(2005/07) Any July 2005 new mums to be?

looking forward to see all of you and your princesses

but i a bit pai-seh, like got nothing much to bring to share... initially said will bring maths dot cards but it may not be that good cos the flashing of the dots cards are supposed to be done regularly (e.g. daily) whereas i'll just be showing once

mayb i'll bring word/picture flashcards instead...

Plim, you just bring Bella will do lah.. I have lotsa words/picture flashcards at home.

We just conduct the playgroup relaxingly... Main thing is to let us and our kids to enjoy each other company

hi hi, mummies,
how was the playdate last sat? any pics to share? I'd bet all mummies and little girls had a great time!

Hi SP

The playdate was great! Bleuz can't make it last min as she having bad ms. All of us enjoyed the KM session that Joyfulstar conducted, especially Plim's Bella, she was smiling and laughing all the way
Must really thanks to Joyfulstar that I learnt a lot of mummy tips from her....

Have taken some pixs but no time to download over the weekend. Will do it soon!!

Hi Tomatoes/Plim/Joyfulstar,

Sorry I couldn't make the playdate on Sat. So disappointed.

Think my MS is getting progressively worse as the days passes.. Argh..

When's the next playdate? =p

Bleuz, dun worry about it... Hope your ms quickly pass so that you can enjoy your pregnancy more

Ya, look forward to the next playdate... Hope we can realise another playdate soon

hi bleuz, hope you're feeling better...

the playdate was great... really enjoyed the KM session by joyfulstar... yeah, i think bella really played so much that she was so tired that she fell asleep in the car on the way home!

Plim, my girl also felt asleep after joyfulstar left.. haha, think she really enjoy the session too.

Btw, some playdate pixs to share
I like the one that all 3 hugged together.

593586.jpg

Sorry, file a bit too big

tomatoes, plim, joyfulstar,
wow wow, looks like the girls had a wonderful time together! thanks for sharing the photos! I recognise Bernice straightaway, she's in white puffy short sleeves and jeans dress? Is Bella in dark blue sleeveless and Giselle in white and pink?

bleuz,
u so poor thing had to miss the playdate becoz of yr MS. hope you are feeling better already, eat small meals and take care okie!

Hi SP

Yes, you've got them all right!
You must join us one day... really hope to meet you and the rest of the mummies

Hi SP,

Thanks. MS is not looking any better. Have not told anyone at work yet so a little difficult at the moment.

You planning to come down here for the year end holidays? =)

Hi Plim/Tomatoes/Joyfulstar,

Next playdate at my place? Let me know.. =)

tomatoes, bleuz,
we bought 2 nites stay at hotel 81 already, it's just a matter of WHEN we can take leave to come visit s'pore, hehehe... We'll be so happy to meet up with u all

hi natmummy,
we'll definately call u when we come over! u started countdown for yr trip yet? 5...4...3...2...1... hee.....

for now, hh still no passport; we busy doing up our new hse, so $$$$ very tight; and year end still a lot of outstanding work to finish..... so most likely will be next yr......

SP

u moving to new place???staying on ur own???

ok let me know when u coming...........will try to meet u up...

natmummy,
yalor, we'd love to explore staying on our own, hv been staying with hb's extended family since married, don't know whether we'll be able to be independent, kekeke.........

SP

its always good to stay on ur own.....cos got freedom mah.....den who will look after ur HH when u working??? Ur in law ok wif u moving out????

sp, sounds good moving out to stay on your own, but there are trade-offs la... hope you're not staying too far away from your in-laws or your parents though, as they can be very helpful at times...
but i think you'll be able to manage ;)

tomatoes, the last time i went to Genting was at least 5 yrs ago, i bet things must hv changed now... from memory, there aren't many hotels to choose from also, perhaps only 3? hehe, mayb pick the biggest one to stay in :p

good to see that everyone's little precious are growing up so well.
haven't posted for ages here - hope I am still welcomed in this thread.

hi tomatoes,
was just reading your post about genting - many hotels have aprung up recently. If you wanna be near the themepark, there is this one called resort hotel/themepark hotel. You want to be near shopping and indoor theme park, can try first world (but be forewarned - the rooms are tiny but is dirt cheap lah). If you want tried and tested, can go genting casino hotel (the one that is always featured in their adverts). Have fun!! I haven't even left the country with my gal before.. wonder when I will do it.

yeas... we really have had lots of fun the last playdate. sorry i was not able to post as my pc crashed and me now at Mac so posting.

shall we have another playdate on 9th Dec 2006???

anyone keen???

Hi Joyfulstar & Bleuz

I am quite occupied these 2 months so I guess you all have to go ahead without me.

