(2005/04) Apr/May/June 2005 MTB

oic..i think we are in the same boat.
my gyane just afried that it was zi kong wai yu.
duno how to say that in english. hope that able to see the bb tomolo. i am praying hard.
when is your next appointment?
which doc are you seeing?

<font color="0000ff">akzo</font>
Oh no, you're scaring both of us.
Let's pray and hope everything will turn out right.
162046.gif

Do update us on your visit tomorrow, ok?
My next appt. is next Friday.
i'm seeing my gynae from Eastshore.

162047.gif
162048.gif

akzo, oreo,

err i think as long as u can see a gestational sac in the uterus and beta hcg increase is normal, it shd not be an ectopic pregnancy. Normally ectopic pregnancy (zi gong wai yun), the beta hcg level will be very low and you may have pain at the side of your uterus where the fallopian tube or ectopic pregnancy is. Also there will likely be spotting or bleeding.

so no worries... i am sure both of u are doing ok

hi poohy,

after seeing your message..i feel much better. i think i should keep myself busy rather than keep thinking all sort of thing.

Poohy, yeah, I will be scared too if I see blood clots! Anyway, glad to hear you're ok now and progressing well along your pregnancy journey.
162076.gif

Akzo, dont worry first, I hope you're able to see heartbeat on your next visit. Take care and
162077.png

Oreo, dont scare dont scare... heartbeat was detected for my first kid at 6 weeks old and gynae says it's cmoon only 6weeks then can see heartbeat, so I'm sure for your next visit, you will see a small dot pumping away in dat sac!! Last time I gan cheong see gynae after I immed tested positive and also couldnt see anything except the sac at 4 weeks preggie. So you're not alone,
162078.gif
you will see heartbeat veri soon!

Hi littleone,

Perpect Mum is at Raffles Place, Arcade, level 3.

hi akzo, oreo,

dun worry, you should see your bb heartbeat soon. some pple detect later when they ovulate late.

<font color="0000ff">thanks, gals</font>
i felt more relieved after hearing from you all.
btw, <font color="0000ff">funny</font> when's your EDD?

didnt post any messages for quite a while...so didnt know the threads have merged.

Why dun you gals add on to this list so that it is easier to track the EDDs...

Hazel79 - 6Apr -
Icemilo - 12Apr - Mt E
Tigger - 12Apr - Mt A
Tane - 12Apr - Mt A
Little - 14Apr - TMC
Meow - 15Apr - KKH
Funny - midApr -
Poohy - 21Apr - KKH
Stephanie - 22Apr - Gleneagles

Can I join you all? Me seeing Dr Jeanette Chen from KKH. EDD was 16 Apr when i went to see her when i was in the 5th week.

Then it became nearer to 12 Apr when I did the scan again when I was in the 9th week. Saw my little one's heart pumping away then! So touched...almost cried...

Hi akzo, oreo,
Yeah, dont worry. BB will be fine. Jus have lotsa rest as and when you can.

Oreo, me too. I'm taking turina and folic acid everyday.

Hi Poohy,

Me in 10th week now liao...I read that u r in TPS. I have just switched. Will be goin to TPS starting the next appmt on 1st Oct. Long waiting area at Clinic A! My gynae seeing patients at TPS on Friday afternoons only...bobian...

kandangal,

u mean your gynae do not have after office hours in TPS ? I thought normally gynae have some slots in TPS after office hours.. how bout the AMK clinic ?

my gynae only see people at TPS on wednesday evening. Friday and saturday evening he will be at kk amk clinic.

so far u had been scanning at the AMC ? How's the queue and service there ?

Poohy,

Ya, that's what i was told lor. She only sees TPS's patients in that one &amp; only slot. Anyway, its fine for me la. Cos my office pretty near KKH, already asked permission to "sneak" out for a few hours for the consultation liao, dun hv to take leave. Hehe...

She also does consulation at AMK also. a few slots i believe, but too far for me lor. Me living in West area ma.

I did two scannings there. 1st one, hv to wait for abt 30-45 mins. Din know the waiting time so long one. Second time, learn clever liao. Took queue no at Clinc A then take form to AMC and took another queue no, then go for a leisure lunch...haha...

I got a chinese lady (from China) who did the second scan for me. Not v friendly lor. Scan here and there then point at screen and said"nah, ur baby's heartbeat" then print one blur pic for me and wah lah...she starts to clean her equipmt, without telling me that it's over. Me 1st time mum le...how I know if u finish liao buay...

