(2004/04) April Mummy

Aloe,I saw Ryan's photos at another thread.He looked so serious in the last pic.I still like his smiles.Cherish has been going 'ba ba ba'since 8-9mths,din hear her saying ma yet.I was so jealous of my hubby.

Mummies,I must count myself very lucky to have an understanding MIL.She treats me well and offer me alot of help and advice particularly useful for a 1st time mum like me.Now When Celeste came along,I'm more or less able to handle.

Maple,wow G is progressing very well.I hope Cherish can catch up soon.Otherwise Cherish will have to crawl faster to chase G meimei the next time we meet.heehee...

Li-May,long time no see.Most of the babies here can't walk yet but I'm sure they'll be catching up soon.Dun feel so bad.Ur maid is the main caregiver,so Reon spent most of the time with her.Not to worry,nothing beats kinship and the bond between u and ur children.They'll know later.Reon has got a sweet smile.U cut her hair again?How's Feon?My 'nightmare' started liao.Sometimes dunno to attend to my big one or my small one(bb) 1st?Now when it comes to addressing my girls,I simply say my big or my small one.Cherish used to like doing the actions when we sing the 'Wheels on the Bus',but she din react now.Guess we've not been singing to her and she too lazy to respond liao.

Mummies,I was so happy yest.Hubby took leave and brought Cherish and I shopping.I was like being released from cage like tat and went on a shopping spree.Can't fit into my pre-preggie clothes yet,therefore giving myself a very good reason (excuse?!?) to shop for clothes.heehee...

rain_drop, he looked serious i guess he was looking at a baby sit opposite him... now he like to make lots of funny faces & funny sound ...

my mother said he heard ryan call me "mama" this morning ..but i am not sure if he is really calling me or not...

so good can go shopping ...actually me also on leave these few days (as my mum come to visit his grandson) so just went suntec today. lots of ppl .. how come all of them no need to work ... ?!?!?!

hi li-may, long time no see.. reon so cute... come here more often when u have time ....

Rain_Drops...

I have been wantin to catch up with you, but no time....I actually struggled wif myself for the first 4 mths till my maid came along.

Rite now, the both of them are always fighting over the same things...argh....Told myself that I can't afford to get 2 sets of similar things, told Feon MUZ share her toys wif Reon and LOVE her.

Reon is quite a handful to handle rite now as she is more or less spoilt by the maid. ARGH...but wat to do when I have no time to take care of her

Aloe,saw Ryan with his grandma's photo.Ur mother looked young.How long will she be staying?Ryan is so loving,gives grandma a welcome kiss.

Li May,although my MIL helped me but still I tried not to trouble her as much as possible.She's not my mother mah,so muz 'ke qi' a little.I can understand the fighting over for toys.My 22 mth old nephew,just came back from Dubai is always snatching toys from her and screaming behind her back to scare her.Worst of all,Cherish is a crybaby,always burst into tears.My house is full of bb cris until I buay tahan.

raindrops, she will stay till this sat. haha she is not young la .. but she sure be happy to know she looked young...

Li May,
Welcome Back! Long time no see & talk. How are u coping now?
Nice pic of Reon.

Seems like theres no response on the gathering on 25/6. That being the case, it is cancelled.

Aloe,I'll try to get the plan fm my fren again coz I've lost my copy.

Maple,Angel,hows the vote?

Mummies,please take care of urself and darlings coz the weather is so bad tat many ppl are falling sick.I cught the flu bug a few days ago and now everyone in the family (mainly caregivers) are down with flu,cough and fever.Cherish has been very cranky and irriatably today.She woke up with high temp this morning,wanted to give her panadol but MIL said monitor 1st.Almost anything and everything make her cry.She has been coughing and having running nose.Then realised she's teething and her gums are so swollen,applied teething gel but she still umcomfy.And worst of all,Celeste has been awake since 3pm and only slept at 8pm.During this time,she cried and cried.Wah,I almost fall apart ah.Cherish is sleeping now but she'll cry every now and then due to the discomfort.I'll have to run to her each time she cries.Guess I wouldn't be having much sleep tonite.

