(2005/04) Apr/May/June 2005 MTB

Zpt: tiny toes kena blister liao.. tats y so fast come hm.. jus nw wanted to try on a pair of pants, asked the lady which size i shld take, she said Large! wan to kill her..

Sgmom, Tigger - so u all found out the connection yet? kpoh me...

sweatcorn: ya me too, since bb arrive, i become lazy at skincare routine.. jus cleanse only.. dun bother tone and moisturise anymore.. i better buck up, scully later bcome yellow face wife!

Purplebear: thanks for tip! good idea to use the avent travel milk bottle.. bobo me nvr thought of it.

Sweatcorn,ming!
hi fellow dragons! heee

anymore??

Ming,
the brainy bb dvd juz play for the bb to c?
hmm nowadays we parents like so kiasu liao hor.. last time our parents where got like tat...

poohy,
the einsten activity center cannot be shipped out of US. Maybe by the time when i want to let my girl plays, i'll get whatever is available in sg.

Sweatcorn,
The brainy kids DVD is selling at $38. Gerber have an offer going on. Right brain, left brain and the block set selling pretty cheap. Can't remember the price already.

Anyone already own that DVD? Is there any dialog or jus music at the background? I have a few 'So bright' VCDs, there's no dialog and you'll be the one telling them to your babies.

hi purplebear,
so far,Ryan oni slept in yao lan for 3 days..n cos i seldom bring out..even if bring him out,he will with sleep in my arms or on my chest..

tasblue,
yup the nursing bra from JL is those cloth type. quite comfy to wear.

twinklets,
me also dragon ! but the 'fake' one
cos i born in leap mth in that year, if u know wat i talking abt.

sweatcorn,
tt means we 'same' age... hee hee ...

Hi Fellow Dragons: The Brainy BB DVD each cost $38. After Robinsons discount is $28.88. The cheapest i can find so far. The review seems good and it has got some Parents Award or something. Yar i also think i'm a bit ks. But slowly expose her to such things lor.

Meow: Gerber's promotion is only for either the Left Brain OR the Right Brain, not both. Heh initially i tot so cheap quite good, but not exactly so.

i went Borders today. Someone was interested in baby einstein? There are in Borders and it's going for 3 items for the price of 2. Damn worth it. It's like 33.33% off almost. i struggled so hard within myself for 2 hrs on wat to buy. In the end bought Dr Seuss's 2 set of books with cd, 1 peek-a-boo hardcover with different materials/touch (very interesting), 1 mini-bible story mini libary with 12 hardcover books etc.

i'm gog to start reading to Isabelle, hopefully.. She is beginning to recognise pple. Sometimes cry like mad with strangers, sometimes v happy and smiley. i wish she is always smiley but impossible for babies not to cry, ha ha.

There are some Lamaze toys also but very limited. Also available are cloth books for babies.

Kino @ Taka is having 20% storewide until 10 Aug also.

Hi did anyone use wide neck pigeon teats? I know that my baby drink her milk very slow, is it the hole too small for her? I even bought for 2-3mths old teats but she seem trying hard to suck.
Last time she can finish her milk very fast less than half an hour, now it seem more than half an hour. My baby currently now is 6wks old
Anywhere got sell those needles to poke the teats?

so many dragons.. any rats?

Meow : I have brainy baby right & left.. for the right, there is no dialogue, juz music and some toy sounds, but for left, there is.. like teaching ABC & 123.. and some simple words.

jamci: You can get the Farlin teat enlarger from Kids Mall. But their smallest hole is recommended for 3-4 mths, it may make ur hole too large. i tried, even though my baby is >4mths, the flow is too fast for her.

dewdrops/Stephanie: Ur babies are exploring their new toys! Xavier looks comfortable in his "throne". It's a swing/rocker right? Saw somewhere b4.

Stephy, where did u get Aaron's new toy from? Nice, v colourful.
How long can he sit inside? Will he get bored after a while or it can sustain him for quite long?

twinklets, shane:
me me!! (waves frantically) dragon too!! hehe

i was very tempted to get the dvds too. looks like it is a good investment lor.

Twinklets,
Mi went to Robinson again yesterday, the Bumbo stock came in liao! I managed to grab some Pigeon Baby Wipes too. ( Quite lucky as stock just came in yesterday)

BTW have anyone put their bb to sleep on the mattress on the floor? Cos thinking of putting her on the floor at my mum's place where she doesn't have a bed there. But a bit worried whether it'll be too cold for her esp my mum got ceramic flooring.

