(2004/12) Year 2004 December Mummies

mummy and daddy toys are slowly being overtaken by bb toys....

some of mummy and daddy collection
298144.jpg

298145.jpg

being invaded by these...
298146.jpg

i still have some still in boxes and dun forget there is 1 activity table, 1 rocking moose, 1 ride-on cow, 2 ride on cars, 1 battery operated police car, children vcd/dvd collection.. sigh...

in case u guys are wondering what's wrong with me.. the children's toys are accumulated over 2-3 years as my little niece and nephew come over very often so have been buying toys for them since they were bb and now my potato can play with them too! of course i went abit crazy during GSS..(basically i am a toy-lover. children's and collectibles)
now mummies know why i have a headache on how to organise the toys and save space? the room is now fully for toys, books and play only. (hb and i have move our workstation to our rooms .
)now, my mummy wants to add a small sofa-bed in the room which will occupy the space below the posters.
basically the cabinets line the wall so the play area in the centre is enlarged.

helppppppp. how to organise the toys neatly? i can't stand the piling boxes and toys being place on the floor..

Lachesiz, oh no, soooooo much things!!! Tonite am also take some pictures share share with youvery small space but nothing much inside Wilfred's room leh

re-kindling her love for her turtle

298165.jpg

298166.jpg

i have decided against buying the abc foam mat as many say very difficult to clean and i am butt- lazy. will make do with my trusty 'ti-lams' as 'cushion' for her.

one of MY fav toy (note: mine,not potato) is this giraffe bead activity thingy. other than the usual move the beads to promote pyscho motor skills etc, its a puzzle coz u need to swing the giraffe (like monkey bar) to make way for the beads..can buy add on to increase level of difficulty. very well-made toy. good for ple like me (need to improve my own motor and thinking skills!!
298179.jpg

lach, u really got a lot of toys leh... my gal oni got a few things... anyway, she's more interested in remote controls/my breastpump/alarm clocks/handphones/ anything except her own colourful toys... hehe... oh, she's 6 days older than ur potato...

ya lor lach, you REALLY have alot of toys!!

jen, my son also like yours, he likes only remote controls, handphones, keys, etc
basically things that he shouldn't be playing with! argh!

the 'garage' .
my potato has designated the red stationary car, white police car as hers! sigh.. she very 'ba dao'.
298182.jpg

i am giving the tricycle to my cousin, need to minimise but has to retain most as potato loves cars! the 'cars' are normally parked at the 2nd bedroom.

Cody,
Have you heard of Glenn Doman? Author of the "How to Teach your Baby to Read", "How to Teach your Baby Math", etc. series of books. Prof Makoto Shichida is the Japanese equivalent. Doman's and Shichida's methods are similar in same aspects and different in others.

You may want to check out www.shichidamethod.com. It's the website for the Shichida school in Singapore. The Shichida school in Singapore accepts students who're 6 mths old and above. The new term started a week ago, and JinJin is attending her second lesson today. Let's hope she doesn't fall asleep again!

Evelyn,
Thanks! Haven't seen Wilfred's pics in a while. Bring them on! He's such a cutie.

Seagal,
JinJin's on Similac Excellence too and I was thinking of making a bulk purchase (14 tins) from a supplier. It works out to $23.50 per tin (900g), and I was wondering if anyone was interested in sharing out the purchase.

Saw the pic of Shermyn chewing on a Rusk. Is she teething yet?

Lachesiz,
*Gasp* Your amazing collection of toys really left me speechless. I'm a big fan of IKEA. You should be able to get lots of storage ideas there. The shelves and chests of drawers are very affordable as well.

