(2005/06) Due in June 2005, Any 1

i read previous thread some say mil nv cook herbal soup etc, think if u give sm allowance 2 her she w do. My mil do each time I give her $50. Bird best herbs i pay myself 2. sometimes they no $ so cant ask them cook lah

infant care I aso tin of but is almost the same as I employ a maid + give my mil some allowance. Infant care so exp for 0-6mths some more if yr baby sick they ask u take home. All diaphers etc not included. i go c liao shocked

had thot of infant care.. but, it cost abt $1k per month, which makes ends hard to meet.

I think is more than 1K leh. Went 2 1 at SengKang after subsidy need 1.3K like tat. My mil said wan take care can but 1 maid. Maid is ard 700(half is from CPF) liao ai really jia luck. still must give $ 2 let her eat + give allowance 2 MIL sian sian sian........

dunno,
aiyo...u got to pay urself? for my case my mum paid n brew for me, my grandma just bot me some birdnest as well...n tong chong cou my mum also buy but tat's very ex...

u getting a maid? maid u got to get those who knows how to look after newborn wor..some ppl send their maids to infantcare training as well. aiyo...sick ask u to bring them hm? if working how to bring hm. diapers maybe too ex so they didnt include n some bb really can wet a lot

huh? ur MIL request for maid. aiyo...too many $$ involve liao

jane,
i tink shld be more like wat dunno said. but can reimburse fm government rite?

jane,
infantcare is expensive. but an alternative. or u can get a maid but get ur mil to oversee her ? but of cos nothing beats letting ur own pple look after. is ur mum ok to help u look after ? is she wkg ? if not can ask her to stay over ur place on weekdays ? then weekends, u look after urself ?

re maid
i don't really fancy hvg one cos value my privacy at home. also worried abt wat the maid will do. but if can't help and need ot have maid, it's always better to have someone ard to oversee the maid.

dunno,
can pay maid from cpf meh ?

re maid
yalor so many news abt maid but i tink having a maid with mother/mil still alrite but it's $$ issue now lor..

keke sorry for the confusion. Maid need pay for the maid salary and levy mah. Levy tin aso 300+ can dedect from CPF, maid salary is cash.

Von u lucky lah dun need pay yr mil.
If my mil rich I aso dun hv 2 give her lah. Give her aso not much lah 1 mth 200 make her happy a bit lor.

Have to get maid for mil lah she aso getting old taking care of baby nt easy, bad for the back lah. My big boss ask her mil take care of her 2 kids and her mil got 2 take care of 2 kids from another children with no maid. How can an old lady take care of 4 children. $ is a factor but no choice. If MIL sick liao u need pay even more.

dunno,
bb will be looked after by my mum, if it's going to be my MIL i rather quit my job n look after myself...shhh...dun tell anyone tis hor...

i will still reimburse my mum if not she wont be able to 'survive' with the allowances i give her every mth :p

ya hvg maid not cheap. at least 500+ a mth then still need to include her daily expenses. so it's not in my plans also. I only get a p/t maid to help out in the hsewk, cheaper alternative.

jane,
tt's gd enuf. but u might have to make the sacrifice of sending bb to and from her place back to ur place .... soemtimes just can't be help.

i might have to do that also if my mil not gg to stay over. but i just tell myself to tahan. once she's older abt 18 mths or so, then i'll send to childcare. so it'll be eazier ...

nowadays, i feel the need to pack up my place, buying bb things, washing bb clothes. wonder if it's the nesting instinct kicking in. do u girls feel that way as well ?

i feel as if there's so much to be done and bought but don't know wat to buy .. and where to start. even went to find a bag to be my hospital bag :p

I have not really start buying baby stuff. My hubby just get some clothing for the baby. As for the cot lah etc all hv not plan leh keke, very lazy. Tis mth so bz qing ming mah need go pray

i just bot a playpen tat's all n few pcs of bb's clothings, good thing my frd just called me saying she's passing down some bb's stuffs for me.

shld there be old clothes passing down to u gals got to wash it 1st. me arent getting a pram yet cos it's too ex already.

anyway GSS sales fm 27th may - 24 jul...this period before n after we still can go shopping :p kidsmall will be having GSS as well so u gals can get those more ex stuffs there but really how much cheaper got to do some homework liao.

btw...rene did email a list of wat to get for bb (she also got it fm other ppl) maybe we can discuss further?

