(2004/06) June/July 2004 Babies

soyabean..thks for the info.. too bad.. :-(

avocado.. me!! oso alot of backaches..esp when doing the hsework.. last wkend while moping the floor simply breakdown and cry.. too tired and painful...

hi emily,
no prob w johnsons. all bb shd smell nice nice one..certainly wont make ur boy smell like a 'girl'. ur hubby so cute..
me personally allergy to johnsons pdts. it's likely the fragrance, my cousin happened to b allergy to johnsons too. so still tinking wat to buy for bb loh..

hi avocado,
hope u feeling beta. i tink it's the increased wt on the tummy n strain on the back, since now we're getting bigger day by day.
do watch ur sitting n standing posture esp if job requires u to sit/stand for long. mus find a comfi position n take break regularly.
dun do too much hsework n rest more..

xinle, wow, you're still mopping the floor? I'm only in early 2nd tri, and I dont even dare to do housework at all.

sanrio, I think there are some baby products in the market like shampoo/shower foams that are fragrance and soap free. V gentle and formulated for baby use only.

Berry.. haha.. if i dun do the whole hse will be duno like wat... but sometimes when I reali reali cannot dan i will call in the partime helper... :p

xinle, your hubby can help mah. For me, day-today housework is done by hubby, I got a part time cleaner to come in every alternate weeks to do rest of the cleaning.

berry... haizz.. u duno his schedule.. very busy with his job.. sometimes oni sees him in the morning b4 we go to work. Most of the time he works til very late.

Waaa... u so lucky... got hubby and partime cleaner to help... hee.. envy.....

xinle, I guess your hubby cant help because of his workload, not because he doesnt want. I'm sure he'll also do as much as he can if he can afford the time.

Hi soyabean, I'll try to see if I manage to get the March issue. Thot of buying them to keep.

Hi sanrio, that's what I thot lor. I afraid bb got sensitive skin like me and hubby.

Hi Emily, I haven thot of going to hospital tour leh.

Hi avocado, I don't have backaches (*touching wood*). So is the ache getting better now?

hi sanrio,
not really feeling beta...If the backache gets serious,I see whether can tak one week MC & rest at home...

thks fr. ur advices
Strangely,I don't feel my tummy is heavy. I oso don't do lots of hsework.I just felt sudden sharp pain at my back(the two sides behind my tummy) midnight.

I bot two packs of Kotex Maternity pads(20pcs each).My colleague said it is advisable to use Maternity pads,esp.for those who giving vaginal birth, becoz they r softer.

I plan to buy the Avent liquid talc becoz heard tat the powder one not very good for bb.

Hi Emily,
U can try to some simple exercises during the daytime,to help u to sleep beta. Once a while,I'll wake up midnight oso..esp.when I've stress from work. But I'll sleep beta when I go shopping....

Hi Soyabean,
my boy oso sometx active,sometx,cannot feel his movement the whole day....

Hi Xinle,
U can use Kao Magic Mop. It is very light & easy to use. My hubby uses magic mop to remove the dirt & dust first before he uses the normal mop to clean the floor.

Berry, ya i noe.. everytime he sees me starting to do cleaning he will ask me to stop and rest... let him do later... but his later can be like 1 wk later... hee... i understand he had tried his best nt blaming him... jus dat i cannot stand a messy hse.. hahaha... anyway its could be homos chgs these days i can cry and laugh easily... hahah

hi avocado, hee.. yes i use that when i am too tired to carry the vacumm cleaner ard...

I am starting to love and hate being pregnant... cant wait to see my baby comes out... but dan abit bu she de.. cos like the feeling of him moving inside my tummy....

i am so sian... today mc due to running nose for the whole at work yesterday, so hubby ask me to rest today.

hi sanrio
i am not sure, does bb need to wash hair? i thought bb does not have much hair, just use soap will do? i am using kodomo baby bath so will let bb use that too...

hi Xinle,

Aiyo,for goodness sake,please don't use vacuum cleaner becoz it is heavy (for preggie woman),& u need to bend a bit to do the suction & it is bad for ur back.

For me,I can't wait to see my bb comes out soon,considering all the tiredness,worries that I've now...

My hubby's cousin's son has cleft mouth,I very scare..hopefully,my bb is born healthy

Now I can't lie on the desk to hv a short rest during working hour becoz of my backache...

my hubby has to fetch me thru & flow to work everyday..He has to do most hseworks

I hvn't drank coffee/tea since I planned for preggie. I think I've forgotten how do coffee/tea taste
.No strength & time to do my fav exercises

With all these sacrifices, i wish my pregnancy over soon..but very fast lah..another 4mth..