Raindrops,

I am no better. I'm losing sleep again coz I feeling very stress. My mom in hospital now and my dad is stll losing wt and not getting any better. My hubby down with stomach flu soon affter he recovered from cough and cold, so I have been taking care of almost everything by myself. Feel like I am falling apart also. You take care of yourself ok?

Raindrops,
Is Cherish alright today? Still hv fever? Do take some naps today (if possible). U need more rest in order to recover from flu.

Angel,
Sorry to hear that both your parents are unwell. Hope they recover soon.

Angel,are things better?You must hang on.I know it has been hard but stay positive.They need u.I hope to see U n Ryan soon.

Maple,Ann,has was the trial class?I'm sorry that due to an unexpected event happened,Cherish missed the class.I feel so apologetic esp Maple went thru the trouble to reister for me and I felt so bad that Cherish missed this class.It happened like this.Cherish's appt (trial class) has alady been made known weeks ago.I even informed my MIL abt the timing so many times.As I was rushing on Sat morning,my SIL suddenly said that their family are going out and wished to bring my MIL along.I always feel that my MIL deserved a break as well b'coz I dun want her to feel that I'm 'making use' of her to take care of my kids.But all of us cannot agree to the timing.I wasn't involved in the converstaion as I'm bathing Cherish so my stupid hubby makes the decision.We feel that leaving the maid alone at home is very unsafe so someone will have to bring maid along and my stupid hubby agreed to 'take care' of the maid and bring her to my parents' house,which we supposed to go aft the class.Since this decision has been made and my SIL is rushing out too (timing clashed),there'll be a period of time while noone will be at home except the maid and Celeste.How in the hell can I allow that since the maid has not been taking care of Celeste at all.Wat if she cries and the maid doesn't know how to handle.I buay pang sim ah.My stupid hubby said nevermind loh,I(my hubby) bring Cherish to the class and wants me to stay at home.I protested coz I've been longing and looking forward to get out and yet he wants me to stay at home!Besides I always wanted to meet Val and Ann and chat with u all.If only I'm involved in the discussion,I wld suggested we (bringing the maid and Celeste along)go together.My stupid hubby failed to think of that.I was so fuming mad!Before I realised the class was over.I felt so bad that Cherish missed the chance to get together with all of you and meeting new frens.My hubby 'compensated' me with an off day on Sun.I finally can meet up a fren to have coffee and did a little shopping.Robinsons was having sale and on top of it with an additional of 15%+5% off.I bought alot.hehe...

Home,thks for ur concern.I hope both of my girls can grow up soon at least taking care of them wouldn't be so tedious.

Raindrops, Maple and Home,

Thanks for your concern. My mom have been discharge but still recuperating but my dad's condition is still the same. Hubby slightly better but still not fully recovered and I have tons of chores and errand yet to be completed. The piles of clothes unfolded and un-iron is mountain high. Sigh....

Raindrops,

I wanted to go to the Robinson sale but read in the small print that there was no sales on Lego so didnt go. Wanted to get Lego/Mega blocks for Ryan coz' he has been eyeing them whenever we bring him to toy departmental store.

Ryan getting quite out of hand now. Running all over the place at shopping center and sometimes dun even allow us to hold his hand. Will play tug-of-war with us and dash off. So scary esp when along the road coz' he want to see car up close and personal. Nearly died of heart attack last few times.

Any tots here able to walk unaided already? Is your as unmanageable as mine? Any solution? Ryan will scream his head off if I forcefully pull him away or carry him up but its so dangerous. Sigh....

Sorry for the long post.

Home & Ann,

Are you staying with your inlaws or do you have any helpers helping you with the chores or child-minding? If not, how do you girls manage to cope with the chores, kid and cooking? I think I am very bad at organising my stuff coz' I can't seem to cope with everything on my own. I will always have to give up one or two of the chores otherwise my place will look like a disaster struck area. Any tips? It seems that everything is of equal importance and I get very fluster and cranky when I can't complete everything within my schedule and I hate it whenever I have to send Ryan to my inlaws place in order to finish up the tasks. It makes me feel so incompetence. Sorry for the grumble.

