(2005/06) Due in June 2005, Any 1

forgetmenot,
If i am not wrong, on ur scan it will indicate the no of weeks & days of ur bb, EDD & length of bb

serrich,
my scan nvr indicate EDD, weeks, days, etc. But got indicate length of bb. cos from the scan, it's a blown up version so i see some parts of my name also cut off....

anyway i'll ask gynae for full details tomolo hee hee...

serrich,
yes! i can't wait for today to be over ! hee hee .... looking forward .....

forgetmenot, ya i am better, at least the spotting has stop.

Ladies, anyone of you experience sudden gash of creamy discharge?

Found an article from the internet.

Tips for getting a good night's sleep:

Cut down or eliminate caffeine - tea, coffee, soda, and chocolate in general are all stimulants; it's best to avoid them whenever possible, but especially in the late afternoon and evening

Create a sleep atmosphere in your bedroom - curtains that block out the light, keeping the temperature lower than the rest of the house, and most importantly leave your worries on the other side of the bedroom door!

Take the time to unwind - do not exercise for at least 2 hours before bed. This includes housework! Take this time to read a chapter in your book, listen to relaxing music or just talk quietly with your partner.

Avoid the pizza and pickles - spicy or acidic foods can cause heartburn and indigestion. If possible have your main meal at lunch time, and go for the smaller lighter meals for dinner. Allow yourself 2-3 hours to digest your last meal.

Make an appointment with bedtime - try to keep your bedtime routine the same. Going to sleep and rising at the same time every day, will help to train your body in good sleep habits.

Don't lie there - if you're having trouble getting comfortable or falling asleep, instead of getting frustrated, get up. Have a bubble bath, read some more of your book, have a glass of warm milk. Give yourself some time then try again.

(http://www.pregnancyweekly.com/topics/sweet_dreams.htm)

serrich
didn't know your EDD is the same as mine!
Went to the gynae :p seems that to her that the baby is only 7 weeks old, 9.8mm they measured. can't really tell myself whether it is too big or too small.
now, my hubby is bring that black and white photo everywhere he goes!

shane
hee, me too, craving for junk food, esp Mac's french fries! and a bit of coke :p Am having quite a bad cough after my sore thoat, and waking up at 4 am this morning just to cough, got back to sleep and woke up to find myself very late for work!

cherry
i had creamy discharge, sometimes. but for me was still alternating between brown and this creamy discharge.

I'm now suspecting, the rough taxi ride i got this morning to be the cause of the brown discharge, because had to went thru serveral humps before reaching office, not a healthy and safe ride for 8 week old emboye.

cherry,
i also had creamy discharge, sometimes..

jane,
is it? Wat a coincidence huh!! My bb measuring 8.53mm at 6w6d. I also had no idea if my bb considered big or small lei...

I'm finally back after the long holidays. Like so long never use the internet

Shane, I went to see Dr Watt yesterday for my first visit. I really find her very nice and patient lady. Think I'm gonna stick to her. My EDD date 8 July. Baby measures 5.9mm at 6 weeks. Can see heartbeat, really made me tear. Too overwhelmed, like cannot believe it. By the way, how much did you spend on ur first visit?

I don't know why but I can't seem to eat the normal portion that I used to it. Somehow, the food seems stuck on throat, making me cough and vomit part of the food. Anyone experiencing this too?

Lisa

cherry,
i also have the discharge. should be normal. but not sure abt the gushing part. so far hvn't felt any gushing out of discharge.

Jane,
i also notice i have brown discharge when my tummy/womb contracts.

Lisa !
you're finally back. I was waiting for your posting! She's really nice right ? I was taken to her as well. Your baby's bigger than mine. I was only 4.8mm at 6weeks. I saw the heartbeat as well.
I spent $120 at my first visit. How abt yours ? What did she give you ? I had folic acid and duphaston.

Same, i think everyone the same. all of us can't seem to eat the normal portion of food. If I eat too full i'll feel like puking. very horrible feeling. So it's better to have small frequent meals. that's wat i'm doing now. But i get hungry very fast !

cherry,

think it shd be normal.. I experience white discharge too and sometimes a bit more like gushing .. but so far ok.

yap, but i think might delay because i hoping for a natural delivery instead of c-section. My next visit in 2 weeks time, probably because of my brown discharge, so for now, bearing down the folic acid pills and some protection pills...

Just curious ah, does anyone know if there's a website to know how old the foetus is according to its size?

