(2005/06) Due in June 2005, Any 1

morning gals

re hospital bag,
i put aside a bag that i'll use. But hvn't pack yet. I think too early ley. I'll pack in mid May. Now concentrate on getting ready bb's things.

re raspberry tea
I think cannot drink too early rite ? only from week 32 onwards ? I intend to buy. But not now, maybe 1-2 weeks later.

as time passes, like more and more things to do man. I think i'll spend 1-2 weekends buying bb things first. seems like i hvn't got quite a few items.

Also not sure 1 2 buy breast pump first or not... *headache*

Tin we need to get padding for the nursing bras. When I wear nursing bras I need padding else can c very obvious. Not under wired wear liao feel better.
I read report that woman should not wear bras and I hv one col didnt wear bras and really can see it sagging down lor. She is 5 yrs younger than me. Hence I buy my bras all w wires one keke... but now like without wires more comfortable. I even try take out some of the wires out

When r u all gg to stop drinking Tonics har? Can help ask ard? I cant rem liao I know 1st 3 mths cant drink and dunno which mth start aso cant drink.
Now me seem like gg 2 1st 3mth tat time like tat must eat LOTS n LOTS of fibre else go toilet got problem. U all same???

Von
Ya, I also doubt I can wear size 40....

For Massage Lady
My friends recomended the following :
Mdm Naini. & Mdm Fauziah

re breast pump
my consultant told us not to buy 1st i also wat's the reason behind, anyway this week going to go into breastfeeding topic then update u gals

dunno,
so far i se nursing bras no padding leh...then if want to put in padding also got to find those nursing ones cos normal padding like very small. hving wire on will be painful for us lor...so once a while go w/out bra also good lah but rmbr to do exercise

re tonic
i told my mum to stop giving me the 'dong cong cao' liao cos i scare bb too big :p but will still cont to take bird nest till end of the mth which we've to eat coconut once a week

adora,
ya lor like very small hor...aiyo...ma cham half of the breast coming off liao

ohh...ok ok i will try to call them...thk u :D

I buy Gerber padding to put inside the nursing bra.

Wow u all bra size very big leh 40 aso tin can wear or not. I normal wear 85D one aso can wear leh :p

von, can drink... read below something i found in the website... www.pumpkin.com.sg

RASPBERRY LEAF TEA
Raspberry Leaf Tea supports female systems. The use and benefits of this herb for pregnancy, childbirth and breastfeeding date back to the sixth century and has been recorded as a proven aid in the most ancient of herbal books.

Raspberry Leaf Tea provides a rich source of Vitamin A, B complex, C and E, as well as the minerals Calcium, Iron, Magnesium, Phosphorus and Potassium. These nutrients make it an excellent prevention and treatment for anemia and leg cramps, as well as a beneficial remedy for the reduction of morning sickness.

It is believed that Raspberry Leaf Tea, if taken regularly through pregnancy and labor can also:

Soothe and prevent bleeding gums, mouth ulcers and inflammations which many pregnant women often experience

Gives tone to the muscles of the pelvis and uterus

Relax the smooth muscles of the uterus when it is contracting

Assist with the birth of the baby and the placenta

Calm cramping of the uterus

The high mineral content also assists in the production of breast milk. The uterine toning has assists contractions and checks any hemorrhage during labor. As an astringent it is useful in a wide range of cases, including diarrhea, leucorrhea and other loose conditions. It is also used for the following:

To aid fertility

As a gargle it will help sore throats, sore mouths, canker of the throat and ulcers

As a wash for wounds.

To regulate irregular menstrual cycle and decreases heavy periods

To reduce fever

Raspberry Leaf Tea's robust, full-bodied flavor is reminiscent of fine black tea, making it an excellent choice in a caffeine-free breakfast or afternoon tea.

When is the best time to start taking Raspberry Leaf Tea?

Many practitioners recommend that Raspberry Leaf Tea is best commenced at 32 weeks of pregnancy and continued through to the birth. Other practitioners recommend that Raspberry Leaf Tea can be started at the beginning of pregnancy or even prior to pregnancy.

Please consult your health care practitioner before taking.

How is Raspberry Leaf Tea taken?

Ist Trimester: One cup per day

2nd Trimester: Two cups per day

3rd Trimester: Up to 4 or 5 cups throughout the day

Preparing the tea

This herbal tea is not to be boiled. Bring the water to a boil. Add the water to the herbs immediately either in a mug or a teapot. The herbs must be left in the water for about 15 minutes to extract it. Be sure to cover with a lid or a small saucer so that the medicine won't be lost to evaporation. If you prefer, add a bit of honey or a slice of lemon to taste.

Measuring the tea
Per cup/mug: Use a full tea-ball or 1 teaspoon full of the herbs.