Angel,
my inlaws staying with me. but they working, they come back in the evening to cook for us. talking abt cleaning, my skin has turn v dry. so dry tt it becomes painful when in contact woth things. wear gloves also no use. today when see NSC. doc say must abstain fr water from now on. otherwise will get worse. ai yo... feel so down now. hav to wear glove whole day jus to keep out of water. sign... being a SAHM not easy

Home,

My skin also sensitive. DOcs told me to wear gloves if I need to wash things or dun use soap at all. How to wash things without using soap/detergents? And I dun like the plastic or rubber feeling on my hand also. Cannot feel if the dishes are clean enough or got residue. So what I can do is to apply medicine whenever rashes breask out (which is quite often) or get my hubby to help wash some of the dishes.

Hi Raindrops,
Me too did not attend to BJG as i was having fever,cough and flu..i ask my mum to bring Val there but she need to visit my granddad in the hospital..haii..& hubby only noon will come home from work.
i may call up for another trial after my flu totally goes off but i think no more free loz..

Hi Angel
i'm staying with my mum..she usually does the cooking & i take care of Val..
This is the part i'm very worried about..if i go back to work than she will be very busy cope with Val and housework..i thinks that either if i go back to work than two choices

1)Put Val in half day childcare(but scare get sick easily)
2)employ for a maid(but worry that cannot find good 1 than problem will surface again)

Now i also donno how lor..

Val too everytime if we go shopping she always want to walk herself and if she go near any dangerous places than we will carry her up..but she will try to force herself hard and try to slide down..i was thinking of getting this baby leash for her but my hubby disagree with it..

Hi Maple,
So Sorry that u took the trouble to reister for Val..How was the trial? How much is the course..

Something happen today, i brought Val shopping today and i was letting her walk by herself than suddenly she saw this 'jiejie' and went over to touch her..i was about to pull back Val's hand when the 'jiejie' give her a big scratch on her face..give me a shock..

Any comment on which brand carseat is good??

How much water do our tots need??

Angel,
u better wear gloves to wash. dun end up like me.. doc say will need around 6 months to recover, provided i take gd care of my hand.

Ann,
i give En water quite frequently. if i offer him water and he drinks, i will let him drink as much as he wants. then he will push the bottle away. i din restrict his water intake now.

Ann,

Ryan drinks abt 3-4 bottle of very diluted fruit juice everyday. Its those 240ml type but usually I only add 40-50ml of juice and dilute it with 200ml of plain water. My MIL commented that Ryan drinks ALOT of water and his diaper always flooded.

Did you tell the girl off for scratching Val? I think I wld be too shock to react too. Ryan got bullied by older girls at GWC the other day too. Compete for toys. Sigh. I think girls are more well-behave then boys. At least yours just struggle and slip down. Mine will scream and shout and play tug of war with me.

Home, I dun like to wear gloves. Worst part is my whole body is sensitive. SO when I mop flr and too much detergent comes in contact with my legs, my legs will turn red and itch too. Cham hor?

Hubby tempted to employ a maid to help me with the chores, mainly cleaning and washing of the place and stuff but I cannot bear to part with the money and I also dun like the idea of a stranger staying with us.

How are u & tots? Take care.

Hi Ann
Same as Home for the drinking water.
Are you buying a car-seat?
Oh my god! That jie jie scratched on Val's face.. must be painful. I will be angry also.
I agreed with you, stay at childcare get sick easily. If compare the rates for half day & full day childcare, half day will be more exp.
Employe a maid depend on your luck.

Hi Home & Angel
No choice, better wear gloves.. if not afraid will worsen.

Hi Cutecute
yah i'm buying a carseat as the previous one was spolit after i dismantle it to wash as Val vomit on it last mth when she had a flu.

Hi Angel
Erm.. u mean GWC is Great World City..if yes i think all mums must becareful cause the place i brought Val shopping is GWC.

actually the jiejie mum was not with her(a distance away) but when happen so fast i got so shock and Val was crying away(must b very painful i think she was shock too..1st time got jiejie scratch her)..the mum came and ask wat happen but i guess the mum already know wat happen as she ask me back izzit her daughter scratch Val..

Ann,

Yah. Its Great world city. Hmmn... maybe coz' that place got lotsa expats n rich kids so the kids are more aggressive. But we wanted to avoid town so tot there is quite safe. Lucky that girl never touch my boy if not hubby and I sure whack her. Hee. Did thr girl's mom apologise to you?