Cherry,
I have whitish/yellowish discharge all the time. But never felt a gush of discharge. Did u consult your gynae on this?

Shane,
Yah Dr Watt is very nice lady. Me and my hubby were really taken in by her nice disposition. You spent only $120? I spent $170+. Me and my hubby did a blood test which costs $60 and $15 respectively. I was given folic acid too, even though my GP earlier have prescribed to me some multi-vitamins which contains folic acid. My next appt is in 5 weeks time. What a long wait...

Lisa

Lisa,
i only have website that tell you the week by week development of the baby. But not the foetus age by size.

Yes lor, that y i was inclined to stick to her tho' she only practise in ESH and MtA. Oh, you guys did blood test already ? No wonder. We hvn't. I think my visit tomorrow might do cos during the first visit, she told us all abt the test that we need to consider and do.

huh, following visit will be 5 weeks ? that will be a long wait manz......i think the same will go for me ... i'll wait till neck long long ....

Just came across this thread and really hope to join in to share our experience.

My EDD is 3 Jun 05 guess should be one of the earlier MTB in this thread. Have pretty bad MS but getting better now as i am almost 12wks already...But still constantly tired. Keep on staring on my computer time hoping it will fly by faster never so keen to knock off before preggie..

Hi Milly,

Welcome onboard. Glad to hear that ur MS is getting better. When did it start for you? I'm 6 weeks + and I don't have any MS yet *crossing my fingers and toes*

Lisa

Welcome milly !
Yes, I think you're one of the earlier June mums hee hee ...

Just hang in there. MS should get better when you enter 2nd trimester

Lisa

Had my MS even before i knew i was pregnant

Becos i am those type that never really monitor when my menses due so only went for check-up after i start to feel nausea & tired (very blur hor) By the time i confm my pregnancy already 6wks....you are so lucky not to have MS. Its pretty bad as i used to be energetic & can work till 9pm kind but since preggie cannot wait to knock off

shane,

Thanks for your encouragement definitely look forward to feeling better in 2nd Tri...can't wait to get over the 1st tri which seems like never ending initially

By the way have you gals sign up the package with your gnae? I jus change my gnae in my last visit last week when i was 11wk 4days baby measure 4.74cm and i also did the neck measurement test already. cost $110 for first visit will enquire if got package hopefully cheaper...next visit is one month later seems a long wait.

welcome milly!
hope you will get better soon. So, where is your gynae located? my colleagues is telling me the bad things about kkh that i'm starting to worry, but i didn't actually sign any package yet, only went for first appointment very recently.

Hi Jane,

My gynae at Mt E. Ya agree tat heard many bad things about KKH but i also have friends who have good experience there. I think becos KK is the largest O&G hopsital here seen the most O&G patients so definitely will have higher cases of complaints. Also they are the training grounds for practicing MO who are inexperience maybe tats why.

For me my choice is more becos KK not really convenient for me. I stay in the East & work in town so those in the North are out for me. I wanted a hospital in town so easier for me to go after work if i sign up for their antenatal classes later on also. The hopitalisation & gynae cost betw private & govt are pretty comparable. (of course pray hard no complications) I was thinking betw Glen E or Mt E and happen a friend recommended his Gynae in Mt E. Dun worry heard there are a number of good & experience gynaes in KK, most important you must be comfortable with him/ her. However, i do heard that it is more difficult to change your appointment time for govt hospital, unlike private you can call them if you want to visit but for govt you can only go to their 24hrs clinic if you have any emergency. How's your first appointment?

hi milly
i agreed that the higher number of cases of complaints may be due to that the hospital deals with large number of people.
i choosed KK because i lived near it (but i work @ north), practically can walk home from there, less $$ to take cab if late appointment.

my 1st appointment is relatively hassle free, just a bit of waiting here and there, because all those blood pressure + urine test and scanning are done separately. i'm quite fine with my gynae as she was referred by my GP, just that i'm a bit nervous seeing her.

I heard Mt E is the most exp one leh. How much is doctor fee for a normal delivery is it is not in the antenal package, I wanna c if my is reasonable, My is with doctor fee...

Actually, that's the main reason why i chose pte over gov clinics. I cannot afford to take leave or use excuse chit for the antenatal appointments all the time. My employer will not be happy if I do that.

some employers are so unreasonable! Esp so spinsters type.. Worst is those men who also have family... but not happy tat their staff go for antenatal appt during office hrs... Sigh!

