(2004/12) Year 2004 December Mummies

Lach:
yeah to both zoo & ice cream!

Lac...u want plastic bag for goodies? I hv plenty!!!! Let me kno...

Maid...think of it...me now feel "si-bak" oredi - no good, change lor....

<font color="ff0000">yuru, Seagal</font>
Thanks to provide me the list of dishes youve ordered. We have some malays frens, so need to look for halal caterer. Finally weve decided order from our previous caterer Thomson catering. Their food quite good actually, just that we would like to try other caterer, but too bad YLS catering is not halal caterer. (called and checked with them oredi.)

When you girls make order for catering, did you have any special requests? This Thomson catering not bad leh, I request free stuffs, they agreed to give us free 50 red eggs+dessert+black forrest cake+coffee. If no of pax exceed 100pax, transport charge waived.

<font color="ff0000">Rochelle,</font>
<font color="ff0000">Congratulations!!!</font> Wow, your labour was so short! Enjoy your confinement and do post some pictures of your healthy bb.

<font color="ff0000">Lach, Cody, Maple leaf, Seagal, Yuru</font>
Wilfred : thank you all the pretty aunties! Im just too lucky to win the contest lah coz when the doctor asked my mummy whether I can crawl on all four? Mummy told him that I can even stand unassisted and walk for few steps. He wanted me to show him then I showed him lor! Besides that, I also very guai to return back the toys to the doctor when he asked me.

<font color="ff0000">LL,</font>
Oh no, experienced maid gives you problems again?!!! Relax relax! Seems like nowadays not easy to get a good maid hor?

good the morning!
Yawn yawn ... not enough sleep
344787.gif

TGIF, finally it's friday!

Hey, I got to ask the same question again:
<font color="ff0000">What food to introduce to our bb now that she's 1 yr old.</font>

Lach,
The barley hor, it's those normal barley we buy at the store, than grind already just put into the porridge har? Can u write yr secret recipes for me?

<font color="ff0000">Food to introduce</font>
Can our bb eat normal cheese now? Those indicate for Kids?

May I ask bb's schedule of makan again?
Mine is:
7am -- 90 ml of milk with her antibiotic
10am -- BR Cereal with one puree
1pm -- Porridge of the day
4pm -- 210ml of milk
7pm -- Same Porridge of the day
10pm -- 210ml of milk

Thanks!!!
344788.gif

duffy,

Nat makan schedule as follow :

7.30am - 180ml milk
9.30am - 120ml milk
12.30pm - Porridge
4.00pm - 150ml milk
7.30om - Porridge
10.30pm - 180ml milk

hi morning mommies...
nice chatting with everyone yesterday

duffy,
javier schedule is as follow:
7.30am - 240ml milk with cereal
12.30pm - porridge
4.00pm - 210 ml milk
7.00pm - porridge
10.30pm - 240 ml

mngo: ya i was, but i came v late becos dean over-slept his usual 1 hour nap! i arrived at ard 6pm. u already left by then? cos i didn't see u at all....

duffy,
no secret lah... i just follow tat book lor.

*i grind the 3 grains(br, millet, barley) n dump them into the slow cooker together with meat n 2 supergreen veges, then before serving, add nutritional yeast and tada... nutritious porridge for rae.
(its real easy, n fuss free esp for lazy bums like me)

*2-3x a week, i replace meat with lentils/tofu.
*1 give egg yolk 2-3x a week (1/2 yolk each)
*then late afternoon will be some fruits/yoghurt OR
*lately give her cheerios with milk (rae doesnt snack at home so she very deprived of snacks so tot compensate her with cheerios)

*her breakfast is mixgrain cereal n i will be adding flaxseed soon.. n maybe some fruits?

for her vege. its abt the same everyday.
-broccoli / asparagus / spinach / kailan AND
-carrot / sweet potato / pumpkin / sweetpeas / cauliflower

i think its abt time this lazy mummy intro new vege to her.. was thinking of onion/green pepper (dun ask my why) n brussel sprout.
from this week, she suppose to be on 3solid aday but i always go gaigai ...

this is rae's boring bland menu EVERYDAY! dunno when she will throw the porridge n cereal back at me. but being the pig that she is, she always eat them happily, thus far, so keep fingers cross

and this KS mummy also give rae supplements cos she got sensitive nose n i super ks mah
-multivit, nordic nature codliver oil(just started) n colostrum

in general, i find tat rae health abit better since i stick to this diet for her.
her nose is still running marathon abt once a month but find the frequency n duration lesser n she still got phelgm occasionally.. so touch wood

Question for mummies:
-do u give ikan bilis?
-do u use bone to boil soup (or as a porridge base) for bb? is it the same as giving meat??? coz i never boil soup for her.. only give her meat.n i seldom give pork too. so is it ok??
wonder if her toothlessness got anything to do with lack of BONE in her diet..

duffy,

actually those cheese for kids (kraft?)shd be ok for our bb but in moderation coz of the salt content?.. most mummies here give cottage cheese (i think)
aiya, ask our cheese expert who is lying low at the moment.. (dunno y leh)

new food:
i have given rae some bread n chappati to try.. dam farni see her chew like cow..