By the way, the Dr Evil / Mini Me shots were classic man! They were da best!

my hb and my marine hobby save our ears gazillion times! whenever potato cries inconsolably, we just have to bring her infront of our tanks and she will stop miraculously and stare at the fishes and corals.

my hb reef tank
298191.jpg

my marine fish tank. the stripey fish (emperor angelfish) is her fav fish. it suits her character too as the fish is like her--fierce and ba dao
298192.jpg

yyp:
i heard of glenn doman but i dunno what his teachings are. Same for for shichida method.

can you tell me what they teach during the shichida class?

i went to the website, and oh my!!! the classes are really expensive eh? $400+ per term right?
*ouch*

yyp,
thanks. me big ikea fan too! u can see the furnishings in the room and my house are predominatly ikea! coz i prefer 'modular' furnitures as it is more flexible. might go and get ideas or some affordable shelves. wonder if they have long and deep shelves.
last pic of the day.. my 'prized' collection of figurines etc... thanks for bearing with my excessive photos attacks.(i dun feel like working)
mummies can share your hobbies and home pics? be good to take a short hiatus from our darlings and discuss abt 'ourselves'

298197.jpg

i hate to dampen your mood, but i detest Ikea!!
I used to love their furniture too, until i got my own house.
All the wood items i bought from them warped within 6mths!

its not like i overloaded the cupboards or shelves,
but they warped with the humidity of our climate!

called them many times to complaint,
and they even came to replace my stuff twice FOC.
Even then, the replacements also warped.

The cust service manager who attended to me (cos i was getting REALLY nasty)
... he kinda admitted that the quality of the chipboard used in their furniture doesn't last long.

ARGH, so now the only things i get from them are items made of plastic, glass or metal.
No major furniture items from them.

To think that my whole house used to be 80% ikea stuff!

However i must STILL admit that i love browsing in their showroom!

lach, since you're on leave today, why dun u bring your preciuos out to have some fun?

i would readily trade in my office time for some fun with my son now!

*yawn* so sleepy now zzzzzzzzz

glenn doman,
very ex.. but many swear by it and has proven to work for many kids. but the critics say the method relies more on 'memory', all i know is that u need to be very discipline to start this programme coz the lesson doesn't end when the bell rings, parents have to follow-up too and its progressive!
i am more interested in phonics (but of coz my gal too young) rather than flash card (ok, i am lazy). personally, i believe that constantly speaking and reading to your bb is very important! but i kow-tow to the parents who religiously use flash cards on their kids as its not easy. my gf does it and she says it works!

encouraging bb to talk:
read that though speaking to bb is impt, make sure ur language is pitched at their level. so, at our bb current level, need not be grammatically perfect english as it would serve as detractors. but not 'bb gibberish' language like (did my moochi-woochi baby see the wow-wow bark bark doggy?)
eg: 'give mummy spoon' rather than 'can u pass the spoon to mummy, please?'
as they grow, can pitch the level higher etc.

and one of the mistakes many eager parents make is they 'talk too much' ie. they just go on talking to bb .
make sure u pause enough for bb to response, even if they remain silent or just a smile or giggle. and facial expression is just as important!
eg:
mom "hows bb today?"
*pause*
bb stare quietly.
mom "mummy is going to change ur diaper. ok?"
*pause*
bb can be still quiet or just staring intently at mummy.
mom"oh my, u r wet! u drank too much water!"
bb smile
mom "oh, what is that smile for? u like dry diaper, don't u?"
etc...

the key is give them space to response and make them realise conversation is two-way and their response is valued and acknowledged.

wow, thanks lach!
now i feel like a very incompetent mother
cos sometimes i dun feel like talking, i just let my son play on his own!

agree glenn doman is expensive, but so is the shichida method!
again, i think i will pass ....

terrible mother i am,
first i passed on swimming lesson
then on gym classes
and now educational classes!!

seriuosly, did Chloe / Jin Jin absorb alot from the shichida class?
what do they teach in that class?

cody,
ikea uses chipwood hence most of their things dun last! i ikea fan coz the things are affordable and not too ex so if need to throw, my heart won't bleed! i have throw several ikea shelves, tables, misc etc away..
major items (wardrobe, kitchen cabinet, bed etc)i dun buy from them.. mainly buy book shelves and tables.
i on 'medical leave' sob sob.. and potato is also grounded till next week until she FULLY recovered. so stuck at home,nothing to do and my mummy ask me stay one arm's length away from potato!!!

