(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

hi worrymom,
ahh....happy birthday benjamin!

you know, he's one of the most "guai" boy that i've seen

hi k's mom
haha, mel's name would also take up the whole card. i'll draw lines for her to write on. any idea how long the postcard will reach u? not a month i hope.

hi serena
a cake and a candle? they can sing happy children's day song

at ur convenience really, dont feel obliged;)

hi apricot
thanks! appreciate your effort to prepare the game, looking forward;)

I have two charts to let go, one a birthday chart with the months jan-dec printed on it, the other, a clock chart with detachable movable clock hands. bought from teachersthemepark. selling at $4 each. brand new, a little dusty though.
lemme know if u are keen, i will bring them to the party.

hi chloe
how did the penpal thing work out for chole?

Hi Sarah, Chloe, moshi2 and mummies,

Thanks for the wishes for Benjamin. Now just hope that his fever can faster subside. He has been sick for 3 days. liao. haiz. And in the day time he dont have fever at all, only when comes to the midnight, he body is terribly warm and hot. Monitor for 3 nights already, think will bring him for doc tonight..

Chloe,
Actually another word that I use on my boy is very "Kia See", his "guai" really make me worried. He hardly jump, run etc.. U believe, he never fall down before. He always too careful and a perfectionist.

Serena/Chloe,
haha.. ya, must of my leaves used on this purposes.. cos long trip involve too many committments, already went to Nepal in CNY, therefore now can only afford the cheaper and nearer one..

Question:
Do u say 'no school' or 'no lessons/classes'?
No school is commonly used, but is it gramatically right? i am asked by another parent who feels that it should be the latter.

worrymom
Virgos are perfectionists? i think Mel is one too, just got this from her last night," mommy, u put my kitty on the bed ok, the head on the pillow and the pencil on the floor, on the right and dont move the bed." ???

ya, better take him to the doc, tell him that it's his bday and he must get well fast;)

Hi worrymom,
Believe it or not, Brandon used to like Benjamin too, "kia see". Before Cheryl came along, he has never sufferred any falls/bumps at all (except once). But with Cheryl around, he's more daring and willing to explore. So, work hard at #2
It might just change Benjamin.

Happy Birthday Benjamin!

Moshimoshi,
The penpal idea striked me lately too, hehe... Everytime when we had dinner my mom's place for dinner, my 5 years old niece would take out small pieces of paper for Brandon to write or draw. Actually, am getting B to make a card and write to her.

Pris,
Hope to hear for your good news soon.. perhaps mummies whom are preggie here can pass more baby dust to you.
kao_babydust2.gif

moshi2,
Oh really.. Mel are like that too.... hehe. But Ben is Libra leh.. hehe

Hi Worry Mum,
Nepal! Its one of the 'must go' places for me and hubby. You went up the mountains? I'm afraid of the thin air, I was breathless and almost fainting when climbing up Great Wall. So useless hor? Especially when the locals, I mean the elderly ones, doing a better job than me.

And yes, better bring Ben to doc, especially your area is dengue zone. You may want to ask for doc's letter to do blood test at polyclinic, incase fever persists around 38degC and beyond 5days. That's what I did when H was down with fever recently.

Hi Moshi,
Never argue with a virgo. They die die also must win, and stubborn. And yes, a perfectionist.

Hi worry mum, was quite amused when you said Ben can't run when he was running with my kids in the morning at suntec! Mine are like prisoners on the loose - can't keep still for a minute. That's why had to bring them to playgrounds and stadium to sweat it out and burn their energy.

Happy 4th birthday, Benjamin!

Hi ashleyjames, since you are selected for PV and if you are keen for the kids to join the school, should persevere. Maybe with the pv time, you can get an insight if it's really the school you want for your child.

Sarah,
Hehe. we went for package tour, so no trekking.. believe we cant do too.. but did went up mountain for sunrise and sunset viewing..

