(2004/12) Year 2004 December Mummies

mngo> mil stories n complains its new eveliday n endless lor... nw shann is teething.. always refuse milk n throw her tantrums..gt to pacify her more... if let my mil feed.. she sure tell mi.. "bb nt hungry la..she dun wan to drink leh..!!" den mil feed bb water,u can see bb drink v fast*hungry sign* so i offer milk again 2nd time.. mil "she dun wan to drink milk 1 la.. she onli wan water"..stupid mil..

n its like past 5 hrs liow since the last feed, i was tiking hard.. "cannot b nt hungry?" so i try to hoax her n bb drinks the milk...wats wrong? aft tat she can say wan to cook "dunno wat liang teh" to gi my bb cos she dun wan to drink milk..i was worried sick til tis day u noe! cos she wil juz do tat behind my back if i m nt ard at hm lehh..piangzZz *i noe her pattern too well*

she always forgets the time she feed her lor.. ask mi whn i come back fr outside.. i also @@..v stress...she cant handle my bb le...if i leave her alone wif bb aft like 4 hrs,come home to her black face n endless "reports" of bb bully her, make her exhausted.. DROP PANTS..

wait bb weight "yo-yo" up n down becos of her 4getfulness... u noe wta i mean rite? sianz..
somemore she stays wif mi .. i face her 24/7...its worse than i face my dog n the 4 walls leh..

sorry too many frustrations recently cso of mil interfering wif my way of bringin up my daughter..

fatchick,

try not to let your MIL give cooling things to your baby. becos if baby heaty and get constipated/hard stool we can at least give more water. if baby eats/drinks too much cooling thing and get very loose stools we wont be able to know whether baby is sick or just eat too cooling food.

[fatchick] aiyoh u so poor thing...so sori to hear ur frustration...so ur MIL is looking after ur bb while u r working rite? can u come up with something like PD say ur bb cannot take chinese herbs!!!!! would she listen/believe??? will ask my lau ma y bb dont drink milk wen they r teething...

fatchick
i also stay with my mil. in fact she's staying at my place. is it the same for u? my mil is ok, she keeps track of bb eating time and she is more Kan Cheong than all of us. But there are times the way of bringing up my boy is diff from me, and certain thing i have to close my eye.

by the way yr mil very funny. how can bb bully her? she never feed bb milk.... then wat?

I'm so glad that I can count on you gals for advice on solids. I just started Shermyn on brown rice last week so will be looking forward to giving her more solids soon.

What is good to give next ? Was thinking of a vege or fruit. Will sweet potato cause gas huh ? What kind of banana should i give ? the del monte kind or the normal shorter and sweeter variety? my colleague's son feel sick after eating the del monte banana.

Shermyn had her first swim over the weekend. She seems to enjoy it though we can't really see any expression on her face. She was more observing her surroundings then showing her emotions.

289508.jpg

Here's daddy's first try at creating a collage out of her pics ... i love it!
289509.jpg

<font color="ff0000">fatchick</font>,
my mil gave baby other food besides milk e.g. barley water but we have been quite strict to tell her not to. i find that it works better if we tell her "doctor say cannot this cannot that ..." compared to us telling her off. maybe you can give this a try.
the way u type very funny leh ... but sometimes i need to read a few times to understand, haha.

seagal,
your darling looks so serious but sweet (as usual)!

i also brought my gal for her 'first' 'genuine' swim about a week ago too! (her first was a 5min dip in the pool about a month ago, so not counted la... thanks to her overprotective father!)

her skimpy swim wear was passed from her cousin and my oh my, she looks so ba ba... (pork prices have dipped recently
) will get her a more modest swimming costumes to cover up her pui ba, double chin and a slight hint of cleavage! :p

my gal is so serious in her swim. we know she is enjoying herself as she LOVES water and she will diligently kicked water, though her head accidentally went under 2x, she didn't cry but simply spit out the water and continued 'paddling' and when its time to come up, she bawled!! loves to stare at ple and at her new float! ( i m not a fan of Hello Kitty but really couldn't resist this float.. so kawaii). and finally managed to buy a 'sun-tan lotion' for infants, so her daddy will be more at peace with her dip.

can't wait to bring her for swim again (but must look at weather.. not too hot, not too cold, see how crowded pool is, whether pool temperature is warm enough, whether handsome guard on duty, whether mummy feel lazy/fat .. just short of consulting the almanac!)