bb's room still a lil messy might be cleaning up only after april

i also have not bot much. only some milk bottles, teats, pacifier, clothes. most of my stuff are handed down. now waiting to get the cot from my sil so can see wat size to buy the bedsheet for the cot. pram also from sil. car seat hvn't buy yet. don't know 1 2 buy first or not.

then i planning to start washing bb's clothes bit by bit since most are handed down. also need to look ard for a cupboard for bb to put her clothes.

yup i got a list of wat to buy from the other thread. just printed out to put with me so can check off wat i need to buy ....

my baby will be sleeping with me in the same room, so no need to prepared another rm, save 1 job hee hee :p

shane,
wow...u bot at least more things than i did...hahaha...i really duno wat to buy when i go see so many things at the shop. dun intend to let bb use pacifier so wont be buying that as for milk bot maybe getting couple of smalls n couple of big ones.

got passdown cot so good...got to buy new mattress for bb also...kekeke...

get those cupboard with rollers...so it will be easier to chg bb's clothings everywhr n anywhr :D

likely i will let bb sleep with us too but just in case during confinement it's best to prepare a rm for this lil' princess

267219.gif
hope it will help u further
do share if you come across any other things

von,
actually i also don't intend to let bb use pacifier, but i just buy. incase no other solution liow then use the pacifier.

don't seem alot to me ley ... i hope to get everything ready by end May. don't 1 2 hand bz leg bz when the time comes.

ya hor, didn't think of buying new mattress ley ... maybe should. sil say the mattress still in gd condition ley. think i c the condition liow then decide.

do u gals exercise ? nowadays me very lazy. thot of gg swimming but no swimming costume. m trying to walk more before delivery, hope that it will help.

hi gals!

von & rene, thanx for sharing e bb & mom shopping list. v good as a checklist. i'm also not getting bb to use pacifier, heeding mil's advice. i bought 4 big milk bottles & 2 small ones.

i'm also getting a place to store bb's many many things. m thinking of a chest of drawers. bb will b sleeping with me, so i din prepare a nursery.

i was so thrilled when i first got e bb cot n bumpers. so laid out bumpers n blanket with pillow n stuff on e cot. i think they're all getting v dusty now. i also must do washing soon....

reading e shopping list, really got so so many things to get. pockets gotta go bust again!

shane, a 2-pcs swim suit is easier to fit into our now bigger frame. i'd wear my mom's one (she is a size larger than me). i exercise initially like swimming at mom's place whenever i go over for dinner. now v v lazy. din exercise. but i think my job makes me exercise in a way - climb 3 flights of stairs up and down every day, stand or pace ard in class.... if that is considered exercise.

hi cookie,
yup i thinking of getting a chest of drawers as well ...

ya i wanted to get my mum's one, but she can't find it ! sigh ..

tt's definitely considered exercise, gd for you !

hi ladies, back from my checkup this morning.
at 27.5wks, bb weigh about 1.166kg and my total weigh gain 10kg

anyone of you repeating the gluclose test? i am told that i need to repeat the test again next week. Thus far, blood pressure is normal, but told my gynae that my mom had very high bp at last trimester. he said this info vv impt becos can imply that i have higher chance of having high bp later. so ask your mom and let the dr know.
Von, thanks for your list. very comprehensive.

oh, i was away for 1 day and so many messages.. wow, u ladies are fast man!... :p

anyway, Von, pls feel free to share the list - I got it from other kind-soul as well...

btw, i was on MC yesterday, cos' I had some veri bad pain around the rib cage below my right breast the night before, and it felt that it went thru the body and out from the back. Cos the same corresponding spot on the back hurts too... so I took a day off and see doc to check. Doc said the bb is fine, and this pain is mostly mama's liver problem, not related to bb. :<

anyway, jus hope that it doesn't come back...sigh

shane,
oic...
yap i understand but there are still so many things to get n if we buy n end up ppl also buy for our bb wow...then will hv duplicate liao.

if the condition really good n it's ur own relative then just get new bedsheet will do. if fm other ppl many advise to get a new mattress instead

nah...me too very lazy. was tht so exercise at the antenatal class but too lazy to do already...just walk during lunch time

actually was told cannot really go swimming can only relax in the pool nah

cookie,
ya my mum also suggested some small n big bots. small bots for plain water since bb still too young too drink too much.

hahaha...yalor long list to go...sigh...broke really broke liao

ladies...
i was at tamp last nite n wow...isetan n metro hving a big of sales too...but the clothings are so tiny until i dun dare to buy :p t-shirt only selling at $2.90 n rompers only abt $13 for Elle brand

cherry,
wow...u just put on 10kg n ur bb above 1kg liao? good leh...no worry so much lah...

no test require for me...so far so good

rene,
aiyo...u feeling ok now boh? must take care of urself wor...

