(2005/04) Apr/May/June 2005 MTB

Just wanna share with something about Caffeine:

Caffeine is a central nervous system stimulant and during pregnancy it has an extended half-life. For years there has been a question about its effect on pregnancy. Some studies have suggested that caffeine is a risk factor for reduced birth weight and that it increases the risk of birth defects and miscarriage. Studies of woman who consumed more than 300 mg of caffeine per day do have a greater risk for delivering smaller babies, but the research has not been able to determine whether it is the caffeine or other lifestyle factors that cause the lower birth weights.

more abt caffeine...

We do know that mothers who are heavy caffeine consumers could cause caffeine withdrawal in their newborns, which will cause feeding difficulties, excessive crying, poor sleep, and irritability. Because of the potential effect on the baby, pregnant mothers should keep their caffeine consumption moderate, that is, less than 300 mg or two cups of coffee per day. Keep in mind that other beverages can carry caffeine too.

I will not worry too much about a cup of milo everyday as 8 oz chocolate milk = 8 mg caffeine and 6 oz hot chocolate from mix = 4 mg caffeine.

The high ends are: 12 oz cola = 37 mg caffeine, 12 oz small take-out coffee = 206 mg caffeine and 6 oz brewed tea = 36 mg caffeine.

thanks Florence for the info, at least we can drink our milo at ease now. hehe

Once I become pregnant, I find milo very nice & tasty, must drink it every evening at work.

So happy today is friday, at least tmr can wake up at 10 to 11+ ! yippie!!!!

Twinklets,
I realise I sleep for longer hours now. I used to need only 8 hrs of sleep but now I can sleep as long as 10 hrs. I felt like a lazy pig.

Meow,
u mean u havnt decided any gynae to delivery ur bb yet?
u r most welcome if u choose her, i thk.i find her quite gd n responsible when ur big moment come. u wont, i mean i wont feel panic/worried/scared when she was around.she look so confident. but dont know abt her stitcthing skill, what mean by gd skill?

any gals know what a gd stitiching skill is? meaning no pain/less pain after? or wound nicely joined?

<font color="0000ff">ras</font>
same here.. i've been sleeping a lot esp. during the weekends and nowadays always have to sleep early.
So glad the weekend is finally here!

hi ras,
the more i sleep the more tired i get... but if i don sleep also can not...

hi florence,
thanks for the info.. .think if i got the urge to drink the
216362.gif
i will think twice...

wow, you ladies are so lucky!! i used to be able to sleep in... but now, i will wake up at 7 something and will not be able to sleep ....
sometimes, will even wake up at 6 plus.
then i will turn on the tv to watch cable.....
i really miss those days where i can laze and sleep in....

my sleeping habits din really change actually ... cos I always seems to lack sleep at evening time.. so i sleep before 11 am everyday. But my biological clock also very sharp .. everyday sure wake up abt 7:30-8am at the latest

argh weekend coming but ... I gotta study for my masters exam... cant even rest... sian.

Hi poohy,

Good news... Saw my gyane today... I need to continue Metfomin for one more week and that's it. I need to take once a day only. I still need to continue with my duphaston until week 12.. :p

My baby has grown to around 2 cm.. :p I could see its head and legs. Very excited. Oh my gynae still used vaginal scan cos can't really see from the tummy scan.. :p

picnic,

great... then u no need to take metformin in 1 week and probably your ms will start to subside also
duphaston shd still be ok

wah so fast can see the legs liao
Did u see bb moving ard during the scan ?

Hi poohy,

I think so. I asked my hubby... he said got see the baby moving though I didn't see it myself. Looking fwd to the next visit... my gynae said can see the 'face' by then..
Yeah... I feel much better now as no need to take metfomin anymore..

Check with you, when will u actually start looking for confinement lady? Any recomendation from frenz so far?

