(2004/12) Year 2004 December Mummies

Chihuahua
he will still topple after awhile

TBL
hehe husband was taking photo while i'm at the side to standby in case he topple :p
wont leave him unattended when he is on the bed.
heard/read alot of stories baby falling off the bed :p

Kino 20% coupon
found in 4 jun & 11 Jun saturday strait times life section. valid till 30 Jun 05.
i have 2 extra coupons. anyone want it can let me know, can mail it to you.

BlurQ,
Andric looked so pleased with his progress! i am sure his mummies and all mummies here share his joy!

yu,
agree with seagal, elicia looks so huggable and loveble with that big smile!

seagal,
sherwyn never fail to bring a big smile across my face (i blame her for my increasing no of laugh lines!!) she looks very zai!! it wd be great if the 3 powerpuff girls can meet up and exchange chubby power!

fatchick
i also got something to complain . today i bought 1 toy for my boy to play and the teether cooler. The toy is to play in water, and it will float. My MIL say tat the toy is used to bluff bb who duun want to bathe. he say, use such toy, then it takes a long time for her to bathe my boy cos my boy will wanna play with this toy.

i feel like shit. just like i wasted my money. in fact the toy is for learning too. very sian.
then she say how can put teether in the fridge? it will be cold. luckily my hb explain to her, but she got doubt also lah.

TBL,
sometimes she wakes up for milk. ii'll feed her n put her back in her cot. i dun talk to her at all but she'll be awake about 1/2 to an hour later.. all wide eye and ready to play. she will play on her own for a while, then call for attention.then before she escalate into full force crying/whining, i'll put her between us, hoping our sian, tired, sleepy face will influence her but she will pull our face, mouth, call us to play with her! argh.......

mngo,
I learn to ignore negative comments from others, esp 'helpful' relatives.. coz alot of them are from old school of thought and the last time they raise a child was when policeman wear shorts, so they aren't aware of the latest developments in child-rearing and maybe alot of them did not have the chance to receive education so they can't keep abreast of the latest developments and products available.
but i know, sometimes when i hear this kind of remarks from my aunties (those san gu liu po), i want to 'tui'.. but give my mummy face, so never retort! so smile, keep quiet and nod like 'miss universe'.... (my hb say i v hypocrite.. but what to do?)

mngo,
declan looks so so grown up and more handsome esp with his stylo milo cap!!

books.
i am 'book' crazy.. been 'collecting' books, even children's books since uni days... went crazy at kino just now!!! lugged back a few big bags!! so happy...
(mummies, pardon my bo-liaones)

bookscraping.
any mummies into this? looks interesting, feel like doing one for rae-ann but it requires alot of time, energy, money, patience and creativity.... departments which i am seriously lacking, so thinking of doing abit of research before i jump into it. (thinking of digitial bookscraping rather than the traditional kind or a mixture of both) any sharings?

CHIHUAHUA,
Thks for sharing the feeding schedule info.

YU,
My boy is the one with milk allergy, I've tried soy milk liao but he's still allergic to it. Now he's taking the Nan2 Hypoallergenic milk and so far so good! Tks for info.

Hey, Elicia has got this rosy kinda cheek ya, so cute!

ROCHELLE,
After the lesson @ Aquaduck, how you bath ur boy ah?

TBL,
Ya lor, think too light for boy lah, PD say he's somewhere below the 50th percentile. Wat I worry is he's not drinking enuf or full cause I latch him on directly and dunno how much he drinks lah. Sumtimes after 5~10 mins, then he dun want liao and he seldom cry to ask for milk these days ... haiz ... worry ... worry lah, esp. when his wt gain is below avg. On avg, think they shd be gaining around 600 gms/mth rite?

Porridge
========
Using plain rice. No salt. At this age, better not to add salt. Remember reading somewhere that babies are not used to salty taste the way we adults are, they generally prefer their food plain. Too much salt can strain their kidneys.I cook wif carrot and 'Ngoh' fish (Ikan Kurau), quite nice leh, I taste it myself before giving. Actually, can also boil the ikan bilis soup first and use the soup (w/o the ikan bilis) to cook the porridge, then add carrot and fish, will be even more tasty. But me very lazy,so hvn't start yet.

SEAGAL,
I nvr wash the bumbo seat, just use wet cloth to wipe. The surface not rough (mayb yet to be).

