(2005/04) Apr/May/June 2005 MTB

hi meow,

it's better to have a gap of few hrs before taking the vitamins. i was told by the nurse that with milk, your body will not be able to absorb the vitamins well.

have you started using the olive oil ? is it oily ?

blusea,

must be glad to see the heartbeat. hearing the heartbeat is even more amazing.

hi stephanie,

oh you mean the $300 hospital fee is the amount we can claim from medisave ? i thought that is the hospital charge per day (not inclusive of bed charge) ??? I need to clarify during my next visit.

dear mummies,
i have some items for sale. should u b interested, pls email me at [email protected]

brand new condition:
1) medela double electric breastpump
2) my 'brestfriend' breastfeeding pillow

brand new:
1) 3 pkts of pet pet s size diaper
2) 1 pkt of 20 medela storage bag n 1 pkt of 10 avent clip
3) infantino mosquitoe net and stand

Welcome Ras!

Meow,
Actually I don't know where's the womb exactly hehe.. but sometimes will still feel discomfort like cramps and coughing will feel a pain too.

Poohy,
Yesterday I did my u/s. Doctor only said there's yolk and sac and progressing well. Didnt say about heartbeat. He said go back 2 weeks later to check heartbeat which will be week 8..is it normal?

LV,

ya some people detect the heartbeat slightly later. by 8 weeks, you shd be able to see your bb heartbeat liao

hi ladies, do any of u eat/drink any chinese "pu pin" for pregnancy? which ones are good? i am at a loss leh and my mum also dunno much about such things one...

Ras! glad to see you here! welcome!!!!

Poohy and funny, yea, really happy to see the little heart beating away! A consolation for all the m/s I'm suffering!

Poohy, my next appt is in early Nov and I shd be wk 12 by then. Will be going for my nuchal scan and hope bb is normal.

Ras, yah, agree with poohy, you can consider seeing gynae from week 6 onwards, as gynae will want to detect heartbeat. For me, I waited till wk 7 to see gynae as I scare wk 6 still cant detect and I gotta go back again!
This was what happened when I had my first kiddo. I so anxious, went to see gynae at wk 4!!!
End up gynae said cannot see anything except a sac, so was told to go back in another 2 weeks to detect heartbeat. So now, I clever liao, went at wk 7 and chances of detecting heartbeat is higher.

LV, yes, it's common to detect heartbeat slightly later. Last time for my first kid, I did abdominal scan and was told heartbeat is more difficult to see from abodominal scan before wk 8. So I did the vaginal scan to detect heartbeat at wk 6. Now for my 2nd bb, i'm wk 7 and luckily, no need to go thro vaginal scan this round, saw heartbeat by scanning abdomen! phew!! So dont worry too much okie!

hi westbb
chicken mayo/tuna mayo should be safe, y dun dare to eat? if you have a certain craving, should go ahead to satisfy it, unless the food is raw or not safe. ;)

hi meow,

thanks for the info! I will confirm with my gynae again on going for the NT scan.

anyone knows if I can start taking birdnest after the first trimester?

Sorry to interrupt.... just wondering if i can get some assistance from here. Despite being a mother of one... i am considered a newbie

Roughly how much is the whole course of consultation? Including the scanning and etc etc

I only remember paying 3K for my whole delivery and hospital bill.... but course i skipped the whole routine consultation before delivery. i have the slightest clue on how much it costs.

Anyone heard anything about craving for beef, high chance that it could be a boy?

poohy,
Which gynae you seeing now? Male or female? Try eating pig's liver, its said to be good for blood. I kept asking my mum to cook that for dinner.

Funny,
the lite one is not as oily as the normal one. But the green tea flabour one smell real nice. i only apply before i sleep cos lazy to apply before i go to work. But i also dunno how many times should we apply a day.

LV,
womb is at where your gynae so the U/S. Oh yeah, when i cough or sneeze, i try to "carry" my tummy...

WestBB,
think can take black chicken soup, but dun put dang gui in the soup.

Icemilo,
I'm taking ham and cheese for the past few days to increase my intake of calcium. Even my friend also did that during her pregnancy.

Tane,
i was very naughy....i know its wrong, but i really miss it so much...ate 2 slice of raw salmon last weekend.

