(2004/12) Year 2004 December Mummies

lach
Slowly potato teeth will grow la. At least got 2 small teeth right? Last time Elicia also same very slow. But after grow 2, den 4 together now can see another 1/4 teeth is cuming out.

Wilfred had learnt some disciplines now

1. After drinking water, he will put back his cup on the table.
2. After taking his toys, he will close the drawer. (The toyogo drawer.)
3. When he sees some dirt/small items on the floor, he will pick it up and show it to us and throw it to the dustbin. (We are so surprised that he wont put it in his mouth.)
4. When we say go for an evening walk, he will go to the shoe rack and take his shoes. (he can recognize his shoes and kor kor shoes.)
5. When he comes home, he will try to take off his shoes (normally we will help him) but he knows how to put it back to the shoe rack.
6. When we say time to sleep, he will go to his baby cot trying to take his pillow and bolster.

So far I only remember these..

Evelyn

I bought an avent cup for declan. then u know what! My MIL went to keep it! Die also dun want to let declan use! She think is more convenient for him to drink by milk bottle. "haiz.. mei(2nd sound) chi(4th sound) gen(1st sound) wo(3rd) zhuo(4th) dui(4th)

so far some of the developments of declan
1) walk a bit lor. enjoy walking with pple holding him

2) say a few words
Grandpa, mum mum(when he want to eat), Jar(learn from flash card), car , papa, Ge ge(brother), ai jiak (want to eat in hokkien), bird

3) for flashcards. he could remember which correct flash card to give us when we asked for it

4) Know where the tongue is (finally.. one organ he recognise)

5) Will go and sleep when we ask him to.

6) Beat himself when he know he is notti

7) Bite me, bite my face, my finger. Take out my glasses and then ask me wear it myself

8) want to learn to wear shoe.

9) Know what is "Stinko" and he will throw tat stinko thingy oneside.

10) Cover the milk bottle cap upon completing of milk/water

11) Take milk bottle for daddy to make milk

Mngo,
*clap hands* another bb smart in flashcards! Wilfred seems like showing no interest on flashcards leh, how huh?

Alamak! I really dont know how to say you MIL, keep the avent cup for what? For the second one?

Why dont you ask her when she gonna to let Dylan drink water from cup? He is oredi one year old leh!

Evelyn
i know her answer " when he is 2 years old lor"
cos she everytime say the same thing when
1) i buy shoe for declan
2) i introduce toothbrush
3) when i buy clothes for declan
4) when i introduce books , flashcards

basicaly watever i do, she will say wait till 2 yr old.

That time i bought already, she say declan know how to drink, but dun want to drink.

I am very blood boil when talk about her. everytime want to go against me.

when i buy shoe, she say the shoe too big, is for bb know how to walk, and by then is for a 2 yr old. i told her, now bb walk before 1 yr old!

for the flashcards... mmmm frankly , we started declan on flashcards, going thru it everyday and letting him mess around with it when he was 4 mths old. so everyday same picture, same word, same sound.. i think he listen until sien , tats why it get into his head.

now he is not so interested in listening to us. so we hv to try other ways to help him learn . one way is we throw some flashcards in his play-yard with him. and then "force" him to listen a few. bo bien ....

haiz no choice lor. have to joke around. if not i go crazy just mentioning abt my old fashion , stubborn MIL!

tat time i buy toothbrush, she say i KS. then i hide it in my room and teach declan how to brush. one day she came to know, and then she say ask me to put it in bathroom so she will let declan brush. then she say why i hide it.

well in the first place, she was the one who commented i KS, and say bb no nid teeth brushing. Is been a few months, i dun think she did do it!

talking abt it, tonight i have to start declan brushing again.

sometime if i got a choice, i rather look after declan, cos manytimes i hv to rush home from work to supervise her.

i must make sure
1) declan dun watch tv too much
2) dun watch tv too near
3) dun watch tv with lights off
4) dun anyhow eat tidbits given by her

ha..... macham supervising a maid

Evelyn
to each its own. alone dun mean lonely. having a company dun mean he/she is not lonely. get what i mean?

if u ask me, there are thousand and one reason to say one lah.