289548.jpg

seagal,
love shermyn collage.. esp the 2nd and 4th pic!

i also use 'doctor said so' as an excuse to fend off my mummy archaic (but apparently tested, according to her) methods:p

rochelle,
thanks, intend to try pumpkin this weekend. by the way, is 'laputa' your name or nick? or are u a fan of 'gong qi jun' (dunno his name in English) the great japanese anime artiste (considered a national treasure by the japanese)?

fatchick,
your bb bully ur MIL?? hahaha .. how har? maybe its just her affectionate way of saying how she enjoyed spending time with your darling (sometimes, the older generations are not used to expressing their happiness explicitly!)

Mngo,
Tks for cfmation on papaya puree.

Tried on Sun but he dun like it leh, keep turning his head away.

Rochelle,
In that case, perhaps I didn't fasten properly. I'm trying out the Sealer brand diaper now, seems quite alrite. At nite, still feel safer with Pampers. Ever tried Drypers but I think it gets a bit hard when wet, not so good for boys ...

Baby Carrier - thks for info., will chk out when go Metro.

TBL,
U feel alrite liao hor ...

Tks for info. on ngg ... ngg ..., think must start to train him liao but must get potty first.

fatchick,
Just to share, sumtimes my boy ah also dun want to drink milk leh, but he'll take water. Got once when I went 2 see doctor and my mil help to look after him, he dun want to drink any milk at all (for 5 hrs) but my mil say when give him water, he drinks .... haiz ... sumtimes these little ones are difficult to predict. I got so worried also when I got back (5 hrs leh!!!), I tried to feed him, he also like didn't take much.

My sis also said sumtimes when they're heaty, they dun want milk. So its alrite to let them drink more water to cool them down. But of course still must give milk lah. As for 'liang teh', think better dun anyhow give lah, if really heaty, give more water better. Water more neutral.

Sum signs of heatiness - dry/cracky lips, more yellowish urine, etc.

Seagal,
I like the last pic, look like a sleeping beauty ... sweet, sweet ....

lachesiz,
Ur potatoe look so sexy!! As usual, she's so filled with emotion.

Think I'll get the hello kitty float also if mine is a gal!

<font color="ff0000">fatchick</font>
ahyoh, we got almost the same MIL problem lor...except my MIL is reverse, she will always says BB is hungry and wants to feed whenever she cries last time.... now she's slightly better infront of us lah, behind us I think she'll still do her way lor...
Nowadays my problem is tht BB will always take a nap at abt 8pm... than she wouldn't sleep till 1-2am...

Even my MIL says if can don't let her nap at 8pm, but she is not stern enough to train BB lor...
Only last night me and hubby darm tired, cause she cry till 2am than sleeps...
I always think it's good to have a routine for BB, needs patients and training though, in which my MIL couldn't really help in tht way, I don blame her lah, grandma always very softhearted one lor... but now the parents suffering, so I always have to think of other strategy... *with black eyes and low brain juice*

<font color="ff0000">seagal</font>
I love the collage... I choose 2nd pic frm it, cutest!
Ha, the bigger pic, Shermyn look so serious!

<font color="ff0000">lachesiz</font>
Yr gal looks sooo cute in pink haha, plus botak head like my chloe

<font color="ff0000">Solids</font>
I still puzzled! I'm feeding my coming to 7months old Chloe, 2 meals of cereals per day, and 3xmilk in between...
When do I intorduce the puree? with the cereals' meals or in between?

hi hi ladies,
aiyo, very very busy!!!

seagal,
shermyn looks so serious in the swimming pic!! she still looks very pretty and cool in the pool!!

lachesiz,
wow!!! sexy Rae-Ann!! love the pic with cleavage! kekeke....

duffy,
haiz... me too same question lah....really dunno when to feed puree. as of now poor nat only try dumex plain cereal &amp; nestle brown rice cereal. this wk nanny intro porridge. so far not yet try puree lei. i also bought gerber carrot &amp; beans but dunno how to give lei. puzzled... puzzled...

