(2004/12) Year 2004 December Mummies

my baby just had his 3rd month jab this morniung and happily smiling after leaving the clinic.

chiart,

safer to bring to private pool while still small becos the clorine level in public pool may be too high or too dirty

hmm private pool?
frankly speaking, i love to bring him to private pool....any suggestions which private pool? cos i am no member to any clubs or condo..pls advise

swimming gathering in May

would you all want to bring your babies over to my condo pool for a swim on 23 May (replacement public holiday for Vesak Day). most of our babies would have finished their jabs by then.

there is a thread to post bb photos. think is good if we refer to that thread to see photos, instead of viewing it in this thread, and every where....

my baby is 7.1kg and 67cm tall(long) at 3mths old today. paed say have to do more tummy time with him becos he still cannot hold his head steady.

rochelle, i dunno wats my baby's weight and length :p ... how to define whether can hold head steady or not? we always put declan on tummy.... to train his muscles.

mngo,

my paed puts baby into burping position and see how steady he can hold his head for how long. also put on tummy and see if baby can lift his head. the paed would check your baby at the 3rd month jab so dont need to worry.

we use the Ikea tape to measure baby's length at home and for weight we use the normal weighing machine then weight twice (once alone and second time carrying baby). we do that when we are curious about how heavy or tall he is.

mngo,

u might also want to let your baby learn to grip things. my baby still dont grip things so my paed say have to check that again at the 4mth jab

rochelle,
yr boy didnt cry huh? brave boy boy!!

I'll be bring Natalie to her 3rd mth jab either this wkend or nxt, hope she will be as brave as yr boy. btw did yr boy boy develop any fever? he cranky after the jab?
For natalie she dun like to be on tummy lei, will cry few seconds after on tummy. For gripping she has no problem, coz i started to let her grib small toys since 2wks back.
Thks for invited us to yr condo pool, but need cannot promise u now coz depends whether any family gathering wif hubby's family. His family likes to arrange gathering on holiday lah.

when shall bb go for the 3rd month jab? Before the 3rd month date or after the 3rd month date? for eg for jean, born 11 dec... should she go before/after 11 mar?

oh btw, she's on 6-in-1...

Jen,

the 3rd mth jab can go before or after becos its the 1st dpt/polio jab. the 4th mth one has to be at least one month after the 3rd mth jab becos its the 2nd dpt/polio jab. u can call and check with the paed clinic nurse.

TBL,
my boy smiles alot and not cranky at all after the jab. brought him shopping at Tampines Mall and Century Square after jab becos my paed is at Tampines Junction. so far no fever *cross fingers*. My boy will make complaining noises if put on his tummy too long, but wont cry. we only started tummy time recently so his neck still weak.

Mngo,

my boy also in mittens until last week so slowly learning to unfold his fingers. actually suppose to take mittens off after one month old but scared he scratch himself. so now have to let him practise gripping toys.

Duffy,

I am seeing Dr Lim from Raffles Medical Group at the Tampines Children Centre. My gynae is there and is near my home.

Rochelle, where abt is your place? I may be interested
but i have to get all the barang barangs ready. oh.... today we took off his mittens... :p

Jenjen
It is ok to go after 11 march. My boy was born one day earlier than Jean, and we brought him for 2nd mth jab on the 14th Feb.

Rochelle,

Thanks for the kind offer, but it'll be my hubby's birthday, so we'll have plans on that day.

Chiart,

Even at a club or condo, there'll be people who will spit, blow their noses or pee in the pool. There's a list of all the public swimming pools at www.ssc.gov.sg/SportsWeb/sw_cat_details.jsp?type=9&artID=1935&root=31&cat=180. Pick a convenient location, ring them and find out when they clean the pool, when they are least crowded and so on. With that info, you can then decide whether or when to take Javier to the pool.

My situation is a little different. JinJin is fortunate to have grandparents who have their own pool. We went swimming again today and she made some progress. She's kicking water now.

Duffy,

JinJin sleeps in an air-conditioned room. The temp is set at 24 deg.

There're differences between Doman's and Shichida's methods, but the usage of picture flashcards is not one of them. Picture flashcards are used in Doman's method as well to give the baby encyclopedic knowledge.

Since you're interested in the 2 methods, you might want to check out www.childbrain.org and the Shichida Group in yahoo.com. Happy teaching Chloe!

Me gonna bring Chloe to Polyclinic for the jab on Monday. They charge $90 per jab x 3 times.

Before that gonna see the PD in gleneagles on Sat, because Chloe's left kidney abit swollen...

one qn to ask...our babies are coming to 3 months soon..or some already 3 months old..have u changed the teats for them yet ?

Hi WendyPooh,

WELCOME!! Once in a while, Aaron is also taking Enfalac A+.

Duffy,
How did you detect that Chloe's left kidney is swollen. Tk good care & do update us on her condition.

Rochelle,
Wat is ur boy's birth wt & height hah? He's 1 day younger than Aaron but seems to be bigger leh. Aaron is only @ 5.8kg & 61 cm now.But PD say since he has double his birth wt @ 3 months, he is doing fine.