Mngo...wow liao..u better go check wat else ur MIL kept...!!!

Wow...all bb here are progressing very fast lei...hmmm...see if I can tell wat progress Stef had made....
1. know how to quarrel / complain / kapo-wen my sis call for my nephew and wen there's no reply, she will help to call & even go to find them...
2. know how to drink from straw very well, in fact so well that if the content in the cup is jus water, she will suck it out and let it flow out from her mouth but if itz something she loves to drink...no a single drop will spill out..
3. learning to eat her meal on her own (let her play wif her spoon + food)..anyhow, out of 100% content on the spoon, only 5% ends up into her mouth.
4. walk pretty steadily and now trying to run...know how to climb up & down stairs...
5. knows how to ask for milk & food wif bb sign (yipee...how? any mommies try the bb sign yet??) Also kno how to sign for pain..
6. speech:....eh..mum-mum (food)..ma-ma..pa-pa...bear...woof-woof (dog)
7. knows how to pray wif joss-stick!!! had been watching her dad doing it so each time daddy pray, he will let her hold the joss-stick..guess she thinks itz fun...
8. knows how to zip & un-zip her bags...
well...guess datz all I can think of...afterall I only spend the weekends wif her so very happy to see dat she makes SOME progress...

2kids or 1...me sometimes think 2 is good, got companion but scare cannot spend enuf time...now wif jus one oredi very chuan liao...so me & my hb said we go for quality not quantity (self-consolation....hee...hee)

Elmo,
Rae n Shannon were once Roomies!
shannon is jiejie by abt 1hour!

Yu,
Potato now has about 6-7 teeth....only...

seagal,
the anklet is a good idea.. hehe..

mngo,
ur mil i really bo wei kong....
is she ok??

all the bbs developing well.. all are such darlings n have become mummy's little helper!
i wonder when can i train rae to go sell newspaper/tissue to earn $$ for her milk n diapers... :p

<font color="ff0000">Potato Physical Milestones:</font>
1)She can <font color="ff0000">THROW</font> her weight around.
2)She can <font color="ff0000">THROW</font> a good tantrum.
3)She can <font color="ff0000">WAGGLE</font> her finger and things will magically appear by her side like drinks, biscuits, toys..
4)She can <font color="ff0000">FLING</font> her food a distance of 2meters.
5)She can <font color="ff0000">PUSH</font> her mummy to her limits.
6)She can <font color="ff0000">SWEEP</font> food off the table.
7)She can <font color="ff0000">STEP</font> on peoples toes
8)She can <font color="ff0000">FLY</font> from daddy to mummys arms
9)She can <font color="ff0000">HOLD</font> her breadth while crying
10)She can <font color="ff0000">WASH</font> her face with tears
and her nose can <font color="ff0000">RUN</font> 3days without stopping.

I am such a Proud mother...

mngo,
how do u teach DI to brush his teeth? me haven start yet..

seagal,
my cabinets not suitable for any hooks/protectors.. sigh
shermyn so obedient n smart.. i stil cant get over her stool n peeping episode.. so smart!

LL,
steff so cute.. can go n help to call her cousin.
wow, shes self feeding!
Rae still cant even drink from a straw!! i give up liao.
i also want to use ur 'quality' reason leh..
erm.. paiseh.. haven been teaching rae the handsigns that u pass to us except those common ones(sorry).. ..
as i find easier to teach rae to talk as a form of communication as shes more keen on tat area
(actually me just being lazy, not as diligent as you)
but she does do a really good sign for Tantrum!

lacheiz,

me lazy mum. I got my mum to teach my boy how to brush teeth, drink from sippy cup and dirnk from straw, feed himself. my mum now in US with me. she also going to potty train my boy later whne he can stand without support. now we trying to "con" him to hold his own milk bottle becos he too lazy to do so.

lach,
Aiyo potato so cute...similar expression with garfield.