Tigger,
my mum say eat birdnest after 3 or 4 months....say early stage is more for the mummy instead of for bb. My mums says will start to "pu" me when i'm 4 or 5months pregnant.

meow,

me seeing dr ct yeong at kkh now. He's a consultant in the reproductive medicine unit. I had been seeing him since 2 years back.

my hubby also keep asking me to take liver but .... i dun think i will cos not everyone can cook the liver tasty enough for me to eat. If not well cook, the liver is either too hard or raw. there will be a smell.. at least to me. Think maybe i should start to take the calcium pills and multi-vit pills.. shd have more supplement.

Tigger..

me dun intend to take any "pu" or tonic. I had never dare to take those things including birdnest. The only thing I take is meat (chicken, duck and pork only) and selected fish.

<font color="0000ff">Poohy</font>, i was advise not to take liver as it is too rich in Vitamin A and it is not good for the BB. The Specialist in KK told me when i was in first trimester not to take liver. I am not sure if after 1st trimester, can we eat or not. But if really need to eat, maybe just eat little bit, ok!

hmm...i have cravings for birdnest now...happy that i can start taking them soon.

poohy, liver is very good. it is to "pu" blood. try to cook them yourself. Fried liver with ginger is yummy...

ocean, is it? i didnt hear that liver should not be taken during 1st trimester leh...have to check with my gynae...

wat abt mutton...some people told me not to take mutton.

meow, wah you take raw salmon ah...very naughty of you...although i love sashimi, i have to stop till i deliver...gynae says avoid leh...

poohy,
fry liver with ginger and spring onions indeed are nice. Me also dun like to eat too hard for the liver. I like it with a little soft. Will steamboat be a better choice for you then? Well you control the taste mah.

I go ask the gynae tomorrow about the liver issue. Better make sure i still remember about that.

Tigger,
i go japanese restaurant with my hubby mah, go there of course must eat some raw fish right?
I remember last friday i took rojak. Rojak got pineapple...i totally regretted eating that. It made me poo 3 times in a day.
So please, stop eating pineapple and those 'dirty' food or else its harmful to the bb during early stages.

meow, i also went to a jpn restaurant last fri... but i took tempura instead of raw fish...hubby dun allow me to eat...

have you tried the sashimi at Ikoi at Mirama Hotel? That's my fave! The Jpn buffet is simply yummy... I miss that place...

168100.gif
168101.gif

<font color="0000ff">as @ wk 04-Oct-04</font>
<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>April Babies</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Week</TD><TD>Deliver at </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hazel79</TD><TD>06/04/05</TD><TD>14</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Krazbi</TD><TD>11/04/05</TD><TD>13</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Icemilo</TD><TD>12/04/05</TD><TD>13</TD><TD>MEH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Piglet77</TD><TD>12/04/05</TD><TD>13</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tigger88</TD><TD>12/04/05</TD><TD>13</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tane</TD><TD>12/04/05</TD><TD>13</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Funny</TD><TD>15/04/05</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little_ones</TD><TD>14/04/05</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Meow</TD><TD>15/04/05</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>shadow</TD><TD>16/04/05</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Poohy</TD><TD>21/04/05</TD><TD>11</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stephanie</TD><TD>22/04/05</TD><TD>11</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>May Babies</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Week</TD><TD>Deliver at </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>oreo</TD><TD>11/05/05</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>ESH </TD></TR><TR><TD>mail_lum</TD><TD>14/05/05</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>?? </TD></TR><TR><TD>bloom_tan</TD><TD>??/05/05</TD><TD>7</TD><TD>?? </TD></TR><TR><TD>bluesea</TD><TD>20/05/05</TD><TD>7</TD><TD>?? </TD></TR><TR><TD>westbb</TD><TD>23/05/05</TD><TD>7</TD><TD>?? </TD></TR><TR><TD>LV</TD><TD>??/05/05</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>?? </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>June Babies</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Week</TD><TD>Deliver at </TD></TR><TR><TD>ras</TD><TD>??/06/05</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?? </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>
legend
<font color="0000ff">MEH - Mt E, MAH - Mt. A, GEH - Gleneagles, ESH - Eastshore</font>

<font color="ff0000">Do let me know if any of the data is incorrect or not up-to-date.</font>
<font color="ff0000">Anyone wants to join the list, let me know, thanks!!!</font>

Welcome to all the newcomers!!
Was away on course the last 2 days!!

Ras, congrats!!!
Good to see you here !