Jen,
Jean's head very 'zai' leh though she just 2+ months. Very fast!

TBL,
How's Natalie's teething? She's the earliest here wow.
I've read somewhere that this could do with the parents one lor, perhaps you or ur hb also start teething very early.

Brought Aaron to PD for jab this morning. Went for 5-in-1. Paid $126 nett(for 1 jab). He was distracted by the bell & the PD was fast, so no crying. Hopefully he won't hv any fever.

How long must we monitor to cfm no fever hah? Just for today?

Just for info., my mum say its better to bath them before they take their jab. I think just in case they got any fever.

Chk with PD re taking water for BF babies, she say usually no need but if their urine do get kinda concentrated, its alright to give them some.

Nowadays, Aaron always get cranky when he's sleepy, anyone's bb experiencing that as well? He sumtimes suck his thumb so hard till they become red, red. Aiyoh see already very 'xin tong'.*sigh*

duffy,
how is Chloe? Hope she is doing fine and take good care of her.

chiart,
Natalie is 3mth as of today. I changed her teats abt 2wks ago, to M size. She started to 'hint' us to change the teats as she always fuss half-way drinking milk and always ended up so angry tat she refused to finish her milk. Things improved after we changed the teats. So u may want to observe yr bb b4 u change it.

Maple_leaf,
Natalie is fine now, thks. Both my hubby & myself didnt had early teething lei, dunno why my girl teething so early. Going to ask PD on my nxt visit there, coz I worry that is not 'normal' or may affect her health. But my hubby said i think too much... :p
btw these days natalie oso get cranky when she is sleepy. She will rub her face/eyes and make lots of noises. sometime will suck her thumbs oso but not veri often, I will give her pacifier if she do so.

Did anyone watch yesterday zoe tay show? Anyone know where is the wholesale for those baby item? Me very interested, wanna to go there and buy things for Elicia...

Maple,

my boy is 3.86kg and 52cm at birth

Chiart,

we change a new set of teats every month before it gets too soft

maple leaf... yah... a lot of pple tot jean was 3 month or older when she's 1.5 months... :p maybe becos she was a full-term/overdue baby? more time to develop in womb... haha...

anyone's 11~12 week bb teething? or is it too early?

Jen,
We found out Natalie is teething last wk, she was wk 11+ then. Her very first tooth is on lower gum, right side. Many ppl told me it's too early. Read fm internet oso mentioned those 'early' one will start teething ard 4th mth!! Now I blur + a bit worry too.

Rochelle, chiart,
if u mean change to new teat, I change every 3~4wks. If u referring to 'upgrade' size fm s to M, I changed when Natalie was 10wk-old.

i upgrade my baby boy teats to M size..and he was struggling with it as the flow seems too fast for him so i am wondering is it normal
i was worried if i continue to use the size S teat, he is drinking too slow..

hi yu
the zoe tay show for the distributor? it is called aprisin and their website is aprisin.com.sg

TBL,
This is another article for you.

http://www.thenewparentsguide.com/baby-teething.htm

Thks for sharing.I'm trying to avoid giving pacifier to Aaron though.

Rochelle,
Thks for info. Looks like your boy is at good size since birth.

Jen,
Aaron also overdue for about 5 days but not as fast as Jean leh.

ARMPIT TEMPERATURE
-------------------
Anyone can advise the accuracy of taking temperature from armpit?What is the accuracy hah?I thought being told before that we need to add 1 degree celcius to the temperature taken,not too sure leh ... can anyone advise? Tks in advance.

YYP, Maple_leaf,
thks a lot on the articles.

chiart,
If Javier is struggling with the new teat then may be the flow is too fast. U may want to consider to change back to S else may choke him. How much is he drinking and how long he takes to finish it? Natalie drink abt 120ml per feed and finish within 15 to 20mins. I think shld be ok.

tbl, my mum told me that i had teeth when i was born oredi... but i dun really believe her... hehe...

chiart, what teats are u using? i think it's normal cos bb dunno u used bigger teat and will choke when first suck... u have to control the milk flow by not tilting the bottle too much... after bb used to it then tilt more is ok...

maple leaf... dunno leh... maybe it's becos i'm a not experience mum so anyhow carry her when young... dun really know/remember to support her neck when she just 1 or 2 weeks... so her muscles had to "strengthen" faster to adapt to me? hehe... but then hor, my hubby say acherly bb's neck is not as weak as we think... cos he saw gynae use vacuum to pull bb out... like pull very hard, not scared neck break... :p

as for armpit temp, i'm not too sure... but 1 deg is too much lah...

"Underarm readings register one or two degrees lower than internal readings, so make the adjustment upwards."

"Normal axillary temperature ranges from 36.5 to 37.2 degrees Celsius* (97.6 to 99.4 degrees Fahrenheit*)."

Jen,
So you 'wu ta wu zhuang' & it becomes good training for Jean ... haha....

Yesterday PD say can let Aaron sit up without supporting his head, I tried and he can hold his head quite steady but sumtimes he just love to look down and not using strength to hold his head. Not sure whether he's not so confident yet or just being lazy leh ... haha ...

Rochelle,
Thks for the info.!

