(2004/06) June/July 2004 Babies

hi kis, foreverfiend, avocado, soyabean,
tks for ur sharing on rashes n tips. mine got worsened by pregnancy. gynae said i oreadi sensitve so plus hormonal change, no choice. apply calamine lotion or take medicine priton. i've seen a dermatologist, she said same thg. yes, both "simple" n "cetaphil" are mild cleanser w'out fragrance, suitable for sensitive skin. i guess medicine is best solution to the itch but for bb, i wont take it. i cut nails but oso scratch until skin tear, mus tie up my hands at nite liao...

me too breast area quite sensitive. if u develop rashes n pimples, it may b due to the richness n fragrance of the stretchmark cream we use. either apply vy minimal or use fragrance free normal moisturiser for breast area.
yup, for us who hav sensitive skin/nose, best is keep environment clean w minimal thgs to avoid gathering dust.

hi kis,
as the barrier cream creates a protective waterproof layer, needs the cleanser to remove it. i not too sure abt avent but avent has somthg like a cleansing lotion too, i tink for same purpose. if the bb wipe is mild, i dun noe whether it's sufficient to remove the layer. for the cleansing lotion, jus need a little poured on cotton wool to wipe, no need mix w water so not too ley chay.

shook...
yah... i think i will do dat... btw was jus toking to my colleague abt not feeding bb within 1st few days... she said in theory it is true... bb wldnt need to be fed but in reality, they will keep crying and ask for food... so she says sometimes no choice got to supplement wif a bit of formula milk.

she asked me to check wif the nurses after gvg birth as she said they hv a spoon feeding method to feed bb in order to prevent nipple confusion if fed from bottle.

kis...
yes... i hv grown abit darker in certain areas... one is my belly button. hormones at work...

I heard that there is a kind of 'nipple guard thingy' that you put on your nipple before feeding to prevent too much pain or tearing for inexperienced mothers, anyone heard of it? Of course its designed in such a way that allows the top of nipple to be exposed so that baby can suck. Any comments?

Is it true that when your tummy reach a certain largeness, preggies cannot sleep on their back cause it will restrict oxygen to baby? How do you all sleep? On your sides? With or w/o supporting pillow?

hi berry...
yes... i hv heard of it... i think Pigeon has it... cos it makes mention of it in the instruction sheet for my nipple puller.
and yah... not good to sleep on back when tummy big cos it will create strain on the spine. in addition, can cause leg cramps oso.
best is to sleep on the sides (right preferably) and use some pillows to support the tummy if uncomfy.

Hi Shook,
Last time,one of my colleagues oso used to do so.He'll ask me Qs when I was eating. I told him I'll come back to him later,yet,he kept on talking...So I just ignored him, hee..

remember don't squeeze the acne hor.
I used to hv this skin prob 2yrs ago. I took all kinda antibiotic but didn't help at all. It just disappeared by itself after my part-time course completed,mayb due to stress

I use Dettol to wash my hand,feet. Sometx,i use dettol shower foam to bath oso,if come back fr. crowded places,think it shld b ok for preggie women to use Dettol.

Hi sanrio,
U r rite,the Avent stretch mark cream contains fragrance. I've stopped applying at on my breast.

Do we need special cleanser to remove the barrier cream?

Last nite,I've sudden leg cramp at my left leg.The sharp pain was untolerant that I couldn't even move the leg. I woke up my hubby to massage fr. me.Couldn't it be due to sleeping in aircon room?

Hi soyabean,
my sis in law breastfed all her bbs as soon as they r born leh.

Hi Sarsi, never heard of this problem leh. What did your gynae say abt it?

Hi avocado, I think Boots is a lot cheaper than the Galenic.

Hi Kis, didn't notice any darken skin patches but I've been having pimples on & off since preggie.

Hi shook, you bought dictionary on names? Ya lor, if he could decide that Fri, we may enjoy the benefits also.

Hi soyabean, that's why we got to be firm and "cruel" to let bb cry if we really got no milk in the first few days.

