(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Hi Meilan, did you apply any cream for him in the meantime? I do agree that I'll prefer let nature takes its course... K's been having a simple running nose that develop into a dry cough for 3 weeks already. It's not supposed to last so long and contrary to yours, hubby asked me to bring him to PD but I wanted to wait out and see. The running nose has stopped but the cough hasn't and I'm also feeling the heat coz he's still taking the horrible medication after 3 weeks... *sigh* wat if the visit to the PD comes back with the same medication? And I don't think he can join his frens in the pool this weekend which I think he'll miss deeply :<

.ky.

Hi Apricot, Blurpooh,

Read from somewhere that you can go to private child psychologists who are certified to assess your child's IQ. There's one at wee care too, think it costs 400-600 for the assessment. Otherwise, the Mensa test requires the kids to be above 9 years old - quoted from another forum.

asking the lang expert, is Rime = Rhyme? I've always thot the word is Rhyme ...

Moshi, tx for the recommendations on "How much can a bare bear bear?" ... an interesting book

.ky.

Meilan,
Ops.. hope JK had a speedily recovering.

Emily,
So sorry to hear abt ur lost.

Sarah,
Sorry, cant attend the gathering this time round.

Sorry mummies, had become silent reader lately, rather busy in work..hehe.

WISHES ALL MUMMIES - HAPPY MOONCAKES FESTIVAL..

hi ky
u read the book? like it? how is it like? i didn't place my order in the end, sob.
marmite n vegemite are loaded with B vitamins, and i like it on bread and porridge.
tried vegemite for the first time yesterday,it's a big thing in australia, aussies love this made in aust spread, it's very rich, marmite's still my choice for now.

hi meilan
sorry to hear abt JK. is he staying at home now?

hi k's mom
your kiddos are like mel who likes plain porr, when we go to chinese restaurants, soup n plain rice does it for her, easy to feed but definitely not adventurous with food. still waiting for her to outgrow this 'i like plain food' phase.
mommies with kids who are turning 5 in jan/feb, are your kids eating better? as in, more willing to try new food? or wanting a share of what u are eating?

serena
i enquired abt the alumni thing, for ai tong, one needs to pay abt $300 per yr, 2 years in advance. I figured that's no need to, and looking at the statistics. phase 2A(2) is still a very 'safe' phase. plus $300 x 2 is a lot of money! can buy us a short trip to msia!

ky
rime is like syallabic rhyme in words. e.g. mat, sat, that, the 'at' sound. whereas rhyme is more about poetic rhyme in poems? er... think i am rather clumsy in my explanation. let's confirm with k;s mom.

Disney Live show in Nov/Dec
i am keen to take mel for the above since she's doing the fairy tales theme this term, it would be lovely to see cinderalla n snow white come alive;)
tickets from $19.50 to $90 via sistic.
any feedback on this show?

Grocery store games

Catch a Color. Ask your child to find the yellow bananas, the green can of soup, the blue soap box. Once you've gone through all the colors, you can move on to sizes: What's the biggest bag of rice, the smallest salami, the skinniest box of spaghetti? You can also explore shape, texture (softness, bumpiness), and amount (many boxes, a few cucumbers).

Hunt a Letter. As you move down the aisles, have your prereader find a cereal box with a big O on the front. Ask him to find a jar of pickles with an L on the label. As your child acquires reading skills, you can start asking him to look for words, such as "new" or "hot" or "fresh."

Grocery Bingo. This game takes a little planning, but it's worth it if you have a long shopping list because it'll probably keep your child engaged for the entire visit. Using newspapers or magazines, cut out photos of items commonly found in a grocery store and tape each picture to an index card. Hand the cards to your child as you enter the store and ask him to tell you whenever he spots an item. (Remind him that he needs to stay near you as he plays.) Take back each card as he finds the pictured item; when he locates the object on the last card, he can call out, "Bingo!"

Hey i like the bingo game, maybe we can have a supermart outing and let the kids go wild seaching for their 'bingos'

Hi sherlyn, I have those plastic aquarium tanks to pass to you. Got a small and medium (?) size one. Can pass to you on wed after your yamaha class? They are hardy fishes but it's best if you get a small airpump with airstone. We had guppies in our office last round without airpump and some died one by one. Another impt thing to note is when changing water, to let the water stand awhile as the chlorine from our tap water is harmful to the fishes. If you get mixture of male and female guppies, very likely to have babies soon!