Lach
a few more questionns,k
Where do u purchase millet huh? What's the chnese name for millet?
Where did u get Cheerios too? I can't find at all
Where do u buy the nutritional yeast? Can take a photo show me?

Sorry lah, this really idiotic muummy tried to find the items from the super BB Book, cannot find leh :p

I use Ikan bilis to boil with water, and use the soup to cook porridge EVERYday, cause my MIL think it will make the porridge taste better. I'm not sure is it too much to drink everyday leh....

DUFFY,

-Millet
Chinese name for millet is 'mi(3) le(4)'
lol.. i also dunno la...

attached pics i googled... the grain is rather round with a hole in it.

345350.jpg

345351.jpg

-nutritional yeast
its another name for brewers yeast. its like yellow powder. (grain plus brewers yeast equals protein)
got it for seagal b4 but shermyn didnt like it. i put 1 teaspoon to her porridge everyday since she was 9m.

-lentil
its a kind of legumes that i find its the easiest to cook (its common in indian cooking, esp curry). lentil plus grain equals protein.
so on some days, to replace meat, i give lentils. its very sweet n rae loves it.

-flaxseed
(according to the bk) flaxseed is THE food highest in the omega-3 fatty acid linoleic acid n one of the best food sources of the other essential fatty acid (only sardines, sockeye salmon n atlantic mackeral has more)
*i m still thinking how to feed this to her coz must grind n feed within hours else it goes rancid. but the amt to grind is so tiny!!

-(rolled) oats
can add to porridge too!

i got most of the stuff from brown rice paradise at Tanglin Mall.
in fact most organic stores will carry them. and i have seen some cold storage or even pharmacy selling them.
if you want, can help u buy n pass to u? sms / call me

i've scribbles little notes on some chapters (easier to remember) but generally pg 123 , 135 is my reference.

cody, i was outside , trying to make declan sleep lor~~. haizz... mmmm u got photo of your face or not? maybe i saw u, but dunno is u lor

MNGO,

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO OUR HIGH FASHION BABY- DECLAN!

345423.jpg

Ah Soh Lachesiz wishes you good health, happiness always... and forever HANDSOME

Yuru...going in &amp; out of the club is not much of a problem. Seems like u can walk freely in...only thing, u need to be a member to sign out for towels &amp; lockets + discounted $$ on food other than that think shld not be a problem. If they happened to ask, jus say a member friend brought u in &amp; is playing golf now....

Seagal,
OIC, 'nu3 da4 shi2 ba1 bian4', so dun worry for Shermyn. She's already showing potential that she'll be a lady nx time, c how sweet she is in that dress!

Cody,
U went too? When? Yes, Aaron sure loves the fishes!!! We didn't stay till that late to watch the fountain &amp; I've not been to Sentosa for donkey yrs ... heeheehee ... so in my mind, the water fountain will still be those old days type which u like ... :p me mountain tortise hor ...

Duffy,
Aaron's makan schedule :

6.30 - 7.30 - Milk 60~120ml
9.30 - 11.00 - Milk 60~120ml
1.00 - 2.00 - Porridge(1/2 - a bowl)
4.00 - 5.00 - Milk 60~120 ml
7.00 - 8.00 - Porridge (3/4 - a bowl)
22.00 - 23.00- Milk 60~120ml

This is his rough schedule, on avg, he takes about 300 ~ 450 ml of milk/day.

Lach,
Really envy Rae, her mummy is providing her wif such nutritious meal, *sigh*, feeling very guilty now, me better buck up.

mapleleaf,
if you notice, raes menu is the same everyday n its boring... i do it coz its real easy :p
there are so many other mummies who takes so much pride n effort in whipping up sumptious nutritious meal for their little ones! looking at their food makes me drool!!!
rem seagal's pasta?? LL apple fish?? yum....
these are mummies i shd learn from!

Thanks all for the info on meals' schedules.
I realise the emphasis on milk are still alot for most of u hor? Just wondering cause, doc told me b4 now it really doesn't matter how much FM the baby is drinking. It's the solids that plays the important part now.

Which is why Chloe haven't been drinking alot, and I'm not on alert mode. She haven't been finishing her milk, the most abt 10-15oz per day. But she's on 3 solid meals per day....
Have sucessfully changed my FM to Gain grow up too.