Yesterday bring my boi for hair-cut. Cried until so loud & pityful... Cut very very short hair. Have took photo b4 his hair-cut but no time to take after his hair-cut. Will take this week-end & post here next week.

Joy_apr here.. not sure if anyone remembers me.. too long didn't visit the site.. cool to know there's a new site for mothers! it's so thoughtful of them..

I have an enquiry...anyone you planning to put your son/daughter in playgroup? I heard that there are some play schools that take in 18months toddler. Any good recommendation? I am thinking about this.

Hope to hear from advice from you all. Thanks!

Anyone of u put ur tod to nighttime bed on a mattress that is placed on the floor? En has been sleeping in a cot since he was a bb. now i'm thinking of putting him on the floor. How do u cope when he wakes up early in the morning before u do and starts crwaling around? At least, in the cot he is confined but i'm afraid he will come and disturb us or go into the toilet by himself. is it advisble to move him to the floor at this age?

joy_apr,
i'm going to look for half day cc instead of playgroup. playgroup only 1-2 hrs i think. by the time i bring En there and go home, not much time left for me to do other things.

Home,

We shifted Ryan from his cot to a mattress placed on the floor for a few months already coz' we were afraid that he might climb out of his cot. We just try to child-proof his room as much as possible. Furthermore, his room got no attached bathroom so we don't have any worry of him wandering off. He usually will "cry" for us and we will go to his room and attend to him. Btw, we dun normally co-sleep with him unless he is unwell then hubby and I will take turn to sleep in his room with him. Furthermore, his toys and books are within his reach so if he is not that hungry, he normally will go play with his toys or "read" his book before we attend to him. Maybe you can consider placing some toys or books within his reach and shutting the bathroom door to play safe?

Cutecute,

I know how it is. Its a chore to bring my boy for his haircut too thus we considering the option of buying the shaver and trimming his hair on our own at home. Phillips has 2 affordable model. Braun ones looks nice but very ex. You might want to consider that.

Home,

Oh..playgroup only 2 hours..that's rather short.. i am thinking of bring my son to half day group..Sigh..i haven't do any research yet..Heard those good ones are expensive and long queue.. Couldn't believe it!! Btw, my son last name also called En. :D

My boy sleeps in a cot.. Didn't think of letting him sleep on mattress yet.. He sleeps alone in his own room. We used the mini radio to listen to him. Same as Ryan, my boy will 'cry' or 'scream' to alert us that he is awake. :D

My boy is very attached to me..he hardly allow anyone to carry him when I m around. He would cry..even when daddy carry him..Anyone shares similar case??

Hi Home
My boi use to sleep on the floor mattress in the living room since 11 mths. Either my husband or myself will sleep with him. When he is in my mil house during weekdays, she will sleep with him on the floor mattress but in the master bedroom. When he is in my house, when he wakes up if not hungry, he will play with his toys/books/himself in the living room.

Hi Angel
I dun dare to shave for him, afraid I might accidentaly hurt him loh, he just can't keep still.

Hi ioy_apr
Of course we still remember you. How are you?
I'm opp you. My boi not attach to me. When he saw mil or husband, he wants them to carry him....

May I know how much $ difference for the half-day child-care & 1.5hr playgroup?

Angel, joy_apr, cutecute,
thanx.

cutecute,
did u read the poster at the void deck regarding the sparks playgp? it's abt $200+ if i din remember wrongly. so ex! i'm going to check out flamingo cc near Unity Sec these few days. they got flexi hrs. i can put En there for 3 half days per wk. $200+

Hi Home
For half-day child-care, u have any idea what do they provide? Will the children get sick easily for the half-day one?

Hi cutecute,

I am fine..moved on to a new job for abt 5 months..more settle now but busy. These few days, my boy sleeps earlier, so have some free time at night. Checking out on play group and half day child care for my boy..so as to let my mil has some free time to herself in the day.

Morning Mummies!
How's everybody? Have MIA for the past few weeks. Anybody misses me? (hee hee, i very thick skin)

Will catch up with the postings later... GTG.