Just went to yamaha to make payment for the classes and bought the books and items for the course. phew, costs me $900.

Hello Mummies
Wishing all of u Happy Mid-Autumn Festival!

Hi moshi
My gal also watched TV saw the advert of Disney Live show in Nov/Dec07. She ask me to bring her to watch. Hv u book yet and when going. Maybe we can meet there. I m still thinking which category to book.

Hi Sherlyn,
Pls check your mails on rearing guppies as advice from my hubby.

Hi Moshi,
Yeah, I like the Bingo game more. In fact, I like all those games you mentioned. Feel like playing. Can advise what are the final games we plan for kids this coming Sat29 ?

Hi Moshi,
Dun sob. Sounded like you miss the ordering of Scholastic books. I have the order form & can show you on this Sat to confirm the orders by Oct1.

Hi star, paying for 2 kids so everything 2X! The course fees are $250+ so 2X is $500+. Then $100 X 2 for the deposit unless u pay by giro. There's a booklist for the course which I bot 2 sets of the textbk and workbk, others like a CD, DVD and instruments, student kit I buy one set first, these total to $150+. For you, should be $300+ if you exclude the deposit.

Hi Moo87,

Aston is taking Sambucol after you recommended it during the duck tour. Yes, it is working fine for him and I hear lesser coughs too.

hi worrymom
u go check out kukup first and give a review when u return? ;)

hi star
disney show, likely to on a sun morning and get the cheapest tickets;)
will keep u posted.

hi apricot
u have the form? that's great news! is "How much can a bare bear bear?" on it? if so, please place an order for me. thanks heaps!

games on sat?
still waiting for u leh, Spot the difference?? ;)
we'll have the telematch with hula hoops and balls. there's also the lucky draw (mommies, dont forget to bring the gift) and pinata i think, sarah, how is it going? did u test it out with another balloon?

hey serena
u wana bake us a cake on sat?? pleaseeeeeeee
any flavour, your speciality will do.

HI Ladies,

Been introduced to this thread sometime ago by KY.
Hi, hi, KY, you rem me? From 06Jan. But been so busy that I dun even have much time to even lurk around. Finally took sometime off while my gal is napping to surf the forum.

Can anyone add me to contact list or something?

So let me do some self-intro.
SAHM of two. dec 03boy and jan 06girl. I am expecetd a no. 3 next april.

Hope I will be able to share as much with all of u as I have learnt from you.

Abt bed-sheet protector.
I am using this brand call the hippychick. It is like a pc of cloth so veri soft but super absorbent even if you pour a cup of water, it doesn't sip through. I tink First few years is selling it.

about primary school admission:
I am currently doing PV. had to go thru interview (told us if you are not a doctor or teacher, then your chance of being selected veri low). Had to clock in 60hours before I can qualify. Now i am having second thoughts. The school discipline veri bad. I wonder how can the school be the top few school in singapore????

There is a "blessed the pets" day at one of the catholic church at Bukit Batok tis sunday. I heard it is going to be quite a big carnvival with alot of performances. Any mommies keen? I can check out the name of teh church.

Hi ashleyjames,

Welcome.. to our thread..
Sure! will add u in our list.. but some info missing.. where are u putting up? And mind to provide us ur kids name? ops.. or ur nick already tell us their names? hehe.. Thanks.

hi ashleyjames
welcome! so ashley is you daughter and james the son?
wow, 2 + 1 akan datang, u are among the best around to give us parenting tips;)

hey k's mom
can Brandon be Mel's first penpal? they haven't met right? penpals are not supposed to know how each other look like until much later??
they can start off with postcards?? hee, sounds fun!

anyone else wants to join the penpal club? shall we give it a name? what system do u suggest? rotating penpals?
fret not if your kids aren't writing, Mel writes her letters big and small, and M looks like W. so i am using this to give her a real opportunity to write and communicate. a few lines of 'how are u' , 'how's your week?' 'see you soon', fixing on the stamp and decorating the envelope will keep the kids very busy;)
shall we give it a go to see how it works out?;)

moshi, u can still call up scholastic and place order directly and get them to deliver to Mel's school ... I've yet to order. just taken a look at sample pages in amazon ...

