(2004/04) April Mummy

Ann,
Will look out on the website. Tks.

Cutecute,
I think you can try to buy the vitamin C at nature farm as they have a range of vitamin from Vitamin C to multi Vat and it is very nice gummy bears type of intake.

Home, Yes it is for tots and you can get it at Nature Farm becos the other day I went to arcade and the staff let me try one.

If not you can buy from GNC too the current one I have is from GNC and i feel it is a bit sour. It is also those chewable type of gummy bear.

Angel,
I'd love to! Can u sms me the details, such as date, time & location, and I'll confirm with your nearer the date?

Ryan did not date Cherish? Wait Cherish jealous how?

I'm so proud of Ryan. He is so sweet, can really melt your heart.

CuteCute, Home
i gave Val Amway Vit C. My mum is also taking most of the Vitamin from Amway so i decided to give the brand.
Tried letting Val taking chewable grammy multi Vit(by Raffles Group i think). But only once in awhile give her. I don like the smell of it.

Last time i working with vita health they have a few children's Vitamins.Their Grammy bears vitamins are nice.Can try out.

Cherish is sick.Unfortunately she caught the flu virus.It started off witha fever and a flu but it got worst.She developed a slight cough on thur and now her cough carries alot of phelgm.Her sleep was very disturbed by her constant coughing and boy,she's super cranky.Worst of all,despite the constant coughing,she refused water.Gosh,all these happened just before our trip.

Cutecute n Ling,are you all keen in Barney VCDs.RAffles place got a stall selling $1.90 ea,but dunno the quality lah.

Mummies,anyone keen on Playworkz gym at Millenia?My friend said the trial is only $10 and the duration of the class is 1 and half hr.very worth it.If yes,I shall get more details after my trip and after Cherish gets well.

Rain_drops, I did buy some Barney VCDs at the golden shoe level 1 and the quality is not too bad. And yes I am interested in looking at the playworkz gym. Do they have a website that I can go and browse?

I found a new healthy fruit bar snacks that is very delicious and healthy for both adult and kids. Wondering if anyone is interested. Ryan and my Niece have tried and they both love it and so do it. If we do bulk purchase maybe I can try to get a good price. Its called a schoolbar and it comes in strawberry and blackcurrent flavour. Think got some other flavour but have not tried it. Anyone keen? Its not easily available and so far I only manage to get it from alexander hospital.

Btw, Ryan likes Barney too and its driving me crazy. Hope he out grow that fast coz I really dun like that purple dinosaur.

Ryan is down with wheezing cough and is on nebuliser again.

Ling,you may like to check out this website: www.playworkz.com.sg

Angel,are these 'energy bars'?If yes,I like to get some for my hubby.He has been snacking on the muesli bars,I reckon fruit-flavoured ones definitely better.
Cherish is terrified by Barney.She likes to linger in those coin-operated machine,she'll scream her head off when we placed her in the Barney's.She has a barney dress,passed down from my friend.Whenever I hummed the theme-'I love u,u love me....'she 'll like look at her dress for that little purple dinosaur.

Raindrops,

I dunno is it energy bar leh. It looks like those muesli bar and definitely much nicer in taste. I think I bought a box of 5 bars for $4plus. Is it consider expensive? But its nutritious and healthy loh. Maybe one of these day I pass you one to try but goota be soon if not Ryan and I might finish it all. Hee.

Aloe & raindrops, thanks for the website will browse later.

Angel, why Barney is driving you crazy? For me although I dun really like Barney but the disc is really very education and when JJ knows wat it is going on it is really amazing.

I brought Ryan for his MMR vaccine last Sat, it is normal for him to have slightly warmer body-temp (about 37) now ... ???

Angel,confirm on.Please help me to get a pack.Strawberry ,blurberry or raisins are fine for me.

Ling,if u're interested.lets organise and all apr tots can be in the same class.

Aloe,do watch out for fever,usually within 10 days of injection.Some experienced fever almost immediate while others still have fever after a few days.Anything above 37.5 is feverish.

Hi Angel
Can count me in for a pack? Me any fav. Thanks.

Hi aloe
My boi same same. His body was warmer after few days of MMR.

My boi went for last injection last 1.5 weeks. So far so good.