Back from my gynae visit. Saw baby and feel so relieved and happy. I'm 9w3d now and baby is 2.7cm hee hee... so amazed to see baby developing, we could see baby's head, hands, legs.. baby's hands moved abit even. Really feel happy. Took my blood test today. hate it ! *bleh* hee hee... Next visit will be in 3 weeks time...yea....

milly,
i have not sign up any antenatal package yet. My Dr's package only start in 16 weeks. I think i'll sign up by then.

Re KKH
I believe there's gd and bad stories. As mentioned, higher no. of patients, higher no. of complaints. My sil gave birth in KKH and everything went very well. I think most impt is the Dr that you're seeing. Try to get the reputated one. But of cos famous ones, will be mean longer waiting time cos everyone seeing. It will be gd to go for their TPS which gives u specialised attention than the normal classic service.

Serrich,
Yah, I agree with you. Those unmarried ones hor, are usually the unreasonable ones. Even those married women also could be just as despicable as those unmarried ones. I think this could be one of the reasons why women tend to falter on the thought of having babies coz of the fear of wat the employers would think. Sigh~ Im now like a sitting duck Guess I have to wait till my tummy goes bigger then Ill break the news to them. See if I get terminated coz of my pregnancy

Shane,
Wow... happy to hear bout your baby's growth! I wonder hows mine doing. Though its only just 2 days ago that I did my scanning, I am eager how my little one is doing inside. By the way, they took quite a lot of blood rite? How come you have to see Dr Watt so soon ah? My next visit is in 5 weeks time when I'm in my 11th week. What a long wait!

Lisa

Lisa,

Ya I can understand. I wish i got the machine at home, then everyday can check on baby.. ha ha ...
Ya they took alot of blood !!!! goodness... Also had a urine test, did u ?

I'm seeing her for the DS scan (called the nuchal scan?) cos i'll be abt 12 weeks by then. It's the same for you, by the time you see her, at 11 weeks, she'll be able to do the scan for you as well.

Did u opt for additional test like HIV ? I did ley, very KS
Spent $170+ this time round, same as you.

I havent done any blood test yet.. Woah... I might be doing the test during my next visit.. Then i must be prepared to pay a lot liao... Sigh!

Shane,
The nuchal scan? Oh, is it the one to check for down syndrome rite? She did mention to me on testing for HIV and down syndrome. I wont be doing the HIV test coz I dont think its really necessary. But we are opting to go for the down syndrome test (just the blood test and scan, no amniocesis). If Im not wrong, the amniocesis test costs about $500. Really cant wait till the next visit

Lisa

serrich,
ya, must prepare, with the blood test, the cost go upz upz upz ! ... hee hee ..

lisa,
yupz, that's rite. that scan should be to check for neck thickness. I also opting for the DS test. I'll be doing the scan and blood test for 2nd trimester one that can be done at the clinic. Did u opt for that one as well ?

The thing abt amniocesis is if you get a high risk from those test, then u can consider to go for the amniocensis. Let's all pray hard that we'll be fine and have strong, healthy babies ! I feel the amniocensis should be very painful *ouch*

It's a long wait, but don't worry, it'll be here before u know it. Just spend more time in the forum and ur time will pass faster hee hee ...
I'm also looking forward to my next visit.
Now i just worry abt my blood test result. hope everything ok *keep fingers crossed*

my gosh, all these tests going cost a bit... and i was still trying recover from the lost from the wedding :-(

so, any idea what's the blood test for? it seems a bit early to determine for 'down symdrone'.

jane,
you just go married ?

there's a std blood test that they will do for all preggie mums and the other optional blood test is to test for down symdrome.

ya, customary in late sep. now still trying hard to clear those bills because made big loss (in $).

i read about blood tests on books and websites. but so far only first visit, no blood test yet. so dunno whether gynae will tell me to go for one subsequently.

Jane,
Yes, there is such a test to see if youre carrying a risk of having a DS baby. Anyway, the nuchal test (measurement of neck thickness), blood test and even the amniocetesis cannot guarantee that you are carrying a DS baby. It only measures some risk, which for u and ur husband to decide whether to proceed with the pregnancy, if there is a high risk that ur baby is having DS. The test is done at a specific timing, if Im not mistaken between 11-14 weeks and 21-24 weeks. Its an optional test, if youre interested to know the risk lah. If determined to proceed with the pregnancy no matter wat, then mabbe not much of a reason to know the risk.

Lisa

Bad news, bad news...

