(2004/12) Year 2004 December Mummies

[Feline] not sure whether itz cheaper there, jus check it out lor....but mayb cannot wait, will jus go & grab from the store... Aiyoh...u missed my version of "THE MAID"...hee...hee...

[cody]..???? wat slow cooker did u use? Mine has got no switch control, jus plug in and on the power switch, datz it... Mayb u did not cook long enuf...will take abt 4 hrs to cook brown rice...Don't give up, try again....and again....and again until itz time for dean to take rice!!!

oh my gosh!
i miss out a lot and it's really so fun!!! December one, i must go. but hor .... dun go on declan's birthday, cos i sure cannot make it.

O ya....mommies, as I had promised b4 - here's how I change steffi wen she's drinking her milk....did not hv the chance to demonstrate dat day....
314639.gif
her piglet bolster will hold the bottle for me...

[Mngo] so.....u better pen it down hor...04 DEC 2005, SUNDAY....

feline,
i tot i was the one who gave cay swiss roll to bribe him??
kao_embarrassed.gif

i rem he had ah kun roti when he was @5months! he super baby!
when u going cuppage? lmk. if got barley cereal, help me buy can? sms me..

cody,
same as seagal n feline, i grind the rice first. u want smoother consistency then grind it longer to make it real fine. but at dean's age, can intro lumpier texture to him. (so maybe canto congee consistency mix with a bit of teochew style to acclimatise him?)
are u cooking brown rice or white? even when i cook brown rice n millet for myself, i cook it overnite (@7-8hrs) texture its like teochew porridge.

seagal,
potato on cereal bfast and porridge lunch. teatime depends on what time i come home(as i wld like to personally feed her at least 1 solid meal a day more for bonding purposes, so its just really super mini portions of fruits/avocado/yoghurt/mashpotato with veg). but if i m home late, she will not have high tea.
anyway, she so fat, no need eat so much.
have u tried feeding shermyn beef and tofu?
(there is organic beef and tofu if u wan 'safer' pdts)

LL,
thanks for so generously giving potato steffi's bb biscuits to rae that nite..apologised for her rude behaviour when she yelled at u for more. shes very deprived of bb biscuits coz i have only fed her less than 5x so far since she lazy to self feed so i lazy to feed her lor..(2 can play at a game!) btw, steffi hairstyle very stylo.

mngo,
regret hor... we miss you too! but i am sure declan will be too tired that day too after a fun day at WowWowWow!

seagal,
the yeast tasteless (to me) leh.. how much u put? 1/4-1/2 teaspoon? u try putting some in one portion and another portion w/o n see if theres a difference in taste.. (lmk your experiment results).
i put it in my own porridge too. intend to sprinke them on everyones dinner plate too (much to the chagrin of my hb who believes that healthy food is NOT FOOD). my mummy gave thumbs up to the yeast as she had also heard abt its nutritional value (she says she wan to add to her milo/kopi!!)

Feline
actually if baby is exposed to pool before - Like our JEAN here. then is fine. cos they have those very pool ... (if u been to sunway, is like the one with wave... and look like beach).

saw cody post dunno why suddenly think of japanese food then think of hanabi then think of which day free muz go and try then think of 'its only monday' then sian already......
ignore me.. boliao ranting again(coz today dam fed up at work until my milk ss dipped by nearly 50%)

yu,
ask LL lor... we already appoint her as event organiser #2!.

LL,
such ingenuity! the bolster fulfill its destiny, steffi gets her milk, and mummy can things done!

so many posting, so many photos....

YYP,
dun worry abt the piano reflector, no damage at all. even if yes oso nvm lah!

KC,
of course RuiYing happy mood & excited lah!! JJ kissed him!!!! :p

Jen,
aiyo, the list wrong ah!!! u found so many mistake!! pai seh lah!
u got amend and send out to all or not?

rochelle,
ya better find a gynae u are comfortable with. Keep us posted ok!