Cody,
Doman was the one who introduced the idea of flashing cards at children to teach them to read, math, and so on. Doman has a physical programme as well. Doman doesn't have a school in Singapore, but you can learn all about his method from his books. You can borrow his books from the library, buy them at bookstores like Times or his website (www.gentlerevolution.com). You can also buy the flashcards from his website, but you'll still need to make the rest yourself. His books tell you how - size of the cards, size of the words, etc.

Shichida also uses flashcards. In addition, he designed activities to sharpen children's ESP, train them to have photographic memory, perfect pitch, etc. Shichida doesn't have a physical programme. You can buy Shichida's books from bookstores, but they're in Chinese. In Yahoo, there's a Shichida Method discussion group which you can join to learn more about the subject.

I found out about Doman and Shichida from my dad. He's read Doman's and Shichida's books and researched into the area. He's the one who takes JinJin to class, so I don't exactly know what they do in class. I just pay the bills...

Each term lasts 3 mths. There's 1 lesson a week and each lessons lasts 1 hr 15 mins. Per term, the fees are $745 for weekday classes and $780 for weekend classes. There's a S$50 registration fee. There's also a Parent Course which is another $150 or so, then there's a $300 deposit. Add 5% GST to the bill. No more $ to buy toys for JinJin!

Lachesiz,
I'm on "medical leave" too. Came down with the flu again yesterday! So tired of this sniffing and coughing business.

Rae-Ann is still unwell?

cody,
i same same.. u are not an incompetent mummy! we are all trying our best and doing whatever is within our means and beliefs.
dun stress urself. main thing: bb and u are happy. bb developing well. ask urself,what kind of values and attitude do u want to instil in ur bb?

but its good to keep abreast of current development in children's education. maybe u will find one that u really like and believe will work for your bb.
currently, i am only keen in those 'playgroup' for her social development. as can be seen from my toy craze, i believe in learning thru fun.
and phonics later on..

and i am also curious what they learn in shichida class? sounds fun to me.

yyp,
course fee not cheap! do u have to do follow-up at home? what do mean by 'perfect pitch'? as in diction/articulation?

i also flu + cough..again in 3wks.. drink lots of h20 and must laugh more!!

Lachesiz,
Perfect pitch means if I play / sing a tune, the child is able to reproduce the exact same tune.

The parent (or in my case, the grandparent) has to be very disciplined and motivated. The 1 hr 15 mins class merely gives you ideas on how to teach your child. You still need to make the flashcards yourself, think of ways and means to get the child interested in what you want to teach, etc.

<font color="ff0000">lach</font>,
i am amazed by ur toy collection too! my colleague owns 2 toy shop - one in Far East Plaza and another at Raffles Place. Have u visited them before ? Can introduce him to you if you are keen to shop for latest toys. =)

<font color="ff0000">yyp</font>,
yes, Shermyn is teething. she's "spouting" her lower central incisors so she loves her teething biscuits!

i am keen to join in on your Similac follow on fm bulk purchase. Thanks! how many do we need ? u order through the Abbot website right ?

hope u two mummies get well soon. the weekend is coming!

btw, brought shermyn to the pd yesterday. her rash near the mouth is an allergic reaction caused by contact with saliva and food. we didn't know that the rash is fungal also until the pd told us. pd prescribed a cream Zaricort to apply so hopefully the rash goes away soon. He also told us can buy vaseline lip balm to act as barrier cream for normal application after the rash heals but later precribed a big tube of barrier cream called Topicreme - really know how to earn $$$.

mummies with baby girls : please also take note to clean ur baby's vulva/clitoris area daily. It is very important to keep the area clean to prevent infections. Shermyn had some redness recently so PD reiterate that we have to make sure the area is cleaned daily. If water/cotton wool doesn't help, use baby oil. I have tried and it's really much easier to clean with baby oil.

lach, thanks for the consolation ...