Me also craving for COKE. However, for my bb sake, got to Lun lor. Have never been so discipline in my entire life. :D

Linn,
I dunno leh. I'm really lost liao. If i try to find Dr. Caroline, i need to go back to my GP to get the referal letter. But whenever i go there, the clinic has closed. Then Dr. Caroline is going to resign soon and she's also going to give birth soon in Feb. So she won't be the one assisting me at all.
But of course she'll get another doc to take over lah.

Just a update... Went for my appointment today and also to do the first trimester test. So relieved to see bb after 1 month
bb grew from 1.8 cm to now 6 cm! Heartbeat is strong and bb's so restless, keep moving around. My weight gain is 1.6 kg after 1 month, doc said its normal...

Now waiting for the scan and blood test results... but doc said that the scan looks normal and should be alright

Hi Florence,

Congrats to you that your baby is growing on fine. How many weeks are you?

I'm in my 12 weeks but havent gain any weight yet.

Hi Miata,

I'm in my 12 weeks too. Doc said that its normal for some ladies for not gaining any weight during this period, infact some loss weight even...

Oh, so you are in your 12th weeks too. Baby's 6 cm.. My next appt is 8th next month, the last check, my baby is 3.78 cm.

216882.jpg

<font color="0000ff">as @ wk 25-Oct-04</font>
<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>April Babies</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Week</TD><TD>Deliver at </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Poshies</TD><TD>03/04/05</TD><TD>17</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hazel79</TD><TD>06/04/05</TD><TD>16</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>ming</TD><TD>08/04/05</TD><TD>16</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>linn</TD><TD>10/04/05</TD><TD>16</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Krazbi</TD><TD>11/04/05</TD><TD>16</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Icemilo</TD><TD>12/04/05</TD><TD>15</TD><TD>MEH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Piglet77</TD><TD>12/04/05</TD><TD>15</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tigger88</TD><TD>12/04/05</TD><TD>15</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tane</TD><TD>12/04/05</TD><TD>15</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little_ones</TD><TD>14/04/05</TD><TD>15</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Funny</TD><TD>15/04/05</TD><TD>15</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Meow</TD><TD>15/04/05</TD><TD>15</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>shadow</TD><TD>16/04/05</TD><TD>15</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Poohy</TD><TD>16/04/05</TD><TD>15</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stephanie</TD><TD>22/04/05</TD><TD>14</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Miata16</TD><TD>26/04/05</TD><TD>13</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Florence</TD><TD>29/04/05</TD><TD>13</TD><TD>?? </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>May Babies</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Week</TD><TD>Deliver at </TD></TR><TR><TD>twinklets</TD><TD>04/05/05</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>SGH </TD></TR><TR><TD>oreo</TD><TD>11/05/05</TD><TD>11</TD><TD>ESH </TD></TR><TR><TD>bloom_tan</TD><TD>18/05/05</TD><TD>10</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>bluesea</TD><TD>20/05/05</TD><TD>10</TD><TD>SGH </TD></TR><TR><TD>westbb</TD><TD>23/05/05</TD><TD>10</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Elibaba</TD><TD>??/05/05</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>LV</TD><TD>31/05/05</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>?? </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>June Babies</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Week</TD><TD>Deliver at </TD></TR><TR><TD>picnic</TD><TD>02/06/05</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>GEH </TD></TR><TR><TD>adora</TD><TD>06/06/05</TD><TD>7</TD><TD>GEH </TD></TR><TR><TD>ras</TD><TD>07/06/05</TD><TD>7</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>shalini</TD><TD>08/06/05</TD><TD>7</TD><TD>?? </TD></TR><TR><TD>jamci</TD><TD>15/06/05</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>?? </TD></TR><TR><TD>megtan</TD><TD>21/06/05</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>?? </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>
legend
<font color="0000ff">MEH - Mt E, MAH - Mt. A, GEH - Gleneagles, ESH - Eastshore</font>