Ling,

I dun like Barney coz to me and hubby, he is a purple perverted dinosaur that goes ard hugging little kids. Obviously the person inside the costume is a male and he goes ard singing I love u, u love me etc and hugs little kids. I think quite alot of adults view barney in this way. If you are talking abt educational materials, there are many other sources such as mother goose, baby enstein, baby bumblebee, sesame streets, I can read and the list goes on. What hubby and I dun like the the sexual represntation of the colour purple and a male in disguise in a costume going ard hugging little young kids.

Cutecute,

I will be going Gleanagles to return the nebuliser and might pop by paragon, maybe I can pass you a box tm? Sms me to cfm as I'll be going to see doc later and will not be home to check mails after that till tm coz I will be spending the night at my inlaws place.

Raindrops, if you want, I can try to pass it to you tm or if not you sms aand let me know. Btw, the Blueberry energy bars is more ex. $5 plus compare to the strawberry ones coz its slightly diff. The other flavour is think pear with green apples. I have tried all and all r nice to me.

Maple,

You want? Let me know via sms asap coz I going down to Alexander hospital for my appt soon.

Aloe,

If your boy develope fever 37.5 n above and sponge him a little and maybe put a little cold compress and injection site and feed a bit of panadol.

Take care all.

Mattel is having its WAREHOUSE SALE on:

Date: 27th 29th Oct (Thur Sat)
Time: 10am to 6pm
Venue: The Comtech
60 Alexandra Terrace
Lobby C, 2nd floor
Singapore 118502

- Payment by Cash and Visa/ Master Cards only.
- Items while stocks last.
- Goods sold are non-returnable or refundable.

For those that are interested. I dun mind going if there is kakis. Anyone keen? Can get advance x'mas presents.

Oh! Another very valid reason that I am agst Barney is that most of the songs and movements are copied from other people so there is no originalities and the way the people market its stuff. Seems to be some propaganda to encourage young children to demand for "branded", "recognise" stuff.

Sorry for my ranting. Not trying to piss anyone. Just stating my views and maybe I got up the bed on the wrong side ty. Paiseh.

Angel, No problem as everybody has their own views. And for me is neutral but it is just that I dun know wat type of disc is good so watever disc that I see at the shop I just get and apparantly the shop at my mum place only have barney and I didnt see any other disc as for me I actually very much want to get sesame street but dun see it.

Hi mummies, so the 18mth jab is the last injection huh as I am not sure. JJ just went for his jab last thursday on his tighs and apparantly i think it will be sore and itchy so mummies whoever baby is having the jab try to sponge the wound with warm or hot water as if not baby will be scratching as that was wat JJ was doing over the weekend.

Raindrops,
Is Cherish getting any better? Hope she get well soon and recover fully b4 the trip.
Thanks for organizing the Playworkz trial.

Angel,
Ryans wheezing cough recovered? Cos u said u r returning the nebuliser.

Aloe,
Do monitor Ryan for fever. G had slighter warmer body temp abt 3 days after MMR and subsequently developed fever the next day.

Ling,
The 18th mth booster jab is the last jab for the toddlers. The next jab will be when they are 6-7 years old.

My gal has gone for her last jab 2 days ago too.

I so blur leh... only recently then i realise that the MMR jab is different from the 6-in-1 jab. so En has actually missed it. now he only going for mmr tomorrow. what a sotong i am!

Raindrops, Angel,
hope cherish and ryan get well soon. life is tough when our kids get sick

raindrops,
thanks for organizing the trial. dun think i wanna go. too far away. somehow now with one income, i also become more stingy. hee hee.. now spend money must think a lot of times, unlike last time.

Raindrops, when will you be bringing your kid to playworkz. Yesterday I went to the website and did call them up and I am thinking of the weekend class. I am trying to see whether is there any slot for this saturday as we will be going Genting this sunday. And if there is I maybe bringing JJ and my cousin there.

Maple, so after this jab then will not be anymore check up huh? Becos JJ is having his jab with polyclinic and it is my mum who brought him there so I am not sure.

Will let Ryan have his last jab end next month.

Actually want to do it at the polyclinic (free of charge), but the nurse said Ryan has too many 5-in-1 and 6-in-1.She said she feel so blur after reading his record & she duno what to give for his last jab. She ask me to go back kinder clinic for the jab.

