(2004/06) June/July 2004 Babies

Giggler,
Oh Gosh... Vane sounds really sad leh.

I think my body was not ready to adapt Jay skipping his noon naps...hahahah. Last time he will nap from 2 to 4pm. So I had a break before I had to cope with Jem coming back from school and preparing dinner. Now, its really all the way and somehow by evening time I really get very tired. Think it's more strain then stress lah.

B2,
Take care...

A's dad,
wahahah... i'm not into indoor sports thus only started bowling when Jem got keen. Mark's the one that throw money into alleys :p

haiz~ problem is i dun have nausea nor the acid taste in the mouth as expected with reflux. But i still take the medicines lor.. hopefully it will go off.

i'm now on Cameron Strawberry TEA BUT I STILL WANT TO pick up the kopi from you...wahahahah

Ay... I thot we do have 1 Gila monster in our zoo? u din get to see it on ur recent trip?

Giggler,
Maybe Vane really affected by #3 lor. Did you try asking her teachers about her days in sch? You want to bring her for a pool play with Alicia over the weekend? A lot of children has good memories these days anyway. What programs are available? Xin swan?

Brenda,
You played too much..hahahaha..
Not too sure whether it is sometimes psychological to have that chest pain feeling if you ever have GERD before. Anyway, take care.
I did not see the Gila monster leh. We usually go for the BIG animals but skip the tiny little ones.

Ava,
Congrats. Nice to see Adan and twin sisters

Rest well & take care.

Brenda,
Thanks for the photos, wah can see Grace play until seow lei.
Hee hee only managed to captured photos for junior Jay.

1717163.jpg
1717164.jpg

A's Dad, Emily, Ruffy,
Nice meeting all of you again, if not for the big storm our kids will get to play longer.
Oh yah we din make it to the car that day, legs too short can't run fast

By the time hb came back with the umbrellas we are all drenched.
Yet Grace still asking where are all her friends ha ha ha.

B2, Mom2Nat, Giggler, A's dad,
Hmm kinda stressed after reading about kids attending music class.
Wanted to start Grace on music, teacher from kindi said that she is keen wor.
Me also music idiot, think sure go gabra if I have to sit with her during music lessons, so looking for a private tutor
to come over to the house instead. Any recommendation?

Brenda, A's dad,
Got Gila monster at the zoo?? Komodo Dragon?
Oh yah, during our last trip to the zoo, I spotted this guy walking free lei..... imagine it was walking behind my hb and kids hee hee

1717165.jpg

Do your kids still take naps? If Nat dun take nap, she will sleep earlier, but can tell she quite tired in the evening. If take nap, she will try to drag bedtime pass 10pm which I can't stand... How ah?

Brenda, Vane sounded sad??? Right now, I try to give her more attention, hope it helps.

A's dad, I'll call Vane's kindi teacher this afternoon. She cried and said that she dun want sch again last nite.

GG, I think it's better to let Grace attend music sch now to mix ard with frens? If you want to sit with her during lesson, you can consider Cristofori. My fren sends her gal there and result is gd lah. The ratio also small, right now only has 1 teacher and 3 students.

Mom2Nat, Vane still having nap of 1-2hrs at ard 4pm, and her bedtime is abt 10pm.

Hi Brendali, heheee... ur post so cute when u r strict. :p Can see from your symptoms urs is heartburn which can most likely be caused by stress and spicy food.
For mine, it's like a cramp in the heart for a couple of seconds. Sometimes, if bad, the cramp will travel to the back. But I am managing it, coz I will have to stop everything, pause & breathe slowly, then everything will be back to normal again. Frequency is like once every 1-2 months & if more stressed out then abt once every 1-2 weeks. Has been having it since like primary 4 so am pretty used to it. Doc says it could be because of heart murmur. A couple of docs detected it already but none have actually asked me to go for any scan except this one when he realised that I do get heart/chest pains. Think since already so long already I should be able to manage a yr more of this. After all, when I check the costs, it costs like $800 for the scan alone - specialist clinic & doc consultation is $800 too. Nearly faint on hearing the cost. So, better to wait a while more for my company insurance to cover it. Can't imagine after that, follow ups etc... how much it would cost!

Brendali, so.. Jay has been skipping nap time. Hmmm... take care coz it is difficult to be on the ball & still have to manage the house & cooking etc.