That's one of the reason I wana switched to TPS, gynae scan for me ma..can look as long as i want to..hehe...

kandangal..

never been to AMC for scanning but I guess its best to have gynae scan for us
My gynae has been scanning for me on 2 weeks interval since 5th week.. so far also quite fast leh. He will also print a copy of the scan for us though .. without asking.

i also stay in the west... jurong west. u ?

Hello gals...

I have been away for a few days... now back

Hey Poohy, I oso stay in Jurong West now. But my gynae at Gleneagles. I gonna go for another scan end of this week... Hopefully can see baby's heartbeat. How come you get sciatic pain? You have back injury? Sciatic pain can get very painful one le... Hope you are coping well... I got back injuries many years ago... I can rem the pain from the bum right down to the legs and the pain whenever I change position.

My gynae will do a scan everytime. But send me to the X-ray department for a detailed scan. My last scan was very long... It was about 45 minutes. Quite sore after the scan...

I had a "vitamins" jab on my last visit to stabilise the pregnancy... and my doc prescribed me folic acid, calcium and vitamins pills - all the necessary "pu" to stabilise the pregnancy.

U,

which week are u in now ? Hope u can see can see bb heartbeat this time...
wow your scan took so long ah.... how come ? is it a vaginal scan ?

I dunno why I got sciatic pain leh... ever since week 5.. I had been having this pain. 70% of the time. But I guess still can cope lah... cant cope also bo bian.. cant do anything...
Think my pain threshold getting higher these days.

I think I am week 9 this week. But my doc keep asking me whether my menses is accurate oo... So I suppose maybe this time not accurate that's why kena fertilised... :p

Yesterday ask my HB to listen whether can hear heartbeat or not.. hehe.. but cannot hear.. only my growling stomach...

It's a vaginal scan. Becos of the big fibroids, I will need vaginal scan everytime
cos the embryo blocked... My gynae only take a few minutes and scan very fast, still not that bad... The detailed scan so long... that scanner inside me twist here and there... then feel so sore for the rest of the day...

Ya, for baby's sake, everything oso can do... Any pain oso can bear...

U
how come the doc ask you abt the accuracy of your period leh? i thot by measuring the baby, he's able to estimate how many weeks?

the last time at abt 8 wks, i still can't see baby's heartbeat...have to wait until end of this month (12 wks) then scan again. all this waiting is making me crazy....

tane,

when was your last appt ? dun worry too much... I am sure u will see bb heartbeat next appt. If u still worried.. maybe can bring forward the appt so that you can scan earlier ?

poohy
my last appt was 1/9. my doc consoled me that many ppl can't see heartbeat until abt 10 wks or more.

i dunno whether it's me only or many mtb have this uncertainty...i keep wondering baby is still around or not..really feel very paranoid, esp when i see a few of my friends and cousins whose baby stopped growing during 1st trimester..really sad..

well no matter what, i shall wait till next week for my 1st thorough scan...wish me luck!

tane,

ya understand how u feel... even though I had seen bb heartbeat during the past 2 scans, I still feel paranoid all the time whether bb still growing. Heard abt so many people who have bb stop growing ... dun think I can feel reassured till bb is born. think all of us the same

hope u will see bb heartbeat next week...

Tane,

Wish you good luck... hope you can see bb's heartbeat next week...

I told the doc my menses very accurate one. He suspected this time not accurate lor. Otherwise should see heartbeat liao. Maybe he can tell.. that's why he told me he suspects ovulation a bit late this time...

wa... 10 wks or more... I am not yet 10 weeks when I go scan this Thursday le... jialat... if still cannot see heartbeat, gonna scan again... quite expensive le...

I oso feel quite paranoid sometimes and wonder if my bb still there and whether it is growing...

I am making an appt to see gynae 2 weeks later, by then I shd be 7-8 weeks, hopefully can see heartbeat, dont want to go through vaginal scan too many times, quite uncomfortable!!

tane and U, hope you all can see heartbeat in your next visit!

163075.gif

Have any of you taken blood test yet (taking tripple test as well and to do a scan to check the thickness of bb's neck)? Will be taking it when I'm into week 12. Hopefully it won't be too painful cos my threshold level for pain is extremely low.

Went for Ultrascan when I was in Week 10 (Hurray, no more virginal scan). BB grown to 43mm liao.
Lost 1kg.