Hi Raindrops, let me know when u want to go for the trail class @ playworkz.

Hi Maple, I think Ryan's temp is back to normal now. just hope that he won't have fever.

Next gathering (End Nov or Early Dec),
can come to my place. Anyone want to suggest a date ??

Aloe, I will be bringing JJ and my cousin to playworkz this saturday 2pm class and will let you know how it is on 7 Nov as I will be on leave from tmr onwards.

Ling,
Im not too sure about the check up. I flipped through the health booklet the other day. There are a few pages on assessment for 2-3 years old. No idea whether we have to bring them for check up. Can other mummies advise?
Enjoy your leave and your genting trip.

Aloe,
Great to hear that Ryans temp is back to normal.
FYI, the 18mth 5-in-1 booster jab is not free at the polyclinic. Need to pay abt $80+ (I think).
Thanks for offering your place for the gathering.

today brought En for mmr. weight is 11.8kg and height at 84.9cm. the moment he sees the doctor cry liao. then straight after the jab, his crying stops! sigh... really drag going to the doctor...

Angel,
i find the characters in barney cd are very courteous to one another. they use a lot of please, welcome and thank you. i like this part the most. hope En will pick up these gd habits from them

Hi Ling,

Yes, I am keen to join for the Playworkz trial.

Hi Ann,

Have you tried out the trial at Kindermusik? Check the website..looks interesting. Think my boy may like it cos he enjoys music..

Do you intend to put your kid at half-day child care? Is Eton House good? Any recommendations?

Have not brought Val to her last jab maybe next week. Any mummies let your child take chicken pox jab? Do you'll think must take?

Val No.9 teeth is coming out soon but it is one of the below molars. How come molars come out 1st as her front part only have 4 on top and 4 below. Will all the teeth become 'messy'(like in and out).

Hi Raindrops,
Count me in for the Playworks Trial. Is Cherish better? Hope she's well.

Hi Aloe
Should be alrite for Val and me.

Hi Angel
Barney vcd, actually Val like it very much but i think not because of the 'purple dinosaur' but there are lots of songs, movement and childrens in the program. But i like Thomas train..keke although not much educational seem like a cartoon but the first time i see this train i just like it...keke

Hi Maple, Home
Hope both G. and En are well after the jab.

Hi cutecute
How you feeling now better?

Hi Joy_Apr
have not let Val tried out the trial at Kindermusik as the lady told me that there's only slot for trial next month and me too busy.

As for childcare i'm not intending anything yet. But Eton House izzit Ex..View their charges on the web b4 seem Ex but if really very good than it worth it. i like their uniform.

Hi Ling
Enjoy ur trip to Genting.

Cheers Mummies

Cutecute,

It was nice meeting you too. Let me know if your boy like the snacks and if you want I can get for you. Ty went shopping spreee as retail therapy. Feeling very guilty now. :p

Aloe,

I can't cfm abt the gathering coz must depends on Ryan and my condition.

Maple,

Ryan have not recovered but still under medication. My condition is still the same. Sometimes worst but I won't give up.

Raindrops,

You can let your hubby or Cherish try the schoolbars and see if they like it coz its very nutricious. Equivalent to 1 serving of fruits per bar tho its a bit ex and look ordinary but useful when travelling or when u at work n need to snack.

Home, Ann,

Maybe I am really bias loh but I really dun like barney. Look very scary and ugly to me. Same goes for his other weird color "frds" but I hope Ryan outfrow it soon. When I am ard I usually shows him mothergoose or baby bymblebess or brainy baby seris. I feel that its as interesting and entertaining too.

Hi Ann
Thanks. I feel better now.
My boi teeth almost complete liao. His teeth also not in seq but so far so good.
I dun intend bring my boi for chicken pox jab. The younger kanna chicken pox, the less suffer.

Hi Ling
Enjoy your trip!

Hi Angel
Ha ha, you have spent a lot? Dun need to feel guilty one.. just skip your 1 shopping time next time.