Sorry MIA so long. I was really busy. My boy is getting fussy nowadays and constantly demands attention and scream all the time. I am wondering if he is teething. But feel the gums got nothing leh. Haiz...
Then last weekend went out to celebrate my anniversary with hubby. Got away from baby for a night and checked-in a hotel. Shiok! Although miss my son alot lah. Keep calling to check on him.

Solids:
I am not an expert at solids too. Cause my little one doesnt really like it. So only feeding him 3 teaspoons of cereal every morning. But from what I know, you can try introducing some fruit puree in between milk feeds. Only give a little at a time. You can also replace a cereal feed with some carrots and potato puree. Add in a little milk and it taste quite good. But not too much carrot, cause too much carotine will cause skin discoloration.

Commercial puree:
According to my doctor, just give it straight from the jar. No need to mix anything. But of course cannot give too much initially, so scoop out the amount required and chill the rest in the jar. Cannot keep more than 2 days.

lachesiz:
Your gal is soooo cute! really like a potato. Just a very pretty potato. I was laughing when I see the photos. Your gal like the water? Not scared water get into her ears?

Duffy:
You only give milk 3x a day. Then how much milk in total does Chloe drinks?

Milk intake:
My boy hates the milk bottle/milk, and only drinks when sleeping. Each time also drink very little. About 120ml during day, 80ml at night. I am wondering if any mummies also have trouble with your little ones with regards to drinking milk? Now I have to feed him 7-8 times a day and is very shag. Thinking of abandoning the 3am feed. But that would mean he drinks 50-70ml less for the total feed. He is taking about 650-700ml everyday now. Should I just let him sleep through the night???

<font color="ff0000">lachesiz</font>,
i bought the hello kitty float (from Carrefour) too ! also bought the beach ball. they are real cute but then I saw this other float which costs like $3 more and also more sturdy so i went back carrefour to return the float. that's the good thing about carrefour. can get refund and no questions asked.

aiyo.....really want to pinch pinch ur potato. she is super adorable!! i like the 2nd pic (top row) and 3rd pic (bottom row). She has very kissable lips u know. so pretty!

<font color="0000ff">LL</font>,
i bought the float from kidsmall at suntec.

<font color="119911">maple_leaf</font>,
have u tried nepia diapers ? i find them quite good. softer and more comfy than pampers but pricey also. they can send you trial packs to sample. if any mummies here want the contact, let me know. i use it only when we go gai gai.

<font color="aa00aa">duffy &amp; tbl</font>,
shermyn is now taking about 4 milk feeds and 2 brown rice feeds a day. for a start, i will just introduce other solids for her "snack" in between the proper meals just to expose her to more variety of foods as well as to check for allergies. i gave her the gerber banana rice cereal but she doesn't like it. maybe it turned cold too fast since it's only mixed with warm water.

i tend not to introduce too much commercially prepared food to shermyn for now since she just started on solids. prefer to give her natural foods first which could be lacking in the minerals e.g. calcium, iron, etc. but think she should be able to get these from her staple i.e. milk.
what do u mummies think ?

<font color="0000ff">chihuahua</font>,
it's ok if our babies drink slightly lesser some days. shermyn drink sometimes only 500ml + some days (before we started her on solids) and my pd say's it's ok.
are u still bfdg ?
u mean u still wake him up to feed every 3 hours ? very siong. i stopped doing that since shermyn was 3 months. can just let them sleep. if they are really hungry, they will ask for milk milk. the longest she has slept so far is 10 hours.

hey...i realised your kenneth same b-day as me! i had wished shermyn's birthday to be on the same day as mine but she decided to come out early at 37 weeks. =)

my shermyn dropped quite a bit of hair for the past 2 months. so sad. luckily her hair loss is lesser now. dunno when they can grow back ....

Long time didn't login to see see look look liao coz PC down.

Can anyone tell me where to buy swimming wear for our baby?

Duffy &amp; TBL,
I'll give some apple puree (just 1~3 teaspoon, depending on how much he want) in btw meals.So far, hv not replace any solid meal (i.e. Porridge or cereal) with puree (e.g. potatoe, pumpkin) yet.