9mths assesment
need to go or not? are all bbs here going for assesment?

cereal,
i give nat heinz banana cereal and EM oatmeal. Tried heinz 'muesli & apple' last saturday but she dun like. waste my money!!

feline, lach,
how to add fruits into cereal? do u steam the fruits or just mash it?

lach,
allerhand bag- i collected mine, sunflower carryon!! was thinking to take pink but hubby said he wont carry for me wor... it's too pink for him! :p so we chose sunflower in the end.

<font color="ff0000">lach</font>,
ya.. i just tried giving Shermyn tofu on Sat. Haven't tried beef yet.

I put abt 1 tsp BY so don't think it'd really altered the taste. Will try again this weekend.

Organic food are so ex. Will try them only once in a while lor.

<font color="0000ff">TBL</font>,
Brought Shermyn for her 9 mths assessment already. Didn't ur PD mention there will be one between 6 to 10 months ? You can refer to the health booklet for details of the assessment.

Rochelle
It's to good to find a OB that you are comfy with, preferably with recommendation. Also be sure to visit the hospitals before you decide which to use.

To be honest, the OB here are more kancheong - scared of malpractice suits - so if they don't think there's a need to do ultrascan, then you and bb are probably doing well. This is what I feel.

If you need anything, let me know if I can be of help. U need any bb stuff? Also when is your EDD again, think I must have missed it.

The meet-up looks so fun! When I heard that you are planning another in Dec, I was very happy coz I'm thinking of visiting in Dec. But think I'll miss it again, not the right timing again!

Better luck next time! Have fun!

Wow ... so many photos .... all very well taken!! I'm trying to load sum pix from hb's hp but dunno wat happen leh, cannot find the picture when connected to PC but they're there in the phone leh. Argrrh ... will try again ....

Regret, regret, this muddle-headed mummy forgotten to bring camera also.

LL,
No wonder I keep thinking that I've 4gotten sumthing again, ya lah, 4gotten to <font color="ff0000">THANK YOU</font> again for the notes.

Seagal,
Tks for ur kind understanding!

Wow ... 8.1 quite gd oredi mah. Bigger than Aaron, his last wt was oni 7.4kg (after he fell sick).Haiz ... trying all ways &amp; means now to increase his wt.

Yu,
Pls tell me how u eventually make Elicia take bottle hah?

Aaron now refuses bottle leh, be it BM or FM. I've been trying to feed him other food which contains FM instead in order to make him take them.

Lach &amp; Feline,
Both Rae-ann &amp; Cayden look like they're taking very nutritious food! Looks like I've a lot to learn from u gals man. Help!!! I need to let Aaron gain wt!!!

Rochelle,
Glad to hear that u've found gynae whom u'r more comfortable wif. Hope u'r feeling more settled now.

Cosmo,
When is the period which u'll be back?

<font color="0000ff">Leo &amp; Mummies who think their girls are fat</font>
This is a pic of Ashley aka Lotus Root @ 4mths. All the princesses out there, tell your mummies you ain't fat....

314686.jpg
314687.jpg

<font color="0000ff">LL</font>
Heehee.. I will be checking out the stores this weekend...
Hahahahahaha... LOL... you cracked me up. Your version of "THE MAID"??
314688.gif

<font color="0000ff">Lach</font>
*Guilty look* hee hee... Cayden had swiss roll &amp; some of the sushi rice over at YYP plc too
314689.gif

I should be @ Cuppage on Wed, will sms ya

<font color="0000ff">Mngo</font>
Cool, cool.. then I must go check out WWW. Cayden and Ashley LOVES the water. <font color="0000ff">Lach</font>, does Rae care for a date with Cay?
314690.gif

<font color="0000ff">Yu</font>
<u>Tentative</u> group event on 4 Dec:
Underwater world *to be confirmed by our organiser <font color="0000ff">LL</font>
314691.gif

<u>Confirmed</u> individual event on 6 Dec with <font color="0000ff">Lach</font>:
Zoo (Last year we had hippo as animal of the day, this year showcase would be a slim giraffe)
314692.gif