Cutecute,

Coz I went to a few places then buy a bit here and a bit there so didnt noticed that I have spent alot till I reach home and look at the receipts. Hope hubby dun make me eat "west, north" wind. Just happen that I found 2 music Cds that I really like and coz' its imported so more ex plus I bought a dvd plus those stuff from Marks and spencer N NTUC so you can guess how much it all adds up. Think I better stay away from town and you still tell me its good to stay near town. The temptation is too great and I saw alot of sales going on on my way back and I dun even dare to go check it out. :p

Angel,
sometimes it's good to shop...SAHM also need to pamper ourselves sometimes mah!!
afterall, we on no pay to look after our kids leh

cutecute,
i thot your boi took the mmr quite some time back? ur boi went for a checkup recently? 3 yr old got another checkup huh?

Ann,
En got 16 teeth liao. still left the back most molar.

how do u all take care of your kid's teeth now? my boi doesn't like to brush teeth. use handki also need to force him to open the mouth to clean. now a upper row of teeth a bit yellow. have u all brought your kids to the dentist?

Hi Home
This one is not MMR. It's another jab but I forgot the name.
Yes, 3yr old then got another checkup.
My boi haven't start brush teeth yet.

Hi Angel
Agreed with you, stay in town spend $. Like me, work in town spend $ on food.

Hi everybody

This is my first time in this forum. My baby is now 6 mths old. Started taking rice cereal recently.
Would like to find out more on the type of vege & fruits that I should first introduce to him, and also the preparation part.

Would be glad if any of you can share with me on this... can also email to me at [email protected]

Opps... didn't realise this is for year 2004 Apr mummy...

But I believe all of u are the expert in this... feel free to write email to me and share share.

Thansk

Hi Home,
wow yr boy has 16 teeth ... Ryan only have 8 now ..but he is teething again. Can feel his molars cutting out. I brush his teeth in the morning ocasionally.

Need help .. Really dun know what to do ....
My boy seems like he has lost his interest in porridge ..
Yesterday lunch, refuse to eat after 1/4 bowl. Rest for 0.5 hour eat another 1/4 bowl.
Last night he does not want eat any porridge at all. So i want to feed him milk .. , but he refuse to drink too. He only eat 2 small pieces of biscuit and half a piece of garlic bread and drink about 60ml of soy bean milk before he sleep.

Afternoon Mummies,
Ryan (Angel's son) & G will be going to Sentosa on 19 Nov. Any mummies & tots interested to join us? We will be going to the Palawan beach in the afternoon, whereby the tots can play together in the beach, build sandcastles etc. Thereafter, we might proceed to the musical fountain. Hope that more mummies & tots can join us for the fun.

Have been feeling very heartpain almost every morning lately. G will keeping crying and clinging on to me, refusing to let me go when it is abt time to go to mils place in the morning. Seems like she is suffering from separation anxiety. Dunnoe why now like that. Last time she was ok going to mils place in the morning. Can even smiled and waved bye bye to me.
Do tots still suffer separation anxiety at 18 MO? I thot they should have got used to the routine already.

Ann,
Thanks for your concern. G is ok after the jab.

Aloe,
Do not worry. Maybe he is teething, thus affecting his appetite. Have u introduced rice to him? If u think he lost interest in porridge, maybe can let him try some rice? When my gal was teething, she also has no appetite for most food.

Raindrops,
Hows your cruise? Hope all of u enjoyed yourselves.

Hi aloe
Change to other source like rice,mee,mee hoon or mee suan etc.

Hi Maple
Excl me for the sentosa. Thanks.
I'm opp. Since I am in 2nd term, he dun want me to carry him,hold him... I did not let him know abt my stomach. He got separation anxiety with my husband & mil. Old people said when pregnant, children will be very naughty, which I dun believe it. Maybe he dun want Mama liao. sob sob..

Hi Maple,
Not sure if i can join you and Angel, will let u know again.

Just realise is not Ryan lost his interest in porridge.... I think is he dun like me to feed him.... So sad, he likes my maid to feed him more then me.

My MIL told me that Ryan can finish 1 big bowl of porridge for lunch and dinner... I think maybe he likes to bully me ...

Anyway, I intend to cook rice and soup for him tomorrow. Hope he will let me feed him, if not i will go crazy.

aloe,
En also like that these 2 weeks leh. not interested in his food. feed about 1/2 the amount then tell me wanna go pee or pass motion. then when i carry him out, he run away! he's really playful. after a while he will come back to me and say mun mun. but dun wanna sit in his high chair to eat.
so difficult to balance between discipline and feeding him!