Hi soyabean, not just your heartache but also your family's. Guess they'll keep harping on you to let bb take formula if bb kept crying. That's why I very pei fu my cousin that she could make it.

hi Giggler,
Galenic is more established brand. So I'm thinking if I shld get Galenic since it is on offer now..

my heart will go soft seeing my bb keeps crying.Whenever my nephew cries,I'll rush to carry him...my hubby even more soft-hearted.

hi kis,
how does the darken skin patches develop?due to hormone oso? Any cream to apply to remove the dark patches?Mayb it'll be disappeared after deliver?

Hi sanrio, ya i also stop applying stretchmk cream on breast area. My hse got a lot of barang barang leh, some things just can't bear to throw away. But have cleared quite a bit since CNY, yet still need to clear up some space for bb stuffs.
As for the barrier cream & cleanser, will buy during sales. Think prevention is better.

Hi soyabean, hope the skin darkening can recover back once we give birth, orelse how to wear bikini!!! I even worst, can't wear swimsuit.

Hi berry, i saw it b4, but din buy cos dun know useful anot. I still can sleep on my back, but most of the time, i sleep sideways wif supporting bolters.

Hi soyabean, i tot preferably is sleeping on ur left??? Any1 can clarify?

hi avocado,
galenic pdts hav nice fragrance, do check out the ingredients on the box b4 u buy. 1 purchase = 2 bottles for now.
i hav leg cramp yesdy nite too. remb the flex feet exercise n point toes to sky, it helps, vy fast cramp gone. not so much due to air-con rm but probably sleep still in 1 position for too long, blood din circulate well.
yes, need cleansing lotion for removal of barrier cream. there may b few brands but jus diff names used.

hi berry,
it's called nipple shield. medela has it. tis is to protect cracked/sore nipples n u wish to cont latch-on. but bb may not want to suck if u put nipple shield. if got cracked/sore nipples, apply medela purelan 100 lanolin nipple cream, will heal vy fast. oso need not remove b4 bf.

soyabean,
i read preferably sleep on left side?? but antenatal class said right or left side both ok, use pillow to support legs. sleep on back not so gd wen stomach big as slows down the rate blood flows to heart.

oh! did i type right? haha.... i meant left... paiseh... sori to cause confusion... cos i keep thinking left is the right side... so i unconsciously typed right.

kis...
read dat the skin darkening shld go away after birth... but for some women, the pigmentation might stay.

Hi avocado,
I also dun know how the darken skin patches develop. I dun have it last time loh. Cream? not too sure leh...just hope it will disappear after we give birth.

So, only me and soyabean have it. I also got it ard my belly button. But i dare not scrap too hard, cos bb inside tummy mah.

Hi Berry, it's advised to sleep on left side when your tummy is too big. I think not good to sleep on back as the weight of your bb will hurt your back.

Hi avocado, I'm using Galenic now. It depends on your ultimate aim lor. If you think that breastmilk is more impt, I guess you'll harden your heart for the greater benefit of your bb. My mom said that we may get leg cramp if the temp is too cold.

Hi soyabean, it's better to sleep on left not right side leh.

Hi Kis, I think it'll remove after birth cos of our pigmentation. Some women even have them on their face leh.

Hi soyabean, hahaha....... you typed 'right' leh.

Sanrio
I apply stretch mark cream only on my tummy not on my breast. My colleague said it is bcoz I m carrying a boy. Boy has different hormone fm mummy n results in terrible breakout.
Oh yes, I keep the water fm washing rice (the 2nd wash) in the fridge then wash my face wif the cold rice water. It doesn't cure my acne totally tho, it relieves the pain

Soyabean
Last 9 my mum pretend pretend ask me who feeds my baby @ 9. I said of coz me since I wanna bf my baby. My mum then said drink formula milk @ 9. Told her 1001 times if I can, I won't give a single drop of formula.

New born baby can drink wif spoon?

Kis, Soyabean
The dark color on the skin is pigmentation. Soyabean is rite, hormone is the culprit again. It will go off after delivery but takes time

Berry
I dunno abt the nipple guard thing.
I like to sleep on my back. No additional supporting pillow but soft toys to hug. I sleep on my left only when my hubby hugs me

Avocado
I squeeze my acne. Can't stand the sight of it. My beautician asked me to go to her to squeeze them out. Too troublesome to go there coz her shop is in Bishan

Giggler
Juz normal dictionary. Not dictionary for names. I look @ the word, the meaning n hear how it sound.

shook...
oh ur mum said dat? i wld hv given same ans if my mum asked. we hv to be determined and give bb BM entirely... as far as poss, dun let bb drink a drop of formula. cos formula milk tastes sweeter than BM, so we will run into the possibility bb rejecting BM once they taste and like formula milk.
i'm not sure abt the spoon method cos my colleague shared the info wif me.

