(2004/12) Year 2004 December Mummies

booties and mittens,

my baby didnt wear booties since he is born and he stop wearing mittens last week so that he can learn to hold/grap things.

welcome <font color="ff0000">wendypooh</font>!

<font color="0000ff">rochelle</font>,
I pay only $270 for the 3 doses of 5-in-1 jab. Why do you say your PD is cheaper?

Seems like my GP is cheaper than polyclinic also.

<font color="aa00aa">girl</font>,

Milk Intake
If your gal is satisfied after feeding, she is likely to be getting enough. Shermyn cried one day after she took 120ml seeming to want more. I gave her another 30ml and true enough, she finished it all. That was when I started increasing her milk intake.

Nite Feed
I think our bbs can sleep longer through the nite now. Shermyn sleeps for about 4 to 6 hours in between feeds at nite.

Mittens and Booties
I only put on Shermyn's mittens when she starts rubbing her eyes/face/nose to prevent her from scratching them too hard. They are learning to explore now so it will be good to let them go mittens-free so that they can touch and feel things as well as the inevitable sucking of fingers!

Finger sucking is not entirely bad. It is their way of soothing themselves. Shermyn was so funny yesterday .. she was hungry and while waiting for the milk, she put all 10 fingers into her mouth and suck so satisfactorily (if there's such a word).

As for booties, I only let her wear when the weather gets cold. This is my mum's advice, she says that bbs might catch a cold easily if we don't protect their feet when cold. Same analogy as us having to wear bedroom slippers during our confinement to keep our feet warm amd not let wind get into our body.

hi seagal..

hmm...do you think i shd increase her milk intake, cos just now mu hubby accidentally make 100ml almost to 110ml of milk, and she almost finish all....so i am thinking to increase to 100ml now, maybe i shd try later...

as for mittens and booties, i think i gradually have to let her go mittens and botties free just like wat u said, they have to explore, but just worried they might scratch themselves, she just got a scratch during her bath last week.

Btw, my girl has alot of hair, so today then i realise that she has think scalp, something like "dandruff"..it worries mi, i wonder wat shd i do, i check iwth my colleague who niece aso has much hair, she claim that only when after 4 mths when my girl go for hair cut, then can apply olive oil onto the scalp for them to drop, now nothing we can do. Any mummies whose babies has the same experience? besides the think scalp is at the front top where we cannot press hard on it.

Girl,

I use baby oil on the scalp to get rid of the cradle crap (dandruff looking thing) when my baby is one month old. no harm to them

hi, Rochelle..

how u apply? U mean after bath, straight away apply the oil on it? do we need to scrap which i think we cannot do that rite...wat the casue of it?..it really worry me.

After apply the oil, we just leave it to dry ? kindly teach me...

<font color="0000ff">rochelle</font>,
my GP charges $270 in total for 3 doses of the 5-in-1 jab. Your PD is cheaper ?

Looks like he is also cheaper than polyclinics.

<font color="ff0000">girl</font>,

like rochelle mentioned, the yellowish crusty patches are cradle cap.

Here's an excerpt on cradle cap from babycentre.com for your information:

What is cradle cap?
Cradle cap looks like a very bad case of dandruff. Also called seborrhoeic dermatitis, it shows up as reddish patches on your newborn's scalp, but can also appear on the face and around the nappy area. It can also occur in older babies. Although the condition can look unsightly, it's very common and nothing to worry about.

What causes it?
It's thought to be a result of hormonal changes which stimulate secretions from the oil glands in the skin.

How long does it last?
It usually disappears on its own within a few months of birth, but can persist or recur in patches for longer.

Can it be treated?
One strategy to gently remove the scales is to rub a mild baby oil into your baby's scalp and then sponge off the flakes. Wash with a special hypoallergenic shampoo such as Infaderm. Some doctors recommend leaving the shampoo on your child's head for about 20 minutes (which can be tricky) and then massaging the scalp with a soft baby toothbrush. Cradle cap will eventually go away on its own, but talk to your health visitor if the condition persists, worsens, or spreads to the face or neck.

