(2004/12) Year 2004 December Mummies

mommies,
tomorrow my girlfriends n me n cellin r planning to go to JB, by public transportation, not far, just the mal in front of immigration,
is it safe?

advise please...

Jen...ya lor...still doing up 2006 album & these pixs sure tempting to organise gathering #5. Jus FYI...there's no gathering this year 2007 yet....

Carnellin....be more careful lor....seen in d papers, ppl seems very hiong....

LL,
wah..nostalgia...grab tissue...our darlings were so tiny!
gathering? yalor..we haven had our annual september gathering..
guess all too busy.. this thread is in hibernation mode.
so december seems like the possible time.

carnellin,
wah..u so gung-ho.
I have not gone into JB for quite awhile.
have been strongly advised against doing it recently. especially by those who frequent JB and even my malaysian friends. Its getting to be quite a migrant town...
Maybe others have a different opinion?

carnellin,
wow... JB.. i also wldnt go there.. even by private car.. :S everytime i ask my hb wanna go there for a drive.. he will ask if i wanna be on Straits Times Front Page..
Do be careful when u r there..

carnellin,

i advise you not to go too. like lach, even my msian colleague is avoiding going in. but we will be driving in nov all the way to clubmed cherating. will only stop at hotel for breaks

thank u all, i also call my friend, she said better go when there is hubby.. so i decided to cancel, but my girl friend still insist on going, so me and cellin ended up in john little mega sale (so worthed it)
after we see cellin's dad departed (business trip again
) we went to expo...

if i have a car i will shop A LOT there..

joann,
diapers,baby's bottle is a lot cheaper start from 2$, baby shoes and toddlers also, chocolates, toilettries,
vitamins
prob almost everything...

first day of school

my boy now attends 2 afternoons of nursery school. he cried and ran for the door the first day so school asked me to bring him home after 1 hr. on the 2nd time, he cried whenever another kid cry so again the school ask me to bring him home after 1 hr. I was so angry that the school asked me to bring him home the 2nd day just for crying. told the school admin that its not the correct way to get a child to adapt since my boy would be too happy to cry to be able to go home.

the school "promised" that it would be a better situation next week. if they make my boy go home early again next week (3rd time) than I would seriously have to consider letting him go to another school

did any of your children get sent home? my mum said I cried like crazy but the teachers just calm all the crying kids down, after one week all kids stop crying. my hubby also said he cried the first time attend kindergarten. so dont know why this nursery school does that. we saw the older kids in the school all quite happy to go school so overall the school is okay. only his ang moh teacher has no patience with crying kids.

rocehelle
josh attended nursey n cried for almost a mth everyday.. each time i left him.. he wld wail n cling on to me.. the teachers told me to hand him over n jus walk out.. it was heartbreaking to walk out on yr child crying for u.. i told the teachers o call me if he cannot stop cryin but they neva called me.. after 1mth of the cring routine.. josh is perfectly settled in sch.. Now he will say" bye mummy see u later.." :p
its impt for teh teachers to be very patient when the kids cry..

ep,

thats whay I told the school. if he gets to go home early than he wont stop crying. the 5day class teachers are better in that they will take over fromt the parents and calm the children down. but for his class, its a 2 day program so his teacher also bo chap. expect parents to calm the child down until she needs to close classroom door than take over from the parents.

my friend's children school in SG also never call them. just let the child adjust. dont know why in USA they assume all mums can drive and got their own cars. so no problem picking up the kids anytime.

3rd day of school,

today got my hubby to walk my boy into the classroom while I stayed outside. the teacher assistant did not offer to take over looking after my boy eventhough we are suppose to "hand" our boy over to her. same attitude as last thurs so we kind of expected it. then she ask me if my boy is the youngest child. told her that he is the eldest child and the teacher assistant immediately took over my boy from my hubby (unfortunately comfirming my suspicions that the teacher and assistant was lazy)

good thing was that after showing my tired sulky face to the teacher and assistant, no one dared to call me to pick my boy up from school.

the better thing was my boy enjoyed his 3rd day at school eventhough he still did not like his teacher. when we left him with the teacher assistant, he was crying with no tears, just his complain crying. also he told us he enjoyed the storytime and the playtime at school. he said the teacher didnt give him his snacks but that is not impt to us.