Hi gals, wow... have difficulty keeping up with your chatting. I had self-prescribed bed-rest yesterday.
hehehee... why? coz, feet swollen, cramps, very tired, glucose and protein level up, and breathless feeling. In the end, slept throughout the day... couldn't believe that I could sleep this much! But swelling did go down quite a bit.

Can someone pls update me on the baby bonus thing? Guess I must have slept through that as well. ;p

btw, regarding breastfeeding, I understand that if we breastfeed and give formula, the effect of the breastmilk is different. Totally breastfeed is the best and has the best effect.

Hi Emily,
I know what u mean. Wasn't able to keep up wif the chatting ever since i'm back from Japan.

OK, someone asked abt my EDD. Its 3/7/04.

Now having alot of rash and itch problem too. Initially it was only in the 1st trimester, when i was in my 2nd, it resolve. Went to Japan, came back, worsen! Now, whole tummy and both legs are covered wif scars and scratches and it is esp bad at night. But cool air and cold compresses sure feels good on these areas.

Been to Taka yesterday evening. Still very lost, so came back empty handed again. Sigh..... What shld i do? Saw some pdts from Avent on shower gel for mummies. Seems quite interesting, suppose to help one relax. So what shld i be getting now!!!!!! Little pillows and blankets??? How many? Milk bottles and steam sterilizer, shld get pigeon or Avent. Planning to get the Mendela doule breast pump (electric) too but where to get those in cooler bags other than the one that cost $699! And cloth diapers, how many and brand shld i get?

Baby bonus???? Still in discussion at Parliment. There seems to have plans to give mummies more cash but no mention abt giving to 1st born. Longer maternity and paternity leave. But all these will only be implemented in August. So all of us "suai"!

Soybean
My mum said my cousin wz on total bf. When she wanna change to formula milk, her son rejects it. So she keeps saying mixture of breast milk n formula. Buay tar han. I quite worried I might suffer fm post nantal blue when I stay @ my mum's place for confinement. My mum likes to question wat I say n does things her way no matter wat I said.

Emily
Better today?
Our DPM Lee said the final decision on the extended maternity leave will b announced in Aug n will b implemented immediately in Aug. Sickening coz my EDD is in Jun. Maternity leave n in Aug

shook...
oic... hv u confirmed doing ur confinement at ur mum's? hv u considered getting a confinement nanny?
as for me, i in a dilemma whether to get my mum or mil. cos mil now stay alone and sort of lookg 4wd to grandchild, think she wldnt be hapi if i choose my mum. but i prefer my mum doing it for me. sigh...

B2B3M4
So envious of u had holiday in Japan

Did u consult your gyne wrt your rashes? Sounds quite bad.

Do u have hands me dwn? Wat does your hospital provide? C wat u have 1st then decide wat u wanna buy.

For milk bottle, I won't buy it now. I gonna buy Avent pump which comes wif 2 bottles. My cousin advised me to get glass bottle fm hospital 1st coz ppl may give milk bottle as gift.
Pillow, I m not sure if my mum gonna make the green bean pillow or not. She said can use cloth nappy as pillow.
cloth diapers my mum said gotta get 3 dozens.
Breast pump I will buy Avent manual pump as I got feedback dat electric pump is noisy, breast might get stuck, interruption if pump 1/2 way battery flat. Whether manual or electric is v individual. Some prefer manual, some prefer electric. Heard dat manual pump Avent is gd, electric pump Mendela is gd.