Jan,
ahaha.. if you remembered, he actually walk very fast.. then running..

Happy Birthday, Benjamin!
Hope you enjoy your birthday and have a speedy recovery.

K's mum, hope the age gap will enable Kai to help more in taking care of his young sibling, he is still a big baby.

Worry_mum, will let you know once I conceive.

Hi ashleyjames,
I'm equally curious on the school you PV, especially in the East. I'm in the East too. Mind if I ask whereabout in the East?

Hi worry mum, thanks for sharing the pics. Wow, that's a BIG cake and he is really excited with it! Thought he likes Barney..He likes Bob the builder too?

Oops, just recall I haven't downloaded the ducktour pics yet!...

Jan
Even when Benjamin run, he run with care so never had a chance to fall.. hehe.. my kids are also prisoners on the loose or rather on the run. Never keep still for more than ten seconds unless they're watching their fav movie or sleeping.

Happy Birthday Benjamin!!

Worrymum
You've been to Nepal?? Did you bring Ben along? I've been longing to visit Nepal but till now, the furthest place I've been is still Bangkok and we're planning to go again in Nov. Been there at least once a yr (if possible) for prayers at Erawan Shrine.

hi moshi,
on penpal, chloe was very excited when i ask her to draw something for her friend. she came up with a beautiful picture (in my eyes lah) and she has a sudden craze to draw every nite (which is good cos she still cant write much, hopefully drawing will help her develop fine motor skills). and yes, she writes her name really big most of the time.

this virgo child of mine is also a perfectionist when it comes to cleanliness. she washes her hands many times whenever we do crafts together. she just cant ignore a little glue stuck on her hands!

i think grammatically should be "no lessons", cos the school's always there physically

hi worry mom,
which is better, kia see or bei kia see? ha ha
wow, the cake looks very nice. and ben looks really happy (cant tell he is sick)

Lovely cake, the 'craftmanship' is pretty good!

Going places, so many to visit, so little $$$ and time. Cant wait for my kid to grow up!

hi serenade
writing to a cousin's a great idea. let us know how it went.

hi sarah
u serious those are the traits of a virgo? i am seeing some of those in mel, so how does a virgo fight with a taurus mommy who's also stubborn?

pizza request: one hawaiian boleh? terima kasih!

how abt the side orders?
-chicken wings
-calamari
-nuggets
-samosa etc...

mommies, would u like to have a look at the menu on the web. www.canadian-pizza.com

Hi chloe,
Between the two, I hope there's a good balance. Cheryl is really "bei kia see", and that gives us a lot of headaches.

Hi worrymom,
That's really a huge and cute cake! Where did you get it? ... oops... better scroll down before he sees it :p

Hi ashleyjames,
A friend told me that kids who learnt reading via phonics will tend to read slower than those learnt to read via sight in the beginning. Reason being the kid is trying to blend every letter sounds in a word and that takes time. But with practice, reading speed will improve.

Hi Catherine, feed your kid with ice-cream. It's cold and he will not feel the pain when he eats. There's also milk and water content in the ice-cream. If you're worry about it being too cold. Let the ice-cream melt a bit first before feeding. BTW, how old? Sill nursing?

Worrymum, happy 4th birthday to Ben! Can't believe he has not fall down before!! Pretty amazing for a boy.

Hello aunties..
Thanks...thanks... thanks.. (on behalf of Benjamin)

Chloe,
haha.. ya, just like Serenade, hope there's a good balance.. hmm.. Ben is "too kia see" hhaha... Sorry the BD party is on last sat, he is still alright then, only on mon am then he developed the fever..

BD Cake,
Serenade,haha.. the BD cake is 1.5kg and is from those neighbourhood store.. Swee Heng Bakery.. Not those "branded" one, but taste not bad too..

Joanne,
Yeah.. how's everything? last check? Yes, Benjamin went with us to NEPAL too..

Catherine,
Ops.. perhaps boiling more Barley water for him. Hope he has a speedy recovery too..