<font color="0000ff">shane</font>
me too! always wanted to pack up place esp bb room, but need much help from hubby because of the heavy boxes in it... but he does not have the 'nesting instinct', so keep delaying it.

for me, planned to have bb have to sleep in separate room, or at least separate bed, else either get crashed by us or kicked by hubby (like last night
).

as for exercise, nope, didn't get to swim at all, but does tries to walk whenever i can.

<font color="0000ff">Vn</font>
Thanks for the file, it is really good.

<font color="0000ff">Rene</font>
i had the same pain around the rib cage too, but my gynae says is normal. I think have to do with the bra.
hope you are getting better and less pain now.

Von
Thanks for the list, really v useful! There are still quite a number of items that I need to buy.

Hi Gals
I suggest you get the necessary items earlier. After 30 weeks, you will feel very tired.
Yesterday, just went for my hospital tour. They brought us to the delivery suite, nursery rm etc...After that I feel kind of nervous wonder how would it be when its my turn
kao_scared.gif

Btw, do you know where to get button down pj. I went Robinson, JL all the pj looks so obiang.

hi jane &amp; Von, Thanks for your concern. The pain comes and goes... so today it's ok.

but it is very different from the chest congestion kind of pain.. cos' of the duration...(quite long.. at least 30mins to 2, 3 hrs)and the corresponding pain the back - taht's why i tot it might be something else other than preganency symptons... anyway, at least i know it has nothing to do wif bb.. and mayb after giving birth i will go do a more detail checkup at hospital... for now, hope that it will jus stay away.

thanks again.. ;)

Jane &amp; Adora,
Thks rene instead :p she's the one who gave me i just pass it ard to those who need it too

Adora,
hahaha...i bot one for my mum at OG n she finds it very comfortable, 100% cotton less than $20/-. she told her to buy that range when i'm doing my confinement. maybe u wanna go there n take a look?

rene,
wow...sound rather serious to me wor? u must take more rest liao...rmbr not to lie too much on ur back

cherry,
That consider a good size BB for 27.5wks. I have't get my GT result yet, dunno need to go for 3hrs test. I think maybe you try not to eat sugar related stuffs and drink protein(heard protein food helps to break down sugar).

Von,
funny leh, I downloaded but cannot open the file.

Re: Chest pain
Cld it be BB happen to punch or kick on it? I saw some ladies in other forum mention abt chest pain which relates to BB kicking especially when BB already in headdown position. Some mention its the expansion of our rib. I only feel chest congestion especially if my bra/clothes is tight in that area. Take care.

Another said because all the organs that were in your lower abdomin (where the baby is now) is now up in your chest cavity and it doesn't have anywhere to go.

I cant c the file at 1st , now can open liao.
Sorry for the wrong infor given yest, the miad levy is paid via CPF but is CASH :p

i also felt pain for the past 2 nights on my stomach next to the belly button. There is something like a stone, maybe the baby's leg or ankle pushing very hard against my skin and it was painful. However, it moves and sometimes subside after i rub it for a while... so i guess it's the baby's body part just not sure which part. Maybe my baby is too big and has no space to move, so have press hard against my skin and it felt stone hard... i really hope baby is fine.

my colleague who is supposed to due in early May had low placenta and was told to go for C-Section in end april. However, today, she has heavy bleeding and was admitted. I guess she will deliver today... that is about 5 weeks premature. Hope all is fine with her.

My placenta is abit low too and doctor said it will go up as time goes by... just wait.

Alright! The website is up again!! Wah...last few days like something missing...cannot "hear" all your voices. So glad to it's back!

ok, since detail is lost, I repost this again.

Dear Tollyjoy Customers,

We would like to invite you to our Warehouse Sale 2005. We have a wide range of products for you and your Baby. Don't miss this opportunity to make these worthy purchases. Below the details and highlights of the Sale:

Date : 7 April (Thursday) to 10 April (Sunday)
Time : 11 am to 7 pm
Venue : 29 Changi South Street 1, Changi South Industrial Estate, S(486771)

Free Transport Service at Pick up point : Carpark behind Bedok GIANT Hypermart
Thur &amp; Fri : Every Hour (11 am to 6 pm)
Sat &amp; Sun : Every 30 mins (11 am to 5.30 pm)

Highlights (While Stock Last):
Enjoy up to 80% on selected products
Enjoy up to 30% on regular products and 20% on new products (to be launched) Special buys at only $0.20!!

