(2005/04) Apr/May/June 2005 MTB

Oreo,
My spare tyre is always quite big. There were people who thought I am pregnant.

I aso got spare tyre
I think hard for pp 2 kn I pregnant. B4 I pregnant already got pp offer seat to me hahaha

I will get maid lah no choice

I'm looking forward to the hols too!! can't wait. counting by minutes...

I think I'll need a CL. As for maid, i rather not. Don't want to have a maid at home. But since my hubby and i don't want to burden our parents... i think we will be looking for a nanny or use the infant care. I prefer infant care but my hubby prefer nanny. dunno how...

infant care and nanny are quite exp leh. I find one at Sengkang after deduct is 800+

I will hv confinement lady I tin else eat wat

Hard to find good nanny around nowsadays lah many jus want to help up the family burden so worked as nanny and while take care of yr kid still got 2 do her household chores etc.

ya i also don't trust maid. but i quite headache if want my mil to look after for me, she might need a maid to help her since she got to cook and manage her own hse. sigh. i also don't know how... sienz ...

I think nanny better ? Cos infant care, they'll be looking after many babies at 1 time ?

My sister told me that for childcare, there is always the problem of hygiene. When one kid falls sick, the others will kena soon or later. I don't know whether infant care will have such problems.

I dun want maid at this stage. I prefer nanny but good one is hard to find esp best someone to be near your house. But if cannot find a nanny no choice got to try infant care.

tigger88,

Yap, I do need some help in finding CL. Can ask your MIL to recommend good one.
You may email me @ [email protected]

My son is with a nanny for the last 1 year+. I prefer a bbsitter to the infant care because it is a more personalised service. My collegue told me that when his son was in the infant care, his wife pop in to spot check. They found that the caregiver practised favoritism. There were only 3 kids in the infant care(quite an exp one, after subsidy around 1 k). When his son was crying, they did not even pick him up to comfort him or check on him. They withdrew him shortly. If you are putting your babies in the infant care, you have to be prepared for such things.

If you are looking for nanny, you have to get recommended ones. You should ask around your neighbours. The "aunties" usually know who are the good bbsitters around. And try to get those whose kids are already old like secondary school and only look after 1 kid. You may have to be prepared to travel abit further for a good sitter.

didn't know infant care also has so much problem. I thought infant care may be more professional compared to nannies...
but looks like i need to reconsider...

haiz.... headache....

morning gals .......

Feel so sleepy today, lucky tmr will be wkend liao!
221708.gif

hi Hopeac,
What is the charges liked for ur nanny?
U bring ur son home daily?

ya lor... i think we'll be expecting this kinda thing happen in infant care..
I just gotto noe my fren is gog to put her son in infant care.. Bobian.. nobody taking care of her son .. Hers is somewhere in Punggol, after deduction is $550. 1 caregiver to 4 infants...

Gd morning all,

Ras, infant care centres will hv similar problems too. My colleague has to take leave almost every mth becos the centre calls her to bring her son home as he is sick. She is thinking of withdrawing him from the centre as she is tired of having to take leave every mth and she believes he catches the virus from the centre as one kid falls sick after one another.

I too believe nanny is better, but provided you get a good and reliable one.

Blurmom, I think it's best u start looking around for a CL soon, best to "chop" one then u can be assured u got some help after delivery. If u cant find one nearer to your delivery, u'll start to panic liao.

Ras, i think most CLs are willing to stay over at your house and they will take care of your baby and your needs. Like bath your baby, feed baby, cook your meals, wash your clothes etc... market rate is abt $1.8k and above. But this price does not include your food, so u need to give her extra to do marketing.

i am about 6 weeks pregnant. i have got some brown discharge recently. Is it normal? My gynae said dun have to worry about anything unless i have bleeding. i guess brown discharge is fine. anyone has the same problem?

Worried about the bb now

<font color="0000ff">Morning gals</font>
Anyone working today? We can chit-chat again to pass the time!

<font color="0000ff">eeyore</font>
As long as you don't see any blood, it should be fine. You'll probably notice brown spotting around the time that you are supposed to have your menses.
You'll notice that you'll also have a lot more discharge than before and that's normal.
So, don't worry so much.
Btw, did u manage to see your bb's hearbeat at your last checkup?

Hi oreo,

Thanks. i am relieved now

Yah. i went for first scan last week and i heard my bb's heartbeat. It was thumping really fast and my hubby and i were really excited. Gynae told me that it's around 6 mm only. Amazing how life happens!

Is this your first bb as well?

hi Eeyore,
Welcome! Congrats to u too!

Oreo,
i'm here........... but seem like today very few pple aro hor ......
221768.gif

Life really very amazing..
221769.gif

can start from a pea to something living &amp; kicking .................
221770.gif

Can I join in?? I'm now 7 wks preggie......

eeyore,
do u hve alot of brown spotting? if it lasts oni for abt one day or two,it shd be ok..but if u still hving it aft many days,better to see ur gynae again...