Wonder anyone share the same view as me?

avocado, xinle...
well, though i hate being preggy at times, the water retention and cramps and all, i think i will miss being preggy after bb is born. i am a bit sad when i know i wldnt get to feel bb's movements in my tummy anymore.

hi joey,
i tink can jus lightly wash the head/hair area w mild bb bath n water. if bb has cradle cap, then may need bb oil n a little bb shampoo.

soyabean,
my oreadi mummy frds told me they do miss the tx wen their bb in the tummy. i tink on 1 hand i eagerly wait to c my bb but certainly will look/recall back the evy stage of pregnancy cos it's simply amazing..

giggler,
i tink can try the pigeon one 1st. if not suitable, like wat berry said, there are some fragrance/soap free mild bb wash available. will check it out wen i next go shop shop.

xinle,
mus take care. my hubby will help out w hsework but i noe he oso stressed n tired. so sometx he does not vy "complete" job in hsework, i oso tempted to redo but told myself take thgs easy for now esp..

berry,
i tot of asking part-tx help to come on alternate wkend too. can u pm me ur contact? tks. is she the filipino PR tat 1 mummy mentioned in another thread?

Hi avocado, xinle,
My hip/buttock area also have sharp pain every nite b4 i sleep. Sometimes, even when i walk, i cld feel the pain too. I ask gynae, he says mayb becos of my small build. How abt u? R u 2 petite size?

I also do most of the hsewk, hubby do help out too. Luckily my mum help out to clean my hse one a week, so i also not v "xin ku". But most of the time i treat it as exercise loh, but dun do tedious wk and rest whenever feel tired.

sanrio, my part time cleaner is a fillipino, but she is not taking anymore assigments cause I tried introducing a friend to her last week but she turned down. If she is open for more slots again, I'll inform you.

Hi avocado, how much did you pay for your Maternity pad?

Hi joey, take care of yourself.

Hi soyabean, I got the same feeling as you. I enjoy the feeling when bb kicks and moves in my tummy.

hi Kis,

Ya,I'm smaller build...i don't feel the pain when I walk.I feel the pain at lower back when I sit or lie on bed...

Actually,there's not much hsework if u r living on ur own. For us,we only do some cleaning over wkend. My hubby will mop the floor while i clean the table,bed frame,basin,etc...

My hubby is willing to do hsework but after that,he'll nag...

Sometx,I rather to b alone at hme so I'll "chase" him back to his parents hme.Why? becoz he'll clean here,clean there,wash here & there...very noisy...

I try to appreciate his efforts but I find him do things too thorough...

hi Giggler,

About $3 for 20pcs,i bot fr. NTUC. Seems Kotex is the only brand...

i've put on 5kg in week23..what abt u? Very fast,I'll b going fr. my detailed scan next fri..can see my bb again.

Biw,do u know roughly how much they charge for detailed scan?

berry,
tks.

hi avocado, kis n xinle,
those aches can b caused by our hormonal change resulting in ligaments/joints becum looser to accomodate the expansion req'd in pregnancy. can b due to increase demand for calcium too. so eat more calcium rich food n dun over-strained ur muscles. take regular breaks n hav sufficient rest. a little exercise (targeted for preg) to strengthen those muscles may help.

avocado,sanrio, hee.. i m those kind of 'lao lu ming' one.. avocado reali envy ur determination.. me nw sticking to one cup a day... but I try to make to coffee/tea very 'thin' heee..

soyabean, me too.. tink i will miss that too.

kris.. sob sob... i nt petite size.... wa~~~~~

sanrio, thks! will take ur advise take more calcium and rest :)

hi sanrio,

I asked the GP,she said the enlarged uterus stretch the muscle ard our back,so it causes backache...nothing to do with the bone leh..

I take calcium sup everyday. On top of that,I started taking HL milk recently & try to eat more cheese....

I'm surprise i've backache becoz I used to be an active person b4 preggie. I exercised a lot..swimming,aerobics..

I think it gotta wf the posture...I used to lie on the desk & rest,if I feel tired during office hour. Mayb shld start to do some simple exercises such as blisk walk..but really very tired during wkdays.

Hi avocado, my hubby diff fr. urs, mine, not thorough one, esp. sweeping, mopping floor. can't stand him, so nowsaday, i sweep floor. Btw, he also cant stand me, says i do hsewk v slow.

Hi sanrio, xinle, avocado,
mayb is the ligaments/joints loh. Ya, me take 500mg cal. supplement everyday and a glass of milk too. I also stopped taking coffee, but sometx v. tempting (cos hubby still drinks), and will drink abit.

Me initially planned for a cruise, but just discovered tat preg lady more than 24wks cannot go on board....so disappointed.

Kis, reali ah... 24wks cannot go aldy?? so fast?? hee..me tinking of going end of tis yr wif baby... but say say oni la.. duno by dan baby can go or not.. skali too smal... hahaha

hi Xinle,

one cup of coffee per day is still alright. For me,i've gastric so hv stayed away fr. coffee/tea few months b4 preggie.

I still drank a bit of those indian ginger tea during my 1st trimester. But stopped immediately when my heartburn & ms got serious...

hi kis,
Envy u all hv energy to go on tour or cruise.Me no mood & no energy to go anywhere. Feel like sleeping everyday..No matter how much I sleep,still not enuff.

hi xinle, ya, tot cruise is the safest travel for a short trip. who knows they so strict. So now have to think of other plcs or things for relaxation. Yah, better check abt bb's age before signing up any travel package too.

hi avocado, think i can still walk etc...but afraid my hip pain will become worst, so now quickly do all the shopping, touring etc...I also sleep late, and will wake up during the nite, so will feel tired n sleepy in office sometx.
Maybe u try shopping for bb things, then u will be more enthusiatic.

thanks <font color="ff6000">giggler</font>
oh, after i bought the maternity pad, my friend told me to buy the maternity pad with string... i think can just wear like a panty or what... i am not sure. she said easier to wear.

thanks <font color="0000ff">sanrio</font>
i guess i will buy the shampoo after bb has more hairs....