I think the most dreaded Morning Sickness Witch is here to haunt me *boo hoo hoo*

Thanks lisa for the explanation, hubby quite concern over it after getting brochure on it during my first visit. So, i guessed he'll be anxiously waiting for 5th month so that can take the ds test.

poor thing, could it be you are hungry? else have to bear with the ms

hope you will feel better soon.
heard from a colleague today that it usually last 3 to 4 weeks.

Dunno

Ya i also heard MT E quite ex initially but my friend who recommend me the gynae say hers roughly about $4k+ b4 medisave for normal delivery and 2 night stay. Another give birth in KK say also around tat range so i thought seems quite comparable. Still depends on the doc fee and the room you stay in. Have not enquire much abt package fees yet as it is only my first visit and clinic pretty pack since its a sat. Maybe will check more details next time. But doc did ask me wat is my preference of room but he say just indicative can change later...

So which hospital you choosing?

Lisa,
I did the nuchal translucency test (NT) in my last visit when baby about 11wks +. Doctor say accuracy of measuring DS about 80%. What it does is to measure the thickness of the skin behind the neck area using ultrasound so pretty safe and no need to draw blood or anything, if it is thicker then 0.3cm it means there is liquid accumulated and could indicate high risk of baby developing some disorder.

poor thing you having MS? you around 6wks right tats roughly the time frame when it struck me also...actually i feel pretty bad betw 6 to 10wks then it gets slightly better. But even now at 12wks i still feel abit nausea at night...do take more frequent small meals and try to rest more...

shane

must be really exciting to see baby developing right! i was also very trill to see baby's hands and legs moving around...

by the way have you gals start showing? for me altho around 12wks but still doesnt really show however can feel pants getting abit tight. i walk into a maternity dress shop the other day and the shop lady was staring at me then ask me whether i was pregnant? so pai say...now like not here nor there clothers getting tight but still not big enough to wear those maternity clothes..

Actually, I'm not too sure if what i'm experiencing is morning sickness. I just feel that part of my food is stuck in my throat, and I have to get it out somehow or rather (Err.. kindda sound a bit like anorexia). I just feel awful if I don't get it out. But I soon realised that I'm feeling this way coz I can't burp or release wind. As soon as I have burped enough, the feeling of food stuck in my throat just fades away. Does anyone feel this way too? By the way, now my hubby has to start weaning me like a baby in order to get the air out of my system... hahaha

Milly,
I've visited some maternity dress shops in Plaza Sing some time last week. One of the retail assistants also asked me the same question and I simply blushed and said I'm simply browsing... hee But I particularly like one of the shops so much that I think I'm definitely gonna buy their clothes. They sell those trendy maternity clothes that I've been picturing myself wearing them one day. Really, really nice and price not too dear...

morning ladies !

it's the dreaded monday !

lisa,
oh no, ur MS starting ? sounds like it. i feel the same way. but my starts at nite esp so when i eat too full, i feel like throwing up. But whenever after i burp, i'll feel better. Eversince, preggie, i noticed i have been burping more.

milly,
yes, it was really amazing. Hubby was really happy and i think the fact of him being a daddy finally sink in. He's talking more and thinking more of the baby these days hee hee ...
My next visit is 3 weeks later, so will only be able to see baby then again.

I hvn't start showing. It's early for me, only 9weeks+. I still can fit into much clothes, except for undies seem to be getting abit fitting.

morning everying...

shane,
u hve morning sickness at nite?? i think i oso leh..sometimes i will feel nausea in the evening..luckily is not vv serious..hope tt it will stay tt way...
ya lor..i hve been burping vv often..but now did not burp as often liao.....

ur hubby so sweet,has started to talk to bb liao..my hubby did not bother to talk to bb..he says bb is still vv small to hear him..he will talk to bb when bb is bigger..

forgetmenot,
ya, i noticed these few days, since the long holidays, that i feel yucky at nite after meals. so i try to take lesser at nite. but always feel the same, got the feeling of want to vomit more. sigh. i really hate it, hope it will go away soon.

i think ur hubby will change once he c a fully developed baby. my hubby also. before my last visit, he also nvr bother much. Only after the last visit, he saw baby's hands, legs, head, body, he felt so amazed and i think it dawned on him that baby is really a baby already and no more just a yolk sac hee hee ....

shane,
hehe..dunno my hubby lah...up to him lor..but think he will talk to bb when bb is bigger...
unfortunately,he is not able to accompany mi for my next visit..so he cant see bb..