Chuihuahua,
Agree with Seagal, can let him sleep thru. I think by this age, they'll wake up for milk if they're hungry.

Seagal,
Yes .... I tried Nepia but find it too soft lei, get out of shape quite fast and there was once his poo poo leak, so I stop using liao.

Commercial Prepared Food
-------------------------
Me too,will try to give him as fresh as possible.

===============
Update on Aaron
===============
Brought him for his last Hep.B jab yesterday. His current wt. 7.2kg (only gain 300 gms since last mth) and length : 67 cm (increase by 2 cm). Dunno whether he's not eating enuf or he's simply too active .... haiz ... but he still look fine leh.

Saw another bb, same age as him and guess wat!!!???? He is OVER 10KG!!!!! Oh my god!His parents look the slim,slim type thou!!

<font color="ff0000">Maple_leaf</font>,
shermyn also average size only. she is about 7kg now and 63cm. our babies's weight gain will taper at this stage as they are more active now. as long as they are healthy and growing should be fine lor so no need to worry.

one sure way to make babies fat fat is to let them drink s26. that's what i heard, haha!

Porridge
what is a good first porridge to introduce ?

shall we be good friends ? hey .. anyone wants to join the chubby face club?

your_image.gif

<font color="ff0000">maple_leaf</font>,
ok, thanks. will try porridge on shermyn later.

<font color="0000ff">yu</font>,
i bought shermyn's swimsuit from kiddy palace. i think ey r still having 20% discount storewide. u can take a look. =)

thanks mummies for the compliments on my potato.. but her daddy always worried tat she will become baked potato if out in the sun for too long! sianzz

solids,
i also super blur on this as my goal now is simply to intro a myraid of tastes to her. i tried mixing cereal with puree and she loves it. (so that she get her cereal and puree but i intro the two separately first to test for allergy and if she's ok with the puree, then i mix it few days later.) like what chihuahua said, replace cereal(partial) with puree...

water in ear,
oh ya hor.. that has never occur to me (see i sotong again.). will take note next time but i assume the 'valve' in ear will automatically 'close' unless the bb enter water at a wrong angle? i also biology idiot. can anyone advise?

LL,
bought the float at kidsmall @$12-$13 after 20%discount! saw it at carrefour but they were selling at more than $20!

diapers,
i am using nepia for nite (drypers leak for her. MP good but stiffer than nepia) and cloth for day.
stock up when its on offer! anyone tried sealer or EQ?

nite feeds and waking hour.
my girl is wakes up at @3-4am for a feed.. could it be simply habitual? how to make her snooze thru the nite? and her waking hour is very early, 5-6am, she will be fully awake for play, regardless of what time she sleeps? any advice on making her wake up later?

maple leaf,
as long as aaron is healthy, active, feeding well and happy, you shouldn't be too concern!n from the looks of it, he is a certified healthy happy bb!

yu,
can buy bb swimwear from most 'kiddy' shop. kidsmall, kiddy palace, mothercare (love their range!), even major dept stores! have fun shopping!

seagal,
chubby cheeks galore!
LOVE LOVE LOVE the powerpuff collage! shermyn has such pinchable cheeks too and she looks so demure! and that's one of my fav pic of nat! but i want to protest, my potato really look like a boy boy next to the 2 sweeties.. can draw some hair on her? :p

AYHAHA, the power puff girls all got funny expressions one, so cute....

Thanks for the advise on solids.

My MIL is cooking porridge everyday to coax Chloe to eat some, she still don really like it... so need to add more taste to it...
What do u all suggest to add to those chinese porridge to make it tasty? I've added ikan bilis powder, but she still don like leh...

Opss.. by the way, who's baby cant take cow milk arz? Can try taking goat or soy milk powder... If anyone looking for frisoy (soy base), can let me know. I can get for u at a cheaper price than outside.

I remember there is one mother taking goat pills to increase the BM supply, does it work? Where u buy from arz?

hi calling all mummies staying at Tampines / Simei / Pasir Ris

currently my cousin is doign a diaper survey and u will get a 20 pcs sample free.
anyone interested pls email the below info to me at [email protected]

Current brand:
Pull up user?
mummy name &amp; contact detail
Address:

The nurse from the early childhood centre came for a house visit as my boy has a drinking problem (For those who dun noe, I am currently staying in Sydney). It is a govt organisation and is FOC.