<font color="0000ff">TBL</font>
Fruits - Raw. Hard crunchy fruits, grinded. If its soft fruits (e.g, banana,avocado) just diced it so that the our kiddos can practise some chewing
Vegetables- Steamed and diced

<font color="0000ff">Seagal</font>
Yeah, organic stuff are X! A lame excuse I give myself..I believe in Yi3 Du2 Gong1 Du2, which is why I give Cayden a mixture of everything (inlcuding paper + some dirt off the floor)

<font color="0000ff">Cosmo</font>
Don't think lah.. just book your flight for the event date *TBA* We would all LOVE TO MEET YOU

<font color="0000ff">Maple</font>

Cayden looks like he has nutritious food? Gosh, you have been badly misled...

Like Lach says, I even gave Cayden Ah Kun Roti @ 5mths!! To add on to the "Forbidden list", I even gave him Agar Agar, Bens&amp;Jerrys CHOCOLATE ice cream, Fillet-O-Fish, Yakult, Cake, Sushi..

Rae is the real McCoy when it comes to nutritious food. She is a BF baby and has an organic diet
314697.gif
Lach only gives her the best..lucky baby

Cayden is the real McCoy for being a trash bin.. whatever you throw inside him, he will just gobbles down without a word!

mngo,
declan issac is very unique.. what does declan mean? is it scottish/irish? if i had a boy, his name would mostly likely be issac!

<font color="ff0000">cosmo</font>,
u coming back in dec? great!

what u bz with recently? bz must still post recent pics of your little prince mah..
does he still look jap?

and speaking of jap... we think of japanese food!! (blame cody) but see how amazing the human mind is..
going for jap lunch with a galfren later to celebrate her newly-discovered pregnancy!!
(i think made in USA as she just came back after been there @1yr)..
she says since she can't eat sashimi,
she will admire the color!

<font color="ff0000">9 month assessment optional</font>.
those who doesn't have one schedule
can call ur pd and check lor..
rae no need to go as she saw the pd few weeks back and said she developing well
(summore can scold ple)...
i ask her if shes overweight, she smile and never answer! and quietly say 'no.. shes fine'! duh.
lotus leg #2.

Lach
Declan is a irish name. Meaning Irish saint. How we came about this name (declan isaac) is My hubby wanted his name to start with D. I wanted his name to start with I being D is my hb initial, I is my own initial. Then, My hubby likes the name ISAAC, but to compromise we have to get a D name in front, and sought the help of my sister in law.

Mmm... Isaac to some pple sounds not too english. cos i think is jewish name la. but it means Laughter
. quite a good meaning

<font color="ff0000">bb weight</font>.
i think as concern mummies, most of us will never be satisfied with our bb weight.
i lament rae's too heavy,
maple said aaron got room for improvement n so on.
as long as they are healthy n developing well and within the acceptable range,
our mind should be at ease..
anyway, bb will catch up/slow down in the physical growth to be within the 'average range' so dun worry...
case in point ASHLEY. she was really very chubby (but oh so cute)
and now, she has shed some bb fats and so pretty (during her bbhood, we keep thinking of lotus soup).

<font color="ff0000">bbfood</font>.
i, like all of you ladies, just try my best.
i dun give organic vegetables (coz so ex!).
only organic cereal n grain lah...

i try not to give her table food so as not to cultivate this habit
BUT i tried once (gave her a pinch of bao) and got so frightened by rae.
Coz, she scream for more thruout my dimsum meal!!
wah piang... scared already..
next time no more table food for her so that i can have a peace of mind and eat in peace.
shes unlike cay and other bb, will ask politely and with a smile!

feline,
date with cay?
can.. no problem..but cannot touch her face hor..
she's tolerating cayden and u know how fierce she is
(got evidence of rae yanking cay's hair at the gathering!)

dun forget my annual pilgrimage to the zoo on 6dec! cay n ash coming rite?
any other mummies wanna join?
if so, this year showcase creatures will be MONKEYS (our bb are born in yr of monkeys) and their social behaviour!
(hippo will take a backseat this yr)

Good morning mums!