Shannon jie jie only got 1 tooth. how? Shannon jie jie's mummy so worried. At least potato got 6

Shannon cannot drink from a straw too! Tried giving her a straw cup many times but she will simply chew on the straw ....so feed milk got to go spoonful after spoonful cuz she refuse to suck from bottle ...very lay chay

Lach

mmmm i am not sure if i was really teaching.
for me these are the steps
1) carry him to see mirror and bring toothbrush near his mouth
2) mouth is close. i brushed his lips
3) after few times, he stick out his tongue
4) sometimes i made him laugh, sometimes i demo it on my self... so tat he will open his mouth.
5) then i will take the chance to clean his teeth.
6) as i was cleaning i will tell him i am cleaning his teeth
7) now when i say "clean clean" with the toothbrush, he will bring toothbrush into or near his mouth

takes a few months for me to achieve it. oh... one doctor told me as long as we let our kiddo drink water before sleep, it will be good and hygenic enough

dear mummies
<font color="ff0000"><font size="+2">finally,declan is walking!!!</font></font>

oh ya, he has been helping me mop floor with his flashcards...

Jen,
No worries cause we'll have more gatherings cuming up!

mngo,
CONGRATS!!!

Sum days must borrow ur Declan to cum help me mop floor leh ... heehee ....

Aaron loses interest in flashcards &amp; I've been lazy to show him too. Now I'm thinking of doing flashcards wif words cause mummy from another thread told me she obtained good result. Haiz ... hopefully, I'll start to get more diligent in doing that.

Lach,
Our Potatoe Princess is fantastic!!! She can self-feed, can hold the crayon so well, can speak well also!!

As I always say, Princess Potatoe's diary always make my day!!

Brushing Teeth - Oni let him 'brush' once a day. Will let him hold the toothbrush &amp; sing him the 'this is the way we brush our teeth, brush our teeth ....' sumtimes he enjoys it but sumtimes he just anyhow, then stop liao. Anyway, for me, the idea is just to get him into the good habit of brushing teeth. At nite, just give him sum water after milk. ;)

Evelyn (Au),
Looks like Wilfred will be a responsible young man!!
Hopefully, Aaron can learn to be as tidy &amp; responsible also.

A....as for Aaron's development ah, I would say he's picking up more words now e.g. key, hoo(shoe), tee (tree), dar(car), star, door, dirty, hold, Papa(always call), mama(seldom call), Popo, Gonggong, mama(for mum mum), hen(fan),bear, whoawer(flower), dite dite(light, light).

He can point to a few of his body parts. Can do sum signs like 'gong-xi', 'gong-xi', handwashing, good,good signs. Can sumtimes nod yes or wave no when ask certain very, very simple question but sumtimes 'buay chun'(not accurate) cause he properly dun really understand what the question really is, just answer for the sake of answering. :p

He still can't self-feed, hold a crayon properly(how I envy when I saw Rae-Ann doing it), not potty-train, can't hold a cup, cannot recognise words &amp; more ....

Elmo,
WELCOME!!! Shannon is really a sweetie!

We same boat lah!! I use to feed Aaron his milk spoon by spoon also!!! Think I did it for about 3 mths, tried all ways &amp; means until 1 fine day, this stubborn boy decided that he'll take to bottle again! So dun worry, the day will cum, ok, dun give up!

maple... u are so funny. hehee

flashcard with words? I tot all flashcards got words one? I got declan 2 sets. both set got picture and words. he might not be able to recognise the words though.

Rochelle,
erm.. can i borrow your mum? hehe

mngo.
thanks.. i tried to show rae but she will hold the toothbrush n brush my teeth... duh...
CONGRATS!!!! DECLAN IS WALKING!

maple.. me also use the same song... hehe.. infact tat song very 'useful' for many things..

elmo,
me long given up on the straw liao.. :p
maybe will try again next month...
poor u..must feed via spoon..

mngo,
tats what i have been doing for eons.. potato will drink water b4 she zzzz.. dunno when she can understand the concept of brushing her own teeth..
flashcards: there are word cards, picture cards n maths card...

maple,
potato cant self-feed la..
aaron is on a roll! so exciting when they pick up things faster n faster hor...
since we sharing our bb development..

