(2004/12) Year 2004 December Mummies

thanks for all your concern on my potato..
update:
went to my pd at mt a on wed (was there abt 5hrs!).. did x-ray, blood test on her.. so poor thing, cry until no strength.
=bacteria infection in lungs

on anti-biotics and rented the napiliser machine..
can't sleep well, her appetite halved, rejected solids but drink water like crazy! past few days will puke out abit of her milk feeds... but thankfully will still play but hate tummy time now.
i have taken 1 whole week of leave to sayang her... the perils of mummyhood! oh well, at least she's recovering.. fever finally went off on thursday (after nearly 2 wks!... wonder got brain damage or not... )

here's a little pic of her to cheer me! got her her first hairband few weeks back! finally remember it and 'bully' her into it..
she's now about 7.8kg, 68cm at 6 1/2 month
295189.jpg

mngo,
how's sarawak? pics! heard its a beautiful place esp the rural side where its ideal for hike and jungle trail..

YYP,
JinJIn horsey is cool! and she looks healthy and happy! her cheeks is rosy and got glow one! SK II??

i sign up potato for kindermusik trial about 2wks back but she fell ill so never go.. (first day of school already on 'mc'.. sigh) heard that gymboree more suited for crawlers... am tempted to try that out but my gfs say that its the parents who had the work-out esp if your bb isn't a competent crawler yet. but its good for bb psycho-motor skills and social interaction! if u are trying it, can give feedback?

maple_leaf,
your aaron very 'man', so young already know how to mess up his things and let the woman clean up!
anyway, he looks esp 'man' in his checkered shirt!

yu,
nappy liners? u very innovative! i also have 2 boxes left! potato still on cloth nappy but no longer using the liner.. such a waste..

jen
i got yr email. later i see if i can buy swimming trunks for declan. if canot, then i cant go

lachesiz, sarawak is slow lor. mmm is my 3rd trip there, so nothing new. wat i like abt is the food. so cheap.

lachesiz... aiyoh... potato so poor thing... hope she gets well soon, kae?

mngo, DI no need trunks lah... the pull up diapers = trunks leow... come lah...

lachesiz
Must be very heart pain... So poor thing!! Must really take good care!!! Wow ur gal is heavier than my gal... Now she weight abt 7.5kg, going to 8mths liao.
Anything do keep us update! Did the PD say how she got this??

Wow! You girls baby really super cute man! Love to see all the bb photos here!

Just a new update on Wilfred.
He has been fully switched from Enfalac to Dumex Gold mamil since hes turn 6mths old. Any babies here also are taking Dumex?

Some info to share with you girls
Regarding how to switch old formula to new formula
My doctor says the correct way should as below instead of mix the old and new formula together.
Example: If your bb is 3hrs intervals drink milk:
8am Old FM
11am New FM
2pm Old FM
and so on

Try this method and observe your bb for a few days before introducing new FM. Look out for loose stools or skin rash. If bb develops a skin rash, you should stop to give her the new FM. If she can take it without encounter any problems then you can fully switching to new formula.
We do not advisable to mix the old and new formula together as once bb has loose stools or skin rash we wouldnt know the problems due to mix formula or new formula? So, ladies, take note hor!

Have a nice day!

Hey new photo... I hv update some photo in the flickr!!!

295522.jpg

Hey mamy... I'm also a pretty gal when I wear dress!! Dun Play Play hor...

295523.jpg

See I know how to stand myself with this chair!!!

hey all
just wanna to be kaypo, last time where do u all go for honeymoon?? I didn't got the chance to go... Thinking of going by early nxt yr or this yr...

Yu,
We went 11 days US (west coast - LA, LV & San Fransico) around end Feb to early Mar last year.
Nice weather, around 10-15 degree c, except San Fransico is colder n windy during the nite.
Think its a great place with the following:
1. Sightseeing (Grand Canon & nice lighting LV)
2. Shopping (factory outlet for cheap branded stuff)
3. Fun (Amusement park-Universal Studio,Disney Land and LV casino)
4. Big Portion western food n beef burgers (my hb fav :p some can share share one meal)
but bad point is lots of tips to be given and the exchange rate

Yu,

we went Europe for 10days during CNY last year for the snow. its very relaxing and its my first trip to Europe and the first time playing with snow.