Hi Funny,
Was told that we are suppose to take the medicine after an hour after food (if the medicine is mean for after food)
168130.gif

Hi LV,
It shld be normal, coz at the early stage the heartbeat might not be detected yet. But by 8 weeks u shld be able to hear/see the heartbeat during the scan
168131.gif

Hi Westbb,
normally u shld only start to take 'pu' stuff after ur 1st trim
168132.gif

Hi Ocean,
How r u doing now???
168133.gif

Hi Oreo,
Can update mine? EDD 3 Apr shld be TMC currently is weeks 13 thanks!!
168134.gif

Hi oreo,
Thanks for the welcome! How are you?

I don't know my EDD yet but I checked on a online due date calculator, I should be 5 weeks now and due on 7 June 2005. I hope to deliver at TMC. I will update you when there are any changes.

mumof1
Yah...heard that when u crave for meat u'll get a boy. but i guess it's not totally true also lah. You want a boy this time?

meow
naughty naughty...to eat raw salmon. but hor, must really try to "ren" until deliver.

tigger
mutton is ok to eat. High in iron, like beef. of course there's some myth saying that taking mutton will cause baby to have fits.

This morning i felt some stabbing pain on my right lower abdomen, near the bikini line which lasted for abt half an hour. The more i walk the more pain i had. after resting for a while the pain subsided...Anyone ever experience this?

Hi Tane,
How r u feeling now??? well was told by my gyn... at this stage we will feeling sharp pain... this is due to the expand of the womb... is okie one.... take care okie...

tane,

its normal to feel some pain at that area.. as long as its not persistent/permanent, and after resting, got improvement, shd be ok. do take care hor

florence,

welcome to our group!
So which gynae/hospital u with ?

Hi poshies
Thanks...i'm ok now. I will feel pain occassionally, but most of the time lasted a few secs only, but this time half an hour...really scary.

nowadays i feel upset over a slightest thing...will shed tears easily. I worried i may have pre-natal depression.

Hi All, actually liver is good especially during confinement but due to the rich source of Vitamin A content, preggie are told to avoid to play safe or maybe dun eat.

Below is info extract from Motherhood website:-

<u>Liver, Stout</u>
Previously, women were advised to eat liver during their pregnancy to try and boost their iron levels. It is true that liver is a good source of iron, but it also con-tains Vitamin A, excessive amounts of which can cause birth defects in the foetus. Women were also encouraged to drink stout during their last weeks of pregnancy to build up their iron stores. Alcohol during pregnancy is not recom-mended, so in this case stout is not good for you.

Hi tane
I already have a 3 yr old son so am actually wishing for a girl. Girls tends to be more caring

Try not to think too much. Try to stay positive always. I believe in confiding to friends that is how i managed with my first pregnancy

Ras
Can you kindly show me the way to do the online calculation. I am in my 5th week but have yet to consult a doctor.

Anyone seeing any gynae near Thomson area? Any good gynae to recommend?

Tigger,
Nope, i dunno where got such buffet
how much does it cost per head? Next time i'll go after my delivery.

Tane,
Me too got this feeling and i also dunno why. Happen in the middle of the night on monday.
Me same side as you, but yesterday if happen on my left side.
Me also cry sometimes. Like when i see my hubby doing all the housework then i jus sit there do nothing also makes me feeling miserable.
Even watch sad serial also make me cry like a baby....hope bb when born won't cry so much..

Thanks Ocean for the info
Are you the same Ocean from Paris brides??
Later i got appt in kkh....i go confirm this. So far i only eat 4 times throughout my first 3 times.

Thanks poohy!

I'm with Dr. Selina Chua at Mt. E. But I do not have any idea if I were to give birth in Singapore.

thanks Meow and ras,

Just checked on the website. seems like i am in my 6th week. And the estimated Edd is on the 26th May.

And the website is really helpful. Thanks a lot

tane, meow,

i have this crampy feeling this morning or mid of the night. i thought my bladder is full so went to release but came back to bed i still have the crampy feeling for awhile before it went off. is this the kind of feeling you experienced ?

poshies,

normally i told the medicine after lunch if i had milk in the morning.

funny &amp; tane,

I have got problems with clearing my bladder, especially after I wake up in the morning. The process is very slow and sometimes not much comes out.

Hi Tane,
Understand how u feel.... actually during my 1st trim there is once I also feel continue pain... I remember sms Ocean and someone else for advise... in the end my hubby still worried and went to see my gyn on the same day.... later found out is okie which due to expansion of the bb.... hee hee

Hi Funny,
Thanks.... so it okie for me to take them in the afternoon if i forget to take in the morning...

Oh yap, <font color="ff6000">Meow</font>, it's me!!
Hey, congrats to you!!