Rae's development:
-potty train: har?
-drink from straw/cup: har?
-selffeed with spoon: 1%success
-word recognition: only the letter 'A' :p
-run:hahaha
-climb stairs: nope.
-go to sleep on her own: nope
-cant do sorting
-cant indicate 'YES' or nod head (duh)
-cant count
-cant sing

potato physical is rather 'slow'..
shes one of the last to turn, crawl, walk, self feed biscuits n still cant drink from straw/cup, climb etc but i am very happy n excited with her verbal. to date, she can 'say' with comprehension abt 100words..some arent phonetically accurate of course but i am a deluded mommy...

Some of the words tat she can say with comprehension:
-parts of body:
eyes, nose, cheeks, butt, mouth, teeth, hair/head(sounds the same), hand, mole, toes etc
-action words:
carry, keep, eat, step clap tap (these 3 sounds the same to me but she knows they are different things), bounce(boun), jump, sleep (seep), draw, read, sit down, lie down, walk, see, close, open, watch, stop, wait, touch, share, drive, press, shake etc
-food/meal time words:
milk, chair, spoon, bowl, bisbit (biscuits), porr-red(porridge), nana(banana), cup, orange, bread (bwead) etc
-others:
car, tree, book, pen ,light, where, this, door, key, watch, clock, yucky, dirty, tv(sounds like cd), glasses (grasses), clothes, box, out, bag, hot, cold, star, heart, shoes, socks, bear, duck, dog, fish (tish), ball, up, etc
-mine, baby, meimei, gorgor, ah ma, mummy, daddy (the last 2 are my favourite)

What i find very interesting is that
-some of the words she can say months/weeks back, she will not say them for some time n then out of the blue, she will say again. -words tat i teach n i get no reaction from her at tat time but suddenly she will say it days later.. her processing speed very slow....
-read that once a bb hits abt 50 words, KABOOM, there will be a verbal explosion..
i believe tat rae is currently focussing on her verbal expression tats y she picks up words very fast (if her mood is good, she can repeat the new word within seconds) but her physical n other development is bleah n nothing to shout abt...
I am also very guilty on her limited Chinese vocabulary.
and her temper is really really bad! n her patience short-lived!
i am desperate for advice on how to discipline her!

lach
yup agree with u. Now our baby pick up thing faster but more tough!!!

Now I cannot leave my eye on Elicia coz she will do all sort of things!! Elicia have also begin to run when we play with her. She is putting more weigh than before too. The PD say Elicia now is above 25% and below 50% instead of only 25%!! Hope she really can caught up with those normal range baby!!

lach
Well, actually I'm very happy abt Elicia development. She can learn thing easily. For example: few days back, I was teaching her the word reach home (chinese), I just say a few times and she can say the words!! Now when we abt to reach home, she will say it.

DECLAN....CONGRATULATIONS!!!! U make ur mommy soooooo HAPPY...

Brushing teeth - Stef will be sitting on the vanity top, will pass her a toothbrush &amp; cup to meddle wif....then will clean her teeth with gauze...after am done wif dat, I will brush my teeth to demo to her, she will try to imitate but itz all action only..!!!! then I will brush her teeth with her toothbrush jus to let her get use to the feeling....

Elicia....good sign....Mommy Yu, no worry....all bb hv different rate of growing ,some faster than other....wow, so good...no feed after 8:30pm... Stef last feed is abt 11pm or midnight...

O ya....one thing abt Stef...she's very vain!!! After her bath, she wld like to see herself in the mirror wif her toilet wrap over her (ACT CUTE!!!)....She likes to see herself in the mirror &amp; make monkey faces...jus got a call fm my mom dat Stef is posing in front of the mirror with her auntie's belt....

Stef's not interested in flashcards at all...latest try, I use the alphabet floor mat to teach her alphabets, she's not even keen at all...hmmm...maybe mommy 's a boring teacher....