Poo Poo - For info, Aaron poo around 2-3 days once or sumtimes twice a day after starting solid. So I guess Shermyn shd be alrite. Perhaps you monitor a few days and c how.

Btw, she look the very 'kuai, kuai' type leh ... so sweet ...

Mngo,
Ur Declan so handsome leh, think all the girl, girl here all snatch by him liao. My Aaron got no chance liao leh.

How much milk do you all add to around 4 tablespoon of cereal hah? According to Nestle's rice cereal's instruction for 6 mths & above bbies, must give 200ml with 4 tablespoon of cereal, doesn't that make the cereal very diluted?

I use to mix with water and hence I do not follow the instruction given, so the cereal is thicker than the above.

Kindly advise. Tk u!

No salt for baby food in the 1st yr
more info through this link:
http://www.babycentre.co.uk/expert/555836.html

Seagal
Love sherwyn eyes...so big n nice

mngo
Declan so handsome...my andric oso no chance liao heeh....
that day i oso bought a toy for andric, then my ah ma was complaining that the toy is so expensive, the sound produce by the toy is so soft, and kept pressing said that its so hard to press those buttons etc...i just kept quiet and walk away.... dun care wat she said...as long as my baby like the toy can already...
hehe think she will spoil the toy instead of andric :p

lachesiz
its every mummy joy to see babies progress each day
Bookscraping: me started a simple one with dates and photos...started with me n hb baby photos to our courtship days photos to wedding days photos to those scan pics and then finally to andric's photos....i stop half way at andric 2nd old pictures hehe...will continue when free :p

Maple_Leaf
as for the cereal...i didnt follow the instruction given, jus mixed 1.5 scoop of cereal and 0.5 scope of milk powder and as long as the cereal not too thick or watery then i give him already :p

lachesiz
you are right lor. they raised a child ages ago. i wonder what is wrong buying a toy for your dear child. i have to learn to ignore those comments. else i wil sure go crazy.

Oh , Declan says Thank you aunty Lac

Maple leaf, Blur Q
Dun say that leh. i feel paiseh leh

Hi all mummies!
Sorry really busy lately. I remember I owe someone the info of our baby's dates and names leh,,, who huh :p

I didn't really read thru all the posts sorry, but at least I've got some photos to see ...

<font color="ff0000">updates</font>
Chloe very notti lately... She simply doesn't want to sleep at night. Will cry like hell if I put her in the cot, and if we don't, she will play with us till 2am some day!
In the end, my hubby had no choice but to borrow a "Yao Lan" baby swing bed... to make her sleep at night, as much as I don want to we have no choice lor...
We rock her to sleep (which takes a few mins only!), and after tht will carry her back to the cot immediately ...

haiz.. think my next baby, I will be very strict in teaching her/him to sleep on their own.. grr...

Seagal,
My bumbo seat is quite ok lei, not rough at all. But. I never wash b4 :p only wipe it and not very often too. (lazy mummy here) as for poo poo, last time nat 2x per day but reduce to 1x per day after potty trained. Think if the poo is pasty shld be alrite.
Shermyn is really pretty babe!!!!

Yu,
Nat oso 50% percentile, I alr very happy!! No worry lah, as long as bb healthy then okie alr.

Mngo,
Me too bought the bath toy for Nat. she likes it very much and will play during bath. I know I say this b4, but need to mention again, Declan is really handsome!!! He looks like u or ur hubby?

Maple_leaf,
Psot aaron photo lei, nat wants to see lei.
For cereal, 1st time I tried oso follow the instruction but it was too dilute. Then someone advise NOT to follow instruction and just add water mix till we get wat we want.

duffy,
fyi, nat sleeps in 'yao lan' during day, then nite sleep in her cot. I started to give 'yao lan' when nat is ~3mth old as she cant sleep during day time, dunno why lei. If we bring her out shopping she will sleep soundly but not when she is at home. She can sleep on her own only during nite.
actually i think it shld be alrite lah, just dun shake too much lor.