You mummies busy sourcing for cc/playgroups? Do share with us your findings. Angel, have u enrolled Ryan to any cc/playgps?

BTW, are all your tots going for their MMR this mth or early next mth? Any mummies postponing or delay the MMR jabs? Heard something abt the side effects of MMR but dun noe true or not.

Another thing, tots going for MMR jabs must have eaten one whole egg at least a few times b4. If not, nurse would not give the jab. My colleague told me that she only fed her daughter half an egg each time. Nurse said not enough to test for allergy, must eat one whole egg each time. In the end, the jab was postponed one mth later.

Aloe,
Saw some of Ryan's videos. Very soon, he'll be very busy walking ard the house himself and you'll be busy following him. Heehee... Enjoy!!

Maple,

Have not enrolled Ryan in any playgrp or childcare as my MIL is agst the idea. She says wait till 2 yrs old. Ryan suppose to take his MMR end of thia mth but he is sick now so might consider postponing the appt.

Anyone keen for a gathering in either end of this mth or Aug? Thought of letting Ryan interact more with kids his age.

Btw, anyone introduced new food to your tots? I am getting a bit bored with cooking the same old thing esp the type of fishes and meat are so limited. Any one tried lamb or beef stock yet?

Btw, any mommies have problem with your tots when you bring them out? As in they will want to walk their way and either throw tantrum or refuse to buldge when they are not allowed? Ryan likes and will insist on going his direction especially when he sees stairs, he will want to climb them and its driving me nuts. Any suggestions?

Hi Maple
Har?? Must finish 1 whole egg? I cooked hard boiled egg feed him with porriage, he can't even finish the whole egg. He will shake his head loh.
Maybe I will feed him just 1 hard boiled egg for his breakfast this Sat & see whether he can finish or not.

Hi Angel
My boi can't walk & stand alone yet.
You have to hold his hand tightly.

Cutecute,

No use, We hold his hand tightly, he will either play tug of war with us or refuse to walk completely till we either give in or just carry him up and go the direction we want. He very stubborn. Even if we tell him he notty, we will leave him there he also not scared. He will just walk off the direction he wants without us. We tried alot of method liao. The only way is to grab him up and carry him till the stairs is out of sight then let him down and walk. Sigh.

Cutecute,
Thats what my colleague told me. My gal also could not finish 1 egg. Usually I steam it for her. Most of the time she eats half or 3/4, then dun wan already. How did u give your boi the hard boiled egg? Do u chop it finely and mix it in his porridge? How do u intend to give him hard boiled egg for bf? Chop and mashed it? And mixed with milk? Pardon me, cos I nvr give her hard boiled egg white b4, only hard boiled egg yolk.

Angel,
Could Ryan be ready to learn climbing up the stairs? Thats how I 1st started my girl on climbing up the stairs. We were at a lift lobby waiting for lift, she walked to the stairs wanting to climb up, so I held her hands & let her climb up.

This morning, let her climb up the flight of stairs to mils place. She was counting yi, er, yi, er (one, two, one two) so loudly as she climbed up the stairs. When reached mils place, sil commented that she could even hear her voice at home.

Im ok for gathering in Aug, but couldnt make it if it is end July.

Maple,

Ryan can climb the stairs if we hold on to one of his hand or if he is holding on to a handle. I dun mind if he just climb once or twice but he will want to climb up and down till we drag him away. He dun even know he is tired.

Your girl so smart can say yi er yi er.

Ryan doesnt like hardboiled eggs. But MIL says he can eat 1 whole half boil egg.

I will mash the hardboiled egg ad mix it with his porridge. so far he only eat 2 whole egg. is it enough ?? i guess i will delay his MMR injection till augest.

He was sick again for the past week. i was so worry.. Understand from doc that MMR might cause fever. worry again..

August gathering shd be no problem..

Austin is sick too. In fact, he was hospitalised 2 weeks ago due to high fever. His fever keep reaching 39+ degree so no choice has to admit him. So poor thing u know, on drip for 2 days. Hand movement was restricted cos they tape it up in case the kid remove the needle. Husband also fell sick at the same time, suspected of dengue fever. So I alone taking care of both of them until later when he moved over to parent-in-law's place after CDC confirmed is due to flu virus attacked.