rochelle,
consider transfering him to another school?...
at cellin's old school, well i kind a 'forced' her until about a month she settled there (no more crying or looking for me)... but in the end i regret my decision... after term 2 (not yet finished) and incident that cellin fell and bleed, and the teacher (that we both dislike) keep talking (quite loud, while cellin;s is crying) it is cellin's FAULT!.. she did not help to calm her or taking care her bleeding but keep telling me I should've have told my daughter to sit still (I'm not even in the classroom)...

now cellin move to another school, yes a bit far from the old one and cost more, but the teachers are so compasionate, passion.. firm but yet gentle. when my gal cry (she cry almost a week there) not even once they scolded at her,and they always calm me too, saying, its okay, she will be okay, no worries. i saw with my own eye the teacher put her on her lap (yes she kep crying loud) and rub her back gently, and she calm down.. she began trusting them, and now DAILY i can she her improving so much in talking, learning new stuff.

i know moving kids to another school can be more 'homework' for us parents (and sometime money and effort) but for me it is worthed... she really happy and improving a lot in her new school...

in the end if your heart doesn't feel peace with ur child at that school, please do consider another school..

carnellin,

for here, all the better schools are booked until next year. the waitlist starts one year ahead. so only the not good schools have vacancies. so even if I want to change schools, I would not be able to do so until next september.

also money wise, we cannot move to another school because we are not poor enough to go to a govt subsidised school and not rich enough to afford 2 boys school fees in a better school. paying the school fees for this school already means no money at the end of the month. next september have to use hong bao money from parents to pay for both boys school fees. my boys are 12 mths apart.

also his class teachers are lazy but not incapable. and my boy is the kind that is very "yim chim" and "kua sai" (will react according to how people treat them). today is his 4th day and he did not bother to cry once my hubby brought him to class because he know my hubby have to leave for office. so today he was very happy in school. he today also say that he enjoyed school even though he still dont fancy his teacher. but he is willing to let the teacher assistant bring him to his seat. his teacher and assistant are also very responsible to the children and are watchful when bringing them to playground or to toilet. my boys have been pretend crying since 4mths old. even the paed also know their pattern :p

my 2 boys fall and bleed a few times at home. maybe because me and hubby fall alot when children while playing, we not v worried about that.

also we are the kind of parents that believe that the world out there is not that nice so better for kids to learn early that not all teachers like kids than suffer when they go public school at age 5. here they start public school at age 5 instead of 6.

Hei mommies...i'm so amaze...my steffi knows how to blow her nose...kekekek...find it very amusing. U mommies must be thinking dat i'm mad....

rochelle,
well i see, heehee so funny when u say ur boys can pretend crying since 4 months... just curious thou, are the teachers chinese or ang mo :p??

LL,
really??? can steffi teach cellin? its very usefull during runny nose...

carnellin,

his form teacher is ang moh, those strict mother kind. thats why I say good for my boys eventhough she dont like crying kids. his teacher assistant is an indian. she is the I just do my job kind.

here alot of childcare teachers are mexicans or filipinos or vietnanese. the more expensive ones will have ang mohs mixed with chinese and indians.

my boys are the kind will make crying sound, than peep to see if anyone notice, than if no one bother will stop. but if they hurt themselves, its the wailing sound with lots of tears and pointing to where it hurts.

Carnellin....kekeke, I only discovered by chance....Stef was having running nose, then I told her, can u blow your nose....then...wa...la.....she BLEW...I almost fell off laughing.

LL, Carnellin,

my younger boy is v good at blowing his nose. probably because he likes the sound it makes :p

my older boy can blow his nose but he needs us to prompt him to do so.

blow nose

is it blow themselves or we help cover one side and then the other ?? funny this topic come up

birthday/xmas party?? are we doing one this yr ??

rochelle, LL,
cellin still can not blow her own nose during runny nose, but if she's fine she can do it... but she dislike the mess of muscus (well who didnt)..

laptop broke down and need repair,
anyone know any service that willing to come at my home, to lazy to bring it... and now can only log in when hubby bring back his notebook

joann,
yeaahhhhh party... but this xmas I'm travelling to jakarta from 18-31 dec..

lachesiz,

will still cry and kick a fuss when we reach school, but he said he want to go to school again on the way home.

BLOW NOSE....jus tot of it, try asking your precious to hum...mmmmm....it wld kind of push the pressure to the nose...

B'day parties....wow, so fast, another year....getting a bit lazy liao...anyhow, I had oredi book NSRCC chalet in case I plan to hv a party for Steffi...