Did you girls see the calligraphy done by happy homebaking's son? Wow! it floored me. I think her son is only 6 or 7 yrs old.

Hi worry_mum!

Please give Ben a hug and a kiss for his b'day!

Oh, i like Swee Heng. Always love to get things from there... buns, cakes, cookies, biscuits, bread etc.

Haha... kia see... I was like that too as a child. In fact, my mom said that I used to observe my cousin who was about 9 months older and had lots of hard falls and I would inevitably "apply brakes" with my little feet when I was in a walker as I approached dangerous zones. But I had one major fall while climbing up a bunk bed when I was two and had three stitches!
So when I did fall, I fell hard.

hi moshi2!

hmmm... am puzzled here too, about "no school".

But i distinctively remember some of the american and british moms use that too. hmmm...

I guess it's always safe to say "School's out!"

Oh... just checked my online reference, which by the way, I found it the best so far! So mommies, you might want to mark this page of the free online dictionary!
http://www.thefreedictionary.com/school
By definition no. 5,
"school" means a session of instruction. And if you can follow the example given, i think it's ok to say "no school", while "no classes/no lessons" still suggests to me that it's not an off day in school, just no formal instruction that's all, e.g. remember those times when we had to go to school when it's like errm, FOunder's Day, or National Day. No classes/lessons, but it's not "no school".

There! We can still say "no school"!

Hi Catherine!

Think your son's still pretty young and if you've been nursing him since day 1, it's pretty unlikely that he'll switch to bottle right away, unless you've been feeding him bm using the bottle.

Anyway, just what I did in the past to get ds to drink water, I used syringes. Or at about 6 months plus onwards, i gave him non spill sippy cups from avent.

but for your ds now, sippy cup might be painful for him to suck from. how about just introducing him to a normal open cup now? he might find it fun drinking water this way too... and hmmm, cheer him to drink or ask him to drink as you count to five or make a funny sound after you swallow the water to get him to imitate you.

or even drinking with a normal straw will be fun too. that shouldn't be too painful for him. and babies who nurse can suck well from a straw as young as 6 months old.

hmmm, didn't the doc give you anything to soothe the ulcers for him?

if water is plain for the taste, try juice or glucose water.

hi moshi,
hey! i'm also a taurus mom

hi serenade,
yeah it's best to have a balance. so if cheryl helps to bring out a more adventurous side of brandon that's good!

is it better to read by phonics or sight? i'm teaching chloe to read the sight words & she catches it pretty fast. cant teach phonics cos i dont know it myself hee hee

hi k's mom
ya i tried the cup n syringe but aft a while he just loose interest.
think no appetite.
he was really hungry last night so drank water.
this morning some express milk.
the sight of the breast just made himcry even louder... sigh...
tried some juice but he's a little cranky right now...

i thought weekend was a big mess with ning spilling water on the bookshelves, getting the books wet.

then thought aft a nice dinner on sunday as dh was free n things shld be looking up...

these days dh is much busier then when he was in banking.
sometimes wonder if it's worth it.
basically there are long stretches the kids hardly got time to interact with dh...

Hi Chloe,

I think my kids complement each other. B will always remind C to be careful and watch out for her

To be able to read really well and fluent, it requires both set of skills - phonics & whole language approach, that's my personal view

That's great for Chloe. Keep it up with your teaching. Chloe's school does teach phonics, right?

Hi Catherine,
Sounds like you got a pretty bad weekend. Well, keep positive, the worst is over

Hi catherine, let him take anything he wants like icecream, icepop, fruits. However, becoz of the ulcers will not have appetite so just have to wait. There could be ulcers in the throat also. YOu have to be very careful as it's highly contagious, even for adults. I got it from my girl - yes, yours truly! Think I ate her leftover food.