345777.gif

hi mummies .... sorry for this long post.

<font color="0000ff">eve au</font>,
wow ... thomson catering so good, can give you free red eggs, cakes, etc!
yls only provides free delivery and their charges are inclusive of gst. how many headcount did you cater for ?

<font color="ff0000">duffy</font>,
shermyn takes about 6 meals a day on average : 2 to 3 meals of porridge and the rest will be FM.
we give her some snacks eg. biscuits, bread in between.

i would have like to give her more fruits but have not been very successful as my mil has no time to do that.

can i check with the mummies here what type of fruits (besides apple, pear, banana) you give your babies and do you feed them raw, cooked, in cubes, scrapped ?

now that shermyn is 1 year old. i am a bit lost as to what other foods to introduce her.

i find giving her the same old porridge gets a bit boring now (albeit there are variations in the veges and meats we can give). on the other hand, i am hesitant to let her try the food we eat as i know once i start giving the go-ahead, my in laws will feed her anything under the sun including those oily, salty, sweet foods she shouldn't be taking too much as yet. Maybe the more experienced mummies here feline and eve au can share your experiences ?

i have only just started giving her egg yolk. cheese is another good idea duffy. another replied you on whether kids cheese are suitable for our babies now ? i still find the normal cheese too salty for them.

cheerios : lach, how do you give the Cheerios ? i have to cook them in FM to soften them as they are a bit too hard to chew. it will turn a bit gummy after cooking though but at least easier for them to eat.

duffy, you can find cheerios at Jasons and at Cold Storage but stocks run out quite fast. can call them before going down to check if they have stock.

<font color="119911">lach</font>,
i add ikan bilis powder occasionally to the porridge to add flavor.
for the porridge's soup base, i will boil vege stock and add in lean pork sometimes. the pork makes it sweeter and i will also mince the pork to add into the porridge. have yet to give her beef yet though. went wet market last sat but cannot find chinese stall selling beef ? later my mil told me only the malay stalls sell beef ...silly me! walked a few rounds looking for chinese beef seller. my mil say better to buy beef from cold storage - more qc.

brewer's yeast : shermyn didn't like it ? can't remember i told u that already ... maybe it was during the initial stages. she takes it everyday with her porridge now.

lentils : i have not tried this and i didn't know it tasted sweet ?

flaxseed : hmm...difficult to prepare and cannot keep. this is out for lazy mummy.

u lazy ???? did i hear wrongly ? looking at the type of foods you are giving rae ann, you are really more conscientious then me! i must learn more from you leh.

<font color="0000ff">LL</font>,
btw, i tried apple porridge with pork last sat. dunno why it didn't taste very sweet and turn out quite bland actually. how many apples your mum put in for 1 meal ?

<font color="0000ff">food for 1 year old</font>
Hi Mommies
I bought a book called nutritious food for baby and toddler. here are some menu for our 1 year toddlers and after 1 year

1) Macaroni with Milk
2) Cheeze Toast
3) Noodles in Meat Stock
4) Braised chicken and cabbage
5) Chicken with Soy Bean
6) Cucumber with yoghurt
7) Yam and sesame
9) Steamed white fish
10) Milk and chicken pudding
11) Bread pudding
12) Apple salad
13) Vegetables sandwiches
14) Chicken in cream sauce

<font color="ff6000">seagal</font>
u mentioned your MIL no time to give sherymn fruits??? she is looking after how many babies?
mmm... so far my MIL is quite ok. she gives declan apples alternate days. We have tried avocado(once), apples, kiwi (once), banana, watermelon (once)

<font color="ff0000">mngo</font>,
ya lor. she is taking care of my coming 5 year-old nephew whom she is still feeding porridge to so i can't expect her to give my gal fruits every day.

i tried avocado and kiwi once also but shermyn didn't like them. will try again some time later.

wah ... your menu looks sumptuous leh. but how to cook ? haha.. looks like I have to visit the bookstores or browse around the web for recipes... reminds me also of one book feline mentioned before. remember her yummy chicken kebab ?

Elicia wake up at 7+, she will play herself till abt 8am den she will wake me up to accompany her.
AM
8.30 3oz milk
9.00 half tomato, 2 prune, 125ml fruit juice, cereal and apple or orange ( breakfast) She sit in the highchair eat herself while I do other thing
11.00 6-7oz milk (nap till 1-2pm)
PM
2.30 10oz cereal
3.30 nap till 4-5pm
6.00 Share dinner with me
8.00 7oz milk (Sleep)

<font color="ff0000">Annabel Karmel</font>
scrolled through feline's past posting on the recipe book she bought and found that the author has a few recipes we can try on her website : http://www.cookingforchildren.co.uk/recipes.htm

hehe, don't have to buy the book now. can save some $$$ first. though i really love flipping through the colourful pages in the recipe book.