But very funny leh, I took Aaron axillary temp. and it reads 36.6 degrees celsius so if I were to add another 1 or 2 degrees, then he's actually having fever but when I touch him, it doesn't feel like he's having a fever leh. Hmmm ..... dunno whether is there sumthing wrong with the themometer.

Maple,

baby temperature about 37.7deg than need to worry. they have higher temp than us. my boy's reading was 36.4 yesterday so he sail through 2 days without fever after the jab
we took his reading with 3 diff digital thermometers and they have the same reading. we got 3 at home so just trying all of them out on baby.

HI,
Thks for the concern..
Actually Chloe's kidney's swollen abit only, it's been discovered with ultrasound at 9th month, near to my Due Date.

After that we went back to the same PD to check every month, and he says it's actually getting smaller, although we don't even know wht reason makes it swollen and wht makes it better... so I'll just hope tht it will be gone when we go down to check this weekend....

<font color="0000ff">Teats</font>
Using Nuk's teats, I have recently upgraded to Medium Flow size too, and also used a teats-needle (or whtever they call it :p ) to poke a bigger hole in the "slow flow" teats... I'm using latex teats too currently, cause Chloe seems to prefer that .. for now...(she always change preference one lor)

May I ask how often should we throw away current teats, cause I heard latex teats should be changed more often...

Rochelle,
I manage to find another thermometer which we use last time and tried on Aaron. Both reading is the same. So I guess nothing to do with the themometer ... heehee ....

Thks for info. Actually why I worry was cause the nurse @ the clinic told me that 37.2 deg will be considered as fever liao ... so kanna confuse also. Aaron is also fine so far but yesterday he was a bit more sleepy. Does ur boy happen to feel that too on the 1st day aft. jab?

Duffy,
Looks like Chloe's condition keep improving since it seems to be getting smaller liao. I'm sure we'll get good news on Sat.

duffy, i tot nuk teats are std? middle flow is for milk and slow flow is for thin liquids like water? i only know the diff is pink (0-3 mth?) and blue (3-6mth?)? can't rem... paiseh...

<font color="ff0000">Jen</font>
huh, got pink and blue one ah.... ahyoh, so blur I never see leh
I must go check out

Anyone knows where I can buy infant books for my baby to see? The ones I saw at robinsons cost $25++ per book ... wah quite ex leh, thinking tht cannot be read too many times.....

Do u all know why some need to use the bumbo chair huh? Is it good for baby?

duffy,
i brought lamaze soft book, cost abt $17+. actually u can use bright colour books and read out loud to bb, with diff tones or even languages.

bumbo chair,
for me i think it's cute for bb to sit in lor. I let natalie tried and she likes it very much (well, she almost like EVERYTHING whenever i let her try something). so i just buy for her lor.
anyway i buy 2nd hand one.

<font color="ff0000">TBL</font>
Thanks, may I know where to buy lamaze's books? Ahyoh, think it's time to buy more new things for Chloe, cause she's getting bored!

Dear all mummies..

sorry have been busy for my company mth end close, so not able to login to read the threads..

wow..seems most babies going for the jab, think my girl will be the last to take the jab.

My girl is just 9 weeks plus, should I try to let her rest on tummuy..i not sure if she can lift her head yet...but i have tried to carry her striaght instead of lie down, and she seems enjoy cos she can see more of the surrondings.

I am quite worrie abt the weight. Is it true that during the 3rd mth, she has to be twice the weight at times when she is born? cos i tried to weigh her yesterday and she is only 4.8kg, she is 3.32kg when she is born. Hope my weighing scale has problem.

Taling about teat, when will i knw that i have to change her teat? Btw anyone using Avent bottles here?

girl, I'm using avent bottles... Jean (11 weeks) is on No 2... thinking of using No 3 for her soon... No1 is for 0+mth, No2 is 1+mth, No3 is 3+mth... if u find that she suck until very tired then halfway stop, maybe can try changing...

duffy,
i bought the lamaze book from motherworks @ great world city. Thinking to buy more for Natalie too.

girl,
dun worry. when natalie (birth wt 3.25kg) is 9wks old, her wt is 4kg+ too. Now @wk12 she is abt 6kg alr.
may be u check wif PD nxt time. meanwhile I think as long as she sleeps &amp; drinks well, u shldn't be worry too much.

avent bottle
I used avent for natalie since she is born and she seemed ok for the 1st few wks. Later dunno why she rejected lei. Changed the teats she oso dun want, so i changed to pigeon instead.

<font color="0000ff">Avent</font>
I've abt 7 Avent bottles when Chloe rejected it in her 2nd month, now I'm using Nuk latex teats, she seems ok, cross fingers she don reject again..

duffy,
same question as yuru, NUK teat can fit into Avent bootles?? I got 6 Avent bottles!! natalie oso reject in her 2nd mth! If nuk teat can fit hor, then i will let natalie try.

NUK teats can fit into Pigeon bottles but not Avent bottles. I tried already becos I got 4 hand-me-downs Avent bottles. ended up buying 4 small Nuk bottles and 6 big ones becos baby consistently prefer NUK teats. I am using the silicone ones as the latex ones dont last as well.