hi b2b3m4,
1) rashes: few of us hav it too. vy itchy!! i tink it's hormonal change so "bo pian". for u diff temp n dryness as a result? do priton or cetaphil moisturiser work?
2) breast pump: i finally bought medela double at robinsons sale. if u like the double + cooler bag set, it's at $369. can get fr kkh "the first few yrs" shop. another outlet is at united square.
3) steriliser: me bought pigeon rapid steam steriliser. big enough for breast pump accessories too. avent n pigeon both gd, depend on ur preference. taka has gd deal for tis, can buy. if u buy pigeon one, they give u 2 pigeon peristaltic bottles. heard it's gd.
4) me using 100% disposable diapers for bb cos no extra helping hand af confinement lady leave.
5) bb bonus: most of us will miss liao.. ai ya... hope the aug n later MTBs get to enjoy them..

dear mummies,
i oso prefer n will try tbf. but mus we buy 1 small can of milk powder to put at home jus in case. i heard kkh dun provide newborn milk powder sample as it's a "bf friendly/support" hospital. paeds may hav sample but bb may not need to see paeds af birth right? how ah? wat brand is gd? i oso heard use spoon if really need to. how...

Soyabean
In the 1st place, my hubby asked me to hint to my mum to have my confinement @ her place. Dunno whether he wz scared by my ms condition or he wanna save $. Now dat my mum agrees (she is more than happy to do it) not so nice to say no. Actually ang pow $ dat I have to give is not going to b cheaper than getting a confinement lady coz there will b 3 person serving me - my dad n mum cook, my SIL helps to take care of baby

Tell your MIL dat your mum asked u to go home for confinement.

My MIL oso said if I want, she can cook for me during my confinement. Boy, I dun appreciate her cooking, too oily n salty for me. I told her I m v choosy in food. She told me " u eat wat I cook".

hi shook,
Share the same sentimental as you! My EDD is on July20,so oso no chance to enjoy the maternity leave..what to do? Unless our companies kind enuff to let us enjoy the benefit.

Avocado

I bet my company is not so humane, esprcially to Asian. The ang moh is different. Few yrs back there wz an ang moh secondee. She requested to transfer back home. Of coz she njoyed longer maternity leave back @ home

Is your company humane enuff?

hi Shook,
i oso very worried abt post-natal blue.I'll be having confinement at my MIL home,his SIL & elder bro oso stay together wf my PIL.

We r planning to let the confinement nanny sleep wf me & bb,while my hubby sleeps wf my PIL.

All along,we r not in good terms wf his SIL,we don't even greet/talk to each other. So I oso wonder if I'll suffer fr. post-natal blue wf her kinda behaviour.

Though my frds were suggesting me to hv confinement at my own hme,more freedom,but I'm more rest assure to hv my MIL ard, to make sure the confine nanny takes care of the bb well.

My MIL cooking is opp. fr. ur MIL. Her cooking is very plain & less oily.

Hv u ever complained ur MIL cooking to ur hubby b4? I once did tat,boy,my hubby not happy. He always says got ppl cook for us,still complain.Actually is true lah...Muz learn to appreciate,hee...

wah..ur dad knows how to cook! how did ur mum train him? hee...My hubby likes to savour good food. He likes to "see" how I cook,sometx,disturb my cooking,e.g.put more water. But,no way to ask him to cook fr. me..

hi Kis,
Don't worry abt the dark circle,i read fr. the book,it'll go away after u give birth.

sanrio,
Was at Taka yesterday, which sterilizer are u refering to?? Cost? The one i saw from Pigeon can only take 2 bottles at one time.
So only "1st few years" have the pump with the cooler bag. No wonder i didn't see it yesterday. Was it noisy when on?
U going to buy milk formula? U received the sample formula when u attended the talk for Fathers? But i think its only suitable for BB 3 mths and above. I'm oso into TBF, so have no idea wat milk formula is good too.
As for the diapers, though i'm not getting help but don wan to rely 100% of disposable. Think the cost is really too much to bear. Which brand r u getting. Was thinking of using disposable ones only at night. A number of people say, in the first 3 months, need to change diapers almost everytime after the BB has her feed. So can come up to quite a bit.

hi Shook,

Ur company is british or American co? Ya lor,they always give special treatment to ang moh,what to do? I work wf American,i feel we Asian hv the same capability as them.

In fact, I prefer to work with German,they r more humble & hardworking.

I think it is depending on the direct boss.For my case, my boss is "junior mgmt level".He oso depends on the top mgmt decision.