CHEESE
in case any mummies here are keen to start their babies on cheese ...
i bought this from carrefour, at $2.85.
read the ingredients carefully, it doesn't seem to have any salt in it (unless its listed by its scientific name...then too bad lah)

sorry pic is blur, but this is the best i can get out of my hp...

298277.jpg

This weekend i am also going to experiment with feeding plums. I hope my son likes it!

wow so many interesting pictures today.

oh.. i got teething rusk for declan. he tot it was not so hard. but after he used all his strength to try to bite, nothing comes out. he gave up

MIL
we had mini war yesterday. my hb told my mil not to give declan outside food... blaaaa... then my mil cried.. i got a shock

<font color="ff0000">lachesiz</font>
lachesiz , haha u so funny, for myself part of me is vain lah haha
another part is the agony of not being able to fit in alllll my previous cloths :p
Your potato is soooooooooooooooo cute, i expecially like her "budha" photo!!

YOur toy huh, incredible ah, I thought my fren's is "solid" liao... yours even lagi best hahah
I think Chloe and her mummy would love to stay there and play with your toys and your potato's toys heehee

<font color="ff0000">seagal</font>
I like yr girl girl's dou;e eyelids leh... Chloe's seems to diminished as the days go by haha

<font color="ff0000">YYP</font>
good explanation

<font color="ff0000">Cody</font>
I've went thru the first class with my girl. She seems very enthusiastic thru out the class and seems to like the songs and cards.
Let me briefly try to remember most of wht we have went thru tht day:
1) showing baby Flash cards
2) sing alot of songs and have us dance with the babies, and the songs comes in several language, like japanese, german....
3) A huge Abacus and demo of numbers from 1-30, Chloe loved this part, she stare at the abacus and keep bouncing.
4) speed reading, with mummies each having a book of abt 4 page, we followed the tape's speed, Chloe simply looked at the pic... think she will digest the words too...
....and many many more

All in all, we don't have to make our bb sit still or look at the teacher most of the time. you see baby have such senses that acts like a sponge that they simply will be able to pick up all those without much efforts... Shichida also emphasize alot on how dedicated us as parents should be and how all these also serve as a bonding to us.
I have friends who have went through the course for abt 2 yrs now, and I like her baby's character very much, and how the family behaved... u know, unlike most typical olden chinese family loor.....

Anyway, don't say anything abt not competent. I'm sure u have yr sacrifice in many ways too. The baby knows it too

<font color="ff0000">mngo</font>
wht happened after the war huh?
I hope everything's well now, did yr mil stop giving him outside food?

Mummy : Baby : Baby's DOB : Photo Website
<table border=1><tr><td> --------------------</TD><TD> ----------------</TD><TD> -------------------</TD><TD> ---------------- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yu</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD>elicia</TD><TD> 05th Nov </TD></TR><TR><TD>bibip</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>tara</TD><TD> 11th Nov </TD></TR><TR><TD>Thanks</TD><TD> ?</TD><TD>Xavier</TD><TD> 26th Nov </TD></TR><TR><TD>duffy</TD><TD> FTWM </TD><TD> chloe </TD><TD> 29th Nov</TD><TD>http://www.flickr.com/photos/wooof </TD></TR><TR><TD>Maple_Leaf</TD><TD>SAHM </TD><TD>Aaron</TD><TD>30th Nov</TD><TD> http://www.flickr.com/photos/58096200@N00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rochelle</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD> boy</TD><TD> 1th Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>TBL</TD><TD> FTWM</TD><TD> Natalie</TD><TD> 2th Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>chiart</TD><TD> ?</TD><TD>Javier </TD><TD>03rd Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>Z-Lia</TD><TD> ?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD> 4th Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>LL</TD><TD> FTWM</TD><TD> Steffi</TD><TD> 4th Dec</TD><TD> http://www.flickr.com/photos/ll2004/ </TD></TR><TR><TD>seagal</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>Shermyn</TD><TD> 6th Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>YYP</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>JinJin</TD><TD> 6th Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cody</TD><TD> ?</TD><TD> Dean</TD><TD> 6th Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>mngo</TD><TD> FTWM</TD><TD>Declan Isaac</TD><TD> 10th Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>sulivyn</TD><TD> FTWM </TD><TD>girl </TD><TD> 10th Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jen</TD><TD> FTWM</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>11th Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>Evelyn Au</TD><TD> FTWM</TD><TD> Wilfred</TD><TD> 15th Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>BlurQ</TD><TD>FTWM </TD><TD>Andric</TD><TD>15th Dec</TD><TD>http://www.flickr.com/photos/22287496@N00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>lachesiz</TD><TD> FTWM</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>17th Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>dirdar</TD><TD> FTWM</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>18th Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>LH</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD> Joseph</TD><TD>24th Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>wendypooh</TD><TD>FTWM </TD><TD>Nicole</TD><TD>24th Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chihuahua</TD><TD> ?</TD><TD> Kenneth</TD><TD> 24th Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>GIRL</TD><TD> FTWM</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD> 26th Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>fatchick</TD><TD> PTWM</TD><TD> shann ho </TD><TD>5th Jan 05</td></tr></table>