LL
Elicia also like to stand in front of a mirror to look at herself!! She will touch the mirror or kiss it sometime even talking with it!!

Lach,
Ya lor, that song very useful, can use for many things ... heeheee ...

Wow!!! Potatoe Princess oredi knew more than 100 words, look like Aaron gor-gor got a lot to catch up ... ;P

Agree wif u, I also notice Aaron dun say certain words any more after he pick up sum new ones ... hmmm ....

LL &amp; Yu,
Both ur girls so cuuute!! Such girlish thing to do!!

Ur 2 'mei nus' (beauties) nx time sure can meet up to go shopping together. Mayb take part in beauty contest together also!

ok, finally manage to resize sum of Aaron photos.

Eve(Au) &amp; Lach,
Hope both ur necks not too long yet lah hor. *Paiseh*Paiseh lah*

Post 1 on CNY 1st, the rest still wif my FIL
377557.jpg

377558.jpg

hey mummies... sometime back read some of the babies went for classes right? how is it? can anyone tell me abt it?

hey jen, can u update for me my userid in yr that record eh? fm ger's mum to elmobbger.. that id was suspended eh.. kekeke.. thank u hor..

Mngo,
As a mother of two, I fully appreciate the joy of having 2 kids. It is so wonderful when see them playing together, fighting for toys, feeding to each other, laughing happily when someone is being teased, snuggling up to me for hugs and comfort every day. I love this parent-child bond.

Maple leaf,
Aaron is getting more and more yan tao...emmmmm, he is going to electrify lots of girls in future!!! I love the second one, looks so cool..
Same as Aaron, Wilfred also still can't self-feed, hold a crayon properly, not potty-train, and cannot recognize words &amp; more....

I always find that the Parenting Magazines in Singapore not very good, but still die die must find something to read during bed time. Can mummies please tell me which is your favourite Parenting Magazine? I'm doing a survey to decide which one to subscribe to. Thanks!

The choices are:

1) Motherhood
2) Young Parents
3) Today Parents
4) Mother and Baby
5) Family

I personally like the Mother and Baby Australian or US edition but unfortunately expensive lah!

(posting on Jen's behalf)

PLS VOTE FOR JEAN!
378507.jpg

How to Vote
Voting starts 27th of February 2006, 12pm until 24th of March 12pm

To vote, sms the number under the contestants name to 78888 (from Singapore) and 39113 (from Malaysia)

Please make sure that you do not leave space inbetween the contestant numbers. Please do not sms contestant's name. ONLY sms the contestant number. Jean's contestant number is kz020041.

one SMS vote cost S$0.50 for Singapore and RM$0.50 for Malaysia. You may vote as many times you would like for one or more of the contestants.

http://www.tangerined.com/KZ_talent/WhatsOn/SmS_Photogenic1.htm

hey all
my gal just vomit... Me also feel like vomit too!! Now got to wash all her pillow, bedsheet, and adult single mattress!!! So many things to wash...

Evelyn
i know and understand the goodness having siblings/ more than 1 child. But i guess due to some restrictions and contrains, it might seem impossible for me. Maybe when declan is bigger, when my health allows.....

KC,

I have only read young parents, Today's parents and Motherhood before. not subscribing yet so will only buy when i come across them.

have not seen the aussie mags you mentioned.

YP having a roadshow from 10 to 12 march. maybe I'll subscribed then.

yu,
is elicia unwell ? hope she is better now. i know how it's like when they merlioned. my hubby hates cleaning up too!

Playgroups &amp; Nursery Classes,
was told by my friend that we better book fast come march next year to enrol our kids for nursery in 2008. otherwise the good places will all be snatched up!

am also looking around for suitable and not too expensive playgroups in the East. intend to send shermyn there when she's 2.

any good ones to recommend ?

duffy/yuru/LL/kye&amp;rae and the other east mummies,
how nice if our kiddos can attend the same playgroup next time right ! they will have company and that'll be fun!