LL,
i wanted booked NSRCC for ger's party too!! but almost all fully booked leh.. except for 1 or 2 odd days here and there.. so still thinking if i should.. so which day have u taken? hehee..

<font color="119911">Howdy Everyone..... Juz for laughs.. have a g8 weekend ahead..

<font color="0000ff">THE HUSBAND STORE.</font>

A store that sells new husbands has just opened in New York City, where a woman may go to choose a husband. Among the instructions at the entrance is a description of how the store operates:

You may visit this store ONLY ONCE! There are six floors and the value of the products increase as the shopper ascends the flights. The shopper may choose any item from a particular floor, or may choose to go up to the next floor, but you cannot go back down except to exit the building!

So, a woman goes to the Husband Store to find a husband. On the first floor the sign on the door reads:

Floor 1 - These men Have Jobs.

She is intrigued, but continues to the second floor, where the sign reads:

Floor 2 - These men Have Jobs and Love Kids.

"That's nice", she thinks, "but I want more."

So she continues upward. The third floor sign reads:

Floor 3 - These men Have Jobs, Love Kids, and are Extremely Good Looking.

"Wow," she thinks, but feels compelled to keep going.

She goes to the fourth floor and the sign reads:

Floor 4 - These men Have Jobs, Love Kids, are Drop-dead Good Looking and Help With Housework.

"Oh, mercy me!" she exclaims, "I can hardly stand it!"

Still, she goes to the fifth floor and the sign reads:

Floor 5 - These men Have Jobs, Love Kids, are Drop-dead Gorgeous, Help with Housework, and Have a Strong Romantic Streak.

She is so tempted to stay, but she goes to the sixth floor, where the sign reads:

Floor 6 - You are visitor 31,456,012 to this floor. There are no men on this floor. This floor exists solely as proof that women are impossible to please. Thank you for shopping at the Husband Store.

<font color="ff0000">PLEASE NOTE:

To avoid gender bias charges, the store's owner opened a New Wives store just across the street.

The first floor has wives that love sex.

The second floor has wives that love sex and have money.

The third, fourth, fifth and sixth floors have never been visited</font>

carnellin,

now my boy is happily running around in class and talking to other children at the playground. we see alot of improvement in him after he attended school in term of social skills.

only thing bad is he must still cry when entering the classroom but once his teacher take his hand to guide him to a seat, he stop crying. he also very happy showing off his school work to my hubby when we reach home.

LL and elmo,

I have not realise our darlings' birthdays are approaching SOON!!!
I guess i am in 'denial'.. dun wan her to grow up so soon so fast. :p

Rochelle....congratulations...ur boy made it.....

BIRTHDAYS....yup...yup...yup....they will be 3yrs old...so fast....

Hei mommies...NEW TOPIC....DURIANS....any precious here love it? My princess says itz "smelly"...so sad...I love it....

LL,

we v happy becos now he goes to class without crying and will even show off to us his school playground and classroom.

Durians,

here only got frozen durians. my older boy ate in SG before we move here and he doesnt mind it. my mum bought the angie's choice durian roll and he will just take a bite on the filling

just got back last week form Korea... soooooooooo niceee there.. i even almost cry on my way back to singapore, really dont want to come home..

durians,
cellin said its not a fruit..

rochelle,
seoul and sokcho. I really like it there, why? for me its like going to america without the crime rates heehee.. the weather in autumn so wonderful, like the food, like the people they really nice, even thou' language is a barrier for me but so far everything can be handled...

many sites to see and do, and everland is a place must go.. its disneyland minus the crowd.

recommended place: seoul (big city), sokcho to see mt seorak/ seoraksan and dip in to the hotspring, busan (2nd largest city), jeju-do do eat the oranges, its said to be the sweetest orange in the world.

carnellin,

when my family come to america for a visit, they fly home via korea. so thinking that 2008 or 2009 when they fly back, we can go with them and tour Korea in winter. Did you go with a tour group or u go free and easy. My parents has not since snow yet so v tempted to bring them to Korea or Europe for snow.

rochelle,
i'm going free and easy. if ur going on a tour, i guess wont face many language barrier since there's a guide or local guide.

snow, my sil told me ifu want to see snow best to come on january when the snow is abundantly
but the siberian wind are very very cold, i suggest chemical warmer for kids and older folks, especially in tummy area.