<font color="aa00aa">ming</font> :
I bought the activity center from baby sayang at $119.90. Everytime I will carry him up even before he can shows any signs of frustration. He seems to enjoy it.. every morning I will put him in for a while - abt 15 mins..

<font color="aa00aa">hytten</font> :
u going to padang? wanted to let aaron look at fireworks, but too bad can't.. because of 7th month..

<font color="aa00aa">purplebear</font> :
you mean pigeon wipes also got 20% off?
SAHM stands for stay-at-home-mom

<font color="aa00aa">lv</font> :
yes.. only comes in 1 color..

Stephanie,
Ya,wipes also got 20% but not sure they still have stock now, as they r always swept by mummies like us.
The good thing I like abt Robinsons &amp; John Little is that promotion items (like Wipes in the promotion pack) r still entitled to the discount. Maybe u can look out for the next sale but remember have to be fast okie!

Thanks purplebear, too bad miss the Fox sale. But whenever they have sale, I don't really know it cos' I think they never advertise.

Me too a Dragon.... By the way, when will Robinson sale end?

WOW never expect so many dragons here!!!
*waves frantically @ fellow dragons!!* hahaahah...

Shane,
ehh .. does tat mean u are born in 1977, feb 29????

Ming,
u are really good man, have already start to explore to Borders! I really kinda lazy heee.. i only brought 2 encylopedias from my niang jia (mine last time), 1 rhymes &amp; 1 fables, only managed to read 2 stories to her. I bochup even when she starts to whine here &amp; there, juz cont' to read ..

Stephy,
Aaron is v cute &amp; chubby leh. wat's tat tat he's sitting in?? how muz u bot? Tat 1 for wat?

Dewdrops,
hey tat rocker same as mine!!!

Good to use rite??

Purplebear,
wow u are so lucky to get the bumbo!!
I think u can juz buy a thicker mattress for kid, can 1 lar.

San,
Think Robinson storewide sale end today??

Btw, today brot Ashley to Labordor Park for picnic. Initially was raining, thus we 3 stayed in the car 'picnic'. Learnt how to change diaper in the backseat of the car.

Luckily later the day become bright &amp; sunny, &amp; we successfully had our picnic!

&amp; dear Ashley is cooperative thr'out, will upload the pic one of these days.

San,
Robinsons sale ends today.

Thanks Stephy, in that case, i dun think i'll get them. My aunt jus got me some leap frog DVDs. Took many hand down Dr Seuss from her too as her child are already teenagers.

Hi Ming and Twinklets,

Yes, Xavier is in a rocker. It's convertible to a high chair. Twinklets, you got it too? Found it very useful too. I use it as his "play and sleep" station. When I am alone with him, I will let him sleep in it so that I can rock him in case he stirred while I am expressing. Now since he can turn, also safer for him to sleep in it, then sofa. And since nowadays he doesn't like to lie down as much, I always prop him up in the chair for him to "play" or look at his toys. Here's a pic to show how he "kiao kar" in his chair while "reading" his TL First Book. This was his favourite toy until I bought the activity ball.
304462.jpg

Morning gals!!
304471.gif

Really wish today is a Friday man ..

Dewdrops,
yup i borrow from my sis. Last time was at my hse, found it real useful, especially when expressing milk!

Nowadays at my mum's plc cos she looks after her most of the day.
The book is v cute &amp; interesting. Where u got it frm? how muz?
Nowadays my hubby kinda scare I pop into forum too muz &amp; then will start buying things...

Jas: Huh.. havent leh.. we prob seen each other before coz of where we stay in the past but might not have actually known each other :p

Stephy: exersaucer looks tempting. But very space consuming. still considering. I found 1 from babycentre from Evenflo whereby it's foldable &amp; portable. not sure if it's available here tho.. not cheap leh.. USD72 bucks

dewdrops: Originally wanted to buy that for Valerie when I dun wan her to sleep on e bouncer anymore. But think think.. still decided to just bring over the playpen from my mom's place. Not cheap hor.. ard $250 for 1. My hb also thot not too bad coz can be converted to a high chair. Which brand did u buy? I liked one from Combi.. but was like $299 I think.

exersaucer: Will e BB's legs touch the floor? My SIL said our BB's joints are not strong yet, so shd not let them "stand" (coz my gal likes to do that when u carry her above our lap). So if exersaucer requires the BB to "stand" then wldnt it be stressing their knee joints?