Then, one week after Austin discharged, I tot eveything ok liao and send him to infantcare. Who knows within 2 days, he fell sick again, this time round fever reaching 39 again. I tell u huh, I really at a lost , dare not send him to infant care. This whole week, I stayed at home to take care of him , got to manage works and him at the same time. When he's asleep, i quickly logged on to clear my work. So destructive. I super tired these few weeks, my life totally upside down. Anyway, the school called to say that there's an outbreak of hand food mouth disease, I really scared leh, think will not let him go back to the centre so soon.

As for MMR, I also did not let him take one whole egg yet, think will call the clinic tomorrow to confirm again. He's still having cough and running nose, may postpone his jab also.

Hi Maple
I feed him with porriage & hard boiled egg, but never mix with porriage cos he dun like. I used spoon to feed him small bits of egg & he will bite & swallow it.

Hi aloe
I dun know whether the nurse/doc will give MMR or not for eating 2 eggs. I remembered last time nurse said that must eat 5 eggs per week. But I never do that.

Hi aloe & toony
Take good care & tots get well soon.

Maple,
at first i also wanna enrol my son into a half day cc. then i went to one cc and find their programme quite boring. story reading anf outdoor activity which i think is to bring the kids to the playground. i can do these at home also. maybe i have yet to go other cc to compare the programmes. but at the moment, i'm kepping En at home until he's around 3, or when i find a gd cc

toony,
not easy for u...take care of urself during this time.

Angel,
do u give ur child pig's tongue or liver? it makes the porridge tasty. En likes it. but i only give it once in a while. i also use lotus roots or xi yang cai to make porridge. nice leh

Hi All Mummies..How's all?

Hi Maple
I'm delaying Val's MMR jab maybe like 1 or 2 months later.i donno must take 1 whole egg a few times than can take MMR but i normally if i cook kway teow soup for Val i beat the egg in..izzit consider?? Normally she don finish the soup.

Hi Angel
Agree with Home, liver taste gd in the porridge.Sometimes i add eggs into porridge also. last week i tried cooking oats with eggs and milk. Steam egg with added mashed tofu,carrot,spinach,fish add into porridge also not bad.

i've start give Val outside food like porridge and soups..but only when we really don have the time to cook.

Aug gathering should be ok for Val and me..

Hi cutecute
Your boi looks very tall. i love his smile, so bright..

Hi Toony
Must be veri hard for u..do take care of urself too.

Toony,

Sorry to hear abt Austin's case. Glad that he is alright now. You must be very tired and stress. Do take care of yourself. If you need, come here and "de-stress".

Cutecute,

5 eggs/wk alot leh. The nurse serious or joking?

Home,

I have not let Ryan try pig's liver or tongue as I am not sure how to cook it plus I dunno if he will like it. Hubby says liver is a acquired taste, not everyone will like it, plus I dare not eat and touch so dun really dare to cook for Ryan. Maybe will ask hubby to cook for Ryan this coming wkend. Btw, you want to join us for the gathering? Think we do not have your info.

Ann,

I read in another forum its not advisable to mix spinach with tofu for consumption so I have stop cooking that. Plus I notice Ryan seems to develope more wind in his tummy after eating tofu so have reduce that too though he seems to like tofu. He likes to eat half boiled eggs though.

Seems that alot of our tots are down with cough n fever. The GP commented its normal for tots this age to develope cough every 2-3 months. he said some fall sick every mth and it will be worst after they start sch. Kinda worrying to hear that. He did says we can get lung tonic from him if we are worried abt Ryan's frequent cough.

Raindrops,

How's everything? You shld be back to work this wk right?

Hi Ann
In the photo he looks big size but actual he's not.
Wed will bring him to polyclinic for MMR. Will you all know his height & weight.

Hi Angel
I dunno abt the nurse. This is what my mil told me. She said the nurse told her that if we dun feed him egg, she will not inject him.
Last Sat he managed to finish 1 whole hard-boiled egg.
Last time I always mixed spinach with tofu with porriage.

Hi Home
Nice to see you on Sat. On Sun, he woke up late when I went to the playground at 9am, all of you have went home.

297052.jpg