\

girl,

I rub alittle baby oil about an hour before his bath and then just bath him as normal. its not a fast method but it is painless for baby and much faster than letting it disappear by itself.

hi, seagal and rochelle..

thanks so much for your informations and advise.

I will try apply alittle baby johnson baby oil on her scalp, then bath her after an hr...sorrie, another question to ask, is it just use our hand to smooth thru the hair, just like how we apply the hair shampoo during bath?

btw which baby oil shd i use? any gd recommendations, cos my girl skin is quite sensitive...kindly advise.

lately my boy has been quite cranky before milk time. according to my MIL, she say maybe due to baby dislike smell of that brand of milk.
and she ask me to change milk powder brand.
but i dun think is the brand problem since my boy has been drinking since Day 1 in the world.

mngo,

mine is also cranky before meal time and wants to be carried for awhile before he drinks. dont think its the milk fault, probably a phase they are going through

hi wendypooh,
nice to 'see' u her, welcome!!

mngo,
oh, u alr gone back yr shape! that's very good.
hehe, so u paiseh to let ur MIL look after. I misunderstand lah! tot every mum like me after birth 'fei fei' :p

just share wif u Natalie is teething now. Found her very first teeth at her right gum, seems like just break through.

Mummy : Baby : Baby's DOB
<table border=1><tr><td> ----------------------</TD><TD> ----------------------</TD><TD> ---------------------- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yu</TD><TD> elicia</TD><TD> 05 Nov </TD></TR><TR><TD>bibip</TD><TD> tara</TD><TD> 11 Nov </TD></TR><TR><TD>Thanks</TD><TD> Xavier</TD><TD> 26 Nov </TD></TR><TR><TD>duffy </TD><TD> chloe </TD><TD> 29 Nov </TD></TR><TR><TD>Maple_Leaf</TD><TD>Aaron</TD><TD>30 Nov </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rochelle</TD><TD> boy</TD><TD> 01 Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>TBL</TD><TD> Natalie</TD><TD> 02 Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>chiart</TD><TD> Javier </TD><TD> 03 Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>seagal</TD><TD>Shermyn</TD><TD> 06 Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>YYP</TD><TD>JinJin</TD><TD> 06 Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>mngo</TD><TD>Declan Isaac</TD><TD> 10th Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jen</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>11 Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>LH</TD><TD> Joseph</TD><TD>24 Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>wendypooh</TD><TD>Nicole</TD><TD>24 Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>GIRL</TD><TD> girl</TD><TD> 26th Dec</td></tr></table>

<font color="0000ff">Shichida Method</font>
I have gone for the preview for the Shichida Method; so far feel quite ok with it.
Much of the emphasis is on how successful the method has been, and the children who have benefited from it.
Not much have been said abt wht's happening in the actual classes, but from the pictures in the newspaper clipping, I see they uses flashcards in both pictures and words, which I like, comparing to Glenn Doman which seems to consist only of words...

Anyway, I have enrolled in the July in-take of waiting list, most likely will go for it...

<font color="ff0000">seagal</font>
I have went for some yoga classes, although it doesn't helps slimming much, but I quite like the gentle stretching and pulling of fats haha, Am thinking of go jogging in the eve, but so far haven't get my butt up, ahyoh, think too lazy lor..

<font color="ff0000">wendy</font>
Welcome ahh, xmas bb!

<font color="ff0000">Girl</font>
You can try let yr baby take 120ml and see if she can finish once in awhile, if she can, than she's ready lor... but continue monitor lor, if she couldn't for the next few feeds, than no point liao....

I stopped letting my girl wear botties unless she's going out and also unless at night.
As for mittens I'll let her wear at night and when I haven't had time to cut her nails short yet.
My baby now started to explore her milk bottle liao, I'm waiting to see when she can hold it haha, lazy mummy

<font color="ff0000">mngo</font>
My girl had a phrase where she's really cranky when comes to feeding, later we realize from the GP that she's having wind. So with the Wind drop every feed, my girl is better now. You might wanna monitor to see if it's wind in he's tummy.