Per liter: Use about 6 - 8 teaspoons full of the herbs.

Storage
The tea can be stored in your refrigerator for a couple of days. The tea can be taken hot or iced.

During my 1st antenatal class the nutritionist said she nv hear need drink coconut
my mum in law ask me dun drink but I did drink lor coz I like coconut drink

I stop eating bird nest liao now reduced like eating once in 3 weeks. I scare heaty not scare wat for eating tonics leh coz really like getting heaty liao lor. U all no prob ah.... only me

jane tan,
thks for the info
ok leme chk with my gynae...there are certain things it's good to eat/drink but not too much lor in this case will it be too much for 4-5cups?

dunno,
my cup size really increases 2x my norm...aiyo...it's like the same size of my tummy
gosh...this mrg i see myself when sitting down it's really sitting on my tummy liao

dunno,
drink the young coconut only the last mth before ur EDD n only once a week, reason the bb will be clean clean lor...

bird nest not heaty leh..it's cooling cannot take too much cos nxt time bb will hv a lot of phlegm but it's good to eat just twice a mth

Von tin u quite small size 1 rt? Coz I m fat all along during my preggie I dun find much changes even my tummy not tat big

my bird nest my mum in law got put ginseng and kualeh so is heaty one. She scare 2 cold mah :p

I aso got drink dang gui and dong zong cai mah and I tin dong zong cai real heaty leh tell u. Dang Gui Egg u all got eat. I quite like but aso HEATY

my bird nest my mum in law got put ginseng and kualeh so is heaty one. She scare 2 cold mah :p

I aso got drink dang gui and dong zong cai mah and I tin dong zong cai real heaty leh tell u. Dang Gui Egg u all got eat. I quite like but aso HEATY

dunno,
maybe cos before preggie i went on diet lah...n moreover breast grow 1st before even my tummy shows

ohh...we cannot take ginseng wor...it's not good. among all dong zong cao is the only herbs that a mtb can drink. i tink u better stop taking ginseng liao

ur MIL got put in the red colour small small herbs boh? i forgotten the name of it liao but it's good for eyes one lor

Oh didn't know we need to stop Tonic at certain mth. I tot we can drink them all the way? I am still taking dong chong cao.

I have stop taking dang gui as the chinese sinseh says its too heaty.

Planning to drink coconut during the last mth.

von, gor ki is it?

my MIL also put some ginseng slices... i think.. into the bird nest.. but i don't eat lah.. just drink the water. anyway, only drink twice a mth.

my breasts like so small compare to my tummy leh... don't need to rest on tummy... hopefully got enough milk... size doesn't equal to amt of milk right? hee..

my buttocks real big! hopefully aids in easy delivery. i am trying to lose 4kg in 2 weeks. Hopefully can loh.. if not, next checkup kena from gynae that baby is too big, cannot natural but must go C-section then jia lat.

Von
I think my bb is middle size..will check out his size again tmr. If really too big must drink less tonic.

anns
2weeks b4 EDD that means 38weeks...who knows by then maybe pop already.

So I intend to start 1 mth b4, anyway only drink once a week.

yah, think we should drink 1 mth before... if not like Zoe Tay, too late to drink, so drink in hospital 1 coconut then deliver.

Von,

Looks like u r getting really excited now... hahaha... :p think it's the nesting instinct kicking in liao..

btw, from my delivered fren, u can start drinking coconut water now.. from 7-8th mth onwards, once a week...if start onli in last mth think abit late..

jane tan,
ya ya :p tat's gor ki

ohh...ok lah as long as not too much

u be surprise that so smaller ones have more milk then those bigger in size cos big doesnt mean milk it might means fats...so no worry abt it

the worst part i scare to put on weight n size is my hip...gosh...actually i believe how big still can go for normal delivery just whether we want or not. our mothers' time how big also like tat give birth :p

take the whole young coconut once a wk last mth

adora,
ya lor same here...i told my mum if bb too big got to stop cos i want normal delivery. wait for ur good news tmr yeah!

rene,
hahaha...ya very excited cant wait to see my gal :D

ohh...unless u think u will deliver early but still advisable to drink only last mth leh..one also good enuf too much not so good for bb's lung

gals,
i nvr really take any tonic ley ... even bird nest also not very frequent. once in awhile only.
i did hear that dong cong cao is gd, but how to consume ?

can drink coconut already ah ! great ! i love coconut juice hee hee ...

I been drinking coconut and tonics all the while. Got NTUC jus next block 2 my block mah keke so buy and drink very often. Then go antenatal class tat nutritionist said nv hear b4 need drink coconut. Think individual is diff lah. Me easy heaty one so drink nvm. Actually during my 1st 3 mth me drink coconut everyday til I kn I preggie keke.