<font color="ff0000">YU</font>,
elicia really very clever! can eat on her own! congrats on her 3rd tooth!!

seagal,

3 porridge meals? r they the same thruout the day? do you cook them 3x? or u cook once n keep in slow cooker? think i must diligently upped raes solid to 3x too.
shermyn has a very comprehensive diet! LOVE the way she nibbles her biscuits!
*fruits given to rae: normally, i mashed them
apple,
pear,
papaya,
nectarines
plums,
prunes,
avocado (she loves it,i try to give 2x a week)mango,
peach,
banana

*cheerios:
cook? i soak mine in FM too coz too hard for 1/2tooth to chew/bite. it shd pose no prob for shermyn!
do check expiry date b4 purchase coz sometimes cheerios on offer cox its near expiry date.

*meat
i only minced the meat, never make soup (lazy me)
i gave rae beef when shes abt 9-10m. abt 2x a week. like u said, i only buy the beef from CS n its those tat i ask the man to cut, not those already packed. coz i only buy 50g (so tat can fin within 2days)! n i ask for ice..
rae mainly takes beef, rarely pork. but i need to give her more fish.

i rem tat u told me shermyn didnt like the yeast at the first few tries.. great that shes having it daily! its quite yummy hor. i add it to my own porridge too but hb refuse to take it! he says health food aint food.

*lentil is commonly found in indian curry. its quite sweet.
*avocado: i used to mix it in FM for rae. now,i add to her cereal or give her plain. y dun u mix the avocado with other fruits? give shermyn a fruit medley?

*i now add the grind flaxseed to her cereal. no choice, buy already let her eat lor else wasted.

*what kind of bread u gave shermyn?

*mummies, when do u add the vege when u cook porridge? how soft are ur vege?

mngo,
the menu looks BETTER THAN my own meals!
YUM YUM. but takes alot of time rite???
so i'll stick to the boring porridge till she gets sick of them! but will love to try them..on myself! is it the pink book? with chinese/english?

seagal,
if shermyn can self feed fruits, why not give her some big slice of apple/pear to nibble on? ur MIL just need to watch her?

YU.
ur elicia really SUPERB! u can really shake leg! not only is her diet so varied n 'easy' but she feeds herself too!! ENVY ENVY.
congrats on her 3rd tooth..
(potato still trying very very very hard to grow half a tooth.. somemore the tooth not straight! pengz)

seagal,
ikan bilis: how do u prepare them? as in is it, wash, dry, grind?? is it salty? what kind do u buy? can buy ready grind ones (hehe) with less sodium?? hehehe
thanks.. soorry i so many qn.. coz i really kuku abt ikan bilis.. haven given rae any yet.. maybe tats y still no teeth.

Lach,
Heard from a fren ah, in order to lower the sodium content, u can :

Step 1.) Soak the ikan bilis with water
Step 2.) Dry it in the sun
Step 3.) Grind into powder after drying

Too leh cheh for me this lazy mummy, so todate, I still have not let Aaron take any ikan bilis ... :p

Mngo,
The receipe looks familiar, issit the Novum's cookbook?

Duffy,
According to another mummy from another thread, bbies above 1 yr old needs oni avgly about 400ml FM a day, so I guess no concern if Chloe is taking 10-15oz.

Wat's the current FM brand which you all are giving to your bbies? I'm using Prgress Gold 3. Any1 have any idea whether issit good or not ah?

Yu!
You mean Elicia can feed herself so fine!! Clap Clap !!! superb! She really can eat with spoon and all? Can teach Chloe? This mummie also want to shake leg leh.. :p

Thank you all mummies for yr schedule, and the info.

Hey, I bought that book for Annabel Karmel... tried the "Mashed Potato and Carrot with Broccoli and Gruyere" Chloe don like
but mummie like leh, quite tasty wht...

Do u all use oil to cook food for baby?

Maple...me oso using Progress Gold 3. Had started Stef on S26 the very first day, then proceed to Progress Gold 2. Was contemplating the other day 'cos Progress Gold 3 comes in vanilla flavor (was pretty puzzled-how come har), me sauku mommy asked around wat other FM bb take..think, think again jus bought 1 tin to try...thank god, Stef drinks...

Ikan bilis...I don't grind it any mor, jus soak in water-boil stock wif it then use the stock to cook porridge....pretty tasty must say...

Yu...Elicia so advance, can feed herself liao. Me oso tot of trying but must put stef in the backyard where I can do washing after she finish her meal 'cos I'm expecting a big wash up after dat!!!!