<font color="aa00aa">me find a bit difficult to catch up u gals leh... so fast!</font>

u know, donno why after seeing so many cute bbs, me abit worry that my bb is not as cute as them. well, i do understand that health is the most important and i myself don go for look but i just can't help to compare...

kis, xinle...
hmm... i didnt know abt the 24weeks cruise ruling... thanks for informing.. learnt something today.

joey...
i'm worse than u i tink... i even go to the extent of worrying whether bb has any facial defects... very scary...

hi soyabean n joey,
guess it's part of pregnancy process, i oso 1st mth worry tis, next mth worry tat. mus tell ourselves b positive n bb will b growing well

kis and xinle,
i tink not advisable to go cruise oso as preg women may b more prone to sea sickness.

avocado,
yup, antenatal class did mention it's vy impt to watch our posture if not will strain the muscles.

Hi Joey, yah. This thread is so fast that I've no time to post &amp; a topic is being discussed. I've the same worry. Seeing everybody's bb so cute, I wonder how mine will look like.

just found a spider, very interesting
51125.gif

hi <font color="0000ff">soyabean</font> &amp; <font color="ff6000">sanrio</font>
yeah, hope it is just part of pregnancy process... since this is my first pregnancy and all mothers i have come across always think their kids are the best looking and smartest...

hi <font color="119911">sue</font>
haha, finally found someone feel the same like me. i guess people here are very friendly, they welcome queries and very willing share.

Hi Joey, thks for sharing... heee.. my maternity top some nw quite tight aldy... tinking of getting mayb 1 or 2 more pc... hee... nw can go there see see... wow... jus nice.. starts today... heh heh....

hi <font color="ff6000">joey</font>
tks for info on mothercare sales.

dear mummies,
is it we shd buy nursing bra ard our 8mths? i read somewhere (but cant remb exactly) tat's the tx wen bra size quite fixed oreadi
51153.gif

Hi joey, I think those maternity pads come with loop to go round your hip one. I don't think those will give birth by caeseran can use that. Don't worry, your bb will be the cutest to you.

Hi soyabean, I got same worry as you. But lucky my gynae assured me that my bb got no cleft lips during my previous check-up. A great relief to hear that leh.

Hi sanrio, I not sure when shd buy nursing bra also. But I've already got 2 when I went Phuket during my 1st tri. Hopefully I can still wear them after birth.

Hi Berry, I still take folic acid. It's part of the vit in the multi-vit that I take everyday.

hi berry,
gynae said no need extra folic wen reach 5mth. the multi-vit i take (like wat giggler said) oreadi contain 1mg of folic. it's sufficient.

giggler n soyabean,
in tat case, mayb wen i 7mth (3rd trim) then go n buy the nursing bra.

hi val,
not easy to hit the 1200mg calcium target hoh, esp those who dun take diary or appetite still so so.
1 cup of anmum or enfamama is abt 600mg (i dun drk evyday thou). supplement i take is 250mg. so plus other food, mayb merely enough.
but i find calcium real impt, wen i make effort to increase intake, those aches/pain improve.

Sanrio,

I agree its not easy to hit the 1200mg. But becos of bb, I force myself to drink Anmum. 2 glasses a day. Each galss only 500mg so 2 x 500mg =1000mg plus 300mg calcium tablet.

But sometimes very lazy I onli take one glass of Anmum :p Then try to take yougurt lor. Not forgetting tat watever u intake ur body may not intake 100% oso leh.

Hi sanrio, I think don't need to buy nursing bras so early also. For me, it's cheaper to get in Thailand so I get a few lor.

Giggler,

Should have thought of tat when I was 6 wk preg when I went to Thailand. Goondu me!!! I somemore bought a few pre-preg cup size. All cannot wear. Who knows after gave birth it become bigger. From A - C. Hahaha.... How I wish :p

i'm now taking the bio calth on top of the ones given by the doc...one of my college's fren who's a doc, says bio calth is nearly 100% absorable by the body... but duno hw true... hee.. i jus eat lor.. anyway taste nt bad ..hahaha

saw on the label it says 300mg per pill, one day have to take 3 times. so tink shd be able to reach... IF i remember to take all the 3 times..hahaha

hi xinle
u r welcome

hi sanrio &amp; soyabean
i read article that the nursing bra should be bought after delivery... hope i didn't remember wrongly, u know my memory getting worse during pregnancy...

Hi Val, my cup size didn't incr much leh. Only one size, from A to B, that's all.

Hi xinle, 3 times a day is quite a lot leh.

Hi joey, I guess it's norm. I getting more absent-minded also.