Yu, we went 2 weeks to Switzerland free & easy during Dec... it's "officially" 17D/14N, but including the time flying lah... only managed to explore thoroughly 2/3 of the country...

BlurQ
Yap... planning for 2nd bb ASAP. Coz is better to hv it all at once, so that their age gap is not so far.

Thinking of going aboard once my gal can stop BF. Coz my hubby will be going oversea training by next mid yr.

Yu,
i want to cry when i see her in pain..potato off nabiliser but still on medication for another week. but her appetite has returned 2/3! appreciate your concern. my gal heavier than your girl! of course la, she's a potato of substance! hahahah..
your princess can stand on her own! wow!!!
i enjoyed the pics at flickr.com
u trying for second one! i hope to have bb2 hopefully when my potato turn 2 - 3..

mngo,
declan has such rosy cheeks? sarawak air?

mngo and maple_leaf, check ur mails... if u got anything more to add, let me know... cos what i have quite blurr... :p

lachesiz,
Glad to know that little potatoe is recovering well.

Aaron : Auntie lachesiz, thank you for saying me 'man'! Hope potatoe meimei get well very soon!

Evelyn,
Tks for info. Will be helpful when I want to wean Aaron off in the future.

Yu,
Ours was almost same as BlurQ except ours include another 2~3 days in Hawaii. I love San Francisco and dun mund going back again.

Hey, if you wan a lomantic homeymoon I would suggest either New Zealand or Switzerland. Great sceneries!!

Jen,
Thks!! U'r so fast! Love the descriptions .... sooooo cute!!

Mngo,
4gotten to ask u, which part of sarawak did u go? Do u happen to have relatives staying there?

yu,
thanks. potato is much better. phew
(one 'positive outcome' from her bout of illness is i lost abit of fats from carrying her nearly all the time for 2wks, including her sleeping time)

activity table / tummy time
i keep admiring your girl standing pics! she look so grown up and 'zai'! mine is still
"humpty dumpty sat on a wall, humpty dumpty had a great fall..". she can only do a 'stand and lean body on the sofa" on her own

thinking of getting an activity table to aid and encourage her coz she not very keen on crawling, rather 'stand' (my arms getting v tired supporting her) or sit on her own..she hates tummy time. (any mummies have any advice on how to encourage her to be on her tummy coz its good for bb to have tummy time at this age. she can crawl go-stun already )
has anyone seen the FP laugh and learn activity table?? (there are a few kinds and i am eyeing the laugh and learn one) or leapfrog activity table.

travel.
really envy all of u who have been to such interesting and faraway places!! the few places i would like to visit (hopefully in the not so distant future) are Florence, Barcelona, NY..India, Turkey.. really drools over the architecture/culture/arts.. for now, i can only dream $$$$$$

Hi all, I'm back :p
MIA for awhile too ...
I went to Club Med bintan last weekend, now became dark dark mummy.... haha... But I didn;t bring my girl along, so she still fair fair, haha

Sorry cannot go thru all the posts, hopefully all bb are happy growing and glowing!

My chloe have slowly getting more mobile, still cannot stand lah, but she can crawl to the front abit and can turn 360degree in split seconds haha
She's eating less milk now leh, I'm afraid she doesn't have enough nutrition leh...

Is any mummies here making yr own baby food? Do u freeze the food for next meal?

I see, I only freeze a week's supply. Cause my family don't really like the idea of letting baby eat freezed food.
But I can't throw away access food everyday, so have to freeze, for example the other half of the sweet potato....

But even my hubby is not very supportive to tht, so just asking around lor

Hi Duffy,
Wah ... so 'hoemia', can go on trip and relax ... envy, envy ....