TBL,

you cut the pork into small pieces and cook with the rice. its about double the amount of water to rice if you are using slow cooker. the pork should be "you ji bak" (direct translate from hokkien is kidney meat). you tell the butcher that it is for cooking baby porridge he should give you the correct meat.

aquaducks have classes at a few locations. u can call them to arrange for a trial class. they have classes on sat and sunday. go early so that Natalie gets used to the pool before the lesson.

http://www.aquaducks.com.sg/

my 2nd baby is going to be a boy.

Maple,

I bring my boy home to bath after his swimming. they have shower room but find it easier to wipe him clean and change into clean clothes.

Our Photos: http://www.flickr.com/groups/sgmotherhood/
My photos:http://www.flickr.com/photos/wooof

<font color="ff0000">TBL</font>
Wah, u potty trained already, and it's successful!
Sorry, can tell me how u did it again?
As for my bumbo seat, ok too, I'll wipe every once in awhile.
Thks for yr info on Yao lan
yalor, I guess as long as can make her rest well, i already don mind lor.

<font color="ff0000">rochelle</font>
Congrats on having a boy!
tht makes 2 boys hor, wah, gonna be a test of strength right? Anyway, Yr boys will have good fun together next time!

<font color="0000ff">updates</font> again
Chloe went for her HepB Jab on Sat too.
She's only 6.7kg, abt 50 percentile. The PD was saying still ok. But my girl har, sometimes when I bath her or play with her, her ribs is so obvious and pertruding out, I see already very xin tong...

Anyway, she need to go back to check her kidney and bladder problem soon. I'm really crossing my fingers she don have to go thru any horrible test again.

rochelle,
Wow 2 boys arz... can play together!!! Thinking of having a girl??? Actually dun hv girl also nvm coz next time u will hv 2 girl
hahahaha... Ur babies wife!

Hey, kelly,
u bought the more vibrant one ,ya? I bought the pinkish one... I'm still not too use to it leh, find it harder to pull to place than the previous sling I have... anyway.. maybe just me :p

Yu, u very funny haha, good direction to think like this

JinJin: Hello Aunties! My mummy's been busy working.

290876.gif

Seagal,
Shermyn has so much more hair than JinJin! At the rate my hair is falling out, I'll be as botak as her soon.

After starting JinJin on solids, I noticed that she'd poo on alternate days instead of everyday. On the days she poos, she'd poo 2-3 times.

TBL,
Help!!! We bought JinJin a potty last Saturday, but we're clueless about potty-training her. Tried whistling, "shhh-ing", "nggg-ing", etc., but she thinks the potty is a toy (it's shaped like a scooter). Really need your expert advice!

290877.gif

JinJin on her potty

Yu,
Kinokuniya has a massive branch at Ngee Ann City.

Duffy,
Don't worry too much. I'm sure everything will work out fine at Chloe's next checkup.

How's Chloe taking the solids? At one time, JinJin refused to eat rice cereal. She'd spit it out, kick up a fuss, etc. Even though the PD told me that babies don't know the difference between bland and not bland, I think they actually do. I bought different jars of Heinz baby food (e.g. strawberry yogurt, strawberry and banana custard, golden vegetable mash, etc.), mixed them with the rice cereal and she ate everything up. Today, we faced a new problem. She likes the solids so much, she refuses to drink milk.

<font color="ff0000">YYP</font>
Haha, Yr jin jin is such a happy baby! even poo poo also so happy HAHA.

Chloe currently loved only the brown rice cereal and fruits juices. We still haven't successfully feed her any porridge, not even with ikan bilis powder (suppose to be very nice)!

My MIL cook porridge everyday to try for Chloe's afternoon meal, if unsuccessful she feed her milk...

<font color="ff0000">potty</font>
Do we need to train now? I remember reading from somewhere they won't be able to control their bladder at all before certain month... I go find out again. But if there are successful stories, than I would want to start training too liao HAHA

Sori for intruding mummies
I'm actually Look for Rochelle regarding some questions on porridge when I saw that.....
Rochelle u r pregant!!!Congrats!!!

potty training
===============
yes, Nat is potty trained! and is very sucessful tat we have to make sure we ngg her at least once a day else she will hold until we ngg for her. we tried 2x (not purposely lah, just tat we went out didnt go home on time), put her on potty ard 7pm+, after only 'ngg ngg' 1x her poo came out immediately !! :p she must have hold it for the whole day!!

as a start we fixed a time for nat then put her on potty and nggg. initially she didnt wan to sit on potty so we have to give her some toy to play. the first 3 days we have to let her sit for 20mins b4 her poo poo. but now she can poo after ard 5mins. got to adjust timing if needed. coz i tried to nggg nat in the morning but failed, so slowly we adjust to afternoon ard 5pm after her afternoon nap.