But for minor stuff,i know he just closes one eye.Again,sometx,depend on his mood.

hi, B2B3M4. my edd is abt 3/7/04 too...

we are abt the same.... kekkekek

just wan to check with u gals, do u find ur buttock to thigh there painful nowadays when u walk?

Avocado
Most ppl who have confinement lady have their confinement @ home. The confinement lady shld b experienced enuff. Wz your confinement lady recommended by someone u know?
My grandma passed away when my dad wz v young. He had to learn to cook. He cooks better than my mum.
I never complain abt my MIL's cooking to my hubby. I told my mum (in front of my hubby) my mil's cooking is v salty coz they eat dishes wif a lot of rice. Well my hubby knows I dun appreciate his mum's cooking fm the way I eat @ his hse. He din say anything.

My company is an Amercian family business company. The managment which runs Asia r British. My director is a Singaporean Chinese n my mgr is an Indian fm India. Both of them protect their benefits. They never care abt stuff benefits n dun fight for us when working wif other dept. We have to fight the battle ourselves. Sometimes they can even stand on the same side as other dept against us

hi b2b3m4,
i refering to the "pigeon rapid steam steriliser", the bigger, white n purple cover one. tink it costs $87 at taka fair w 2 free peristaltic bottles. hope they still hav stock?? the small one for 2 bottles not advisable as fatter bottles n pump accessories cant fit in.
the free milk powder we rec'd fr the talk is for 6mths onwards. i ask them why dun give newborn one, they said kkh dun allow.
will buy pampers for newborns n the brand drypers (lower cost) to supplement.

giggler,
i check more on drapolene. many mummies commented drapolene vy mild (pharmacist at guardian said so too), so if got rashes, not helpful. if rashes oreadi surface or bad, use desitin beta. they all prefer barrier cream cos if use tis btw diaper change, bb unlikely to hav rashes prob, so dun need drapolene or desitin at all.

avocado,
our EDD 1 day diff only. u: 20/7. i: 21/7. me getting confinement lady too. few frds used her n said quite gd. they said she will help do housework if she free n bb sleeping. actually i vy much prefer my mum but she cant manage nite at all cos b4 sleep, she takes medicine which cause drowsiness. n i dun now whether i can "tong" the nite esp during the 1st mth. so stick to confienment lady loh.

dear mummies,
i saw tis book recommended by MTBs fr a US bb website. look n sound interesting, wonder whether can get it in s'pore.
title: Oh, Baby, the Places You'll Go! A Book to Be Read in Utero
author: Tish Rabe & Dr Seuss
some mummies comments were:
so touching, i cried whenever i read it.
whenever i read tis, bb will respond n kick, tried many times.

sanrio,
So its that sterilizer. I think i saw it. But $87, BB's stuff are really ex.....
Have u tried out the breast pump? Was it noisy? So with the free bottles from the sterilizer, think need not buy any more. What other accessories does the pump come with? Any bottles?

So u are getting a confinement lady after all?

shook...
oic... then its a bit difficult to reject ur mum now since its like more or less settled.
speaking of ang pow, how much usu to give if its ur parents or ILs who do confinement for us har?

sigh.... been feeling moody and irritable since morning... hormones again! the fact dat its a fri hasnt changed much of my mood. think i will be jus glad to go home and watch tv...

b2b3m4,
the steriliser original price is $116. the free 2 bottles, small one costs $8.50, bigger one abt $10. so shd b quite gd buy at taka fair.
the medela double (no cooler bag) i bought comes w 2 plastic bottles n 1 complete set of accessories (1 pair since it's double pump). i tink tat's all.
yup oreadi book confinement lady, cos hubby afraid he oso may "ka lang ka bok" without an extra (experienced) help.

hi soyabean,
hope u'll feel beta soon. sometx i oso suddenly feel a bit down. wait gd home rest, relax n watch tv mayb u'll feel beta. tonite got the funny "william hung" on tv.. u working tomrow?

thanks sanrio...
trying v best to cheer myself up now... even edison's mischievious movements cldnt cheer me up today.
yah... lookg 4wd to watching the 9pm channel u show, and then william hung.

thankfuli, not working tomolo... hehe...