Still experiencing uncomfy MS. Feel like puking after every meals I take. Sighz.
I think if this goes on, I have no problem losing more kgs.

icemilo,

so when is your nuchal scan and triple test scheduled ? I am going for my week 10 scan this wed and I think my gynae shd be asking me to go for the nuchal scan in week 12 (2 weeks' time).

the nuchal scan is just an adbominal ultrasound scan .. I dun think it will be painful. The triple test is just taking some blood from our arm.. dun think it will hurt a lot also ... just that they need to take more blood but that shouldnt make it more painful than normal blood test
I took 2 vial of blood before for hiv test and other test like rubella ... and its just like normal blood test.

though I know its tough to have ms hor.. but i still cant help envy u gals who are able to lose weight. I think I am gaining weight. My appetite has remain the same as pre-pregnancy but somehow eating whatever I used to eat seems to make me gain more weight
so sad. My face also breaking out and worst, I cant apply the acne/pimple cream. And I cant exercise also.

Icemilo,
i heard from colleagues saying if you have MS, try to take less at each meal or take something light every 4hrs or so.

Poohy,
what is nuchal scan for? Need to take blood again? My first appt also got draw blood for HIV and other test. My second appt will be at end of the month.

My friend told my its natural to put on at least 1.5-2kg every month. But for this month, my weight stays the same as last time. Is it good or bad news?

Poohy, do you know how to swim? If so, you still can go swimming as a form of exercise.

Girls, anyone started to buy BB products? I think there's a sale at Tollyjoy warehouse this week. But i didn't take note of the date.

meow..

nuchal scan measures the nuchal transparency of the bb and whether the bb has a nasal bone. This is supposed to be a much more accurate screening test for down symdrone than the triple test. But of course u can opt to do both lah. Nuchal scan is just a u/s scan so no need to take blood. Its the triple test that needs to draw blood

I dunno how to swim... but i plan to do so once I reach 2nd trimester. I asked my gynae whether I can do any exercise and he say no.. must wait till after 12 weeks then see how.

er din put on much extra weight shd be ok for now .. i think. But in the 2nd trimester... need to put on some weight ..at the rate of abt 2kg a month. By 3rd trimester, the weight gain shd be lesser liao... so 2nd trimester, bb and our body is on growth spurt.

I din buy any bb stuff yet... Intend to wait till middle to end of 2nd trimester then start...

poohy
i also kena a lot of breakouts. if can't put pimple cream how??

meow
normally 1st trimester weight gain is not very significant, so dun worry..

u intend to buy baby stuffs so early? i think there are always many sales end of the year, like motherhood fair, john little/robinson sales...most importantly is to buy baby cot, pram, bottle steriliser those exp stuff during sales.

tane,

I also dunno what I can apply for the acne/pimples. I went to my family GP and he recommended a cream called differin for me saying it is quite mild. however, I read on the internet that this cream contains retinoid and its safety during pregnancy is not established. It is recommended not to use the cream when pregnant unless really the benefit outweighs the potential risks. So I end up dun dare to use liao. Not using anything now... if u come across any suitable cream let me know ok

Is the blood test a must? I gynae did not do any for me though I went to him twice already. I read that amniocentesis is more accurate than nuchal test. I think nuchal test is based on statistical measurements of a baby with down syndrome. Measurements of our babies will be compared with the statistical values to calculate the probability of the baby having down syndrome. For example, thicker neck. The main risk of amniocentesis is that a needle is required to puncture the uterus to get the blood sample.

It is very tempting to buy baby stuffs... but I keep reminding myself it's too early now. By the way, if you are a Robinsons card holder, John Little going to have a sale coming Thursday. A wooden baby cot will be $200.

U,

i think the triple test is optional. It is not as accurate as the nuchal scan for screening for down syndrome. Unlike nuchal scan and triple test which are screening test, the amniocentesis is a diagnostic test which will accurately diagnose whether the bb indeed have down syndrome or other genetical abnormality, not based on percentage or ratio.

the invasive procedure to get the blood sample from the umblical cord is called fetal blood sampling which has the highest rate of miscarriage out of the few invasive procedures. Amniocentesis only draws the placenta water/bb urine to test. CVS will draw some placenta tissue for the test.

gals.. so when do u all intend to start buying bb stuff ?? I wonder when is the best time. There seems to be so many things to buy.. I also dunno where to start.

maybe we can all share as we research.. the best brand for the item we wanna buy .. etc

tane,
my daughter is delivered by Dr Chen Lin Han.