GG,
That's a monitor lizard. Also to be seen roaming freely in Sentosa and other wildlife places. They will eat your sandwiches if you leave them behind

mom2nat,
Sarah will not nap most afternoons. But sometimes she does still take naps. This inconsistency is more annoying than the actual not napping. Every day I don't know if she'll nap or not, so I have to make her lie down and if she naps, I can rest too. If she doesn't nap, then I have to make sure she uses her time fruitfully. She also will sleep early if she doesn't nap (which is good for us). Yes, and if she does nap she will still go to bed about 10 pm but we can hear her singing and talking to herself til nearly 11.

Mom2nat,
Naps ah - BIG NO.. both boys can go without nap during the day and sleep at 10-11pm
give up pushing them to bed.

My new policy
if tired will automatically fall off to sleep so don't bother forcing them
forcing = irritated mummy + frustrated kids
instead we do more other type of activities.

Only place where they will automatically fall asleep is in the car.

GG,
wahahah... now that i see ur pics, i realise we lost that ball!! hahahhahah

Yah... got Gila monster and komodo dragons. Can bring Mark go see the feeding for komodo dragon where they tie a chicken or rat to let them eat.

That's monitor lizard... very yummy!

Mom2nat,
Jem haven't been taking nap in the afternoon for a long while already and he goes to bed at 10.30pm. Goes to bed as in stay in bed lah.... what time he really fall asleep i dun noe.

Now Jay is skipping his nap too... but he will run around till 11plus before he is willing to zzz...

Giggler,
Take an afternoon off and bring her go JP for swenson ice cream on your own? I heard from a few mommies that this work... when you tell them in the morning u'll come back early to bring her out today, she'll feel extra special.

Emily,
yah... the tests are pretty steep in price and not to mention detestable..hahahah

most people hv innocent heart murmurs which is harmless.. but u know lah.. we no longer youth already, must be more watchful and careful..wahahah. Mebbe you can think of adding some cardio exercise n high antioxidant food in ur lifestyle now? long walks are great!! go labrador!!

exactly... got to be on the ball all day cos he's a horror! keep coming up with mischief.. he ate some soil from my plants just the other day!

pvl,
how's ur no. 2? skip naps too? r u fainting like me? if not, share some tips leh..hahahh

I am on child care leave today
Brought Adrian for his final prevar and chicken pox jab. Poor boi, got one on his right and one on his left thigh.

GG,
Monitor lizard, they stay around the reserviour. Can be a good delicacy, and best when BBQ

I think Gila monster should be near the snake enclosure bah, they belong to the dry land (desert). Why not consider a grp class first?

Mom2nat,
Alicia does not nap most of the time. She wakes up at 730am, takes the sch bus around 12pm, and back home at 4pm. In between, she will do her drawing/worksheet and watch nick Jr. She usually goes to sleep at 10pm, sometimes earlier.

Giggler,
Cannot find Swensen, go Billy bomber

Mom2Nat, you bring her out alone or with didi?

A's dad, you reminded me of Sher's vaccine. He has been delaying his MMR for quite stime liao. The sch teacher called me just now to tell me that Vane fell from tricycle and got scratch on her knee. So told her abt Vane rejecting sch, the 1st qns she asked was if Vane is gg to have new sibling. Hahaha... think Vane really affected by no. 3

giggler,
Yar like wat brenda suggested, it may be gd to spend some alone time with Vane only. Bring her go kai kai, a quick dinner or smthg and chat with her.

Giggler,
Oh... i din noe it had shifted leh... thot still there when i went JP 3 weeks back?

If not... go ichiban boshi or sakae? They like to choose from the conveyor belt rite? Fish & Co. have a kid's meal that comes with a soft toy i think, not sure whether still available.

A's dad,
bbq monitor lizard... ooh, u so sinful leh. My aunt only stir fry them.

What channel is Nick Jr?

skyblue, ya, I really have to find time to spend with Vane ONLY... Luckily Sher still young to know much.

brenda, there's major change in JP now liao, Old Chang Kee is gone too. Maybe I'll bring her to Sakae, just opp my blk.