Wow, so many dragon gals...

<font color="aa00aa">sgmom,</font>
I think we have met b4 but never have chance to speak with you..so we find each other familiar..

<font color="0000ff">poshies,</font>
hee hee, saw your on TV last nite while watching the news. How's the atmosphere there at Padang?

Hi Sgmon,

I think mine is much cheaper. Only $140 from BB Kingdom (after a bit of bargain). UP $159. Can't remember the brand, only know made in Korea. Saw it at Tom &amp; Stefanie some time later also and they are selling at $139 (Got 10% disc if you are member).

Actually I went BB Kingdom to buy cot, then my CL saw this and say it's really good and my bb seems to like it when she put him in it. Both me and hubby found it very interesting so bought it. So far no regret. Only bad thing I find is that it's a bit warm to sleep inside (not as cooling as bouncer) so must provide him with fan if not he will sweat at the back. My boy used to sleep on bouncer until I bought this (when he turned full month). Now my bouncers (Got 2. One I buy one and one is a gift from friend) put at my Mum's place and MIL's place.

Hi Gals
I am a dragon too!!

Dewdrops
I also want to buy that book for my boy. looks so interesting.

I intend to get a playmat for my boy so he could lie on his tummy....prob can learn to crawl too! Any good recomendations?

Stephy: Tt exersaucer u got is it from babysayang? Ur boi is like 4m+ now? I saw from firstfewyears.com.sg their exersaucers very expensive.. all in the $249-$299 range one. quite expensive leh.

Exersaucer: Anyone knws which brand of exersaucer is Mothercare carrying? I remember I saw one on sale at Mothercare Ctrpoint for ard $120. Cannot remember the brand. I think it's BB Einstein Acitivty Centre.. firstfewyears selling it for like $299. Babycentre.com selling it for US$89.95.

If not becoz it's a bulky item, definitely more worthwhile buying in States. So much cheaper. Ariella, u going to States right? Can consider buying, provided u dun mind lugging the big item all over the place :p

<font color="119911">purplebear :</font>
The last time when JL has the 20% storewide, I was told that the pigeon wipes doesn't entitle to the discount.. so I never bother to get it.. but luckily, NTUC is offering the 20%.. so manage to get quite a few packets

<font color="0000ff">Shane :</font>
Nice meeting u yesterday.. didn't really get to chat with you
juz after u left, aaron wakes up.. miss a chance to meet yr gal..

<font color="119911">Twinklets :</font>
Aaron is sitting on a exersaucer. I bought it from Baby Sayang, cost $119.90.

<font color="aa00aa">Sgmom :</font>
Yah.. it is quite space consuming.. now, my living room is going to convert into a nursery already.. hopefully, aaron will not grow sick of it so fast.

It got the bounce movement.. I think it shdn't has effect on the joints.

Aaron will be 4mth after tomorrow

re: exersaucer

LV, is it you who wanna get the baby einstein exersaucer ? I saw from the firstfewyears website they have it! But quite exp! I am more interested in the Evenflo Smart Step exersaucer ... got 50 songs!!! I love anything with songs... I like the safety first one that I bought from bb sayang.. (its much cheaper than firstfewyears) but the music volume very low leh
Maybe I will buy another one from evenflo..

steph... do u find your exersaucer the song very low in volume ? I can hardly hear it.

wah din know got so many dragon ladies... hee hee hee...

sgmon, u mean your SIL say bb shld not 'stand' now ah... aiyo we like to lift kaeden up to let him stand on our tummies... hmmm so i better dun do that liao... must oso find a way to tell my MIL not to do that cos she loves to let Kaeden 'exercise'...

poshies, u went pandang ah?? u brought gerald along too??

sad that wun be able to join u gals this sat cos its a bit too far... hopefully i can join u all the next time if we r meeting at central or east side... kekekeke...

sgmom,
Anthea got the Combi one,(cost around $240)Lucky for her, she got it as a gift.
But I think it's a good investment cos' it can be used till 4 yrs old as it can later be converted as a high chair.

San,
Just popped into the thread often then u'll not missed the next Fox sales.

