldest mum here. "Lao" liao~

Hi Seabreeze,
So sorry to hear tat yor granny is sick. Hope she can have a speedy recovery soon. Dun take it too hard on yourself, your granny will understand tat u dun mean to be rude to her. Maybe tonite u bring Yicheng to visit her & make her happy. *hugs hugs

I'm a Mummy,
Training on potty needs alot of patience, esp bb dunno how to sit yet, so must carry & recently, manage to plc his butt on the seat.
My mum every morning make the 'mmmm.. mmmm' sound for 10-15mins, for ~ 2 wks. Once or twice, 'mmm..mmm' fails, after putting back the diaper, he poos! Guess he prefer butt to be covered..:p

Then only these few days got some output. She says once she hear bb farting, then quickly remove his diapers & put him on the seat. After persisting for a few trys, then can see result... me haven't master yet, hope i could do it this weekend.

cat_tail,
Shopping last night was a rush, hubby was late, reach there almost 8pm liao... shop a while till 9+, then hubby says he's hungry, so left for dinner.
But managed to grab my tollyjoy disposable breast pads, pyjamus for Keyon, shirt for hubby & a thermoflask.

Re: age
me too, I'll turn 30 in 2 mths time.. sob sob. Also a dragon :p

Seabreeze,
don't feel bad, ur grandma will definitely cross this hurdle & carry Yi Cheng in her healthy body.

reenie, glad 2 read tt denise poo poo liao. i can understd how u feel. tks 4 ur concern abt daryl.

ixwong, u gt such gd supply, u shld continue. tink of d benefits tt haowen is getting. haha... he's so cute. grimaced at d sourness, yet wan somemore. i fed my boy a little bit of watermelon juice d day b4 using a metal spoon. after tt, when d spoon touches his mouth, he'll open it wide wide. hehe...

seabreeze, no prob. if u need some1 2 talk 2, remember 2 call me okie.

cat tail, applejuz & vone ...

thanks ... think i can only wish for the best now ... even am surprised at my own emotions ... sigh ...

re: feeding solid

can read here for more info ... seem like they would prefer tt we intro solid only aft 6mth ...

http://www.babycentre.co.uk/feeding

ixwong ...

$400 ... very tempting ler ... maybe i should sell away my ameda and get the PIS ...

Applejuz,
Your mom so solid! Just "mmmm..." then the poo come out!! *clap clap

Last weekends, I bought the thermal food jar from Isetan to put baby's porridge. Very KS of me. :p

Seabreeze,
It's alrite. Tonite maybe your granny will be better. Be positive, ok.

Re: Feeding solid
I think no hurry to wean baby off. Somemore January got lots of holidays to experiment... heehee.. I already start collecting some of baby's food recipe.

potty train,

My MIL trained my bb since 1 mth old. But not really let him seat on the potty. Every morning, my MIL will mmm mmm him. If he really want to poo his face will very serious and will quietly looking at us then we know he wants to poo. If not he will play with his hands or toys. Just ignore you. So everyday, before bath will mmm mmm him. He did once poo at his napkin and he was so uncomfortable and cried very loud. Since then, we will mmm mmm him morning and everning if he didn't poo at morning. Now, he seldom poo at cloth napkin. Really save lots of work.

then i gotto MMM MMMM to my son for days on end coz he doesn't poo everyday....??

triniti
dowan your avent lah.. i thought SGD35 comes with VIA =)))

cmy,
That's good work too! No need to wash the yellow stains on the cloth napkin. Agree must look at bb's expression, if he wans to play, aiyo 'try-again-next-time' :D

Now, we even put toilet papers inside the potty, once poo on it, can throw...:p

Cat_tail
wah. u very hardworking hoh..can share your recipe compilation w us once u are done? hee hee...

Vone
daryl like watermelon juice huh...good good will help his poo poo

*sign* I know BM is gd for ds but it's v tiring now that I'm working. Every night by the time I eat, settle bb, express my milk, it would be close to 10pm and straight to bed. Not much time for my hubby and usually by then I'll be tired, irritable w short patience - not the best company

Re weaning
ya, most books/webiste will recommend introducing solids only after 6 mths. But my mum was telling me she started mixing cereals in the milk from 4th month onwards. I'll probably start after 4th mth cos haowen recently seem not so interested in his milk. probably sian liao...:p

ixwong
PD said that feeding time is quite boring for our babies coz at this age, they are v curious & interested in new things. So she recommended that we feed him in a 'boring room' so that he can eat quickly & move on.

seabreeze
hehe thanks I have contacted her. I hope you grandma is getting better...will pray for your grandma for speedy recovery...to be able to live so long is a very great blessing!!

ixwong
I contacted that lady who is selling her brand new PIS but she did not have warranty so I did not get from her...

re: solids

think i'll start to intro cereals at ard 5 mths. thot juice is not recommended till at least 6 months? bcos it can encourage preference for sweet things, and also fill up their stomachs w little calories.

re: milk feeds
can try to schedule feeds nearing bed/nap times? find that baby will just drink up quickly n go to sleep. if feeding him just after he wakes up, he'll be alert.

re: feeding strawberries
not recommended to start so early bcos they commonly trigger allergies (most berries). ditto for nuts.

ting2
re: Juices
u ask Dr vanessa this Sat lor.. she advised me one wor...
i think my oily BM has more calories than diluted fruit juice...

Temple: BB's hair will starts falling off at age mth 4, very normal. I also intend to shave her head when she's 4 mths. haha, and when they starts to drool, our hair will start to fall! Watch out for it. haha..

Think I am the oldest here.. haiz.

Vone: How old is ur bb now? How come u can feed him watermelon juice liao?

Ixwong, my gal recently also like not keen to drink milk. Dunno y too. Ytd, her last feed at 5 pm, then sleeps, then when we reach home 8, make milk for her she still dun wan. Then till abt 10+ she finally wants it, but still din finish, then fuzz cos she wanna sleep. Then sleep till 7+, eyes open big big but din cry for milk, anyway, just tell my maid to feed her la b4 we leaves the hse.. haha.