Mom2nat
Yep Angie Ho. My hubby said there wz a new gal last wk. R u looking in2 wk day or wk n class?
1.5hr u go Compass Pt library
Chen Chen naps in cc after lunch Teacher said he sleeps v well But wk n we hv to bribe him to nap

Ava
Beautiful twins. They look alike.
Adan takes after daddy

Alicia's daddy
I like the songs in Electric dreams

Brenda
Thx for accomodating Png Png in the next gathering but I guess our 2004 kids enjoy outdoor gathering more
Love the pic u took
Hope u r well now. Take care

Emily
Wish u get your chest pain prob solved soon

b2b3m4
Your hubby v gd spend so much time teaching Ashley

Giggler
Wat I heard is the elder affected by coming sibling is the immediate elder 1 leh. Wat is the response of Sher?
May b u borrow books on new sibling n read to Vane n spend some private time wif her

brenda,
My #2 takes naps like a pro. No problem with him. He's only 19 months mah. I get Sarah to lie in bed, with a compulsory 1 hr minimum quiet time even if she doesn't want to sleep. So usually I also rest (on a sleeping bag on the floor of their room) during that hour

GG,
hi hi. ydy i wen zoo n tat big lizard was slowly walking in front of us too. we oso hvnt started ash on music class. i dun tink i hv d patience to teach him at hm so wld send him to a pte piano teacher. saw those brenda's pics, grace looks so tall n qing xiu.

Brenda, Emily,
oh oh, u reminded me that the doctor detected ash has a herat murmur n asked us to brg him for further checkup which we hvnt..

KOala
I think quite troublesome for me to go until SK. I am still sourcing ard for a phonics class ard here... who knows, by the time I find one, Nat gg Pri 1 liao! hahaha...

A's daddy
Alicia doesn't sleep much hor, like 9+ hours only. Btw, you got a new maid liao?

PVL
Exactly!! This is the thing I buay tahan, dunno she wants to nap or not!! Looks tired, so ask her go nap, but lie in bed 1 hr still tossing. Then next day I need to guess again, wan to nap or not!! Sigh...

Ruffybear
Think you dun get pek chek like me. And Nat wants pple to play with her. So the later she sleeps the more siong for us.

Giggler
I brought Nat out to do pedicure with me. Elliot stayed at home with maid.
Do you bring Sherwin out alone? I dun rem seeing Sherwin b4 leh.

Brenda
I will go crazy if I were you leh. Both dun nap, then sleep so late and you are SAHM!!! HOw to tahan??!!!

B2B3M4
YOur hb v pro leh... Even plan the lesson so well! hee...

Mom2nat,
ur HB buying any of his expensive durians anot? If yes, can keep 2 durian seeds for me? I only need the seeds.
Some time back I tried planting 2 seeds in soil (or rather, my kids planted them lah)... til now no action. I saw another mum plant hers- very cute, it grows out like a beansprout... with a big fat durian seed dangling at the very head. :p

Yesterday so terrible ah, my Ahboy. U know sales ladies were shaking their heads, and people stopped to stare... and when I looked UP, I saw people standing over the edge looking at the scene too. Back at the mall at my place... he thrashed around on the floor too.

Ahgirl never did such stuff! I'm so traumatised! :p But after that he manja and call for me and koala me... heart melt liao.

BTW u getting a piano right? Since u asked for mover contact. U interested in getting Adjustable Piano Bench? Ruffy and I going to the shop next Mon (will need to phone them tomorrow to check if price unchanged and stock available). It was the cheapest ADJUSTABLE bench we knew of.

I realised this past week, Ahgirl clocked alot of hrs (I lost track lah)... very kelian sit on a hard book on the bench. Definitely deserves a proper adjustable bench. Dun say I torture her hor... never scold her, never pull ear, very willing and hardworking type. Incentivise too, after piano, we go out, play etc. I'm actually concerned if that's *too much* on her small hands, will it cause premature arthritis? My gf told me her uncle used to soak his hands in-between Grade 8 practice, and Ahgirl's piano teacher says her hands get arthritic after full day of solo lessons. Anyone knows what is too much for a girl? I asked her if her hands hurt, but she can't quite answer. Sometimes it hurts "alot" cos she has a paper cut on her pinkie (and then we dun play for that day). Very hard to gauge cos it's her hands, not mine.

Ruffy,
u rem the price anot? I forgot!

NAPS-
4yo Ahgirl naps 1-3hrs daily, plus 8-10hr night sleep. Roughly 12hrs total- half her day lor!
2yo Ahboy naps 1hr, sometimes skips nap. Plus 9hrs night sleep. Roughly 10hrs total... lesser than the girl!
Bedtime is usually 8pm, sometimes pushed to 9pm. I'm trying to shorten naptime, eat dinner earlier and target for 8pm LATEST. Or else I will mati very fast.
HB speculates the boy is probably more tantrum-y from lack of sleep (but he refuses to nap, and I can't always take time out everyday to feed him til full-full and then wheel him in stroller/ carry on hipseat/ take a bus etc, for 1hr).
Adults not enough sleep also very difficult to manage :p .