Yu / all mummies:
DON'T BUY THE CHEESE that i posted y'day!!
It's extremely salty!!!
initial taste was ok, but as i cont'd tasting the same portion, it got v v v salty!

Duffy: thanks for the list, i am a FTWM.
As for the shichida method, wow glad that Chloe likes it! but its mighty expensive lah ...
you said your friend's kid who atteneded behaves differently ... may i ask different in what sense?

Yu: i am too botak to do anything to my hair except to cut ....hiaz, so envious.

duffy,
after the war, her husband (my fil) had a talk with her, cool her down.
she in her anger say she want to go back malaysia.
aiya.. go back lor~ I SCARED MEH?? haa

mngo: hahahaha!! you're funny!!!

for a woman of your MIL age to cry after a "quarrel" is also kinda childish right?

this morning while I was cooking, she wake up to play herself den....

298430.jpg

hahaha.. drop on the floor!! Dunno how she also cover the blanket till like this. When I saw her, she was laughting!

[lachesiz] wow...ur home is sure full of collections.... suggestions: how a abt a chestbox dat can be open from top &amp; front. I had a carpenter fabricated one for me years back &amp; itz pretty handy- used it to store pillows &amp; blankets for guest room....will take pixs to show u.
[evelyn] beautiful kiddo's room...great, jus nice for reference, want to do up Steffi's room.
[mngo] hahaha......wat a laugh for the day....hee...hee..., can't stop laughing wen think of it....good oso if she goes back at least u will hv break even a short one is heavenly, isn't it?
[yu] can't stop admiring ur gal, she's piks up really fast..eh. Steffi jus started to crawl officically but still not very steadily....

Out of curiosity, did you have cravings during your pregnancy and what did you crave for?

I craved for durian, and was eating it daily at one stage. When JinJin was born, I had a strong feeling that she'd be a durian-lover, and true enough, she is! Recently, we fed her some and she couldn't get enough of it. We used the feeding spoon at first. After the first taste, she grabbed the spoon and kept sucking on it. She ended up eating directly from the seed and when we took it away from her, she started crying. We tried it again on a different day and the same thing happened. Durian is definitely her favourite food!

Seagal,
Looks like it's just the 2 of us using Similac Excellence. We have to purchase 14 tins to get the price of $23.50 per tin, but I'm not sure we can manage that between the 2 of us. I still have 3 tins, so I don't need to buy the FM immediately. JinJin is also taking more solids now. She's taking porridge with chicken / fish / spinach / carrots, etc.

If you're not in urgent need, I'll check with you again at a later date. I wasn't going to buy the FM from Abbott's website, but from this salesperson my mom knows. If you want the contact particulars of this salesperson, I can get it for you. Just let me know.

Shermyn's teething! JinJin's still completely "bo-gay".

LL,
Steffi is crawling! JinJin started earlier today. My dad put her on the floor, enticed her with a shiny bunch of keys (she likes shiny things) and, all of a sudden, she started wriggling towards the keys quite quickly. We've been trying to teach her to crawl the last few weeks. She finally grasped the concept today, which was very exciting for us!