.ky.

hi ashleyjames ... welcome! U changed your nickname right? which school r u PV already? if it's not to your liking, then just don't carry on.... well, top schools may not be tops to you :>

Hi Moo87, is Sambucol safe for a under-2-yr-old kid? I'll go check on this later. thanks!

Sherlyn, guppies (or any fish) would die without oxygen in the water. that's wat the airpump is to do. also, when u change water, pls don't pour almost all out and put in new water. just change max 50% of water ... fishes like us get a shock in new environment :>

moshi, on eating. I do not think turning 5 makes 1 a good eater. B's turning 5 in Feb but he's been a very good eater (ever since I converted him to eat with us at the table), but looking at JPooh's R who's just 2 wks older than him, she doesn't eat as well ... we are just commenting over that. btw, K's also a lousy eater so I think I'll be in trouble soon...

.ky.

Hi Jan
Oic, wow! so much to spend for music class. Are your child both learning paino.

Hi Aashleyjames
Welcome! BTW, which sch u PV ? How come hv such rule "if you are not a doctor or teacher", then your chance of being selected is low. Really very bad.Doc where got time to PV and usually doc hv lobang to get in gd sch.

Hi star, money outflow is 2X for me. My kids have not attended any music classes so far and thought this course is a good way to start which will teach notes and uses the electone keyboard. Will see how it goes.

HI Ky,

I forgot my password for the old nic. Not veri active in forum esp after falling pregnant with no.3.
I tink you can purchase sambucol at a very good price if u buy from luckyvitamin.com. According to the saleslady at vitakids, she told me that can only take medication for 2mths max then gotto stop.

Did you mention about bunkbed? I just bought one from Ikea today! A super low one. So quite safe for kids. You might wanna consider. $329 I tink. But alot of my frens say kids won't sleep in it after the first night !so I let you know after they deliver it to my place.

Hi worrymom,
I am staying in the east.

anyone else?

Hi Ky,star,

dun wan to mention school name but one of the GEP school in singapore. Long list of volunteer. It is actually not a rule but their selection criteria coz they have such long list of volunteer. Infact volunteering in my group are two doctors and a professor from NUS. HaHa....not true that doctors no time ok. Doctors do anything to get their kids into good school also.

It is really a dilemma whether to continue or not coz already clock in more than 10 hours and realli a pity to give up and this is the only good school I have 100% confidence of entering.

Hi moshimoshi,
Thanks for thinking so highly of me. I survive day by day, esp with my low energy level now and have to cope with two active kids. HaHa...onli one advice from me right now.....space your kids kids out as 2yrs gap is way too small.

need some advice.
My boy is able to read simple books thru phonics and sight words. But I find that he takes a long time to decode the words which really takes the joy off reading sometimes. So as not to kill the joy of reading, I will have books that I read to him but I realsie that he dun look at words but onli picture. Should I "force" him to look at the lines? Anyone has any way to overcome this issue.

Recently I have been getting him to write his answer in response to my question independently but I realise that he has some problem with some words like "because" and "pen". He will decode and write it as "becos" and "pan". Any expert phonics mom here can help me out here.

Hey Moshi2,
Abt sat's party game, I will lead spot the difference game. My plan is to ask each kid come to me and spot the difference and the objective is to train their eyes, be alert and remember the differences and let me know. Not really a competition so that all will have fun ! I have already prepared small prezzies for each of them.

Children's Day Party
Date: Sat, 29 Sep
Time: 6pm
Venue: Upp Changi

Attendees :
1. sarah (1a1c)
2. moshi (1a1c)
3. serenade (2a2c)
4. apricot (2a1c)
5. serena (?a1c)
6. moo87 (?a1c)
7. minnie (1a1c)
8. star (?a1c)
9. chloe (1a1/2c)
10. Blurpooh (2a2c)

Games:
1. Lucky draw (gender free, <$5 gift) - this is for children only, am I right ?
2. Telematch with hula hoops & balls - Moshi to lead ?
3. Spot-the-difference - Apricot to lead
4. Treasure Hunt ? Star & Moshi to lead ? Sarah to provide the items ?
5. Hit the pinata - Sarah to lead

Hi Sarah,
Fine with pizza and ok with pizza for Aston too.
Hope you can order chicken pizza for kiddos.

hi ky and moshi2!