Hi forgetmenot,

It has been coming on and off for the past few days. But not alot though. Maybe I should check with my gynae again.

I simply feel so exhausted today. Really don't feel like going to work today. My baby wants me to sleep ... hee Can't wait for the end of the day.

How far are you guys from your EDD? I'm 5+ weeks only. First appt with gynae this Wednesday.

Lisa

eeyore,

congrats.. dun worry too much abt the brown spotting ... but if it becomes red/pink etc then must let your gynae know. In the meantime .. dun move ard too much lor

gals,

any of u attending antenatal class already ? I am starting my first lesson tomorrow.. hope it wont be boring

I bought my baby cot and a cupboard with a bath unit/changing station on top. The baby cot is white in color... looks really nice. Bought it at the bb hyperstore ... I also bought 4 piece of baby shirt... start to buy from now... so that wont be in a scramble later

I went to the john little warehouse sale yesterday... lots of people... din really get much baby stuff .. cos not much things available there.

Good morning, gals!!

Congrats to Eyesore &amp; Forgetmenot!! and welcome!!

Lisa,

Me in 18th week now...

Poohy,

wow...u went to get baby items liao ar...My mum v pantang one, she said to get baby items only near to my EDD....mostly likely aiming for post-x'mas/CNY sales lor...

Went to Robinsons to walk walk and see see, already v tired after a little while, wonder how am i goin manage when my "balloon" is bigger...

I signed for the Dec antenatal class instead...got the 11am timing...can sleep late late...
Let me know how's the class after u went for the first le...

<font color="0000ff">eeyore</font>
Yah, it's my first!

btw, you must rest as often as you can and also don't move around too much or carry heavy stuffs.

<font color="0000ff">twinklets</font>
Ya, think majority are on leave today.

<font color="0000ff">forgetmenot</font>
<blink><font color="ff0000">Congrats n welcome!!!</font></blink>

<font color="0000ff">poohy</font>

I haven't register for any antenatal class as yet. Been procastinating ...
You gals seem to start buying bb stuff already!
I'm only planning to start buying next year.

Hi Forgetmenot!
Welcome too!!

Erlisa,
I'm coming 15 wks now ..
I also dun feel like working, feel like taking urgent leave.. but hor think not much leave left liao...

wow Poohy,
u so fast get baby items liao ..
same as Piglet's mum, my mum also very pantang. Kept telling us not to buy any baby stuffs until borned. Aiyoh.. how to wait so long??? hard to suppress those baby sales leh ..

Btw, me &amp; hubby thinking of buying Cot Bed. Can sleep until 5 yrs old. hehe save $$.

Sorry, eeyore, spelt your nick wrongly... :p typed too fast..

Do you all gals find that one got more "hu tu" when pregnant huh...and forgetful also...

hmm i feel tat nowadays my mind not as fast-witted as before lor... hahaha
when come to argue with hubby, always lose to him.. abit slow lor...

Twinklets,

Same here...saw baby products having so much discounts...but cant buy... *sigh*

My hubby langi good...said not to buy too much, wait for frens and relatives to buy for baby during the first month celebration...or else they hv nothing to get for baby...kekeke...

I'm already such a forgetful and blur person already, can't imagine now!!

Same here, i too have the baby blanket given by spring. What colour is yours? I took the green one.

Piglet, i agree leh... i've become more "hu tu". even my hubby notice.

yah, I want to start looking for CL. anyone has recommendation?

Poohy, i intend to book my antenatal class next time I go to see my gynae at TMC (which is next Friday, hooray!) I tot of starting the on my 20th week, what do you think? is it too late?

poohy,
do u hve to look for the antenatal class or kkh will inform u of the class?

i'm thinkg of waiting for sale n hopefully can make it for great spore sale to buy bb stuff..hehe..but think is unlikely to make it for great spore sale...cos it oni starts in june

gals,
anyone has started to use stretchmarks cream?? any gd ones to recommend?though i'm oni in my early pregnancy..but abit kiasu..hehe.....when can we start to apply it har?

Twinklets, yah.. I oso feel like taking urgent leave. Everyday got some good reason not to come to work :p

Talking about buying baby stuffs, have you guys bought maternity clothes? I checked out some maternity clothes, wah.. damn expensive leh...
Do you know of any reasonable-priced ones... and perhaps, more stylish ones? Really don't like those conventional maternity clothes...

Lisa

<font color="0000ff">erlisa</font>
I bought only the bottoms so far. i bought them at spring.
I did go to kiddy palace but i find that their maternity clothes cannot make it.
There are some online local maternity shops that sell pretty cheap.
I'll try to find the websites and post it here.

piglet,
ya lor, very sian hor .. sighs..
hahaha.. actually my mentality abit same as ur hubby.. I already told my sister to buy breast pump for me. hehe. The other relatives.. i dunno leh.. hope they'll ask us wat we want lor.

Oreo,
mine is pink leh. she din let me choose colors.
wait i got boy, how hah??