Ryan have not been eating well last 2 wks too. Think coz partly due to his sickness and partly coz he is teething. He is cutting his molars and incisors.

Aloe,

Maybe you can try giving rice or noodles. My boy has progress to eating adult food such as the rice and dishes we eat.

Raindrops,

Hows your cruise? Hope you and your family enjoyed yourselves.

I'm so proud of my boy ty. Usually when he see us leaving MIL's place without bringing him home, he will cry his eyes out but ty before we left we told him mommy is sick and daddy got to work tm so you must be a big boy and not cry ok and he never shed a tear though I can see he was very upset and on the verge of tears. My heart was aching like crazy but at the same time I am so proud of him. And this afternoon when he saw that I was upset and sick, he came over and "sayang" me and wipe away my tears. I'm really touch and proud of him.

Hi mummies, I am back from my long holiday really drag myself to work today.

This time round JJ really enjoy his genting trip as he will understand more and play more but now he tends to be very sticky to me and dun want anyone to carry him even my mum so my maid and mum very sad and said help pple look after bb no use.

Aloe, I think it is normal for kids not eating as JJ also dun want to eat porridge anymore and I thought that rely on milk is sufficient but the other day brought JJ to Dr Ong and he said we should give our kids adult food and not purposely cooking for them and if kid eat a bit it doesnt show that they dun like the food just tat their capacity is small and so instead of 3meals we have to give them 6meals.

Rain_drops, Went for the trial at playworkz. It is quite impressive but will not be enrolling JJ to the class as I feel that the teacher is good but the helper is average only and do nothing much. (that's my own opinion)

My boy went for his 18th month jab today and for his 18th month assessment..Doc said that my boy is slow in his speech & development. Need to do another assessment in Jan 06. My boy still can't say much words apart from mummy, daddy, jie jie, apple. He is learning to walk now, and hardly his own water bottle . Still not drinking from cup. Not holding any pen to scribble yet.. Any mummies facing similar situation?

My boy now 11.8kg and 81cm.

Hi Ann,

My boy taken the chicken pox jab at around 15th month. We chose to give him the jab as my hubby's niece developed chicken pox. We didn't want him to get it at this young age. We felt it would be tough on him as he can't express himself and might jus scratch and leave marks behind..

My son also has 16 teeth..left the last molar. Same as home.

Hi Home,

My boy also dislikes brushing teeth..but we make it a habit for him to brush his teeth every morning even though he will scream his way. We use toothbrush and toothpaste. Can't use towel now..he will bite us hard..Very painful..I even screamed in pain before.. haha...

Hi Babymich,

You can try to feed papaya/apple/banana. For apple, must scrap it. I also gave cod fish to my boy. As for veg, you may want to start off with pumpkin first. I cook the porridge with slow cooker, very convenient. Jus prepare the food and put it in the slow cooker to cook for 1 hr (with high speed). i also feed my boy with broccoli, french beans, cauliflower, carrot. You may want to invest in a blander. I bought the manual food mixer...It works well but very tiring cos' need alot of strength to grind the food. Better get an electric one.. can check out Braun. My gf bought one and find it good.

Hope the above helps.

Ling,
welcome back! gd that ur boy enjoys the trip. it's a different environment from home
ur boy clings on to u now??? my boy eversince come back from desaru dun wanna sleep in his cot at night! insist on sleeping with us on our bed. guess he's used to sleeping with us when we were there
so now have to wait for him to fall alseep b4 transferring him to his cot.

joy_apr,
how did ur pd assess ur boy? how did he know ur boy slow in speech? u give him the info or ur boy talk during the checkup? that time when i brought En for mmr, he cry the moment he went into the room. so doc din have a chance to really look at him coz En clinging on so tighly to me

Home,

Brought my son to polyclinic for the jab. The questionaire given by the doc was actually the same questionaire found in the booklet given to us at the hospital after delivery. Jus check out the questionaire for 15-18months development. We have to fill up the questions.

THank God.. this morning, I was asking my boy where is his nose, his mouth, his ear, etc. Guess what??? He can point to his nose, mouth and ear!! You can imagine my joy!! I taught him these before and glad that finally he responded!!
Depending on his mood too...