YYP, for yr case hor think JJ still dunno wat is ngg ngg. may be u can observe her expression changes when she start to poo, then quickly put her on potty and ngg for her. if no time to take potty then can let her continue poo on diaper but u ngg for her. then she will learn wat is ngg ngg... just my thoughts lah...
btw hor, the potty so nice, really like toy instead of potty. I found those traditional type better, just changed for nat and she can sit without complain.

duffy,
fyi, me not only intro 'yao lan' but oso pacifier to nat! :p but just weaned her off paci last mth. to my surprise she didnt ask for it lei, can sleep without pacifier. i'm a happy mummy.

dun worry abt chloe's wt, Nat oso only 50-percentile. and chloe will be fine lah, keep us posted.

rochelle,
wow, boy boy will have a didi soon.
so happy for u, u must take care oh.

YYP,
JJ is very pretty. err... she naked in the potty photo?? dun worry she get a cold ah? :p

TBL,

thanks. my hubby's first reaction was that his mum would be happy because she is finally going to have as many grandsons as granddaughters. my MIL also treat me better after knowing that I am going to have another boy, so sian but bo bian.

<font color="ff0000">TBL</font>
Wah, not bad leh, but u also FTWM right, how u get to do all tht... for me my MIL always don really wanna do these for me one lor... than weekends we always have to go out, so can't really have such gd planning leh

My Chloe also Yao lan + pacifier! anyway, she also don really like pacifier, so should be ok to wean her off soon

duffy,
at 1st i started to train Nat on wkend, then nanny follow up to train her during wkdays. The nanny so far so good, she very excited and happy to see Nat potty trained. And she update me daily progress during nat's potty-train days, and remind me MUST let Nat use potty during wkend too.

for wkend our usual practice is bring her out early morning for breakfast + shopping, always be home ard 4~5pm, so still ok to use potty.

rochelle,
aiya, such things really bo bian one. old ppl always like boy instead of girl. u ignore her lor, as long as she treat u better than ok.

Aiyo, finally got time to log on...
My Ken has been so notti nowadays. Very active and refused to be put down for long. Got to carry and keep playing with him....

Rochelle,
Congrats! Got 2 boys sure very fun. And you also noe how to take care of the 1nd one better.... already know the way to go for little boys.

Duffy,
I also hve problem with making my son go to sleep...
Any mummies here got solution? My boy can only sleep with us rocking him in the arms. He still can't fall asleep by himself... Will scream if we put him in the cot to sleep. He is getting heavier, wondering how to continue rocking him like that...

Babies weight: Not too worried mummies. I know easier sait then done, but I guess the more paranoid we are about the weight, the more difficult for them to gain. (read somewhere before).

Potty training: Blur mummy here actually let my son knock his head while training today. He was kicking furiously and then toppled over. Conked the face on the floor. Cried like nobody's business. I was so devasted. All my fault....

Milk: I got a question here. May sound a little silly. You know everytime we make the milk, the volume will come up to a little more then the amount of water we originally put in. Eg, 120ml of water + milk powder = 135ml of formula. So do we count our babie's intake as 120ml or 135ml???

Mngo,
Dun paiseh lah, I'm sure u're a pretty mummy also.

BlurQ &amp; TBL,
Tks for info. on cereal. I hv concern that if nvr follow instruction then he'll get constipation lah, so better chk, chk 1st. Tk u!

TBL,
Aaron's photo - Guess Duffy had oredi informed. His photos' files all too big lah so difficult to post here leh.

Potty Training - Hmmm .... now I'm thinking twice whether to train him leh since u say hah, later without ngg..ngg... then he dunno how to 'da' and will 'ren for the day. My wkend shedule very unfix 1 leh, scared later he dun poo, then 'jialat'.

Rochelle,
Tks for info. on Aquaduck and your boy's progress, guess my Aaron follows Daddy's &amp; Mummy's genes. Both me &amp; HB were born pretty small bb.

Congrats again!!Boy, boy also gd wat, got a 'xiong di' can share a lot also.