Btw Joy, have you bought Crayola for me? If not, I will go source for it myself. Paiseh to trouble you.

tuffy,
welcome back! we missed u here...

natmummy, plim,
yalor, we are so pampered and used to good life as no need to do housework or cook, some more got many ppl can help to look after hh - a bit lazy to move out but then, we've got to learn to be independent mah...

oh, the place we moving to is very near our current place, abt 20 mins' drive, so can still let MIL take care of hh for us, hee.

tomatoes,
when u going Genting? wanna meet up? I live nearby, 1 hr car ride kekeke...

can consider theme park hotel, my friend recently went to stay there, he said it's recently refurbished and room spacious, not like the first world room so small and lack of amenities.

bleuz, joyfulstar,
hehe, i tot i had replied on the playdate but i just realised i have not! anyway, i am tentative on 9 dec as i have several other things planned on that day. However, do keep me posted on the final date and i'll see if i can make it...

Have any of you started to brush your tod's teeth already, or getting them to brush it on their own?
Do you face any difficulties in even helping them to brush it?

Sigh... my gal refuses to open her mouth when she hears that 'we're going to brush teeth'... at most she bare a little of her teeth and will close up her mouth when we're trying brush... Any of you have any suggestions how to let us brush her teeth / make her brush or even ways to keep it clean (now that she's eating more solids, i think it's important to keep it clean)... Any suggestions would be welcome!

Hi sp

Will let you know when I am going to KL/Genting

Hi Plim
I want to ask you all about brushing teeth also. I noticed that my girl has a little grey stain on her lower tooth and very scared it is tooth decay... I tried to brush her teeth and she also refused to open her mouth... cham...

The stain dunno izzit becos I din start brushing early....

I started brushing my boy's teeth when he was about 7 months. Initiatlly he was not receptive to the idea as well and will refuse to open his mouth. But because he was at the "monkey see monkey do" stage... he will mimmick my action of opening my mouth when he sees me doing it. I tried to brush my teeth infront of him a few times to show him that this is something adults do too. After a while he got the idea.

I suppose starting early did help.... because right now they are more opinionated and may be harder to get them started on something.

hi, plim, tomatoes,

re: brushing teeth
err, we haven't started brushing hh's teeth, but he likes to watch us brush our teeth. Last Sunday I gave him a toothbrush and he tried to imitate, then he bit the toothbrush... kekeke...

tomatoes, same here lor, my gal doesn't hv grey stain but i find her teeth yellowish... i did try to 'practise' brushing her teeth when she was younger (b4 1 yr old), using those brush that you slot on your finger one... she also refuse to open her mouth... and will usually bite me when i put my finger in... really scared they hv tooth decay and so young, bring them to dentist, they sure resist one...

odie, i guess you're right, starting early does help... even though my gal likes to watch us brush teeth and will do the action... when it's her turn to brush, she will simply close up and walk away... well, well, well, it's toddler's we're dealing with now... :S

I think I must shown her how I brush my teeth. But when I say "brush teeth", she will still use her finger to imitate brushing teeth...

Depends on luck when I brush her teeth.. sometimes, she will open a little and sometimes not at all. Btw, it is time to use kids toothbrush on our kids oredi huh?

I started Kellis on teeth brushing about 3-4 months back. I used the First Teeth toothpaste and finger brush. Think the toothpaste is quite tasty so she enjoys it.

Maybe you can distract her with toys whilst u brush her teeth? Or make her laugh so her mouth's open and u can stick your finger in. =p

Re: Next Playdate

I can't this Sat, 9 Dec. Maybe the next sat, 16 Dec?

bleuz, is it necessary to use toothpaste at their age now? also, does those toothpaste require rinsing? if so, how do they know how to do it?
next sat i also cannot... paiseh... after that i'm only available after 2nd week of Jan...

Hi Plim,

The toothpaste is fluoride free. Safe for babies. You can get it at most supermarkets. Blue and white packaging called First Teeth.

They don't have to rinse. Comes in banana and strawberry flavour if I remember correctly.

Yup... I use the First Teeth toothpaste as well. Safe to swallow so no issues about rinsing at this point. It apparently contains milk enzymes similar to that of BM so that it helps to prevent tooth decay.

Mummies... instead of those brush that you slip on your finger can consider the one from Pigeon. I got the whole pack meant for different stages and because it is in the shape of a toothbrush... you don't run the risk of your tods biting your finger =p

hi, plim, bleuz & tomatoes,

no prob. we'll arrange another playdate another time.

tomatoes,
e paint is out of stk but e lady says they r coming in next wk. u wanna me buy for u??? sms me & let me know, ok???

re: brushing teeth
i use First Teeth toothpaste too for Bernice. same case like all, my gal loves to bite. started brushing her teeth since 6 mths old. now she's ok but at times, very cheeky will bite my finger & laugh. she's more cooperative w Daddy. maybe, u can get ur hubby to do the brushing.

hi all, long time no "talk" ...

1. congrats to bleuz!!!
2. shame that i missed the playdate, i'd be interested if the next one is in sengkang
3. brushing teeth, raeyen started 3 mths ago & was receptive as i let him brush mine while i brush his & i sing to him "this is the way raeyen brushes his teeth, brushes his teeth..." to the tune of "wheels on the bus"
4. GUG: my older son kieran, attended GUG for a yr from 1-2yrs old. at that time, the program was gd. my fren's son is there now & she complained that the teachers were not so gd & wanted to quit. and GUG seems to increase fees quite frequently.
5. we went to chiangmai with the kids in nov & it was fun

cheers!
http://momtoangels.blogspot.com

hi, bichon,
great to see u back here! just went to check out yr blog, wow, lovely pics u have there of Kieren & Raeyen!
kiss.gif

did Raeyen enjoy himself at Chiangmai too? me still thinking don't know got to wait till hh how big then only he can enjoy travelling... hmm...