<font color="ff6000">Meow</font>, so who is ur gynae in KK? Yap, do check with him/her on the liver thing. I think this is more or less confirmed not to eat too much due to the high vitamin a content!

<font color="aa00aa">Poshies</font>, me ok lah! But now worry abt BB's Amniotic Fluid. Hopefully is an intermittent thingy... How u doing?

Hi Girls,

Starting to feel nauseating already. So went to buy 'suan mei' to eat. Very good! Right after eating, burp a big one hehe

Oreo,

Thanks for updating the list. Tentatively, can put my EDD as 31/5/05.

Funny,

I also experience cramps. Gynae also said it's common as womb is expanding.

Funny,
I ask the doc today liao. He say its normal since the womb is expanding jus like what LV says.

Ocean,
I've asked about the liver thing. He say its ok to eat liver since there's vitamin A. But eat in moderation. I asked if once a week is fine and he says ok.
I saw BB's heart beat and fingers today. So cute, now its 67mm liao.
Took the Nuchal test and reading was 1.5mm, pretty safe lor. I think i'll fix my gynae with Dr. Caroline khi. She's jus a consultant associate. When's your EDD?

I know i very kiasu to buy the item now, but got sale mah.
I bought my pram for bb liao. Got 20% discount so cost me only $127 for the Lucky BB stroller. If anyone is interested can go Baby Studio at Paragon. They are having a moving out sales and is going to end in Nov 14th. Discount starts from 20%, 30% for car seats and 40% for accessories like BB's clothes.

meow, how is the NT scan conducted? Via Ultra sound?

wah, you bought the pram already?! so fast... how do you know which to choose? There are so many types and style available..i also confuse..

the buffet at mirama hotel is abt $30+++, must book way in advance, especially for weekends.

gals,

due to a last min change in appt, I got to do my NT scan yesterday afternoon instead. It was done by a senior consultant from the fetal medicine unit of kkh (Dr KH Tan).

anyway we saw bb pretty clearly...spine, head, hands, legs..and bb is moving abt... At first when I went in, bb was sitting and refuse to change position. So after taking some u/s shot, the doc ask us to go outside to walk ard for a while to wait for bb to change to a lying down position. He told us for NT scan they need bb to lie down.

I was praying that bb would lie down and cooperate else we would need to go back in 1 week again for this scan.

thankfully, he was in the rite position when we go in to scan again. The neck measurement is 1.7mm and bb is 62mm. My edd seems to change to 19 april... but I guess it will keep changing.

Doc say our risk of down syndrome were pretty low from the scan... but still need to wait till 1 month later for the triple test and scan for nasal bone to fine tune the test result

the good thing is we get to keep quite a few of the scan printout...with no extra costs...

hi girls,
Can I join you all? I am currently around 6 weeks + preg. I am currently seeing a senior consultant at KKH. We just saw a heartbeat yesterday, and I am very much relieved.

Hi Ocean,
Hope u r doing fine okie. Well Im okie but having a lot morning sickness through the whole day. Plus don feel like eating any thing sign~

Hi LV,
Envy u can take suan mei I just cant take that kind of stuff. So don know what would make my morning sickness better. Sign~

HI Meow,
U really har.. cant wait for the bb to come out hor. Well Im going shopping tomorrow target going to Paragon will go n take a look. Hopefully just looking if not will end up like u buy lot of stuff.

Hi Poohy,
Good for you to get so many scan hor at least now u know the bb is okie.

Hi tane,
so this is your second child. do you have the same feeling during your first pregnancy ?

Hi florence,
i also got this problem when i tried to urine in the morning. got to check with gynae is this ok.

Hi poshies,
i believe it's ok, so long it's after food but try to take it about the same time daily.

Hi meow,
so fast you got a pram. i have not bought a single item yet. what have got so far ?
glad that your NT scan is good. how much is the scan in KKH ?

Hi poohy,
your BB very 'kuai', lie down for the gynae to check. glad that everything goes well. you mean the nasal bone will be checked in another checkup, not together har ?

Hi eli,
welcome to join us. it's really amazing and relieve to see the heartbeat. you have any ms ?

meow,

u did your NT scan yesterday at kkh also ah ?? hey maybe we see each other ard

so which pram did u get ?

eli,

welcome. So which gynae are u seeing ?

funny,

u mean you already managed to check the nasal bone liao ah ?? I dunno why need to wait for another scan to see the nasal bone leh... the doc say the machine at TPS not as good ... so best to wait for the detailed scan.