Duffy,
Dun worry, we'll all pray for Chloe. Anyway, she look very alert and healthy to me so far.

YYP,
Jinjin sssoooo sweet hor!!I love the 1st pix, look like a big girl!

Her potty is so interesting!! Think she 'she bu de' to poo poo inside also.

Chihuahua,
Dun feel bad, accident do happen, rite. There's a few times which I cut my boy while trimming his nails. After each incident, I'll tell myself that I must be more careful next time but I still cut him and he bled, c oredi also very 'xin tong'.sumtimes 'bo bian' lor cause they're getting more and more active each day.

Ken look like a big boy in the 2nd pix, look like we have a soccer star in making ...

duffy,
me too! it's harder 2 pull in place. y huh? at 1st i tot it's bcos i didnt place e cloth properly thru e rings but i re-do e whole thing. damn hard lor...e MIM sling still easier. 2 tik, baby supplies' sling is supposed 2 b 100% cotton. wont it b easier/softer 2 pull? anyway, i'll try more often n if really not function-able, i'll get hubby 2 complain. he knows baby supplies' pp.

Hello mommies..pop-in to say hi, been very bizi and still will be for the next few weeks...got little time to spend wif my Steffi only the weekends, will try not to work..
Aiyoh, this tread moves so fast after the last time I log-in, jus run-thru' seems like o talking abt bb cook book &amp; potty!!!!
[Yu]Ur flicker website does not work lei....
[chihuahua] wow...nice pixs of ur boy
[rochelle] congrates...

Duffy,
Which brand of brown rice cereal is Chloe taking? JinJin hasn't tried brown rice cereal yet.

When cooking porridge for Chloe, does your MIL do anything special? I can't cook for nuts. Used to fail my Home Econs tests and exams...

I told JinJin's PD about her preferring solids to milk now, and he said that it was a good sign. He said that I could start giving her fish porridge to make up for the protein which she would usually get from milk. The PD weighed JinJin today and she's 7.04 kg, but height-wise, she's below average - only 63.5 cm. I think she's going to be a very short girl... daddy's genes!

TBL,
Jackpot!!! Thanks so much for your advice and your funny story about Nat holding it in (laughed till I teared)!!! When we noticed that sudden serious look on JinJin's face this evening, we quickly put her on her potty. She sat there quietly for a while, whilst we "nngg-ed" at her. Wah, really good business.

Nat is super clever to be potty-trained so early. Does she use the potty for peeing too?

Thanks for your compliments! And yes, JinJin was naked in the 2nd photo. She's actually quite tough when it comes to facing the cold. After her bath, we sometimes dress her in an air-conditioned room. She's like me, cannot stand the heat.

Maple_Leaf,
I bought the potty for $10 from Kiddy Palace at HDB Hub. They were having a 20% storewide sale. I put JinJin on all the pottys there, and she liked that one best. The front part with the handle bars and ball can actually be removed very easily, leaving a regular potty.

Chihuahua,
Ken is so adorable! JinJin's heart skipped a beat when she saw his pics. If he's single and looking, she's got a great personality, loves solids and is about to be potty-trained! Long distance relationships sometimes work...

tbl
i have not wean declan off it yet leh. my mil loves to stuff tat thing on declan!!

toys
aiya my mil put my bathe toys aside leh. she not using it . tat toy cost more than 10 dollar. i feel like money wasted.

mngo,

I use my boy's bath toys in the swimming pool but now that he can use a bigger bath tub without crying I let him play with a few bath toys while bathing.

yu,

me and hubby dont mind having girls but his mum always make negative comments so my hubby also stress. we only see my in-laws on weekends so can still one ear in one ear out. my MIL sometimes make very negative remarks because we not staying near them but my hubby gives his parents spending money every month so so lucky my parents very nice to him.

chihuahua,

sleep training does work. abit heartache to hear baby cry but after a few days they know its sleeping time. we train our boy since 3day old for bedtime and naptime so that easier for me as a SAHM since I can only go restroom/kitchen when he is sleeping.

my boy would make complaining noises before his nap time in the day, then he sleep very well. at first we thought he was unhappy. then we know its his pattern.

Rochelle ,
wow! tats a good idea. Mmmm My tub is quite small i was wondering where to get a bigger one since all is about the same size