PORRIDGE:
thanks for all your tips! quite true, i never really thot of moving dean onto teochew porridge. Lazy bones me just tot of continuing with what my MIL's been preparing for him. Problem with my son is that he likes to retch also, so if the consistency's not right, he's going to merlion all the porridge + my efforts.

Slow cooker:
I use a Cornell Slow cooker. Dirt cheap, got it at such a bargain! Only $29 and it comes with LO, HIGH and AUTO functions. From COURTS, but i think its out of stock now.

PHOTOS:
I have been trying to mail the photos to all of you, but i guess our email accounts are being inundated by other mail as well. So for those of you who haven't rec'd my set of photos, pls email / sms me with an available email address.

OUTING:
so its set? the next gathering with be at the zoon on Dec 4? Eh Lach, bring fwd your pilgrimage by 2 days, or go to the zoo twice this year!

Speaking of zoo ..... lach your are NOT a hippo!
In fact, you &amp; so many of the other mommies are so slim!!!!
I was the only humpty dumpty around, just look at my double chin peeking out from every single shot! arghsssssssssssss

Mapleleaf:
When i first introduced Dean to FM, he hated it with all his might. He would push the bottle away and choose to starve.

I persisted with FM for about 1-2mths before he was finally receptive to the taste. Needless to say, there was plenty of wastage during that period (actually Dean's still guilty of that now) but i guess they'll need to take FM eventually. So the wastage is in a way, inevitable? Good luck!

feline,
u going down tmr? rem to sms me.. i might be in town in the afternoon.
btw, wheres cuppage centre? is it next to centrepoint or far far away?

seagal,
how u know my profession huh?

<font color="ff0000">need advise from mummies</font>
as my ss is dwindling, had to think of bringing FM out to feed potato when we're out.
QN:
-do u carry a thermos flask for hot water? if yes, how big?
-any mummies bring hot solid meal to feed bb outside?
-if yes, how do u transport the food?
-i thinking of buying a food thermos flask (dunno what u call it.). what size should i get? saw one @6-7inches high.. looks like a big cup (think feline has one) is it enuf?
-how abt utensils? where u keep the spoon? of u buy those with a casing?
-how long can the solid food keep (porridge) in the thermos?

pls help me think COMPACT as i dun want to carry the entire kitchen when we go out, carrying a sack of potato is already tedious enough.

sorry gals... been v bz to catch up on posts... hopefully will hv time end of the week... it's been great meeting up... though i've been feedback that i was pretty quiet in person... soo unlike me here... wahaha... well... shy mah... *puke*... anyway, kinda tired that day too... and gotta handle the monkey alone... =P

thanks maple for the seal... aiyah... jean forgot to give aaron gorgor a kiss...

thanks LL for the notes too... it's been crumpled by jean oredi... :p I'll zap another copy...

lach:
the transition to FM and solids is a killer for our shoulders!

I have also recently started carrying FM with me, oh mannnnnnnnn...

To answer your questions:
1) Thermos flask of hot water: 470ml. Filled to the brim, very heavy! Some moms advise me to get hot water from restaurants etc, but i dun trust that they'd clean the storage jars like the way we do.

2) Thermos flask of porridge: yes i do, but only for 1 meal (to lessen the weight). Can't remember the size, but it resembles a mug for office use. Keeps hot for abt 7 hours, esp if you condition the flask before you put the porrige in. Condition the flask by filling it with hot water to stand for 5-10mins.

3) Transport: i keep food &amp; clothes diapers in seperate bags.

4) Utensils: i bring a pigeon bowl that comes with an attached spoon. Its not v good cos its quite small.

To scoop the porridge out, i leave a chinese soup spoon inside the thermos flask (no contamination by saliva).

Some other issues you may need to think about:
1) Bottles - depends on how long you go out, you will need to bring more bottles with you. I bring only 1 bottle for milk, and i rinse it with hot water after each feed. (Hence i need a large flask of hot water)

2) Cool water to prepare FM - some moms pour out the hot water from the thermos flask, and let it cool till the next feed. Again, i live in constant fear that i won't have enough hot water so i carry yet another bottle of cool boiled water from home. Alternatively you can buy bottled water when you're out.