Post sum of Chloe's picture leh ... Aaron miss her.....

Cot Safty
=========
Notice that Aaron likes to pull and press his cot's bumper down these days and move his head towards the wooden planks around the cot, so worried he'll hit his head. Would appreciate if someone can kindly advise any way to prevent it. Tk u!

<font color="ff0000">BUMBO CHAIR</font>
===========
Mummies using bumbo chairs pls be careful cause I notice nowadays Aaron will try to pull himself out of the chair after he sit until 'xian', I think its possible for them to come out of it, so better keep an eye on them when they're on the bumbo.

Hi mummies, i have mia-ed for a while cos very busy with work.

Down with flu today so took mc to rest at home.

blue{jenjen},
Sorry i missed the gatherings. Our weekends are usually for us to catch up on our ZzzZzz, do housework, run errands, visit in laws, etc so very packed.

Thanks for all your recommmendations on the nappy rash cream. Shermyn's diarrhoea has subsided.
We brought her to our usual PD for a second opinion and was told she had secondary lactose
intolerance. When their body has not recovered completely from the previous diarrhoea, introduction of an excessive amount of lactose can trigger the diarrhoea again. PD advised us to dilute the follow on fm for a start so we did it for a week and she's ok after that.

my pd also mentioned that bananas can help to harden the stools (contrary to popular belief the other way round). He advised to give about 1 cm of banana at her age. Papaya on the other hand will soften the stools and might cause diarhhoea.

porridge,
i have a question to ask about rice porridge. My colleague was telling me that the normal rice porridge we cook ourselves are less nutritious than the commercially prepared rice cereal which are fortified with vitamins and minerals. She fed her baby the gerber plain rice cereal with carrots, pork, etc. instead. Any mummies here tried this ? I always like to give my baby cooked food so didn't think of trying this but now having second thoughts if the commercially
prepared rice cereal are really more nutritious.

Thanks to those mummies who have invited me to view their flicker photos. Love to see latest ted pics of your babies!
BlurQ : u went for the IMM YP cover photo contest. How did it go ? Andric looked so happy in the pic!

<font color="0000ff">lachesiz</font>,
Hope ur potato is recovering well. She's still such a cutie even when unwell.

<font color="ff0000">yu</font>,
we went to Japan for our honeymoon 2 years back. We spent most of our time in western Hokkaido and it's really picturesque and pure serenity. Would love to go back there again.

yoghurt,
has any one tried giving your babies yoghurt ?

lachesiz
FP laugh and learn activity table u mention is it the following? think its selling in USA only
let me know where to get this if u had seen this selling in spore, thank you

296150.jpg

Only seen the following (Poptivity table) in spore kiddy palace &amp; toy s rus
which i find that its less interesting)
296151.jpg

Seagal
Yup we went to the YP cover contest...the Q was not very long but there was another event at the side and the speaker was so loud that andric got scared and by the time we reached there he was sleepy and cranky...so pat him to have a nap and milk 1st b4 trying for the photoshoot again. We had a hard time trying to make him smile and last resort i carry him while my sis make funny faces n lucky the camera man was fast to capture that big smile :p

Yogurt:
Gave andric a few times and he loves it cos its cold but he will give the sourish face on the 1st spoon but each time we gave him 1/4 of it. It comes in a pack of 4, find that its too many for the short expiry date.

Jen
Sorry, unable to make it for the pool party as my hb is working on this sat. will try to join next time.

hello

can i join? my son turns 7months today...

wanna get some recipes from fellow mommies ... what are you feeding your babies now?

my son is on partial BF, and he eats cereals with veg and fruits. taken yoghurt also.

veg: spinach leaves, broccoli, carrot, pumpkin

fruits: papaya, apple, banana, pear, avocado, peach

seagal: i fed my son yoghurt since 6mths. he likes it cos it cold! i bought the baby youghurt from Petit Miam (sold in carrefour) ... no sugar added.

yu: why the question on honeymoon ah? i went to US west coast LA, LV and SF. Wish i could go again!