She gave me a feeding schedule. According to her, babies 6 months and above should be feeding 3-4 times a day, and their amount of solids should be equivilent to milk:
7.30am: cereal + milk after
10am: Sleep - 1 hour
12pm: cereal + milk after
2pm: sleep - 1 hour
5pm: cereal + milk after
7.30-8pm: bedtime
10pm: milk (optional)

She said that we should encourage our babies (6 months above) to feed more cereals, so must have additional cereal feed. According to her, milk alone does not provide enough nutrients for our babies at this age. Infact, cereals are more important when it comes to 7 months of age. That's why, she said to offer cereal 1st, then milk.

I am confused, because all along I thought milk should be the most important source of food for our babies now??? I asked her that, and she said that concept is not correct.... *scratch head*

Seagal,
Your bday also Nov 24? So qiao! Next time I sure can remember your bday.
I also heard S26 can make babies chubby chubby, but I think give constipation problem leh.
Re. commercial food, I consulted my doc. He said they are quite ok. Of course cannot replace homecooked food, but can intro a variety to baby, and let baby enjoy eating solids. I think Heinz is one of the best jar foods I have tried. Esp the organic ones.

1st porridge to intro:
I think a little bit of carrot + washed ikan bilis (coz got salt) and a little chicken for taste is a great way to start. My doc told me before chicken is fine and carrot will give the sweet taste. But just a teeny bit.

Lachesiz,
Last time my boy also wake up early. he will make a lot of noise and flip here and there. So I just pick him up, put in the be beside us and pat him. If he wakes up totally, we just pretend to be sleeping. After a while, he sian already, he also go back to sleep. Went on for about 1 week, then ok liao...

BlurQ,
Congrats! Andric more clever than Ken. He can only sit so well when he turns 6 months.

Yu,

went with my mum to kinokuniya yesterday to look at the super baby food book. my mum say all common sense so didn't buy. my mum was a nurse in O&amp;G so I have to trust her opinion.

Chihuahua,

I think the follow on milk has less nutrients because they expect us to supplement with other food. my boy gets hungry very fast on NAN2 compared to NAN1. you might want to try put a bit of pork to cook porridge but the pork only for taste, not for baby to eat.

mngo,

commercial food has preservatives, thats why can last so long. I only give my boy baby biscuits to practise chewing, the rest I try to homecook.

TBL,

my boy went for the trial class at Aquaducks and my parents decided to let him learn until end of july. my boy is the youngest baby in the class.

[Yu] itz me lah....I tried goat's milk tablets but does not work for me lei..mayb oredi too late to take, supply oredi down. I had stopped breast feeding since last month. You can tried, mayb it works for u 'cos u r still on breast feeding. Get it from Tan Tock Seng Hospital.

<font color="ff0000">Yu</font>,
elicia looks so grown up already! She is very ba ba, so huggable!

<font color="0000ff">wendypooh</font>,
i just did the survey through a friend and got the trial diapers today. =)

Thks for yr info on feeding puree, yr info is really useful for blur me &amp; duffy. Thks!

Chihuahua,
WowKcelebrate anniversary in hotel!! So romantic.

Nat also drinks only 120ml per feed. Have been trying to let her drink more but she just cant take anything more than 120ml lei. U wakes Kenneth up for his 3am feed? I think if he dont cry for me u can let him sleep thru the nite, no need to feed him. Since Nat started her 2x/day solid hor, her last feed is 8pm+ and she will sleep till next monring 6:30am. Last time I always worry she hungry and will feed her when she wakes up but she dun wan. So nowadays will ask nanny to feed her when I bring her there abt ~7:30am. Ie, nat didnt take any milk for nearly 11hrs!!