<font color="ff0000">TBL</font>
So fast teething ah... I didn't know, normally wht's the average time to grow teeth huh? And wht should we do to make them feel better?

thank for the welcome.
my EDD was actually 22 Dec but Nicole choose to be late by 2 day so Christmas Eve baby

I will be going back to work on 1 Mar sob...

anyone baby taking Enfalac?

duffy,
i checked with some of my friends, and their babies had the cranky milk refusing phase. anyway i will also to resort wind drop as well

duffy,
Last nite just check the website, most sites mentioned avg teething time shld be ard 5th~6th month. My bb-sitter mentioned some bb will teeth earlier, which is on 4th mth or so, but dunno why natalie is super-fast! Good &amp; bad lah, coz she very cranky lei. Keep drooling and still dunno how to insert the teether in her mouth which supposed to ease the discomfort.

duffy,
let us know yr comments after u attend the shichida's course.

booties &amp; mittens
stopped letting natalie wear since she is 8wks-old. But still let her wear at nite n when going out. When she is older I will let her wear socks coz we sleep in aircon room, very cold...

mngo,
I didnt manage to get any wraps. coz c-section and got to wait for 1mth, by then my mum went back n I took care of natalie alone. so 'bo bian' I called to cancel the appointment.

GIRL
Last time my gal also have those white white thing on her scalp, My mum told me that that white white thing is to protect our baby skull coz still their skull very soft, it will automaticlly have it. Now my gal turning 4 mths soon, still have some. Is normal...

My massage lady also naini leh, ahyoh, but my stubborn fats didn't go away much...

I have commented the Shichida Program in the post above... u scroll up and see...

<font color="0000ff">Aircon</font>
May I ask those who let their baby sleep in ari-con room, wht degree did u set to?

<font color="0000ff">Milk Powder</font>
Another question is hor, recently my hubby keep telling me that the milk intake are calculated not by the water we pour in according to the instruction, but instead it's the amount tht is shown on the bottle after the milk powder is mixed...
I mean do u all consider yr baby drinking 120ml, when u put 120ml of water in and than mix in the milk powder. OR do u consider u feed baby 150ml, in which 120ml water + milk powder will add up to 150ml....??
hmmm.. u guys understand wht I trying to ask?

hi ladies...

Re: aircon, hubby and i set to 23 deg... that's becos our room is big and the corner where Jean sleeps is very far from the aircon... think her corner is around 25 deg...

Re: milk (water vs milk), i use EBM so will pour the amount required... so i will actually assume that amount drinking is water + milk powder add up to 150ml so bb drinking 150ml...

Jean's quite naughty last night at 11.30pm... gave her 150ml EBM she only took 90ml then zzz, refuse to wake up... after we throw away sterilize, prep to zzz, she wake up and cry for MILK!!! damn... had to latch her to zzz... hiaz... waste my EBM...

Re: swimming
Is it safe to bring Jean to swim now she's only 11 weeks? I bought the swimming diapers leow... but there's no swimming costume to fit her leh... what should i wear the top for her? and she can't sit properly by herself yet... so worried it's not safe? please advice...

aircon
i set to 24degree. but let natalie wear bootie coz worry it's too cold for her.

milk powder
i put 120ml of water + milk powder = ~140ml. after she finished will use 140ml to minus watever is left. if left 20ml then i consider she drinks 120ml.

duffy,
for shichida, i mean after u attended the course (July right?) then let us know whether the course is good or not.

<font color="0000ff">MIlk Powder</font>
Rochelle and Mngo, I have the same thoughts as u, I would calculate as the amt of water put in, cause it would be the same instruction in other milk powder and also as stated in those books, right?
TBL and Jen, u guys have the same thoughts as my hubby, haha, he also think should calculate as after the milk powder is put in..... ahyoh.... so confusing... :p

Thanks for the info for Air-con!

sorry har, blur ah! OK ! me sure will feedback on the course!