EXCLUSIVE BUYS
Wet wipes (100sX2 + 100s refill pack) U.P. $9.50 NOW $7.90
Unscented Wet Wipes (120sX2) U.P. $8.50 NOW $7.50
Travel Pack Wet Wipes (30sX8) U.P. $9.90 NOW $9.00
Mediwipes (30sX2) U.P. $3.90 NOW $2.00
Mediwipes (160s) U.P. $7.50 NOW 6.00 Baby Napkins (10pcs) U.P. $18.50 NOW $15.00

OFFER ITEMS
Baby Clothings @ 5 for $10.00 (selected prints)
Feeding bottles @ $1.00 each
Baby Caps @ $1.00 each

Hi gals !!!
So glad the web is up again !!!! was kinda bored yesterday.

Anyone bot the 'holey' bb mattress for cot ? i need to get one for my cot. Any idea how much and if there are diff sizes available ?
Thks !

I got my cot from my sil already. kinda small, abit dissapointed. don't think can use very long, but better than nothing. will make do first.

ya same here...damn super bored :p

ive yet to buy cos i hvnt open my playpen n do the measurement...i saw got many sizes n thickness as well lah...price varies fm $20 onwards i think...but i saw one rather ex much more than $50 seriously duno wat's the diff

ohh..no worry lah...there's this gal who just gave birth a few office away fm mine she said buy liao she also didnt use cos bb is sleeping with her.

Any1 went to Tollyjoy sales yet? Is it good? Is the product good.

aiyo They kept shifting the web server that we can't chat keke. Free one so wat 2 do :p

Oh ya hv I told u all I got my avent bottle and some avent samples on my 2nd visit for antenatal class?
Hope every visit got Freebies.

Who weighs their baby on week 30? I going c gynae this Monday and is my week 30 liao so happy

finally get to see the threads here active again.

i might be going to the tollyjoy sales either this evening on the way to my mother's place tonight or weekend if we cannot make it. Seen their website (www.tollyjoy.com.sg) to see their product range, but strange they didn't announce the warehouse sale on it, probably announced via email.

jane,
it's precisely im wondering if they really hv sales...esp their warehse is so far away n fm wat i know tollyjoy dun give warehse sales but some mtb claimed that they bot their stuffs there before.

dunno,
wow...good hor got freebies every now n then.

i'm going to see my gynae nxt wk which is going to be my 30th week also...most likely will chk with my gynae the weight of my bb n chances of normal delivery

Ladies....fyi...btw i wont be able to go cos ive courses to attend...anyone getting cloth diapers? i want to get another one but the vouchers are for 12

As promised, here are some more specials only for Bumwear Mailing List
members.

We have prepared two discount vouchers for you. You will be able to
print them out from this page:
http://www.bumwear.com/springspecials.html

We will be having a sneak preview of the sales for our mailing list
members starting from 9.30 am to 11 am. Kindly note that the $5 discount
voucher is for this 9.30 - 11 am period ONLY whereas the second voucher
is valid until the end of the sales at 4pm.

We are expecting a very good turn out, so do come early to grab the
best bargain !

See you on Saturday :)!

Finally we can chat again....felt so boring these few days when the site is down!

Shane
Did you manage to find the brestfeeding book by Mrs Wong? I'm reading another book which I find quite good too. <font color="0000ff">Title " What to Expect When You're Breast-feeding and What if You Can't? " By Clare Byam Cook</font>

Contents:
1. Preparing for Breast-Feeding
2. How to do a Breast-Feed
3. The Firsr Few Days (Before &amp; When your Milk comes in)
4. General Feeding Advice
5. Common Feeding Problems for Mothers &amp; for Baby

von,
oh got so cheap one ah, tt's gd. was afraid the mattress will be expensive...

wah, u girls gg c doc next week.. my is 1 weeks after u all, by then will be 31 week liow. so fast ...

adora,
I got no chance to go to the library. Will try to make a trip down over this weekend.
Thks for the info ! Will check out that book also.

i also got the freebies from Avent... nice of them to give a milk bottle. Will be ordering their nipple soothing gel for $16. Anyone knows if that is the market price or much cheaper? heard from a friend avent nipple gel is very effective for sore nipples.

i bought the chest of drawers (3 tiers) from Spotlight at $15++ (usual price is $39.90). Very cheap and worth it. Have been searching for one for the past weeks and i realised they are selling at $40-$50 for 3-4 tiers... finally found a cheap one...