<font color="ff0000">Do let me know if any of the data is incorrect or not up-to-date.</font>
<font color="ff0000">Anyone wants to join the list, let me know, thanks!!!</font>

PS: I used this website http://www.amazingpregnancy.com/timeline/index.phtml
to estimate no. of weeks based on the EDD.

can i ask a question....?

my mother in law likes to cook chicken with ginger and lots .. i mean lots of the wine (those that she made using rice biscuit; mi2 bing3) and will get upset if i dont eat that dish.
she said its very good for baby and me... but in my reading, i understand that any kind of alchol is bad for the baby. so am i right to say that the wine is also not good for baby?

Krazbi,
Ginger chicken is good, can clear your 'wind'. Those wine is not hua1 tiao1 jiu3 is it?

Poohy,
when's your next appt? Is it 3rd Nov as well? I'm going on that day to see Dr Tan KH. But i'm going on this wed for MSS. Wonder still need to take or not since i've already taken NT test.

meow,

me too! going to TPS to do my MSS this wednesday. And yup, supposed to have an appt with Dr Tan KH for the NT+MSS results or dunno wat. Do you know why we need to meet him again ? Anyway, I asked my gynae and he say I can just see him if I want instead of going to the 3nov appt. So I probably wont be going ...

I'm a new MTB, just tested myself +ve in a home preg test and i figured my EDD should be end June 05. And i'm so happy to see so many Apr/may/Jun mothers to be!

btw, has anyone heard of Dr Lisa Chin from Gleneagles? I've scheduled an appt with her this sat, and was wondering what can i to expect to "see" from the u-scan at 5 1/2 weeks (from LMP)??

<font color="0000ff">shekinah</font>
Congrats &amp; Welcome!!!
At 5 1/2 weeks, you may not be able to see the heartbeat. You should instead be able to see the gestational sac.

Florence, your baby is already 6cm. I wonder how much my baby has grown so far. Cant wait for my next appointment.

meow, it is not! i know the ginger does the trick but its the wine that i am worried about. she does not just put in a little to add taste, she puts in so much , it is like soup. it is actually rice wine but home made and very concentrated. i used to take it when i was not pregnant and after taking it, my face would flush. so the alchol content is not really evaporated.
so now, i am wary about taking the alcohol but she was not pleased and made some sarcastic remarks.

i am also new to this thread. i should be in my 4th weeek now. just did a scan with the doc yesterday. Saw the sac, its sooo tiny. My EDD should be end of Jun05. I am suffering for terrible rashes which is strange at this early stage.

Anyone starting to take bird nest already? Need some advise on which type to buy and how to prepare it?

Morning Ladies!

Welcome Shekinah &amp; Cherry!

Hi Krazbi, maybe you can tell her that you feel nauses after taking the wine soup? Actually I have my own problems at home too... FIL smokes in the washroom and all the secondhand smoke will still be there when I go to the washroom... but I can't tell him not to do it

Hi Miata, I'm sure yours is about the same too
just have to wait for your next appointment. Sometimes I will ask hubby why he didn't become a gynae... if not I can see bb everyday

Ladies, I have been told by a friend that I should not take Del Monte's banana during pregnancy and even to babies before 1 year old, she don't remember the reason. Can anyone please enlight me on the reason why...

My mum just cooked some birdnest for me last weekend. She cooked the bird nest for 2 hours. She added rock sugar and ginseng. Ginseng does helped to "kill" the bird nest's smell. As to the sequence, i m not sure leh. Heard fm my MIL that if its Xue Yan, has to cook for at least 3 hours.

Florence,

Both my mum and MIL also warn me abt Del Monte's banana...they said that it's too cooling for pregnant women..and for babies, tink it will "sheng tan"...