protein: tofu

i wanna start my son on fish (ngor fish) soon; apart from the food above is there anything else i can feed him to widen his circle of recipes?

cody... welcome here...

since u mention abt food, can i ask if u mix ur veg/fruits with cereal to feed dean or separate? and if mix, cereal is plain one or brown rice one? cos i bought the nestle brown rice one, bbsitter tell me got milk so must add water and not EBM... then the nestle rice one is must add milk so we add EBM... but bb dun like to eat oso lah... so I'm trying to "create" new tastes lor...

also, i read that solids not supposed to reduce milk intake? but how can feed solids &amp; FULL milk feed leh? mummies, pls advice what is the feeding schedule ur bbs are on now?

hello jen! you're also at the year-end mothers thread right?

my son takes the Heinz first time cereal 3 heaped teaspoons, mixed with 90mls of FM and 2 heaped teaspoons of mashed up veg or fruits. It turns out to be quite a bowlful.

maybe you can try changing the brand of cereal?

jen, its me again ...

babies need to drink milk about once every 3 hours right? so i replaced 2 of his milk feeds with cereals.

in the cereal i put milk also, but lesser than what he usu drinks without cereal lah.

with cereal, i mix in only about 70-90ml of FM (depending on how thick i want the cereal to be).

without cereal, my son can drink 100-130ml of EBM.

so his schedule is this now:
7 am: latch on (dunno how much he drinks)
10am: breakfast (cerals with FM)
12noon: fruits
1pm: milk
4pm: cereals with FM
6pm: fruits
7pm: milk
10pm: latch on and zzzzzzzzz
sometimes 3am: latch on and back to zzzzz

Blur_Q, Evelyn_Au
Anndrea from Year end mummies.. can you drop by the thread... please check out activities as you are on the tentative list.. can confirm???

Seagal,
hei.. I'm facing the same prob with my gal (8mos and 2wks..) can I check how did you dilute your bb fm?? issit eg: 5oz of water wit 4scp of FM?? I stop papaya liao.. but dounno how to buy and wat kind of bananana leh.. can advice?

jen,
like wat cody does... I feed QN fish and brocoli with the plain rice / borwn rice cereal too... I think better since QN dun really like to eat porridge...

hello mommies....howz all the bb here? Send my loves &amp; hugs. Had been very very bizi these few days dat I almost break down yesterday, had argument with client yesterday &amp; today, boy!!! wat a week - feel like walking out of the office &amp; disappear for a while...phew!!!
[Jen] howz the mini swimming session, sori did not get to join u 'cos got dinner plan which I tot was going to cancel (MIL's birthday dinner lah)
Wow...I oso want to have a break man.....after wat duffy &amp; mngo had award themselves...(envy)
Steffi is still not crawling well yet but she's super in her walker, just swing herself in o directions, see oso scared, have to keep an eye on her. She's taking her walker like a skate-board!!!

Evelyn,
We miss u &amp; Wilfred too! Do post some of Wilfred's photos.

Seagal,
Nice to 'c' u, hope u'r feeling better now. Oh, before I forget, THANK YOU very much for teaching me to use paint to resize the photos!! It has been so useful!!!

Hokkaido!!! Nice place!!! That is 1 of the places which I'll like to visit.

BlurQ,
How come I cannot c Andric's photos @ flickr anymore ah??

Cody,
kao_welcome.gif

Err ... can't help much cause think u'r more adventurous in those food than I am. Heard that can give sweet potatoe too, mayb u would like to try.

LL,
Cool down, cool down ... can always come in here to 'da tu kou shui' if u need to. Hope that will help u to release some stress. Take care hor!

Ya lor, I also envy mngo &amp; Duffy ... I need a break too!!

<font color="ff0000">yu</font>,
i went to IMM only once as we were put off by the loud mic voice at the events area. Find that place too noisy and stressful. Hope Andric's photo gets selected. All the best and good luck !!