BABY YOPLAIT: I know many of you feed your babies this. If you have the following product, please discard immediately!

<u>Recall Of Baby Yoplait and Yoplait Eliva Yoghurt</u>

The National Foods Limited in Australia has announced an immediate voluntary recall of its Yoplait yoghurt products produced from two Yoplait yoghurt production lines as a result of possible metal contamination.

Following this announcement, the Agri-Food and Veterinary Authority (AVA) has advised the importers and retailers to recall all the products which may have been affected from the market immediately.

AVA advises the consumers who have bought the implicated products to discard the products and not consume them.

According to National Foods Ltd, the recall of the products is only a precautionary measure. There is no evidence at this stage that any product has been contaminated.

National Food Limited has notified our local importer that of the above, only the following product has been exported to Singapore :
Baby Yoplait Vanilla & Banana
Best before date: 11/11/2007
Pack of 4x100g

Full Letter here

HARLOW LOW LOW LOw Low low......

Where's everyone?
Busy partying?

QUESTION ON FORMULA MILK.

1) Do we change the kid's FM now that they are 3?
2) Any particular rec brand for 3yr old? R is still on Gain IQ.
3) Can we substitue FM with Fresh Milk?
4) How much FM are your kids drinking now?
5) R is still on the bottle 2x daily. So am I in purgartory for still allowing that?

i guess u must be bored to tears!

1) maybe to pediasure??
2) Ger is on Enfagrow..
3) should be ok..
4) Ger is still drinking more than 5x daily.. but every time is abt 120-180ml..
5)

shld be ok to stick to gain iq..
i sumtimes give josh pediasure /friso3 or fresh milk.
JOsh is on the bottel 3x a day.. morning noon n nite.
each bottle is 180-240ml. he is a fussy eater.. he prefers milk to solids..

Lac....LOL....tot wat happened.....hmmmm, Steffi's FM(Progress 3) stated from 1yr to 3yr, tot only to change wen she turns 4.....shld be... rite???

elmobbger.....same with Steffi, she drinks lots of round & each round wld only give her 150ml unless itz the early morning feed wic will give the 250ml.....

TV - something to share, find it humorous but REALLY REALLY RUDE & NAUGHTY......
Each morning wen Steffi opens her eyes....itz always the TV dat she wants to switch on. Everytime I wld say '"NO"....guessed what happened on Monday morning...same routine, I said "NO", she climbed down the bed, get the remote, pass 2her daddy...daddy (crying)....on the TV. Her daddy obliged & on it....the next thing, she went to her bed & SLEPT!!!!

1) Nope! Don't have to if the kid is happy with whatever milk now. The people at Abbotts told me Gain can be taken till whenever...

2) RY is still on Gain IQ alternate with Mamil Gold. No plans to change yet.

3) Yup! As long as kid is eating well... FM is fortified with thousand and one thing, fresh milk is... well... fresh...

4) 240ml 3 times daily (Interesting to note that RX is drinking this amount too!)

5) Nope! I personally will wait for RY to self wean from bottle. It is not something that gets on my nerves so will let it be...

Above answers provided by Dr KC Quack...

Lach
QUESTION ON FORMULA MILK.

1) Do we change the kid's FM now that they are 3?
Answer : I will change Grade after his birthday. Maybe change brand . see how. prob bring declan to the supermarket, ask him to pick and choose. if cant decide, then Tikam.

2) Any particular rec brand for 3yr old? R is still on Gain IQ.
Err..... i go for packaging.. hahaha

3) Can we substitue FM with Fresh Milk?
Yes u can. Fresh milk - Australia one hor.
Not those xxx brand with milk powder.

4) How much FM are your kids drinking now?
well.. siao siao one.
when my MIL not ard (by the way, she's here for holiday) , DI only requestd during school and before bed. Skipped morning and midnight feed. Morning he will eat bread.

Then the empress is BACK!! HE ask for it all the time!! FEDUP.

5) R is still on the bottle 2x daily. So am I in purgartory for still allowing that?

Answer : Well - i hope to wean declan off the bottle before he turns 5!
haha... cos i saw on TV, if he's tat big, and still on bottle, it means he has lack of security.

Now he is on doctor brown, think i want to change to another brand. this dr brown - high maintenance

Bottles....still prefer Steffi drinks fm the bottle, at least she will finish up before she stop...from cup - she gets distracted very easily....(truth - not messy lah)