Quite a nice guy i must say. But this time round, i did not go back to him cos my company will subsided my pre-natal checkup provided i went to public hospital.

little_ones
Yeah....maybe that is bcos after i delivered my daughter i resigned and in the end due to lack of sleep and lack of food...i lose quite a lot of weight..hehee.

I sometimes also fear of miscarriage even though i can see heart beat cos i have a history. Guess i just have to relax and dun worry too much.

Yeah...i will be 12 weeks this friday and soon will proceed to 2nd trimester. Hope i will feel much better.

Hazel79 - 6Apr - KKH
Icemilo - 12Apr - Mt E
Tigger - 12Apr - Mt A
Tane - 12Apr - Mt A
Little - 14Apr - TMC
Meow - 15Apr - KKH
Funny - midApr -
Poohy - 21Apr - KKH
Stephanie - 22Apr - Gleneagles

hi Hazel79,
I dunno whether u remember me. My previous nick is snowcat. I remembered u delivered ur first one in June 03. Now u so fast pregnant with ur second child! I'm also pregnant and due to deliver in Feb 05.

hi icemilo,

i did a scan on week 10 too last saturday. BB measuring only 3.1 cm or 31 mm but yours is quite big measuring 43 mm. can you see the BB hands and legs ? i can see the hands but legs portion alittle blur.

hi poohy,

you going for checkup tomorrow, must be excited. i feel excited and scared. Excited that i can see the BB and scared that BB not growing. gynae ask me to consider amniocentesis at week 16 cos already mid 30s.

i think is a good idea to share and list what are the basic things to get for BB and what brands to get. i blur like sotong.

funny,

ya me feeling excited ... hope times fly very fast and can see bb soon.

so r u going to go for the amniocentesis ? btw, what is your bb's edd ? when's your next appt ?

hi poohy,

sorry for the interruption..

I notice that u gals are discussing on applying acne creams which is not advisable.

HOw abt moisturiser?.. i use to apply moisturiser daily.. is it safe?

elle,

i am not so sure abt moisturiser too ... maybe u bring and let your gynae see ? I am using body shop cucumber water daily ... as it is natural.. I hope its ok.

Hi Poohy,

Will be going for nuchal scan and triple test next Thu (Week 12). Hehe, actually, I'm more afraid of the blood test. Wondering whether I will faint when they draw my blood. Diu1 Lian3 leh.

Toking abt acne prob. Me already complained to my hubby that if this goes on, I think I'll be disfigured soon liao. Have used the acne lotion which my gp prescribed, but then dun think it seems to help. In fact, my skin feel even more irritated.

Wat kind of facial products are you using? Feel a bit "insecure" going out "bare" face. (me currently putting on nothing at all lor, just using cleanser to wash face... thaz it)

icemilo...

all the best for your nuchal scan and triple test.. remember to update us ok.

I am not using any cosmetic, or watever at all. Only use the bodyshop cucumber water after I wash my face with normal facial wash.

Meow,

Have tried taking small meals, but then it doesn't seem to work for me.
The moment food get into my mouth (as small as bread and milo, or Bee Hoon Teng), I would have the feeling of puking liao. Sighz. Realy Kor Mia.

For weight wise, I think I will try to gain not more then 12kg lor (if thaz possible), cos with my big frame, if I put on more than 15kg, I'm going to look like King Kong. (scary)

Swimming, me also interested to go swiiming. However, at this stage, should we buy maternity swimwear or those normal kind will do? Any idea?

BB products. Me already got bb clothes liao. Now planning to get stroller/cot. Haha, I know it's very kua zhang to get 1 rite now. We actually got a few hundred bucks voucher from Robinson which is going to expire next mth. So might as well. But also Tao Tia... cos there are so many choices, dun know wat to choose. Any ideas, gals?

Poohy,

If I'm not wrong, my gynae mentioned before blood test (for tripple test) and nuchal scan to check for down Symdrome case. Then if it's very serious, then will proceed to Amniocentesis where the gynae will Chou1 Yang3 Shui3 to do a more in dept test.

Hi Funny,

I believe bb measurements are all different. As long as ours bbs are growing every time we see them, I think we can Fang Xin. (and this is wat I have been praying for everyday)

Yup, when I went for the scan in Week 10, I can actually see my bb's hands and legs liao. It's as if he/she is dancing/waving inside. So funny.
I believe the next round u go for your scan, u can see more of your bb's action.
Have fun watching!