298618.jpg

JinJin and her Durian

298619.jpg
298620.jpg

<font color="ff0000">mngo</font>,
ur mil quite dramatic hor. hope things get better after this saga.

<font color="ff0000">yu</font>,
elicia very good. dropped onto the floor never cry still can laugh ! haha.

<font color="ff0000">LL</font>,
good to hear that u r ok. =)

<font color="ff0000">yyp</font>,
i love jinjin's rosy cheeks!

i didn't really have any major cravings while pregnant so can't verify if our cravings might be passed on to the baby.

Shermyn started crawling this week also but hers are baby crawls, not the fast wiggling style. she will first burrow her head, push her bum up, take a few steps forward, lift her head and finally lurch forward. Very comical!

<font color="ff0000">evelyn</font>,
the biscuit looked like banana ? haha. I haven't tried giving her banana this way.

<font color="ff0000">duffy</font>,
our babies appearance will still change. chloe's double eyelids will appear again next time!

some pics of Shermyn taken this morning
298641.jpg

yyp,
seems that shicida does more than g doman. let us know how goes the lesson for jin jin.
my colleague wife's craves for durian during her pregnancy and their bb LOVES durian.
jin's playground looks really fun!she looks lovely in her hairband.
jin really lucky to have such involved grandparents!
have u exterminate ur flu bug?

seagal,
ur fren toy shop? falcon hangar? coz many at far east. anyway, i have slowed/stopped my purchases of my toys.now mainly for potato.maybe u can intro coz i am looking for 'mr potato' the darth vader version for my hb!
cleaning bb 'bottom': i take extra care in that as gals are more prone to 'infection' than boys. and always rem to clean from front to back.
love shermyn's dimples..and her chin is 'sharpening'!

how's her rashes?

duffy,
chole and her mummy are welcomed anytime to play with the toys. (really!!!)
my gal's double eyelids also 'now you see it, now you don't'
.. hahaha

mng,
shock to hear ur mil broke down! ku(3) rou(4) ji(4)?

LL,
the chest sounds like a good idea. rem to post pic hor...

yu
elicia is forever looking so cheerful! must rub some of her photogenic smiley vibes onto my potato! my spud hardly smiles for the camera!

<font color="ff0000">lach</font>,
Shermyn's rashes has gone down, thankfully.

i don't know what's the name of my friend's shop. I think it's toys something.... u mean there is this toy call 'mr potato' the darth vader version ? sorry huh, i know nuts about star wars.

oh ya .. u were asking about the lamaze octopus. Shermyn doesn't know how to press the tentacles yet. She likes the handle now. haha. I bought it cos it's so colourful!

shermyn jie jie welcomes potato mei mei to share share the piano. =)

thanks for the info on the posters.

<font color="0077aa">lach</font>,

thanks auntie lach for your concern, my rashes has improved after mummy applies cream on them. i can't wait to share my piano with potato mei mei. playing it alone can be quite boring.

is there really a 'mr potato' the darth vader version ? pardon me but i know nuts about star wars.

thanks for the info on the posters.

about the lamaze octopus, shermyn doesn't know how to press the tentacles yet. she only likes the handle now. i bought it cos it's so colourful!

potato may not smile but she is full of funny expressions for the camera!

yu,
??? huh?? i was talking about????
u mean the mr 'darth tater'
298680.jpg

i have the original mr potato so want this for my star wars freak hb.

seagal.
bought rae for her 'first shopping' trip after nearly a month. she was elated!
showed her the lamaze octopus, she very happy. showed her the puppy , she also happy,
showed her the doll, she more happy..
in the end, daddy bought her her first doll....
and mummy bought a 'thomas and friends toy set'for herself
but bb can watch mummy play.

lachesiz
so cute.. bb only can watch yet cant play.
Everytime when I bring my gal to toy shop, ot seem like I'm the one playing most, not my gal. So now everytime when I ask my HB to go shopping see toy, my HB will say this to my gal " see mamy going to play toy again, let accompany her!"