3) Milk powder - bring a dispenser of milk powder. Super kiasu me ... i bring a dispenser as well as another container of milk powder with the scoop, just in case i run out or if i want to give odd-servings of milk (eg with cereals)

When i'm out, i leave the food bag in the car unless its time for dean's meal. Its a killer carrying this bag around!

Good Morning mummies!

Here's my contributions of the photos from the gathering. I'd try to zip up the rest to send to all but need to give me some time.....

Jin Jin and Rui Ying

314807.jpg

314808.jpg

Natalie and Rui Ying

314809.jpg

Chloe and Rui Ying

314810.jpg

I've got more but difficult to crop mummies face so cannot post here loh...

as promised, here is my very dated photo studio taken at Peter Pan on saturday.
The colour is really poor, making the pic look like it was taken in the early 80s!

314827.jpg

Now i am determined to do another family portrait but at a better studio. I'll also bring my doggy along next time!

KC: tks, but i didn't realise that all 3 of us were colour co-ordinated until my colleague mentioned it to me this morning. Maybe its our blue outfits that also added to the gloom.

So disappointed ....

YYP,
glad JJ likes the enormous turnip.
i got the 3little pigs for rae as she likes pink and pigs!

KC,
ruiying yan fu bu qian! took so many pics with pretty gal! n even stole JJ first kiss!
dun u think jean and ruiying look like twins?

Lachesiz,

Kekeke!
A bit hor! But I can't find photos they took together leh!

Let's see what Jen says...

Hahaha! Last night we tried to get Rui Ying to read a picture book, he just bit all the edges and threw it away, then his daddy told Rui Ying that he must be nice to JinJin so that next time can copy her homework!!!

KC: thanks for your compliments!

Yuru:
i have tried plain BR porridge ... complete failure cos didn't cook long enough over the stove. Turned out to be grainy.

Currently i mix 5portions of white rice with 1 portion of brown rice, and i use the slow cooker. 4 hours on low heat gets me the teochew porridge consistency.

Oooh, maybe i should try your method. But i'm too lazy to teach my maid to cook over the stove, trsf to slow cooker etc. Think i'll just stick to the one-pot-cooks-all method!

I'm a lazy mummy!

My monkey dones't seem to be so interested in books. I bought several for him, but he won't look at it for long. Next think you know, he's already crawled off to play with some prohibited items eg electrical sockets etc. That's my son, THE MONKEY!

KC,
your hb got foresight! then ruiying sits on the left of JJ and rae-ann sits on the right!

this is call 'study smart' hahaha

Cody...poor U....still making teochew muay....I jus check my porridge, there's still abit of grainy rice left but itz really soft, when gonna feed Stef, I would mash up and it becomes creamy, anyhow our bb now can start to eat some grainy ones since they hv teeth oredi....

Cody...can sepia tone ur pix...dat wld look real oldies..nice...mayb can ask Duffy, she's the expert here....

Lachesiz...Here's my list
1. thermo flask wif right temp water (no nid to bring hot+cold water) If water not hot enuf, will ask restuarant...those are really "HOT".
2. biscuits + snacks
So far hv not bring food, will feed her @home, food can be kept in thermo flask for at least 4hrs min, still can maintain the warm.

Maple Leaf...don't worry abt Aaron, he has his own growing rate...probably he has high metabolic rate datz y he burn out food easily.....

GATHERING #2
Date : 04 DEC 2005, SUNDAY
Venue : NSRCC (opposite Tanah Merah Country Club)
Time : from 3pm to zzzzzzz.....time
Activity : Yippeee, the new pool &amp; playground will be ready by November 2005.....
Will post more info on the location soon......

<font color="0000ff">Hi all pretty mummies,</font>
Im so sad! No time to chat with you girlsso busy and so many posting to read!
Having my lunch now; Delifrance bread+curry chicken+watermelon+veg salad+orange juice! (lunch provided by company.)