<font color="ff0000">Jen</font>
You so cute, your baby wanna bully u abit mah, heehee
Not too sure abt swimming, I guess it depends on yr confident level lor... if u also scare scare than the baby sure don feel save one.
Like YYP says, everywhere also got danger, so just see if u comfy to start exposing her to those place yet...

For me I really don't mind, as long as the I have confident in the swimming pool I'm gonna bring my girl to, meaning I might see when's the day tht's fewer ppl and all equipment ready and close to me hahaa, but hoor, think my hubby sure say cannot scared scared one lor.... hubby always like tht one..

MAKING FORMULA MILK

Oh dear, I have been giving Shermyn insufficient water in her formula milk. I didn't know we have to use the exact amount of water. What I do is for e.g. if I want to make 120ml, I will pour in 1/4 hot water (30ml), put in the milk powder, then top up with remaining cooled boiled water to 120ml.

One qn though ... if we put in 120ml of water first, the water will be at around room temperature ... can milk powder dissolve at this temperature ?

seagal,

I put 80ml of room temperature water and 40ml of hot water so it would be 120ml of warm water. the water temperature should be about 45deg for the milk powder to dissolve well. if it is hot water, the nutrients in the milk would be lost.

<font color="ff0000">seagal</font>
Similac seems to be ok with room temperature water... although i need to "shake" the bottle abit after each scoop before it reach the bottom.

Wht I do is put cool boiled water first, than mix in hot water, test the temperature on my wrist... than put in milk powder...

Is tht wht the others are doing?

I normally put 50ml of hotwater, then 70ml of cool-boiled water, test temp on my hand then add milk powder. I noticed my girl will somehow refuse to drink if milk is too cold.

hihi, rochelle... have u let ur boy "swim" yet?
sorry couldn't meet up wif u on saturday... so how did the party go?

as for milk, i always put 60 ml hot water and 60 ml room temperature water and scoop the powder..then it will add up to 120 ml....
i guess this is the correct method?
hi anyone bringing their baby to the pool? i am worried about bringing him to the pool...any suggestions?

Posing pictures for Jen.
Last week's Ryan's b'day party pictures ..celebrations PArt 1..part 2..will be on the same link..will post in 2 week time coz having 2nd party in HK.
http://pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/dominiquegoh/album?.dir=fabb&amp;.src=ph&amp;store=&amp;prodid=&amp;.done=http%3a//pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph//my_photos

<font color="0000ff">BB going swimming</font>
Can put the bb in the float ..or slowly introduce bb to the water with u holding the bb upright.. put the leg in slowly then other part of the body...always maintain the head above the water level.
Can use dispoable swim diapers or washable ones under the swim suit. Dispoable can be bought from carefour/cold storage under the brang Huggies Swimmers.. Washable- at Mothercare, Mum &amp; babes/mothercare- there is a brand called Kooshies..can take a look.

Jen / Chiart,

I posted a picture of JinJin in the pool on 24 Feb 2005. She's been "swimming" everyday, except today because of the downpour.

JinJin wears a shirt and her swim diapers when we take her swimming. She can't sit up by herself yet, so we put her in a trainer seat with a headrest. We also hold her and move around the shallow end of the pool (the water comes up to just below my shoulders). We spend about 30 mins in the pool each time.

I read on the net that getting the baby used to having water on his/her face is the first step to teaching the baby to swim underwater. To get JinJin used to having water on her face, I splash water at her when we're in the pool. Also, before we add soap to her bath-water, we will pour some water down her face. The first time we did it, she cried, but she doesn't anymore. I'll have to find out more before I have the courage to put her face underwater. Can anyone share with us on how we go about doing that?

5-IN-1 JABS

JinJin is due for her jabs soon. I know it's substantially cheaper to do the 5-in-1 jabs at a polyclinic, but polyclinics tend to be more crowded than other clinics (therefore more germs). The risk of the baby catching something at a polyclinic is probably higher than at a paediatrician's clinic.