<font color="ff0000">cody</font>,
welcome!! Is this your real name ? I used to have a male colleague with this name. hee.
wow... you have introduced quite a variety of foods already.
for other solids, maybe you can try starting with meat eg chicken or pork and also other vege liked cauliflower.

<font color="ff0000">andrea</font>,
did u just change your nick from andrea to annliya ?
diluting the milk feed means to mix it less than full strength. I am not sure which brand of fm you used but I am using Similac Excellence. For eg. 2 scoops of fm should normally be mixed with 120ml water but I reduce it to 1 1/2 scoop of fm with 120ml water. Did you just switch fm for your baby? If the diarrhoea is not getting better, perhaps you should visit the pd to get the "good bacteria" powder so that the intestines can recover faster.

as for the banana, my pd says even the del monte type is ok although many old folks think that they are too cooling. to be safe, get the smaller variety and they are also sweeter.

<font color="ff0000">maple leaf</font>,
long time no "chat". glad to hear that you can resize your pics now.
Ya...i really love Japan. We went there in early autumn and there are still snow on the mountains! My hubby and I love trekking so we were really exhilarated to see snow.

<font color="ff0000">LL</font>,
hope u are feeling less stressed now. Take heart, 2 more days to the weekend!
I have not introduced my girl to the walker yet. Still thinking if i should cos like what you said, once they know how to "skate board", we really have to keep watch over them.

realised that our thread is very quiet and some mummies also visit the year end mummies thread cos it's more "happening". Nevertheless, hope to still see this thread more alive cos the babies here are closer in terms of age and we can share more common experiences. Furthermore, I am already having problems following this thread (esp when i'm busy), not to mention the Year End thread which has lots more postings.

So mummies, keep your postings coming ! =)

Seagal,
Ya lor, our thread has been so quiet these days .... haiz ... but glad to see most of u back today!!!

U &amp; hb so sporty, me &amp; hb are boring and lazy pple, so not so happening one lor, like go trekking,etc.

How's ur darling Shermyn, hvn't seen her pix for quite sumtime liao also, post sum leh.

Yu,
U intend to hv 2nd bb before hb go for training ah?

here's shermyn with her new bedsheet :

shermyn had a little lamb little lamb little lamb ....

296235.jpg

<font color="ff0000">lachesiz</font>,
potato's pink headband very nice! where did u buy it ?

rash,
shermyn has been having a persistent rash near her right upper lid. It didn't seem to be getting better. I suspect it could be hives but not sure if it warrants any treatment since it's not major. I'm also not sure what triggered it. Could it be a food allergy ?

Seagal,
Waaah so nice!!! Where u get it from? Is she sleeping on bb cot?

Aaron to mummy : I also want, mummy!!!

Oh, oh *scratch head*, got to spend $$$ liao.

Shermyn look so girlish! Love her smile!
kao_love.gif

wah ... didn't expect ur response so fast.

the little lamb bedsheet is a single bedsheet set. Bought it quite cheap at JL - S$20 only.

shermyn : thanks for ur compliment auntie maple leaf. i can share share my bed with aaron gor gor.

Seagal,
Hahaha ... I was just by the computer when I saw ur msg just now, so fast, fast reply .... hahaha ...

Tks for info.!O its a single bedsheet ah ... cannot feet Aaron's cot leh.

Aaron to Shermyn : Thank you Shermyn meimei, u'r so generous!!! But I scared later I drool on ur beautiful bedsheet leh.