Forgetmenot,
me kiasu, started think aro 8 or 9 wks. hee cant rem. i use mothercare 1. dunno good or not leh, cos foc 1.
Actually i also dunno whether all these help or not leh.

Hi Forgetmenot,

I bot the Vichy stretchmark cream...v the ex...$60+ per tube...but the smell v nice and not oily lor...i might turn to other cheaper brands if they are not oily also...

I start to apply when i m coming to 3rd mth...not faithful to apply everyday thou until recently...cos feeling itchy here and there...Hubby teased me that i looked like a monkey scratching for fleas...

Morning girls, I am so sleepy today. I felt so sick yesterday, vomitted my dinner. I still have nausea.

Eeyore and Forgetmenot,
Congrats and welcome!

If mine turns out to be a gal, and yours boy, then we exchange the blankets lor!! Mine's still wrapped in the plastic. Haven't took out yet.

<font color="0000ff">forgetmenot</font>
I'm using the johnson baby moisturiser but i don't apply everyday. I apply only when i feel itchy or dry.

i bought some from Spring and Marton Bell.. i find them quite ex also.. pants $69-79. But i was desperate already... can't button my normal pants, always have to check my zip and make sure my top is covering enough.

I went to ChicMum@Specialist Center too. I find that their clothes cheaper, but not suitable for early stage of pregnancy yet. so I intend to go again, when I am bigger.

For maternity wear, I am getting a lot from my relatives. I should be able to save some money on maternity although they are mostly casual wear and I still need to get some office wear or formal wear if necessary.

For baby clothings, my relatives are passing some to me already although I do not know the gender of the baby yet.

Blurmom,
I also can't button my bottoms already. My hubby said my bum is getting bigger too. I felt so conscious of my outfit these days.

I also heard about the shop at Specialist Centre. What is their price range like?

I also bought pants from Spring and Marton Bell. i find it ex too.. but i'm desperate... i can't button my pants, always have to check the zip and make sure my top is covering enough...

I went to ChicMum at Specialist Center, I find the clothes cheaper but not so suitable for early stage of pregnancy. so i intend to go back when i'm bigger.

Oops.. i tot my previous message failed to be posted... hehehehe

ChicMum price for top is about $29-$39. Bottom - $35 - $59.

for the strechmark cream,isit oni applys to tummy? can it apply to other areas of our body?? hehe..i oso vv kiasu,scared tt breasts will sag..so intend to apply some bust gel..

my hubby told mi tt stretchmark cream shd be the same as cellulite cream..

when do we need to start buying maternity bras and maternity wear??

oreo,
can i join in the edd list??

Yah, maternity wear at Kiddly Palace cannot make it. Nowadays, when I see clothes, I tell myself not to buy coz my tummy will get bloated anytime soon. So, if I really want to buy, I try buy those that are loose on the tummy or those wrap-around kindda top which is 'configurable' to your tummy size.

For pants, what kind of pants are suitable ah? Only the elastic or drawstring ones izzit?

Err.. this may be a very stupid question, but if tummy get big liao, then the pants will be worn above the tummy line izzit?

Lisa

Forgetmenot,

the cream can be applied to other area like breasts, thighs and buttocks lor.....

No la...usually anti-cellulite cream contains caffiene one...better check the contents before applying...

forgetmenot,

have u seen dr yeong or other gynae already ? managed to see the sac and heartbeat yet ? How many weeks are u in now huh ?

I bought maternity clothing from abt wk8 onwards. However I havent started wearing any of them ... though now in wk 18 already. I intend to try to put off wearing ...but most likely will start next week.

Erlisa,
those pants that i bought (3 only - and hopefully can last as long as my pregnancy!) are to be worn below tummy when tummy gets big. Mine are elastic... those from Spring can adjust the length of the elastic band, which I find better.

with so many of you starting to use the stretchmark cream... i think i better start looking around for one too...

Hi poohy,
i hve seen dr yeong on wed..he seems quite amazed cos we actually scheduled to do more tests then later i found out tt i'm preggie..my hubby even told him tt he brings luck to us..hahaha

i can see the heartbeat and the sac liao..can see that the shape of the bb is a long oval shape but cant figure out the head,hands n legs..

i was told to go back to see him 3 wks later..
but then hor,dunno y i'm being charged for 1st consultation leh...

when will u be seeing him again?? do u noe the gender of ur bb liao?

i hve not bought any maternity wear yet,cos still can fit into my normal clothes,but bra is abit tight,so i got some bra extention..

btw,do u noe the diff bet nursing bra n maternity bra?do we need to buy both?

piglet,
u mean anti-cellulite cream contains caffiene?? didn't noe tt leh...thanks for the info..

Wah Poohy,

U really can tahan le...Me have been wearing since 15th week...outgrow all my office wear then...

so now everyone knows i m pregnant, including my little cousin who is 5...he was puzzled to see me in such baggy clothing...after a while, he asked me, jiejie, u got a baby in your stomach is it..haha...