Since birth, she's been seeing Dr Ang Poon Liat of the Paediatric Centre at TMC. Dr Ang is charging $82 per jab (i.e. $246 for 3 jabs). In addition, his consultation fees of $45 will be payable for each visit (i.e. $135 for 3 visits). In total, we'll have to pay $381. Is that reasonable?

yyp, thanx for the info on what to wear on the top... jus worried she might catch a cold without proper thermal wear... i oredi bought the huggies swimming diapers and even a tiny swimsuit (later found out the swimsuit was for 3-4 years old... duh...
) but still dun really dare to let her go try in the pool... Jean cries when washing her hair but when she sits in the tub and we splash water on her body using scoop, she seems happy even when some small droplets splash on her face...

ruffy, thanx for the link!! sorry, couldn't rush over in time... was stuck at my parents' place way way west of sg... and hubby was working... will check out ur link tmrw in the office cos pc there is faster...

mngo,

my baby is also going for the 6 in 1 jab. he is going for his 3mth jab tomorrow. hopefully no fever. my mum said me and my brother made it through all the jabs without fever.

hi all mummies..

wow miss so much informaitons just 2 days..

I think i have to wait till my girl's 4 mths after she shave her hair, then i will apply some oil on her hair so that so called"dandruff" will drop...

Btw talking about making milk, it seems most of the babies here are taking 120ml, my girl still taking 90ml, at times also cannot finish, is it too little? Wanted to increase but at times she even cannot finish her 90ml, she now about 8 weeks, is it okie?

I also make the water till 90ml, then add milk powder.

As for aircon, many pple say dun let babies sleep too much aircon, what your think? But my girl scare hot, so if dun put aircon, she will sweat and dun sleep long. But is also not good to fix the fan at babies rite...hmmm..wat shall we do??

girl,

dont worry, just feed your girl whenever she is hungry. maybe she does not like the feeling of being too full so she prefer 90ml to 120ml at each feed.

if you let your girl sleep in aircon then u have to make sure ur aircon filters are kept clean as aircon traps dust. I use a fan and the fan is not directed at baby, just to cool the room and keep the air circulating well.

hi, rochelle,

thanks, maybe you are rite...but i just worry why she drink so less as compare to all the babies here.

so u did not let your baby sleep in aircon loh...which i think is also better without aircon, but if so, every morni, her hair at the back will be slightly sweat.

Hi, Jen,

ur baby is very cute, so she is coming to 3 mths liao lah..and she can lift her head huh.....i am so loooking forward for my baby girl to lift her head too.....

i wasn wondering whether i should bring my baby boy to public pool? which pool did u gals bring your baby to? i heard it is better for babies to finish with their jabs before bringing them to the pool...so i was confused...
my baby is taking the 6 in 1 jab....i paid $400 for this including consultations and all...i went to Kids Clinic in sengkang...

as for baby sleeping in aircon, i also put my baby to sleep in aircon as the weather is too hot and unbearable for him...i think should be ok so long the temperature is not too low...
sometimes i would just on the fan but not blowing at him directly to cool the room...

girl, acherly my gal could lift her head up quite early... even when she was less than 1 month, we oredi let her sleep on tummy throughout the night as her neck was strong enuff to turn away herself if she could not breathe... just that recently she lifted her head really high and we decided to capture the moment...

as for aircon, the logic to me is hospitals are aircon, so there is no harm letting bb sleep in aircon as long as ur room is clean and not overall too dusty... bb has to get used to dust sooner or later... the more u protect, the more sensitive they become... like old folks say "la sap jia, la sap dua"... (dirty eat, dirty grow up)...

Ahyah, if I know it will be so useful, I'll take the 8 session and herbal toooo, <<cry>> too late!

<font color="ff0000">Ruffybear, Jen </font>
I like the toy box! where did u buy it huh?
BUt hor, sorry hooor, pardon me, I very blur leh, which one is Ryan and which one is Jen's girl :p