According to the defitions I found:

A rime is usually the portion of a syllable from the first vowel to the end.

A rhyme is a repetition of identical or similar sounds in two or more different words and is most often used in poetry.

Thus, a rime always has the same and identical sound, while rhymes could be the same or similar sounds.

So, while "one" rhymes with "fun", the rime "un" can produce words like "bun" and "sun". Of course, words that are made of the same rime will definitely rhyme with each other.
e.g. "-ay", bay, play, tray, pray, way etc.

Hope this clarifies things for you.

Moshi, yeah I can bake a cake but is it too much when combine with pizza??!!
And YES!! I'm in for penpal. We exchange address and start writing? Great idea!Moshi!You've done it again! Maybe when the kids are more competent in their writing, we can get them to email instead.

Children's Day Party
Date: Sat, 29 Sep
Time: 6pm
Venue: Upp Changi

Attendees :
1. sarah (1a1c)
2. moshi (1a1c)
3. serenade (2a2c)
4. apricot (2a1c)
5. serena (1a1c)
6. moo87 (?a1c)
7. minnie (1a1c)
8. star (?a1c)
9. chloe (1a1/2c)
10. Blurpooh (2a2c)

A is down with flu & cough. Hopefully she's alright by Saturday. Will keep Sarah posted if can't make it.

KY, maybe B has nose and throat allergy. That's why the cough last that long. Should check with the PD. Cause my girl has this allergy and her flu can last for 3weeks. PD says normally should go away within 4-7days.

Ashjames, I'm also curious which school is that? If you don't find it convenient to post it here, can you pm me?

Pris & Sherlyn, if you're reading this can you PM me your address?

Worrymum, wow! you're a Malaysian mum or what? Always travelling to Malaysia. Ha.. anyway have fun. Will miss you for the gathering.

Hi Jan,

I already make my payment. i also pay deposit as i did not want to commit in giro .. so my payment is yours divide by 2 minus the kit and books cos i m getting it only on the day itself.

As for the fish tank. Wow, how excited. I would love to hv one but i must see the advices from Apricot's dh first. will let u noe okie. Thanks in advance.

Hi Moo87/Apricot, I just checked on Sambucol. It seems more suitable for flu and it's rated as a supplement under 1 website. K only has a cough and no running nose, so I'm hesitant to use that. I read on to find that he's probably having dry cough and may be the result of a recent virus, head cold or influenza (flu). found some good info here too (Cold and Cough Medication Guide)http://www.askdrsears.com/html/8/T089800.asp#T089700

He seems to be getting better and only cough irritably when he sleeps at night. i'm still a bit loss on wat to do next, coz no more medicine liao :-{

Hi K's mom/moshi, thx for the explaination on the diff'c btw rhyme and rime. understand now.

Hi ashleyjames ... buying medication from luckyvitamin.com, wouldn't it be ex to ship here? and do they ship? I don't see they do.

I found out that the pharmacy at CCK polyclinic sells SOME medication cheaper than outside, as much as $1 ...and the pharmacist is very nice.

The school is near your place at the east? well, good schools get to select who they want. A few I hear needs money or equipment contribution and 1 near my place doesn't even accept PVs ... if u feel sayang, then carry on with the PV. who knows when u see more of the school or look around at other schools, u may change your mind. a neighbour PV in 2 schools and compared wat she sess and decides from there wat's more suitable for her.

on reading, it's common for kids to look at pictures to decipher the words. mine does that, but i believe he's not a strong reader like some of the kids here, n i'm no phonics expert. however, that to me is fine as i see he's improving and i notice that he actually knows more than he says but he just want to be read to. wat i do is get him to read certain words that i know he knows, and i don't force him to read if he doesn't want to. i don't wanna kill his interest so i don't force.

.ky.