Yesterday Im super tired! Slept at 9pm!!! Long time never sleep so early! But in between need to wake up for few times coz elder son wanted go to pee (toilet trained).

Feline,
Is Ashley already toilet train?

Cody,
Your family portrait very nice! At least the blue background better than mine!

cody,
the way u describe the things needed for preparing FM and feeding solid outside so scary! like going for battle! i will try to postpone this battle as long as possible (me lazy)
thanks for the details.really useful.
will go shop for a thermos and utensils soon (yeah.. got excuse to shop!! )
the studio shot quite nice wahhhh.
u say until like bleah...
dean looks happy in the photo!

zoo trip.

my water performance last year.
such nimble dance moves hor...
314853.jpg

change to 4dec? can !

LL,
u very fast! book and settle venue n time already!

maple
I EBM feed her for 1day den slowly increase the FM amt. There are times also my gal refuse at first but be more "hard heart" dun let the bb latch on. My gal will cry for sometime den no choice got to drink from bottles coz too "er"

hmm... waiting for my response... RY and jean look like twins?? hmmm... let me see... u mean their HAIR is it?? wahaha... well, ok a bit lah... =P YYP got post a pic of them yesterday leh...

LL:
wah you're fast!!!!
har tanah merah country club???
i tot it was at the zoo???
no ah?
oops, i already applied to get my company corporate pass to go to the zoo on dec 4 leh...

Lach:
yeah, told ya .... macam war, lugg the whole kitchen with me. I daren't imagine my luggage for my upcoming holiday to penang ... i may just be packing the whole of NTUC with me. Watch out fellow singaporeans ... there may be a food shortage for 4 days in oct!

i love your dance moves! so groovy!!!
LOL!!!

eh, there's a clash betw the zoo outing and the gathering that LL is organising. How ah? where will u be heading to?

yuru,
is there such a pot? wow, i'm really impressed by berry! ok, next time i will try adding cold water to rice, but this weekend i will try feeding dean with my teochew porridge first.

......arghss i am soooo sleepy now ....
i am hallucinating the smell &amp; touch of my smelly pillow &amp; bolster now......... mmmmmm

<font color="0000ff">Lach</font>

Oh yes, we'll definitely try to make it this year.. definitely.

Cuppage is just a stone's throw away from Centerpoint.

<font color="0000ff">Cody</font>
Is your Cornell cooker the purple color one?

Your family portrait is well taken..at least Dean was looking and smiling at the camera. Gosh, the way you describe to me that day, you made it sound so "bleh bleh bleh"...

<font color="0000ff">YuRu</font>
Cayden is taking around 3-4 servings of (210ml each) of milk daily.210ml still not enough for him..

Wow! I am impressed.. EFFICIENT! You already checked out the place..

<font color="0000ff">Evelyn</font>
Yap, she is toilet trained

Gathering #2-had oredi book chalet last month, kiasu lah... Cody, itz not Tanah Merah Country Club - itz OPPOSITE...lah. Postpone ur zoo trip...pleazzzzzee.....

Feline...I changed my mind getting allerhand bag, eyeing an Agnes B. one, tot of it, shld be able to double up as my bag &amp; oso Steffi's....afterall allerhand oso cost >$100... Btw...can't open video file u sent, proabably cannot work on mac, will transfer to pc to try out....

You already booked the chalet?? Wow... this is really what i call efficient..

Hats off you...

Is the Agnes B bag a diaper/ baby bag too?

Not sure whether the video clip works on Mac.. yeah yeah.. transfer it to another pc.. its very cute.

<font color="0000ff">Cody</font>
You checked your mail? I sent it to your Ahkow mail too

<font color="0000ff">Gathering #2</font>

We cant join the 2nd gathering. Nat will be celebrating her BD on Dec 4.

Leo29...same for Steffi....wat time u start? Mine starts from 3pm...actually makan will probably starts from 5/6pm....come lah if u can....

Jen...wat gombak show har???

Feline...itz not bb bag but itz compartment is pretty good for bb stuff....so wen steffi not using, mommy can use mah...