Actually, am pretty envious of u ladies. Once go home, can drop all troubles behind. My work is driving me nuts! the hsework that never can be finished and i seems to be the most behind time in preparing for my BB's arrival. Hubby is sooooo bust at work, always sleep past 2am, leaving me all alone most of the time. Sometimes, the stress is driving me to feel i need psychatric help..... Like now!

b2b3m4,
ai yo... u mus try to take tx to rest for the sake of ur girl girl. can understd ur work stress n demand. oso hsehold chores can nvm fin one. last tx i oso vy fussy n wld nag at hubby.
but i told myself i dun wan to nag nag n make myself stress n unhappy. so i take thgs easy n sometx close 1 eye. anyway wen hubby free on wkend, he will help w the chores. my colleagues alwy said, wen bb comes, too busy so close both eyes to hsehold chores many times, haha!!
dun b too stressed, work can nvm b fin n how much our boss / co really appreciate, we dun know. so take thgs a little slower n easier okie. can cum here n share w us mah.
i alwy feel beta af chatting w the mummies here. some postings so funny one n really make my day

soyabean,
u too. 2nite hav a gd laugh n oso i m sure edison will make u happy..

Soyabean
I thot of giving $600 each. How abt u?
Comon it's Fri cheer up

B2B3M4
Dun bring work stress home. U r not pd to work @ home. Try to relax n b a happy mum

Hi Shook,
I hvn't found a confinement lady yet.Still waiting my frds intro. Hopefully,i can one,if not,my MIL has to cook for me & I've to tak care my bb at nite!

Hv u thot of switching to other co? how cum ur director dun use Asian mgmt? I hvn't worked wf British but heard tat they r quite "tao".How do u find working with Indian boss?

Hi Soyabean,
how frequent does edison kick u? Now I can get hold of my bb movement:12noon,3pm plus,10pm.He moves more when i lie down or kan cheong

When I was doing my presentation or dealing wf difficult colleagues,he kicks more..very cutee..

Hi Sanrio,
Ya,I still remember my EDD is one day b4 you

Too bad, our EDDs so near,if not,can ask for ur confinement lady
Is she a malaysian?

I still look ard for confinement lady.hopefully can find a rite one.

Ya,it is better to hv a confinement lady ard,to help u in hsework,take care of bb. U know,we'll be very tired after deliver.

Biw,can we carry bb after C-section? How long will it take for the wound to recover? how do they seal up the wound, sew back?

shook..
thanks... trying to cheer up... the mood is better liao... cos its nearly 5pm... hehe...
oh... i thot of gvg abt $800... nice number...

avocado...
hehe... actuali i dun keep track when he kicks me but i think he kicks whenever he feels like it.... not consistent one...
usu he will be mvg when i am travelling to work, after lunch and after dinner.

B2B3M4, relax... don't worry... u are merely lagging behind on purchasing bb stuff because you were out on holiday. There is still more time before we should all panick. Slow down and enjoy your baby... housework don't have to do everyday... okay?
It is perfectly fine for us (the way we are now) to have some excuses to put some work aside once in a while.. especially duties in the home... after all, hubby won't dare make too much noise yeah... especially since we are heavily burdened with the consequences of their love-action!

I also worry worry... have to do all my housework, pack rooms etc etc... coz maid coming next week... don't want her to learn me and hubby's bad habits. So better clean the house before she comes so that she'll know what the standard we are expecting. In addition, my hubby have to work throughout this weekend.

Avocado
Indian cheaper mah.
Indian can twist their words v well, v cunning, no 1 in tai chi. On the other hand v clever. I dun like to work for Indian. 1 thing I respect my mgr is dat he never disturb me when I m on leave or mc. But when I m in the office. He pressurized me like pressure cooker.

Soyabean
Initially I oso thot of giving $800 each. But think of total will b $2,400 wow, v broke.

dear mummies,
anyone got recommendation for part-tx auntie help to clean hse? i cant find any tat willing to cum on wkend, either sat or sun.

hi avocado,
best to get confinement lady thru recommendation rather than fr agency. i'll ask around for u

c-section: i tink now there is the non-stitch. it's either the stapled? or glued? i not too sure, hav to check w some experienced mummies. carry bb shd b fine af rest for a day or two?? not too sure on tis..