Wish me luck and send me more bbdust, we are trying to have #2 and also alot of activities here one after another that I am worn out.

Just read the thread on top.

1) I used soy beans for soup but I will soak them in water over night before I used them.

2) The KFC mashed potato, the gravy used the oil that fried the chicken to make which I have learnt from a friend who used to work for KFC.

3) We love marmite. Kai has it sometimes when he is down with cold.

4) As for miso, I use the Japanese miso paste and boil my own soup based first before adding in the miso.

hi ashleyjames!

Welcome!

Yep, my son does exactly the same thing with books. He picture reads. When he's told to read on his own, that's what he does.

In fact he has not progressed far from picture reading since 2.5 years old!

Getting him to concentrate on sight words is hard. Recently, I discovered that the onsets/rimes method is yielding phonics, but simply to lazy to decode words on his own... and I'll have to decode it together with him for each word! That's really tiring.
results. Thus, the discussion on rimes above. He can do
I also wanted to cover up the pictures and get him to concentrate on the words only. In the end, I gave up. When it's reading, we'll just read, for pleasure. I don't care if he's reading the words or the pictures anymore. Anyway, his vocabulary continues to grow and occasionally, I'll still leave out words and ask him what comes next.

Right now, when we do reading exercises - which means not reading for pleasure only, I'll use a scrapbook to teach him word recognitions. Hee, scrapbook - so minimal pictures there!

Hi ashleyjames!

wow... what school is there?

so social demographics play a great role even at PV application...

hmmm, have always been told that pri schools do some sort of streaming in the classes according to family backgrounds, although they all claim that everyone starts the same. so much for basing everything on meritocracy???

Hi serena!

Haha... yeah, ashleyjames got my curiosity piqued too...

Have been wondering just which pri school it might be... and then i thought, gee, i don't even know which the GEP schools are other than rosyth and errmmm, my alma mater which does not accept boys... o dear!!!

anyway, gifted or not... not very important at this age. i've seen alot of GEP people not doing very well after sec schools.

hi ky!

Always enjoyed my pri and sec days!

Only found out that i was quite a "misfit" in my jc coz of my 10 years in the same school setting. jc years weren't not my best. I would never want to re-live them! yikes, though i did have some really close friends from my class.

then again, if i had been in another jc, it would have been real mad and fun. never mind lah... anyway, kept my old friends and made new ones from different social circles!

hi pris!

yeah... this is a great time to have a second one. the age gap would be like 5 years apart. Hmmm, it's almost like having two firstborns, and you can genuinely enjoy motherhood again, Kai should be feeling secured as an elder brother, and baby doesn't have to fend off negative feelings from an older sibling. Win-win for everyone!

Sigh... sometimes I wonder if 2 years age gap was too soon for my ds...

hi moshi2!

Ok... postcard it is... will get B to do it this Thursday. He's got a playdate tomorrow afternoon after school.

Hmmm, don't expect much. B can write anything but his own name which will take up the whole postcard already... haha...

sorry ashleyjames... must have been dozing off...

i meant to say that the onset/rimes method is yielding results... He can do phonics...

gee, I must have jumbled up everything as I typed. thinking too much but typing too slowly. I think i'd better get some sleep now.

one good thing about his picture reading though is that he can retell the story for me when he looks at the picture. And when he's read to often enough, the same story, i get almost the same text reproduced. I realise he changes some of the words sometimes, according to his mood.

hi sarah,
we are ok with pizza. thanks.

i told chloe that we will be going to hannah's place on sat & she's so excited about it

hi ashleyjames,
welcome! i'm very curious what school it is too hee hee. i have heard about schools being picky about PVs. i've got a school in mind but they dont have an official pv programme, so just got to write in & hope for the best.

hi worry mom,
you spend all your leave on short trips huh?

hi pris,
good luck & have fun! :p

i've always wanted my children to have a small age gap (already i think my gals 2.5 yrs apart is quite big), so that they will grow up together & share similar activities. but of course, can get really tired handling 2 young kiddos together.

hi moshi,
great idea on the penpal thingy. i got chloe started on this recently too with a friend's 5 yr old boy
hopefully it will encourage her to write & draw more.