Twinklets,
No lah, I didn't buy the Bumbo, my husband thinks Anthea's too young 4 it though I tried to convince him that it's meant for bb fm 3 mths onwards. So "purchase disapproved"

Poohy: Wa.. Samuel is so fortunate to have a mom like u.. so many toys! :p

dewdrops: Wa. Aaron 4mths tmrw ha... hmm.. then he is abt 2 wks older than Valerie...

exersaucer:
I also like the Evenflo one (Megasaucer / Ultrasaucer) coz they are foldable (apparently). I also saw the Smart Step one from firstfewyears.com.sg.. $399 leh... super expensive. But if u got fren coming back from States &amp; dun mind carrying tis bulk item for u, it's ard US$99.95 from Babycenter.com

It's pretty expensive.. &amp; space consuming. Not sure my hse got any place for such "gadget" liao... but I think it beats alot more toys in terms of their functionality.

Dewdrops,
yr Xiaver really knows how to "kiao kar", big boss in the future!

Stephanie,
Not true leh, u got "conned" by the salesperson who told u that. I've bought a few times during sales liao.

Sgmom,
not safe to let bb stand? but why during PD assessment, PD holds her up to see whether she can stand.

purplebear: dunno leh? My SIL is a GP. Yest my hubby was carrying my niece (11mths) &amp; he put her on the floor to walk. So I was saying "come walk walk" to encourage my niece to walk. Next thing my SIL came out of the restaurant &amp; tell me that she thot I was asking my gal to walk! She says their joints not strong, cannot stress. But I've read from babycenter that 'standing' is a reflex action. If BB is not ready, they wldnt 'stand' one. so i'm also confused. Nvr mind. I also dun think it's such a good idea to let her 'stand' for long (altho she is actually quite firm when she stands). I'll be bringing her to my PD for the 4th mth review some time soon. See wat the PD says.

poshies: UR PD tells u Gerald can start eating 'solids' right? Wat r the basis? My gal skin not so good. Always get eczema or heat rash. My cousin &amp; her hb got sensitive skin so the PD told her not to start her son on solids until he reaches 6m. I have yet to convert Valerie from solely breastmilk to formula. THinking of doing 1 step at a time... But worried that starting too late on solids has it's problems too.. as of now, she is not very keen on drinking water liao. good mood gobble down.. not good mood.. play with e teat.

poohy,

yah lor.. the music is very soft.. at first I tot got to put batteries.. because the button not very sensitive.. press a few time then music out.. yr surrounding must be quiet, if not can't hear the music.. but it is the cheapest exersaucer we can find in the market..

You brought your pump out for shopping before rite? After you have pumped in nursing room in shopping mall, how do you manage to keep the EBM cool?
I am planning to go shopping on Fri. If bring the pump together with the ice pack, by noon time I think the ice will melt liao. How??

RE: High Chair
Anyone bought the plastic one from Ikea or do you think those high chairs that can be converted to table and chair will be better?

Stephy: The cashier con u one. Whenever Robinson/JL has their storewide discount, everything, including sales items are on discount. Of course, except for the standard things like cosmetics &amp; fragrances, supplier controlled items like triumph, M.E.L etc. H/E the condition of the discount might vary. E.g. over the National Day wkend, u'll get the discount only if u charge to ur Robinson's card, so if u pay by other means, no discount. When they indicate "for all shoppers" then u can pay in any mode u'll still get the discount. Pigeon wipes got discount. i buy before.

You plan to introduce FM to Val soon? I am thinking of doing that only when Keane is 6mths. Started him on fine cereal last sat. So far so good.

Tigger: EBM can be kept at rm temperature (22 degrees) for 8hrs. Whenever u r inside shopping mall it's around that temperature so actually no need to bring ice pack. Normally after expressing I dun stay long outside, maybe for another hr or so only. I'll put the EBM into an insulator to keep the temperature steady. Once I reach home i'll put inside the fridge immediately.

H/E if u'll be outside then not advisable to do wat I did lor.. coz outside temperature is definitely much higher than 22 degrees.

re: exersaucer

maybe if u all interested in one particular one... we can try to coordinate to see if we can get a bulk discount somehow
I like the evenflo smartstep too... maybe i will buy this one ... think my mum sure discourage me .. :p I like the baby einstein one but dun seems to have much music in the description leh...