Skyblue,
never got round to wishing Kieran a (very) belated BD. Thanx for the favor bag!

Not sure what to buy for Ath's favors leh- dun feel like using plastic bag cos (sporadically) environmentally conscious, dun feel like buying China foodstuffs in case... and dun feel like spending much money HAH! :p

PVL,
how have u been? Yah I get my girl to lie in bed in afternn to try nap... and most of the time she does drop off to sleep. I can't get the boy to do the same thing leh... he will SCREAM "WAKE UP!!!!".

Mom2Nat, you're right. I never bring Sher out alone leh. Most of the time he's with maid.

pawprint, your gal attending individual piano class now?

Giggler,
she's taken Group music class for a year... from home-based teacher who lives at block behind mine. Beginning with rhythm and beat, with different small instruments (like Kindermusik?) and then flashcards (like Seimpi?), and then 1 tune on keyboards.

Now temporarily taking individual piano class by same teacher for almost 3mths. More "serious"- sit at piano play a few songs, no jumping around unlike in group class. Cos bridging her to switch to more advanced group class next yr (better timeslot for me). Once switch over to that group class, will stop the individual I think.

pawprint
Hee.. I saw you were so stressed up tat day!!! Hahaha... I quite used to it liao, will get fed up, but well, Nat not so docile like Athena, so I trained. I can see your boy v bad tempered hor, and you v gentle kind lah, sure give in.

Oh, i din know need adjustable chair leh. How much ah? I called Renner, they will move the piano from my cousin's house this weekend.

Durians leh... haven't taken for a long time. I dunno the season over liao or not leh. Wat you picture it to me sounds v cute leh, I oso wan to try to plant. But plant in normal soil?? If I buy, I give you some.

I dunno abt how long can they play leh, cos Nat hardly practices her keyboard!! Maybe I shall soak her hands in my breastmilk if they are tired! hahahahah....

Giggler
Aiya, it is like tat, got maid liao lazy to carry so much barang. Bring #1 out alone easier. Tmrw i bringing both out with maid, meet fren for lunch in town. Can't leave 2 with maid, so bring lah! ahhaha..

Mom2nat,
very suay lor. Bring him out, want to feed him and lull him to nap, not successful. Then he threw a tantrum after that cos sleep deprived. :/ The trouble is he can struggle out of my arms and make a run for it. My agility not "trained", hah!

Ur cousin gifting u the piano? How old, what model and condition? Don't u need a tuner after moving it? I still have tuner contact... forgot what price though. Forgot price of the adjustable bench too :p either $120 or $140 or $150 or $180 or somewhere around there lah! Cash and carry.

Eh dun bother with the durians liao- I read up, and hmm, not likely my seedling will actually grow into a tree lor. Esp given my not-so-green fingers, heh. Just want to grow for fun. Apparently another mum plant in normal soil and water and it sprouted! Next time round I shall soak in water, then transfer to soil when it sprouts abit. I bought fertiliser today! :p

Hahaha, talk abt BM.. wonder if soak the durian seed... :p

pawprint,
I'm surviving. Uhhhh, a durian tree is about 4 stories tall! You'll need to have a big garden for that. Maybe you can try bonsai durian trees. Perhaps they'll give you bonsai durian fruit

pawprint
For galangal etc better to go wet market to find. However, u can find Tomyam soup "kits" in NTUC which contains all of these items...

hiyee Good Morning!!

PVL,
hhhmmm... idea hor. Mebbe I should have an hour to 'lock' us up in their room so Jay can play within the compound while i do some reading and resting.

Sanrio,
mebbe follow up on ash the next round of visit?

Mom2nat,
okay lah... now i'm slowly getting used to it so it gets better. Only thing I dun like is gotta move my workstation to dining area..

pawprint,
you can find those igredients at the fridge with lotus roots, mushrooms etc. And yah.. like what Aav says, there's pre-packed ones for tom yam soup.

Lemongrass gotta put in water to root first before transplanting into soil

Ava, my gf told me to buy tomyam paste but it doesn't have "kick", just chilli-ish. So thinking of adding these magic ingredients. Oh dear, I don't know how to buy a single thing from the wet mkt...

Brenda, ooo- fridge! I hope they label it cos I have no idea what is what
. Thanks! I hope lemongrass is easy to grow, hehe.

Giggler,
Maybe Vane's teacher reads this thread..hahaha..
I saw an advert from Swensen, and realised that JP is not listed among their location. Think they moved out of JP??