Seagal,
Nepia will send trial packs huh? Can give me the contact? Thks!
shermyn dropped hair? Cant tell fm the pic, she still have her pretty side parting!!
dun worry, will grow back one lah!

maple_leaf),
7.2 kg shld be alrite mah. Why? U think its too light huh? Nvm lah, as long as bb healthy and happy then shld be alrite.
For porridge u use brown rice or plain rice? do u add salt in the porridge? my nanny told she she adds a bit salt just for taste wor, dunno whether I shld stop her or not. Btw if dun add salt hor, then no taste rite? shall I buy those organic salt?

Seagal,
HahahahaK. powerpuff collage really nice!!!! Soooo cute!

lachesiz,
is rae-ann wakes up for milk @ 5am? If yes then u dun talkk to her when feeding her, let her finish the milk then put her on bed again. She may roll or play with herself until she is tired then fall to sleep again. Btw I really dun think ann looks like boy lei! She is such a cute and pretty potato!!

blurQ,
Andric is cute! He looks like very happy can sit by himself!! He can sit very well. Nat is 6mth + but can only sit for less than 1 min.
Btw hor, fm the pic his postion like very near the edge of the bed lei. U not worry he topple and drop meh? Must be careful lei. Sorry hor, but I very paranoid abt all theseK :p

Wendypooh,
20pcs diapers huh? Aiyo, must be tampinese are huh? punggol can bo?? :p

rochelle,
how to put pork into porridge huh? Sorry I cooking idiot lah!! I mean need to cut into small pcs? Then just put in with rice to cook till it becomes porridge? u use slow cooker? Btw me thinking to sue slow cooker, but need to cook for how long lei? Worry later the porridge is still not ready when near nats feeding time. Aiyooo, very stress leiK.
Aquaducks? Where is the place? So good yr parents can bring him there. Me too thinking to let nat try on trial classes. How are u now? Know the sex of bb alr?

Yu,
Really!! Elicia looks so grown up, big girl lei. nice pic!

bumbo seat
mummies who bought the bumbo : I realised that the surface texture on my bumbo seat is quite rough. those new ones I touched at shopping places are very slippery and smooth. dunno if it's due to "wear and tear". i washed it only twice. do you experience this as well ?

poo
Shermyn has been poo-ing about 2 to 3 times per day these 2 days. I am worried why the sudden frequent bowel movements ? She usually poo only once a day or at most once in 2 days. Her poo is pasty so i have ruled out diarrhoea.
Called up my pd also. his nurse told me if the poo is pasty should be fine. could be becos baby taking brown rice hence more fibre.
anyone of your babies had this before ?

hay.... not only mil son fault if cannot born a boy out ok.,...
part of it is also girl fault la....... but ok wat.... boy or girl also same ma... wat for wanna say ONLY boys fault that girls cannot born a baby boy.. no 1 is at fault... we all love all.... boys or girls..... they are all our loves one..

thks soOO much for ur advises, my mil is those die hard wun believe doc type.. so i wun bring her to PD cos wil giv mi more headache aft tat... n bb still refuse milk these few days even aft 7 hrs since last feed she stil dun wan.. i realli suspsect she wanrs to "eat" liow..she wants to snatch my ham its morning leh!! sighH...den cry herself to sleep aft bathe w/o milk..aiyoO

i so scared my mil no government own self feed bb "watever she tiks its right" so i kept all my ceral bottles n juices in my room so whn i start on solid feeeeding she dunno lor.. stress manz.. bt my nanny say bb is okie wif her,she takes milk leh.. i also ?? haiz.. notti bb..

btw i aldy noe bb too young to noe wats bully lor.. so i hack care mil comments la... juz treat her voice transparent la.. ahhahah...she stays wif us perm here..inorder nt to "fight" wif her in the face dats hw i wil response to her senseless words..

hey all
Actually my gal is kind of small type. Last moths she weigh 7kg only. The PD say my gal grow is 50%...

How much do u all bought the SUPER BABY FOOD book arz? Me also wanna to start on porridge for my gal but dunno wat to cook for her... She is those kind of fussy eater....

yu,
bought the book at kino at $36.53. now kino having 20% percent discount if u r member or else i think yesterday (sat, 11 june) straits times got 20% discount coupon for 2 books. (if not sat ST, then try friday ST).
as i am a newbie mummy and cooking sotong, find the book v useful for ple like me.