Hi Jan
oh yikes! I was told adult v unlikely. And yes, unwittingly, i ate someof his leftover...
Was contemplating what ice cream to give... ya will try that tomorrow.

hi serenade
ya will one cranky hand foot mouth case and the elder one waking one at 3amand said hello didi i hope you are wel. i pray oh god make my didi well... and daddy away at work... yes, it can't be any worse ya...

Worrymum
Aiyo, poor Benjamin. He's feeling better? Anymore night fever?

Catherine
Benny has HFMD early last yr but lucky for him, just a few small blisters on his hands and feet. How bout giving him some fruity milk shake (taught by our master chef Pris). Should be able to soothe him of any sore unless if he's having loose stools then it'll be out. Not sure of his age, but if he's on solid food, try not to let him take seafood or so call poisonous food as blister will start to itch. Of course also to prevent inflammation of blisters. (how true, I'm not sure but these were told by my dad and MIL.) If he's not drinking water, try cooling it in fridge before serving.

your dh in frontline or backline? anyway, both are gonna be extra busy soon with the quarterly reports.. December worse, full yr, half yearly and quarterly report.. *phew* lucky I'm out of this line many years ago.

Hi hi everyone.. need some advice here... I need to find "super hero" theme costume for my girl, and I need it by this Sun. Don't mind to buy or rent.. any suggestion please??? thanks

4chongchong

If I'm not wrong, I did saw one shop in Beauty World Shopping Centre (the shopping center with McDonald) which rent/sell theme costume. Couldn't really remember, maybe you can check yellow page before driving down?

If you're looking for face paint, mask or hat/cap, you can look for import and export shops (shophouse) opposite bugis junction bread talk.

hi 4ChongChong, I have a superman suit (with cape, a long-sleeve shirt, and long pants)... it's meant for a boy, but think a girl can wear if need. let me know if u wanna borrow from me.

For halloween costume, wonder if any mummy is making. I'm thinking of making something very simple. B has asked for to be a fireman and I only have a hat, and not sure where to get the material for the suit. Any idea on what I can make for him? I don't intend to buy or rent. tx

.ky.

hi serenade,
yes chloe's school teaches phonics, but i think they are still sounding out letters of the alphabets.

she's going to science centre tomorrow with her teachers. how nice if i can join in. sigh, blues of a working mother!

hi ky,
a fireman's costume is nice! how about improvising from a raincoat?

hi chong chong,
what super hero does charlene like?

hi joanne
he was fx then pb now own business.
then was reallybusy.
now even busier...

milkshake is great idea. never cross my mind
was thinking hagaan dazs macademia or melon or benny n jerry but a bit too chunky...

he's 10mth old...

Hi Catherine,
H came down with HFMD when she was 2yrs old. The doctor prescribed a spray-like medication for the mouth ulcers. It numbs the ulcers and so eating and drinking is easier. Maybe you want to find out from the doctor.

hi sarah

doc gave a spray, honey base i think. Kai screams at the sight of it...
he doesn't mind cup feed but cries when he sees the breast. sigh

now bm dwindling...

hi cat
sorry to hear abt yr ds. if u are looking for something cold to soothe the pain in the mouth, try yogurt or freezer pops (by abbott avail at pharmacies). hope he's better today.

hi K'mom
u are my onlice dictionary! ok, no school on Mon, it's children's day!

hi serena
yes yes, i saw and was so tempted to try her rainbow bento!
it's amazing, it looks like an adult's work to tell u the truth.

hi cat
sorry to hear abt yr ds. if u are looking for something cold to soothe the pain in the mouth, try yogurt or freezer pops (by abbott avail at pharmacies). hope he's better today.

hi K'mom
u are my online dictionary! ok, no school on Mon, it's children's day!

hi serena
yes yes, i saw and was so tempted to try her rainbow bento!
it's amazing, it looks like an adult's work to tell u the truth.

hi cat
petit miam by yoplait, my dd's all time fave!
vanilla w fruits, tropical fruits like banana, or with just strawberres, take your pick.
adds digestion and gives calcium too!