Hi Krazbi,
my mum also cooked some chicken with homemade wine with chicken and ginger yesterday! She said that I can take a little only. This type of wine is better to take more when after birth cos there is alcohol content. It tastes nice though :p

Hi Florence,
Monte's banana is a 'cooling' kind of fruits which is not adviseable to take. The shorter kind of bananas which we bought from market is more recommendable cos it's the opposite of Monte's.

<font color="0000ff">Hey gals!</font>
An update here ... went for my checkup yesterday.. and was shocked to find that i put on 5kg!!
But i was underweight to begin with, so even with the extra weight, i'm still considered ok, i think.

My gynae did not ask me to cut down leh.. think i drank too much milk, overeat and slept too much plus didn't exercise at all.

Oh well, anyway, my baby decided to grow up faster. EDD has been pushed forward another week, so that makes me 12 weeks. The baby measures abt. 5.6cm.

Anyone knows the gender of their babies already?
If you do, let me know and i can update the list.

Hi gals, just to add on to the list of cooling food. My mom told me stay away from Del Monte banana, bittergroud, chin chow &amp; pineapple as well. too cooling for pregnant woman. do we have any coffee lovers here? i am finding it very difficult to stay away from coffee totally. would one cup a day be alright?

hi afternoon mtb

cherry, i read that coffee took away your calcium that why it is encourage not to drink for this period.

Hi Cherry,
Though my gyn say is okie to take a cup of coffee a day but i will advise no.... luckily i'm not a coffee's lover.....

Hi Stephaine,
Yup was not ginseng is no no for preggie... but the gyn say otherwise.... hmmm....

Hi MTB,
actually it will be good to take 'pu' only at 2nd tri... so though who reach2nd tri can start taking .... but not too many....

for wine... i think for cooking purpose is okie... but not too much....

Hi Krazbi...
to do a trick is act like u can take the smell if she put too much lor.... u know lah preggie lady can hate/love certain food.... at this point.... just pretend u can take it.... like feeling vomit... then she might get the hints.... she can say too much as different preggie lady react differently to certain food/smell... hee hee

Thanks ladies for the advise on Del Monte's banana, but why only Del Monte's? Wasn't is applicable to all "long version" banana and not only target at Del Monte's?

Hi cherry, one small cup of coffee a day will not matters but not more than two cups (more than 300 mg of caffeine)... Please kindly see my previous posting on the harmful effects with caffeine on the foetus.

Hi Stephy &amp; poshies, I think it depends on the type of ginseng... I remembered when I last went to Korea, they brought us to a national shop that sell ginseng and some of the ginseng product that they sell were actually for pregnant woman (I think one product is that they soak the ginseng in honey and when you want to eat, just cut a slice). Another product is for babies (ginseng powder) and they mothers will mix it with milk and let the babies consume.

just received a call from my gynae. My triple test result is out. Everything is ok except that i am a bit anaemic and need to take iron tablets.

anyone taking iron tablets now?

poohy,
I dun think i'll be going to the TPS. Think i'll be going to the C clinic and AMC. If i'm not wrong, the appt for 3rd nov is packaged in the NT test we paid for. I've jus checked with my hubby cos when given appt, i went to the ladies. The nurse told him it was another review, think it'll include another scan or what. But it's ok if you dun want to go too. You going to sign up for the antenatal class? I'll be doing so on wednesday. Think i'll fix the class on friday evenings.

Krazbi,
Yeah tell her you dun like the taste of it now as compare to the past. Let your hubby know this so he may talk to his mum. Well the BB's is part of their blood too right? Think hubby will not harm his precious child nor nanny wants to harm her grandchild right?

Florence,
Yeah my SIL also told me not to eat those long type of banana. Those short ones are okay and i did take 1 or 2 when i feel like it.

actually i already told hubby about the wine thingy... hehe told him to collaborate with me...
so he told his mother that alcohol will affect baby's brain development. his mother was not pleased and she said she also took when she was expecting her children; meaning hubby, and he turned out fine. then she went on to say in the past, she was very poor thing cuz no one cooked for her.