RASH
====
Did u give her any new food prior to the rash?If not, then probably not lor. When Aaron was having his milk allergy, it last oni 2~3 days, then all the rashes gone liao, perhaps u wait a while &amp; c whether it goes off.

duffy,
frozen food-
Initially, i tried to freeze her sweet potato but kena nagged at by my mum! she say will give bb 'wind'. she nag until i buay tahan so now only prepare fresh vegetables and fruits for her...

seagal,
porridge.
i have the same 'theory' as your pal. i tot that since the cereal is 'fortified' so should be 'better' than porridge. so have been adding fruits and vege into the cereal. when she recovers, intend to mix spinach, carrots, meat stock etc into her cereal. i am currently using earth best brown rice cereal.
(actually, also due to laziness, i think cereal easier to prepare
) when she is abt 8mths, will grind brown rice and cook porridge
now she still unwell, so have delayed intro new food like yoghurt, carrots, spinach, pears etc.

jen,
read somewhere that nestle cereal is popular among bb coz its very sweet (ie more sugar for bb
most cereal dun contain milk but needs to add water only but i add EBM/FM. i know only friscocreme already contains milk so no need add milk, h2o will do.

BlurQ,
YES YES.. the first one is the one i am looking for. my gf said she saw it at kidsmall... dunno whether she got the wrong one.. will check it out when i am free and let you know.
btw, saw andric pics in flickr.. he so cute and so lucky... so many toys..

seagal,
agree that our thread quite zzzzzz recently but today more happening!

got the hairband from a shop at forum.. lots of variety.. think is opp RL.. can't rem. sorry. i think potato looks silly in it.. looks more like those sports headband on her..

shermyn really enjoys her new 'meh meh yang' bedsheet! cheery colors!
how's her rash? better?
aaron and shermyn so fast 'tong chuang'.. potato is turning green..... with jealousy..
aaron to mummy "cannot fit nicely nvm.. can fold into two so will be softer! buy buy buy.."

Maple_Leaf,
Aaron's such a handsome little fella! Is he sitting more confidently now?

Lachesiz,
Such a relief to hear that Rae-Ann is better now! She's such a tough cookie!

JinJin can sit and pull herself up to a standing position now. She'll sit in her cot, hold onto the railings and stand up. Like Rae-Ann, she dislikes tummy time though. We've been trying to get her to creep and crawl, but the progress is negligible. We try to entice her with toys, but she'll cry out in frustration when she can't get anywhere. I thought that gym classes would help, so we attended a trial class at Gymboree yesterday, but I wasn't impressed. You'll see my comments at http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/294958.html?1120663687#POST1243255

In Rae-Ann's case, could the lung infection have caused her lungs to be sore such that it is painful for her to lie on her tummy?

Yu,
My hubby and I got married at a ski resort (Whistler) in Canada and we spent our honeymoon there. It was out of this world! The ceremony was outdoors and it was snowing when my dad walked me down the "aisle" (which was part of a cross-country ski trail...). I'd like to take JinJin there one day, but the flight time is such a killer.

If you're travelling with Elicia, I'd recommend Finland. Visit Rovaniemi (Santa Claus Village). She'll love Santa Claus, reindeer, snow, etc. It's a very beautiful and romantic town.

Seagal,
Get well soon! JinJin and I have just recovered from the flu.

Could the rash on Shermyn's eyelid be a fungal infection? JinJin's got it on her cheek. The PD said it's because of the moisture from her saliva. Maybe the area around Shermyn's eye was wet from tears?

BlurQ,
Have a look at http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/270192/296094.html?1120657324. Someone's selling the FP table for $40.

Cody,
Welcome to the group! If your baby turned 7 mths on 6 July, it means he shares the same birthday as my girl (JinJin) and Seagal's girl (Shermyn)! Woohoo! Where was he born?

cody,
welcome here.. seems that u have already given your bb a good buffet spread!
i have started my gal on a simliar schedule this week but minus the fruits (she still 'phlegmy'). but her cereal is only abt 60ml cereal.. enough?
btw, the yoghurt can be found at cold storage too but the lifespan is really short!

andrea,
delmonte or those brandless 'market' kind are fine. i prefer those small brandles kind as they are softer and sweeter.

LL,
BREATHE IN DEEPLY BREATHE OUT SLOWLY..... think and 'chant' 'STEFFI' 10 x!! its a sure stress-reducer!

can imagine steffi in her walker and exhilaration and her new-found mobility! she must be busy exploring! but must be careful esp even mini 'steps' at home and all the sharp corners.