Dong Zong cai need double boiled w meat lor. NOt cheap lah 1 liang is ard 200+ if u buy jus 1 small stack is 40-50.

ohh...rdgs to eating the young coconut even those who just gave birth told me so just take if bb can be clean clean...kekeke...

yap...dong zong cao is very ex :p so no need to drink too much also. it's suppose to help with the lungs

my mum brew this herbal chicken soup for me once in 2 weeks, also don't know good for what... just drink loh but very oily... the chicken meat is optional to eat. maybe that contributes to my big baby... don't know lah...

drinking more soup is good for us...i think can do away with eating the meat cos it might be too tough to even eat it after brewing for so long :D

I think u shd ask yr mum remove the chicken skin lah. My mum in law double boiled one she all removed the skin. Actually some said chicken not as gd as pork coz chicken very heaty I aso dunno lah. Some pp eat chicken w bleed not sure if u heard b4, tin coz their body cant take it
Dong zong cao is for us 2 hv "Qi" lor keke supose tat help when we in labour.

i tink the dong zong cao thing is mostly meant for bb's lung...maybe only a lil for us :D

btw...someone pass me a book n inside includes the things to bring to the hospital...i will try to key in excel n share with u gals

I double boil my own Dong zong cao and drink every week. My hubby used to have asthma when he's young so i was hoping if i drink more now, it will strengthen baby's lungs and she will not have breathing problems next time...hopefully it works. For Bird nest, i break it into 2 pieces and boil half each time. Feel it's a waste to drink so much at one go. Expensive lah...what to do

By the way, if any of you feel that baby is pressing down very hard on your groin area and is creating a pressure there, be sure to tell your gynae. I've been feeling strain on my pelvic and thot it was normal as bb is getting heavier. But gynae examined and said it's not a good sign and cld lead to premature birth if not carefully monitored. So do tell your gynae if your sense something is not right. Now resting more and hope that baby will stay inside till full term...

Von, cool stuff...so nicely presented. Thanks!

Jane,
Thanks for sharing the benefits of raspberry tea with us. Read before that it helps in labour, but didn't know it's also useful for so many other ailments! wow.... do u know where to get the raspberry leaves? Does lipton sell?

von, thanks for the list. realised i missed out socks and comb.

shekinah, i feel the weight pressing down. i can't even close my legs now... stomach is so big in between my legs. will tell my gynae when i see him on 29 apr.

shekinah & jane tan
273067.gif
share share info mah :D i will go home n browse thru the book. wat u gals need? :D

jane tan,
hahaha...simple things can be easily forgotten so it's good that the list comes in handy

same here the weight is also pressing down when i stand up but i keep reminding myself cannot open my leg n walk if not it will become a habit...not glam liao
273068.gif

Ladies!
I saw this in one of the website... maybe you ladies read as ref.
mime_pdf.gif
Do-It-Yourself Confinement Menu - The first 30 days
confinement.pdf (17.1 k)</td></tr></table></center>

shekinah,
is it? But my OB said nothing wrong leh. She just said its normal to feel abit pressure and as long as its doesn't stay on for more than 8 hrs, like tummy hard hard, it should be okay. If more than that, then call Dr. I only felt it last week, it last for abt 1-2 hrs then okay liao after I rest.

mrg ladies,
tis mrg during breakfast i can feel my bb turning ard my pelvic area...so close man...i tht my urine is coming out liao :p

Morning ladies !

Thks for all the information put up. They're really useful.

Yday got breastpads from my colleague. She kept saying 1 2 sell to me cos she nvr used. In the end bot from her $25, piang so ex. didn't know she got Avent ones .. heartpain. I only thot it's those small small pkts ones .. sigh ....

von,
bo ley. I ask her how much then she quoted. She gave me some discount. The price tag was still on the box

I think i feel better to pay her also cos not extremely close to her. And she gave me 3 milk bottles also. So just take it as i pay her for everything

shane,
oic...

rmbr the other time i told u gals abt a gal a few office door away fm me? she gave me a couple of bb's stuffs n more to come fm her so paiseh...n more so many things are new

btw...just now i walked pass this shop Cheong Choon Store Blk 34 #03-132 Upper Cross Street Tel:6532 3855 they are selling all bb's stuffs. but that guy just pushed out the stuffs so didnt manage to pop in but kinda a lot of items as well

hi shane,
yr colleague so bad...still wana sell u things u bought and didn't manage to use...if i am you, i rather go buy from the shops...

btw, $25 for how many pcs? I jus bought pigeon's ones - S$12 for 36+6pcs... then next door, saw offer at only S$8.90 for same packaging.. *sob sob**

So MTBs, beware...