Hi Bichon,

Nice to hear from you again. I'm happy to open my place for the next playdate (staying in SK too).

How was your Chiangmai trip? I'd be going from 27-30 Dec. What are some interesting things to do there with the little ones?

Also, how did you settle Raeyen's meals? Glad if you could share some tips on their meal times as I'm not sure what I'm going to feed her there. =p

Hi SP & Bleuz

Yes, the boys enjoyed the Chiangmai trip v much. SP it's actually not that bad to bring kid(s) for holiday. We brought our older son Kieran to Perth when he was 14 mths.

Bleuz, the only problem with feeding is both my boys' appetite went down during holiday but their moods were certainly high. They probably were too busy checking out the new environment that their bodies somehow automatically reject the usual food intake. Thank God their milk intake is the same. While Kieran (when he was in Perth @ 14 mths) & Raeyen lost a little weight aft each holiday, they gained pretty fast when back home. In Perth, we fed Kieran mostly bottled food from Gerber or Heinz. Raeyen didn't like them, so we fed him whatever we ate. Do bring some snacks, eg Pigeon pumpkin/vege balls - Raeyen loves it.

Chiangmai is great, cheaper and culturally richer than Bangkok. Weather-wise, end-Dec is cooling.

We were lucky that both boys behaved while travelling on the road, though Raeyen is quite a challenge on the plane. We took TigerAir to Chiangmai & the legroom between the seats is well, very narrow.

Hi Bichon

I have just sent you a mail

Good to know that you have a great trip...

Agreed, bringing little one is indeed a challenge compared to hands free....

So, what did you do to keep raeyen occupied.

Bet weather and esp air is much better than HK right?

Hi Joy747

I saw your email.

We did not really keep Raeyen occupied on purpose, the other 3 boys played with him. Half the time I was carrying him on a sarong (u can imagine my aching arm & shoulder). He refused to walk much when outside home.

Weather in Chiangmai is nice but I think HK now is of coz much colder. BUT the traffic in Chiangmai is quite bad as the exhaust fumes/soots are bad for inhaling. In that case, HK is better. Foodwise, HK is also better coz we can feed the younger ones congee anytime.

However, HK is not child-friendly - many staircases, not ez to find lifts, a lot of walking. We went HK when Kieran was 2.5yrs & I was 5mths preg with Raeyen. It was tough, my poor hubby had to lug Kieran in the stroller up/down the stairs @ MTR stations, etc. Our trip to Ocean Park was also a challenge.

Nap: Raeyen sleeps 1-2hrs once a day in the afternoon (which is little). He also naps when we were on holiday, in my arms (saronged). In flight, he was ok until we are about 15 mins before landing, he was wailing. Believe it's the air pressure on his ears. Feed bb with water b4 the pressure kicks in.

Hi Bichon

I agreed with you that HK is not child friendly. I experienced that when my gal was around 2 years old.

I understand what you meant by carrying raeyen when he was napping...how heavy is he now?Did he nap well during holidays?I do know that if kids do not have enough sleep, they tend to be cranky.

You did not bring stroller along?

How are both kids when they are back home?

Hi Joy747

Raeyen is almost 11kg now. Yes he napped well during holiday, coz in my arms & can listen to my heartbeat (heehee). No, we didn't bring the stroller for the Chiangmai trip, not convenient. We only brought to Perth & HK when Kieran was the only child then. Anyway Raeyen naps v little (max 2hrs) so he wasn't cranky then.

When we returned to Spore, they were quick to return to routine. Kids r really v adaptable I must say.

My colleagues juz returned fr HK for holidays. Their kids loved Disneyland though it is v small compared to the others. I hope to bring mine there some day, but we probably will bring them to Australia instead.

Joy747, in fact I also carried Raeyen in sarong when he was awake coz he refused to walk. But at home, he loves to zip around the house himself. I guess it's the strange environment hence he didn't want to walk.

However when we go grocery shopping, he prefers to get out of the trolley and check out the aisles of stuff by himself.

Anyway it is also good that we "confine" the kid by carrying or in stroller, else u will be too busy & tired going after.

Do let us know your holiday experience in HK.

Hi Joy7474

Raeyen is almost 11kg now. In fact I carried him even when he was awake while in Chiangmai. Maybe he was not familiar with the environment. We didn't bring the stroller - not convenient. We brought it when Kieran was the only child while in Perth & HK.

Raeyen doesn't nap much anyway, so he wasn't cranky as he napped his usual in Chiangmai.

Both kids adapted well & returned to routine right after the trip. I guess kids are v adaptable.

Do tell us your holiday experience in HK!