Brenda,
Equally sinful
Monitor lizard's meat very elastic, difficult to chew if boil, so BBQ better option. Not sure about stir fry.
Nick Jr is in SCV channel 32.

Koala,
they have touching and romantic songs hor

Mom2nat,
Yeah, she din sleep much, but when it is cumulative, she will fall asleep as early as 8pm on some days. Guess this is how she catches up on her sleep. New maid with us for slight more than 1month. Gradually increasing her responsibilities. She went with us to the BBQ in Labrador park.

Pawprint,
You go wet market, just tell the auntie selling vege you want to make tom-yam soup. Guarantee she will pick every ingredient for you

pawprint
No not the paste from NTUC. The NTUC veg section has packets of the RAW ingredients for tomyam which contains all the stuff u mentioned.

Mom2Nat, nowadays I either bring Vane out only or bring both out with maid. Where you gg tom?

pawprint, are you SAHM?

A's dad, hahaha... Vane's teacher said that most of her students who complained abt gg to sch have new siblings.

Ava, you coping well with the kids?

Giggler
Yes, so far. Thanks for asking. Am coping with CL and maid's help. I looked after them for most of this afternoon and let CL take a nap and think i will be much more tired after she leaves hahah!

How's your pregnancy this time round?

Giggler
Bet Sher is a sweet kor kor
Do u send Sher to enrichment classes like wat u did to Vane?

Mom2nat
There is I creative learner in Pasir Ris oso
How abt I can read?

pawprint
Sometimes px in wet mkt more x than NTUC but can buy smaller qty. If u buy a lot, the seller even give u foc for small qty

Ava, I feel like a pig for this preg, eat ALOT!!! Now I start to worry abt losing wt after birth liao. Hehehe....

pawprint, nice to be SAHM hor? My kids and myself enjoyed ourselves when I was at home for few days at home.

Koala, hehehe... I not as hardworking this time round. Didnt send Sher to any enrichment classes at all. Most likely I'll only wait till he 3yrs old to start sch.

giggler,
Hahahaha, i tink most of us not so 'on' with #2. Either we tink they're a waste of time or simply no energy.

Ava,
Hey, i tink i've yet to congratulate u so far. Paiseh... Congrats!!!

thx skyblue

giggler
hehe....go easy on the carbs!!

here r some more pics of the twins:

1736599.jpg

Summer

1736600.jpg

Anais (left); Summer (right)

A's dad,
orh... so it's Nick Jnr in the morning lah. I was hoping for a channel on its own..hahhaha

ur quiet maid become noisy already anot?

Ava,
Actually hor.. my sis with a girl and a pair of twins had 2 maids all the while until the twins turned 3 recently leh. She says, if not she wun be able to cope..hahahhaha. Mebbe you can see see if there's part time babysitter to let u take a breather every now and then?

Giggler,
Nvm.. no. 2 time flies so fast you wun have time to regret not sending them to enrichment classes...hahhahaha. I also suddenly just reaslise that Jay suppose to start school next year already and last min. do registration. Luckily managed to get the last place :p Next time ur sher can go same school w jie jie too..hehehhe

Pawprint,
I am not sure of the wet pricing pricing as well, but they usually quote season price.

Skyblue,
Adrian is in Zoophonics weekend class for almost 1.5months, and coping well. I can say that the drive to look for enrichment classes for #2 is definitely lacking in relation to #1. I can remember all the talk about trial classes for our #1, but hardly for #2.

Giggler,
Din see you put on a weight leh

Ava,
Look so big already
. Are you getting those twins stroller? hahahaha..

Brenda,
Yes, that's right. I thought it's Nick Jr channel???? Still queit leh. She talks more to my wife. Maybe she scare of me..hahaha..Your kopi still with me

Pigletz,
Where are you?????

brenda
Since Adan is in full day school, think my maid can handle. Plus hb is also working from home most of the time. Would rather not get another maid...

A's dad
We got one already! Second hand maclaren rally twin for $220

A's dad,
No lah.. that's Nickelodeon. Only the morning then Nick Jr. After that... violent cartoons..hahhah

K..k... i try not to go out this weekend to pick up the kopi from u...hahahhaha. Actually my church just round the bend leh.. or i pick it up on Sunday afternoon? wanna lunch together?

Ava,
good! good! way to go... me envy those with big family...hahahhahah.

Ay... later u share w me k... is it really that twins wanna do things together? she says hers will wan to latch on same time... cry same time... nap same time... I only knows that if i chat w one of them... the other will run over and yak too... then machiam got surround sound system..hahhahaha